Back to Product

Ws Capilene® Midweight Crew

Write Your Review

4.79 /5

Filter Reviews

All 34 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Capilene® Midweight Crew

4.79
True To Size
January 28, 2021

Surprisingly warm!

Very interesting material- wasnt sure how I felt about it. Seems thin. BUT whoa!!! Totally works! I use it as a base layer along with a mid (with outside temp range 10-30 degrees) and found myself sweating. After removing my mid, I expected to be slightly cold but it dried very quickly so it was a non-issue. I absolutely love it!

December 31, 2020

Another favorite!

My first Capilene®Midweight but another favorite to add to my closet. Fits great, looks and feels good.

December 30, 2020

Fantastic fit

Great fit. Very comfortable!

December 30, 2020

Perfect

This was a gift for my daughter in law size small She loved it!

December 28, 2020

Best Base Layer!

We are spending a ton of time outside - and these shirts are keeping me super warm under my sweaters. I am so grateful - my core is never cold.

November 30, 2020

Perfect Base Layer for Walking

I love the color and fit. I felt warmer with just the base layer on. I did return the top, because I wanted matching bottoms that were no longer available after I received the top.

November 25, 2020

Warm, but disappointing fit :(

I was really excited to purchase this shirt after reading multiple positive reviews...and I didn't see that it was listed as a "slim fit". The inside texture feels weird, the sleeves are too long, and the thumb holes are ridiculously large. PLEASE make this shirt in a "regular fit" as well! I'm so tired of spending my ... Read Morehard earned money on outdoor gear that is mostly tailored to skinny women! From reading other reviews on other Patagonia items, this seems to be a common theme. I love this brand and everything it stands for, but please be more mindful of various body types & kinds of fit going forward.

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2020

Hi Paula, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're truly sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit of the crew neck. With that said, our base layers typically feature a slim fit so that its easier to layer over the top of them. Nevertheless, we understand that this isn't the best fit for everyone and we really appreciate this feedback. We're going to pass this along to our design crew. Also, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 24, 2020

Lightweight but cozy

I love this top alone for a chilly run or a fall hike. Its also a great base layer for winter hiking. The shirt is lightweight, but traps heat well. The navy color is also very vibrant and pretty. In a perfect world, the sleeves would be a bit longer, but I definitely plan on buying this top in other colors.

November 19, 2020

So comfortable

I wear these all day in the wintertime with the matching bottoms and they are perfect for staying warm and not sweating or being uncomfortable because of the fit under jeans.

November 3, 2020

Smart purchase

This is great base wear. Not sweater like, but warm like a sweater. I wear them under my scrubs and actually stay toasty. Will be perfect under ski gear. They are thinner than other base layers but warmer

October 8, 2020

scratchy

Warm and stays dry but scratchy next to the skin. Disappointing, from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2020

We appreciate your feedback on the midweight capilene, Karen! Your purchase is absolutely covered under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) so please don't hesitate to reach out to us to return it.

June 17, 2020

Beautiful shirt

I have not worn this yet, since it hasn't been cold enough, but I'm sure I'll love it when I do. It's a beautiful shirt and can be worn as a layer or by itself (it's too beautiful to hide as a layer under clothes).

June 17, 2020

Great shirt

This is a great shirt, true to size, and the green color is beautiful.

May 1, 2020

Great Midweight Baselayer

The Capilene Midweight Crew Neck Shirt is a great single layer in cold weather or baselayer for very cold weather. It's comfortable, durable, and offers just the right amount of warmth. Also, it can be worn several times before needing to be washed.

April 9, 2020

Perfect all around under top

This top is great, goes well with the matching bottoms. Lightweight and breathable, but also keeps you warm. I wear this under my work gear, anytime Im outside during the winter, running, doing yoga, basically always. Its great.

March 12, 2020

Its perfect!

I live in the midwest, and am always cold. I bought this as a base layer for snowshoeing, but have been wearing it almost daily under my Patagonia fleece. My only complaint is that the arms are too long. I have long arms, and end up rolling the sleeves up 2 inches so they dont stick out of my cuffs. I will definitely be purchasing more of these!

February 24, 2020

Perfect as a baselayer or standalone layer!

I used this baselayer for x-country skiing in Colorado. The temperature was about 37F and it felt so warm that it worked as a standalone layer for the uphill. Very nice piece of clothing to layer up, for example with an R1. I also like that it is long enough in the back. I bought two of them, my favorite baselayers now. Keep the bright colors comin... Read Moreg!

February 4, 2020

Perfect warm base layer

I wear this often on cold days, the fit is great as you can tuck it into your long johns to keep your lower back warm.

January 9, 2020

Loved this midweight layer

I have some older Patagonia midweight crew shirts but they are really scratchy and not very nice against the skin. This shirt was awesome. Super soft and comfortable against the skin. It was a great base layer for a cold Colorado backcountry ski day, so plenty warm. Also seemed to stay dry even though I was working hard uphill. I am going to order ... Read Moremore because most of my base layer shirts are 20+ years old and falling apart. But I still use them because they are soft. I wish I could trade in my old scratchy Capilene shirts, which I never wear because they are scratchy!

December 31, 2019

Perfect crew for trail running at altitude

I bought this crew for trail running (fall-winter-spring) at altitude in California, and have really been pleased with it so far. For 45 ºF - 60 ºF, it's great on its own. It definitely keeps you warm even when the sun goes down! When temps dip below 45 ºF, I do find I need another layer, but that's to be expected. I've taken some t... Read Moreumbles on the trails, and its encountered some thorns and brambles, but even after regular 20-mile runs, it's still looking (and smelling!) new. Great job wicking away sweat, and despite weekly long runs in it, I haven't had any issues with chafing yet. Ladies who lift or rock climb should probably size up to get more room/freedom of movement in the shoulders/arms. I'm 5'7", 135 lbs, and based on my measurements should be a small. I went with a medium, and it fits just right for a climber's upper body.

December 30, 2019

Will Buy Again

The medium fits great. Love the thumb slips to keep my sleeves from riding up when putting on another layer. Great for hiking outdoors in the cold. Will be using for an upcoming ski trip!

December 24, 2019

It’s soft, comfortable n keeps

It’s soft, comfortable n keeps the warmth in.

December 19, 2019

Awesome multi-season layer

For running in 35 to 60 degrees, this is the top! It's a layer, but functions well on it's own. I love all Patagonia Capilene and would live in it every day all day if I could. As a yoga instructor, I practice 90 minutes every day, and I can easily wear this for my morning practice, and then later on a run or under a sweater. It wicks moi... Read Moresture better than any top I've ever worn and hangs to dry easily, without retaining odor (yay, minimal washing!). This is perfect for all my favorite activities - yoga, running, rock climbing, skiing, white water kayaking, and even layers nicely under a sweater. I am almost 5'4" 122 pounds, and wear a AA or XS bra, and the XS was the perfect fit, not too tight in the shoulders and great arm length. I will but this again and again and love the beautiful Piki Green color!

December 13, 2019

Excellent colors

Great for a college guy

December 12, 2019

Nice fit and warm next

Nice fit and warm next to skin layer!

December 10, 2019

A Must-Have Item

I swear by the Capilene Mid-Weight Crew for winter running and cross country skiing. On a 20 degree day, all I need is this as a base layer and the Houdini Jacket to block the wind and I am all set. The top is sweat wicking so it doesn't get you wet, and thus colder. I like the version of the shirt I have from 2015, it's a bit thicker, bu... Read Moret they are both great.

December 7, 2019

An essential baselayer gets better

Now more breathable and comfortable for high output activities, the capilene midweight crew has long been my preferred baselayer for mountain biking, alpine skiing and snowboarding, hiking running and kayaking. Layered over a lightweight Capilene and under a shell, vest or drysuit, the midweight crew gets used all winter as well as the shoulder sea... Read Moresons.

December 1, 2019

capilene midnight crew

its lightweight and warm...i wear over a shirt to provide me extra warmth. Would have preferred solid color and a better color palette to choose from.

November 22, 2019

Awesome layer for patrolling

Awesome layer for patrolling

November 20, 2019

Love love love

Love love love

November 18, 2019

Great multi-use purchase

I bought this for a hiking trip and never wanted to take it off! The shirt is a comfortable material, great and flattering fit (not too snug but not too big), lightweight and easily layered. I really like the thumb hoops at the ends of the sleeves to keep the shirt from moving when layering.

November 16, 2019

Really no stink

I literally wore this several days in a row and was amazed that it didn't stink. Trying it out next on an overseas trip.

November 6, 2019

Love the Capilene Crew!

This is so warm and perfect for my daily hikes in the fall. Can’t wait to wear it cross country skiing. I purchased the icefall - big blue sky in a medium. Great color and fit!

October 27, 2019

Comfortable and stylish

I love this layer! It is warm but breathable. Gorgeous vibrant colors too!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches