Back to Product

Ms Calcite Jacket

Write Your Review

4.63 /5

Filter Reviews

All 64 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Calcite Jacket

4.63
True To Size
February 26, 2021

Versatile through mild and extreme weather - a great travel jacket

I bought an extra large in 2019 to wear for wind and water protection over a down jacket. It worked great - breathes well and stays dry. I liked it so well that I bought a large in a different color this year to fold into my carry on for mild weather travel; it still is roomy enough to add a layer. The quality of the material and the design of my t... Read Morewo jackets are first rate so I highly recommend the Calcite Jacket.

February 26, 2021

Seattleites! Perfect shell for everyday rain, hiking, backpacking, or skiing

Per the title, this jacket fits the bill for a multi-purpose, high quality, great fit, breathable waterproof jacket. I use this every day when walking the dog in the rain, commuting by bike, on weekend hikes/backpacking adventures, and over a fleece or down when skiing or in colder weather. Provides ample protection without being stifling, fits per... Read Morefectly as is or over other layers. Highly recommend.

February 25, 2021

Dry

Perfect for the late rains of winter here in ne Tennessee. Kept my entire top dry with out the sticky condensation.

February 25, 2021

Awesome Shell

Bought this as a replacement rain jacket, but have ben using it as a wind breaker (in addition to a rain jacket). Love it and highly recommend the shell. Reviews indicated it runs large, but it fit me perfectly (with room for a a nano puff, down vest or down jacket underneath).

February 25, 2021

Waterproof and breathable

Love the environmental standards, superior styling and fit, so sturdy. Awesome color. It really holds up well!

February 25, 2021

Always on point!

Superb update to the past model Really great to have the additional chest pocket Really happy with my purchases

February 24, 2021

Top marks!

A large would have fit but needed this as the first line of H2O/ frozen rain defense over all my warm gear so got xl and it works perfectly! It is very minimalist but doesnt pretend to be otherwise. Very happy with it!

February 24, 2021

Nice jacket

Great jacket I love it

February 24, 2021

Outstanding outer layer

Perfect with sweater or sweatshirt underneath even in cold temps

February 17, 2021

Very Versatile

Protects nicely from wind and rain. Layers easily. Not very warm on its own but with a good base layer its more than enough.

February 16, 2021

Perfect

I this jacket perfect for my day's walking, I'm a guide on the Camino de Santiago and it will be ideal for the changing weather in certain regions, hoping to buy the matching pants in the near future, very happy all round

February 4, 2021

Light but protective

Great jacket to throw in your pack for rain and wind protection. Can be coupled with warmer underlayers for three season use. Quality company and principles equal quality outdoor clothing.

February 2, 2021

Great Jacket But...

I love the feel and fit of this jacket, fits perfectly and the pit zips are a blessing. Unfortunately I lost the jacket after its second use as it fell out of my backpack during a ski tour :(. Sadly I can't purchase this jacket again anytime soon. Will stick with frogg toggs for the foreseeable future. If you can afford this jacket I would def... Read Moreinitely recommend it!!

January 30, 2021

Good looking jacket with great functionality

Bought this as an over shell for my macropuff. Does a great job at keeping me dry and blocking the wind. The new navy color is so crisp. Looks great.

January 26, 2021

Calcite Jacket

Nice simple jacket which does the job well. I am normally size XL. Patagonia size chart says I should be L but ordered XL and definitely right size paticually if layering in colder conditions

January 26, 2021

One Fixable Flaw

One of my favorite features of this jacket is how there are so many points of adjustment. Being able to tighten the hood is great, especially because it runs large being able to fit a helmet. However, when you pull the hood drawstrings, there is nothing to cinch it down. Whenever I get hit with a gust of wind, or even by looking up, the drawstrings... Read More become slack and the hood falls off my head. While this is irritating, it's a quick fix. In the field, I tied stopper knots. At home, I added cord locks so I could adjust the drawstrings with gloves on. This is the only reason I'm giving the jacket 4-stars. If a newer model did have these cord locks on the drawstrings upon arrival (which it does for its other drawstrings), this would be a 5-star jacket.

January 25, 2021

Upgrade!

I was given a gift card for Christmas so decided I wanted to upgrade my old Patagonia rain jacket. Previous model was super lightweight, but not gore-tex...what a difference!! Im super happy with my purchase. Thanks!

January 19, 2021

Good performance to prevent wind

I use this to casual wear and running and it pretty good performance to prevent wind and right rain.

January 2, 2021

A well-made rain jacket.

One of the things that I appreciate about Patagonia is the care that they put into the clothing that they make. This jacket seems to be well designed. I like the large pockets and the chest pocket and overall so far I am completely satisfied. I havent worn it a lot in the rain but when I have it seems to function very well. When you live in Oregon ... Read Moreyou need to have a reliable rain jacket. I think this will fit the bill.

December 31, 2020

Extreme Water/Weather Protection

I bought this jacket for my husband, and he loved it. I was looking for good quality and thin water/weather protection, and this jacket got it all. He already tried it in the snow as well as the rain; all good!

December 28, 2020

Just the right balance of weight and protection

Bought this for mtb/fat biking in the elements. Got a 2 hr ride in tonight ranging from rain/winter mix/ to snow. As well as the reverse on the way back home. Made it home dry and ventilated. Nice mix of fit, stretch, and large pit zips to manage heat and the elements. Nice piece of kit.

November 20, 2020

Excellent Multiple use yet fashionable!

I bought the jacket for my hubby who is 6-ft. He told me he loves the Calcite Jacket Gortex because it is lightweight, durable, wind resistant and above all truly waterproof; where other brands can only claim to be. Patagonias overall look is also fashion forward and polished!

November 19, 2020

Solid Jacket (fits a little bit)

Got this jacket after a previous rain jacket I had failed miserably on a long ride that turned wet fast. Had my friends spray me with the hose to test it out and it passed with flying colors. Its marketed as an up for whatever type jacket with no specific intended use but it definitely has the roomier ski jacket fit. Im an XL for all other Patagoni... Read Morea products but Large would have been the better call for this one. Quality jacket.

November 12, 2020

Too tight

The size runs too small and does not allow for any layering.

November 8, 2020

Lightweight Ski Shell

I find that the Calcite Jacket, layered over a Patagonia Down Sweater, a Crosstrek Pullover and a short sleeve base layer works really well for skiing in European conditions. I’m 175cm, 71kg and wear a size medium in all of the above.

November 6, 2020

Great outer layer and rain coat

Like everything from Patagonia, excellent service, excellent design and excellent functionality. I would not mind some additional color options.

September 24, 2020

Super Warm

Loved it. Bought it for a friend, but will also be getting one for myself.

September 23, 2020

Great jacket

Great gore-tex jacket for the price. It works as an everyday raincoat but is substantial enough to be used as a snow shell. Im 58 and 155 lbs with an athletic build. I ordered the XS. It fits a bit snug (which I prefer in outdoor clothing) but it still allows for layering underneath. Id imagine the small would feel big, especially in the arms.

September 16, 2020

Too large

Usually I am wearing M but this jacket is too large. The underarm zippers are not necessary, too, and restrict mobility.

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2020

We're sorry to hear the Men's Calcite Jacket didn't work for you. Please note, you're welcome to return or exchange for a different size. We included pit zips on this jacket to help with breathability. If you're looking for a waterproof alternative without pit zips, please check out our [Men's City Storm Rain Parka](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-city-storm-rain-parka/20700.html?dwvar_20700_color=CSC&cgid=root).

September 9, 2020

I wanna love it, but i dont

From the first time that I wore this, it just wets out quickly. Even from new. It's like the fit is perfect when I just stand in regular stands but when I put my arms in front of me and bends them, the back piece of the jacket just stretches out to the max and makes the sleeves too short and exposes my forearms. It's like my back is too w... Read Moreide for the jacket, or maybe my arms are too long? Then it also just doesn't breathe that good, but i dont know of any waterproof jacket does that 100% satisfyingly. I love the company and its products, and I still fully support them, but this just didn't hit the spot for me. Maybe I just got a defect jacket or something? haha, I don't know.

September 4, 2020

Not well made

Very disappointed. Within a few minutes of trying on the calcite jacket, the plastic grip on the hoodie drawstring fell off. What the heck? Premium price for a cheap jacket.

Response from Patagonia
November 10, 2020

Hello Andrew, we're sorry to hear that you experienced some troubles with the Men's Calcite Jacket. It sounds like you received defective product, and your jacket would definitely be covered under warranty. Please reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can help you out.

July 11, 2020

Love it

Awesome lightweight 3layer GT. Living in the Elk Mtn Range of Colorado, you need to be confident in your layers when the temp drops 25 degrees and the down pour turns to hail. Its also burly enough to handle the lighter winter days with proper under layering

June 21, 2020

Great jacket

At 510 190 Athletic build. The size large fits me pretty well. Its perfect to fit a Patagonia puffy sweater underneath with some room to spare . I wish the jacket had water proof pit zips and pockets zips. Also I wish it packed into itself to take up less room in my pack. As a hunting and fishing guide saving room in my pack is priceless and having... Read More a jacket that packs down helps. The jacket has held up good so far. Its kept my dry in some pretty heavy storms. I would recommend it.

June 17, 2020

Great jacket

At 510 190 Athletic build. The size large fits me pretty well. Its perfect to fit a Patagonia puffy sweater underneath with some room to spare . I wish the jacket had water proof pit zips and pockets zips. Also I wish it packed into itself to take up less room in my pack. As a hunting and fishing guide saving room in my pack is priceless and having... Read More a jacket that packs down helps. The jacket has held up good so far. Its kept my dry in some pretty heavy storms. I would recommend it.

June 17, 2020

Great Purchase!!

Searched for a raincoat that would stand up to the rain without making me sweat and this thing is perfect! Nice job Patagonia!!

June 17, 2020

Freedom in my rain gear

I took up hiking during the Covid 19 lockdown. Since getting outside for recreation was an acceptable activity, I wanted to take full advantage of each day. This coat let me go hiking in heavy rain (and snow). The fit is great and very adjustable. It has kept me warm and dry. It is now an indispensable part of my day pack.

June 17, 2020

Terrible Fit

Nice jacket, nice features, but poor attention to little detail and fits terrible. Jacket is way to big, arms ridiculously long, but oddly jacket almost is too short. Size chart is wrong for my jacket or maybe its just poor/zero quality control.

Response from Patagonia
June 25, 2020

We are very sorry to hear that this missed the mark for you. We appreciate the feedback on this and encourage you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us since it's not working out.

June 17, 2020

Calcite Jacket

This was a replacement for my other lite H2no jacket that was easily 6-7 years old . My other jacket served me well and well traveled but unfortunately needed to be replaced. I selected the Calcite - gortex and a little sturdier. So far, the jacket only been exposed to heavy fog (SF) but am certain it will provide the protection required when need... Read Moreed. Appreciate the deep hood w/adjustment to help keep face & glasses dry.

May 30, 2020

Holds Up in Severe Weather

This jacket is great. I work as a photojournalist where the risk of shooting video during inclement weather is just part of the job. I got burned by breaking news one day: my camera had rain gear but I didn't! Immediately after drying myself off, I looked online for some rain gear, found the Calcite Gore-tex jacket from Patagonia and the rest ... Read Moreis history. Fits well, but the zipper needs to be down to put the hoodie over your head. I've worn this all-day during humid days and during downpours and it has literally kept me dry through a 10 hour workday. Highly recommend.

May 18, 2020

Not waterproof

I liked what I heard about Patagonia's environmental policies, and the notion of buying a good product that lasts a while rather than buying cheaper stuff and throwing it away. I was also hoping to get a better quality product by spending a bit more. I bought my jacket last fall, and have only used it sporadically for outdoor activities, so it... Read More's in great shape. Yesterday, I went out for a hike, and got caught in a rain shower (decent rain, but hardly a cloudburst) for about 20 minutes. That was enough for water to start coming through the shoulders of this jacket. Seems kind of underwhelming.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2020

We are so sorry to hear that this happened and we greatly appreciate you bringing it to our attention. You're absolutely correct when you say that our business model is to build long lasting gear that will in turn, result in less consumption of goods. We hope that you can [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us so we can get you a replacement that will perform to our expectations.

April 24, 2020

Looks Great !!!

Ultralight, looks great for raining and windy days. customer service excellent

March 30, 2020

Great shell for any wet

Great shell for any wet or windy occasion

March 22, 2020

MS Calcite Jacket

Excellent in all respects. Worn every day for power walks. Keeps cool, pit-zips help a lot (but these zips are pretty stiff), and keeps the wind out totally. Hood seems a bit clumsy, and I would prefer a longer hanging strap. I usually fit medium. Glad I ordered large

February 24, 2020

Versatile gear

I bought the Calcite because it checked multiple boxes for me. It was my first attempt at buying a nicer shell-only jacket (and also my very first piece of gear from Patagonia!). I wanted something waterproof that I could use for a variety of outdoor adventures and it fit the bill - especially with the close out sale price in a great color. In deci... Read Moreding between a Medium and Large, I went with a Medium so I wouldn't have all the excess fabric when not layering underneath. Still, I was able to wear it over a lightly insulated jacket while skiing and it was very comfortable. I don't think a thicker down jacket would fit under a medium on me but the nano and even macro puff did. The shell was durable enough to hold up to a couple of ski falls but I do wonder if my log walks with skis on my shoulder had a negative effect on the DWR coating. In fact, while my at home spray test showed a few areas near seams wetting out, in the field I've stayed completely dry and windproof thus far (albeit in decent winter conditions). The pit zips were a welcome feature on a warm mountain day and I can't wait to have more reasons to pull this out and wear it.

February 20, 2020

The Perfect Shell

Never really had a decent raincoat, this is more or less exactly what I was looking for. Wind and rain proof which, when coupled with a few insulation layers, makes a huge difference. I am usually an M but bought an L mainly so I can layer up, works perfect. My only complaint is that the elastic in the neck/hood feels a little useless when it doesn... Read More't fasten.

February 14, 2020

Great breathable waterproof jacket

Great breathable waterproof jacket

January 13, 2020

Perfect Shell

I replaced a worn Torrentshell jacket with this. Works perfect, Lighter, dry, correct fit. Patagonia did a great job updated the Torrentshell with the Calcite jacket.

December 29, 2019

Rain?, what rain!!

Excellent lightweight waterproof layer. I’ve needed this essential outer skin for years, and finally got it. Perfect size, breathable Gore-Tex, nice adjustable hood, sweet waterproof zippers all around (even under the pits). Best jacket ever, feel asleep in it on Christmas.

December 23, 2019

Great jacket for multi-use!

I’ve used this jacket walking, climbing, cycling... it’s just good jacket for multi-use. Perfect for anybody looking for jacket isn’t too technical but will be there when you need it most, this is one for you!

December 7, 2019

Calcite Jacket

This is a gift for my grandson. His Mother looked at the jacket before wrapping. Great color and fit looks perfect.

December 5, 2019

Freaking love this jacket. The

Freaking love this jacket. The best price for Gore Tex around!!

November 26, 2019

very light

surprised by how light a storm jacket can be, great for packing. Improved pit zips from the old style, very pleased with my purchase.

November 22, 2019

Shell yeah baby

This is a bomb proof rain jacket as well as a good Gore shell for touring and resort riding. Fit is great and very lightweight.

November 19, 2019

Super happy!

I am gathering gear for my next trip and needed a reliable waterproof light jacket that would be small and "packable" enough to fit in my small backpack. with this jacket I got all i wanted. Just a rainproof layer on top of other clothes, so no pockets bonanza or any other useless gadgets. and choosing it in Peppergrass Green added a litt... Read Morele twist to my dull navies and dark greens:) I am 190 cm and slim and M size works great for me. I would recommend it to a stranger, too:)

November 17, 2019

Beautiful Jacket

Great for wind and rain! Looks fabulous

November 14, 2019

Extremely impressed

I am super impressed with this jacket. It’s 100% waterproof and fits very well. It has giant armpit vents and good pockets. It’s not designed to keep you warm, but it will keep you dry. I am mostly impressed with the ‘ironclad garentee’. I traded in a Patagonia rain jacket that was falling apart and got a credit and was able to buy this one. Very ... Read Morehigh quality and would recommend.

November 11, 2019

Great shell for layering as

Great shell for layering as needed

November 11, 2019

the perfect light weight waterproof

the perfect light weight waterproof jacket I was looking for.

November 5, 2019

Your products never fail to

Your products never fail to impress.

November 5, 2019

Calcite

I haven’t had it long enough to comment on performance much but I really like the fit. I’m 6’0” and 165 lbs and medium fits perfectly.

October 16, 2019

Nicely Made

This is generously cut for layering and has high quality features that justify its price. I stay completely dry while wearing it in the rain.

October 15, 2019

Awesome jacket!

Originally purchased for a shell for AT touring and can’t wait to use it for that but it’s fantastic for hiking in wet weather. Love the full pit vents for staying cool!

September 21, 2019

Best lightweight rain jacket

This is the best lightweight rain jacket I have ever owned. It is fully waterproof even in a downpour. The fit is perfect for daily and activewear. It also has enough room for a climbing or biking helmet. If this thing hold up for the long haul I will never need another jacket.

August 27, 2019

Always a solid choice

I had a jacket that I loved but had seen too many days on the trail. Upgraded to the Calcite and I am stokked. Patagonia remains at the Pinnacle of the industry.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches