Back to Product

Ms Venga Rock Pants

Write Your Review

4.6/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 32
  • 34
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 55 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Venga Rock Pants

4.6/5
May 12, 2021

Make Longer Climbing Pants!

Great climbing pants, especially in cases of flood. Why does Patagonia insist on only making longer pants for larger waists?? Would only recommend this to shorter friends, because whenever I wear these, people must assume I had a growth spurt overnight. Hopefully in the future you'll offer pants with a 34" inseam so we taller climbers can... Read More get ankle coverage (and shorter folks can easily cuff their pants). Other notes: Aside from the length, I really like these pants. They're roomy enough to allow for mobility while not being too baggy. The side pocket near the knee is great for small items, and they've been pretty durable for indoor climbing. Docking another star, though because the tightening mechanism along the waist doesn't stay tight. Points for trying, but hoping the designers make changes next season.

May 7, 2021

Modified to replace the Venga knickers

Love these pants. . Bought them and had my wife cut them down to the same length as the Venga Kinckers since you no longer make those great for fly fishing

May 2, 2021

Great pants

Favorite climbing/casual pants! Very robust, not to warm or to cold, good fit.

April 19, 2021

Amazing design

I wear these pants for everyday wear. The thigh pocket worried me at first because it does close, so I feared I would lose stuff, but it's deep enough and cut in a certain way that it never happened. My only issue with it is the OppoSet® Adjustable Waist. I'm sure it's super convenient. Not only it doesn't easily adjust the wais... Read Moret, but I must have pulled to hard on the webbing tail because it got loose one day and wasn't working anymore at all. I fixed it but...not fun.

April 7, 2021

Great Pants for any activity  including after-adventure outings

The Venga pants may have been designed for climbers, but they perform perfectly for hiking and adventure trail. I've also used them extensively when rafting in cool conditions, worn them under my fishing waders, and I really love them for wear around the house and to local pubs. They are comfortable, fast-drying, durable, and fit perfectly. Al... Read Morel in all, the perfect do-it-all pant.

March 28, 2021

Great pants!

Very confortable and don’t look like mountain pants, which is what I was looking for. If I could ask for improvements would be a bit more stretchy and narrower at the ankles because I wear minimalist shoes which are always thinner than regular. But overall I’m very happy with my purchase!

March 5, 2021

Best Patagonia Pants Out of Any

These pants are not just for climbing. Perfect for yoga, hiking, travel, work wear, and casual wear. The fabric is between a medium and light weight-- great for hot weather but ok in moderate temps too. I wore them in 90 degree heat in the Amazon Jungle for bug protection and they were great, breathed well and stayed comfortable. The fit works bett... Read Moreer for me than the Patagonia straight fit, they feel similar to the performance jeans but slightly looser allowing for a more comfortable and roomy experience. The taper at the ankle keeps the look modern. The phone pocket is perfect size for my iPhone 12, which I struggle to fit into any of my other pants. I own many Patagonia pants and these are now my favorite.

March 2, 2021

Such comfortable pants

I'm not a climber, but I liked the look of those pants. I love the texture and the cut, as well as the color choice. I only regret that the side pocket on the right leg doesn't shut as I'm concerned about leaving my wallet or my car keys in it all day long. Other than that, these are my everyday go-to-everything pants to both look co... Read Moreol and clean and be comfy.

February 23, 2021

Water repellent

Main for purchase is rain repellent and wind proof!

February 21, 2021

Go to pants for pretty much everything

I have been wearing Venga pants for a number of years since they were first introduced, but with the pandemic they have become my everyday choice. They are comfortable offering a balance between easy movement and trim fit, working well for everything from heavy yard work to hiking but also acceptable for casual wear. These new pants have a new fabr... Read Moreic that is smoother with a tighter weave than their predecessors that feels like it should wear well. They also have a larger pocket on the right thigh that is now big enough for today's larger cell phones. Other features remain the same such as the great drop-in rear pockets and adjustable waste band.

February 16, 2021

Fit and Function

These fit well, and flex where needed. They are slightly long in the leg by current trend standards but provide good coverage at ankle. Im 62 and got the regular. The pockets are great; very useful. The fabric is fine, but seems durable so far. Im trying not to wear these every day; theyre that comfortable.

February 4, 2021

Awesome color!

Awesome color! Wish there was more bright colors. Fits really well. True to size.

February 2, 2021

Not Quite The Same

The first pair of Venga pants I got were indigo, 100% cotton, size 34, and fit perfect. I wore them. I washed them. I dried them. I put them right back on. Best pants ever. Eventually I wore holes into the thighs of the pants. Probably a result of carrying items in the front pockets. The pants could probably stand with some reinforcement in this ... Read Morearea. Possibly a thicker, hardier material. Nonetheless, I still wear them. They are still the best pants ever, so of course I still wear them. I just need to sew on some patches. I replaced the original pair in October 2020. The new pair were size 34 and electric blue. They fit fine at first. Then I washed them, and they no longer fit. I took them back to the store and the salesclerk suggested the current crop run small. So, I got a size 35. So far they fit fine, but they are not as comfortable as the prior pair. They are cut slightly different, and they are not 100% cotton. They rustle when I walk and it feels like there is not as much stretch in the fabric. Also the side pocket on the leg is much larger. This makes it easier to get things out of the pocket, but I feel less secure about putting stuff in that pocket. I often used the last pair and the current pair for cross-country skiing on milder days since they are so breathable and stretch well when needed (though not as well in the new pair).On the plus side the new pants seem to be slightly water repellent, even after a few washes. This is nice for playing in the snow. Overall, I really like the orignal pair of 100% cotton pants. The 2020 pair are good pants, but the former pair just plain fit me better. Feel free to reach out to me for further comments.

January 28, 2021

Awesome fit

Bought theses as a non techy looking option to have in the dresser. LOVE THEM. Casual but fit and move well. Pockets are placed well and they dont feel too hot on warm days.

January 17, 2021

Great For Casual, Not So For Climbing

Bought these pants in Feb last year. Since then it has been my go to pants for climbing or casual pants when it gets hotter outside. But the pants started showing signs of wear pretty fast, especially around the knees. When climbing and sweating, the pants stick to the skin, makes movement harder and puts more stress on the fabric. It cannot be bec... Read Moreause of rubbing against the rock, as that is not something I tend to do. Repaired and reinforced both knees now, but dont know how long it will hold up.

December 26, 2020

Almost great

Hey Folks, Ive had these pants for a few years now. Im outside every day in the mountains and wilderness in Scotland. Climbing, scrambling and working with my adventue company. Ive worn my Venga pants a lot for pretty much everything. The design is awesome and everything works. Fit, pockets, durability, function, comfort. But not 5 stars. For rock ... Read Moreclimbing they just don't work for me. This is just personal - but I don't get enough stretch. I wore them in Glen Coe on a warm humid day a few years ago - and they just stuck to me like standard cotton. Not ideal on the Rannoch Wall [Google it!]. Still, an awesome get out there robust pant.

December 10, 2020

Great Pants

These pants are great, I use them everyday for work, leisure, and outdoor activities. I was worried about the mesh pockets but they have held up great. The side leg pocket holds a phone perfectly and the soft catch mesh is brilliant, it provides a layer of security to keep your stuff from falling out of the pocket. I work in a marine environment, a... Read Morend I never have to worry about losing my phone overboard thanks to the sod catch mesh side pocket.

November 9, 2020

Durable pants

The fabric is durable and does offer limited water resistance. 5'10 180lb size 34 was perfect. Why aren't these offered in black?

November 9, 2020

No good as climbing or off trail hiking pants

I bought the pants for rock climbing and I am disappointed. While both hiking and climbing the material binds when I raise my foot above the knee on the other leg causing me to use more energy than necessary and limiting range of motion. There is very little if any stretch in the material. The pants are good looking and fit well although the pant ... Read Morelegs are longer than other Patagonia pants I have purchased in the last couple of years. I will happily use them as casual and on-trail hiking pants.

October 23, 2020

Outdoor workwear

Golf course maintenance is a demanding environment: hot in the summer, cold in the winter. You need pockets for your turf knife, your phone, two-way radio, pen, small notebook, bunch of keys, irrigation tools, extra, extra. You are sweating due to the physical nature of the job, you wade through bushes in the native areas, you kneel, often walk 5-1... Read More0 miles a day(!)... need to say more? This pants covers all of it, effortlessly. A superb product. Oh - bring back the beige color (SHLE) please!

October 2, 2020

My favourite summer pants

I bought these for casual wear, to include cycling (maybe my cycling is casual in style...), hiking and the occasional home fitness workout. I was undecided whether to go for a close-fitting 32 or a baggy 34 but the unique cinch-tightening trick, basically a hidden belt, worked so well I chose the larger size. These have quickly become my favourite... Read More pants, I say summer pants because they are medium-light weight and none too heavy. They almost immediately became favourites because they are perfect for yoga or any impromptu stretches or a workout, the range of motion and comfort is excellent. I love the deep pockets, a good alternative to having zips all over, because deep pockets are secure pockets and will take a large phone, keys, wallet etc and still look good and feel comfortable. I'll be buying more of these next spring for sure.

September 13, 2020

Great pants for work; durability an issue?

I wore the Venga rock pants M-F for a whole year in a corporate setting. I loved the pants for the mobility they allowed even though the setting was rather sedentary. At the end of the year, I had basically blown through both knees. I bought two more pairs because I loved the pants but thought they would have lasted longer as they are designed for ... Read Morerock climbing and I managed to wear through them in an office doing nothing more than climbing stairs, working at a computer, and occasionally stretching at my workstation. I cut them off at the knees and now have Venga rock shorts but am wondering if a slightly thicker fabric would be more beneficial? I can't speak to the two most recent pairs as COVID has reduced me to sweat pants and working from home so I haven't had a chance to put them through their paces.

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2020

Hi Pat, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear that your pants wore out so quickly. That is definitely something we'd consider a warranty issue. So if you find that your new pants start to wear out sooner than you'd expect don't hesitate to reach out to us. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 2, 2020

Perfect Pants

These pants are prefect. I was looking for pants that were comfortable, casual, I could dress up or down, and light weight. These hit all the marks, I only wish I found them sooner. I have muscular legs and they aren't tight when I put them on. They fit just perfect, with a little flex so when I bend they give.

June 25, 2020

Great pants

This is my third pair of theses pants. The polyester/spandex/cotton blend feels great and the cut and fit are very comfortable. It would be nice if future versions had a zippered rear pocket.

June 17, 2020

Amazing - Truly

These may be the best pair of pants Ive ever had. Light yet warm, breathable yet protective and durable. The way Patagonia was able to hide technical features into a business casual look is thoroughly impressive. The crazy side-pocket is super stealthy! The pants can be used for climbing no problem - no issues with flexibility. I love the fit as we... Read Morell (62.5 170lbs Sz 31). I will be buying another pair come Fall - dont change the fit Patagonia!

June 17, 2020

Tough and Comfortable

The Rock pants are made of tough but comfortable material. The finishing details are all precise and made for strength, fabric and stitching. I ride endurance events on my bicycle and got these to help with rides of 8 hours or more. I find it hard to get a pair of pants that allow me to move freely, feel unrestrained, are comfortable, and have a so... Read Moreft feel. When I ride around 100Km I have trouble finding pants that don't chafe my thighs. It's the last item among my gear that I have not perfected. These are good, the climbing knickers are good. I have several Patagonia products in my wardrobe for my active life and really like them.

June 9, 2020

Perfect pants

These pants fit me great. Usually it is very hard for me to find pants that fit well in the waist as well as the legs. They have just the right amount of stretch to them also (61, 235#)

March 29, 2020

Durable lightweight pant

Very good compromise of weight/durability. Feels like a linen pant in terms of weight, but durable in either the climbing gym or outside on granite. Very good range of motion for climbing/hiking.

March 19, 2020

Used the size guide and

Used the size guide and it fits perfectly (185 cm, 80kg, size 32). Already got the hampi rock pants (which I am also very content with) but needed something more suited for scandinavian temperatures (below 15 c). The venga rock pants seem very sturdy and will most likely last for years and years. Bought this for rock climbing, but they will also ... Read Morebe used for hiking, fishing, carpentry, gardening and casual wear. Definately recommended!

February 13, 2020

simply great pants

great to be worn both in the town as well as in the crag. sturdy, comfortable, reliable. practical side pocket.

January 29, 2020

Excellent trousers (pants)

These are a super comfortable and seem fairly durable. Love the bright blue colour and the built in waist belt is great. Pockets do enough that you can keep a phone in them and your harness will stop the phone from falling out en route.

January 6, 2020

Great trousers

My second pair. Love them.

December 19, 2019

Great Pants

Great pair of pants suitable for rock climbing, as well as for casual wear and anything in between.

December 12, 2019

Amazing

They do everything they are meant to do and they look good as smart trousers

December 10, 2019

Very satisfied

The fit is very nice - not too tight but fairly "trim." I especially like the cotton fiber component, which makes the pants feel a bit less chilly. This along with polyester/spandex adds stretchiness and durability -- a really great overall combination.

November 7, 2019

Best pants ever

This is my third pair of these pants! They fit well, are amazingly durable, and look great. I still have my first pair, and after two years of abuse they’re still holding up great. 10/10 would recommend.

November 3, 2019

Rock Climbing Hiking Pants

Great pants in color green, comfortable fit, versatile, blending in great with the environment on the trail and off...

October 31, 2019

What a find

I live in these for work - they are great and provide a smart look while being ideal for work outside and in

October 20, 2019

Love these pants

Once again patagonia delivers with a super comfortable pair of pants that are great for all day adventures!

October 14, 2019

Venga

Excellent fit and stretch...the color of my Dad's mechanics greasy work pants...outstanding

October 14, 2019

Solid pants

Excellent construction and design. My only gripe is that I wish the model came in different inseam lengths. I am 5'6 and the pants run a little long on me.

October 8, 2019

Men’s Venga Rock Pants

I love these pants and have close to 30 pair. I hunt exclusively in these pants and also hike a lot in them. I like all the colors but the coriander brown are the best. The black with the pattern are nice too. I do like the revised look with the label only on the waste. The logo on the leg was very ‘90’s. The nickers are super good also.

September 22, 2019

Great pants for crag or gym

Love these pants. Material is very durable and comfortable. Patagonia really nailed the cut of these for climbing. These is a light but noticeable stretch to the fabric, but because of the cut of the seat and articulated knees, it rarely feels like you’re r stretching the fabric, it just moves with you.

September 17, 2019

Excellent all around adventure pant

I wanted a hiking pant that was lighter than my usual go to Carhartts but not a full on "dad pant" that was too lightweight and had the goofy zip off legs. These were a perfect middle ground. I wore these for 6 days on the John Muir Trail. I thought they might be a little baggier at the bottom than I would have liked but that actually all... Read Moreowed me to roll them up to my knees when things got hot and I didnt want to stop to change into shorts. Side pocket and built in zinch cord were both super handy, allowing me to carry my map easily and eliminate a belt from my packing list. Looking forward to using these on more adventures and for when I get back to rock climbing.

September 12, 2019

Color is great. Please offer

Color is great. Please offer more men's clothing with brilliant colors. Cut and fit also comfortable and functional. Add drawcord or elastic to ankle cuff to keep pant leg restrained. Please add at least 1 zipper pocket.

September 7, 2019

Beautiful but too stiff for gym climbing

Can’t high step. Ended up returning them

Response from Patagonia
September 19, 2019

We're sorry these didn't work out. Please [let us know](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if you have any questions regarding your return.

September 5, 2019

Typical Patagonia sizing issues.

Generally I love these pants. Wore my last 2 pair until they were nearly rags. Because I had lost 25 lbs (180-155) and the 33 waist was too big I bought 32’s. Nope, too tight! So now what, back to the 33’s and a belt? Or order 5 pair of 32’s and see if any of them fit. BTW, the last two pair I had one was a 33 and one a 34. They fit almost identica... Read Morelly. Better fit higher rating.

August 31, 2019

Super comfortable

Totally what I was hoping for. Cool side pocket of the right leg. Good and flexible.

August 15, 2019

Venga Rocks

I have had a few versions of these pants over the years and I keep coming back to them. First the fit is excellent. One of the few pairs of pants that just works for rock climbing. The bungey mesh in the cellphone pocket is brilliant! They are cool enough to where in the sun. In fact thats mostly why i have these pants. (color dependent). Durabilit... Read Morey around the knees is only so, so. With that said, I rather have a little hole in the knee and not be to hot. If the pants were discontinued I would be mega sad.

August 15, 2019

Venga

I enjoy the fit and feel of the Venga style in both pants and shorts. They stretch and wash incredibly easily. Feel like well worn cotton but function like a high tech fabric.

July 15, 2019

No Stretch

Hate to do this, because I love all other Patagonia products that I own, but I find these terrible for climbing. Multiple times the lack of stretch has caused me to blow a high-step and pop off a boulder. Great look and feel for an around town pant, but I do not like them for climbing.

Response from Patagonia
July 17, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the way these perform while climbing. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us under warranty and let us know if you have any questions.

May 9, 2019

High marks for the Venga

The Venga Rock Pant is the perfect go-to climbing/hiking/outdoor adventure pant. Fabric is durable, but with the suppleness/stretch you want from a climbing pant. Adjustable waist/front button is perfect for dialing in fit.

May 9, 2019

Perfect

I bought two pairs to replace some ten penny pants that I umm... (they seemed to have gotten smaller). I love these pants! Perfect fit and a great comfortable and light material. The cut is perfect for moving around !

May 8, 2019

If only they offered inseam sizes

I bought a pair of mountain climbing pants. Great looking. Well made. But I could only order based on waist size. They were too long, which meant I had to pay to have them hemmed. This is not a problem with other brands because you can choose both your waist and inseam.

March 10, 2019

Great for rock climbing!

Ordered this in Tasmanian Teal, excellent fit and easy maneuverability while rock climbing! Provides the right amount of protection, and the material is neither flimsy nor thick

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches