Back to Product

Ws Performance Better Sweater™ Jacket

Write Your Review

4.0 /5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

All 48 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Performance Better Sweater™ Jacket

4.0
Kinda Small
July 1, 2020

Great Jacket.

I bought this jacket from the Web Specials section. I typically wear an XS for Patagonia jackets, but the only size available was a S. It turns out, this worked out perfectly. For work, I'll wear this jacket over a cardigan and it leaves enough space for layers underneath so it doesn't bunch up when I put on the jacket. I've taken th... Read Moreis jacket on some short two-mile high elevation hikes with no issues. I'm 5'3" and ~105 lbs and I think this fits great. I'd recommend sizing up if you plan to wear a couple of layers under this jacket.

December 29, 2019

Love love love

Absolutely love this sweater! Dresses up any outfit in a snap! Pretty sure it’s the envious gift of the season... thank you mother!

December 9, 2019

Wonderful Jacket for Everyday Use!

This sweater/jacket is awesome on its own for warmer fall/winter days or layered under something else for the ultimate cozy warmth. Love it! It fits fairly true to size - if anything it's just the right type of form fitting.

November 11, 2019

Perfect fit, style, material!!!

Perfect fit, style, material!!!

October 31, 2019

Better Sweater Jacket

I am a size L and this just seemed to run on the small side. Returned it. An XL would be too big for me.

October 29, 2019

Warm and very flattering fit

This is the perfect in between jacket. Not cold enough for winter gear but still need a jacket, especially in the AM. It is a slim fit so if in between sizes i would recommend sizing up

October 21, 2019

Lightweight

Have always loved my better sweater. So what could be better? A lighter weight one! Enjoying it.

October 18, 2019

Uneven Fit

Much smaller fit in top of arm than throughout needed 1 size up in both and no option

Response from Patagonia
October 30, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, Stacey! I'm sorry to hear this item fit a bit unevenly. Sadly, we do not have any additional sizes available in this style, but you are welcome to return it if you'd like! To initiate a return, click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

October 5, 2019

Jacket and sweater

Coziness and most comfortable thing I own I’ll definitely be buying more and who could resist these sales prices one happy customer

September 17, 2019

Great jacket

I own four of the 3/4 zip better sweaters (they are just so good) but needed something a little lighter and that zipped all the way down for a two week hiking trip. I haven't left yet, but loved the jacket right out of the package. Very comfortable, good looking, great color. The stretchy fabric inset allows for good movement. It's import... Read Moreant to note that the Better Sweaters are quite fitted. I typically don't like anything that hugs the body, but these just seem to work (very flattering).

September 14, 2019

I am in love!

This zip up sweater is so cozy and warm. I can’t wait to wear it!

September 13, 2019

Love the slim fit of this sweater !!

Greetings! I am a 33-year-old female, 145 ish pounds and about 5’7” with an athletic build (Small chest, bigger shoulders) And the medium fits me superbly! I ordered the dam blue and could not be more pleased with this sweater! It’s warm but not overly thick and great for a fall walk or winter layering. I really like the length of the sleeves as I ... Read Moretend to Need a lot of my jackets let out, but this sweater isn’t too short and I would highly recommend it! It’s also very flattering because of the slim fit and I still feel cute when wearing it and not bulky!

September 9, 2019

Better sweater

I have always wanted a better sweater but when I got it the front was too long. I was hoping it would be shorter in front, at hip, and longer in back. I will keep trying. I returned it😢

September 5, 2019

Better sweater performance

I do not like the fit of the performance better sweater. It runs very small. Thank I’d like to exchange it for a “better sweater”

Response from Patagonia
September 18, 2019

We're sorry the fit didn't work out. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us.

September 4, 2019

Great Sweater

Purchased the better sweater. One to keep and one to give as a gift. It's well made, easy to layer and so soft. This has become my favorite cold weather piece.

September 3, 2019

All is great

2 better sweaters - the new kind that fit nicely and a super fun orange nano vest the will be perfect with green ski pants! Say no to neutral!

September 2, 2019

Everything is great about the

Everything is great about the sweater jacket except the arms feel a little tight

August 31, 2019

Sweet sweater

I really like this jacket the color, the warmth and arm length is good! I ordered a medium according to the size & fit chart and it fits like a glove...literally. I wish I had gotten a large so I could wear it in the winter but I’ll have to settle for spring and fall.

August 29, 2019

Fabulous Fit

This Performance Better Sweater Jacket is so comfortable. It’s form fitting but stretchy at the same time. Perfect transitional piece for fall.

August 19, 2019

The sweater/jacket I turn to all the time

Such a perfect combination of style and function. This is warm and cozy for hiking in the high mountains and also pretty enough for a dinner date afterwards..thank you Patagonia for another great option!!

August 16, 2019

Ladies better sweater

Love the color and the weight but seaming on the arm is not flattering and restrictive. I am not sure what woman would want the seam to go across the largest part of her arm, there for making it look larger and restricting her range of motion. Wicked Bummer. Would like to return.

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2019

Hi Robin, thanks for your feedback! Head over to the [Returns Page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) to get started with that return.

August 13, 2019

I will keep it (amazing quality)... but the truth of the sleeves is tight

I went up a size than I usually get and I am happy I did. The sleeves are poorly designed, but I am too cheap (because I just bought an expensive sweater) to pay to send it back. I will keep it and wear it over t-shirts. I still love the color and the quality, I just wish the design was better in the sleeves.

Response from Patagonia
August 23, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the fit of the sleeves! Please do let us know if you'd like to return it so we can email you a free shipping label.

August 12, 2019

change is not always good

My original sweater purchased 3 or 4 years ago was all knit. This new one has a thin fabric under the arms and down the sides. That part of the jacket is cold. I live in Wyoming.

August 10, 2019

Perfect Weight and Color for Cool Summer Night

W's Performance Better Sweater Jacket size S Color BLST. The light color is perfect for anytime of the year. I bought 2 in the same color. While eating yummy UNREAL chocolate coconut bars around the campfire, i accidentally dropped some chocolate on the jacket and I was able to spot wash it off without having to wash the whole jacket! So it wa... Read Mores easy to spot clean. Also, It would be nice to have a hood option. I returned the XS that fit but I liked the small better.. Patagonia returns and purchases were easy and their follow up is perfection. Love this company and how professional they are!!

August 10, 2019

Warm, stylish, but snug on armpits

Love this sweater. It's lightweight but incredibly warm. Some reviews complained about how tight it is on the arms. It feels snug but not uncomfortable. Going a size up would make it too long for me. The only problem I have is the armpits. It's too snug there and I can see them getting stinky fast. Might need to wash it more often than I&... Read More#x27;d like. I'll be keeping it though because it's high quality and it will keep me very warm.

July 21, 2019

Perfect, except for the MILE HIGH COLLAR

I am a longtime Patagonia loyalist! I own 2 Better Sweater (not the performance ones, but the original -- they are thicker and have a shorter collar) but bought the Performance Better Sweater to have an "in between" sweater when the Seabrook hoody is a little too thin. I am 5'3" and 100 lbs, petite, and the XS fit perfectly. HOW... Read MoreEVER, what have you done with the collar Patagonia???? Why isn't it the same height as the regular Better Sweater???? It's so high that it comes up to my nose when zipped and pokes me in the face when unzipped. I debated so much on whether or not I could get over it but ultimately I can't. I hope the next version of this sweater will involve making the collar a normal height because unless you made this for a giraffe this has no business being so tall.

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2019

We are sorry to hear that the collar has given you some troubles. The collar on our Performance Better Sweater is designed to give some extra protection, but we understand how this is causing you some discomfort. I would recommend trying our [Better Sweater Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-performance-better-sweater-fleece-hoody/25975.html?dwvar_25975_color=LVBL&cgid=root&isSearch=true#tile-3=&q=womens%2Bbetter%2Bsweater&lang=en_US&start=1&sz=24) or even the [Marsupial Pullover](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-lightweight-better-sweater-marsupial-fleece-pullover/26010.html?dwvar_26010_color=DABL&cgid=root&isSearch=true#tile-2=&q=womens%2Bbetter%2Bsweater&lang=en_US&start=1&sz=24) as these may be more comfortable for you.

May 8, 2019

Very nice Better Sweater Performance, however...

This is a very nicely tailored version of the classic Better Sweater. The princess seams and stretch side panels in the body and sleeves make for a much better fit The neckline is awkward when completely zipped thus better worn open. I don’t particularly care for the thumb holes as the sleeves were too short to make them comfortable. There is a dis... Read Morecrepancy in color as the photo of the Light Violet Blue is a vibrant violet vs. slightly dull powder blue with a little violet in real life.

May 8, 2019

An Even Better Better Sweater!

A little longer in body and a tiny bit looser with a beautiful new blue with flecks of gray for added interest. Love my new sweater!

April 2, 2019

Super nice fitting but tight in the arms

I just received my Performance Better Sweater in Static Red and in XS. First of all I love the bright colour. The jacket has a super nice fit by the torso but is very tight by the armpits. The fit is very nice though if you're a petit person like me. I'm 171 cm and 50 kg and the XS is perfect on me (except the armpits maybe).

February 22, 2019

So Cozy

I was worried this was going to run big but it fits perfectly! It doesn't feel like the sleeves are being stretched when I have my thumbs through the thumb holes. It isn't too fitted soi s still easy to add a long sleeve shirt under it.

January 4, 2019

An overall success

At 5’10” and 160 lbs, I went with the medium. While I expected it to be an especially slim fit, and second guessed my size choice, I’m quite pleased with the fit. It’s perfect. I’ve purchased this yesterday, so I can not speak to the long lasting wear. My initial impression is quite positive and I’m excited to see how this holds up.

October 25, 2018

Great performance jacket

I’m 5ft5 120 pounds and this jacket fits great and has nice lines. I am glad I ordered a SMALL over x-small since it does seem to run small. The arms are fitted. The armpit area is nice and goes right up to my armpit. Nice weight and I can wear for Fall-Spring. Thanks!

October 13, 2018

Overall, I love it

First, the pros: I love the teal color (and obviously color is a personal preference but I’d also love to see some greens offered). While someone commented on disliking the large neck - I LOVE it; it allows me to wear a neck gaiter or lightweight scarf underneath, where most fleeces don’t have room to do this. The fit is flattering (though a bit sm... Read Moreall - I’m 5’7”, very slender at 105 lbs and couldn’t wear an xs. The small fits, but is still pretty fitted throughout. It’s a good layering piece and can stand alone on cool, spring, summer and fall days (when it’s not windy). I find myself regularly wearing it both indoors and outdoors. I have a very long torso, and while I’d love to see it be an inch or two longer, it is longer than some fleece jackets. Cons: It does pill some, especially if you utilize it with other layers. The arms are very skinny, which I typically appreciate because I basically have kid sized arms. The upper arm is fine, but the forearm and wrist area are quite tight. Wind goes right through it, though I realize that it’s not necessarily intended for use in windy environments. This would be my dream fleece jacket if it was offered in a windproof model, with another inch or two of length and slightly more room in the lower arms. Add a cool sage green or emerald and I’d be in heaven. :)

April 4, 2018

My favorite sweater

I bought two of these thinking I would keep the color I liked better and return the other one,and ended up keeping both. I love love love this sweater. It's super warm. I want to wear it every day except my coworkers would think I was weird. I love the pockets and thumb holes. It has the perfect amount of stretch. I'm considering buying a... Read More third. I'm 5'2'',115 pounds and the xs fits perfectly.

November 17, 2017

Professional-looking fleece

Definitely size one up. I am an XS and a S is perfect. I love the snug fit,professional (not sloppy) look,and despite other reviews,I think it holds up to washing quite well. Perhaps they dry it too harshly? My dryer is wimpy. Patagonia: please make this is smolder blue,bright tan,or olive green so we women aren't forced to dress like little g... Read Moreirls (teals and pinks).

September 18, 2017

Nice effort but terrible fit

Pros: I like the lighter-weight fleece of this version of the better sweater; I find the better sweater much too warm. I also like the colour combinations available! But I was very disappointed in the performance Better Sweater: (1) The sleeves are super tight -- I'm tall and trim and have no problem with any of my other Patagonia size Smalls... Read More (nano puff,down sweater,etc.) but my poor arms actually hurt wearing this one! (2) Much tighter across the chest than the usual Patagonia Small. (3) The collar is very floppy and loose -- it's not the nice and neat collar of the better sweater,or even the men's performance better sweater.

September 10, 2017

Warm but too narrow in the upper arms

There is so much to love about this sweater. I have another one I wore all last winter by itself or with a good waterproof shell when I would walk around our local lake 3-5 days a week. It's also great to wear when stationary- keeps the chill at bay. The style is really flattering,which can be hard to find. Just can't comfortably wear lon... Read Moreg sleeve shirt underneath. I'm a fit normal athletic build 5'7" 135#. This should fit better in the upper arms!

August 6, 2017

Fabulous

I have several better sweaters and micro D's. Love them all. And the performance version is just as good. Feels great and fits perfectly. Had to size up from medium as it fits a little snigger. But it's awesome!!

July 8, 2017

Great fit

Warm and comfortable and a great fit. Perfect under my raincoat on damp New England days.

June 10, 2017

Love the fit but not happy

This fleece fits great and is warm & cool,but just after 1 day of hiking it began pilling like crazy and looks old and worn now. I'm unhappy with this.

June 9, 2017

Good overall fit but tight in the arms

The jacket has a good overall fit in the torso. The forearms and the arms are really tight for the overall fit. I"m 5 6" 120lb and I bought a size small. I've never had that issue with any other Patagonia jacket.

May 21, 2017

The better sweater gets worn fast

I hadmy First one for a month and returned it because the fabric would "pill",causing little ears offsbriv. I returned it a spur based a different t one and the same problem occurred. I love the fit. I purchased it for its high performance ability and am dissatisfied.

May 5, 2017

Disappointed Again

Because it is undoubtly cute,I bought 2 (as well as a Women's Better Sweater' 1/4-Zip Fleece)...Well,I am very disappointed in the quality. Unbelievable PILLING...looks terrible after a few wears.

April 8, 2017

Never taking it off

I really love this jacket. It's warmer than I expected,which is fantastic as I'm usually cold. My puffy hasn't come out of the closet in a few weeks now. The fit is perfect. It's longer than I was expecting,hitting below my hip bones and I really like that. I love the thumbholes too.

April 7, 2017

Fits like a glove

Obviously this is a matter of opinion and personal preference,but I much prefer the fitted fit of the Performance Better Sweater than the boxy fit of the Better Sweater. It's a more sporty option. Extremely comfortable. Endless compliments. Highly recommend. I bought the red which is true red and I love it.

February 26, 2017

I want 10 of these!

I bought this last summer in gray,size small. It is super flattering. I wore it through all nine moths of pregnancy - and due to the stretch panels on the sides,I was able to zip the jacket through most of the pregnancy. It isn't as warm as the traditional better sweater,but it is more slimming & flattering. The sleeves are long - but have... Read More the loop to slip your thumb through. I simply love it and am going to purchase more in other colors

January 28, 2017

Poor Fit

I bought this to wear at work with the lighter fabric. The fit is completely different from the Better Sweater Jacket. Sleeves are way too long and not at all proportional for me. I'm disapointed

August 16, 2016

Wanted to love this

Beautiful color. Love the contrasting fabrics. Neck is way too tall and covered up almost to my nose. Super tight in the arms but ok on the rest of the body. I'm either an xs or s depending on the style. Tried this in an xs and it was definitely not a good fit for me. I think sizing up to a small would have been too big. I really wish the sizi... Read Moreng would be consistent from piece to piece. I wear an xs in a R2 and love the fit. This is much tighter than an R2 with a way taller neck. For reference I am 5'5" 120 lbs with a very athletic figure. It might work better on a different body shape.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches