Back to Product

Stormsurge Pack 30L

Write Your Review

4.3/5

Runs Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 36 Reviews

Clear All

Stormsurge Pack 30L

4.3/5
Runs Large
May 3, 2021

Best waterproof bag!

This bag is so good. Ive had other waterproof bags that have roll top and theyre super annoying to get in and out of. This one has such a great zipper on it that its easy to access while also keeping everything dry. A little more expensive than some roll top dry bags, but its well worth the extra for this bag. Never can say enough good things about... Read More Patagonia products!

April 29, 2021

Bomber sidekick at work

While I don't use this pack for fishing, it is a perfect piece of gear for work. When I am on the boat, this guy is sitting shotgun. Having the confidence to throw something in it and know its coming back out dry no matter what is *chef's kiss*. I have used it for work, play, traveling and the occasional hike in a downpour. 5 stars for it... Read Mores build quality and durability. Other reviewers are spot on about lack of structure, awkward hip belt and sternum strap, and lack of pockets (even just a bigger zippered pocket would've been nice guys!). I have other packs that are good at backpacking, hiking, snowboarding but this thing built for a specific purpose and it hits that nail on the head.

April 17, 2021

Great Storefront Pack, but too short in the body

I love Patagonia clothing and gear! This pack looks really good, and I'm sure it functions just as good as it looks. My only problem with it is that I'm 6' tall and the pack is so short on my body that the hip belt hits me at the high waist line and the chest strap hits me at the bottom of the throat. Even after I've adjusted th... Read Moree straps to give me as much length as possible. The fit is just all wrong. I'm not unusually tall and do not have an unusually long torso. For that reason, I'm returning this product. Unfortunately!

April 7, 2021

Incredible Waterproof Back

This is the most used piece of equipment that I use in the ocean. The back pack is very versitle, and has a great amount of space to store items. The zipper could be a little more playable to allow easy closure.

March 22, 2021

Decent Pack

So I heard good things about previous models but have always been an Oakley/north face guy. Eventually got tired of my gear getting soaked because Im always caught in random rain. Regardless of waterproofness always had some residual water/humidity leaving at least electronics unsafe(carry a plastic bag yeah right). Bought the storm surge and could... Read More NOT be happier. Absolute protection. Throw your bag in the lake for later? Ok. Not a problem for this guy anymore

March 21, 2021

Looks legit 2 me

Got this bag for me and the wife to use. Looks like its the real deal and seems very durable and well made. Time will tell how it will hold up but so far Patagonia has yet to disappoint. Maybe if we remember in a few months we can write a better feedback review.

February 25, 2021

Best Pack for Coastal Fishing

This is the second pack like this I have had from Patagonia. I have used it about 250 days a year for over 10 years and recently replaced my old one. It probably didnt need it, but the new one is slightly larger. I use this in the boat, at fish camps, while wading through deep tidal pools, waist deep surf fishing, in rough water on the boat, in the... Read More kayak, etc. It is hands down my most functional and dependable piece of gear. I keep my boats Garmin GPS, phone, wallet, snacks, extra clothing, etc all in here and use it in saltwater all the time. I can swim with it on my back and it even provides some flotation ( not recommending this for that purpose, its just a bonus that it helps).

February 24, 2021

Fell apart after a year

Bag was amazing for about 8-months. Used it to protect camera equipment for commercial work in Antarctica and again on our own sailboat. After 8 months the fabric started to do what I can only describe as 'liquify' where both the outer and inner started to blister and eventually totally delaminated. I thought the zipper would go first s... Read Moreo was very surprised. Additions: does not carry weight well and would benefit (the black one) from a lighter colour in the interior because it's a black pit when trying to find anything. So much potential, be great to see the longevity go the distance.

Response from Patagonia
March 9, 2021

Thanks for letting us know your pack didn't hold up. We stand behind our gear and it's totally covered by our Ironclad Guarantee. Please reach out to our customer service team to get set up with a warranty evaluation.

February 4, 2021

Submergible bag, but not practical for my use

I've had the Patagonia Stormfront/Stormsurge for a year now. It's a pretty cool waterproof/submergible bag, but fell short for my use. I was using it for casual use, hiking, and work as a photographer. The straps are lightly padded and there is no back padding, which makes it easy to fold in half and pack in my luggage without taking too ... Read Moremuch space. The bag is spacious and works great for a weekend trip full of clothes and toiletries. It works great if I need to pack groceries and commute on my bicycle. However, it falls short when the bag is not full. Since there are no compression straps and the back of the backpack is not rigid, things inside tilt or eventually fall to the bottom. There are no compartments, so you would want to get packing organizers. There is no laptop compartment, so my laptop falls/tilts unless its fully packed. The TZIP is thick and requires a good pull to get the bag open/close, but Im impressed how it can be submerged. The bag doesn't fully open up well once unzipped so its difficult to see/pull out contents in the bag. Sometimes it takes a while to get my camera out because the camera strap would get caught on the zippers. I think the Stormsurge 30L would be perfect for water/boating excursion. For hiking/casual use, a roll-down top would probably suffice. For everyday use, I find the bag too big and impractical as there are no compartments. I wish Patagonia would update the design on their Stormsurge line and perhaps offer a 20L backpack and 8L sling bag. Unfortunately, I parted ways with my Stormsurge and went with another bag.

January 30, 2021

Awesome fitting comfortable waterproof pack.

Perfect fit. Laid in water several times on trip and everything stayed dry. Pocket on outside is a bit small but didnt get for pocket. Could definitely use more waterproof pockets and maybe outside side water bottle pocholders. Overall... incredibly awesome pack if playing in adverse conditions.

January 2, 2021

Pack for Flt Fishing

Well I purchased 3 of these packs this Christmas (one black, my wife bought for me for Xmas, and two grey packs for my two sons. Prior to purchase I called Patagonia because the lack only comes with two rod steps and I wanted 4 for each pack. The lady that helped said they don't sell the straps separately but she put an order in to maintenance... Read More to mail me two black straps and 4 grey straps. I was impressed and a few minutes later I ordered the 2 grey packs as my wife had already ordered the black pack for me. Packs arrived in time for Xmas but I have yet to see the additional straps. As I told the lady I would pay for them but she explained they don't sell them. Fish in Colorado and often hike into streams with two rods hence the need for additional straps. Please check into for me. Thanks packs look great.

December 2, 2020

Great bag but would like more size options/features

I've had the Stormsurge (aka Stormfront) for a year now and it's been a great backpack to bring for travels and hike. I understand this was made specifically for Fly Fishing and adding more features like additional compartments and water bottle holder may compromise its waterproofness, but it would be nice to have more size options. The 3... Read More0L is generally great for day hikes or weekend travels, but it's way too big for casual use. It would be interesting to see a backpack (not sling) in something between 16-20L and a sling option in 8-10L.

September 10, 2020

Love this bag. Its my second one.

This is the 2nd time buying. As an avid canyoneer this bag kips all my important gear dry and ready to use.

September 1, 2020

Awesome bag

Love It

July 24, 2020

Very good pack

Hi I like the pack very much but have some inputs what features are missing for me. The missing back support was mentioned in another review already. What i would like to see are some e.g. Molle mountings inside the bag to be able to sort your things inside. The backpack is basically only a hull which does not have a lot of options to stiffen its f... Read Moreorm. Regards

June 25, 2020

Very comfortable and 10000% waterproof

The bag is very comfortable on long trips, I dont even think about my stuff getting wet no matter what Im doing. My only negative thing is the lack of organizing pockets in the interior of the main compartment. Perfect bag but I would love a little bit of organization.

April 5, 2020

Needs external pockets for water bottles

This pack would be perfect for fly fishing if it had an external pocket near the bottom on each side of the pack, to hold water bottles. It's inconvenient to take off the pack to get a water bottle when hiking or fishing...and I don't want a water bottle clipped to the outside of a pack, bouncing around while I walk. Such pockets would al... Read Moreso work well to hold the bottoms of fly rod cases even more securely than the side straps alone. Would keep the rod cases from sliding down while you walk, regardless of what kind of straps are used.

March 1, 2020

Poor design should straps and back support

I own the waterproof sling bag as my river tote and love it. This bag however was disappointing. There is hardly any back molding for support. The shoulder straps are flimsy with no support. The sling bag does have these two features and not sure why they were not incorporated onto the backpack. With Yeti, Fishpond, Simms and Orvis having similar o... Read Moreptions, I will be purchasing another from one of them.

Response from Patagonia
April 2, 2020

Hi Trey, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're truly sorry to hear about the disappointment you've experienced with the bags design. Feedback like this is truly crucial to improving products for future seasons so it's much appreciated. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 23, 2019

GREAT Product

Great rucksack, total user friendly, love it!

December 22, 2019

Super backpack!

Super backpack!

December 4, 2019

Customer service

I had difficulty completing my order so had to call in. The gentleman taking the call was very helpful and friendly and we were able to successfully place the order.

November 11, 2019

Bombproof

Bombproof

November 11, 2019

Storefront pack

I work on a boat so I just bought this pack because it holds up well to the weather I’m typically in. I just wish it had more internal pockets. Other than that it’s perfect.

October 31, 2019

Great wet weather pack!

I use the product for flyfishing gear. It’s big enough to hold all my gear including thermos and raincoat. It’s truly waterproof and very durable. Terrific for this application!

May 31, 2019

Keeps Things Dry and Clean

I won the Stormfront pack in a raffle this winter. So far, I have found this item to be a versatile piece of equipment. I used it on a trip to Costa Rica, where I used it as a carryon bag. I fit a lot of stuff in it and it fit easily into the overhead bin in the plane. We got caught in the rain several times in Costa Rica, and it was quick and easy... Read More to unzip the bag and toss a camera and binoculars into the bag to protect the items from the rain. I have also used the bag on some kayak and canoe fishing trips. The bag keeps stuff dry in pouring rain. I was able to strap on a rod tube, a sleeping pad, and some other gear onto the pack during portages. The bag got muddy and since it is waterproof, it was easy to rinse it off in stream or a lake. Getting the pack clean once I got it home involved a soapy sponge and a hose. Try that with your regular backpack. The bag is not perfect. It is not the most comfortable pack to carry when fully loaded for long distances. The straps are good enough when walking through an airport or for a portage on a canoe trip. The bag does not have separate compartments, but I solved that issue by using a couple of packing cubes. There is no pocket for a water bottle, so I hooked a water bottle to the pack using a carabiner. All in all the Stormfront does what it is designed to do, which it to keep your gear dry and protected.

May 8, 2019

Storm front back pack

Finally a backpack that keeps all my gear dry during my walk back from my lifeguard tower in a Florida down pour.

October 29, 2018

Best BackPack 🎒 Ever

I’ve had mine for two years now. Use it everyday for commuting in NYC and almost every weekend on my adventures adventures. Whether it’s hiking, carrying a computer, or camping. This pack survives and thrives in it all.

October 6, 2018

You can blow it up like a balloon to see how watertight it is.

It is airtight and it is watertight. I will be mainly using it as a travel bag, it is just a few inches smaller than the dimensions for the max size for a carry on bag for the airlines. I got poured on a few times with our last trip to Europe in late summer, scrambling for a plastic bag to try and keep the water out of my bags was kinda tacky a... Read Morend really not very pleasant, I wasn't going to deal with worrying about a bag that would let water in again. hence the purchase of this bag and the Stormfront sling bag. Both are water/airtight and will shrug off being in any downpour. They see double duty as bags that I also use while out on my SUP. No more hiding my wallet in the SUV along with the key fob somewhere in the wheel well. Bring your valuables with you and don't worry about them getting wet. Even strapped down to the board I have no worries. I am from the Seattle area and rain is no big deal to me, to have bags that can shrug off any water just makes for a far more enjoyable time. Do you know when the best time to see sights in any major European city? Yep, when it is cold, dreary and pissing rain. I have the most enjoyable memories of places while in those conditions. These bags will just add to those enjoyable times. Maybe after getting worn and scuffed while traveling and SUP'ing, I might consider throwing them into the bottom of a slimy boat, or onto a muddy bank while going fishing? To me they are nice bags and I will treat them as such, at least at the beginning.

June 6, 2018

keeps the camera dry

Great pack for keeping stuff 100% dry,but would love more structure in the back so it stays upright when loading and carrying less than a full load. Great for keeping camera gear dry! Couple of more zippered or velcro closure compartments inside would be great for keeping smaller gear organized. A sturdy external water bottle pocket would be great ... Read Moretoo

May 2, 2018

Good waterproof... Not so good "pack"?

I think it's great that this is 100% waterproof,but the pack itself has some design flaws and after many years now probably needs an update. The straps connect too narrow at the bottom of the back and chafe against your side,and the lack of structure and additional compartments really limit the use of this as a backpack.

February 15, 2018

Great opening and zipper

I decided on the Orange as I wanted something with visibility. I tested the bag in the store to see if my photography cube would fit and it did. This bag I am planning to use sea kayaking and have in between my legs. This will allow me to carry a DSLR and a different lens to shot photos from the kayak. On the way out and returning the camera will b... Read Moree able to be stowed to protect it from the elements. I am also planning on using this pack in a Zodiac in Antarctica and the Canadian Arctic. The big plus is the wide opening at the top and the quick close using the T-style zipper. The dry-suits that we give to clients use the same zipper and they work great. Just remember to keep the zipper clean and lube as necessary! Great pack.

August 19, 2017

Just Buy It!

I've been looking at the Stormfront Pack for some time and finally pulled the trigger. I really wish I hadn't waited so long. The is the perfect size for everyday carry around town and/or spending a day on the river. If you're thinking about,don't wait - just buy it!

August 15, 2017

Ok pack

Got this pack at the beginning of the summer. It's great for being water proof. But all the straps have come loose and fall off. Both waist straps are missing now and the the side straps. Very very poor design. The straps a constantly falling off this pack and now we are missing the waist strap. Steep it up Patagonia!

July 19, 2017

Perfect for voyaging

This backpack is actually waterproof,even after multiple uses and submersions in the ocean. Used it for a leg of an open-ocean voyage,and it worked so well that I loaned it to crew members on the next leg. It can sit out in a rain storm on an open deck,be worn while swimming to shore,and is equally comfortable on a long,stormy bike ride. Mahalo nui... Read More! Only improvement would be making the outside pocket also waterproof.

April 10, 2017

Wow - fantastic pack

This bag is truly unique. Nothing like it - bomb proof material and tons of strap in points for excursion dependent needs. Looking forward to tons of boat trips,wading fishing trips,and just general gnarly weather excursions. The pack itself is pretty tough material so don't expect it to feel or react like a simple nylon pack on you back. But... Read More you can drop this baby in anything - mud,sand,gnarly saltwater brine - whatever - and feel confident a little rinse gets it back to new without any risk of damage to the contents. LOVE IT so far in the drifter grey version (got lucky as I think I snagged the last color of that in stock in the entire US in early April 2017). Cusco Orange looks interesting,but just can't do it for fly fishing stealth needs. And Black just seems so monotone boring. And I live in the Driftless area for fly fishing so color choice is easy (but Patagonia.com never seems to have that color in stock).

January 25, 2017

Purpose Built

Cons: I prefer to have pack weight higher on my back,when the straps are pulled tight the 'U' shaped shoulder strap firmly clinches into the back of my neck. When cycling,this is a mild pain. Also,this pack has no side adjustable compression straps,which i find really help-full to hold pack contents in place,every item tends to fall to th... Read Moree bottom of the bag,causing the upper back pad of the backpack to clinch,the tighter you pull the bag straps. I am also expecting the T-zip to eventually wear out,even after the regularly required maintenance (lubricant supplied). Pro's: Its water-proof! Clearly this pack is not designed for day-to-day use. This is a great pack for wet weathered endeavour's. Burly for sure,and all side carry loops are firmly secured. I have carried a few kilos to the external loops and the bag holds weight well,internally & externally. The,'roll-top' edition of this bag is a great alternative to the T-zip,as far as material longevity goes. Puts a smile on my dile when I'm on the bike and it starts to rain,knowing that i do not have to worry about the contents of my bag. In those moments,the price is worth it!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches