Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Dirt Roamer Mountain Bike Jacket

Write Your Review

4.7 /5

Filter Reviews

All 30 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Dirt Roamer Mountain Bike Jacket

4.7
Runs Large
September 3, 2020

Awesome materials, slim fit

I use the jacket for mountain biking and cycling during colder days. The hood is definitely large enough for outside of a helmet. Material is thin and fit is slim so the jacket is good for biking or high output activity during cooler days. However, I don't know if the jacket, by itself, is thick enough for deep winter days in the northeast tho... Read Moreugh.

July 28, 2020

awesome

excellent do-it-all MTB jacket that packs down small, cleans up well, breathes, and is super comfy. large hood is great over helmet. Longer back side helps with muck and coverage when leaning forward. Certainly not fully waterproof, but does the job in light-medium rain here in the PNW. Would buy again no question.

July 1, 2020

Great on the trail!

This jacket provides the right amount of breathability when on the trail. Depending on the temperatures it might not provide enough windbreak if you do not have your proper base layers. However, when riding it is tight enough not to restrict movement but also is not too loose that it interferes with performance. And as always with Patagonia, it is ... Read Morebuilt to last many years. Bottom line, it has become my go to jacket when I am riding in chilly or winter temperatures (near Las Vegas, NV). Definitely recommend.

June 17, 2020

Literally get excited for cold weather rides

I cant recommend this jacket enough. Fits comfortably, tight enough so that its flapping in the wind but loose enough that it feels comfy to wear all day. Keeps wind and rain out, the storage pocket is great for keys and phone and a snack, and being able to pack it away and put it into my hip pack is just the cherry on top. I get stoked for cold da... Read Moreys where i can wear this jacket on big 30+ mile rides in the dirt.

June 17, 2020

Awesome but not side pockets

I loved it but it does not have pockets :( We need them :)

April 9, 2020

perfect biking companion

I'm embarrassed by how much I like this jacket! It has been great in the windy New Mexico spring, and kept me surprisingly dry in a light rain

March 16, 2020

Mountain biking in the Dirt Roamer jacket.

I recently got the Dirt Roamer jacket. I went with the wood brown color, which I liketypically I get black, blue, or green and this was a refreshing color change. I'm typically a Medium/Large top. I tried on both sizes and found that the medium length was perfect but the large opened up more movement flow in my upper body (I'm 160 lbs and... Read More I carry myself in my shoulders). The large size fits loose, more like an outdoor jacket fit on me which took a minute to like. After riding in the jacket in and around Truckee, CA in March just between snow cycles, I found the lightweight fabric and breathability optimal. I wore the light weight short sleeve merino jersey underneath with lightweight arm-warmer-style elbow pads underneath and found myself in the perfect temperature. We rode 3 laps; up, down, down up. When climbing I zipped the jacket down from the neck for more ventilation, then quickly zipped it back up with one-hand to drop down the trail. Overall this is a great addition to my mountain bike closet and also like the comfort of wearing a jacket while riding. I also wore it on Mt. Tam in a hard-at-times rainstorm and I remained mostly dry and warm given the dense fog, rain and wind rolling in from the coast. It's flexible and moves well. I'm wearing mine on the loose side. I recommend trying two sizes on for fit. The packability feature comes in handy, I found myself packing it up and stowing it when the sun broke thru. It's super lightweight for how much function you get out of this jacket. Thanks!

March 15, 2020

Great riding jacket.

Thin, but yet warm. No amount of wind slips through this jacket in my experience. My helmet fits nicely under the hood and the overall fit is snug and comfortable with a nice stretch. It looks good and in my opinion it can pass both on the trail and between bars. Packs to almost nothing. Don’t hesitate, buy it!

March 6, 2020

Best riding jacket I have owned

It is very breathable and comfy, feels more like a flannel than a jacket. For me this jacket hits the sweat spot for its comfort and ability to breath, with just enough protection to stop the wind and to keep you relatively dry.

January 26, 2020

Excellent cycling focused soft-shell

I bought this jacket ~ 4 months ago to use while commuting and for MTBing in cool weather and it works great in both situations. My favorite part of the jacket is the material and the fit; it is lightweight, packable and is perfectly cut for riding (long drop tail and longer arms). The negatives: it's expensive! The DWR is only suitable for sh... Read Moreort (~10 minute) rides in the rain or longer if you have tree cover. Its functionality is laser focused on cycling so it isn't very practical for other uses. I can't comment on the durability of the material b/c I haven't crashed while wearing it, yet... Overall, it's great for my needs and I'm happy with my purchase!

December 2, 2019

Any new colors coming soon?

I bought the jacket and really like the design. I returned it because I decided I would prefer a brighter color like orange or yellow for increased visibility. Any plans for new colors in the future?

Response from Patagonia
December 18, 2019

Hi Don! Thanks for your review. New colors will be introduced around February next year. Stay tuned!

November 25, 2019

My new favorite riding jacket.

You know how shoulder season id so hard because you're constantly shuffling layers so you don't overheat on the climbs or freeze on the descents? This jacket fixes that. I have never had a jacket that I could wear throughout an entire ride without being uncomfortable at some point until the Dirt Roamer showed up. I was able to go for a ... Read Morenight ride with my buddies when it was 30-40 degrees. We hammered the climbs, and railed the descents, and I forgot about my layers and was able to focus on the ride. The sleeves are long enough that you're wrists won't get cold, the hood fits over your helmet or stows away, small enough to shove in a hip pack once it warms up, and it even has the pocket in the right spot for a light battery on those chili night rides. I plan on using this layer for XC skiing this season too. It may be spendy but if you laugh at fair weather riders, this is the jacket for you.

November 25, 2019

Sweet jacket

Super light, comfortable but protective jacket. I actually used the oversized bike helmet hood last week while riding in the rain and it was awesome! The only thing I would change is adding side pockets to make it a more all around usable jacket.

November 19, 2019

Excellent, but hood needs to be held down better

First my one suggestion for improvement. The hood, even if held down by the provided elastic clip, flies up while biking. I use a mirror clipped to my glasses and this blocks the view. Perhaps it needs more elastic hold downs, or perhaps the hood can be rolled into a zippable collar. Despite this criticism this is my go to jacket for biking, x-c sk... Read Moreiing and even BC skiing on warm spring days. It is wind resistant, breathable, quiet, moves well and I think looks good.

November 12, 2019

I bought this jacket for

I bought this jacket for my husband and he loves it. He wanted a lightweight,durable, wind resistant but breathable jacket for mt biking. This was exactly what he was looking for and has a great cut for biking.

October 28, 2019

Great temperature control on ascents.

Great temperature control on ascents. Very well designed/made; both pockets placed right (I just purchased a second). More wind leakage on descents than I'd expect (feels like through the zipper). Not sure why there's a hood on a primary bike shell. The hood rolls and clips, but is bulky and not secure at speed. Probably better without a ... Read Morehood or if it had a pocket for stowage.

October 24, 2019

It. Really. Breathes.

A great piece. In 50 degree weather I'm able to keep it on climbing moderately steep trails just by unzipping it and pushing the sleeves up occasionally. Way more usable thsn the Houdini for mountain biking.

October 15, 2019

Accommodates wildly temperatures

Riding in VT in October, the day started at 38* and topped at 68*. The jacket was the outer layer. It stayed in the game when the mid-layer came off. I unzipped it while climbing and zipped up before descending. Later, it folded easily into my backpack.

October 13, 2019

Great MTB-Specific shell built with durability

This shell has one feature I wish more Patagonia items had - durability. I have had and seen gnarly crashes in this jacket against rough Tahoe granite and sand, without so much as a scratch on the jacket. I don't leave it on for climbing unless it is a windy day, it compresses so well to store in my pack. The hood is a good size, and stays up ... Read Moreno problem so long as the zipper is up. The longer cut is great as is the extended hand coverage to stay over gloves. Paired with the Midweight Bike Jersey, the Nano Air, or an R1 all wind is blocked and the warm stays in. Big fan of this shell!

October 10, 2019

So far so good. I

So far so good. I was a little surprised to have water start to seep in during a heavy squall, particularly on the shoulders and inner elbows. But since the damn thing breathes so well, I stay significantly drier than usual. I am used to washing my outwear after a winter/fall ride (I live in Bellingham, WA), so we will see how the jacket holds up t... Read Moreo repeated use/washing. I am not slim in any sense of the word, so don't be scared off by slim fit. I wear a large in everything else, and the large fits me great.

October 7, 2019

Outstanding piece and well thought through

This jacket is the perfect mtb jacket. It cuts just enough wind while being breathable enough to leave on for moderate climbs, the hood is appropriately sized, and it stuffs perfectly into the Nine Trails 8l Hip Pack. The best part however is the durability. Unlike the other mountain bike products from Patagonia, this is built to withstand a crash ... Read Moreor ten. This is in comparison to my Dirt Roamer shorts and Merino Bike Jerseys, all of which ripped upon first contact with the ground.

September 10, 2019

A stretchy slim fitting soft-shell that does what it was sold to do.

I've only worn mine a few days. I found that it is indeed breathable, I left it on for quite awhile on some uphill grinds. I got walloped by an intense afternoon thunderstorm on a ride that took an extra hour or two longer than I expected, and the fabric is indeed "water resistant". About 5 minutes after the deluge began the DWR gave... Read More up the ghost in most places. But then again no-one ever said it was waterproof! The rear left pocket is a little awkward to get into (I'm right handed, why are all the MTB pockets on the jacket and shorts on the left?) and the chest pocket was barely big enough to fit a phone and/or a pair of sunglasses when the forest floor got too dark and I needed to take them off to see. I'm 6'3" normal body shape. The size L torso fits fine (almost a little tight) and the arms are even tighter.

September 5, 2019

Dirt Roamer

Light and easy to pack. Nice to be able to pull hood over your helmet. Tight in the shoulders and chest. Draw string at the bottom would be a nice addition.

August 20, 2019

Good fit, light and packable

Good fit, light and packable for all those unexpected storms

June 23, 2019

bump set spike! Nailed it.

Well designed jacket! great fit, with awesome fabric that breathes and allows you to move and perspire without turning you into a wet sweaty mess. Packs small enough to keep with you on all rides.

May 23, 2019

My new fav jacket

I bought this jacket having the cold spring mornings in mind. I wanted to find the perfect piece that would keep me warm but be breathable for those long climbs. The Dirt Roamer has worked perfectly. So breathable, you can definitely feel the wind thorough it but it is still enough to keep you warm. I also wear mine to the office and around the tow... Read Moren because I love the style and the fit. Super light weight too and takes up very little room in my backpack. I got the Large and I am 6'2" 190 pounds with broad shoulders

May 9, 2019

Great MTB layer

Quality build (as usual) and works as advertised—sheds heat on the ups, holds warmth on the down. Went OTB into a belly slide and the jacket didn’t show a scratch (after a good hose down). Looks great, even sized up.

May 8, 2019

Love the Dirt Roamer jacket

Great jacket for riding or just wearing in light weather. Nice wind resistance for active use - standing around on a breezy day at my kid's soccer game got a little chilly. Got a Large and it fits well - I'm 5'11", 195lbs. with broad shoulders, and fit was perfect - like the torso coverage. Roll-up hood works well, a bonus would... Read More be some way to secure the outer ends (a small flap to tuck them into?) so they don't unroll mid-ride and obscure look-behinds in traffic.

March 13, 2019

One of my most versatile lightweight jackets!

I can't tell you how much I love the Dirt Roamer. I use it for mountain biking, bike touring, road riding, fat biking, skate skiing, trail running, hiking, or anything else active that I may find myself embarking on. It is a great weight, super breathable, and fits nicely right between athletic and casual. Not a full on rain jacket but a breat... Read Morehable jacket for those cooler days. I wear this thing ALL the time. Highly recommend this jacket!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches