Back to Product

Ws R1® Air Zip-Neck

Write Your Review

4.5/5

null

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 61 Reviews

Clear All

Ws R1® Air Zip-Neck

4.5/5
May 2, 2021

Cozy

I love this zip-neck fleece! I love the color and soft fabric. I sized-up because of the product description. I like being able to get a long-sleeve T underneath the fleece, and I can do that easily.

April 21, 2021

Great Value

Warmer than it first appears, very comfortable, fits well for someone with a long torso.

April 16, 2021

Light weight warmth

I have not gotten to put this pullover through all its paces YET, but I did wear it for some light hiking and around camp. The temps were around 50-55 and the pullover kept me warm. I have not experienced its breathability but based on the construction, I would think it to do well. The Spanish red is a surprisingly versatile color and the fit is sl... Read Moreim but not tight.

April 11, 2021

just perfect

product that matched the expectations, very satisfied with the purchase

April 5, 2021

Comfortable, Practical, Breathable

I'm a big fan of the old school R1. I wear it everywhere from work, to hiking, to breweries, and out and about. The R1 air is a great new addition to the regulator series. It's warm, breathable, and comfy. Be aware that the fit is snug- I thought about sizing up but after careful consideration didn't, and therefore it's a snug f... Read Moreit, but better than a slightly roomy size up. This is one piece in the Patagonia line that may warrant either purchasing two and returning one, or trying before you buy as there is no universal advice about sizing up or staying at your normal size as some other Patagonia pieces seem to fall into. But this is a stellar new addition. I love it. And recommend highly for anyone who spends time outdoors for work, play, exploration...and needs to know that it just looks GREAT too.

April 2, 2021

Why the change

I have several Patagonia tops that I love and fit well. I have always bought size small. This top was extremely tight and extremely long. I was very sad that I had to return it. I loved the fabric.

Response from Patagonia
April 5, 2021

Hi Cathleen! We appreciate your feedback. We are so sorry the fit didn't work out! You are always welcome to [contact](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) us and we are more than happy to provide with detailed measurements so you can ensure a comfortable fit in the future.

April 2, 2021

Warm and cosy

I love this fleece, it keeps me warm without sweating too much and overheating. Just to be wary that this fleece is more fitted than baggy.

March 29, 2021

Comfortable and high quality

Really comfortable, great fit and high quality.

March 28, 2021

Very warm and comfortable

I love this article! it's suitable for many sports, and provides a warm feeling in those chill summer evenings in the mountains.

March 27, 2021

Wanted to love it, but...

I purchased and love two other Air products. But this one doesn't feel the same at all. Seems to have no lateral stretch so moving in it was quite uncomfortable. Wouldn't give with my movements. I have many quarter zip tops from Patagonia but this one doesn't work with me. Sent it back.

March 25, 2021

Does what it says!

Used as a mid layer while cross country skiing. Kept me warm and comfortable. Runs a tad big but I did wear it over something. I sweat through my under shirt and the R1 had no smell!!!!!! Super soft too. Will be using for all activities ! 58 155 and bought size L

March 23, 2021

So light!

I was so pleased with this, I ordered two R1s for my husband the very next day! The slim fit is perfect over a technical shirt, eliminating bulk.

March 23, 2021

It’s really comfortable light sweater.

It’s really comfortable light sweater.

March 23, 2021

Love it

True to size. Comfortable and love the color.

March 23, 2021

Is super warm and comfy

Just love this sweater. I just it for my outdoor sports. It keeps you warm and the material is flexibel so perfect during sports.

March 23, 2021

5/5

Second time buying this for my Mum in a new colour - great light weight fleece. Works well for layering.

March 19, 2021

Best thing ever

Light weight and very warm. Pricey but quality. Feels like itll last many seasons.

March 18, 2021

New fleece

Love the textured look and zippered pocket on inside. Purchased a medium so that I could easily layer under it. Very nice fit for my small frame 56 120 lbs.

March 17, 2021

super warm

i have been wearing this every week mon-sat since i bought it. it is very warm. i chose this over the baselayer top cuz it was less tight fitting design. i gave 4 stars cuz the fabric is not stretchy so it is a bit hard to put on and take off unless you buy one size up. also, the design requires different pieces to be stitched up together to create... Read More a nice looking fleece top, but it is a bit off centered. i had to return the 1st one cuz it was about 1/2 inch off and got an exchange. but the 2nd one was still off by 1/4 inch. i just kept it cuz i really needed something to keep me warm right away.

March 12, 2021

super comfortable

love this materials soft to help keep warm on a cold morning and light enough to keep on on a cool afternoon.

March 11, 2021

I don't care about a title

I really like the sweater but it runs a little small on the top

March 9, 2021

Warm and flattering

This fleece is great! Its not bulky, making it great for layering, but doesnt sacrifice on warmth. My only complaint is that I wish that the hidden pocket on the chest either was on the outside of the garment or had a softer pull cord, as it irritates my skin if I wear an open neck shirt underneath. But this will be easy to replace at home when I f... Read Moreinally get around to it. Plus, its not an issue if Im wearing a crew neck shirt.

March 9, 2021

Thin but warm

Really nice fabric with a slight texture feel. Nice and warm

March 8, 2021

Nice and light.

Great for evening walks. Lightweight keeps me warm when its cold out.

March 8, 2021

Favorite Patagonia product

I have the regular R1 1/4 zip and its great (size small fits well) and I purchased the R1 Air recently and wear it ALL of the time! I do a lot of Xcskiing and it really wicks away moisture. Its super cozy but not too hot. After the first week I purchased another. It fits a bit smaller than the original R1. I wear a medium in the R1 Air and a small ... Read Morein the R1 Original.

March 8, 2021

beautiful fabric but poor fit for me

I love the color and the fabric, but this fleece is made for a woman who is big on top and small in the hips. Neither the M or the L fit me, as I am small waisted and curvy on the bottom. Sad to send it back.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

We're so sorry to hear that this didn't fit you correctly. Please reach out to [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can get your measurements and find you a comparable item that fits well.

March 5, 2021

New go to pullover fleece

Have always loved Pantagonia and now have another reason. The R1-Air zip neck fleece is so lightweight, yet warm. Love the front pocket too. Im tall at 511 and 160 lbs. and the fit is great! Ordered a L, the sleeves are definitely long enough and the slightly tapered waist prevents that boxy look. Its also long enough to cover my lower back. Have t... Read Morehe green and will definitely order another. Great quality, service and reputation Pantagonia!

March 5, 2021

Super Cozy

A super cozy shirt that is beautiful. I can wear it to work and to play (ie Mountain Biking, Hiking and backcountry skiing). Love the colors and design. I have a long neck so I personally would like a higher neck but this is not a game changer.

March 4, 2021

Best Yet!

Snuggly comfort, just right warmth... its my new favorite

March 2, 2021

A step up from Capilene Thermal Weight baselayer

I have several Patagonia capilene thermal weight baselayers and sometimes wear a lightweight vest over them if its chilly in the house or I need extra warmth outside. The new R1 Air zip-neck fleece is not only warmer, but the inside fleece is very soft and comfortable against the skin.

March 2, 2021

Warm & Cute

I absolutely love this new fleece. It fits perfectly, is so soft, and the color is so gorgeous. I wear it under my ski jacket and it kept me warm in negative degree weather.

March 2, 2021

Perfect layer

This new R1 Air is the perfect layer. I can combine it with a shell for skiing and not get too warm. I can wear it around the house comfortably or while doing yoga. I like that it is a bit longer than other layers as well!

March 2, 2021

Air zip neck fleece did not feel like fleece. Kind of weird fabric

I did not like this fabric at all. Tight was too tight .

March 2, 2021

winter necessity

In the past few years, I have returned almost every item I have bought for myself because your current sizing does not fit me. The waists are placed too low, the sleeves are down to the end of my fingertips and the overall garment is too long. I NEED PETITE SIZING! I have several Patagonia synchilla vests and jackets purchased many years ago which ... Read Morestill fit me perfectly. I like Patagonia's quality and styling but, sadly, with your current sizing, I have given up

Response from Patagonia
March 13, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Womens R1. We are sorry to hear that it did not work out work out for you. We can always be contacted directly at 800-338-6464 if you would like more detailed sizing and fit information.

March 2, 2021

Comfy and good looking

I'm curvy so wanted something with movement i.e. not too restrictive, as I'm not a standard size. I find this super comfortable, and appreciate the length as I like my tushy to stay warm. I use it hiking, and great wicking, temperature control, but it's warmer than expected. This is a California spring/late fall /winter garment and I... Read More like the way it looks.

March 2, 2021

Super fit

I love the zig zag style. Warm without bulk.

March 2, 2021

Super Soft

This fleece is super comfortable and light weight. Looks good and feels good!!

March 2, 2021

Super warm but not bulky

Layers easily over a long sleeved base layer and under a jacket. Knew from the moment I put it on this is another Patagonia favorite Ill be wearing for many years. Soft, warm with great ease of movement.

March 2, 2021

Nice texture

This is a very cuddly sweater but I would prefer it to fit more loosely so that I can easily layer it.

March 2, 2021

Very Warm

If you need something for colder nordic ski days, this is perfect. I really like it, but it has to be cold (below 20) and windy for me to need it.

March 2, 2021

Off sizing.

I bought a size medium. The arms are long, width is narrow. Weird fit and realized after wearing for a day it was not comfortable at all. Fleece is my go to for winter, this one does not cut it.

Response from Patagonia
March 13, 2021

We're sorry to hear the fit doesn't work for you. Please feel free to return it.

March 1, 2021

Don't like the fabric

It is snug without much stretch. I expected something more like Patagonia micro fleece .

March 1, 2021

Love this color!

This fleece is even better in person than in the picture. The color and texture are so unique. Its warm and cozy and makes it easy to move around. Usually when I order a size Medium I have a little extra room but not with this fleece. Its more form fitting than other Patagonia fleece I have. But I love it!

February 28, 2021

Comfortable, warm and breathable

Easy to clean and dry. I also like the style and color. I used to wear size S but last time I wear another S sweater, I feel a little bit tight. So this time I try M.

February 27, 2021

Excellent!

The product is as described and I agree with reviews. It provides a light layer that is both warm and breathable with wicking. The fit is slim, but I can still fit a thin base layer underneath. I really like the color (I got blue) and the performance of the fabric.

February 25, 2021

Warm, soft, cute, and functional!

This is a win. So light, so comfy. Great flex and movement. Good length so your belly button doesnt come out when you reach up.

February 24, 2021

Nice warm layer and looks good!

All around great casual wear product

February 23, 2021

Love this piece!

I love this piece! It's the perfect mid layer on those really cold days. Super warm and comfy.

February 20, 2021

Running small

My usual size was too tight on the shoulders, yet the size larger was too large. Overall, good quality product, breathable and not too warm. Perfect for hiking in the cold.

February 19, 2021

My second Patagonia fleece

Looks good. Warm but light. Fits well. My other fleece is still going strong from 1994. And looks good enough that my 19 year old daughter has stolen it.

February 16, 2021

Nice...but

The pro: great texture and color. It looks like its a great layering piece. Con: It is a slim fit. I am a true large in Patagonia and this was tight. I tried the XL too and it was too long and big. I was disappointed the big difference in the two sizes.

February 15, 2021

Excellent warm and breathable layer

I am so happy with this fleece. It’s light weight, incredibly warm, breathable and soft to touch which makes it perfect for every activity and casual wear. I usually hate the sensation from touching fleece but this isn’t the same as all the others, just a marvellous product. I’m quite tall with broad shoulder and the medium fits amazingly well - ni... Read Morece and long in the torso and the arms actually reach my wrists. Usually I get exposed areas so I’m very happy that paragucci gave more length.

February 15, 2021

Beware of the weird inside chest pocket

I bought two of these -- the hooded full-zip and quarter-zip style -- and the fit and fabric are stellar. I've been using this top for backcountry skiing and around the house and it meets the high demands of both activities, lol! I was a bit disappointed by this quarter-zip style. I prefer to wear these as base layers, next to skin. It'... Read Mores not shown in any of the pictures, but there's an internal credit-card-sized stash pocket inside the left chest. I found it to be super scratchy, so I'll be returning this one. It's a bummer because I love quarter zip mock neck styles to dump heat. A hood can be kind of constricting! So just be aware of that feature as you buy. I'd rather not have the pocket at all, as it doesn't hold too much. The hooded style has the pocket on the outside on the chest. Not sure why they didn't do the same here.

February 14, 2021

My new favorite Patagonia product

This is a fantastic fleece. The fit is very feminine and attractive. The sleeve length is perfect and the overall length is perfect because it is long enough to cover most of your bottom when wearing leggings. It is so cozy and the green is a super cute color. The green isn't quite as rich and vibrant as the online picture since the texture an... Read Mored materials of the fleece kind of mute the color but it is very similar. I also love the novelty of the zig zag design. Nice to have something a little different from other fleeces. I'm 5'3, 122 lbs and the Small size is perfect. It is fitted but I can still wear a thinner long sleeve shirt underneath. If you are looking for something a little roomy and loose, definitely size up but I love the fitted/feminine look. I also love that it is made out of recycled materials too. Thank you Patagonia, awesome job on this one!

February 2, 2021

The technical fleece I've been waiting for!

WOW! I have used this fleece for days of mountain biking in 15 - 25 degree weather, 30 miles of nordic skiing in 5 degree weather, and 3 different mountain ascents in varied temperatures. It is super cozy soft, extra lightweight, and warm in varied conditions. But most important for me is its wicking ability. I don't know how this is possible,... Read More but even after pushing my body to its limits this fleece feels only slightly damp to the touch. I've struggled my entire life with soaking through layers in the cold weather, but this pulls moisture away like magic. I've had to experiment with how best to layer it in really frigid temps since nothing else I own wicks this well (Hey Patagonia, any suggestions on companion, very cold weather layering pieces??) but I can't say enough about how amazing this piece performs on its own. I bought a large (I'm 5'6" and 132 lbs.) because I have wide shoulders and prefer a looser fit up top, but a medium would work really well, too.

January 29, 2021

Very comfortable

Great product, very comfortable. Relatively true to size, but if tall like me the arms may be a bit short for you. Handy inside pocket

January 27, 2021

A Stellar Performance Fleece

I am completely enamored by the new R1 Air fleece that I purchased earlier this month. Patagonia has always been a leader innovating and perfecting performance base layers, and fleece, in particular. But with this new R1 Air addition, they have created something special that performs exceptionally well. I have worn this quarter zip hiking and on ru... Read Morens in the Bay Area, at temperatures from the high 40's to the low 60's and did not feel overheated or cold. In fact, the innovative zig zag design of the fleece allows for more air flow and really dumps heat during high output physical activity like running. Another impressive thing is that the design does not seem to hinder the fabric's ability to block wind - with a small caveat being as long as you are moving - if you are sitting still for an extended time, you can definitely feel the wind if wearing only a base layer and this fleece. Wearing this working and around town, I was comfortable up to 65 degrees, but in temperatures higher than that, it would likely be too warm. Similarly, I'd also recommend a light shell or windbreaker while hiking in rainy conditions as there isn't much in the way of water resistance with the openings in the zig zag fleece fabric. The length of the arms is almost perfect, but ever so slightly long and at 5'10", sleeve length is always a concern for me. I like the slim cut of this fleece and opted to size up, so that I could layer underneath. That being said, I haven't had any issues with the fleece fitting comfortably under my primary slim cut shell jackets. I have washed the jacket three times and have noticed a bit of pilling, particularly in the under arm area, but that didn't impact the fleece's performance and was easily ameliorated with a sweater shaver/stone. The one thing that I'd suggest that Patagonia revisit is that although the hidden internal chest pocket is great (and yes, you can fit a phone in there), I would have appreciated two handwarmer pockets, since there aren't thumb holes. Although having no exterior pockets makes it easier to layer or utilize as a true mid-layer. As a final note, the R1 Air is definitely the softest, coziest and most adaptable fleece that I have stumbled upon in a very long time and I highly recommend it.

January 26, 2021

Soft and Comfortable

I needed a new fleece and wanted a different color (super tired of black). This was perfect. Its light, soft and comfortable. Little wide around the hips but for me it was perfect! Btw, I got the black too.

January 26, 2021

Looks good, feels nice, keeps

Looks good, feels nice, keeps me warm

January 26, 2021

Super warm for sure

Love the fit, the warmth, the pattern , softness , the comfort the style . Only thing missing was the thumb holds for the sleeves.

January 21, 2021

Jacket is perfect

The jacket is cute and comfortable. Would recommend to friends.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches