Back to Product

Patagonia Women's R1® Regulator Fleece Pullover

Write Your Review

4.54 /5

Filter Reviews

All 56 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's R1® Regulator Fleece Pullover

4.54
September 11, 2020

Perfect layer

This pullover is super warm, soft inside, and serves as a great layover over a long sleeve before I put on my puffy. I use it for summer mornings and evenings in the mountains, and sometimes in the city too just because I like it a lot. Looking forward to testing this out in the daytime during fall and winter! The only thing I wish this pullover ha... Read Mored was a pair of thumb holes... then I would live in it.

September 11, 2020

Perfect alternative to turtle neck!

Great for layering under ski jacket. Super warm

August 15, 2020

Warm mid-layer for colder conditions and climates.

This was my go-to mid-layer for skiing and snowshoeing until I tried the Cap Air Hoody base layer. This item is comfortable, fits well under a ski shell and functions to help maintain body heat in cold weather. A couple of years ago we were camping at Lake Crescent, where we met a family from Montana. One morning the other mom wore her favorite cam... Read Moreping shirt- a Patagonia R1! We talked about how much we both love this shirt. It is her go-to for cold mornings and evenings while camping- in Montana or Washington. She talked me into packing mine for future camping trips! Great shirt for skiing, car camping and well-worth packing in your pack while backpacking- it's that great!

August 14, 2020

Not too thick, but warm

I like to wear this layer in the winter for casual Fridays as work. It also keeps me warm as a base layer under my coat while skiing. At 5'3, the large size is a bit longer, I like how it falls at my hips. I do need to cuff the sleeves.

June 23, 2020

Cozy and wind resistant

I wear only R1 zip pullovers as my base layer to teach skiing in cold weather. They keep me warm and dry during long days teaching a variety of lessons from beginners with some walking and climbing to advanced lessons on steeper terrain. My go-to top. They look neat and professional too. Wish the sizes were more consistent. The large is perfect in ... Read Moresome colors and a bit tight in other colors.

June 18, 2020

Perfect layer

This is a go to layer for hiking/backpacking/camping.

May 22, 2020

Awesome BUT

I love mine R1 pullover its warm and it help with wind protect. However I went with a men R1 its a little big but I will sacrifice the fit to get the features that the man have. I got robbed their are no thumb holes like the men. The men can also pack into the chest pocket and the woman cannot. Plus some of the colors they have are much better then... Read More the womans.

April 28, 2020

Perfect fit!

I absolutely love this R1! I always hesitate buying items since I have a longer torso because clothing falls short, but not this! Its perfect for those with longer torsos and those who need to layer. Arm length is great too! Thank you for making something that fits me!

March 18, 2020

So comfortable

I love how warm and cozy the R1 Pullover is. Loose enough to wear over a base layer on really cold days with a hard shell. Comfortable enough to wear alone for everyday. Washes up beautifully. I bought one for my son also and it is his favorite shirt.

March 7, 2020

Big difference in sizes

This is a great top, nice material, surprisingly warm and breathable. I just wish the sizing was easier. For reference I am 57, 135lbs, 34D, 26-27 waist. I ordered this online in a medium (Im between a small and medium in Patagonia depending on the product) and I was surprised how big it was. Lots of space under the arms, pretty baggy in the torso ... Read Moreand very long. I went into a store and tried on the small to see if I wanted to exchange, and everything about it fit better other than the arms and shoulders. They were super fitted to the point of too tight. After agonizing I decided to keep the medium since its still a practical top and the larger size is more comfortable. Im surprised at the huge difference between two sizes, especially in the length. The medium is noticeably long, the small was the perfect length. If I could get a top that fit in the torso like the small but the arms and shoulders like the medium it would be perfect!

Response from Patagonia
April 9, 2020

Thanks for the feedback! The R1 Regulator Fleece Pullover is a "slim" fit and you may find a better profile in the [Crosstrek series](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-crosstrek-quarter-zip-fleece/23835.html?dwvar_23835_color=BCW) so let us know if you'd like [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the R1 for merchandise credit or a refund.

February 3, 2020

10 years and going strong

I have 3 of these tops. The oldest is probably 20 years old. These are my go-to ski layer, along with a Pati silk weight first, then the R1 then a Pati down sweater and finally a Pati Gortex coat. I guess i'm a Pati fan. All of these items have been in service for years:20-70 ski days per year and various other winter activities. I know Pati i... Read Mores expensive, but its quality is unmatched. The only bummer is justifying a new one because i have the others. They just don't wear out. So here's a 5 star review for many years of wear for R1. Get yours.

January 6, 2020

R1 is all I want to wear now!

I love, love, love my R1 Pullover! It's soft and comfortable, and it breathes so well. I only want to wear it, so all my other clothes are getting neglected now. The only improvement I could suggest would be to put hand pockets on the lower front. But it's 5 stars even without low pockets.

January 3, 2020

Love this pullover. Fitted without

Love this pullover. Fitted without feeling too tight or restrictive. Super light weight but very warm. Thin enough to fit under other layers without feeling bulky. I bought a second color I loved it so much.

December 28, 2019

Professional Recommendation - Best shirt ever!

Been teaching skiing for 25 years. This pullover is hands down the best shirt I've ever worn. Warm, stylish, and durable.

December 28, 2019

Black hooded R1

One of my favorite pieces of gear. I won't travel without it.

December 25, 2019

Super warm and comfy

This is the best pullover long sleeve shirt I own. It is soft and warm Keeps your body heat in. I have barely taken it off since I got it. Great for layering when skiing or hiking or just walking around town.

December 24, 2019

Nice but wasnt the fabric thickness i expected

It couldve just been my lack of research into this product but it was thinner and made of cheaper material than i thought especially for the price

Response from Patagonia
January 15, 2020

Hi Emilia! Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry to hear the R1 Pullover wasn't quite what you were expecting. This garment is intended to be a lightweight mid-layer to keep you warm and comfortable during stop-and-go activities. If you'd like to opt for something with a bit more insulation, I would recommend checking out our [R2 Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-r2-regulator-fleece-jacket/25149.html?dwvar_25149_color=BCW&cgid=womens-fleece#tile-9=&start=1&sz=24). Please keep in mind, your satisfaction is guaranteed and you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) items!

December 17, 2019

Love it! Was looking for

Love it! Was looking for a fleece lined, light weight sweater to run with and this is perfect for that!

December 13, 2019

Comfortable, warm, versatile!

I love this pullover! It is light but warm, in a flattering fit. I will for sure be ordering this in another color. Love love love it!

December 5, 2019

Nothing more versatile

Nuff said. Hard to find a time or season when the R1 isn't a necessity.

December 5, 2019

This is my second one,

This is my second one, and is a great weight for life in Alabama. I like the longer length for those of us with long torsos!

December 3, 2019

Warm yet lightweight

I love these pullovers, great by themselves but not bulky so also comfortable under a sweater.

November 25, 2019

Toasty perfection

Used at Mt. Rainier, this layer was perfect for trapping heat or venting as needed through our time in the park. A must for snowshoeing season! Many thanks to Patagonia for adding XXL in women's. At 6' 1", the XL shoulders were just too tight.

November 22, 2019

Small updates are great

I've had a black R1 for a decade and added a navy R1 to my collection this fall. I like the seam work on the sleeves. Looking forward to this new R1 lasting over a decade too.

November 21, 2019

Great fit and very warm

Great fit and very warm

November 17, 2019

Too Long

Love the color (light blue) and the feel of the pullover, but it is way too long. I am not petite - 5'7". This goes below my bottom. So - it is longer than many of my jackets, and i wouldn't want to ski with it - as I can't tuck that much fabric in to my pants. I'll be returning it, unfortunately.

November 11, 2019

Perfect fit I have a

Perfect fit I have a slender build and this top was just right. Can wait to wear It this winter skiing and snowshoeing.

November 7, 2019

I do it in an R1!

I adore my pullover R1. I have utilized it in a myriad of instances from commuting to work, yoga, a chilly autumn mt. bike ride, and around the house. It is soft and stretchy, warm and resilient. It may be my new favorite! Thank you, Yvon and Company :)

November 5, 2019

The Greatest Shirt in the World!!

A favorite piece of clothing in our house. This purchase was a replacement for my wife’s R1 from fifteen years ago that my daughter lost at school. Hopefully she’ll get at least fifteen more years out of this one.

November 5, 2019

great layering piece

this warm layer is cozy enough by itself for keeping warm for hikes, runs, etc. but would be a great layer in extra cold weather, too. i love the fit, it is long enough to cover below the waist, yet form-fitting so it hugs ever-so-gently as not to ride-up while running or being active. while it runs small, i think that is a good thing for a layerin... Read Moreg piece! you only need a tank-top underneath and it will keep you plenty warm.

November 5, 2019

Great pullover

It's nice fitting, stylish and warm.

November 4, 2019

LOVE THIS TOP

This pullover will probably become one of my favorite layers for Winter. It is super warm, fits very nicely-runs a bit small, and keeps the heat in and moisture out.

October 27, 2019

So toasty

I love this shirt! It's super warm and functional, but still form fitting and feminine, without being too tight (if that makes sense). I wear it hiking, to work, and out to the breweries with friends. Probably going to get another one.

October 23, 2019

R1 pullover

Absolutely my favorite top for brisk weather. I wore it 4 days in a row after purchasing. My go to snuggly top for cold weather.

October 18, 2019

Great quality

The fit is wonderful and the sewing quality is great. Will be wearing this one a lot!

October 15, 2019

Extremely Versitle

Recently re-purchased one of these after my old one was left behind in a move. The jacket is great for all kinds of weather - it's form fitting enough to work well for layering, but also looks nice on its own. It's pretty long in the torso, so it doesn't ride up under a hiking pack. The sleeves are a little snug, but not crazy long l... Read Moreike some reviews suggest (I'm tall, but the sleeves are almost a little short on me). I got the pink color and love it!

October 3, 2019

I love my new pullover

I love my new pullover sweater. I know it will keep me toasty warm.

October 3, 2019

So warm so nice to

So warm so nice to wear for chilly days in north country of New York great for skiing or hiking

October 1, 2019

Perfect fit, of course

Perfect in every way: just what I wanted.

September 16, 2019

Wanted one for a while

Got it on sale, in a color that I wouldn’t normally choose, the maroon. Turns out I like the color a lot. It seems like it will be really great for colder weather as a first super soft layer or by itself, but way too warm for this September, so unfortunately will sit in the closet for a month or so.

September 12, 2019

R1

Great material, great fir, love the color. Have another one for years now for winter activities, works well to keep you comfortable in all conditions

August 10, 2019

Perfect Midlayer!

I bought this midlayer for a 6 day trek on the Laugavegur Trail in Iceland. It was exactly what I was hoping for and exactly what I needed. I used it a lot as the temperatures were mostly in the 40s. I wore a wool base layer underneath and it keep me plenty warm. It packed down small enough for my pack and was lightweight. Great product!

August 9, 2019

go-to midlayer for cold-weather aerobic activities

LOVE this R1! Took it to Nepal in December for Annapurna circuit along with another midlayer but I ended up wearing only this one for the whole week. I hike hot and this really BREATHES, under an outer insulated layer when super cold and as a outer layer when less cold just on top of my baselayer (Capilene Thermal). Fit is forgiving, and I find the... Read More arms a bit long but not enough that I have to pull/fold them up - I don't mind a bit of extra fabric at the wrist in cold weather. I loved it so much that I got the full-zipped jacket version for dedicated outer layer use. P.S. I like both (the half-zip and the full-zip) without a hood because my shells have hoods and I don't like midlayer hood getting in the way in suddenly inclement weather (plus my body doesn't regulate heat fast/well so I tend to prefer separate pieces, i.e. hat, neck gaiter, jacket vs. hooded midlayer), but I still support others' complaint about fewer selections available for women (vs. men) P.P.S. I got last (?) season's with Patagonia logo on the left chest stitched on (vs. sewn-on tag) which I think looks more classy/subtle, just IMHO.

June 25, 2019

Where’s the hood?!!?!

I LOVE my R1! Seriously love it. It’s my favorite mid level piece, I wear it all the time, it keeps me warm in Chicago winters, high up on the wall, and around the campfire. BUT I have the hooded version. Why is there a men’s hooded version but not a women’s version? What gives Patagonia?!? Why can’t we have hoods too!! Part of the reason it keeps ... Read Moreme so very warm is because of the hood. I would love another R1 (I have the black one), but I’m searching for second hand R1s that have a hood. Please Patagonia, I beg of you, can I have a hood?!

June 11, 2019

Love this layer

I run cold so this piece is perfect for me. You can do anything you want in it, but i recommend it for cold weather only. I use it when i run in the winter, i use it as a mid layer when i hike in the fall and spring, and i use it as an outer layer for casual wear. Very versatile. I think i would get the jacket next time as opposed to the pullover t... Read Morehough. love that it has a big chest pocket for money/phone.

May 12, 2019

Patagonia R1 Pullover

I love the R1, it is soft and cozy on the inside and breathes exceptionally well. The fit is close but not confining. I'm typically an XL in REI or Columbia clothing and the XL fits perfectly.

May 8, 2019

Great but loose!

I got my R1 mostly as a layering piece, that being said I was hoping for the torso to be more of a slim fit, and not as boxy as it is. The arms and shoulders fit well, so I don’t think I’ll size down. It’s also a bit longer than I anticipated, which hasn’t been the worst being able to tuck it in my ski pants. Overall I’m wearing this as more of an... Read More outer layer over a merino baselayer so far since I ordered at the end of the winter. Will be curious how well I can layer it next winter. Overall, a good purchase but more casual looking with the relaxed torso fit, I was hoping for a more mid-layer sporty look. I’d love to see more than one style offered in women’s!!!

May 8, 2019

Go-to shirt

I love thumb holes, so that's the only thing that could make it better!

May 8, 2019

Fabulous

I love this R1. It’s a great weight and the perfect “just barely need something” choice.

May 8, 2019

Perfect layer for any night

So comfy! Weight to warmth ration excellent. Warm every night while thru-hiking the PCT.

May 8, 2019

Great material with lots of

Great material with lots of stretch and warmth for its lightness.

April 12, 2019

Terrible sizing

I have a couple of R1s from years past so I ordered a small like my other ones. This one is huge on me - baggy and way too long. Really disappointed.

April 7, 2019

Specs are all wrong on this top

I am 5'8" and the sleeves on a small are about 3" too long and the length is 4" too long. Patagonia no longer knows how to make clothing to fit. Sorry, this is going back and I do not think I will go back to shop because of this.

April 5, 2019

Patagonia - DO BETTER!

I own this pullover (old version, not the new one), and enjoy it a lot. It is great as a standalone layer in mild climates or during high-output activities in colder weather, and an excellent layering piece in very cold weather. But I just can't understand WHY you would get rid of the pullover hoody for women. In an era of touting how amazing ... Read Morethe R1 is - with a video of 2 men - and then getting rid of the women's pullover hoody... this honestly feels like a slap in the face. I've been waiting to buy a R1 pullover hoody until I found a color way that I liked, and now it seems like that won't happen. Every woman that I've spoken with about this in the OI is upset about the removal of the pullover hoody option, while men still get their pullover hoody. PLEASE BRING IT BACK!

April 3, 2019

Amazing Fit!

Absolutely love the updated fit on the R1 and just keep waiting for more colors to come out. As a tallish (5'9') and very fit woman, finding tops in XS that are actually long enough to not stop short in the torso and arms is a huge challenge. Nice shape through waist and plenty of range of movement through shoulders and arms. Awesome - Th... Read Moreanks Patagonia!

March 22, 2019

R1 XS Sizing Changed Dramatically - Bummer!

I absolutely love the R1 pullover and have bought a new one each season for the last three years. I just ordered another one (because I live in them) and, unfortunately, the sizing changed dramatically for the extra small. I just confirmed with customer service that it is roughly 1 1/2" longer than it has been in the past. It is completely dis... Read Moreproportional for a small person who would wear an XS size. Little people don't typically have long torsos - that's one of the frustrating things about buying clothes when you are petite. I love the R1 and probably wear them 3-4 days a week either skiing as a base layer or heading to/from a workout. I'm so sad that these no longer fit :( Designers, why did you make this change!!??

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches