Back to Product

Ws Capilene® Thermal Weight Zip-Neck

Write Your Review

4.39 /5

Filter Reviews

All 33 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Capilene® Thermal Weight Zip-Neck

4.39
null
February 16, 2020

Long body

I quite like this base layer. It's very compressible yet warm. It has a very long torso, at least a few inches longer than previous years. The zipper is quite long which is great for temperature regulating. That said, I have noticed it bulges a bit when I bend over, I am quite small in the chest though so anyone with regular or larger breasts ... Read Moremight not have this issue. I ordered a size small and it is a little loose around my low back. I am 5'2" and 126 pounds with a muscular build and slim waist. I am a Pilates instructor and wore this to work today in the cool studio, and it was perfect paired with my Nano puff vest. I wish this came as a hoodie like the Mens version!!! I would definitely buy one or 3 ;)

January 3, 2020

Another great addition to collection!

Another great addition to collection!

December 28, 2019

Wearing it now

I am especially grateful to Patagonia for giving me color options in the base layer. Now I wear this as a shirt and layer it with a Patagonia vest, under an R2 Techface or by itself around the house. Cut long enough to tuck into jean with sleeves long enough (love the thumb strap when I need to pull gloves or other layers over it). Thanks for bring... Read Moreing back Pink!!

December 19, 2019

Buy This Base Layer

Super warm and lightweight; I wear it under my jacket or under a sweater and it's incredibly warm. Perfect winter layer.

December 16, 2019

Fits good and very comfortable.

Fits good and very comfortable.

November 24, 2019

Love the material

Just got this and wore it on a winter hike. Loved the soft feel of this new Caroline and it kept my core warm ascending and descending.

November 9, 2019

Not what I expected

I ordered this item with the bottoms and found both to be very sheer, meant to be worn like long underwear, which I didn't need so I sent them both back. Nothing wrong with the shirt, but it was too light weight for me, needing to be worn with a heavy outer layer.

November 3, 2019

Functional, Comfortable, love it

Functional, Comfortable, love it

October 28, 2019

Great Product!

Love this product. Great fit, looks good.

September 25, 2019

Comfy, warm, and stylish

Super awesome quarter-zip! It feels light and packs up small but keeps you nice and warm. It's very cozy and feels great against my skin even if I don't have a layer underneath. It doesn't immediately smell either; I wore it for about a week straight while hiking in fall temperatures and no obvious odor. Plus it looks really nice and... Read More can easily be worn to dinner. It fits like a baselayer so size up if you want some extra space. I got a medium (5' 4", 145 lbs) and I can easily layer it over another thick shirt.

September 24, 2019

Ws Capilene® Thermal Weight Zip-Neck- LOVE it.

I have had the same merino wool under-layer for 20 years. It served me well- but was a bit too small at this stage in my mid 40s :) I love this one! It fits perfectly and is so comfortable, warm, but not too hot. For reference, I am 5'6" / 135 lbs. It hits below my hip; the sleeve length is a tad long, but I like that.

May 8, 2019

Weird cut - did sizing change?

The cut is really weird, too wide in the chest area and narrow around the hips. Were they going for a raglan cut, or what? I have always been between a size S, or M if I wanted a looser fit. (I am 5.6 at 120 pounds). This top runs large and even size Small is wide around the chest. Returned.

Response from Patagonia
June 4, 2019

Hi Petra, we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the cut. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you have any questions regarding your return.

December 5, 2018

Favorite Baselayer

I wear this and a vest and I am perfect moving around in the mid 30's winter weather. Material is soft and nice quality. The size small is a flattering fit without being too tight. It hits me about mid hip. I am 5'8", 120lb. I can hardly ever find shirts that have long enough sleeves for me and these are long enough and have great th... Read Moreumb straps to keep them in place. Washed and dried well. Will be ordering other colors.

November 7, 2018

Love it!

What a fantastic shirt this is! I have a lot of medical issues that leave me extremely sensitive to cold. I am also unable to regulate temperature well, so I wanted to find a base layer that will keep me warm but won’t make me roast. This definitely fits the bill. And it fits! I’m short and curvy (5’2”/190lbs), and the XL is perfect and very flatte... Read Morering. It is quite thin, but it’s warm and fairly soft on the inside. I am looking forward to getting this in more colors.

October 24, 2018

Just what I was looking for

I've been wearing a crew-neck UA baselayer for a couple years when I ski that I really like, but find it's a bit thick and very fitted. I wanted to try a 1/4 zip for extra warmth and am so glad I gave this one a shot. It is lighter than I thought it would be, but still very warm (and so soft!). I also like that the fit is slightly relaxed... Read More (not baggy) which looks better when you are wearing it solo. I have a longer torso and it fits perfectly and does not ride up.

January 15, 2018

So comfortable

This is a great base layer. The stretchy,waffled material feels so nice on the skin,and it's much,much warmer than it seems it would be,considering its bulk... or lack thereof. I usually wear this right under my snap-t fleece jacket on chilly days,or with a wool thermal on top for extra cold days. I wash cold and hang dry,to keep the seams fro... Read Morem bunching around the zipper (I do this with all my thermals). Really nice looking shirt too,you could wear this around town if that's your thing. I've worn it on almost all my recent forays to the river and am very happy with its wicking,insulation,and softness.

January 15, 2018

Good fit

Although this was thinner than I expected for thermal weight,so far it has performed well for warmth. I like the fit,it is form fitting but not tight. The thumb straps are helpful for when I'm pulling a top on over top.

November 7, 2017

So cozy

I am always cold indoors and I love this top. It also performs well on hikes. I am petite (5'4") and it hits me at mid-hip,which is perfect. I weight 141 pounds,37-inch bust,32ish inch waist,and 38 or 39-inch hips,and a medium is perfect. The loft adds a great deal of cozy warmth without the need for bulk or itchy wool (I have very sensit... Read Moreive skin,and this does not trouble it at all).

May 27, 2017

Great Top

Great for early to mid Spring,at least in Alaska. Very comfortable.

May 27, 2017

Warm but Thin

I bought this as a warm under layer; it works as advertised; it is very warm and still quite thin; was able to transition and use as the only layer under jacket for spring; also is attractive for apres ski

April 15, 2017

Okay for the price.

Not very happy with the half zipper. The material sags around the zipper making the collar poor fitting. The burgundy color is also very disappointing. Will not purchase a similar item again.

March 18, 2017

almost too warm

i work outside with horses,and this base layer keeps me very warm--best i've had. for indoors,it's too warm. wish i owned five more of this.

March 18, 2017

Too thin and long

I really wanted to like this,but it was too thin and waaaay too long. I am 5'6'' and 130lbs,32DD and curvy hips and tried a medium. This was blousey below my bust and tight around my bum. Fit well in the bust and shoulders. It was almost long enough to cover my bum,like a tunic. Since it's meant as a base layer,the longer length... Read More would mean that it would either bunch up or hang down below other layers. I didn't field test it,but I could see it being reasonably warm for the weight (though it does not pack down small). Ultimately,between the awkward fit and it being not that warm,it's going back.

March 5, 2017

Thin but solid under-layer

For the price,the layer could definitely be a bit thicker (it's a bit see-through),as I can't believe it costs the same as the W's Better Sweater. However the sizing is right-on for me,and the fit is very flattering. I will definitely get a lot of good use out of this product!

February 25, 2017

Women's Capilene Thermal Weight

soft and attractive color; comfortable; warm; very light in weight but i have not yet been able to determine if it is as warm as a capilene thermal weight,which is quite heavy,and which I bought several years ago.

February 25, 2017

My favorite top!

I absolutely love this top for cold weather. The waffle fleece inside traps the heat without the bulk of a heavier fleece. This top is very lightweight for how warm it is. If you wanted to add a thin layer underneath I'd suggest sizing up. It's an athletic fit but will accomodate a thin layer underneath if you don't mind a snug fit. ... Read MoreI have 5 or 6 of them now! Zip,hoody,and crews..and I love them all.

February 24, 2017

Love this top

I am buying my third one of these. They are light weight but amazingly warm for the weight - and conversely cool when you need it to be. Very good looking also,I wear it for going out as well. I did receive one of these however and the zipper was defective and sizing seemed large - but I know Patagonia will make good on it - they always do

February 4, 2017

Great zipneck

Very comfortable and looks great! The sleeves are nice and long.

January 28, 2017

Soft warm and cozy

I bought one for an upcoming trip to the mountains and then immediately bought a second one. It's flattering and so well made. Thank you !

January 11, 2017

JHole was -14 at Base

These puppies did their job. Kept me comfy,dry and freedom of movement

November 22, 2016

Scratchy. Bring back the R.5 PLEASE!!!!!!

Bought the pretty teal color looking to add to my collection of R.5s from a number of years ago... This is not the same. It is scratchy next to my skin. Not insanely so,but enough that I'd prefer the old R.5s and to keep looking... Seems a bit big for size,too. Also used to like the old expedition weight tops and bottoms. They were more comfor... Read Moretable... Sigh. Great color though. Wanted to love it. How about this teal color in the Merino zip neck. Might try that next,but one reviewer said it was scratchy,too...

October 1, 2016

I Miss "Expedition Weight"

Hi. I have loved the expedition weight thermal tops for years. I treat myself to a new one every fall and his year was no exception; but expedition weight is no longer and its called "thermal weight" now. And it doesn't compare. The fit is baggy,the fabric is thin and wimpy,and overall it will be my last. I usually wear a silk underl... Read Moreayer and this as a midlayer most days in the winter as I work outside and love the breathable,fitted,thermal properties of the old ones. This new one,while I love the beautiful deep red color,is a "nothing" layer and isn't beefy enough to do what the old ones did. *sigh* I should have just gotten the R1 top; I think its closer to the weight of the old expedition weight thermal tops. Be warned; pretty colors but wimpy weight!

January 21, 2016

Toasty warm

I could not believe something so lightweight could be so warm! I bought these for an upcoming winter trip up the coast of Norway. I will be out on deck in the wind, and doing just a bit of dog sledding. Living in Michigan, I know what it's like to be out in the cold and wind. I tried these on as soon as they were delivered, both top and bottom... Read More, put a pair of leggings and a velour hoody over them and went out and about on errands. (Normally I'd be wearing a sweater and down parka). I actually stayed comfortable in this in 25 degree weather! When I got home, I stipped down to the base layer, and just lounged around. So comfy, I kept them on all night. I had tried other heavyweight base layers, but I found them too bulky under my clothes. I can't speak highly enough of these. They are amazing!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches