Back to Product

Ws Better Sweater™ Jacket

Write Your Review

4.61 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 119 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Better Sweater™ Jacket

4.61
True To Size
July 10, 2020

Soft but runs small

If you dont like tight fitting order a size up! I was worried about the sleeves being too long doing this but its perfect!

July 10, 2020

MY ALL TIME FAVORITE SWEATER

I am in love with this beluga color! this sweater is so comfortable & warm. it has been my favorite sweater year after year. I hope they keep making these.

June 26, 2020

Warm

Great fit and comfy!

June 17, 2020

Color is very flattering

I have three of these jackets, two of which are embroidered with my office logo. I work in a busy OB/GYN office and the air conditioning is always on. I am able to wear it throughout the day without overheating. I ordered the jacket in a size medium, I am 52 and 97 lbs, but wear scrubs and undershirt on so I wanted it to fit loose but not too big a... Read Morend it fits good. The other is my go to jacket for weekend excursions. I would definitely recommend this jacket.

June 17, 2020

Fits to Body, Ridiculously Comfortable

I bought a size larger for the layering but it's already pretty roomy. I do love how the material clings to your figure - like a warm hug.

June 17, 2020

Perfect Weight

This Fleece is a perfect weight for the transition seasons. It also is great as an extra layer under a winter coat in those colder months. Very comfortable and durable.

June 17, 2020

Comfortable and lovely

I wanted something that was easy to work with comfortable. This is really detailed and fits cozily.

June 17, 2020

Cozy, great fit

I was warned that these jackets run small. So I bought a size medium. Glad I did. While it is a little bigger through the midsection, the sleeves fit perfectly. It will be great with a long sleeve shirt under. I love it. Totally worth the price.

June 8, 2020

AMAZING JACKET

I am 5'10" about 145 pounds. I have long arms and fairly broad shoulders and the Large fit me perfectly. This is a slim cut coat, but I love that because usually when I get a Large, it is long enough in the arms, but it's too boxy. It is still big enough to wear a long sleeve shirt underneath. The Marble Pink is such a beautiful colo... Read Morer. I am hoping it is fairly wind resistant, but it looks like it is!

May 8, 2020

Perfect Casual Jacket

This is my go to fleece that I wear when I go on errands and around the house. It's true to size and the fit is perfect on me. I love how comfortable it is too.

April 19, 2020

fit very well

very good fitting, keep me warm even with wind. Nice finish on the end of the sleeve. Love the color. exactly as expected

February 10, 2020

cozy but not as warm as expected

I was surprised that this sweater was not as warm as I anticipated. I owned a Columbia fleece zip up jacket but wanted something thicker with a long sleeve shirt underneath This fleece is bulkier but not that much warmer. I'm talking about 50-60 degrees F in Socal, not cold temps at all. I've tried this hiking but the wind cuts through it... Read More. Overall, I felt like this fleece is just popular but not that warm! for size, XS fits 110 lb, 5'1.

February 18, 2020

Shrinks

I loved this sweater at first. That’s was until I washed it and it shrank now it’s too tight. The sweater itself is great. Keeps you warm, nice and light.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2020

Hi Mariana, we're sorry to hear your jacket has shrunk. We recommend washing this jacket in cool-cold water with a gentle detergent and drying it on a low heat setting to avoid shrinkage. If you're unsatisfied with your jacket because of how it now fits, feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty.

March 17, 2020

Really nice sweater, feels super

Really nice sweater, feels super soft on skin.

February 25, 2020

Great product! Love it! I

Great product! Love it! I normally wear an S, but got an M for length and am very happy with it.

February 25, 2020

Warm!!!!

Love this but it's SUPER WARM. I can only wear it when it's under 40. Not super stretchy, so if you're between sizes go up. Otherwise, it's relatively true to size. I would suggest the full zip so you can regulate temp better when this gets too warm.

February 12, 2020

Low Quality for Price

I received this jacket as a gift, and although the jacket was very warm and versatile, it ended up being a lot lower quality than I expected from Patagonia. The jacket started to pill after just two washes and was impossible to get rid of. When I brought this to the attention of our local store, they said it was due to "aging" on the mate... Read Morerial, despite my experience starting almost immediately with the jacket. It could've been more prominent with the black color, but after speaking with multiple friends who also had this jacket, they were all having the same experiences! I was very disappointed in this jacket and my overall experience with Patagonia, especially with their Ironclad Guarantee.

Response from Patagonia
March 19, 2020

Hi Jackie, we're so sorry to hear about your experience. We're more than happy to help you exchange your Better Sweater Jacket as a warranty return. You can begin your return here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

January 28, 2020

Love this sweater!

Great fitted feel and look. Soft and warm. Great to wear on a chilly day or under a shell or puffy on a cold day.

January 20, 2020

Super warm

I bought this jacket while in Colorado on a ski trip. It kept me warm while hiking in Breck with just a t-shirt under! It’s cute and stylish and goes with everything! I’m 5’6 and 170 pounds and the large fit perfect. Usually I’m a medium but I guess these run small. I love the birch white even though it’s more grayish. Definitely recommend.

January 4, 2020

Pelican Jacket

The jacket was perfect. My wife loved it & gave me lots of kisses.

January 4, 2020

Tight arms, itchy seams

I think the Better Sweater runs true to size; I'm usually an L and found it to have a body-skimming shape but to have enough room for my bust and hips (36G, 44 inch hips). I did think the arms felt tight, especially if you have to move them around (rather than just standing still). I think this is due to the seam being too tight under the arms... Read More. Even though it fit everywhere else, the arms were just too snug everywhere, and I could only fit a short sleeve tee underneath. The serged seam at the top of the collar was also really itchy and tightly sewn. It really irritated my neck and felt rough to the touch. Not at all what I want on my neck when I'm feeling cold! My husband got me a Patagonia graphic tee in the same size and there is literally more room in the arms in the tee than in the Better Sweater. I did love the pocket lining which was very soft! The outer fabric felt rough (perhaps due to the color Hawthorne Blue being heathered/marled) and strangely compared to my husband's Better Sweater this almost felt like factory seconds because of the tight rough seams and rough fabric. It is warm, which is great, and I was pleased with the length and the overall shape, but sadly this was not a keeper for me.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Erinea, thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a detailed review! Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future season so it's much appreciated. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

January 2, 2020

Warm, stylish and comfortable

This is a great outer or base layer for me so I like it on the tighter side. I love that it is warm and well fitted for a base layer or just as a jacket with jeans. I has to size up one size and the arms and length get much longer the larger the sizes, but The medium works great.

January 1, 2020

Great sweater jacket

I love this sweater/jacket. It is not too bulky but keeps me very warm. I am a L and glad I ordered an XL, runs a bit small.

January 1, 2020

Great product!

Great product!

December 31, 2019

My wife loved her Better Sweater.

I bought the sweater for her for Christmas. She is a nurse and works nights in a hospital. They keep it relatively cool there. She has already been putting it to use, and she told me it was perfect.

December 31, 2019

MUM LOVED IT

my girlfriend recommended it, i got one for my mum and it was a great fit and super comfy! thanks.

December 31, 2019

I love Patagonia

The quality with Patagonia products is perfect. I now own a few tops and love all of them

December 30, 2019

Fits great, warm and comfortable

Fits great, warm and comfortable

December 30, 2019

Nice Fit

I bought these jackets as Christmas gifts for my 25 yr old twin daughters. They both loved it! Great fit, I read the reviews and knew it ran small, so I bought a size larger and it fit perfect.

December 30, 2019

Warm and stylish

Practical pockets. Good for traveling and keeping warm in the evening I’m cold temperatures

December 29, 2019

Great, as expected

Slim fit, athletic cut, great color. Wouldn't change a thing.

December 29, 2019

Great jacket

I got this jacket for Christmas and it’s so soft and comfy!

December 28, 2019

Why purchase anything else!

I don’t shop any other brand except Patagonia. I’m a local from Oxnard and been a loyal Pacific Ironworks from day one. Keep up the excellent work not only on customer iron clad philosophy but the quality of the materials.

December 28, 2019

This is the perfect sweater

This is the perfect sweater in terms of fit and available colors

December 28, 2019

Great Sweater

Fit was perfect! Color was great. Have purchased many items from Patagonia. There customer service is top notch.

December 27, 2019

Love it.

Love it.

December 27, 2019

Can't have too many

This is my third Better Sweater, a multi-use clothing item. I have brown, dark green, and light blue sweaters and have received many compliments. The sweaters can be dressed up with silk scarf or dressed down to wear hiking in cool weather under my puff jacket. As expected with a Patagonia product, they hold up well and keep their shape. I wear the... Read Morem year round, great for cool summer evenings in cooler climes.

December 27, 2019

Love Patagonia

This is my third purchase of this jacket. I love them

December 26, 2019

Warm and soft

Warm and soft

December 25, 2019

What better way to stay warm?

This is probably the 7th Better Sweater in the household, both new and Worn Wear. Its warmth to bulk ratio is outstanding and makes it the perfect piece on warmish days to walk dogs, do yard work and simple move from pub to pub. Thanks for all you do for us with your clothing, and for the environment with your incredible support for environmental c... Read Moreauses. Truly, you are heads and above the other outdoor equipment and clothing companies.

December 25, 2019

Awesome!

My wife loves this jacket the best

December 25, 2019

Warm and stylish but clings

A well made garment. Sleeves are a bit on the long side. I enjoy wearing it but dislike putting it on over a cotton long sleeve top because it is so clingy. This is a real problem with the garment. The sleeves get hung up and it takes forever to get them adjusted so I am comfortable. This is a draw back and should be addressed in my opinion.

December 24, 2019

Thanks

Thanks

December 23, 2019

Women’s Better Sweaters

Have purchased this product for years. Cozy warm for California temperatures. Always love new color selections. Made with recycled materials, except the zipper!

December 22, 2019

Best

I absolutely love my better sweater. They have a more fitted look , but I like mine to be a little looser. So, I size up. The sweater is warm and goes with everything. My only wish is that Patagonia comes out with brighter colors for the spring.

December 21, 2019

Beautiful comfortable sweater

I've had my eye on this sweater for a while, and finally decided to get it for myself (bought one for my mom last year and she loves it). It's so warm and comfortable, but still has a nice, chic look to it. So it's great when you want to be cozy, but need to be more dressy than a hoody would allow! ;) Also great for wearing layering ... Read Moreat the office, where it's always cold!

December 20, 2019

awesome product

awesome product

December 19, 2019

better sweater

Excellent

December 19, 2019

Customer Service

Everyone knows about how great Better Sweaters are. We ordered some as a Holiday gift for our employees. We had a major shipping issue and Patagonia's customer service team went above and beyond to help our company get this sorted out. Thanks to many of you but ini particular Emma who was a legit rockstar for us.

December 17, 2019

The package arrived in time

The package arrived in time for Christmas.

December 17, 2019

Reminder to size up when

Reminder to size up when buying the Better Sweater.

December 16, 2019

Great sweater

Very comfortable and warm not to heavy

December 16, 2019

So warm!

I bought this because I’m cold all the time and you finally have somehting in a pink color. It’s so warm and comfortable! Perfect except the sleeves are too long.

December 14, 2019

Love this!

This is my second Better Sweater, which is more like a jacket. It's warm, fitted and not too bulky. Highly recommend!

December 13, 2019

Love it!

This is such a versatile piece. Wear it as a mid layer or an outer layer, soft, warm & comfortable. I’m lost without it.

December 9, 2019

Very warm but snug.

Very warm but snug.

December 7, 2019

Jacket is to small

I even ordered a size up from what I normally wear since they say slim fit and it still does not fit.

Response from Patagonia
December 28, 2019

Hi Rosanna, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear that the jacket didn't fit quite right. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 7, 2019

Love it!

I’ve worn my Better Sweater everyday since I got it. Runs small though. I had to return the small and get a medium.

December 5, 2019

Love it!!

Pockets a really big and an xxl is nice and roomy on my 5’3” 190 lb body. So glad it came in a larger size

December 4, 2019

Disappointed in the fabric ,

Disappointed in the fabric , the zipper appearance and the fit

Response from Patagonia
December 27, 2019

Hi Jeanne, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 2, 2019

Worn wear

Came in as advertised and I love it. Can’t wait to buy more

December 2, 2019

Warm and cozy

Love my Patagonia sweater. Was waiting on this for a bit since I had to save up but it is worth it! I wear my sweater alot and its so cozy and warm and fits like a glove!

November 30, 2019

Fantastic Sweater Fleece and Service

This is a fitted fleece jacket. I am 5'9" and 125 lbs. I don't like things clingy, so I purchased medium. It is still fitted, and the sleeves are nice and long. It keeps me very warm. My 79 year old mom liked it, too, so I have purchased one for her.

November 29, 2019

Amazingly warm coat!

Amazingly warm coat!

November 27, 2019

Nice and warm but runs very small

The better sweater is a nice staple to have in your closet but beware it runs small! I’m 5’ 8”, 145 lbs and always a medium. This was so tight and the sleeves were short. My 13 year old who is 5’ 3 and 120 lbs even felt it was snug on her. I got the large and we both wear it!

November 27, 2019

Better sweater is the best!

Love my better sweaters and this company.

November 25, 2019

So. Cozy.

The most comfortable cozy sweater. It has a Little bit of stretch too, which is really nice. The dark green color is lovely in person.

November 25, 2019

Bought for casual wear. Love

Bought for casual wear. Love this jacket!

November 24, 2019

Perfect!

Just what I needed to keep me toasty in the office. Also would make a great gift!

November 21, 2019

Runs small. Surprisingly, I had

Runs small. Surprisingly, I had to exchange the small for a medium.

November 21, 2019

Better Sweater Jacket

I love my better sweater! It's warm enough that I don't need a coat with it unless it's freezing outside! Great color choices, too. Overall so happy I got it!

November 20, 2019

Rename to: the BEST Sweater

I purchased a quarter zip better sweater for my husband last Christmas. I found myself wanting to steal it so had my eye on a full zip for me for a while- difficulty was in figuring out which color! I really love this jacket- it's easily a sweater on chilly winter days (Michigan) or cool fall mornings (Oregon) and an all around soft, comfy, fi... Read Moretted item that I love to wear! In case you were wondering- I decided on navy. :)

November 20, 2019

EOL

The jacket is designed for outerwear. It is bulky. The collar does not close snugly around the neck, which would be helpful for outdoor wear.

November 20, 2019

Favorite new jacket

Fit is great, super warm. Perfect for layering!

November 19, 2019

Excellent Product, Excellent Customer Service

I love the sweater in all respects. Probably most impressive for me is the excellent finish, stitching, design. We have trouble with shipping, and Customer Service fixed everything.

November 16, 2019

Better sweater

Love this jacket. So versatile. I love wearing it like a sweater and a coat over it. I freeze in restaurants and this sweatercoat is perfect in staying warm. Love it

November 16, 2019

Jacket is just what I

Jacket is just what I wanted. However it is slim fitted, especially the arms.

November 15, 2019

Ws better sweater jacket

Love the inside pockets, use them a lot

November 14, 2019

Cozy and comfy

Great jacket for many activities! If you are planning on using it was a top layer with long sleeve under layer(s) going up a size would be wise.

November 13, 2019

Very comfortable shirt. Have worn

Very comfortable shirt. Have worn it almost every day

November 13, 2019

Jane N

Very Frustrated with this product. I love the color, the fit, and the style. But when you wear it with anything short sleeve you can feel the seams all the way down the arms which make it very itchy. I am afraid I will have to return it. But I am not happy that Patagonia does not offer free returns for as much as their items cost. So I guess I will... Read More have to start a return and pay for return fee out of my own pocket.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2019

Hello Jane, we're sorry to hear the sleeves are itchy. We do ask that our customers pay for the return shipping, except when it comes to exchanges. We'd be happy to honor free shipping on this return for you today, but please note that we are only able to do so for US orders. We've sent you an email with further instructions!

November 11, 2019

The perfect jacket for a

The perfect jacket for a mids temperature day!

November 11, 2019

Very warm, good fit, and

Very warm, good fit, and great color

November 11, 2019

Better Sweater

Love this jacket and practically live in it! Durable and comfortable. Great for hiking!

November 10, 2019

I absolutely love the sweater

I absolutely love the sweater jacket. I bought a larger size because I like to layer underneath it.

November 7, 2019

Great jacket

Interesting new colors!!

November 7, 2019

Perfect

My new favorite Patagonia. Lined pockets keep your hands toasty and fit/design/function is spot on. True to size: as this is a slim fit, size up if you want to layer, otherwise expect it to be snug. I am 5’7 and about 145 and wear a small in regular fit for Patagonia and prefer a medium in slim fit (I have one better sweater in a small as well but ... Read Moreit is snug with no room for layers.) Love this jacket!

November 6, 2019

The main zipper was not

The main zipper was not sewn flush with the fabric and so the front ends up being bulky and "wavy" in the front when unzipped. I had another Better Sweater that I loved for years. But had to return the two that I ordered this time.

November 5, 2019

Love it!

Love it!

November 5, 2019

Cozy jacket, tight sleeves

I sized up so I can layer but not sure I will be able to. The bottom half of the sleeves is very tight. Torso/chest fits as expected. Nice green color, warm and wind proof. Perfect for November in the north.

November 3, 2019

I love this sweater!

I’m 5’5”, 145lbs, a size 6 bottoms/ dresses and typically a small shirt. I bought a medium and it fits perfectly. Fitted, but still with room for layering. It’s so soft and cozy. I can wear it to work over my scrubs and still look professional. I wore it outside in 40ish degrees and still felt it was warm enough. Good for fall and early winter.

November 2, 2019

Love It

This is my 3rd Better Sweater item. I have 2 long sleeved and 1 vest and love them all.

November 1, 2019

Better Sweater

Perfect fit No color fade with washing Warm and great for layering

October 31, 2019

Always a quality product

I already owned a nano-puff vest and love it. Now I’ve added the equivalent jacket and love it, too. One just can not beat the quality of Patagonia.

October 30, 2019

Piling

Stylish sweater, will keep you warm in moderate weather. Accidentally put in dryer once and the sweater is now a piling disaster. Ever since that mishap, the piling has just gotten worse. Expected better quality from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
November 15, 2019

Hi Brandy, thank you for your feedback! We’re very sorry to hear about the pilling that has appeared on your sweater! I would recommend using a sweater shaver or sweater stone – these tools will remove the pilling and help your Better Sweater to look brand new again. Of course, you are also welcome to initiate a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) on that item if you’d like.

October 30, 2019

Amazing

Love this sweater. Incredibly versatile I wear it every single day. Usually a size M but I got a Large and it fits well not too snug.

October 28, 2019

Excellent delivery

very good attention

October 28, 2019

bought a second one because I wear it so much

perfect temp inside the hospital professional looking slim cut for work inner pockets hold a ton of stuff including an ipad mini I get compliments almost daily. seems a bit expensive before buying but definitely no buyers remorse— worth it once you try it and it becomes a necessary part of your uniform

October 28, 2019

Love the fit and zipped

Love the fit and zipped pockets

October 22, 2019

So cute & soft!

Perfect for all things cozy & casual! I haven’t exercised in it outside of evening hikes and strolls with the dogs and imagine it would be a little clammy for a run or ride, but I’m sure it won’t be the worst! Runs true to size for me (medium: 5,11 ~155 lbs)

October 19, 2019

Petite size

The jacket is well made and the color beautiful . My only issue is that the size small is too fitted in the shoulders. Perfect at the waist and arms.

October 16, 2019

So warm and flattering!

Loved this jacket. It’s just right for Socal nights, and it’s so flattering.

October 15, 2019

Comfortable/warm and not bulky!

I wear in my office which is cold year around, stay warm without the bulk, wash up great, have 3 colors will get more!

October 15, 2019

Only complaint - the sleeves

Only complaint - the sleeves are very slim, otherwise I love it!

October 13, 2019

Not just better...best

The better sweater is a perfect combination of styling and function. Great for these cooler Autumn days and nice enough to wear out to casual events, especially if your like me and don’t do the “dress up thing”. The light balsamic is a beautiful rich color. I like the slim fit.

October 12, 2019

Fits perfect lovely color. Very

Fits perfect lovely color. Very warm

October 11, 2019

Love

Love this sweater I always run cold and this sweater keeps me warm with out a long sleeve. Just a shirt a a tank top and my sweater and I’m perfectly warm. I don’t live in a cold area but I am always cold finally a simple sweater I can wear and it keeps me cold. I order a second one a few days after

October 9, 2019

Odd fit

This jacket is quite slim. I ordered an xxl and it was tight on my size 14 frame. It really needs a double zipper!

Response from Patagonia
October 23, 2019

Hi Patricia! Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit, please note that this particular item is a slim fit. With that being said, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to return it to us. We'll reach out to your directly with some further assistance!

September 26, 2019

Love It!

This is my second Better Sweater (I have a pinkish one) - and really love this heather grey color. This is the perfect layer for fall as the mornings and evenings get cooler. The cut is a little fitted, but still allows a bit of room for a base layer or t shirt.

September 26, 2019

Cute and Comfy!

I bought this jacket because I wanted to have a nice light jacket that I could wear whenever. It exceeded my expectations, not only is it it cute, but it is also super comfortable! I would definitely recommend this jacket to a friend!

September 26, 2019

I love this! I've had 2

I love this jacket. It's my go to- anytime jacket. It fits so well and I've recommended it to my family and my husband!

September 21, 2019

Perfect

This jacket is perfect for the in between seasons and as a layer in the chillier times. Under a vest or a jacket. Bravo!

September 13, 2019

Beautiful Jacket Sweater

Loved the color and feel of the sweater jacket, just wished it didn't run small and very form fitting.

September 11, 2019

my second one.! fit, finishing,

my second one.! fit, finishing, tailoring, practical zippers

August 29, 2019

Cozy + practical for daily wear

this is my added layer when feeling chilly around town, at home or office, traveling. it adds a professional touch during work presentations. i originally ordered size XS first but the arms + torso were too short and the shoulders too tight. i returned and bought a S and it fits great, albeit a little baggier but still just as comfy. i'm 5&#... Read Morex27;8" and 115 lbs.

August 24, 2019

Better Sweater

I own several of these sweaters - they are my “go to” for all occasions. Great style, plenty of pockets for use when traveling and looks fashionable.

August 23, 2019

Perfect fit as always

The sizing on all of the items whether it was for comfort or for play are well designed and well fabricated

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches