Back to Product

Ws Wind Shield Pants

Write Your Review

4.34 /5

Filter Reviews

All 50 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Wind Shield Pants

4.34
Runs Large
January 1, 2021

Super Comfy

I love everything about these pants. Super comfortable, flattering fit, great pockets, lightweight, and ankle snaps. I wasnt aware of the back seam running so I grabbed my pants for a look and sure enough, my pants have the same issue. I never thought to look at the back seam until I read the reviews. Embarrassing.

December 13, 2020

Great layering item, but have trouble with the butt seam/material running

I purchased these pants from our local outdoor store in January, and wore them every week/weekend through May. The waistband is incredible (would love a higher waisted option in the future), SmartWool leggings underneath, and with other layering on top and insulated socks, they kept me cozy and dry down in the 20s hiking and snowshoeing, and with w... Read Moreind beating off the fresh coast. The material is really comfy and seems resilient! My only complaint (and I hope this doesn't get worse) when I pulled them off the shelf as temps dipped this fall, the fabric by the butt seam is running (like pantyhose?). I am wearing them anyway, but a bummer given the quality elsewhere in the zippers and closures! For reference, I've never washed them (so that didn't cause damage).

November 1, 2020

I really wanted these pants to fit!

I loved everything about these pants, except the length. I'm 5'7" tall and this is the third pair of pants that are too short. And not just at the ankle--the cut at the knees also feels too short.

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2020

Hi Theresa, we're truly sorry to hear these pants ended up being too short! We are continuously working on expanding our sizes and have passed your message along to our Design crew. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these pants if you were looking to do so but haven't already.

November 1, 2020

Great pants, but...

The pants were perfect: the fit, the fabric, the feel and I wore them on hikes and a couple times climbing but after a couple of months the seam in the back started to come apart - and the fabric started running. I took them into Patagonia and while the seam could be repaired- the fabric runs could not. Sadly I returned my favorite pants... hopeful... Read Morely Patagonia can re think the design and I will purchase the new version. The pants were not tight on me!

October 18, 2020

Great fit but sadly had to return

I love how these pants fit, but unfortunately had the same issue as other people. The first time I wore them - on the 5th day of a backpacking trip I noticed that the rear seam was barely held together. I didn't have any other pants to wear so luckily they held together for 2 more days but could have been a bad situation. Like I said, I was sa... Read Mored to return them because I really liked these pants. I hope Patagonia will fix this issue.

June 19, 2020

Love these pants

I love these pants so much I had to purchase a second pair! The zipper and snap at the bottom work great to undo and slip over my hiking boots or leave closed and wear with my outdoor sandals. The pull on waist band is super comfortable. These are my new goto work/play pants!

June 17, 2020

Comfy

Good for the daily walk on the trail, ok in misty weather Love the yoga waistband Actually these are my go to pants here in Southeast AK Also were nice for xc skiing

May 22, 2020

Loved them at first

The pants were perfect: the fit, the fabric, the feel and I wore them mainly to walk my dog but after a couple of months the seam in the back started to come apart. Patagonia - how do I fix it? The pants are not tight on me!

Response from Patagonia
June 4, 2020

Thanks for the review on this and we are sorry to hear about the seams in the back of the pant. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us and we are happy to get you either a return or repair.

May 18, 2020

Best pants I ever had

My favorite pants. Stretchy, comfortable, and super easy to wear.

May 10, 2020

Disappointed

My mother purchased a pair of the Wind Shield Pants and I was so impressed I immediately wanted my own pair. I loved the fit and performance for the first winter. By the fall, when I had an opportunity to wear the Wind Shield pants, I noticed the fabric had run in the rear seam (as mentioned in previous reviews). I returned them for credit, still l... Read Moreooking for a pant that can meet the same criteria.

February 14, 2020

Pretty Bummed!

I ordered these in a S my regular size (27 in waist, 5' 7") and they were uncomfortably tight through the hips and seat. I sent them back immediately, tried to oder the M today, and the are completely SOLD OUT! Huge disappointment.

January 11, 2020

Great pants

Very comfortable, warm, perfect for hiking in colder weather!

January 7, 2020

Georgina

I originally purchased these pants in a medium (my usual fit - size 8), but they were too small. Returned them for a large and they fit perfectly. I can see how the fabric will both keep you warm in cold weather and dry in the rain. I was wondering what the washing instructions are as I didn't see a label or tag showing them.

December 30, 2019

Best for Running in the Cold

Fit is comfortably snug but not at all constricting. Nice solid material for wind protection, with stretch sections where that's needed. Well-made, comfortable and soft. I put them on for a run, and I left them on for the dog walk, etc.

December 27, 2019

Fit is different, but still great pants!

Great pants, but these Mediums are larger than the ones I purchased last year...

December 27, 2019

So amazing!

Got the small, and they are baggy enough to layer under without being sloppy. These are amazing - so perfect for cold trail runs, long skate skiing adventures, or even just a below zero dog walk. Exactly what I was looking for.

December 16, 2019

Travel Pants

Great

December 16, 2019

Pretty good

I’ve only used them once. My legs did not get cold with the wind at 35 F.

December 8, 2019

Amazing Quality

Amazing Quality

December 6, 2019

Great pants!

The pants fit perfectly. They are water resistant and windproof and kept me warm even in a downpour. I love the zip pockets. Would love more pairs, but would like other colors.

November 30, 2019

Very comfortable

to early to tell if they will hold up to winds of Torres Del Paine, Patagonia. Will keep you posted!

November 23, 2019

PERFECT

These pants are keeping me warm this fall and winter while I still get after it even if its cold outside. They are breathable but still warm!

November 22, 2019

Great for cold Minnesota winter running!

I was a little skeptical these would do the job, but I ran yesterday in windchills of 11 degrees for 3 miles, and I stayed a really comfortable temperature. The zippers at the ankles bang a little if you're only wearing socks that stop at your ankles, but that's an easy sock fix! Highly recommend!

November 19, 2019

Wind Shield Pants

Arrived today and slipped them on to take the dog for a skate ski session. Finally, I found the right pant ..... one that is light weight, warm enough and cuts the wind. Thank you!

November 18, 2019

Best cold weather hiking pants

I love these pants. They are warm enough for cold days down to 25 degrees, for me (I don't get cold easily). Lovely fit, good fabric, and long enough for my long legs.

November 10, 2019

Almost perfect until the known seam problem happens

These pants are a great exterior shell over tights for running in the fall and winter. They're also nicely water-repellent. As a bonus, my husband even commented the fit looks great (he rarely offers opinions) and I'm 5'9" and about 150 lbs. However, after about a year of wear, the crotch seam started to pull apart as others hav... Read Moree described. No problem, I thought, and I took them to the Patagonia store here in Calgary for warranty repair. Unfortunately, apparently the fix is beyond the ability of the shop they send garments to. I now have a credit at the store but they don't carry these pants in stock. Sigh. I love Patagonia and have for years, but this is a serious bummer.

Response from Patagonia
November 29, 2019

Hi Christine, we're sorry to hear about the trouble you've had with these pants! Please note that you can always ship them to our Repairs Center in the US for a [warranty repair](https://www.patagonia.ca/canada-returns.html). Alternatively, you can return them to either one of our [two Patagonia-owned stores in Canada](https://www.patagonia.com/store-locator/?dwfrm_locally_country=CA) for credit. We currently do have these pants [in stock](https://www.patagonia.ca/product/womens-wind-shield-soft-shell-pants/24107.html) in the color black only so feel free to check them out.

November 9, 2019

W's Wind Shield Pants

I love these pants. I cross country ski almost every day all winter and live in northern Minnesota. I wear them most days. I bought a second pair. They are warm, they breathe and they block the wind. Fantastic.

November 7, 2019

Quality, comfort, great fit

I’m using these for fall and winter outdoor running. The fit and style are very good and I find I am wearing these for casual use as well. Two zip pockets add convenience. I bought another pair. Size M was right for me at 5-5 and 135 poonds

October 30, 2019

Wind Shield Pant

Pants great; however, the gusset at the zipper opening at the pant hem is not large enough to allow my running shoes to slip through. So inconveniently I have to take them off before putting on or off wind pants.

October 30, 2019

Order

Use the wind shield pants for my morning running hours. The wind shield front is working well but I would like to see the bottom area in the back to be more protected for the colder days.

October 29, 2019

Great pants, my second pair!

Great pants, my second pair!

October 29, 2019

Fab pants

Love the fit: skinny but not tight, love the wind and rain shed. Great zippers for boots and details in construction. Perhaps add a smart phone pocket? These are pretty much my everyday pants. I bought M at 5'6", 140 lbs.

October 27, 2019

really stops wind, warm but breaths, kinda short

I need Tall sizes so this falls at ankle length, not ideal, but is otherwise very comfortable and does definitely help with warmth in the wind while allowing totally free movement and being lightweight and comfy. The XL fits me well, I could have probably worn a L, while XL snowpants from Patagonia are way to small. I'd say these are true to s... Read Moreize. I'll be using them multiple times a week for biking.

October 25, 2019

Kathy M.

I bought these pants for a trip to Europe. They were nice and warm for the cool, windy and damp days in Amsterdam. I tend to be a cold person so I put an extra layer on underneath and these pants were perfect! They also worked well for the cooler days in other countries we visited without the extra layer. While we were out on our walking tours they... Read More were very comfortable to wear and if they came in another color I would certainly consider purchasing them. I felt like they ran a little on the small side and so because of that I sized up so I would have the extra room for layering.

October 25, 2019

like em

I am replacing another active wear pants with these. So far, I really like them, very comfortable.

October 6, 2019

Perfect hiking pant

I ordered these for fall/winter hiking and they’re perfect! I hiked in 42 degree weather in Aspen and not once felt my legs or body start to chill. Very insulated and comfortable. I have long legs so the only wish I have is that they came in longs.

October 4, 2019

Great quality and fit!

I haven't owned these for long, but so far I have no complaints. They fit like a dream and are very comfy. They are versatile enough to wear just about anytime. I've probably only spent this much on pants once before in my life, but hoping they're worth it. I mainly hope to use them walking in the wind & rain in the mornings. Hav... Read Moreen't had the opportunity to try them out for that yet.

August 22, 2019

Great for cool days

Haven't got to use these pants for hiking, but should be a perfect light-weight pant in Fall and help keep the mosquitos off!

August 12, 2019

Wonderful but...

I love these pants and like other reviewers would wear them all day everyday (especially if they came in navy blue.) BUT I too have found the back seem is ripping out. It hasn't gone yet but looks precarious. I can mend them but this should not happen. I have worn plenty of Patagonia pants and never experienced anything like this. Plus, my bac... Read Morekside is honestly not large, if anything on the small side, I often wear mens pants as the hips tend to be narrower and back not so baggy.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2019

That's no good! We are so sorry about that. We stand behind all of our products and would love to fix this for you. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this item back to us as a warranty return.

February 20, 2019

Material along back seam stretches/tears

I was so excited to discover these pants. I wore them everywhere and felt they were perfect - warm, comfortable, wind-blocking. However, after about a month, I noticed the back seam was tearing. I exchanged them for a different pair, but the same thing happened. I would be willing to repair them if this had happened after months or years of wear, b... Read Moreut at this price and so soon. Please can you redesign the back of these pants so the elastic material doesn't tear?! I would happily purchase a new design.

February 15, 2019

My favorite pants

I have 3 pairs of these. I pretty much live in them in between work and sleep. They are just tight enough that they don’t feel baggy, but are looser than tights. They are stretchy and comfortable. I’ve used them for hiking, yoga, biking, and hanging out. I backpacked in a pair and they were lovely while hiking and sleeping.

February 4, 2019

Best running pants for cold/wet weather

I bought these pants as I was tired of running in tights that would get wet when running. They fit amazing and are the perfect mix of comfort and style. I am 5'7'' 130 pounds...I bought a small, perfect fit! I wore them in cold, snowy weather and stayed really warm and dry. I stayed in them the rest of the day as they are great run-a... Read Moreround pants as well. I could easily see me wearing these snow showing and for other winter activities. Great purchase...I haven't had them long enough to see problems with seams. Yet, If I do I know I can always return with their great return policy. Great staple to my running wardrobe!

January 11, 2019

Favorite winter running pants EVER!

I got these as a gift for snowshoe running and general cool-weather adventures. I am 5’6” 115 lbs. and got the XS. They fit perfectly. I’ve had them for over a year now, and they are my absolute favorite pants! They look flattering, the front wind-proof panels are so helpful when trail running in the mountains, the stretchy area behind the knees ma... Read Morekes these super comfortable for running, the pockets zip, the waist band is soft and comfortable, and they have never gotten too hot during high aerobic activities. I love love LOVE them. After a year of heavy use and washing, I have noticed that they are high waters at the start of the day but stretch out in length again over time. All of the seams are still holding strong. In conclusion, I’d highly recommend these pants for cold weather activities. When it gets below 20°F, I always pair with baselayers underneath; otherwise, with high aerobic activities in winter and cool-weather temperatures, these pants have been sufficient alone.

December 11, 2018

Bad seems

Instantly fell in love with pants. Loved the fit, very comfy. Live up to what they say they do for wind and rain. I've worn them hiking, running and walking the dog on cold/wet/windy days and have never needed a mid layer - not even on 28 degree rainy day. However, after a several uses in 2 months the backside seems are coming apart. I'm ... Read Morehonestly heartbroken.

November 21, 2018

I'm going to live in these pants

So, I saw these in my local Patagonia shop. It took me some time to step up to owning them, but convinced of the quality, I did it. Well, winter has come real early to where I live and I put them on three days ago. Have not slept in them (yet) but these pants are perfect! I've run 10 miles on icy roads, then kept going to do chores and errands... Read More. Great fit, comfortable but not unflattering, and well made. Ordered a second pair today...This is the perfect antidote to our brutal winters in the north.

March 18, 2018

Seams coming apart

Let me start by saying that I love every Patagonia product that I have ever owned. In fact,I loved these pants so much that I ordered both colors. The fit is perfect and they shield from wind and water as promised. The only problem is that the seam has come apart in the back. I thought it was because I wore them mountain biking and maybe the fricti... Read Moreon of being on a bike seat was too much. So I returned my first pair and re-ordered them. The black pair has once again come apart at the seams. The smolder blue pair is still holding strong,but I don't wear them as often as the black pair. I am very disappointed,not just because I paid so much for them,but also because they are truly my favorite pants.

November 10, 2017

I wish they fit me

I'm 5'7" and weigh 123 lbs. The Medium is too small for me - too short,and too snug for easy mobility. Sadly,I will return them.

November 2, 2017

AAAAAmazing!

I am 5'5" with a pretty athletic build. My thighs in particular are quite thick. These pants fit perfect even after they loosened up after day 4 (they are truly odor resistant). I live in a very wet and windy city in Alaska and I wear these pants for every occasion,whether I am hiking or biking. The mobility these pants allow is my favori... Read Morete feature. I love these pants so much i just recently purchased a 2nd pair.

October 29, 2017

Well thought out improvements

I've had two prior iterations of these pants,and this is my favorite. It is difficult to get a breathable cold weather pant that functions well for cycling. These have a soft waistband,are snug around the ankles and are wind resistant in the front and with a breathable stretch fabric in the rear. I am 5'3" and the length is fantastic... Read More in an M. I would love to see an articulated knee on this item. If between sizes order up if you want a layer underneath,it's trim.

September 4, 2017

Best pants i have ever bought

I am always very cold whenever i go camping/backpacking,and these pants have solved my problem! These pants are definitely worth the money! When the wind blows,my legs don't feel a thing,they stay warm! I can fit my long underwear underneath these pants and be comfortable,and i can also wear these pants alone and they are still very comfortabl... Read Moree- feel comfy as sweatpants. Best purchase i have made!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches