Back to Product

Ms Capilene® Midweight Crew

Write Your Review

4.45 /5

Filter Reviews

All 78 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Capilene® Midweight Crew

4.45
Kinda Large
February 26, 2021

I like this shirt, so will you.

This is the most comfortable non-cotton shirt I own.

February 14, 2021

shirt that feels good

I bought one of these from a clearance rack 2 years ago. Liked it so much, I found it in your catalogue on line and bought 2 more.

February 7, 2021

Love the thumb loops

I like the slim fit and the thumb loops, for casual wear this makes it quite cozy even when worn by itself. As a baselayer it does great, used it with a Nano Puff when it was below 30 outside and was quite comfy. I love the feel of the way this is woven, though be warned if you have cats that their claws will easily cause pilling (or catch threads... Read More). I wish it came in more colors, love the versatility.

January 26, 2021

looks great but sizing is weird

love the company and what they stand for. but everything here runs big. I'm 5'9", average build and usually wear a medium but I'm always a small with Patagonia. However, some smalls are tight at the armpits, like this one. Mediums are way too wide.

Response from Patagonia
March 1, 2021

This is great feedback! The Midweight Crew is a slim fit, which is likely why it feels tight. You'll want to check each product to see if they're "slim" or "regular" or our most generous "relaxed" fit for guidance. Feel free to reach out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team if you'd like any measurements.

January 21, 2021

Fantastic

Already love this shirt. Amazing technology. Runs a little tight as it should. Keeps you dry and warm but then doesnt make you sweat when you warm up. Highly recommend. Terrific quality. Designed extremely well.

January 21, 2021

Not as good as previous versions

I bought this same layer back in 2016/17. It's one of my favorite baselayers. Perfect fit, comfortable, looks good, and works for any season. I figured I should buy more since I like it so much. However, the newer model feels much different. It feels a bit thinner, but the main issue is the sizing. It's much smaller. Very tight around the... Read More armpit area. I'm 5'8" 160lbs so I'm not big. If you're around that size I would recommend sizing up. It's still a good layer and I will use it, but had I known this beforehand I wouldn't have bought it

December 30, 2020

Go larger if you have an athletic build

Keep in mind if you are a broader athletic build you will need to go a size up

December 7, 2020

Excellent

Great product. Keeps me warm all day at work.

December 5, 2020

Basic layer

Great fitting and warm

December 4, 2020

Comfortable

The fit is a tiny bit snug but in a good way. The feel of the fabric is very comfortable and the thumb loops make it nicer. I've been wearing it on and off alternating with the warmer weather capilene long sleeve.

November 23, 2020

Warm and comfortable

It fits nicely and its comfortable! I like hiking in it as a under layer.

November 22, 2020

Very good quality and fit.

Good quality, good fit. Keeps me warm on cold days.

November 18, 2020

I wore this out and bought a second

From the first snow (Central Colorado) through June, this bad boy is on my body every day I'm outside in the hills. Hot on the skintrack? Strip down to this, it looks fine. Sunny, but breezy up there at 12,000? Put it under the Pati Triolet shell, you're comfy. Mid-winter powder laps with a high of 5? Basically a requirement.

November 17, 2020

Nice addition to not having to wear outerwear like a jacket!

I have about five of these base layers....however, no matter when or where I shop I can't get a large in camo. The store where I shop or online is ALWAYS out of size large every since 2019.

November 16, 2020

Very nice and warm, a little delicate

Nice fabric, comfortable and warm. The fabric started to show minor damages and broken wires in the knit after only few months of use.

Response from Patagonia
December 11, 2020

Thanks for the review! We're sorry to hear that your Capilene Midweight Crew Neck Shirt is not holding up as you hoped. We included care instructions below just in case. Otherwise, if you're unhappy with your purchase you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). Machine Wash Warm, Do Not Bleach, Tumble Dry Low, Cool Iron, Do Not Use Fabric Softeners.

November 10, 2020

nice piece

this product is perfect i love the fit moves well when you move I have worn this shir tfor three mtb rides in damp cold pennsylvania fall daysthis month.

November 5, 2020

supere warm

works well for me, fits well and gives me warmth

November 4, 2020

Warm but doesn't feel good on the skin.

I like the warm of this but I wish it is more soft like merino wool blend. Also just like other patagonia cloths for me, small is a little too small and medium is too large.

November 1, 2020

Comfortable & Warm

An added perk is the loop in the collar for hanging purposes.

September 4, 2020

Excellent Lite Weight Shirt

I'm very happy with the quality of this shirt!

July 13, 2020

Super Warmth

Super warm to wear

July 9, 2020

Super Warmth

Super warm to wear

June 25, 2020

Capilene® Midweight Crew Neck Shirt

Simply, the best.

June 17, 2020

Fits well

Fits well. Wicks sweat keeping me dry all day.

June 17, 2020

Fantastic product. Super warm. Well made... What more could I ask for?

Bought this for hiking the pct. It was what I wore at night and on cold mornings. Amazing product... Nice fit. Solid quality. A+ would recommend.

May 12, 2020

almost perfect - with a little tlc.

I like this shirt! Fit, fabric and features are all good. The thumb loops are handy for layering without the sleeves pulling up.I did need to problem solve one issue. The shirt maintained a sour smell after washing. Pre soaking in 1 cup white vinegar before washing solved that problem.

April 19, 2020

Great shirt

Ideal as a base layer for exercise in colder conditions. I wear it under a Houdini jacket when mountain biking in cold mornings.

March 29, 2020

Thinner than older versions, uncomfortable seams

I was really surprised when I bought this shirt how the quality has gone down from capilene layers I bought maybe 6 or 7 years ago. It is thinner, which I could potentially look past - I could just get the heavyweight if I want warmer. However, the real problem for me is that for a slim fit base layer, I find the stitching at the seems, particularl... Read Morey in the back to be very uncomfortable. It's too trim a fit to wear another layer underneath. It just feels like a lower quality product than I'm used to from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Daniel, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the crew neck. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 22, 2020

Great fit and comfort!

Great flyfishing layer under a windproof wading jacket, for those magical evening hatches.

March 13, 2020

Different than previous year

I want to start by saying that I love and support Patagonia and its products and mission. Ive also loved this midweight crew baselayer in previous years and I own three others that are fantastic. The most recent version (I purchased end of season sale in February 2020) is far different than previous years and not for the better. The previous versio... Read Morens were made up of these little square bits of fleece (I think) on the inside. So, so comfortable. I believe this is still how they design the thermal baselayer but the midweight was a bit lighter. In any case, they no longer do this with the midweight. The new version is much lighter and uses a rougher material that reminds me of what they use on the back portion of their backpacks, which is extremely uncomfortable and damaging to clothing it rubs against. Since it is lighter than previous versions it also does not fit as snuggly so I might recommend buying a size down. Id recommend that Patagonia goes back to the previous style because Im not a fan and wont continue to buy the midweight as it is currently produced. Otherwise you guys keep doing what youre doing. We need great companies that care about people and the environment in these times.

Response from Patagonia
April 11, 2020

Thank you for your feedback Gregory. We did change the pattern for the fall 2019 line, we understand how disappointing it can be when a favorite product of yours is revised. We truly appreciate the feedback on the revisions and we'll pass it along to our design crew.

March 3, 2020

Great quality, all day warmth!!

I highly recommend this product if you are looking for a quality base layer. I frequently use this shirt for skiing and hiking. It's mid-weight is perfect for colder weather because it is easily layered but definitely warm enough on its own under a t-shirt and my coat. On warmer days its breathable enough that I have enough of a layer on to st... Read Moreay warm but not over heating! The matching mid-weight bottoms are just as amazing.

March 1, 2020

A better product.

This is lighter than the product from last year but that makes it even more versatile in my opinion (and I have three of the 2019 version). The cuffs are not as loose. The shirt functions as a second skin, just awesome.

February 25, 2020

Good fit for long arms, but it stinks and the fabric is pilling

Fits my long arms well. Unfortunately it holds odors and stinks almost as bad as previous Capilene shirts I've had. I had hoped they had gotten better but I guess not. Also, after only wearing it maybe 10 times the fabric is starting to pill badly along the right arm.

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2020

Hi Eli, knitted garments are prone to pilling, and this style is no exception. Removing pills can help lengthen the life of your Capilene, plus it’s easy to do with a sweater stone. Learn about removing pills at wornwear.com.

February 16, 2020

Light but very warm

Perfect weight and fit

February 13, 2020

Great but for the tags

For whatever reason in the last year or two Patagonia has started putting 3 tags on the left side of the shirt near the waistline. This is fine if you are not tucking in the shirt but in the PNW im using these as a baselayer and tucking them in and then the tags create a hot point. I can and do scissor them off but that will sometimes leave a littl... Read Moree nub that also rubs. No clue why Patagonia has made this design decision as they arent making it w/their capilene Air Crews, for example. Anyway, great shirts, i wear them all winter long but the tags knock off a star.

February 1, 2020

BEWARE, full revision from 2019. Not the same.

This new midweight is entirely different than the previous generation, nothing is the same. Sizing is off, you must size down if you’re looking for the same fit as before. Collar is wider and ribbing width is smaller providing less coverage and a looser fit around the neck. The weight is less and the fabric is softer, less smooth synthetic and a mo... Read Morere plush feel. I was very disappointed to receive shirts that were completely different than what I absolutely loved in the previous generation. At this point, I can say I prefer the previous generation. On the upside, this model has more stretch and utilizes the pattering of the successful capilene air- hopefully making for a better functioning base layer. Will report back once I get my smaller sizes in the mail!

January 7, 2020

Perfect

The best first layer ever. It is SUPER light and I love the thumb holes in the sleeves. Def recommend

January 5, 2020

Excellent product!

Excellent product!

January 3, 2020

In general the sweater worked

In general the sweater worked fine. But it was a bit itchy when had it as first layer direct contact with body. I would prefer more stretch in the fabric. This product doesn’t match the super quality as Patagonia normally have.

December 31, 2019

The capilene shirts are by

The capilene shirts are by far my favorite and have been for a long time. Im noticing that this years version doesnt fit the same and the material seems thinner. I hope they will go back to the slightly thicker feel of the 2019 version. Still love the product, just wish it was like last years version

December 30, 2019

Better than the (very) old I had

Better weight. Prefer the sleeveless T to the old camisole.

December 30, 2019

mid-weight+plus

this is the best mid-weight layer I have found … please keep it in stock

December 30, 2019

Quality products

My purchase was a gift. The size chart was accurate. The quality of the products are outstanding.

December 29, 2019

Loved it so much had

Loved it so much had to buy it in two colors

December 29, 2019

Great product

Purchased for son as a base layer for xcountry skiing. While growing up and competing in ski racing it’s all he wore. Now he is a dad and getting his children out skiing and is in need of extra warmth. I think they are a little pricey but hopefully we’ll worth it.

December 25, 2019

No nonsense. Super comfortable and

No nonsense. Super comfortable and does the job perfectly well

December 25, 2019

Perfect

Perfect

December 24, 2019

even better

I finally bought a second mid-weight capilene because I use it so much and this one is even better than my old capilene.

December 23, 2019

solid, comfy

I already have one of these base layers but wanted a second one that does not smell like an automotive shop. This new one will NOT be worn to work. These things are so warm, and the have the smooth outer surface so they slide easily under other layers and jackets. There is not many things more annoying than a base layer that sticks to everything yo... Read Moreu wear over it. As for sizing; I always order large base layer tops from Patagonia as I do not like the shrinkwrap feeling of skin tight clothes. I am 5'10", 170 lbs and the large fits me perfectly.

December 19, 2019

warm, comfy goodness

This is the second Capilene I've owned and it feels like the fabric has changed slightly. The older version feels much more like a Tee shirt cotton, while the newer one feels like synthetic. But, that's a minor tactile thing and overall I'm happy with the shirt with one exception. It tends to ride up your torso as you wear it. So, yo... Read Moreu're pretty much constantly tugging it down, especially in the front. But, with all that, it's a warm and cozy shirt. I wear it around the house on these chilly mornings, and under my coat as a single layer in ~30° and have not felt cold. Highly recommend getting one as a base layer.

December 10, 2019

Freaking love this item

Comfortable breathable perfect layer or on its own! Super flattering (in black). Super love. I also bought mid weight capilene tights. This material is bomb!!

December 7, 2019

Midweight capilene crew

Beautiful fit, nice shirt.

December 5, 2019

Patagonia rocks

From 40. Years experience it just gets better and better!

December 5, 2019

Superb

Well made, fits well, color is neutral enough it can be worn as shirt or base layer--a new favorite.

December 3, 2019

Camo pattern is great, vintage

Camo pattern is great, vintage look, great subtle colors. I'm 6'-2" 190lbs ordered a medium but was a bit tight in the lats. Returned for large, just right. Wear as base layer hiking, hunting, fishing and in the gym. Wicks well only glitch is slight odor from shirt if you sweat.

December 2, 2019

Great for high output activities

This is a nice mid-weight shirt that's excellent for when you're moving and generating heat. I've been using it for running in the high 30's with a Peak Mission jacket over it and it's an effective combo as far as warmth and breathability. I wouldn't use it as a layer in any activity where I'm not involved in vi... Read Moregorous movement, because the weight of it doesn't insulate that well just on its own. The build quality is wonderful and detailed, and the thumb loops are a nice touch.

December 1, 2019

Not what they used to be:-(

in 2015 we were getting ready for a trip to Alaska. We purchased the light weight Capilene base wear. The were 100% Polyester and had the feel of silk. When I went to place this latest order, I found the light weight products had wool in them which my wife is allergic to. So, I purchased the 100% polyester middle weight only to find them to be of t... Read Morehe same texture as a cheap t-shirt. Yea, they may well do the job, but they're not the same. Before I recommended your product, Now it will be with reservations.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2019

We are very sorry to hear that the new design is missing the mark for you. We appreciate your comments about this and encourage you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us since you aren't satisfied.

November 30, 2019

Awesome gear.

Awesome gear.

November 30, 2019

shows extreme signs of wear after first use

I was very excited to purchase a new Midweight Capilene to add to my winter pack, alongside my 6 year old capilene. The fit was great, which was much appreciated. The sleeves were nice and long, and the shirt was long enough to stay tucked. The problem was the signs of wear the shirt showed after the first day of normal wear. The chest area showed ... Read Moresigns of picking, piling, and general signs of abrasion. After paying so much for this shirt, I was very disappointed at the quality of material. Very poor quality, especially compared to my older Capilene.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2019

Hi William! Thank you for your feedback on this item. We're very sorry to hear about the pilling, picking, and signs of abrasion that you experienced. That is definitely frustrating after one wear. Of course, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that item if you'd like. In the meantime, I will go ahead and pass your comments along to the appropriate team. We might recommend checking out the [Men's Capilene Thermal Weight Crew](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-capilene-thermal-weight-crew/43647.html?dwvar_43647_color=BALB&cgid=root), as it is a bit more durable than the Midweight Crew.

November 27, 2019

Warm and dry

Solid layer, dries quick after getting sweaty.

November 25, 2019

Nightshirt replacement

I bought this shirt because an old midnight capilene shirt had become threadbare. I like the new fabric. Great night shirt.

November 24, 2019

Not quite as expected.

I have several of the lightweight Capilene crew shirts and expected this to be a bit heavier weight and it is, but the texture of the fabric is very different. It would be a perfect midweight, but the texture of the fabric is fairly rough, which is not something I want as a base layer - ever! It seems that nobody with a sense of touch ever tried th... Read Moreis shirt on or they would never have used this fabric. It's tolerable, but disappointing from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
December 16, 2019

Hi Allen. Thanks so much for your feedback. It is definitely disappointing not finding the new fabric as smooth as the previous ones. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that midweight crew if you were looking to do so and haven't already.

November 24, 2019

Shirts

Nice quality.

November 23, 2019

This shirt is SO oversized

This shirt is SO oversized and wide at the bottom. It’s my first time being disappointed in a Patagonia product.

Response from Patagonia
December 12, 2019

Hi Katy, we're really sorry the sizing isn't what you expected! Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us.

November 22, 2019

Good shirt

Im 5'11 and 190 and was concerned about the fit being too large with the xl. I am glad i didnt get the large unless your looking for form fitting.

November 21, 2019

R-1

Had to replace my 4 year old R-1, still my favorite wearable piece of gear. Wish the new version still had the thumb loops.

November 21, 2019

Love it!

Love it!

November 18, 2019

Capilene® Midweight Crew

I have a few of these from nearly a decade ago. The material has changed a lot and so has the sizing. For me, the fit on the medium is a lot larger than it was. It's possible that my existing pieces have shrunk over the years too. Overall, it's a great product.

November 18, 2019

Favorite Layering Piece

I own a few of these and they work great with the swinging temps of Fall. Don't wash this item with denim or towels- just don't.

November 13, 2019

Super warm, great fit

The XL fit perfectly for me: 6’ 4”, 200 lbs. Warm, simple, and not bulky. Sleeve length is good. After wearing it for one day, I bought the other two colors, just so I’m not wearing the same thing every day!

November 11, 2019

Winter

I wear my long underwear everyday for the hole winter and yes I have more than one pair.

November 10, 2019

Warmer than it looks

This crew top fits great and even though it looks and feels lightweight it is a nice warm mid layer. Wore it in 30 degrees temps under a hoodie and felt comfortable.

November 5, 2019

Great fit, great birthday present

My husband is pretty picky about his clothes, especially his athletic wear. He loved it!

November 4, 2019

Good Stuff!

This is my first purchase with Patagonia online, and so far I'm nothing less than impressed! The material is great for it's intended purpose as a wicking/warming layer, and fits like a glove. To anyone thinking about purchasing; do it.

October 30, 2019

Warm and comfortable

This is the best thermal ive ever owned. I bought 2 from the store but loved them so much i ordered 2 more online soon afterwards. I love their fit and would definitely recommend to everyone.

October 25, 2019

Quality product.

Quality product.

October 17, 2019

Perfect fit, warm and comfortable

Baselayer is comfortable, keeps you warm and fits perfectly under winter clothes.

August 10, 2019

Best Mid or base layer sirt for active lifestyle!!

I love this shirt and the camo color is awesome!!! Great piece of kit for everything I do (trail running, mountain biking and every day use).

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches