Back to Product

Ms Houdini Air Jacket

Write Your Review

4.68 /5

Filter Reviews

All 38 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Houdini Air Jacket

4.68
True To Size
February 22, 2021

Great fit, comfy windproof jkt

I love this jkt for it's lightweight packability, great fit, ability to breathe, cut windchill and protect from light rain showers and heavy mist. I use it mainly for trail running so the breathability is key. It's definitely more breathble than other windshells I've had. In high winds it does feel like it allows a small degree of a... Read Moreirflow through. So doesn't protect 100% from the wind. But that's the trade off for more breathability. And when running you stay pretty warm. I've used it in minus conditions in very high winds on exposed ridges with severe windchill and it's protected me very well. Keeping me comfortable while running. The hood is well fitting and moves with your head allowing good vision while running. The minimal cuffs are a great design. You don't feel them. They just work well. The little extra non elastized length that fits over the top of the hand is subtle, but brilliant. It really makes for a comfy protective cuff. Fits well over lightweight running gloves and pulls back easily to check your running watch, Two things that would improve the jkt: A way to roll down and secure the hood when not using. Most of the time it's fine. But you know those times when the wind is at your back and it keeps blowing your hood over your shoulder and as you run it bobs up and down, gently caressing your neck and cheek! As lovely as that sounds, it does start to get a little irritating. Especially when you try to shove it back and it slowly bounces back to nuzzle your earlobe. I do love my airshed, but I'd prefer to keep the relationship platonic! ;) Another simple addition would be a little snap button behind the zip at chest height. This would allow you to unzip and avoid head winds blowing out your jkt like a balloon. While this is a breathable jkt, you can of course still get clammy when working extra hard or in warmer conditions.

February 8, 2021

Great jacket

So far I run in this jacket only once, but I really like it. 10 km run in -6 C in mostly ankle deep snow. Trough the woods. I wear only two technical T-shirts, short and long sleeves under the jacket and it worked great. I think it would be my favorite piece even during warmer months, just in case when weather would change.

January 28, 2021

Perfect for running on cold days

Dont be deceived by the super light weight, its the perfect outer layer to run when temperatures drop into teens and single digits. Wear over a capilene base layer and its all you need at least for up to a 1 hour run. It blocks cold air coming in, so your body can regulate the temperature and avoid over heating in heavy layers.

January 19, 2021

Better than standard houdini

I am 6'2 180 and between M and L in the normal Houdini. The stretch and overall cut of the Air work better for me. I can wear it over a baselayer for running, climbing, or cycling. If I was using it for winter rock climbing only, I might size up to the L to accommodate extra layers. Can't speak to long-term durability but this jacket is s... Read Moreuperior to the normal Houdini.

January 13, 2021

This is THE BEST running jacket

I mean if you want a running jacket that just works, this is it. Just got it and did a run in 30°f and it was amazing. The hood has one direction of adjustability and it cinches down around your ears over a hat (or without one) keeping them warm. The only two problems - it doesnt keep your nose and mouth covered when zipped up (I got the balacl... Read Moreava for that though) And I wish the pocket was reinforced on the bottom to keep a phone more secure. Amazing jacket and Im so happy with it.

January 6, 2021

Good protection from wind , winter or summer

Just received the jacket but have had the vest for three years. Great protection and very very light weight. When visiting Tierra Patagonia noticed all of the guides wearing this product. It was perfect for that environment.

December 9, 2020

Perfect pocket layer.

I bought a houdini years ago when they first came out, and it was my go-to belay jacket or extra layers for alpine hikes. This latest iteration is meant to be a shell for high-output activities (winter training runs in NYC) and to stash in bag for tropical fly fishing trips. Love this piece.

November 27, 2020

Breathable protection without the weight!

This piece is my go to softshell for all things aerobic; hiking, running, mountain biking, climbing, and backcountry skiing. If you are looking for an ultralight no nonsense shell that breaths, blocks the wind, sheds the elements, and packs away to nothing, look no further!

November 23, 2020

Exact what I wanted

Its slim but exactly what I wanted. Doesnt get clammy inside after run.

November 23, 2020

Everything layer

Base layer. Outer layer. Where it almost everyday. Need a few more colors!

November 16, 2020

Sticky

I use this jacket for running and any amount of moisture on your skin results in the fabric sticking to you and creating a sweaty mess. I can often pour sweat out of the arms partway through a run.

Response from Patagonia
December 18, 2020

Hi Kevin, we're very sorry to hear about your experiences with the Men's Houdini® Air Jacket. The Houdini Air is not fully windproof and allows more wind to blow through and more heat/sweat to escape. Layering with a lightweight Capilene may help you with the condensation problem. A lightweight layer like the Men's Long-Sleeved Capilene® Cool Lightweight Shirt may help to wick away the excess moisture that's accumulating inside of your jacket, https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-long-sleeved-capilene-cool-lightweight-shirt/45690.html?dwvar_45690_color=BLK. If you feel like the Houdini® Air Jacket isn't standing up to your expectations, please feel free to begin a warranty return under our Ironclad Guarantee, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

July 14, 2020

Handy Houdini Is Light But Effective

I think the sizing is about right. I bought the extra large online because of the slim fit though I think large would also work for me. I'm 6'4" and about 215 pounds. In general I like the consideration that Patagonia puts into their products, such as quality and packability. I've definitely moved away from other brands as a res... Read Moreult. I bought the Houdini after climbing Chief Mountain in Colorado only to experience 40+ MPH winds at the summit. I wanted something light to bring on hikes when the days are warm, but I may be exposed to winds and cooler temps at times. The Houdini has come in handy. I've worn it a lot this summer. Sometimes blocking the wind and containing some heat is all you need to be more comfortable, and this jacket does both. The Houdini has been a great addition to my closet.

June 21, 2020

Do all jacket

I like this better than Houdini. It breaths so much better. The cuffs are great as well. Keeps the early morning chill off.

June 17, 2020

Do all jacket

I like this better than Houdini. It breaths so much better. The cuffs are great as well. Keeps the early morning chill off.

March 11, 2020

Great Technical Features

Excellent bike jacket with long cuffs and back, ability completely loosen waist elastic when cycling in warmer weather is great. Nice big phone pocket and surprisingly warm. Packs away tiny.

March 3, 2020

Missing Link

As a Mountain Guide I have searched for years to find a piece that bridges the gap between a soft shell and a full on hard shell. I believe that search is over. The Houdini Air Jacket provides amazing protection from the elements, breathes adequately while active (breaking trail, climbing, running), and yet is small and light enough that I don&#x27... Read More;t even notice I have it on. If needed I add a Nano-Air Vest, Jacket, or Hoody (temp dependent) for additional warmth, then a Pluma Jacket when I want full protection from the worst that Mother Nature can throw at me. I highly recommend this piece.

January 4, 2020

Super lightweight jacket

Just took this on a kiteboarding trip where it was very windy and wet. This jacket saved me when I wasn’t on the water. Also bought one for my wife and she loves it too!

December 15, 2019

The item we ordered was

The item we ordered was exactly as it appeared online. We were pleased.

November 15, 2019

Great light carry anywhere shell

Great light carry anywhere shell

November 12, 2019

great windbreaker, and breathable too!

great super lightweight option to provide some windbreak. They weren't kidding that the textured interior provides breathability!

November 10, 2019

Great first impression.

So far so good. Time will tell the durability but it seems great.

November 1, 2019

This jacket is truly like

This jacket is truly like wearing air. Perfect for layering for individuals with an active lifestyle. Like my other medium Patagonia outerwear it fits slightly snug, just as I like!

October 28, 2019

Sorry returned the one for my wife and one for me

My wife sleeves to long and body to slim she is under 5', for me over all to slim I'm 6'2".

October 10, 2019

Great Wind & Waterproof Jacket

I love this jacket - have been carrying it everywhere to protect from unexpected fall rainstorms.

September 24, 2019

Great jacket for high output

I've been a fan of the Houdini line of products for some time and I think this is a great addition to the family. The Houdini Air has most of the same benefits of the traditional Houdini while being more breathable (obviously). The breathability for me is the key difference because we do a lot of high output activities like cycling and climbin... Read Moreg which would cause me to quickly overheat in the traditional Houdini. The fit of the Houdini Air is also slightly larger (which I think is more true to size) and has a longer hem which is great to provide coverage on a bike or to stay put under a harness. While I'd still grab the traditional Houdini on a colder ride, the Houdini Air has become my go-to for almost all aerobic pursuits.

September 18, 2019

Perfect Lightweight jacket!

It's so light that I can carry it anywhere and everywhere. So happy with my purchase.

August 10, 2019

Perfect jacket for wind and light rain protection

This jacket is great. Takes up almost no space in your pack and still provides good wind and some rain protection. It would be even better if it had one pocket on the inside of the jacket for a few small items.

August 10, 2019

Perfect light weight

Amazing how much performance this ultralight windbreaker provides. Windy showers? No problem. Cool foggy morning? Perfect solution. And it packs up into virtually nothing. Well done Patagonia.

June 7, 2019

Super light but versatile jacket

I bought this jacket for mountain trail running and it fits the bill perfectly. Light, packable and surprisingly weather resistent despite weighing around 100g.

June 7, 2019

Super light but versatile jacket

I bought this jacket for mountain trail running and it fits the bill perfectly. Light, packable and surprisingly weather resistent despite weighing around 100g.

June 7, 2019

Super light but versatile jacket

I bought this jacket for mountain trail running and it fits the bill perfectly. Light, packable and surprisingly weather resistent despite weighing around 100g.

May 14, 2019

houdini air

Have only had for about 3 weeks. Since then a few light rains, not overly waterproof, but not sure that is really its intent. In all, nice jacket, super light, and breathable. Will be interested to see how it holds up over time. I am 6' 165lbs...bought a large as I didnt want it too snug...perfect size.

May 10, 2019

Compact, light and breathable

I’ve only had occasion to run trail with this jacket on once so far. It fitted great, was super light and small when stowed in my pack. The run started cold and windy and my Houdini Air kept me comfortable.

May 8, 2019

I only have worn it

I only have worn it a few times and have been happy with it. I wish you would make things with a more generous cut. It would be nice to be able to wear a wide variety of clothes under a jacket like this. I plan to use it for traveling. So some times it will be a t shirt under the jacket and sometimes a bulky fleece. I find that is true if most of y... Read Moreour clothes. You make xxs for women but no xxl for women. Yet your clothes for men can go up to 3xl. Not all active people fit your narrow body image.

March 25, 2019

Perfect addition to my closet

Awesome jacket! Just ran Lake Martin 100 miler this weekend and this jacket was perfect. I've run in the Houdini for years, but this jacket hits the sweet spot for breathability. Put it on when the temps dropped overnight and still had it on when the sun came up. With the old Houdini, I know I would have taken the time to take it jacket off, b... Read Moreut with this jacket, I could keep it on and still be comfortable, even as I started to sweat again.

March 22, 2019

Perfect

I needed something that could take the chill off cold morning runs and provide wind protection on the ridges, but also avoid the dreaded problems of condensation. The Houdini Air is the answer. The tech fabric is complemented by thoughtful design. I love this thing. And if the day warms to the point where I don't need it, the Houdini Air disap... Read Morepears into its own pocket for easy stowage. I'm 5'11", average build, and wear the large which fits perfectly.

February 24, 2019

Nice running jacket

Comparing to the classic Houdini, this jacket feels better while running in a strong wind and light rain. The hood is awesome — a bit larger than in my old classic Houdini and works great with a trucker cap. It also feels better while moving and sits better on me that classic Houdini; i'm 5.9" 145lb, wearing size S. Great improvements, Pa... Read Moretagonia! Hope new fabric will hold for a long time. The only bummer is it packs significantly bigger than the classic one and DOESN'T fit into the 2019 Strider Pro's pocket! Other than that — great jacket.

February 5, 2019

Nice but why

Got this as a gift from my parent. In my opinion, this Houdini Air jacket doesn't fit for the purpose of running. For long distance running, this jacket is way to hot, hitting up my body like crazy. I also have the Houdini jacket which I think it is a better choice. While, just using it for walking the dogs, the Houdini Air doesn't offer... Read More enough warm... it is too specific in my opinion.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches