Back to Product

Ws Active Hipster

Write Your Review

3.5/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 68 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Active Hipster

3.5/5
April 27, 2021

Super comfy

I've recommended these to friends because they have been so comfortable while backpacking, hiking, etc. The wide band ensures that they do not leave skin raw and angry from sweat, backpack load or pinching.

March 26, 2021

Worth Every Penny

Been getting these for years. Seems that they are not available any longer. Pretty bummed about that. Would give it 5 starts if I could get more.

March 20, 2021

Skimpy

Just ordered 2 pairs in the small the size Ive always worn. The were smaller and there is less bum coverage. I would try a medium but its out of stock.

March 5, 2021

over the last 18 years I have loved Patagonia underwear.

Over the last 18 years I have loved Patagonia underwear. last years I ordered my usual size, Medium, and they were too small. I weighing the same. What is going on?! I do not get why you would keep changing the size; making them smaller and not the same quality as passed years. I am so disappointed to find that my new underwear did not fit. Now I a... Read Morem stuck with underwear that is to small. NOT HAPPY!

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

We are so sorry you're not happy with the new version. Please feel free to send them back for a refund.

February 24, 2021

Underware is important!

Comfortable and stays in place. Slides over my clothes easily, so basically these are perfect. I like black because it is less noticeable when I change clothes, but black always sells out!

February 20, 2021

Not so Great

Do not fit like previous versions, a real disappointment.

Response from Patagonia
March 6, 2021

Thank you for the feedback and we are sorry to hear that the item did not work out for you. Of course per our Ironclad Guarantee you are of course welcome to wash and [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any item that does not work out for you.

February 18, 2021

Not like they used to be!

Fabric is thinner, cheaper, and the cut is different than older underwear, which I still have!!!!

January 31, 2021

What happened to tagless?

These fit fine...I was so disappointed when they arrived to see they have labels hanging down the back. Absolutely cannot to stand that on underwear! Prior to this Patagonia underwear were my faves....please please go tagless!!

January 30, 2021

Please dont discontinue these!

The fit is great, but the Barely styles rides into my private area, which is super uncomfortable. Ive relied on the Active style for decades.

January 24, 2021

Most comfortable underwear out there

Ive had one pair of this style for about 5 years now. Other underwear has come and gone, but my Patagonia is still going strong. Still moisture-wicking, still not stinky, still comfortable. I have now replaced ALL of my underwear with Patagonia in a variety of styles, and this is my favorite style. It stays in place exceptionally well and doesnt ri... Read Morede up or roll down when Im active.

January 22, 2021

underpants.

fabric flimsy, not like previous Patagoia briefs I have had and am still using after restitching seams.

January 18, 2021

Not the same

Over the years I have loved this underwear. A few years ago I ordered my usual size, small, and they were too small. So I switched to a medium. Now, weighing the same, the medium is too small. What is going on?! I do not get why you would keep changing the size; making them smaller; never bigger. The only reason I can think of is you charge the sam... Read Moree price for less material! I packed my new underwear for vacation without trying them on, assuming the medium would be the same size. After removing the tags, I was so disappointed to find that my new underwear did not fit. Now I am stuck with 9 pair of underwear that do not fit. Really not cool. Not a good way to run your business.

Response from Patagonia
February 24, 2021

Thank you so much for your honest feedback regarding the sizing. Please reach out to our Customer Service team regarding a warranty return for these as they don't work for you, and your satisfaction is always guaranteed.

January 11, 2021

Finally found a pair that doesn't drive me crazy

Since I'm not a "thong" person, I've been trying to find a pair of underwear that I can wear casually and actively that are comfortable and don't ride up . This is the pair! I'll be loading up on these :)

January 7, 2021

Super comfortable yet pretty underwear

I love the fit and feel of this underwear. Its very comfortable for an active lifestyle and pretty too.

January 1, 2021

Favorites

Love these underwear. My only complaint is the label. It is difficult to cut to the seam and it is annoying. Would love it just imprinted into the clothing

December 13, 2020

Love the Active line

No lines when active. Stays in place. Really nice quality fabric this year. Love the Brief but the hipster runs a great second. Quick dry. Nice wider waistband that lays flat. Stays out on the rear when moving too. Love the active line

December 2, 2020

Disappointed

I am disappointed w/this product. I have worn the Patagonia Hipster daily for years. Because they hold up so well, its been awhile since I have ordered any replacements, maybe 2-3 years. The size that I have worn has always been a Medium. When I ordered 2 mediums, they were way too small. I had to exchange for a large. Even that is a little snug so... Read More potentially, next time I would order an Xlarge to see if that fits more comfortably. Im 52 and weigh 110 lbs., so an XLarge?? Really?? Next, the fabric is not of the same quality as what I am used to w/this product. This new one seems more flimsy and less soft. Frankly, although I am a reliable Patagonia customer, Im probably done w/this Hipster product. So, there you go.

Response from Patagonia
January 6, 2021

We're really sorry to hear that these didn't work for you and that the sizing was inconsistent. We appreciate you passing this valuable information on to us so we can inform our design teams. If you haven't already made a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html), you're welcome to do so, we just asked that you wash well before sending in. Note that our customer service team is always happy to provide measurements.

November 27, 2020

My faves

I've been wearing Patagonia undies for years. After a few years I find the stitching tends to wear out where I grab the on the sides and pull them up, but overall I think they are worth the cost and hold up pretty well. These are the only ones I will wear anymore. The fit is perfect for me. They don't ride up and I barely notice them. I h... Read Moreave tried the other styles and don't like them as much. For me the active hipster is the way to go. 100%

November 6, 2020

fabric has gone way downhill

The quality isn't worth the money anymore. I bought a few pairs 10 years ago and they are just wearing out. I bought a few pairs over the last 3 years and have thrown them out because of holes and poor quality. What's the deal? Why is the product getting worse over time?

September 21, 2020

Excellent Quality and Fit

I am curious how the regular Active Briefs compare (to the Active Hipster Briefs I bought) - these sit fairly high (not low at the hips despite the name?) and the cut is not high up the leg. The back is FULL coverage. More than I thought it would be. But for perfect-fitting, full coverage undies for active or casual use - these are high quality mat... Read Moreching the price. They are thicker than I expected too. I thought they would be thin and sheer, but are a lot more robust - which is good! I had zero problems with the tags. Take a pair of sharp (fabric, if you have) scissors, cut carefully as close to stitching as possible. And then gently pull to remove the remaining portion. They are tear-away tags - you just gotta be careful removing them. I wouldn't just yank and tear away the tag. Great undies!

September 5, 2020

Perfect fit

Stays in place even while I am lifting weights!! Looking forward to buying more.

September 5, 2020

Perfect

Very comfortable

September 3, 2020

doesn't ride up

super comfy, washes well, doesn't ride up. Would definitely buy again. Love the skin tone color for wearing under white pants.

September 3, 2020

Only Pair I will wear

I love Patagonia underwear. I get the Active Hipster and the Active Brief - it is not your granny briefs.

August 14, 2020

nice minus the large annoying tags!!!

Love the feel and fit of these underwear, perhaps I am doing something wrong because the tags are not fun. This is my second batch of this great product. I have tried to leave the darn big tags on, that bothers my skin. I have tried to cut them, even worse. I even tried to remove them entirely not a good idea it made holes.. Not sure why they even ... Read Morehave to be there, I love them other than this part and just wish they were made minus the huge not so nice to my skin large tags.

Response from Patagonia
October 19, 2020

Hello Julie! We are so sorry about all the trouble you've experienced with the tags. Our designs are constantly being revised and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team.

August 8, 2020

Tags Tags Tags - Great fit and great product

I love this product except for the 2 plastic like tags I had to partially remove - which leads to my issue. The 2 plastic like tags on the left back inside are sewn into this lovely garment. You cannot remove the entire tag- Why? The plastic like tag remnants poke me with any movement. The logo is pressed on vs. a tag - Why the 2 plastic like tags?... Read More If you can make this item without the Plastic like tags I would buy many more and give 5 stars.

July 13, 2020

comfortable

Never have to adjust while hiking, Which is amazing. All others I have tried will inevitably need fixing throughout a hike.

July 12, 2020

comfortable

Never have to adjust while hiking, Which is amazing. All others I have tried will inevitably need fixing throughout a hike.

June 27, 2020

Next best thing to being naked

Followed the size guide for a perfect fit. Super comfortable. Completely non-binding, no VPL. Toss in the wash with similar fabrics, line dries quickly. No snagging. Backpack ready, wear one wash one, 2 pair is all you need.

June 26, 2020

Not my favorite cut

Agree w other reviews that the fabric in 2020 is different than in the past. I prefer the old fabric but this version breathes well. I was able to completely remove the tag without damaging the stitching. This cut hits me in an odd place and I prefer the bikini cut. I wouldnt mind a higher waist version either.

June 21, 2020

Highly recommend

I highly recommend these underwear! They stay up, no wedgies, stay in place! Been searching for a long time. Happy to find it!

June 21, 2020

Fit has changed

I have a dozen pairs purchased a long time ago, the most comfortable underwear I've ever owned. They are starting to show some wear so bought two new pairs. Fit has changed, they creep up in the back and are lower waisted than before. Not comfortable. I'd return them but I've already washed them.

June 21, 2020

Invisible

These underwear fit seamlessly. One day, I had to remind myself that I was even wearing them under my work pants - no joke!

June 17, 2020

Invisible

These underwear fit seamlessly. One day, I had to remind myself that I was even wearing them under my work pants - no joke!

May 7, 2020

Unbeatable undies

I bought 10 of these in 2005, and they have been worn daily and still look nearly new! Haven't had to retire a single pair. Amazing!

March 21, 2020

Love these!!!

My oldest pairs are several years old and have outlasted ALL my other underwear!!! Ive replaced my old, other undies with these because these dont tear, run, stretch, or wear out for years!!!

March 13, 2020

Oh, Patagonia . . . .

I love Patagonia. I love the company; I love the products; I love the philosophy behind everything they do and make. But PLEASE, Patagonia, I beg you. STOP sewing labels into your underwear!! They cannot be entirely removed because they are sewn straight into the band, remove the thread from the label and you remove the thread from the band. Cuttin... Read Moreg them out leaves an itchy irritating stump. NOT what we want in comfortable underwear!

Response from Patagonia
April 11, 2020

Hey there Jody, thank you for taking the time to write a review on this product. We rely on feedback like this to make improvements on our products. If you are not satisfied with the product you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under our [Ironcald Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee)

March 11, 2020

: (

My favorite active underwear have CHANGED! Not for the better! I loved my 3 pairs from 2014. Just got my new pair and was so sad. Im super pregnant and just wanted comfy underwear!!!! The fabric, cut and waist band are not the same. They ride up my cheeks and the waist is so uncomfortable. Even if I was not pregnant, these would still be uncomforta... Read Moreble : ( Why is it so hard to find good underwear? At least I got these in sale, so it was not too big of a waste. And I doubt I would return used underwear...

Response from Patagonia
April 10, 2020

Hey there Janel, thanks for your feedback on the new design of this product. We are sorry you are experiencing issues with them. You are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them if you are not satisfied with the fit.

March 11, 2020

Favorite underwear

I love the fit and comfort, and just ordered the other colors offered tonight.

January 7, 2020

Poor fit

I've been buying these for 10 years. Recently bought a pair and the cut is terrible. They are constantly either riding up or slipping down. Unfortunately I don't think I'll be able to wear them! Disappointed in the latest version.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Steph, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit of the hipsters. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 28, 2019

Comfortable and reliable. I love

Comfortable and reliable. I love them.

November 18, 2019

Frustrated

I have been wearing this style for years, purchased several pairs and find that they are stiffer, and roll down while walking. Just found out new fabric may fit different... Why fix a great product?

Response from Patagonia
December 5, 2019

Sorry to hear the hipster isn't fitting well, but we really appreciate the feedback, Kim! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) them under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://www.patagonia.com/ironclad-guarantee.html) to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

November 18, 2019

Hiking Undies

I'm not familiar with the "old version" people keep referring to, so I'm quite pleased with these! Fit great, felt "clean" for 13 hours of hiking!

November 15, 2019

Great fit

Great fit

November 7, 2019

Disappointed

I've been buying this style of underwear for years and LOVE IT but the style/fit recently changed to be a tiny piece of underwear with little coverage. Please bring the old fit back!

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2019

Hi there, we're sorry to hear that you're unhappy with the coverage of our Women's Active Hipster. If you are looking for a something with more coverage, check out our Patagonia Women's Active Briefs, https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-active-briefs-underwear/32396.html?dwvar_32396_color=SSPP&cgid=womens-socks-underwear-underwear#tile-2=&start=1&sz=24.

October 30, 2019

Firm grip around the hips

Fit nicely

October 19, 2019

Not as durable as before, but still the best-fitting undies

I have to agree with Chelsea L's review below. I went through the process of ordering my normal size, finding out it was way too small, and then ordering the next size up. Although I lament that the undies are not as durable as the previous iterations (I've been ordering this style the last 15 years), I appreciate that they're made o... Read Moref recycled materials. The sizing is still good (order up!), the material still wicks well, and they still stay in place (order up!).

October 2, 2019

important info about The Undies

Like you, I've been wearing the old style geo-pattern Patagonia undies for a decade. Like you, I've read the scary reviews the rest of the internet has posted. UNLIKE THEM: I have nothing but good things to say about these undies, with one caveat. yes!! The fabric is different. That's because it's recycled now. THAT'S GRE... Read MoreAT! It just means they aren't identical. The first pair that I purchased, I got in the same size as my old style undies. XS. This pair was...uncomfortable, like everyone says here. It rides up! I get wedgies! The gusset doesn't cover my, uh, stuff! BUT WAIT: These are things you would say about a piece of clothing you bought in the wrong size....so I got a pair in the next size up to see if that made a difference. Let's face it, my old ones are probably stretched out from being worn for a literal decade, and I don't wear the same size of anything else from 10 years ago. WOW CAN YOU BELIEVE IT THEY FIT NOW. They stay in place in my most grueling workouts, they cover everything properly, and the new slightly wider waistband is actually an improvement. yes! The fabric is different. It's not quite as lightweight, but I still don't notice I have them on. yes! You have to pull the tag and accompanying stitches out. my god, I can't imagine wearing them with that 3 inch long piece of paper in there. it's obviously made in such a way that you'll know to remove it. Anyhow, be brave. Try the new version. Get a size up from your old ones. Even with the changes, they are STILL better than any other underpants you can buy. Trust me--I'VE TRIED ALL OF THEM.

September 20, 2019

Don’t hold up

I’m jumping in here with my review to say the newer generations of this under garment doesn’t hold up very well. I don’t mind spending good money for underwear, but when I do I expect it to outlast its competitors. Sadly, these don’t anymore. I have a couple pairs from 2012 that I’m still wearing, but they are obviously getting pretty “worn out”. H... Read Moreowever, they are not unraveling like my less than a year old ones are! My newer ones are all coming undone at the top, where it’s folded over the elastic. Major disappointment! Hopefully y’all are listening and getting this issue taken care of. Thanks!

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2019

We're sorry to hear your newer pairs aren't holding up. If you feel they are a warranty related issue, you are more than welcome to send them in for a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). We just ask that you wash them prior to sending them in.

September 7, 2019

Great fit for me....wish Patagonia

Great fit for me....wish Patagonia had more white or beige somI could wean more frequently

August 16, 2019

Great base layer undies

Lightweight and breathable and stay snug without digging in. I mostly like wearing these with a riding chamois, as they just do a nice job of adding a little bit of a layer without affecting the performance of the chamois.

August 15, 2019

Lose elastic, not the same

Lose elastic, not the same as older pairs. Disappointed in quality. Will look for alternative options.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2019

Hello Julia, I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the elastic! You are more than welcome to return at any point if you are not satisfied. [Click here for the Returns page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 10, 2019

Active Hipster

Great active underwear for running and classes Holds up well with repeated washes

August 1, 2019

Underwear falls apart but I buy it anyway

I have been purchasing Patagonia underwear for almost 20 years. In the old days, the underwear lasted forever. I just tossed a pair from 20 years ago. Now, the underwear is lucky to last me 1 year. I have returned several pairs over the years even though it seems odd to return used underwear. I thought I'd go elsewhere and find another better ... Read Morepair. So far, I have looked but not found anything as comfortable as the Patagonia underwear. Yes, it falls apart at the seems and develops holes. But, I can't find anything better nor a company that I, in general, trust. So, here is my unlikely to be heard request to Patagonia, please fix this so I don't have to keep throwing them away!

July 15, 2019

OK material

Material is ok but as mentioned the fit is not great. Can Patagonia make boy/boxer short style of these? Wouyld prevent the 'wedgie/riding up'? Boy shorts please!

June 18, 2019

New fabric and cut is disappointing

I have been wearing these for more than a decade, but over the last 5 years the sizing has shrunk (I promise I didn’t gain weight, I’m pretty consistent) and the fabric has gotten cheep and flimsy. I have a couple of pairs left from more than ten years ago and they are in better shape than my newer pairs. These underwear are all I have worn for the... Read More last 15 years and now I am thinking I will have to seek out something different. So disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
June 19, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the newer design. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back to us under warranty.

June 2, 2019

Not like the old style

These used to be the best underwear made! I had purchased these for years. Now as many others have said they come apart or wear out in a matter of months. Even though I never put them in the dryer. Also the fit has changed. Now they ride up and are not as seamless as the previous style because they have made the waist band narrower. And the materia... Read Morel is much thinner. I NEVER write reviews but I felt I needed to. And to ask Patagonia to PLEASE PLEASE bring back the old style! I am in desperate need of some new pairs but I refusing to pay another $24 for the same quality I could get at Wal-Mart for $5 for 3 pairs!!

April 10, 2019

Bring back the old style

I'm still wearing active hipsters from 2014 that I've sewn back together. Yes, I know I can warranty them, but the fit isn't the same, so there's no point. The new cut is tighter and gives me a wedgie. Read the reviews below Patagonia, you have a loyal following, just bring back what we loved! PLEEEAAASSSE!

April 10, 2019

Mountainlady1

Wow! The reviews I have been reading have been sadly so reaffirming. I have been buying your underwear products (the various types (barely bikini, active hipster etc) literally for years because they were so amazingly comfortable, soft and the fit was always right on.. I am an active rock climber, backpacker etc. During your last product sale, I bo... Read Moreught several pairs. What has happened???? No longer comfortable, the sizing is way off and not durable. PLEASE please bring back the “old” style.

March 15, 2019

don't hold up over time

Used to be that these were my go-underwear. Owned many over the years and they last and last, but over the past few years the quality has gone down the tubes.... I have to replace every year now because they stretch out. They are great-only for the first few months of ownership. I line dry all of my clothes, never use the dryer.

March 7, 2019

Comfy, but sizing/durability has changed

These are still mostly comfortable, but this style has changed over the years (and not for the better). As others have already written, the sizing is smaller (comparing the current ones with pairs I got 4 years ago), and they are not as durable as they used to be. I sized up on my latest order, and they do fit a bit better, but I feel like maybe th... Read Moree size chart should have changed along with it (or maybe it did, and I didn't notice!). I'll still be buying these as they still fit better than other undies out there. But I wish the design had not changed.

March 2, 2019

Ruined a perfect design

I have been wearing Patagonia underwear for 20 years and the new design is terrible. They fall apart after a short time, holes, folded top seam un-ravels and lower seams always comes apart. Why have you changed this perfect piece? I have old pairs from 15 years ago that are still holding up perfectly and ones that aren't even a year old that a... Read Morere complete garbage. Breaks my heart, please bring back the quality underwear we know and miss.

February 9, 2019

Great Fit, Poor Durability

I am 5'-2" and 115 lb and wear a size XS. I love these for every day wear, climbing, and yoga. However I hang dry these and after less than one year of use they are falling apart. The tag is huge and annoying.

February 2, 2019

Great underwear, disappointing after washed

I absolutely loved these underwear, until I washed them. They're really comfortable and great for working out/ hiking/ climbing, sweating in general. However, after a couple of washes they became threadbare in the crotch and the seam began to unravel around the top. Disappointing, particularly given the price.

October 22, 2018

meh....

I hiked the AT this past year and had a great time, the TAG tho is a whole other story. I cut it off and it still eritiated my skin, that did not go well with me because my pack would rub agients my back and it would make it worse. But the fabric is great and the elastic is too. the only thing the tag.

October 17, 2018

Bring back the wide band

The older version w the wide band was so much better. Stayed up better. Flattered the female form better. These are terrible. I’m only rating them a 1 bc I can’t give a zero. Which sucks bc I love your company and continue to be a loyal customer of various items. Xo

August 9, 2018

Huge tag

Huge tag in the back is annoying. Wish they could just print their tags directly onto the fabric. Also, the fit seems a little different than their previous style. I bought these a few years ago and they were perfect. They're a little different now.

May 4, 2018

Wonderful fit,bad tag

These underwear are great. I love the fabric,fit,and how they feel on my body. I don't understand why there are big tags sewn into the waist band. After cutting the tag out,there is a little bit left which irritates my skin. These would be perfect without the tag. I feel a little redesign is necessary to eliminate the tag.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches