Back to Product

Ws Down Sweater Vest

Write Your Review

4.43 /5

Filter Reviews

All 196 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Down Sweater Vest

4.43
Kinda Large
June 17, 2020

Almost perfect

Love how light weight and how insulated it is. Perfect fit up top, but tighter around the hip region. Would have been perfect if there were two zippers to flare out the bottom a bit and allow the hips/legs to have full range of motion.

June 19, 2020

Gives me the extra warmth I need on cooler days

Can't go wrong with this vest, great to have for any weather, layering is my favorite thing to do in Montana.

June 17, 2020

Warmer

It is very soft and comfortable and warm

June 17, 2020

Like a warm hug!

That's how my son describes his Patagonia down coat and I would describe this vest the same way. Perfect weight and warmth for layering over other clothes. I had a non-down vest that will now get pushed further and further back into the closet as I reach for my warm hug!

June 17, 2020

Such a good buy

Im really happy I got this after eyeing it for a while. Unsurprisingly really good quality. I hesitated on buying online initially because Im pretty slim so have a hard time knowing what will really look okay and not too boxy. Im 59 and about 112lbs and the XXS is great on me. I saw some people found the armholes small but for me no issues.

June 17, 2020

Very good

It is very comfortable and price is acceptable

May 30, 2020

Flattening the curve

This was my beloved vest for years. I recently turned it in for repairs (2 zippers down, multiple holes). Patagonia said it was too far gone and gave me a store credit. I was wowed and intended to replace the vest but...the style has changed so the women's vest has the same horizontal lines as the men's. The curvier model in the pictures ... Read Moremakes the vest look a little better than the first model does, but the front of the vest is unflattering on both of them, as it would be on me. In terms of everything but style, it's an amazing vest. The interior pocket is its best feature.

May 9, 2020

Such a beautiful green and details amazing

Over the years, I feel like there's been a very slight change in fit. I love the down sweater vest for the warmth, amazing color choices, technical details, fitted yet comfortable design. I wear an XS/S in most Patagonia items. I was in a store that had this green color in December. Only in size S, and it fit too big (bigger than the currently... Read More owned size S vest that I have is much older). The green color was appealing so I went ahead and ordered XS in the camp green and it is such a beautiful color if you like green. not too dark and not bright. I got the green Dirt Roamer jacket to go on top and they feel amazing! I must say, this was the best purchase in awhile (well, my first Patagonia purchase from almost 20 years ago in college was my Capilene's that I still wear snowboarding). Thank you Patagonia for putting such effort in all the design for active moving people. It is much appreciated.

April 7, 2020

This is the second vest

This is the second vest I have brought I am very pleased with them they are warm and light to wear

February 9, 2020

Just what I wanted

Excellent product. Light but warm and fits perfectly

February 7, 2020

Best vest

After trying the nano and micro, this down vest is the best. The nano's zipper is a two hand job. With the down vest it is smooth and catch-free. The down vest is noticeably warmer which is great because I'm cold blooded. I also love the interior zipper pocket. It is a must have for me. I don't use purses so interior zipper pockets a... Read Morere where I stash my card case. The micro didn't have one! This vest is also nice and light. I've worn it skiing many times and it will definitely come to Patagonia with me in a few weeks.

January 30, 2020

Fit needs to be adjusted for women’s curves.

I love the colors and feel of the vest. It’s very well built. The reason for three stars is the fit. The small fit around my bust but was uncomfortably tight around my hips. The medium was loose around my bust and snug around my hips. I’m 5’4”, 135lbs, 34b bra, so pretty average build. I got the medium but will probably sell it because when I wear ... Read Moreit the wind gets through the arm holes due to the loose fit. It does not keep me warm. For a woman’s style vest, this one falls short of the mark. I like the new navy color but won’t get another until they correct the sizing issue.

January 24, 2020

Collar looks wrinkled

I have a few of these vests. They go with everything and fit well. The most recent one I purchased is not as well made. The collar is wrinkled even when I zip it up. The down fill seems less dense than the ones I previously purchased. Will probably return for a different item.

Response from Patagonia
January 30, 2020

Hi there, please feel free to begin your return here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return.

January 15, 2020

Yahoo!!

I am a long time Patagonia customer, purchasing my first outfit 34 years ago. Yes, it is still in perfect shape and I can still wear it! I purchased my first ever vest a few days ago, which is the Down sweater vest. For reference, I am 5'2" 100 pounds and the build of an Olympic ice skater. I purchased the XXS, which fits me perfectly. A ... Read Moretrim fit which still allows for a sweater or a fleece underneath. I got the light balsamic color which is an elegant color. Patagonia: I love this item so much that I intend to purchase it in the green color. Please don't sell out of this! Now I can obsess over your vests as well as everything else!! Please make more items in the XXS size. Love you!! Piglet!

January 14, 2020

Too wide

The quality of the gilet is great as expected with Patagonia and I think it runs true to size however the shape (in medium) is a little bulky on the chest and too large under the armpit which won't help with insulation. The small woudl be fine if I didn't expect to wear a jumper underneath but when I do I look like a wolf in sheep's ... Read Moreclothing.

January 1, 2020

Love love love

Stylish, perfect fit, compact, and keeps you warm without the bulk. Forever customer.

December 29, 2019

Fantastic down vest

Well made and fits beautifully. Wonderful customer service!

December 27, 2019

Favorite new vest

I've been looking for a new vest and I found the perfect one!

December 27, 2019

My mom loves it!

Great present!

December 24, 2019

Excellent product, but didn’t fit

I loved the vest. It was excellent quality, however it was too small. 😳😳

December 22, 2019

Staple

I just bought a size up as after having a baby my M isn't fitting quite right! I live in this vest. I live in Maine and spend a lot of time on the water sailing and this is something I wear year round and just about every single day. Probably my favorite piece of clothing!

December 16, 2019

Very satisfied*

Very satisfied*

December 15, 2019

Down sweater vest

Love it

December 15, 2019

Perfect!

Perfect!

December 14, 2019

Warm, comfortable and stylish!

Love the Down sweater vest to add to most outfits for that added layer needed in northern NH right now! Will also include in ski bag for days that the wind chill gets through your normal layers. May have to consider a few more of these to replace other ones I own that don’t really keep you warm.

December 11, 2019

Best vest

I love this vest! It’s lightweight but very warm. The only thing is, I originally ordered a small but had to exchange it for a medium. I think it runs a little small. But other than that, it’s perfect!! I also love the deep plum color.

December 11, 2019

Love it!

This vest is so deliciously warm and light! I wear it as much as I can over along sleeve shirt and I'm warm and cozy - admittedly in Bay Area winters but still. :)

December 11, 2019

Awesome

Great warmth and thermoregulation. I got the small and it fits perfectly for my 145 5”6 build. I wear it while skinning and skiing, to work, and while running. The perfect later.

December 10, 2019

Vest Perfection

I love everything about this vest which is great given that it’s not inexpensive. Worth every penny. Very light weight yet surprisingly warm. Fit true to size for me, and the fitted style looks great on. Very comfortable - not at all bulky so I can layer it under and over, easily.

November 23, 2019

Wisconsin Winter Jacket

Wisconsin winters aren’t the worst yet cold enough (and early this year in my mind) that I get very uncomfortable. I bought this coat and it’s perfect!! It’s warm enough that I can wear short sleeves, long enough so the cold and wind don’t get up my back or down my pants and when I get in the car it’s not under my butt so I can’t move. It’s the per... Read Morefect WI winter jacket for me. I’m 5’9” 165 lbs. I bought a large and it’s the perfect fit. I also got the nano puff mittens and my hands and perfectly comfortable!! Thank you Patagonia and employees for all you’re doing! I give you 2 thumbs up 👍🏻👍🏻

November 22, 2019

Vest for my wife

I have purchased other Patagonia tops for my wife in size S, however this one is definitely on the tighter side around the hips. Unfortunately there was no option to return it for a larger size due to it being out of stock.

November 22, 2019

Love this vest

Love this vest, I’ve worn it almost every day since I bought it. Wish they made some with a hood!!!! I’m 5’2’’, 117 pounds, athletic and an xsmall first great. Dig the navy color.

November 20, 2019

Perfect. Exactly what I expected.

Perfect. Exactly what I expected.

November 19, 2019

women vest is to boxie

women vest is to boxie and uncomfortable around waist line

Response from Patagonia
December 12, 2019

Hi Kelly, we're sorry you were unhappy with the fit of the Women's Down Sweater Vest. This vest is a regular fit and will be slightly boxier through the torso. If you're looking for something in a slim fit we'd recommend taking a look at the Patagonia Women's Nano-Air® Vest, https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-nano-air-vest/84277.html?dwvar_84277_color=BLK&cgid=womens-jackets-vests&isSearch=true#tile-5=&q=vest&start=1&sz=24.

November 19, 2019

I live in this vest!

I’ve had a black one for years that is one of my favorite to wear, almost daily. The rich wine color one I just bought is just as much of a regular go to, but the color makes me happy! Thank you

November 18, 2019

Awesome color and warmth!

Awesome color and warmth!

November 17, 2019

Great addition to any activity outfit

I LOVE this vest. I can throw it on for a cold run, or hike. I even wear it over a sweater for a cozy casual look. Love love love.

November 16, 2019

Flattering Down Vest

Love this vest. Light weight and warm.

November 14, 2019

Sweet vest

The best is perfect for keeping warm and looking nice.

November 14, 2019

Best vest

I hesitated to buy this due to the price, but decided to go for it and I’m so glad I did. This is the best vest I own (I have 6 others in various brands and colors including Barbour). I’m 150lbs, 5’8” and bought a M, fit is great and I can wear a sweater comfortably underneath. The best part is the length, I’m long bodied and this hits below the hi... Read Morep nicely. I’ll be buying the jacket.

November 13, 2019

absolutely AMAZING

Chicago Verified - Warm and Wonderful!!

November 12, 2019

In love

I love this vest. I got a medium. I’m 5’2” and weigh 130. This fits great as I’m only an A cup. Bigger boobs might have trouble zipping this up. It’s not too poofy. I’ll get more in other colors.

November 12, 2019

Great colder season vest!

Love this one when my Nano Vest is a bit too cold! Perfect layering piece. Travels really well! Superior Patagonia product and consistency! One of the most essential pieces to get in your Patagonia wardrobe!

November 10, 2019

Versatile and Warm Vest

Not your ordinary vest, worth the cost, and fits well over a t-shirt or light sweater. Perfect for most of our fall and winter weather in Kansas. Also great for commuting when you don't want to drive with a big puffy coat.

November 8, 2019

I sized down to an

I sized down to an XS. It fits great everywhere except it’s a little snug in the armpits.

November 7, 2019

Excellent

I love this vest so much. It is classic and looks nice. It is also warm and does the job. 

November 6, 2019

So cozy!

The down puffer vest is such a staple in your wardrobe and it also keeps you so warm! Love it!

November 4, 2019

Women’s sweater vest

Narrow in the hips. A large feels like a medium.

November 4, 2019

Down Sweater

Perfect fit, perfectly warm to wear as outer wear in fall or under a coat in winter.

November 3, 2019

Vest

This vest is great. Fits just right. I wear it running, hiking, as well as a base layer under my coat.

October 29, 2019

Everyone needs a vest

really like this vest...perfect in between layer

October 27, 2019

5 stars , thank you

5 stars , thank you

October 27, 2019

Loved the vest but it

Loved the vest but it was a little short in length and to tight across the chest the arm cutouts were low so the next size (L) would not have been an option. I love the product just wish the fit was better. There have been many similar reviews posted online, thought the design may changed because os do many posts!

October 26, 2019

Great style and level of warmth

This is more stylish than the nano puff and adds more warmth. Also has deep pockets Which I like. I also like the deep blue color I chose. Really happy wearing this around town or on a hike.

October 26, 2019

Amazing!

The XXS fits perfectly, it looks amazing and keeps me warm. Would buy this vest again and again. Got lots of compliments.

October 24, 2019

Terrible fit

I’m 5’8” Medium top and Large bottom- the M vest DOESN'T close at the hips so I ordered the L and it’s way to big. I read previous reviews and ignored them but really this best isn’t hip friendly! So sad.

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2019

Hi Elluany! Thanks for taking the time and provide this feedback, it's crucial to improving products for future seasons.We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment you've experienced with the fit. Your satisfaction is guaranteed so you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). Also, we've reached out to you directly with some further assistance!

October 23, 2019

Nice and light but warm.

Nice and light but warm. Love the lt balsamic color.

October 22, 2019

good quality

good quality, looks good for casual wear. It is not bulky at all, but I might be in favor of giving it slightly more heft so it would be warmer, even to wear around the house.

October 16, 2019

Awesome

I love my vest! This is the first one I've bought so I don't have anything to compare it to, but the fit seems good. The collar might be a little high when fully zipped but doesn't seem to be a problem. I chose the Classic Navy color which matches just about everything and I end up wearing it almost everyday when the weather is cool.... Read More I also have a micropuff hoody and a nanopuff for colder days but the vest is the thing I grab in the spring/fall or if I want to use it as a layer to keep my core warm under a heavier shell. I'm 5'4", 125 and a Medium fits me well.

October 10, 2019

Fabulous Vest

I love my Down Sweater Jacket, so I was expecting to love the vest - and I do. It's so soft. It's a great weight for a vest. Runs a bit large in my opinion. I'm pretty true to a size Large, and could have probably sized down to a Medium. Would happily recommend this product.

October 5, 2019

It’s the best light weight

It’s the best light weight warm vest

September 24, 2019

So disappointed

This is a beautiful vest - very high quality. I loved the shade of navy and when I put it on it felt really soft and comfortable, but I couldn't even get the corners to meet at the bottom to zip it up. I wear size 8 or 10 so the medium should have been perfect. Others seem to have a problem with the tight fit around the hips and note that a la... Read Morerger size is too big, so I won't bother ordering a large but will be returning and not exchanging. With so many comments about the snug fit around the hips, I would think Patagonia would make some adjustments to this vest.

Response from Patagonia
October 1, 2019

We're sorry this was too tight. Please [let us](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) know if you have any questions regarding your return.

September 20, 2019

Love the color! I think

Love the color! I think it runs small and did not like the material.

Response from Patagonia
September 30, 2019

We're sorry to hear this item didn't work out for you! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return or exchange, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

September 17, 2019

Down Sweater Vest

Love everything about this vest, plan on ordering another one in a different color, living in the upper mid west there are only a few months out of the year that it will hang in the back of my closest.

September 14, 2019

Love the longer length and

Love the longer length and the fit. Bought two and like the colors. Would recommend to but. I would buy again

September 11, 2019

Love these vests, this is my third

Living in the mountains these vests are like my daily uniform. I did notice this one is slightly smaller than my previous purchases? Other than that, brilliant piece and everyone should have one (or three).

September 3, 2019

Slim fitting

Small is ok but tight around bottom, medium was too big

September 2, 2019

A must have in the outdoor/active wardrobe

First off, the vest is one of the most versatile and critical items for any outdoor activity or camping adventure. And as far as vests go, this is perfect. Compact, soft, the perfect "poof" factor, and pockets. It fits like a dream - not too roomy, not too snug. It will go over anything from a T-shirt to a basic sweater and under any othe... Read Morer down jacket as a base layer.

August 31, 2019

My Favorite Vest

I have gotten 3 Patagonia vests and love each and ever one of them. They are warm and comfortable and I love the colors. Patagonia vests are the only brand I buy. I know I will be getting a quality long lasting product that looks great.

August 26, 2019

A classic item in my closet!

This is the 3rd down best I’ve purchased from Patagonia. I love the light weight, warmth & ability to roll up or squish into a suitcase. These are my go to in all kinds of weather. I bought to mossy green color & it’s a bit lighter in person than In the pictures.

August 17, 2019

Nice vest - Sizing off

I was hoping to get a new Patagonia down vest. I have a 2011 black Patagonia size Large down vest that I love. It fits me well and has served me often and well through the years. It is the style with the lovely stitched organic curves that flow and are flattering to the female body. I thought this Fall I would get a new vest in Mako Blue, even tho... Read Moreugh the curvy stitching is gone in favor of boring horizontal stitching (echoing many other brands). I read the Patagonia customer reviews online back as far as available to 2014. From 2014 and onward there is a consistency of comments about the hips being too small. Skimpy hip measurement does not work for me; I am shaped curvy, not straight up and down. I went to the store and tried on their size Large down vest and found (unlike my 2011 vest) that the hips are too small to even zip the vest. I tried on the XLarge and found it barely big enough in the hips to zip. Further, the XL is so long on my 5’1” frame and so swimmingly wide in the shoulders, that it looks ridiculous on me. In the store, I compared my 2011 vest to the 2019 and found that the 2019 size Large is 1.5” smaller in the hips than the 2011. Really – 1.5” smaller. So, I concur with the multitude of commenters that the sizing has changed so that the vest no longer accommodates curvy women. Since these customer comments to Patagonia go back at least 5 years and Patagonia has not increased the hip circumference, it makes me wonder if Patagonia is even listening. Disheartening. Let it be known that curvy women are just as physically active as straight up and down women. And I would bet our shape accounts for half the women. For years Patagonia has been my favorite brand --- well made products and pro-environmental policies. Sadly, I find I am having to look to other brands for a fit that is comfortable and works. And clearly, I am not alone. This does not have to be so. Please listen, Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2019

We can't thank you enough for your thoughtful comments toward this and are sorry to hear that over the years, our sizing changes have resulted in some troubles and concerns. Feedback like this is what will allow us to understand what our customers are hoping to see in the future so this is greatly appreciated. As far as this vest, if you haven't [returned](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it already, please reach out and we are happy to [assist](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) you.

August 15, 2019

Warm and light ! The best.

I love wearing these down sweaters and vests. They are expensive, but worth the price.

August 10, 2019

i Love my sweater vests!

i Love my sweater vests! I have one in each of five colorist! This one was a gift, which I asked for, when queried. it wears well, and washes well. My go-to for comfort in all seasons.

August 10, 2019

Sizing issues

Warm and packable down vest, that scrunches into its own pocket! Love the color choices. The fit is problematic, however. The vest is very narrow in the hips. The medium, my usual size is really snug in the hips. The large is way too big on top. ( I'm 5'4", 145 #).

May 8, 2019

Not designed for a woman’s body

I so wanted to keep this, but a medium was too small in the bust and hips, ok at the waist and the large was huge at the waist and armholes. Definitely not designed for an adult woman. Generally love Patagonia’s products.

May 8, 2019

The Best

I wore the down sweater vest everyday. It is the best!

May 8, 2019

I love my down vest!

I love my down vest! It is light and warm. Stylish and super comfortable too.

May 8, 2019

So Versatile!

Great vest all around, very happy with my purchase. Fits true to size

May 8, 2019

What you expect!

I've wanted one of these vests for years and love it! Warm but lightweight. Goes with everything. Good length - I have a slightly longer torso and appreciate that it's not too short or too long. I'm 5'6, 120, got a small - it fits nicely over a lightweight sweater layer.

May 8, 2019

MayL

I purchased this because my other white down vest of 20 years was worn, zipper failed and loosing down. The new vest is longer than my previous one but fits basically the same. It is my go to whenever I’m home or outdoors. It’s lightweight, breathable and keeps me comfortable. Also, the vest allows the freedom to roll up my sleeves while doing chor... Read Morees. Nice inside pocket, sized generously, to hold my big cell phone while I listen to my favorite podcast.

May 8, 2019

Down Vest with a bit of flair

Love the color and pattern on this warm vest. Fit was right.

May 8, 2019

Coastal vest

Light, stylish, perfect!

May 8, 2019

Sweater vest size change

I lost my treasured black down vest from 10 years ago so bought a new one. The fit has been changed and it’s bizarre. First of all the medium that used to fit me perfectly is now HUGE. The worst part about the fit is how long it is. Unflattering compared to my old one PLEASE BRING BACK THE OLD FIT AND SIZING. 😤😤😤

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2019

We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment with the fit. We appreciate your feedback on this. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us.

January 7, 2019

Weird Fit

I have a Patagonia vest from a few years back that I wear daily. My husband surprised me with a new color for Christmas. He ordered the size S based on my current vest, however it was too big. After exchanging the XS fits everywhere but the hip area. It is also being returned. I'm really bummed as I LOVE my original Patagonia. My hope a redesi... Read Moregn is in the works as it seems I'm not alone with the sizing issues.

December 20, 2018

Too tight

I wanted to love this. My husband bought it for me as a gift. It’s being returned. I’m usually a large in tops. I looked like s stuffed sausage with This zipped up. It’s shorter than I’d like and the price is so high, it needs to be perfection for me to have kept it. Sorry. I don’t recommend this.

October 30, 2018

Great vest

I bought this vest in the black and the white. I love the fit and the vest. I’m keeping the black only because the white vest looks like it is stained, the colored feathers show through the white. So disappointed because I really loved the white.

August 23, 2018

Must have

This super light weight but incredibly warm vest is a must have for any occasion. LOVE the color and it matches the rest of my Patagonia outer wear. Breathable down makes it comfortable to wear inside the house or out on the trail. Brilliant as a layer, outstanding by itself. I'm 5'9" at 128 lbs with a slim build and wear the S size.... Read More Perfect. Love the inside zipped pockets.

January 29, 2018

LOVE these vests!

I have 3 of these vests in white,black and gray,but I would LOVE the Tyrian Purple color you had a few seasons ago. Would you PLEASE consider bringing it back again???...with the red/orange pink zippers too??! Thanks for your consideration! (The tubular blue with gold zippers was pretty awesome too! Would love a chance to purchase both at some poin... Read Moret!)

December 22, 2017

New style not so great

I bought this in a L as I have one from 4 years ago that was a L as well. The style has changed. The collar is high and a little bothersome. I do not like the horizontal ribbing on the side. The vest is now much longer than the older styles too. The large was too big on me,maybe not necessarily in the waist area,but it was definitely too long and t... Read Morehe collar bothered me. Not for short torsos

September 17, 2017

Fit does. It work for curvy women

I ordered the large because I am normally a medium to large in most sizes.... the large was so tight and very unflattering. Ordered an xl because I really liked the feel and fabric. I was drowning in the xl.... so strange how this sizing is. Returned Both. Very disappointed.

September 16, 2017

Perfect vest for just about any activity.

I love this vest! I have purchased two of them and they have both been perfect for what I need. I tend to be cold all the time,and I've been really happy with how easy they are to pack away in a day pack within their own zippers for when I need them. The feathers don't spill out like the previous vests I've owned and I'm super i... Read Morempressed with the quality. Super warm!

September 16, 2017

Cute & functional!

great warmth for the weight and flattering cut. Love it!

September 10, 2017

Great vest

I love the revised fit of this vest. Color combination is good and I find the vest a good layering piece for varying temperatures in Montana's mountains

September 9, 2017

Love the color!

Have not had a chance to wear it yet,weather has been too warm. However,looking forward to getting a lot of use out of it once the cooler weather is upon us. I have lots of Patagonia gear. It's costly but so well made and if you can score it when it's on sale,you've gotten yourself a deal.

September 1, 2017

My favorite Patagonia

Bought this in rivermouth black and the color exactly matched the picture,which seemed more grey-green than black. I really wish that the lupine looked like it does in the pic online but instead it's much more lilac than greyish-purple. Everything about this vest is great. It's gorgeous and can be worn for any occasion! My only deal with... Read More it is that the waist could be a bit slimmer. I'm 5'6" 121lbs and go in between wearing and xs for regular fits and s for slim fits. I bought this in an xs thinking it would fit perfectly but there's more room than I would care for. It still looks flattering but on a breezy summer night in the mountains I was wishing that it had a synched waist. That way everyone would be happy.

August 24, 2017

Great vest

I read some of the reviews that this vest isn't great for accommodating hips. I'm pretty slim,(5'6",118pounds,32C) so I figured I would give it a shot,even though I do "hour-glass" a little,and wasn't sure how straight-up-and-down this vest would be. I really like the fit. I feel like it fits perfectly over my hip... Read Mores,and fits well under a shell or over a fleece. I have to size down with Patagonia,and even though it always makes me nervous,I generally go with an XS for sizing,and so far that's worked consistently. I feel like the vest could be even more fitted and still work well,but I like that it hits that sweet spot of tailored without being super clingy or a bit loose. The vest is warm and comfortable,but still fits well under layers,which is exactly what I look for in a down vest.

July 31, 2017

All Purpose Vest

I purchased this vest about a year ago in navy and when I saw the green,it was worth investing in another one. The sweater vest is one of my wardrobe staples. Extremely versatile as I wear it climbing,hiking or throw on a scarf and wear it to work or its always in my suitcase when travelling.

June 24, 2017

Super warm

I bought this a month ago and haven't had too much use out of it yet but as soon as I tried it on,the warmth oozed right through me. ..

June 21, 2017

For women with no hips

So disappointed that this jacket does not fit. Why pretend your female customers don't have hips ?

June 10, 2017

A Winner All Around

Love the color,fit,and price. My favorite of the 5 vests which I own.

June 10, 2017

Not what I expected

I had tried on the down sweater vest at REI prior to purchasing this one. When I received this one I could immediately tell that it was a cheaper version. Cut,material,features are all B grade. I would have preferred to have paid extra for the quality I expected

June 3, 2017

Mostly perfect

If this had a two way zipper,the vest would be perfect!

May 13, 2017

Warm

Bought the large. Great fit in the bust. Much too tight in the hips. Patagonia sizing does not work for women with hips

May 6, 2017

Perfect fit!

Great color and awesome for layering! A part of the weekend uniform these days.

April 28, 2017

Love the marbling!

I bought a large despite being a medium,Patagonia always runs small I feel. The large fits great and I LOVE LOVE LOVE the blue marble! I've gotten so many compliments on it. Of course it's also functional,great Patagonia quality.

April 18, 2017

I really wanted this vest to work!

I love this vest and am always envious of friends who have it! But unfortunately it didn't work for me! The medium (my usual Patagonia size) was much too tight even with just a long sleeve t underneath! I tried sizing up to a large but it was too boxy on me! Hopefully sizing will change so I can get one of these vests in the future!

April 15, 2017

Live in it!

I'm wearing it right now. I live on the central coast and my vest provides just the right amount of warmth. I wear it with everything and I love it!

April 8, 2017

Great and....

I love this vest and I loved it more a few years ago when it came shorter and fit my torso length. This model is slightly to long,bunches a bit.

March 26, 2017

Amazing comfort,style and appearance!

I received this vest for my birthday and have gotten compliments every time I wear it! I have owned it now for 2 weeks,worn it 5 times and have received 15 compliments on the awesome pattern,feminine look and color!

March 26, 2017

Not sure why Patagonia calls this a 'Sweater Vest

GREAT VEST-would love to buy a couple more in different colors. Fits great.

March 26, 2017

Perfect vest!

I bought this vest a month ago and am so happy I did! I was a little wary of spending so much on a vest but it's worth it,I have a few others but this is the only one I want to wear now! The fit is great and it's very warm - perfect sub for a jacket in the mild Oregon winters. I'm 5'3" 115 pounds and the XS fits perfectly. ... Read MoreIt's now my go to vest and I've gotten tons of compliments. Highly recommend!

March 26, 2017

functional simplicity

i love this vest! so much so that i bought several of them. i'm outside a lot for work and these keep me at the perfect temperature. and on top of being functional and comfortable,i get tons of compliments on how it looks!

March 25, 2017

Can't take it off!

I am so in love with this vest! Perfect fit,warm enough for Alaska spring & easy to layer with warmer pieces. It's definitely my new favorite item and looks nice enough to wear with a cute dress to work and hardy enough to play outside in.

March 25, 2017

Warm and cozy - not bulky!

We purchased these for our staff,who spend a lot of time outside with guests. Our mornings in Napa can be quite cold,so these vests were a perfect solution. Although sporty,they give a complete look to their uniform. We purchased the drumfire red and the black. Guests even offered to purchase them from our staff!

March 25, 2017

good quality and great for spring!

It is great when you need just a little something for a walk...

March 25, 2017

I love this vest!

This vest is perfect. The color is great and so warm and cozy.

March 25, 2017

Great vest,small armholes

I bought this based on great reviews.I love it mostly with exception of armholes. They are a bit small and resulted in chafing. And I have small arms.

March 25, 2017

Love the shape and the color!

I bought this a month ago for a trip to California. I wore it almost every day,cool days and warmer days. Now that I'm back in Maine,I'll be wearing it for another two months. Love the color!

March 21, 2017

nice but needs adjustments

My suggestion to Patagonia is for small women,make the vest a bit shorter and taper at the waist.

March 18, 2017

Love the fit and color

I am glad Patagonia has not changed the fit of this vest. It is always my go vest because it is so comfortable.

March 18, 2017

So cozy. The perfect temperature.

This is my first Patagonia vest,and I love it. I love having my arms free but my core warm! I love it so much I bought three different colors in the same vest,and planning to buy a 4th! it does run a bit small in the hips area,so it's a little snug on me when zipped but the medium was too big.

March 13, 2017

so light and warm

perfect for traveling. it's light and warm and good for layering. it's kept me warm on a hike and walking around.

March 12, 2017

Nice vest!

I reach for this vest often and really like the warmth and color. It runs a little small but is form fitting

March 12, 2017

I love this vest.

This vest is so cozy. I love it on it's own or underneath my down coat. I was debating on the small or the medium & got the small. It's just snug enough to seal in the warmth! I'm 5'8" & about 140lbs.

March 11, 2017

Just the right amount of warmth

I am a big fan of vests,for my mild winter climate in the San Francisco Bay Area. I had an older generation of this down vest,and had been looking for a new color to add to my wardrobe. When the navy blue went on sale,I grabbed the offer and purchased the same size - small - as my previous vest. I had seen that the sizing had changed (narrower at t... Read Morehe hips,and slightly longer); so,although I love the versatility of the color,I am not as happy with the fit on me as my older vest.

March 9, 2017

SO comfortable!!

I totally love this vest! I wear it all the time - I'm wearing it right now!! It's lightweight,comfortable yet warm and functional. In Oregon we can have three seasons in a day and this vest sees me through all of them. I am so happy about the inside zip pocket for my important items,and all of the zippers work easily without snagging. My... Read More only comment is that it runs a little small. I usually wear an extra small butI had to return the first one and size up - but even that experience was completely easy and positive. Thanks Patagonia!

March 7, 2017

Very versatile!!

Bought this a few months back and I love it!! Great for cool days (50F) over a base layer for trekking about. Was almost too hot when I wore it snowboarding in 28F weather as my midlayer over my base and under another jacket that had mild insulation. Also perfect to use under a rain shell for city walking in 45F weather (provided the shell is of qu... Read Moreality and does not soak through). Overall great piece. I'm 5'4",115lbs and got an XS.

March 5, 2017

Awesome

Bought this for my wife. It's here 3rd-4th Pata item,and she loves it. Keep making great gear.

March 4, 2017

Disappointed w insulation

Good fit but very poor insulation,chest and shoulders always cold. Even under Light vortex jacket. Expected it to be perfect for PNW wrather

March 3, 2017

Excellent,light,but warm vest. Perfect layer.

This is my second favorite Patagonia product in my closet (next to the Women's Down Sweater Hoody). I've owned a few down vests from a competing brand,but eventually gave those away because,while warm,they were super bulky. What I love about the Patagonia Down Sweater Vest is that it's light weight,hassle free,no unnecessary frills,w... Read Moreith all the warmth that some of the puffier vests that you might find elsewhere. Not only is it easy to pack,but it's easy to layer without feeling like a marshmallow. On rainy days,I've layered this under an old Patagonia rain shell for just the right amount of warmth. On cool/sunny days (50 degrees/breezy),I often layer it over a thermal and am good to go. I'm 5'4",roughly 135,and have a medium. A small would work as well,but it would have been fitted in the hips,and I prefer a slightly roomier fit in general. The only suggestion I have for Patagonia is that they add the microfiber/fleece like material on the inside tips of the collar by the zipper like in the Down Sweater Hoody.

February 27, 2017

Very functional

I bought this vest about a month ago and I love it! The color/pattern is cool and you can wear it with pants or I've worn it all day to work with a skirt. I have 3 colors and would love more! Small is perfect for me; I'm 5'7 128 pounds and like the fitted feel/look.

February 26, 2017

Down sweater vest

I love this vest! It is warm without being bulky. It is perfect for layering while hiking.

February 16, 2017

This vest has changed!

Size large is a good fit to slightly large on my 5'7" 160 lbs. But it is noisy,slippery,and rides up when I sit and then remains up when I stand up- I have older versions that I much prefer. It does provide the lightweight toasty warmth this vest is known for.

February 2, 2017

Cute & Warm!

I have a few of these vests and love them! There are somewhat fitted with princess seams,which is flattering. My only suggestion would be to make them longer

January 29, 2017

Great Vest

I bought this vest after having other Patagonia items,turns out to be my go to for everything. Love the color,goes with so much and a nice break from black and gray that I usually wear.

January 29, 2017

Love it!

Has been the perfect edition to my wardrobe for a 40-50 degree weather day.

January 24, 2017

Lightweight,comfy and warm!

Love this sweater vest. I wear it out while running and it helps keep me warm on my cold runs. I travel for a living and it helps that I can easily pack this too!

January 22, 2017

Light weight and great fit

Bought this for myself as a layering piece to wear when it gets chilly in Canada. I am 5'6 and 135lbs and a small fits wonderfully! I was a little skeptical about the size when I first received it as it seemed a little snug,but I was able to layer big chunky knit sweaters underneath it with no problem! I brought this with me on a short Europe ... Read Moretrip,and its light weight and compressibility was a blessing when trying to pack.

January 16, 2017

My Favorite Vest!

I have several vests,both Patagonia and North Face and this is far and away my favorite. I love the color and the logo really stands out. It is incredibly warm and (living in Iowa) I can wear it with a scarf and long sleeves and be fine on an 'average' winter day. If the prices were a little lower I would order more. Worth the $ I spent!

January 13, 2017

Love Vests!

This is my second down vest with Patagonia. You can not beat the quality! It is very functional & I love the environmental aspects of this company. That's why I continue to buy their gear because not only is it highly functional but also environmentally conscious.

January 12, 2017

Awesome. Warm and versatile

Great product by Patagonia. Fits well. Will likely buy another color

January 11, 2017

Warm and cuddly!

I bought this vest and I wear it all the time! It's so warm and is very stylish. I used to only wear North Face vests,but now I can't get enough of Patagonia! My only complaint is the sizing. I usually wear a medium in most things,but I went up to an XL so I could wear sweaters under it without it being too tight.

January 11, 2017

No regrets

I went back and forth between this vest and the most affordable option for a good two months. But when it came time to actually buy one,I decided to take a chance and go with the nicer,hardier one. I'm glad I did. I LOVE this piece. I'm working on a capsule wardrobe and this will definitely be a staple for winter and a portion of spring a... Read Morend fall. It's incredibly comfortable and flattering. I love that there is an inside zipper pocket. It works well to layer with tunics and plaid shirts,although it looks frumpy if you try to layer anything much thicker with it. Also,I typically wear a small in most brands (Columbia and North Face included) but needed to bump up to a medium in this if I wanted to be able to wear a tank top and a button-down under it. Not a big deal,but I'm glad I tried it on in a store before ordering online or else I would've ordered a small and had to exchange it.

January 11, 2017

Is a two way zipper too much to ask????

I bought this vest before Christmas and I've worn it twice. Both times I spent most of the day rearranging it and having it bug me for a couple of hours in the car. I like the longer length to cover the butt but why is it so hard to put a two way zipper in vests and jackets???

January 11, 2017

Great Vest

I bought this for my wife for xmas. She loves it. Like all Patagonia gear its exceptionally well made and fortunately (for me) it fits her well.

January 11, 2017

Light and comfortable!

I bought it a month ago and I like it. Thinking to buy another one more.

January 11, 2017

Perfect for a petitie frame!

I've been looking for a puff jacket/vest that wouldn't make me look so big (bc I have such a petite frame)! I'm 26,5'1,and weigh 100lbs. I've tried so many XS jackets and vest but they're always too big. I have even tried the ones at Uniqlo. I have also tried youth sizes but the sleeves are always a tad bit too short s... Read Moreo I was esatic when I found out Patagonia offered XXS. It hits me perfectly at the waist. I can layer comfortably. Not only that but I easily get hot while hiking and biking so it gives me enough warmth without overhearing. It's perfect!

January 11, 2017

Essential Layering Piece

I wear this by itself but also as a layering piece under my Refugitive when I ski. Not only is it functional,it is also very flattering.

January 11, 2017

Stains surfacing

This looks very pretty,but dark stains have come up through the material along the seams as if the feathers weren't properly cleaned.

January 11, 2017

Great construction,fits well,looks great

The jacket has the same quality construction I expect from Patagonia and fits very well. The colors are as they appear on the website. Very warm for the overall thickness. Very pleased. The only reason I can't give this 5 stars is the zipper is not compatible with my other Patagonia soft/hardshell jackets. Not a huge issue for me but it would ... Read Morebe nice to have them zip together so I don't have to keep track of both jackets when I take them off. If this was disclosed on the webpage I missed it but would have still purchased the vest.

January 11, 2017

The Down Sweater is a winner

I love the down sweater vest. It is a perfect layer for super cold days when you don't need to have many layers on your arms but you want your core insulated. I love the thickness and love the color (aquamarine).

January 11, 2017

The perfect vest!!!

Goes with everything. Fits perfect. So warm and comfy!!!

January 11, 2017

Would be perfect,but proportions off

This vest is so close to excellence! The weight-to-warmth ratio is really fabulous. (I've been wearing this on winter bike commutes and it's the perfect layer,however I pair it.) However,I've experienced some fit issues that other customers have mentioned. It's tight across the belly/hips area and HUGE in the bust. I feel as tho... Read Moreugh two of me could fit in the upper torso. I wish the fit was right!

January 11, 2017

love the color and feel of this vest.

the fit seems true to size. i went a size up because i wanted it as a top (over several) layer.

January 11, 2017

Perfect Vest

I got this as a gift for Christmas and it is a bit puffier than my other Patagonia vest but it is warm and super comfortable. The color is perfect and is exactly what I was looking for.

January 11, 2017

In love

You know a products great when you put it on immediately upon buying it... and don't take it off for 3 days. Warm and lightweight vest that even folds into itself for easy packing.

January 11, 2017

Great all-around vest

I love this vest! I wear it all the time,and it's a wonderful layer to keep your core warm on chilly days. The collar rides a little high,so if you're active and breaking a sweat,you will sweat out the collar. Still worth it,in my book.

January 2, 2017

Forestland Lupine: Pretty color and design

BUT... New customer,just received internet order,smooth transaction and prompt delivery. It is quite cold in the Bay Area today and I must say that this vest has a VERY light down weight and does not keep me warm enough. Since I wear my vests most of the time (and am not concerned with "packing") I would have preferred a warmer vest. Als... Read Moreo a consideration is cost/benefit. Otherwise a sporty/feminine design.

December 29, 2016

Exactly what I was looking for

I had been eyeing this vest for a while and finally made the investment,and I'm so happy that I did. I opted to go for this more expensive version because it's lighter and more package. I wear this around town over a wool sweater when it's warmer,and under a larger puffy when the weather is below zero. I've also worn it skiing a... Read Morend running to keep my core warm when it's really cold,but avoid the bulk and heat of a full puffy. I think the fit is perfect (I have a slimmer,more athletic build),and the pockets are the perfect size and position.

December 14, 2016

Wonderful vest but fit is off...

I love my old down sweater vests from about 5-6 years ago,but the newer versions are longer and very slim around the hips. If I size up,the top of the vest balloons up when I sit down and is very uncomfortable. The vest in one size up will barely zip at the bottom because it is too tight at the hips. Patagonia,I don't mind this vest being long... Read Moreer,but please create a garment that fits ALL women,not just those of us who are slim. An alternative would be to offer two sizes...one regular for us curvy girls,and one true "slim fit". Unfortunately,I'll have to make my old vests last a little longer. Too bad since this season's colors are so bright and pretty!

December 6, 2016

Love it!

So comfy and warm! Love the pockets,collar is perfect. I got the French red which is very bright,but it's grown on me. Lightweight and very packable. Highly recommend!

November 18, 2016

Light and warm

I love this vest,it is incredibly light,yet very warm. It is flattering and cut just right,big enough to fit over a warm shirt,small enough to fit under other gear. Combined with my midweight parka,single digits are comfortable. Small fits perfectly. I'm 35-27-35 and 126 lbs and 5'6". I tried a medium on and it was longer,which was g... Read Moreood,but sort of baggie,would be good if you plan on layering more underneath. My only complaint is that the armholes are a tad small. It's a vest,so clearly another shirt will be underneath and I feel I could use more room,and I'm not big shouldered.

November 12, 2016

Perfect for just about everything!

The fit on this is great! A bit longer cut and hourglass in shape,size is pretty spot on for me,a small at 5'3" & 115lbs. The collar is nice and comfy zipped or open. Oversized zippers on the front and 2 side handwarmer pockets. Smaller interior chest pocket with dual zipper for vest self stuffing. Very warm and breathable. Fits over ... Read Morebaselayers and under outer layers with equal ease. Quality piece from Patagonia that wont let you down.

October 15, 2016

Great purchase!

Fits perfectly and goes with most everything,even cotton pants.

October 2, 2016

Very attractive

This was given to me as a gift. The medium fits perfectly (I'm 5'8",small breasted but broad shoulders). It's light weight and wonderful color (silver with teal lining). I'll be taking it on a backpack trip to Chimney Pond in Baxter (Maine) the middle of Oct. This should give the vest a good test for warmth .. the lightweig... Read Moreht is already a plus in the pack!

October 1, 2016

New fit didn't work for me

I have a prior version of this vest from ~10 years ago that I love,but it's getting pretty old and ratty and I felt like an upgrade was in order. A fun color was on sale and so I pulled the trigger. I couldn't remember what size my old vest was at home,so I ordered both a S and M. When the new vests came I was pretty disappointed. It seem... Read Mores that Patagonia has redesigned their clothing for stick people and not women with curves. I'm on the high side of 5'6",140 lbs,athletic build - small waist,decent breasts,hips,and shoulders. What I really don't like about the new vest cut is the length. As other reviewers have noted,the S had a nice length (~1-2" below my hip bone),but was really tight across the breast region. The M fit like a trash bag,super loose throughout most of the torso,and then it came down to 3-4" below my hip bone,hanging so low that it constricted my leg movement. I held up the new M to my old M and it is indeed several inches longer and apparently wider as well. I also found the fabric and loft of the older vest to be more to my liking than this new model,even after years of slowly losing feathers. The redesign must be part of Patagonia's green initiative master plan. My old vest still fits like a (well-worn ratty) glove and will continue to go on adventures with me. These new ones are going back.

August 24, 2016

my favorite piece

I bought this vest over a year ago,and I'm just as obsessed as I was when I purchased. I've read some reviews talking about the fit,and I have never had an issue. I'm 5'5 with a slender build and I think the Small is a very appropriate size. It fits well over a base/slightly loose layer (I usually wear unzipped). And it is excel... Read Morelent as a fitted,toasty layer under a jacket or coat. I've worn casually with a coat and with a thicker shell skiing. As for the tightness around the waist,I think it makes for a more secure layer under my jackets and shells. Technical enough to be a reliable,quality layer,and casual enough to wear to work.

June 6, 2016

Living in this vest....

Versatile enough to hike with on Mt. Whitney on Saturday and wear to the office on Monday. A wardrobe favorite. To many activities to recommend wearing it for but I do plan on travelling with it this summer,skiing with it next winter and wearing it for a lot of other sports/activities in between.

May 19, 2016

Poor fit,had to return.

I really really wanted to try make this work but the jacket was so ill-fitting I had to return it. I am 5"6' average build and despite the warnings of the other customers of how ill-fitting the jacket is,I decided to buy the jacket and was confident I could "make it work". Alas,"make it work" I couldn't. The jacke... Read Moret was very loose at the top and very snug at the hips. Every time I stood up,the jacket would creep up at the waist and swell up in the front. I tried to make it work by using it on top of bulky hoodies etc,but the fit was still awful. However,despite all the fit issues,one can see the jacket is of top notch quality and is made to last.Please make it a better shape/fit and I would give it a shot again!

March 9, 2016

Love this vest,but fits a bit small at the hips

First,the positive feedback about the down sweater vest. It is well made,attractive,and very warm without being too puffy. I wear it for dog walking,snow shoeing,and after yoga to stay cozy - a great,versatile layer. My top priority is function,so I'm okay with the larger,more casual zippers. I also applaud Patagonia for using traceable down -... Read More that had a definite impact on my decision to buy this item. As others have mentioned,however,the sizing with this vest is tricky. I am about 5'3" tall,115 pounds (my hips are 35.5"),and the vast majority of my Patagonia garments,including two down sweaters and numerous synchilla vests,have been XS. I have an average torso length; this vest falls lower on my hips than my other pieces,and I have about and inch and a half of give at the bottom. This is fine when I'm wearing my yoga pants,but it feels a bit snug when paired with thicker bottom layers such as jeans or a base layer with soft shell pants. Although I'd like to have more give at the bottom no matter what I'm wearing,I'm keeping the XS vest because it fits me well everywhere else (I have a 33" bust). If you are of average height or shorter,with a larger bust measurement,you may want to order a size S. I realize that it's impossible to design a vest that will fit everyone,but I agree with other reviewers that there are options to address this issue,e.g.,a two-way zipper or two lengths from which to choose. With either of these adjustments,women of different shapes and sizes could enjoy the functionality,comfort and warmth of this attractive down vest.

January 29, 2016

Awesome vest,Patagonia finally got the fit right!

tl;dr first: Love the new long-and-lean fit,high quality goose down,and cute styling! Wish it had a nylon shell,and a two-way zipper. Make sure to check the size chart to get the right size for waist AND hips! **************** Now the extended review: This the the best down vest out there,IMO. Wanted one for years,but never bought because the fit ... Read Morewas so weird -- too short and boxy,only fit short torsos and curvy/mature bodies. The new version of this vest is fantastic! Thank you Patagonia for finally updating and improving the fit! Fit is now long and lean,good for longer torsos and athletic bodies. Covers waistband on my mid-rise bottoms. Drapes along the body,but magically expands to fit sweaters underneath. Looks cute and stylish,streamlined and modern. Wish it didn't have logo on chest,seems tacky. Down fill is excellent quality,love that Patagonia still uses 800 Euro goose down,not cheap duck like other manufacturers. Don't love the polyester shell fabric,wish it were a nice durable nylon. The poly fabric is stiff and rides up when I sit,which brings my next complaint. This vest needs a two-way zipper,to unzip the bottom when sitting (eg driving). A two-way zip would also improve fit for people smaller on top than bottom (seems like an issue with this vest). Warmth factor is perfect for me in northern NH -- just right for cool temps (40-50 F) and over sweaters in colder (20-30 F). Not warm enough for real cold (0-10 F),unless I'm hiking or shoveling snow,but fits nicely under winter coats. Drop-tail helps prevent bootie-freeze. Not weather-proof,but more wind-resistant than other down jackets. ********* Important note about sizing: ********* Make sure to look at the size chart! You must choose the size based on your largest measurement: hip,waist,or chest. Unlike the previous version,this vest needs to skim the hips in order to drape correctly. Lots of people (like me) are bigger on the bottom than the top. If you buy too small,the vest will hang up on your hips,and it will be too tight at the hip and too roomy around the torso. So measure yourself accurately and buy according to the size chart. Like me,you may find that you need a size bigger than usual! For reference I am 5'4',110 pounds,26.5' waist,36' hips,and needed S in this vest. XS was too small even though I always used to wear XS in Patagonia.

January 22, 2016

Amazing everyday vest

I cannot say enough good things about this vest. I got it last year for Christmas and am amazed how warm it's kept me. It's great for days when a fleece or thin sweater is all you need on your arms but a big coat is too much. My boyfriend loves it so much,he started stealing mine - I had to get him his own this past Christmas! I'm a ... Read More38D and normally wear size 12 clothes - I sized up to an XL,and I'm glad I did.

November 21, 2015

Everything one could ask for...

I love my new vest!!! The design is awesome as are the looks. It fits great. I plan on using this for hiking, snowshoeing, and around town. So far I have the down sweater in the jacket and the jacket with the hood so this fits in nicely with my collection!

November 19, 2015

Much better!

I have 2 of these vests (through work) - one from 2014 and one from 2015. The most recent version is a huge upgrade! It's a little puffier, longer, not quite as slim and the color is brighter. I'm 5'10", 150 and take a medium.

November 16, 2015

Perfect for everyday

This is one of my all-time favorite Patagonia products. I love it so much that I own three! The fit is slim and flattering and the down is the perfect weight. I have tried several other brands of vests over the years (black is always my preferred color) and after everyday wear, every other black vest has faded significantly due to sun exposure. Aft... Read Moreer owning my black Patagonia vest for nearly a year now, it still looks brand new and the color hasn't faded at all.

November 11, 2015

Love this vest and will keep it even though....

... the fit could be a bit roomier in the hips. I love this vest! It's light weight and warm and looks great. But I have to agree with previous reviews that it is a bit small in the hips. I am 5' 4" and weigh about 125 pounds. My hips measure 37 1/2 "and I'm a pretty average build - neither long nor short waisted. I ordered... Read More size small and the fit is good everywhere except my hips where it fits ok but no room to spare. Even if it zipped up from the bottom it would have been an improvement. Having said that, I do love it. I've only had it a week and already I'd be lost without it!

October 15, 2015

So warm without the puffiness

I just bought this vest locally today and oh my gosh I'm in love! I bought the sumac red color which is absolutely fantastic! Most perfect red I've ever seen. It's fun without being overly bright. Love the burgundy zippers as a contrast. This vest is so warm. I put it on in the store and was instantly hot. It's going to be great... Read More for doing dog walks and anything else outside this fall and winter. I don't think it would be good for high energy activities because I think you will sweat your brains out---I would never go trail running in it but would probably be great for hiking. It is super cute and nice enough looking to be worn out on the town and also in the woods. Love the versatility of Patagonia products. Now I'm in trouble however because I got online and now I see that you have a purple one which is my favorite color. Shall I buy a second? I think YES! I love that this fits like a nano vest in terms of being slim fitting and not puffy. And of course the traceable down is the only down product I will buy. Great job Patagonia! You not only make fabulous products, but you care about the animals and environment. This is why I support you and have a closet that is half full with your clothes! Oh, and I'm 5'5" and 120 lbs and the extra small fits me perfectly.

May 17, 2015

Perfect for overnight cycling trips

Love this vest! 5'6 140lbs, small fits perfect. I wear it on cycling trips in all different scenarios, as well as during everyday activities. It's a great fit and suites many occasions. Definitely recommend.

April 27, 2015

Design change

I purchased this vest and when it showed up it was the perfect color and loved the look and then I tried it on'. I was very disappointed because like the R1 fleece jacket that I had to return, they have changed the design to be more narrow at the hips. I was and have been a small and now they don't fit! Please bring back the old style. I... Read Moref you look at all the reviews you will see everyone even if they like the length, say it is snug around the waist and hips! So disappointed that I will have to find another place to shop if they keep making all the jackets narrow! We women have hips!

April 8, 2015

This year new design has a casual looking zipper

After I bought this new design vest by mail. I compared this with my old one. I like the former design better. I didn't like the new zipper because it does look too casual. I can tolerated the new design even though it is fitted tigher at the waist. I wear extra small, the next size will be too big. I love Patagonia products. Please bring back... Read More the former nicer zipper.

April 5, 2015

Good for everything

This versatile down sweater vest is good for anything... An insulating mid-layer on brisk ski days, to keep your core warm on cold days running, or just casually around town. I got this as a gift for my wife and she loves it and wears it constantly. She likes the fit, color, and styling.

March 26, 2015

Best Vest Ever

This vest is everything I had hoped it would be. After a string of E bauer vests, my boyfriend bought me this for Christmas and I couldn't be happier with it. There is such a quality difference between this vest and others made by competing companies. The material is softer yet doesn't allow down out of the seams. It's thinner yet wa... Read Morermer. Yet I can wear it indoors as well, as it's incredibly breathable. It's absolute quality. Hands down. I just didn't know there could be a vest as comfortable and warm as this. I'm a size 4, 130lbs, 5'8" and I wear a small. It's a lil loose in the chest. But perfect on the hips. I had purchased an extra small and had to return it. Super tight in the bust. This fits like a looser slim fit. Only problem with the vest is that my boyfriend can't wear it. Lol

March 26, 2015

Much better but still not perfect

This vest is a huge improvement from years past. Loving the longer length as no woman I know wants a vest to end at her lower abdomen. Still think it could be at least an inch longer!! I got the small (5'9 120 lbs) and it just barely fits in the hips. The medium might be better but then I'd worry about it being too big across the chest.

March 16, 2015

Great for in-between season

I love this product. I take my Kids walking every morning and this is perfect for that in between spring weather. The fit is great as well.

March 7, 2015

very fond of this one

I found the fit just right, but know with the incredible diversity in women's bodies, no piece will fit each of us. Appreciate the zippered pockets outside the inner roomy zip pocket; no problem with them catching, but I keep them zipped all the time. I wear this for anything I'm doing (it looks great, so even out for coffee, etc.), when ... Read MoreI need a little more warmth. Plan to use it for many years, like nearly everything else Patagonia in my closet!

February 26, 2015

Good Layerable Vest

I wear this vest around the house, walking, hiking, shopping, and even cross country skiing. Purchased the white color in a medium because I'm a size 6-8. Love the vest, hate the zippers on the pockets. Gave the vest 3 stars instead of 5 because the plastic teeth on the oversized pocket zippers snag everything I wear from terrycloth loops to t... Read Moreop stitching on my under layers. My other jackets and vests have concealed zippers on the pockets and they don't snag. Patagonia please listen and change the design. Also, I would gladly pay more to have the collar lined with a light fleece.

February 12, 2015

Sizing is off

This is my first Patagonia purchase for myself. Per the sizing chart a M is size 8-10. I am 5'10 weighing 150 and am a M in the top, size 8 on the bottom, size 6 in dresses. Was so bummed that this was too tight around the hips and barely zipped/no comfort . I would order a larger size if you would like it to fit comfy to layer, I feel the siz... Read Moree chart is not true to a real woman. Great material, can't wait to see how the Large fits....customer service was wonderful with accommodating the switch. I think the M fits more like a size 6-8.

January 22, 2015

Love this vest!

I bought this vest as a layer for winter hiking in the White Mts. of NH. It's absolutely wonderful! I wear it under a waterproof, windproof shell. It keeps me warm but not overheated. I have also been wearing it with a sweater/jeans to relax in after a hike, on the weekends around town, and in the office if it's cold. I'm 5'7&qu... Read Moreot; and have a long torso. I appreciate the longer length which keeps my hips warm and doesn't ride up. It has a really nice fit. Thanks, Patagonia!

January 16, 2015

Too Long

This is a beautiful vest. It is too long for my frame -- I am 5'4". It seems in past years this vest has been too short for taller gals and now it is too long for medium to shorter ones. Perhaps next season Patagonia could do a short and a long version?

January 11, 2015

Better fit, Cheap zippers

This is the 8th down sweater vest I have purchased over the years--this time I bought the navy blue. Like the new cut with the longer length for more coverage, but hate the plastic zippers. I much prefer the old nylon zips. Hope Patagonia considers keeping the the new cut, but returning to nylon zippers.

January 10, 2015

Great Purchase

The down sweater vest is great on top of anything for extra warmth! Love have free arm mobility yet still staying toasty. Highly recommend it and it looks cute.

January 4, 2015

Too long, doesn't fit right

I have this vest from a prior season and wear it so often that I wanted to buy another one, but it doesn't work very well for shorter people, it is too long. I am 5'2" and 120 lbs. I have the same problem with the nano puff vests. A great vest if it fits.

November 17, 2014

Nicely improved fit

Finally the down sweater vest is long enough to cover places that I want to keep warm-- such as my waist. This fit of this vest is both flattering and warm.

October 16, 2014

New Favorite Vest!

Like a previous reviewer, I found this to be a perfect fit for my longer than average torso! I'm 5'6", about 125 lbs and bought a small, which is what I wear in most Patagonia items. I got the cobalt blue, which is somehow proving to be a pretty great neutral. I've already gotten a ton of use out of this vest, even more than I o... Read Moreriginally expected. It's been a great piece for the transition into fall (in New England). I also love that Patagonia creates such high quality pieces and stands fully behind their products. I know that I will have (and enjoy) this vest for many years to come!

July 4, 2014

Amazing revision

I'm 5'8, 125lb and got the XS. It fits perfectly. Great length, flattering cut and construction. This new version of the down vest is a much better fit for someone with a regular to long torso. The past season down vest is far too short for me and didn't fit properly. Very satisfied with the update to this vest.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches