Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Silent Down Jacket

Write Your Review

4.55 /5

Filter Reviews

All 67 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Silent Down Jacket

4.55
Kinda Large
September 25, 2020

Love it!

Finally found a jacket that works for someone short. Fits beautifully. Love the soft blue color. Could be heavier but still happy with it.

September 22, 2020

Love it

Bought this as a first down jacket to have for winter. I love it. It's nice, lightweight, warm and comfortable. I highly recommend it!

September 11, 2020

Very warm and comfortable

This jacket is very neat, warm and fits me well ! I love Patagonia and this jacket is made nice and super comfortable for sure

June 30, 2020

Cute, but disappointingly thin

I was so excited to receive this jacket. I need something warm. Seems all the jackets this days are lightweight. This is no exception. Despite its price, it is as warm, heavy, and thick as the bargain priced down comforter insert you can buy at at a bedding store. Returning.

Response from Patagonia
August 3, 2020

Thanks for your feedback on this jacket, Amanda! We're sorry to hear it was disappointing. The Silent Down Jacket is not our warmest, but our Customer Service team will be happy to recommend better options for you and help you return this under our Ironclad Guarantee, so please [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to us.

May 1, 2020

LOVE IT!

It is rare, being 5'11, to find a jacket with arms long enough and this jacket is the best! So cozy, warm, and stretchy. Definitely worth the money.

April 27, 2020

So Soft So Cozy

In love with this jacket. It's so soft and so cozy that I've literally fallen asleep in it. This jacket has kept me toasty warm on even the chilliest days. And the wrist cuffs are a lifesaver, no more drafty sleeves. I'm 5'10 and 145 with a small chest. Its roomy but I like to layer so I ordered a size up and got a M instead of ... Read Morea S.

March 12, 2020

AMAZING

This is definitely my new favorite jacket! It’s super soft and nice material. Fits perfectly!

March 5, 2020

blue silent down

I received the package in the estimated delivery time and the jacket is absolutely beautiful! I was searching so long for a middle layer / insulation but all of them are real ugly... well - not this one! (:

February 4, 2020

Feathers everywhere

I love this jacket so much but am so sad to see the amount of feathers coming out of it. I’ve had it for at least 2 months now, and have washed it once using tennis balls to fluff and dry it. Unfortunately I just keep seeing either full feather tips popping out, or small pieces of feathers throughout. I mainly see it in the sleeves and back. I don’... Read Moret get “rough” with it either - just wear it to and from work, and I wear a back pack from time to time. Any suggestions? This jacket would be 100% perfection if it wasn’t for the pesky feathers flying everywhere!

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2020

Hi Natalie! Thank you for reaching out about this, and we are sorry to hear about those feathers shedding on your Silent Down Jacket. It is common for some feathers to escape through the fabric on new jackets, particularly when the down has not had an opportunity to settle. To minimize this, simply pull the down back into the jacket and massage the area to redistribute the fabric's fibers, closing the hole. It is important to not pull the feathers out, as this will exacerbate the problem by creating a larger hole. Of course, if you feel your jacket is shedding down excessively, you are more than welcome to initiate a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) on that item.

January 8, 2020

Love this Jacket!

I purchased the Century Pink color and I'm absolutely in love with the color. I would say it's not as shiny as the pictures which is what I actually prefer. This jacket is lightweight, stylish, and warm. I also love the sleeves on this product. The inside pocket fits my iphone 11. I'm 5'3" and the jacket falls right above m... Read Morey waist so I think it's the perfect length. Also, I love that this is made with recycled down. I only have good things to say about this jacket! Would definitely recommend this for everyday wear!

January 7, 2020

SO light and warm!

Best purchase ever. SO light, SO warm, looks great and fits perfectly. I'm 5'0 and 50 lbs.

January 4, 2020

Fantastic

This jacket has the softest outside shell. It feels like you’re wrapped in a down blanket. I would not recommend it for outdoor activities due to how soft the shell is. It’s great for daily city life. i get compliments all the time.

January 3, 2020

new design

such a great new design - boxy and shorter - great for shorter people

December 30, 2019

Century Pink is difficult to wear

It is a true-to-size, short down jacket with modern styling that looks great on my 5'3" frame. However...I am on the fence about the Century Pink color. Century Pink lies somewhere between faded cantaloupe and dusty salmon. It's interesting, but now that I've had it for a couple of weeks, I wish I had selected a deeper color, li... Read Moreke Stone Blue. I would wear it more often if I had chosen a different color. Patagonia, please let me exchange it!

Response from Patagonia
January 27, 2020

Hi Maria, we're sorry you're unhappy with the color of the Women's Silent Down Jacket. You are more than welcome to initiate and exchange with our Customer Service by phone at, (800) 638-6464 or by live chat through our site. Reps are available weekdays, 6AM to 6PM (PT) and weekends, 7AM to 3PM (PT).

December 30, 2019

this is the one jacket you’ll need

I really took some time and did lots of research to find a jacket that would survive an Ottawa weeklong visit and my “normal” winter in coastal SoCal. And this jacket is IT. I was worried if the jacket would stain easily like some of the reviews mentioned, but I haven’t experienced that so far. It packs really well in a suitcase and is super stylis... Read Moreh yet timeless. I bought this in forge gray although I love all the other colors. Gray will go with everything! Another bonus is that it’s made with RECYCLED down. Thanks so much for producing thoughtful, long lasting and beautiful products!!

December 29, 2019

Not A True Black

I expected the jacket to be black but it looks more like the Forge Gray color in person.

December 28, 2019

Another Great Patagonia Purchase

This is my first purchase from Patagonia that is not a jacket and I am so impressed with this duffel. The fabric is sturdy and easy to clean. I got the blacks and really like how the black logo is subtle but still visible. Looking forward to my next trip to use my new bag!

December 24, 2019

Great jacket

Warm, comfortable and great fit

December 24, 2019

Best looking + comfiest jacket from Patagonia

For reference, I’m petite - 120 lbs, 5‘2, 34B, 26W, and a true SMALL in most brands, my size in Patagonia varies: - XS in Down Sweater Jacket/Hoody - S in Micro Puff Jacket/Hoody - XS in Silent Down Jacket I purchased this jacket in Century Pink and it is such a beautiful color. Under certain lighting, it appears salmon. It’s one of those colors... Read More that you don’t even know what to label it as, but still get compliments wherever you go nevertheless. I think it is the softest, comfiest, prettiest jacket that Patagonia has. The XS still allows me room to wear a light-medium sweater underneath just fine. The jacket fits me very well, but I plan on ordering the S just to see which one fits me better. I would rather keep a XS if the S is going to swallow me, as I’m petite.

December 24, 2019

Love it!

Finally after yrs. of returning jackets Patagonia made one for shorter women. Also, it is boxier so it doesn't get too tight in the hips when you layer under it. Got it in Woolly Blue and it is a beautiful light blue. Also, very light weight so doesn't overpower a small frame.

December 23, 2019

Awesome Jacket!!!!!

This is the most comfortable puffer jacket I own. It’s not too bulky and fits my body frame (I am 5’4 100-105 lbs). It’s also pretty soft

December 19, 2019

So soft

So far I'm loving this jacket. Its been really cold lately in the NE, USA and this jacket has kept me warm. I love how soft it is. I only wish it had a hood.

December 17, 2019

So warm and puffy!

This jacket is my new go-to jacket! I love the color and it's very warm and puffy. The only missing thing would be to add a hood to this jacket or else it would be perfect!

December 17, 2019

Warm fuzzies

Love this coat.

December 16, 2019

Best Christmas Present

Perfect gift for my lovely daughter. Patagonia is a quality brand!

December 15, 2019

Love

It’s a beautiful jacket and so warm

December 15, 2019

Patagonia has done it again

Another fantastic jacket... warm, functional and stylish

December 15, 2019

It’s a great light jacket

I am really enjoying the lightness and comfort of the jacket. I was surprised that it isn’t as warm as the one I was looking to replace. The online photo looks like it’s puffy, and it is, but not as much fill as I expected. It’s fine for most days, but not the frigid days.

December 15, 2019

Love this jacket!

Bought this for everyday wear. It’s very warm and comfortable. I haven’t worn it in wet weather (like wet snow) yet so I can’t speak to how it will perform in those conditions.

December 15, 2019

It is not as warm

It is not as warm as the puff jackets, zipper is difficult to zip. The snaps are difficult to snap

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2020

Hi Martha! Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear this jacket did not work out for you. If you'd like to return or exchange it for a different style, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). The Silent Down Jacket does feature recycled down insulation, whereas our puff jackets (Nano Puff, Micro Puff, Macro Puff) offer synthetic insulation. Down is generally the warmer option; however, if you live in a rainy climate, we would advise sticking to synthetic insulation as it does stay warm while wet.

December 15, 2019

Soooooo nice

Loooooove this jacket, it is light, snuggly soft and surprisingly warm. I wore this up in Taos on a sunny cold a December day and I wear it on airplanes and on colder LA mornings... feels fab I'm so glad I bought it.

December 13, 2019

Love this jacket -perfect for SF

This is great weight For weather in San Francisco Add layers to it or just Use the jacket over a shirt Or sweater Glad that I found it!

December 13, 2019

Beautiful & comfortable

So soft! And fits perfectly

December 11, 2019

Love it

Love the style, color and Patagonia!

December 11, 2019

Super Warm

I bought this coat for while I’m in the City in the winter and it’s perfect. Super super warm, really light weight and it looks great on. It isn’t waterproof or even water resistant which is my only complaint

December 11, 2019

Perfect coat for daily wear!

It’s very comfortable since it’s relaxed fit and made from a soft and flexible material. So don’t worry about your size running small. It’s also warm, my new favorite coat!

November 29, 2019

Yummy jacket

This soft, fluffy coat is soooo nice. I have a curvy figure and long torso and this coat fits great. Reminds me of a woodsman jacket my dad had from the ‘70’s. Purchased in the brown color, which is really more of a mustard/gold.

November 26, 2019

Great down jacket very warm

Hey guys I love my jacket currently wearing it in Japan in 50 degree weather, and its kept me warm. The only problem is that it doesn't have very thorough cleaning instructions so Im struggling to get a few stains out. otherwise I'm obsess with patagucci!!

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi Patricia! Thanks for your feedback - we're so happy to hear you love your jacket! Please check out our product care and stain removal page [here](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html#searchterm=product%20care) for more information on how to care for your new jacket.

November 25, 2019

Can’t seem to take this awesome thing off

Since I bought it, I have managed to wear this coat in nearly all kinds of weather and equal numbers of life situations. It seems to morph to whatever I need it for, and I have caught myself several times admiring it in a reflection. Well worth the hefty price tag. This thing will last me a long time. I’m 5’4” and purchased the small. It fits like ... Read Morea glove. Roomy enough to layer a somewhat bulky sweater underneath, yet svelt enough to wear with leggings and still feel fit. A+, Patagonia.

November 25, 2019

Beautiful but Fragile

Exactly what I was hoping for but so fragile! Within the first week I was losing feathers from a few tiny holes! No crazy activities! Just to the store and back.

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2019

Hi Amy! Thanks for your feedback! Please note, it is common for some feathers to escape through the fabric on new jackets, particularly when the down has not had an opportunity to settle. To minimize this, simply pull the down back into the jacket and massage the area to redistribute the fabric's fibers, closing the hole. It is important to not pull the feathers out, as this will exacerbate the problem by creating a larger hole.

November 20, 2019

Warm & Lightweight

I adore this Patagonia jacket. It is incredibly warm but is lightweight, without the bulk that most warm weather jackets bring. The color options are wonderful. The fit is formfitting; I like a slim fit and ordered size XS-I’m 5’6” 120lbs. This size still left room for a light sweater underneath. It repels light rain & misty mornings well but n... Read Moreoticed as some of other reviews said it can get oil marks easily from lotion, food, etc so just be careful there. (Have not washed it yet.) Overall love this flattering look, lightweight airy feel of the jacket, & beautiful color selections. I would request this style with a hood please (:

November 15, 2019

Meh

I love my jacket, the shape, the color, the warmth...one thing I’m noticing though after only two wears is the down feathers are coming through the sleeve in multiple places...is that supposed to happen?

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

We are glad to hear you are loving this jacket. As far as those feathers poking out, this is normal. From time to time, the quills from the feathers will poke through the seams in the nylon and you will notice some feathers coming out. We recommend trying to carefully push the feathers back in without making the puncture any bigger. While this shouldn't affect the warmth or integrity of the jacket, if you find you are unsatisfied with it, you are welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it back to us.

November 8, 2019

Great jacket!

I'm 5'6, weigh 120 lbs, have slightly broad shoulders and longer arms. I bought a size small, my usual size and fit is perfect. Cozy jacket!

November 6, 2019

My new fav

I love this jacket. Have only worn it for a few weeks now but so far it is super soft and warm in 20-30 degree temps. Have had a couple feathers pop out already but hopefully the shedding won’t increase. Have had no issues with staining and the gray color is beautiful.

November 6, 2019

Love this jacket

Love! Warm soft,and comfortable jacket. Very flattering fit. I am 5ft 4 and 130 and the small fits perfectly.

November 3, 2019

Best jacket!

Super soft and warm jacket! Love the century pink color. I’ve received several compliments on it. I’m 5’2” and 110 pounds. XS fits perfectly

November 3, 2019

Amazing!

This coat is the perfect warmth/weight. I get tons of compliments on the color.

October 25, 2019

silently AWESOME

Love my new silent down. Fits perfectly and gives the perfect amount of warmth for walks to and from work and bopping around town.

October 21, 2019

Raving reviews for the silent down jacket

I love this jacket. It's lightweight, warm, and stylish. It's versatility to dress up or down, makes it a great addition to any wardrobe. I've worn is camping and to a wine bar in the same weekend. There's space to layer underneath and its not too bulky. I got it in bright "brown" so people usually see me coming (which... Read More I love), but the NEVER hear me. Shh... so silent.

October 15, 2019

I love my Silent Down jacket!

I love my yellow Silent Down jacket. It's easy to move in, warm, and I love the boxy fit. Debating which color to buy next.

September 25, 2019

I didn’t want to take

I didn’t want to take this jacket off. Best buy ever!!

May 19, 2019

I absolutely love it.

Best down coat ever. The blue color is amazing and it so light weight but super warm. Best purchase so far from Patagonia.

May 14, 2019

Warm and Lightweight

I debated purchasing this jacket for a while, and I'm glad I did it. It kept me warm while traveling in Austria and Poland. There were days when it was very cold and windy, and I layered a little more underneath and was perfectly fine. I was surprised at how windproof this jacket was. It's the perfect travel companion. The only thing to n... Read Moreote is that it's not really a true black it's more of a charcoal.

May 8, 2019

i'm 5'3 and 120lbs; small

i'm 5'3 and 120lbs; small works perfect.

April 9, 2019

I love the style

While this jacket may be a bit more fashion than function, I really love the peached feel of the fabric and flattering shorter shape. It's very fluffy and warm, so I got my regular fit size M (8/10). It's not as big/boxy as I expected, the shoulders/chest will only fit with a thinner sweater but I wouldn't need more with this where I... Read More live in the South. The gray is as pictured, a rich warm shade. I can see what ppl are saying with the stain factor, so I'll make sure to take it off if I'm going to eat fried chicken, LOL! For rougher adventures I'd choose a different ripstop or waterproof jacket, anyway. I'm 5'8" and the sleeves are the right length

March 19, 2019

STAINS BEYOND BELIEF

I want to love this coat so much. It is wonderfully warm and quite cute! I love wearing it and I love the look of it. But I just can’t get past the EXTREME propensity for staining. I cannot put on lotion without worrying about ruining my coat. I cannot wear makeup without fearing it smudging on my coat. I cannot eat anything without fearing for the... Read More integrity of this coat. I once accidentally dropped a CRUMB from a quiche, and boom, stain on the coat. It’s really unbelievable. The sleeves are ridiculously grungy from simply existing, and I have spots all over from likely nothing/everything. I love my other Patagonia products—my nanopuff will likely outlive me and gets used and abused! But, the silent down, not so much. For an outdoor company who focuses on functionality and practicality, I am beyond disappointed in the quality of this coat. This coat makes me feel as uptight as if I were wearing a fine silk blouse. Outdoor wear my fanny(pack)! Already convinced my fellow outdoorsy women NOT to purchase this seemingly impressive, but highly disappointing jacket.

March 6, 2019

Cute, but kind of dissappointing

I bought this for my high school daughter and while it looks super cute, I don't think it is that warm. And the down has really flattened down with wear, specifically on her back where she wears her backpack. She got it in November and I honestly don't think she will get another year's wear out of it. So, for the cost, it is pretty d... Read Moreisappointing.

March 4, 2019

Most Comfortable Down Jacket I've Ever Owned

I'm really happy with this purchase. I bought it for going on snow hikes in the Angeles National Forest and for going to my daughter's softball games where I sit out in the cold, sometimes until after 9pm. It's keeping me completely warm. I chose this instead of the down sweater because I wanted something to wear as an outer jacket, ... Read Morea little more roomy rather than form fitting. I like that it hits the hip a little higher than the down sweater too. Features that I love, as others have mentioned: stretchy inner cuffs so that the sleeves stay put and wind doesn't get in, quiet fabric with a soft texture, inner zip pocket for cell phone, deep hand pockets, high collar to keep neck warm when zipped up, and the squish is amazingly comfortable! I have it in the black color, which is a nice shade - more of a dark charcoal rather than jet black. I usually wear a size small shirt/jacket, but for this I sized up to a medium so that it would be roomy and accommodate layers - medium is the perfect size for me, so if if you want room, then size up.

March 1, 2019

Beautiful but fragile

I ordered this Kastanos Brown and absolutely love the look and feel, but after two months have noticed it stains very easily and the feathers often poke out. Even the most mild liquids seem to permanently stain the fabric, leaving water marks all over.

February 27, 2019

Too short not for winter

The coat is in good quality but the length of the coat is too short above your butt. This jacket is not wind resistant. Probably will return it

February 25, 2019

the BEST jacket I have ever purchased

I bought this jacket, sort of on a whim, and I'm so so happy I did. It is hands down the best jacket I have ever purchased. The fabric feels absolutely luxurious not to mention the beautiful colors available. It keeps me so warm, it's my daily go to for errands as well as being my preferred winter hiking jacket. I'm 112lbs 5'6&q... Read Moreuot; and the XS fits perfectly. Buy this jacket, you will not be disappointed.

February 9, 2019

Great all-around jacket!

Agree with the other reviewers: Great “silent” fabric and colors (I got the Stone Blue and it’s a pretty but practical dark teal/blue), toasty warm fill and awesome inner cuffs to keep the wind out. Best of all, a zipper and SNAPS so you can choose your level of coziness! Kept me warm on a visit to Colorado and riding the scooter in chilly weather ... Read Morein NorCal this winter with just a shirt underneath. I’m 5’3” and 135lbs. Medium is good and roomy for layering but doesn’t swamp a shorter frame. Now, what about a version with a HOOD!!!

February 5, 2019

So smooshy and soft

This is the softest, squishiest, lightest jacket I own, plus it's super warm. Great pocketry. I got the blue and its a gorgeous color. I appreciated the yellow one as well and would have gotten it if it suited my coloring better. I'm looking forward to next year when there're new colors and maybe a version with a hood?

December 30, 2018

Couldnt love it more!

I went back and forth between this coat and the "other" name brand. I wanted a hood because I lose hats and tried the mens Small. And bought it on the spot. It is the same coat but with a hood. Both are soft light but has the 700down and warm. I live in Colorado and hike in the winter. It is a beautiful coat. it is a muted black. I am 5&#... Read Morex27;5 and 128 and a Small was perfect..

December 12, 2018

Love this jacket!

I love everything about this jacket - it's warm, soft, comfy, stylish, and makes me smile. I really like that it looks different than most down jackets out there. I was a little worried about not have a hood, as almost all of my jackets do, but it's nice to keep it simple!

November 16, 2018

Happy :)

This jacket is super smooshy, warm and light. The outer material is soft and strong enough for my trip to town or a moderate hike in the woods. Will pack down easily into my backpack. This jacket is not overly complicated. The inner wrist cuffs and cinch cord will not allow warm air to leak out. With the zipper up all the way I feel roomy around my... Read More neck and chin yet not too loose. The buttons matching the material color is a nice touch. I am 5'2", weigh 124 lbs and I feel the size small is a perfect fit, and I will be able to wear a light sweater or fleece under it.

November 14, 2018

Great everyday coat

Great coat for everyday city wear. Warm and well made.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches