Back to Product

Ws Bivy Hooded Vest

Write Your Review

4.52 /5

Filter Reviews

All 33 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Bivy Hooded Vest

4.52
February 15, 2021

great over heavier layer

Bought this to go over heavier wool sweaters and sweatshirts - its perfect. It has a slightly boxy fit per the description so order your regular size if you intend you wear it over heavier stuff. Looks great and wears well. Very warm. Exactly what I expected.

February 11, 2021

Best Vest Ever

I bought one of these vests and fell in love!! Immediately, I stalked wornwear.com for the older version with the zipper and bought that one plus another button down only Bivy. You won't look back after buying a Bivy. Classic and chic Patagonia all the way!

January 31, 2021

High quality

Love my vest, very warm. Only issue I had was that it wont button up over the sisters (lol). I dont wear it buttoned so its okay, I love it anyway.

January 28, 2021

Good looking vest

Good looking, comfortable and feels warm. Wish it had a zipper in addition to the buttons, but I still recommend

January 22, 2021

Super warm and attractive

I bought this vest for Christmas for my sister in Oregon. She loves it. She also gets lots of compliments on it. I bought what I thought was this vest online and it was a fake. So I called Patagonia directly and a gentleman named Garrett helped me get the right vest. He was so awesome and very helpful. Thanks so much.....

January 22, 2021

Super warm and attractive

I bought this vest for Christmas for my sister in Oregon. She loves it. She also gets lots of compliments on it. I bought what I thought was this vest online and it was a fake. So I called Patagonia directly and a gentleman named Garrett helped me get the right vest. He was so awesome and very helpful. Thanks so much.....

January 21, 2021

Perfect layer

I bought this for field trips (situations where there are lots of starts and stops) and hiking in the Winter. The first time out, I was birding on a lakefront at 20 degrees windchill. It was an awesome addition. If I have one bit of feedback, not really a complaint, the snaps are a little inconvenient. But its a minor inconvenience at most.

January 21, 2021

Perfect layer

I bought this for field trips and hiking in the Winter. The first time out, I was birding on a lakefront at 20 degrees

January 21, 2021

Great fit

I absolutely love this vest. It fits true to form and its especially warm.. There is only one thing I wish were different, that it was reversible. Love the inside pattern... Two vests in one.

January 21, 2021

Great for Minnesota winter walks

I love this vest! The color is unique, almost a golden color. The hood is very effective at protecting me from the wind. The lining is so cute! One thing to change...add a zipper!

January 18, 2021

Amazing

I ABSOLUTELY love my vest. One of my favorite wardrobe items. Couldnt be happier about my purchase. I recommend it to anyone.

January 6, 2021

Exactly what youd expect

This vest is great with a nice zipper pocket inside (I always need a sealed pocket for something while out hiking). I am a pretty small human and Im happy with the S (usually Im an XS), but if you want a good fit Id go with the XS. The S is roomy so I can throw extra layers on but I think you'd be able to get away with that in a smaller size t... Read Moreoo. Only thing Id change is the outer pockets to have some kind of seal. Doing anything active, I don't really like putting things in those pockets for fear of them falling out. But no regrets here!

December 31, 2020

Vest

I bought this for my very active girlfriend and she loves it. The fit and warmth were immediately obvious. She was wearing it all night long.

December 31, 2020

Nice but where's the zipper?

I bought this for my wife for Christmas- she loves it. But I was very surprised to see no zipper on the front and no zippered outside pockets. I don't remember the last time I saw an item like this by Patagonia or anyone else without zippers. She did discover the zippered inside pocket and liked that. Other than that it's a beautiful piec... Read Moree and I know she'll wear it for years or decades.

December 24, 2020

In love

This vest is gorgeous and fits perfectly! I especially love the hood, and its print on the inside. I suppose the only bad thing I have to say is that it only has button closures and not a zipper. But it is far from a deal breaker!

December 22, 2020

Usual Patagonia quality, snaps gape at chest

I own the first variation of this vest which fits me well. I decided to try this variation knowing about the changes that had been made (materials, closure). I am an xs in everything at Patagonia (52, 120lbs, 32D chest, usually a size 0-2). The quality of this vest was excellent and it fit, but the placement of the snaps resulted in gaping over my ... Read Morechest. I do not have this issue with the previous zippered version so I returned this one. I did like the placement of the hand pockets as they are easy to use for warmth, but they do not close, so I wouldnt put anything in them you dont want to lose.

December 22, 2020

Love this Vest!

I love this new Patagonia vest. Not only is the inside color so attractive and simple yet great design, it fits well. I originally ordered an XS but exchanged for a S as I wanted a bit more room. I would normally wear an XS but wanted to wear something thick underneath. The exchange was such an easy online process and I received my new vest in just... Read More a few days, so fast! Patagonia continues to stand behind their products and I will buy again.

December 19, 2020

Snug and cozy

Fantastic vest for any layering needs. The older version had a zipper as well as snaps and I really miss the zipper! Otherwise this vest is amazing, has the ever important inside pocket and keeps me stylish!

December 18, 2020

Super warm!!!

This is my first Patagonia product. It exceeded my expectations is quality and warmth.

December 16, 2020

Improvement from previous years

I bought this at the beginning of the fall season, and its been on heavy rotation. Its an improvement from the previous years, many people complained that the rough fabric would collect dog hair and tons of fuzz. This year the fabric is smooth and I love it. I always buy a size up in this vest to layer underneath. Im usually a medium in many brands... Read More but like I said, this is a layering piece so I bought a large. I feel its also slightly more figure flattering than previous years as well. I would love another one of these!

December 8, 2020

Really wanted to love this vest, but the snaps didnt work for chest coverage.

I have the first iteration of this vest and love it. I purchased this newer vest knowing that it varied with the recycled materials and snaps and was okay with that until I tried it on. Unfortunately on my 32D chest, the snaps pull. I have always been an xs in Patagonia, and the vest otherwise fits well, although it isnt super loose considering it ... Read Moreis an outerwear piece. I tried it on with 3 layered shirts, all thin, and it fit over them. I did not try it over a fleece or sweatshirt, which is how Id usually wear it. The quality, design, fabric, etc are all excellent, and I love the pocket placement, but the snaps just wont work for me. A larger size may have fixed the problem, but as it fits well everywhere else (hips, waist, etc), I decided to just keep enjoying my older one and return this one. A zipper, more snaps, or more strategic snap placement at the chest would have made this vest a winner.

December 7, 2020

Very warm

I love this.

December 6, 2020

Super Warm + True to Size + Not for Bushwacking

I got this vest to wear in conjunction with heavyweight fleece tops to create the perfect balance of warmth and breathability on winter day hikes in the Midwest. I am 5'7", weigh approximately 130lbs and normally wear size small tops. This jacket works well worn over light - heavyweight tops. The fit is slightly contoured and does not app... Read Moreear "too boxy" like many vests. The hood is also cut great and stays put on your head without constricting your view too much. Warmth wise it has exceeded my expectations. Patagonia did a great job nailing out the down fill amount on this vest! It is super luxe and full. Personally, I was looking for a vest that I could wear when hiking off trail. The denier fabric for the main portion of this vest is very thin and could be easily torn by thorns and other undergrowth. So it will likely be more of an everyday piece for me that will also tag along for hikes where I know I will be sticking to the trails. My only gripe is that the stitching quality is less than I would have expected for a garment this expensive. Areas where they seamstress was supposed to create a smooth straight line are zig-zagged and have backpacks in the middle of the seam (not at the ends where they are supposed to be hidden). While it's definitely not a functional issue, it is definitly not what I expected aethetically from this company. Other than that, I've got a great vest that I will likely wear for years both in town and on the trail!

November 28, 2020

Not as warm and no zipper anymore

I bought the 2020 Hyssop Purple color and am returning it. I am disappointed. I have this vest from last year, in white and peach color, and there are so many things I dislike about the new improvements for 2020. 1) the vest doesnt have a zipper anymore! just buttons down the front. It takes longer to put on and isnt as warm. And this zipper-rem... Read Moreoval wasnt advertised on the Patagonia info for the vest as one of the changes. 2) there isnt as much down fill anymore in the vest. It is slimmer cut, slimmer in the torso, and not as much down, not nearly as warm as the older version. What I loved about the older version is how warm and cozy it is, compared to all my thinner slimmer active vests, I wear this vest when I just want to be cozy and warm, and now the new model doesnt do that anymore. 3) I dont like the new body fabric. Its the fabric of other vests I own that are meant to be lightweight and slim, just a thin mid layer. But this vest isnt styled like that, so why put that material onto it? Its just less durable. The old vest had the rugged durable nylon body fabric, which was so awesome to have a down product with a durable fabric that isnt going to tear. I am sick of my down coats with thin material snagging on blackberries and barbed wire. The vest does look well made and beautiful. I do LOVE the hyssop purple color combo. I hope Patagonia will remodel this vest back to the previous version (but with all 100% recycled nylon everywhere) soon in future, and in a beautiful color like this.

November 24, 2020

Why did they change the Bivy Vest?!

Welp, the Bivy was my favorite vest. I literally would buy every color in both styles (hooded and no hood) every winter. Now Patagonia doesn't even make the unhooded version, and they've changed the fabric and specs on the hooded version. Instead of the soft, brushed twill fabric that made the Bivy so different from other vests, the new v... Read Moreersion is a shiny rip stop type fabric. It changes the whole style of the vest from a cozy, knock around town look (that was perfect with a flannel) to something that now looks like every other vest. Hate it. And they got rid of the zipper so now it only snaps, whereas the older style had both. So disappointed.

November 22, 2020

Perfectly Flexible

Love that this vest provides so much warmth in its puffer style design. The texture inside the pockets keeps it feeling comfortable, plus its stylish inside the vest-includes a hidden chest pocket! 10/10 would recommend

November 19, 2020

Warm and Cozy!

I LOVE this vest! It's warm and cozy and lightweight. I got the wood brown color and the flowery pattern is beautiful with a vintage look to it. I also love the hood and deep pockets. Definitely recommend!

November 11, 2020

Disappointed

My husband buys me a new Bivy every year. This year he bought my girlfriend and I matching vests for the holidays and when they arrived I was disappointed to find they didn't look or feel anything like the previous years. I really miss the zipper, the coziness of the older ones and the more rugged fabric.

November 8, 2020

Light, comfy and soft pockets

I love this vest!! Colour (orange) is perfect and I love the flowery lining. Very lightweight and it has large, soft and comfortable pockets. And a hidden zipper pocket in the lining!

November 2, 2020

Great Vest!

Easy to clean and durable. Also nice to have the attached hood! Warm enough with a sweater or flannel underneath even for winter. Would love some more color options for the future!

October 20, 2020

Beautiful, warm and small

I am looking for a vest for late autumn in Minnesota, before I need a jacket, for hiking in the woods and general wear (errands, neighborhood walks). I'm a standard M/8/36C and with a sweatshirt underneath this vest is tight. I will ask for a L for Christmas. Pockets are super soft and deep.

October 1, 2020

Absolutely love this vest

got it just in time for vest season!!!!

August 25, 2020

New outer fabric is not as nice as the previous soft canvas

Not sure why they changed the fabric on the bivys to this more synthetic sticky one, but the super-soft canvas on the older models was much cosier and rugged than this plastic feeling shiny one.

Response from Patagonia
November 2, 2020

Hello AJ, Thank you for taking the time to share your comment. In the current iteration of the Women's Bivy Hooded Vest for fall 2020, we were able to significantly increase the recycled content of the fabric and the garment now features 100% recycled nylon canvas.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches