Back to Product

Ws Silent Down Parka

Write Your Review

4.09 /5

Filter Reviews

All 53 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Silent Down Parka

4.09
True To Size
February 27, 2021

Rhonda

Love it!

February 26, 2021

Comfortable!

This is a very comfy coat and fits me well. At first I thought it might be to fitted but as I have worn it have realized that it's just right. I'm 5'5" with wide shoulders and long arms. (148lbs) I have worn my nano puff jacket under it when I needed more warmth. Have used it on a construction site during an inspection in windy ... Read Morecold weather, road my bike to a nearby winery in it during wind and a bit of rain, wore it shoveling snow and have used it lots as a casual run around jacket. Comfy and breathes well.

February 25, 2021

Perfect length + warm

Im 52 and the length is perfect, hits right above my knee. Wore a sweat shirt under it and was very warm. Definitely more fitted so size up if you are wanting to layer with thicker clothing underneath. Love that the hood can be zipped inside of coat. Wore in 20° weather and kept me warm. Amazing quality! Love the color!

February 25, 2021

Very nice fit and styling.

Loved this coat the minute I put it on. great fit and style. Im 5 foot 7 inches , 135 lbs.

February 24, 2021

Very comfy and warm

This coat is the perfect length. It covers your bottom and falls a few inches above your knees. The hood is just the right size; not too big, so it looks nice. This coat is super light weight, which I love... and it is truly warm. Ive walked in 19 degrees and been very comfortable. Its very fashionable as well. Definitely not bulky. I said it runs ... Read Morekinda small because its a tad snug at the hips. However its still comfortable. Im very pleased with this new coat!

February 24, 2021

Just comfy!

This coat feels brilliant. It makes me warm and cozy, while keeping my body temperature nicely tempered. Love the color as well. Happy with this purchase!

February 24, 2021

Lady’s parka

Great jacket for my wife. Really good price and communication from the company. Efficient delivery and service.

February 24, 2021

Great everyday jacket

This jacket is very warm and the perfect size and weight for a winter everyday coat. The slim fit means I dont feel like a marshmallow!

February 23, 2021

Warm, so warm

Its great for everything I do, from taking the dog on a walk in the morning to sitting outside at bars and restaurants with friends. Im yet to be cold wearing it. My favorite touch is the elastic sleeve cuffs, which are comfortable and help keep everything warm.

February 18, 2021

Cozy cozy

Love this jacket. I am on the petite side and sometimes feel jackets like this look too puffy or roomy on me. I like that this one is fitted and doesn't look like I am a kid wearing my mom's coat. It hits be above the knee by a few inches and I am 5'0". For those looking for fit, I am around 105 lbs.

February 5, 2021

Ive been looking for this!

Ive been on the hunt for a parka with a diagonal design that includes a hood, and this fits the bill! I love how I am able to able to tuck the hood away nicely. I am normally an XS in Patagonia jackets, but I sized up. Im 50 and this hits just right at the knee.

January 24, 2021

Tight in the elbow area of the sleeve

I bought a small and a medium in this jacket. I am 5'6 tall and weigh 125. I loved the way the small jacket fit through the body, but unfortunately the sleeve was too tight, especially around my elbow. The medium was fine in the sleeve, but too roomy in the body, so I had to send both of the jackets back. It is a beautiful jacket. I was disapp... Read Moreointed it didn't work. I usually wear small in Patagonia jackets, and have never had a problem with the sleeve being too tight.

January 4, 2021

Warm and cozy

I love this jacket! It keeps me warm and cozy. I like the zip in hoody because I usually dont wear it so its tucked away until I need it.

December 25, 2020

Great Gear

This is the perfect winter coat for hiking and walking. Great length, comfort and the hood is so good for windy days.

December 24, 2020

Perfect coat!

This coat is cute and practical. Perfect winter coat. Love how lightweight it is while still keeping me warm!

December 9, 2020

Lovely coat, warm, strange fit, loses down

When I first put this on, I was disappointed in the fit. It's great from the waist up, but tight around my hips - which is never an issue for me. The fit is passable, but not if I want to be able to really layer up, and that's specifically what I was looking for with buying a winter coat right now. But, the fabric is just lovely and I lik... Read Moree the color and style, and I need a coat, so I wore it for an extremely slow walk around my hood in about 40 degree weather at night to test it out. It was TOASTY warm - and I get cold very easily, so I really liked that. But after that brief wear, there were about 5 feathers coming out in different places. I saw in a number of other reviews that leaking down was an issue, but decided to try it anyway because it didn't seem to be an issue for everyone, and I need a coat! I considered exchanging this for a larger size, but I'm afraid that it would be too large from the waist up, and I can't afford the time and expense of exchanges for something that might not work. Between the fit and the down leaking I'm sadly going to have to return it.

November 29, 2020

Super soft and warm

I loved this. I had exchanged my medium for a large as the medium was snug. Lots of room for layers. Love love it

November 16, 2020

Perfect for the Outdoors

I wear my Patagonia down sweater as my daily jacket but needed something warmer for outdoor sporting events. I researched all of Patagonia's parkas and am so glad I selected the W's Silent Down Parka. I love that it covers my hips and upper thighs. It makes such a difference in my comfort outdoors! I also love the fitted cut, the zipper/s... Read Morenap combo that zips from both ends if I want the bottom looser while sitting in a beach chair, the cozy pockets and the detachable hood. I layer sweaters and fleece tops under mine and the XS still fits fine, not too snug at all. I was worried the arms might be too short in the XS based on reviews but they're fine as well. I've attended sporting events with steady rainfall (not pouring, but still lots of water) and it kept me dry. I'm leaving this review because so many people have had problems with feathers shedding, but it honestly hasn't been an issue for me. Overall, after a year I'm still extremely happy with this jacket and expect it to last me for many years.

November 4, 2020

Great jacket

Super warm. Great fit. Great color. Great company :)

October 30, 2020

Bland color, drab coat

Okay, this coat is super warm and light weight and Noiseless! if that is something you care about. The fit is okay, a bit too large on top (but hey you can put sweaters) and tighter around the bottom....not bad at all. BUT there is something about this coat, is it the polyester or the down?? that feels/looks worn out, a flat and wrinkled look that ... Read Morefor me at least did not appeal. This color I might add is pretty drab and there is a dullness to the coat, no sheen. Now if none of that bothers you, I think it is a great layer of warmth and I was sorry the fabric and loft did not appeal.

October 29, 2020

Favorite Jacket

This is my favorite jacket. It is warm, comfortable, and cute. I love all things Patagonia, and it is even better that I can always trust this brand. Thank you for doing what you do!

August 27, 2020

Overpriced jacket

I don't usually buy this expensive jackets but decided I would spend a little more to get something that would last. I was very disappointed to discover that jacket was bleeding down, not only from the seems, but also from the fabric. It seems to me that the woven composition of the fabric isn't dense enough which results in down peeking ... Read Moreout. After a month of use I went to the store and explained the problem, I got the explanation that the down will set and the bleeding will stop when using the jacket over time. They also said that they could send the jacket to a facility where the reclamation will be investigated. After more than a month of wait, with no winter jacket, they sent me a new jacket. They claimed that there was no faults but that I got a new jacket out of goodwill. Now having used the new jacket for a while I still experience the same problem. I regret buying this jacket and I wouldn't recommend anyone buying it.

Response from Patagonia
November 5, 2020

Hi Julia, we are so sorry to hear that the down leaking issue has persisted with your new jacket. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty. We went ahead and passed your feedback to the appropriate team.

January 30, 2020

Not that silent or warm

My husband and I both had to order the silent coats because our autistic daughter can’t take the swish noise in regular down coats. Mine is not that silent, and not real warm. The noise is barely acceptable for our sound sensitive daughter, so we are keeping them. However, I am disappointed that such an expensive coat isn’t really warm, and hardly ... Read Moresilent. We have to keep them though, for the sake of our daughter.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2020

Hi Mary, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're truly sorry to hear that the Parka is too loud for her and for the disappointment this causes. Just know that your satisfaction is always guaranteed so in the future if you decide you need to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) you're welcome to.

December 24, 2019

Great coat!

Great coat!

December 17, 2019

Even with a Cairn

I walk my Cairn terrier three times a day. She loves the snow and temps down to 10 or so. This coat is warm, comfortable, and fits. I love it!

December 16, 2019

Nice

Nice

December 16, 2019

Nice and silently soft

Nice and silently soft

December 16, 2019

Amazing jacket

Such a warm jacket, just perfect for cold Ohio winters. Fit is a little smaller than I expected even for slim fit, but still ordered normal size. Sleeves are a little short, but there is elastic closure so no fear of cold wrists.

December 16, 2019

Nice warm coat. Snug fit

Nice warm coat. Snug fit but also flattering. Glad to have this as an option for a cold Maine winter coat.

December 15, 2019

Fast service great quality 👌

No problems. Great service. Very nice coat.

December 13, 2019

I love this parka. It

I love this parka. It is soft and warm and easy to wear. It makes up for the fit, which feels a little snug around the hips and looser on top.

December 12, 2019

okay parka

It seemed like it would be fine, but I didn't like the look of it - seemed kind of unpolished, too outdoorsy - and wasn't sure it would be warm enough for me.

December 4, 2019

Too small

I’ve been wearing a size small in Patagonia for years, so felt confident that this size would work for this parka. It should have fit according to the chart. However, as another reviewer experienced, I could barely zip it up and the sleeves are also short. I had to check the size again to make sure it wasn’t an XS! I’m really sad about this because... Read More it seems like a really nice coat otherwise.

Response from Patagonia
December 20, 2019

Hi Catherine, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the trouble with sizing. The Silent Down Parka is a slim fit so it will fit a bit more tight than our regular fit items. Nevertheless, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 28, 2019

Beautiful and warm!

Beautiful and warm!

November 23, 2019

Nice

I purchssed this coat recently and have not had the chance to wear it yet. The weather here in the northwest has been mild, but suppose to get much colder next week. So I am sure that I will be wearing it soon. Looks to be a very nice coat, fits well and well made. I like that it has a nice looking hood. It is not snug liks some on Patagonia jacket... Read Mores. I like that the hood can be tucked into a zipper collar when not needed. The cuffs are very nice, with the knit inside the outer cuffs, which make it easy to slip on & off. I wish the Jackets were made the same way. Nice length....just above the knee. I think it will be a great coat and I like the style.

November 1, 2019

Loved the jacket, but too small

I fit the profile on the size chart of a size 8 Medium exactly - yet I could barely zip the jacket up and no, my hips aren't enormous! They measure 38.5 just like the chart. I am returning which I'm super sad to do but there's no way it would be comfortable. A large would be too big based on their size chart, and I'm not wearing... Read More a LARGE. Would be nice if the size chart was correct for the garment and better yet, making the jacket so it fits the size chart! Color was great, fabric great.

Response from Patagonia
November 20, 2019

Thanks for this valuable and detailed feedback Lisa! We're sorry the sizing was a disappointment and We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the parka to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

September 15, 2019

Perfect jacket for fall

The fit and feel of this jacket makes it perfect for fall temps. It's a flattering cut, and not as bulky as other long parkas. Runs a bit small (I had to exchange for one size up, and I'm nearly always an XS), especially if you plan to layer.

May 8, 2019

I love this coat as

I love this coat as others said there is a slight shedding problem. Wish they could fix it. I was told to put it in the dryer and that did help. That being said I would buy it again.

April 10, 2019

Feathers started leaking immediately

Love this coat, color, fit, etc., but the feathers we’re leaking through (without my pulling or otherwise) almost immediately after purchase. For the price this is unacceptable.

March 13, 2019

Love, but a little frustrating.

I got this jacket in December 2018, so I've had three months. This jacket keeps me warm, and fits nicely. I love the hood. However, I have feather leaking EVERYWHERE. I never pick or pull them. I've had a lot of other down products from Patagonia I love that hardly come out. I honestly feel like this is due to the outer material making it... Read More silent. Almost like the outer material it's not as thick as say my down vest from Patagonia(which hardly EVER loses feathers). If I had known a month in it would be leaking like this, it would have been harder to pay $349+tax for this jacket. I wish all these reviews were here before I ordered this jacket.

March 9, 2019

Patagonia long parka winter jacket

I got this as a Christmas gift. I really love this jacket, but i'm worried that the quality (at least of the zipper) is questionable...I've had it for a little over a year, and when I went to zip it up the other day, the zipper broke off in my hand. I can post pictures if anyone needs, but basically now it's a sharp shard which I&#x2... Read More7;m worried will cut my hand. I'm going to write to the company today and see if they can repair or replace it, and I'll let you know what happens! :)

February 27, 2019

Wanted to love it...

I wanted to love this coat so much, but just couldn't. Was looking to upgrade my 10-yr old 'Down With It' parka and thought this would be a winner. I normally wear XS in Patagonia but this XS was way too snug in the hips. Thought maybe I could skip heavy layers since the coat would keep me so warm in NYC winters. Wrong again. I could... Read More actually feel the wind/cold traveling through the material. And finally, down feathers everywhere! Poking out from all over the coat. For the price you pay, this is unacceptable. A few pros: very soft material, love the soft layer at the wrist for extra warmth, and cute overall design. Good news is I returned it without hassle and upgraded to a new Down With It parka that I'm in love with.

February 15, 2019

Loses feathers on a daily basis

So first, the positives: I love the color (and fact the coat isn’t shiny), it’s warm, it’s quiet and fits TTS (I’m 5’8”, athletic 140# bought M and didnt have an issue with sleeve-length). I also appreciate the hood. But the feathers. Feathers leaking through the seams. Feathers pressing through the fabric itself (followed, of course, by more feat... Read Morehers unless you can push the escapee back into the coat). Feathers every single day. I’ve had the coat for about a month and a half and initially hoped the feather leakage was due to packing/shipping, but it’s proving to be an ongoing issue which is disappointing. As desperately as I wanted to keep the coat as I love it otherwise, this is likely going back for another solution.

January 10, 2019

Pros and Cons

I really like this jacket. It is warm and it fits me well. I got it for Christmas and it is already shedding feathers everywhere. It looks like a black jacket with white dots. It is very disappointing because this is a quality product from a quality company. I have not owned a down jacket before but I feel like the amount of feathers coming out of ... Read Morea brand new jacket is not normal.

January 9, 2019

Sleeves!

5'5", 125 lbs I received this coat for Christmas, size small (and according the size chart this is accurate). It fits snugly and keeps me warm due to the snug fit, and the fabric is beautiful, but the arms are 2-3" too short!! I don't have abnormally long arms and this has never been a problem with any other patagonia coats I ow... Read Moren (down sweater, windbreaker, butter fleece, better sweater), but this coat stops well before my wrist and looks ridiculous. I ordered a medium to see the difference--sleeves fit better, but the body is so loose that cold air gets in and doesn't keep me as warm as the small. I also don't have to have to layer underneath all the time. This coat is too pricey to not fit well. I'll likely be returning.

January 6, 2019

Beautiful but porous

I love this coat. I agree that the fit around the hips is too tight. I feel comfortably free in the shoulders, but not so much in the hips, especially if I'm wearing a tunic top or work jeans. Feels a bit prissy, so tight around the hips. The one sad thing about this coat is that the feathers poke out occasionally. Just the big feathers, appar... Read Moreently, and then you have to wonder about pulling them out, risking making a bigger hole in this lovely silent fabric, or stuffing them back in, which rarely works. So now I'm walking around with 4 or 5 little white dots on the coat which ruins the elegant look. Got any suggestions, Patagonia?

December 27, 2018

Great down coat...perfect length...easy to layer...but...SLEEVES TOO SHORT

I love the silent! I love the warmth...but I had to buy a size large to get the sleeves down to my wrists...And usually I LOVE Patagonia long sleeves. Upside...I can wear a nano puff jacket underneath even tho' it's rarely necessary

December 9, 2018

Warmth without looking like the Michelin man!

I’ve been looking for a down coat that would keep me warm in Boston winters while waiting for the bus and walking to work. This one is perfect! It truly is ‘silent’ without that swish sound, it’s super warm without feeling huge and puffy and it has the perfect amount of stretch to make it comfortable. I did size up (5’2”, 120 lbs, usually a small b... Read Moreut bought a medium) and I’m glad I did.

December 1, 2018

Slim fit

I have a couple Patagonia down jackets, including this one. I love them all. But be careful to check whether a jacket is “slim fit”. I was a better slim fit 20 years ago than I am now....

November 26, 2018

WE LOVE IT

Haven’t even used it yet but from trying it on in the store I can tell this is a 5 STAR jacket

November 19, 2018

On the fence

This jacket has a hood which is not shown on the model. I love that it has a hood so that was a pleasant surprise. The fit is different. I am 5'7 130 lbs, bought the medium. The hip area is more fitted than the top part of the jacket. I am a 4/6 on the bottom or a 28-29 waist in denim and feel this jacket is not proportionate to the top. In th... Read Moree shorter version of Patagonia jackets I take a small most of the time and a medium on occasion. Just feel this fit is off. Took a walk with it on, temperature was 17 degrees F, and honestly this jacket did not keep me very warm. Temps above 25 its fine. Really on the fence with this jacket.

November 17, 2018

Too slim

5'4" 145lbs (pear shape) this coat is beautiful. I wanted to like it so bad. It's just too slim fit. I could zip up a large, but it hugged my hips in a way that made the look unflattering. The 'puffiness' of this coat was perfect. Didn't make me feel like a marshmallow woman. If you have a slim figure and can wear this... Read More coat I'm so jealous!

November 2, 2018

Too small!

Absolutely love everything about this coat - the fold away hood, the style, the warmth. I am 5’ 10”, 160 lbs. and the extra large was too snug! No room for a sweater underneath. Have other “slim” fit coats from Patagonia in extra large that are plenty roomy, especially for wearing bulky winter sweaters. Was very disappointed to have to return this ... Read Morewonderful coat. Maybe Patagonia could be more consistent with their sizing. Maybe loosen up this style for next year? Would definitely purchase!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches