Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R1® Yulex® Front-Zip Full Wetsuit

Write Your Review

4.56 /5

Filter Reviews

All 16 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R1® Yulex® Front-Zip Full Wetsuit

4.56
July 11, 2020

Comfortably warm & fits like a second skin

This Patagonia R1 Front zip is the first front zip wetsuit I bought, been only using back zip suits before. I was originally drawn to the Patagonia product because of the sustainable materials used and the whole approach on making this huge effort to develop Yulex in the first place. The first time surfing with it, I was amazed at how comfortable a... Read Morend warm it is, and it fit so well from day one, like a second skin, that I almost completely forgot that I was wearing it. Did not get in the way of my surfing, but made me feel warm, comfortable and gives you confidence. Look forward to using it for many more waves to ride :-)

March 6, 2020

Need XLT

I wish they made this suit in an Extra Large Tall. Neither a large tall or XL seem to fit as well as they could. Please make this happen Patagonia.

December 14, 2019

Re-review of the suit!

Patagonia reached out to me after I left a review on an LT size that was too small (see Mark in these reviews). We were able to get an XLT that now fits great, is close to the skin, and moves really well. Feels like my nine plus suit in the sense that it keeps most of the water out of the suit so you stay warmer longer. Make more of these for talle... Read Morer people!!!

October 13, 2019

Yulex Material is great.

This wetsuit is thinner and has no bad smell compared to traditional neoprene wetsuits. Awesome.

August 12, 2019

wetsuit

I swim throughout the year in waters that always need a wetsuit. So I have three patagonia wetsuits R4 R3 and R1. I love the suits they are well manufactured. Tried other brands but patagonia keeps the cold out best. One BIGGG complaint: the zipper ( chest entry ) takes a lot of excessive dexterity with both hands to connect so that you can zip. Ma... Read Moreybe not so hard for 20 year olds but come on patagonia 70 year olds like to be able to use a wetsuit also.

August 11, 2019

Didn’t fit

Got a LT since the website didn’t have stock of XLT. Was way too tight for me (6’4” and 205). When I returned to a local Store, they said there are no XLT since Patagonia didn’t make them. Made me sad since it seemed like a good suit.

Response from Patagonia
August 21, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with our wetsuit sizing. We've passed your feedback along.

June 26, 2019

Warm, snug, fast drying

Lots of good design features make this a fantastic suit. The stretchy cuffs at the bottom help with getting heels through but still keep water out. The whole fit is very snug, almost never flushes. The liner is warm and it dries super fast.

May 8, 2019

wetsuit yulex

little long in the torso even when its a short I have a six pack and looks like I have a fat belly !!!!

August 9, 2018

Flexible, warm and neoprene free.

I have been wearing Patagonia suits for over 10 years and the new updated Yulex suit is by far my favorite. It has the perfect combination of warmth, fit, flex a durability. With the improved fit and flex I found the front zip model to be much easier to get in and out of than other front zips suits I have had in the past.

August 8, 2018

Fit and Flex

I've worn Patagonia suits for the last six years and every competitor's suit prior. Each Patagonia suit seems to get better and better. In the past I've had issues getting in and out of a front zip from any brand until the suit broke in. The flex and design of these new Patagonia suits makes it easy to get in and out of the suit the ... Read Morefirst time. Also, the suits seems to get lighter each year but still retains it's warmth.

August 8, 2018

Phenomenal suit!

I have been in this new suit for a few months now. Phenomenal fit and stretch is the first thing I've noticed. The suit goes on with ease, like a pair of pants, and comes off as simple as taking off a jacket. Warmth remains to be a strong aspect to this suit as well. I primarily surf in and around Ventura and this suit leaves me comfortable al... Read Morel the time. I even used the suit on a recent trip to Santa Cruz, combined with some booties, this suit was adequate for this time of year. Durability is strong with this one. So far it's held up to the 3-4x of weekly surf. Patagonia has raised the bar to what's possible with Yulex and suit performance! It feels good to use a suit that is sustainable and performs so well. Have your cake and eat it to? It's possible with this suit.

August 7, 2018

Flexible, Warm and Comfortable!

These wetsuits fit great! I've worn Patagonia Wetsuits for the past 6+ years and these are by far the best suits they have made. Well done!

August 7, 2018

Fits Perfect

I've owned a handful of Patagonia suits in the past and this is definitely the Best one they've created. When holding the suit in my hands you can already tell it is much lighter than previous years. After having the suit on I felt it fit nice, had a lot more flexibility and range of motion in the arms. The suit was way easier to get in a... Read Morend out of also. The warmth of the suit was spot on. Over all I would say it fit me perfect and its by far the best suit Patagonia has put out.

August 7, 2018

fits great, feels great

Wow! Definitely excited to be surfing in this new R1. I've been using it for a couple months now on chillier mornings around Ventura, definitely warm without being constrictive. Biggest improvements I've noticed are the fit and stretch. I've owned several Patagonia wetsuits, this one's my favorite so far. This wetsuit is jus... Read Moret plain comfy to wear! Can't wait to replace my old R2 with one of the new updated Yulex suits.

August 7, 2018

Most comfortable wetsuit I have ever worn

I work for Patagonia and received the Fall 2018 R1 Yulex Front-Zip Full Suit for product testing. I have surfed in it almost daily for two months and have nothing but good things to say. I have used almost every generation of Patagonia wetsuit, plus all the other major brands before coming to work at Patagonia. This is hands down the most comfortab... Read Morele wetsuit I have ever worn. From the moment I first suited up in this thing, I noticed the stretch in the arms and legs. The new Yulex rubber does not feel resistant when paddling, so my shoulders stay loose throughout the session. The internal polyester insulation feels like a fleece and breaks in nicely after hitting the water. It’s toasty — I can feel my body heating up between waves, which will be handy for dawn patrols this fall. The wetsuit has not overstretched and does not flush any more than normal. Before writing this review, I inspected the wetsuit for damage and found none. Usually, after six weeks of using a wetsuit, I’ll notice some minor wear in the seams in high-stress areas and some stretch marks in the neck gasket. Not on this one. Everything is in perfect shape.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches