Back to Product

Ws Capilene® Midweight Zip-Neck

Write Your Review

4.22 /5

Filter Reviews

All 32 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Capilene® Midweight Zip-Neck

4.22
December 5, 2019

The best extra layer that you’ll need

Perfect in every way! My mid-weight zip-neck made an amazing difference while traveling. It gave me the extra layer of warmth that I needed over my base-layers without any bulk. It looked great and worked well. What more can you ask for.

November 27, 2019

Great shirt

Fits well, looks nice. Love that it is made from recycled materials.

November 26, 2019

looks good, feels nice

Love the thumb strap to keep my wrists warm.

November 26, 2019

Nice Baselayer

I really like this base layer, it's very comfortable and soft. Haven't experienced any itching from the seams like I've read on other reviews. I washed on delicates in cold water and hang dry all my base layers, and this showed no signs of shrinkage. I'm 5'2" and about 143lbs but slim build on top. I'm between the... Read More medium and small sizes, but the small fit better all around and had less air space between the shirt and my skin without being too tight. Really happy with this purchase, especially half off!

November 25, 2019

Capilene Midweight ZIP-Neck

As always, so typical of Patagonia, a great fit, comfortable in motion, and warm as toast. Oh, did I mention, looks great even though it’s a mid-layer. Thanks Patagonia for being Patagonia ❤️

November 25, 2019

Love my new zip neck.

Love my new zip neck. High quality & good fit. Just like I would expect from Patagonia. .

November 22, 2019

Disappointed

I have Had a capilene half zip top for many years and it still in excellent condition despite use around barn, horses, biking, gardening etc. This new one got a thread pull on the first wear. Looks like it’s a different fabric more prone to this problem and will not be as long lasting for casual wear. I wear this as a casual wear “only” layer in ... Read Moreaddition to layering on top of it.

Response from Patagonia
December 12, 2019

We are sorry to hear that this hasn't held up as well as your older ones. We guarantee everything we make and want to ensure everything you purchase is performing well for you. With that being said, we'd recommend you send this back to us for a warranty [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 22, 2019

A bit loose but overall very happy

How can one go wrong with a Capilene zip-neck!? The shirt is exactly what it advertises for: mid weight, perfect for outdoors activities worn under a fleece, or layering for extra warmth. Love the small thumb loops to comfortably hold the sleeves in place. I bought a grey and a black one last week and had literally worn both every day. I typically ... Read Morebuy XS for all Patagonia products from jackets to shorts, but this XS capilene is just a tad loose for me - although not so loose that I have to return. Not sure if it’s designed purposely looser for activities? Highly recommended, especially if you can catch it on sale at 50% off! Buy one of each color. They last forever!!

November 21, 2019

1/2 zip

This is a great light weight 1/2 Zip to run in. I live in Louisiana and the weather is always changing. I was very comfortable running in this when the temps were in the 40's and that's cold for here. Will be perfect with a vest when it dips down more.

November 20, 2019

Would be great if you

Would be great if you could offer petite sizes for women as some of the shirts run a little long.

November 19, 2019

A do anything top that will exceed your expectations.

I purchased the black version of this mid-layer in early October, and I now own multiple. These tops have become my most worn piece in my wardrobe as they're lightweight, highly breathable, and haven't begun to smell like other synthetic fabrics I've worn. The shirts are great for the office as well as in the field. Although I haven&... Read More#x27;t put their performance to the full test of the summer field season, I can tell that they're going to be a great shirt to wear in the early mornings or keep in the pack when temps drop in the late summer evening. Additionally, they're thin enough that they fit well under an insulating layer. My one qualm is that my gray top has started to pill where the zipper from my down jacket rubs against the front. 13/10, I highly recommend them!

November 18, 2019

Cozy

Keeps me warm without the bulk, perfect for fall to winter training. GKM Equestrian.

November 15, 2019

disappointed

First, I love Patagonia. Living at 9000ft for more than 20 years, it's no wonder that the majority of my wardrobe is Patagonia gear. That's why I was disappointed when I got this item. The top is too large and it's XXS. The fabric is rough and uncomfortable. I'm not one to complain, but I wish the sizing didn't change to ... Read Moregi-normous and wish the fabric was soft(er) like the older capilene baselayers from years ago.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2019

Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the zip-neck. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 10, 2019

Excellent products

I bought two capilene zip-necks and am delighted with both. Great sizing, comfort and looks.

November 7, 2019

Too itchy!

I wanted to love this but just couldn’t. The inside of the fleece was so itchy it was not worth keeping. I also wish it had pockets. The retro design was v cool and it fit great. But I knew I wouldn’t wear it often and I sent mine back.

November 3, 2019

Works Well

So far it's working well and doing just what I want it to. I am one of those with super sensitive skin and simply can't wear any of the wool products I've tried. So I love the Capilene line. I definitely like the newer midweight version compared to those I have that are a couple of years older. I'm 5'8", 132 lbs and th... Read Moree medium is a good fit.

November 3, 2019

Warm, not sweaty

Purchased this top to replace a similar (almost decade-old!) Patagonia 1/4 zip. Love the thumb loops, and the zipper is high-quality. Kept me warm (without getting sweaty) on a long hike in cold temps, so... it works! One gripe is that I wish it was a little more fitted. I have a hard time knowing what size to buy in Patagonia. I usually size up ... Read Moreif anything (love this brand, but they do not design for athletes with hips) and I could have absolutely purchased an XS. I wasn’t expecting a skin-tight fit, but the small was baggier than I anticipated for sure.

October 27, 2019

I prefer a loose fit

I prefer a loose fit so I ordered one size up and can easily layer.

October 6, 2019

Nice casual shirt for the

Nice casual shirt for the fall

September 24, 2019

Nice quality

Excellent mid-weight base layer.

September 8, 2019

Most versatile thing in my wardrobe!

Comfy and the perfect weight to wear all weekend on the trail, but stately enough to wear to my office job. Can’t recommend enough, I have this in four different colors because it’s what I wear everyday from October to April!

September 7, 2019

Love!! Repeat buy

I had previously bought one and wore it on hiking, biking, skiing, etc and in all seasons. I needed a second one to rotate through on laundry days. The shoulders feel a little tight so I buy up a size for a little more room

September 6, 2019

Perfecto

Fits perfectly. Looks perfect. Perfect layer for adventures. Super lightweight, and breathable.

September 5, 2019

Beautiful and Functional

the fabric is soft to the touch but functional. Purchased for hiking in cooler climes and cooler days, the Capilene wicks moisture as advertised without a sense of clamminess. The zip neck gives you control on breathability. It is a well-designed and functional. I am very pleased

September 3, 2019

Good but not perfect

I am a curvy girl, I usually wear a medium. This fits OK...it's a little tight but I think a large would be too big. It's really versatile, I've taken it hiking as an extra light layer multiple times this summer. The biggest problems I've noticed is it already stinks. :( However, I'm keeping it as that is the eventual fate ... Read Moreof almost all gear you use a lot.

Response from Patagonia
September 6, 2019

We're sorry this is already starting to smell. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty if you purchased it recently.

May 14, 2019

Perfect layer

I like the way this shirt fits and moves with me. It's great to wear alone or as a layer, depending on the weather. Nice color, too!

May 8, 2019

Capilene® Midweight Zip-Neck,

Love ❤️ it! Perfect fit, well made and durable!

August 31, 2018

A Patagonia Essential!

Love this shirt. I own it in 3 colors and use it for hiking, backpacking, nordic and alpine skiing! Very flattering and comfortable.

March 26, 2018

Inferior to previous versions

Have worn these for eons,and despite a couple improvements in this new iteration (better collar,light and soft grid interior fleece),the negatives far outweigh them. The seams on the inner arms are REALLY scratchy,and I can see this rubbing me ray cross country skiing. Also,the upper body got way baggier,including the arms,which is a no-go for laye... Read Morering; who do they use to determine fit?! Sending this back,and hoping the next version fixes these issues

March 5, 2018

Too Big!

I am a Capliene fan. I own every color and have rolled with the punches of changed fabric,design and sizing for a decade. But this is nuts! An XXS(!) fits like a medium. My weight and height have not changed (5'.1" tall; 105 lbs.) Please,Patagonia,recognize we small people like our clothes form-fitting,too.

February 27, 2018

Meh

Bought during the sale. Fabric is a bit rough compared to merino comfort I have gotten used to. Used the fit finder,which Patagonia has needed for a long time,seeing the women's tops sizing has always been all over the map. Medium was recommended and it is tunic-like on me. I own everything from an XS to L in Patagonia tops/sweaters. My weight... Read More has been consistent for 25 years. Something is wrong in the sizing department. Bottomline,the Zip-Neck goes back. Probably won't even order a small; if the fit is too small,no interest in another trip to PO.

February 21, 2018

Itchy! Thickness similar to previous thin capilene

I have acquired a huge collection of Patagonia capilene (and numerous other products) over many years and have loved them all...until this one. The roughness of the seams make me itch! I tried washing it to no avail. Will have to always wear a layer under this,and will be returning the other 2 that I bought but have not yet worn. The thickness is m... Read Moreuch thinner that the older mid-weight,but it is the uncomfortable / annoying itchiness that is the big issue. (I"m 5'6" 120 lbs 34 C and the small is the right fit ie runs large)

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches