Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Sol Patrol® II Shirt

Write Your Review

4.76 /5

Filter Reviews

All 71 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Sol Patrol® II Shirt

4.76
Kinda Large
September 12, 2020

A great shirt.

These shirts are great. I wear them for going out, causal dress, working or working out on a stand up paddle board. Comfort, flexibility and that they "breath" make them my all around go to shirt.

September 7, 2020

Love the color, love the material

Bought this because the color caught my eye, but when I tried it on and fished in it it was a winner. Comfortable, cool and great for a long day on the water.

September 4, 2020

Typical great product from Patagonia

Have older versions of this shirt which ran large and where the sleeve tab button was way too low - the fabric was so comfortable it did not matter. Here, the updated version has moved the sleeve tab button to the correct (ideal) position, but now the sleeve diameter is just a little small - the rolled up sleeve is tight around the arm (if you were... Read More lifting weights it might be too tight and require the next largest size). Nice details, very breathable fabric and design, useful extra pocket, washes extremely well, flip up collar for sun protection - all around excellent, but the sleeves, when rolled up, are tight.

September 3, 2020

Great Shirt

For several years now I've been wearing the Patrol shirts. Wear like iron great in summer and winter.

September 2, 2020

Keeps you cool

Typically wear XL and L fits fine. Great sun shirt w nice style and keeps you cool. Cant go wrong !

September 2, 2020

Great hot weather shirt

Extremely soft lightweight and breathable

September 1, 2020

Great sun shirt for canoeing!

I'm 6', 190#, and the Large fit perfectly. Plenty of room for air circulation without being billowy and the length covered my wrists down to my paddling gloves. I wore this shirt for a 3 day canoe trip. I was comfortable and relatively cool in 80 degrees and bright sun. I wore a full brimmed hat so didn't need the trick pop up collar... Read More. If I needed it, would have fully covered the back of my neck right up to my hair line. It wicked sweat well and dried quickly, keeping me comfortable in the boat all day. Much better than applying sunscreen!

August 13, 2020

Excellent field shirt

Used this shirt for 2 full summers of HARD surveying field work in the hot sun. Looks almost as new as when I bought it and keeps me cool and protected from the sun (light color helps!) Bought another one recently and its just as great. It does run a little large but fits great if you size down.

August 12, 2020

Great Design, Unique Features, Narrow Sleeves

This is the first shirt of this type that I've purchased from Patagonia. I've worn similar sun shirts from other manufacturers and appreciate the extra thought that has gone into the design and features of this piece. The chest zipper pocket is a plus for secure storage and the extended folding collar make for an easy transition from oute... Read Morer wear to dinner wear. The only negative feedback I have has been reflected in other reviews. As a M/L wearer of other Patagonia clothing the sleeves of this piece, even in size large, are far too narrow to fold and affix to the inner sleeve hooks/buttons. A great feature that unfortunately I'm unable to use. Overall great shirt in need of a simple fix.

July 30, 2020

My favorite... But the new ones need a major fix!

I own about 15 of these and wear one every day to work or where ever. They are not too hot, they hold my glasses when not in use, very comfortable, I wear one even with a pack on. My only issue is with the new ones that just came out since 2019. The sleeves are too narrow! I roll my sleeves up almost always, once the temps get above 65*. I have pen... Read Morecil arms, very slim, no real girth and I feel like I am putting a tourniquet on trying to roll the sleeves up. Not bad if you want the tight T-shirt with the cigarettes rolled up in the sleeve look, but I buy these for comfort and freedom of movement. Please add a little fabric back to the sleeves so everyone, even the skinny guys can wear without wearing a band around my arm. And while I'm at it, move button that holds the sleeve roll up lower by about an half inch to a full inch. Everything else works fantastic.

July 14, 2020

Sun Protection

I'm loving this shirt. I usually buy a couple new button-down shirts like this every summer to keep the sun off my arms & neck. What I love about this shirt is that it can be worn at the office as well as out on the water, and looks great in either location. The extra fabric on the collar is great for when I need a little more protection f... Read Morerom the sun. It's a little tight on my biceps when I roll up the sleeves to button them up and expose my forearms, but I rarely use this function, so it's not an issue for me; in fact, i appreciate how this shirt isn't too baggy like some other brands make them. Overall great shirt that will get a LOT of use this summer and beyond.

July 13, 2020

Yard work sun protection

This shirt is worn under my overalls. It keeps the sun off of me even when swinging an axe midday in the summer. The quick snaps on the collar allow quick access to folding up even more coverage to my neck. Shirt fits well and doesn't bunch up or restrict my movement.

July 13, 2020

Great for all day outdoor wear.

The fit is loose and I like that. I like the SPF factor so I keep the sleeves down. I am outdoors all day so this is perfect. PS More prints please.

July 13, 2020

Second purchase!

My wife had bought the shirt previously in white for me. I like it so much that she bought another one in a soft peach color. I especially like the zippered hidden pocket on the chest for my cell phone.

July 13, 2020

Excellent shirt

Great fit and very soft. True to size. Feels light on the body and its great for a day on the boat

July 13, 2020

WONDERFUL SHIRTS

THE FINEST SHIRT PRODUCTS EVER

July 13, 2020

Super cool in humid south

This shirt is great for working outside. Very cool even when drenched in sweat!

July 13, 2020

Miss the old ones

Still fits me but love the old ones better. Had way more room in the sleeves in the old ones. Wouldnt recommend for some one with muscular arms.

July 10, 2020

Great for all day outdoor wear.

The fit is loose and I like that. I like the SPF factor so I keep the sleeves down. I am outdoors all day so this is perfect. PS More prints please.

July 10, 2020

Yard work sun protection

This shirt is worn under my overalls. It keeps the sun off of me even when swinging an axe midday in the summer. The quick snaps on the collar allow quick access to folding up even more coverage to my neck. Shirt fits well and doesn't bunch up or restrict my movement.

July 10, 2020

WONDERFUL SHIRTS

THE FINEST SHIRT PRODUCTS EVER

July 10, 2020

Second purchase!

My wife had bought the shirt previously in white for me. I like it so much that she bought another one in a soft peach color. I especially like the zippered hidden pocket on the chest for my cell phone.

July 10, 2020

Sharp yet effective

Far superior and softer than Columbia's version, my favorite new addition to sun protective clothing. Very comfortable in hot humid Alabama climate.

July 9, 2020

Super cool in humid south

This shirt is great for working outside. Very cool even when drenched in sweat!

July 10, 2020

Excellent shirt

Great fit and very soft. True to size. Feels light on the body and its great for a day on the boat

June 18, 2020

Well built

Bought For backpacking in the Rockies. Havent used it yet, but I expect the vents And slightly baggy fit to keep me cool while providing good sun protection. Fabric is, perhaps, a little heavy with the shirt weighing in at 8+ ounces. But itll probably last the rest of my life!

June 30, 2020

Best shirt for the job.

I use this shirt for fishing and birding. I have owned sun shirts from other brands, but this is the best. It is very comfortable even in hot weather. Great details. I love the Napoleon pocket and standup collar. The material is durable and I look forward to having this shirt for a ling time.

June 26, 2020

perfect summer shirt

bought 2 for my husband. he loves them!

June 19, 2020

Great lightweight shirt

Love the shirt. Perfect for hot humid summer days in Florida. Feels very high quality. I love the functional and aesthetic detailing. The one thing I dont understand is sizing across brands. I always wear a large shirt in other brands - sometimes a slim large. Im 61, 200 lbs, with a 41 chest. The medium in this shirt fits perfectly with plenty of r... Read Moreoom to move.

June 17, 2020

Well-made. Very comfortable!

I purchased this for my husband. This shirt is well-made and very comfortable.

June 17, 2020

Nice shirt

Great shirt run a little large order a size smaller.

June 14, 2020

An amazing shirt for long days in the sun!

This shirt does everything as advertised, keeps the hot sun off of you without having to lather the sunscreen on, is lightwieght and keeps you nice and cool on hot days. I use this while hiking and for range days and after a hard sweat it dries pretty quick. The size is spot on too, someone mentioned a "boxy" fit but I think it fits great... Read More, one of the better fitting Patagonia shirts I own; I'm 5'6" with an athletic build.

May 18, 2020

Works okay but sleeves little tight

I am usualy xl but ordered large. Sleeve length okay but chest and neck little short but not very disturbing

May 13, 2020

strange sizing

i am size xl buy since this shirt is big i mgot the large.the sleeves and length are okay,bbut the neck and shoulders are little short.i only got it today so i dont know how it function on humid climate thought it feels cool

February 15, 2020

Terrible fit—way too boxy

This shirt is sized poorly. It tries to mimic more formal shirts fails at doing so. The traditional collar won't press, so it contributes an unkempt look instead. The fit is boxy, the sleeves are too long, and most of the shirt is too baggy and boxy, especially the waist, shoulders, and sleeves. I get that this shirt is meant to breath, but if... Read More I'm going to look this sloppy, I might as well wear something much simpler. Other Patagonia products of this size fit me fine. I wear a lot of pink and light peach, but this tint has a way of making me look sickly and washed out. This shirt might work fine on a boat, but don't let anyone see you in it.

Response from Patagonia
March 20, 2020

Thank you for providing your feedback on this shirt and we are sorry to hear it was too boxy and baggy for you. We hope you can [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that so we can get something that works better fit and color wise.

January 15, 2020

Light

Very light and resistant shirt it seems that you are not wearing anything.

January 2, 2020

Comfortable and functional, solid fit.

Comfortable and functional, solid fit. Sleeves a bit on the short side.

December 31, 2019

Trail shirt

Going to use for hiking

December 29, 2019

Nice shirt

Main purpose for this purchase is to use the shirt on my planned fishing trips. It seems to meet my require. The size choice I think it’s a overall tricky. It vary between models.

December 23, 2019

Good light shirt for sun

Good light shirt for sun protection. XL fits perfect for 6'1" 215# male.

December 18, 2019

Great travel shirt

These shirts worked well on an Asia trip through different climates from subtropical to wintry (under a sweater). They're easy to wash and dry quickly.

December 17, 2019

Sol is King

Excellent fabric and fit. Love collar design. Offer similar collar to other shirts...

December 15, 2019

Great shirt.

Great shirt.

November 22, 2019

Great shirt

The shirt fits well and the sleeves are long enough for my size. I'm 6', slim, and this shirt fits better than other brands.

November 22, 2019

Stylish no matter the occasion

Bought this shirt for a trip to the Caribbean and it did not disappoint. Humidity was no match for this shirt due to the light airy fabric that allowed the cool ocean breeze through. This shirt is stylish for the fanciest lodges and functional enough for any outdoor adventure you can throw at it. Would highly recommend this shirt

November 6, 2019

I strive to be Large.

I strive to be Large. But usually I'm between L and XL so I think this runs true to size. Nice features for fishing and a great looking shirt off the water.

October 28, 2019

I got it I like it

I got it I like it

October 8, 2019

Great warm season shirt

I started wearing the Sol Patrol shirts when they first came out. I now have a closet full of them. They make a great everyday work shirt on the job site as they are durable and well made. I Also wear them all weekend fishing and outdoors. They work great April through October in NC.

September 21, 2019

Awesome hot weather shirt

Very pleased. This is a very lightweight, well constructed, well thought out sun shirt. The fabric is thin and airy, the whole garment feels as if it is not there at all. The roll up sleeves and the fold up collar are pretty common in the industry now but what impressed me was the very large vent/mesh area of the back. Typically when I buy a techni... Read Morecal shirt like this I like to turn it inside out so I can see all the ventilated areas of the garment. The whole upper back of this shirt is a covered mesh panel. On the front side, the security pocket has a lot of mesh to it, basically the whole upper left side of the chest is well ventilated. I typically hike around with the pockets open to better ventilate body heat. When I’m traveling around town, airports and taxis, I put items in the convenient pockets Again, super light weight shirt, airy, soft to the touch, not ‘nylony’ at all with sun protection and vents, what more could you ask for? My only suggestion: place a second security pocket on the right side so that venting or carry options are more symmetrical. But as it is now it’s pretty perfect. This is my second Sol Patrol II long sleeve. I also own a Sol Patrol II short sleeve for when the sun, dust or bugs won’t bother too much.

September 15, 2019

Outside guy

Great shirt. Light material but tough enough to handle outdoor rigors. I fish and wear this to the beach to keep the sun off me and it does the trick and really does help keep you cool. Nice enough 2 wear out just about anywhere makes it versatile as well.

September 13, 2019

Almost as great as last years

This is a fantastic shirt. I own pretty much every color (except coral- it's just not me). I buy at least two every year. This years shirt is not a 5-star- I'm a skinny guy - 6"2" , 175 lbs with thin arms and when I roll up the sleeves of my two new shirts I cannot make the last roll by the button without my arm feeling like it ... Read Moreis in a blood pressure cuff, remember I have skinny arms. Nobody has ever said about me- that guy it cut! Everything else about the shirt is tops. The fits everywhere else is perfect. I wear a large- a medium would be too restrictive.

September 5, 2019

The Best Shirts EVER!

Love these shirts. Low maintenance and super comfortable. Great for a day on the water. Light weight and breathable. My number one shirt whether I am on the water or in the office. My favorites for sure! And the sleeves are actually long enough! Im 6' 3" and most shirts are too short in the arms. Thanks for a great shirt Patagonia!

September 5, 2019

Long Sleeved Sol Patrol II

The material is really nice and the fit ( medium ) works except for the sleeve length. It is a good inch too long. I have been finding this to be true with Patagonia shirts for a few years. They used to fit great, too bad you changed them.

September 3, 2019

Very Pleased

On my way to the Peruvian jungle at the beginning of their summer. I purchased this long sleeve shirt to wear in the heat, while being protected from the sun and mosquitos. I will have better clarity on the wisdom of my purchase in a couple of months. In the meantime, I am enjoying it on my hikes in the Colorado Rockies.

August 31, 2019

Nice look and feel

These shirts fit true to size and are well designed. The pockets are large, but not oversized and the pop-up collar is a nice feature. Great for driving a convertible in summer weather.

August 29, 2019

Awesome!!

First off, I’m a girl review this men’s shirt. I had the women’s Sol Patrol shirt (maybe the 2016 version?), but my husband lost it in Yosemite last month and I had really liked it, so I decided to pick up another one. The thing that kept me from buying some of the Worn Wear options and the current women’s option was the lack of mention of the zipp... Read Moreered pocket. Zippered pockets are the best. But then, I saw that the men’s had a zippered pocket (in an even better location, in my opinion - contents are less likely to bounce awkwardly around on the chest vs. the side), so I ordered the men’s XS with my fingers crossed. It is PERFECT (for me, at least)!! I’m not a big person, but I’m tall and lanky, and I was ecstatic to have sleeves that are long enough!! I haven’t worn this one out yet, but I wore my old one all over the place, and I’m excited to break this one in ASAP! Thanks, guys!!

August 29, 2019

Sol Patrol® II Shirt

Don't change a thing, both short and long sleeve. Recently bought more just to put away for years down the road.

August 26, 2019

Superb shirt

Well made, comfortable, versatile, looks great. My husband loves his. Got one for for my son-in-law. Plan to buy more

August 16, 2019

New Favorite

Lightweight and cool, works for everything. I'm tall but lean and the size S fits me really well- not too tight and not baggy. I feel like a million bucks in it.

August 11, 2019

Fits great, even for a big guy..

Long time Patagonia fan (and former dealer) and was bummed when the new "slim/trim" fit became all the rage. Always was an XXL even when I was in shape and couldn't fit into the new trim XXL. Jumped ship to other brands just to get something that was comfortable but always was disappointed in the performance, durability and designs. ... Read MoreGlad to see the "relaxed" fit is back in some styles as well as the occasional XXXL. I know, I know, I'll get my butt back on the trail/slopes/river and knock down a size (or two) soon but until then, I'm happy again!

August 11, 2019

Quality shirt

Everything from the fit to the materials of this shirt is spot on, 5 stars!!

August 10, 2019

VERY NICE FITTING SHIRT. MATERIAL

VERY NICE FITTING SHIRT. MATERIAL FEELS AND LOOKS GREAT. WILL BE BUYING MORE

August 10, 2019

Sol Patrol® II Shirt,

My previous one is still going strong after many years. This new one seems in line to carry on as well

August 10, 2019

Great shirt

Perfect for hot LA summer days even without a fishing pole in hand.

June 17, 2019

The most legit travel shirt... EVER!

I wore this shirt every day for 450 days in some of the world's most testing environments. I know that sounds extreme, but hey, my job is to explore the world by bicycle. Anyway, I've used lots of shirts over the years, and this is the best I've used by a factor of 10. It's soft on the skin, lightweight, fast-drying, well-ventil... Read Moreated, wrinkle-free, abrasion and UV resistant. It has tonnes of pockets (ok, there's three), a pop-up collar and meets bluesign enviro standards. My only criticism is that I'm super tall and skinny, and the sleeves run short. If I size up to get the right sleeve length, it's twice as wide as my torso. The collar is a bit floppy too, it'd be sweet if it had a bit more rigidity.

June 15, 2019

Rugged shirt

Doesn’t wrinkle which makes for great travel wear. The mesh fabric at center back, keeps it cool. The zippered front slide pocket is good for resort room key or other valuables.

May 9, 2019

My go to sun protection!

The sol patrol shirt is the most comfortable, long wearing shirt I have found. It is both solid enought for a jungle safari and stylish enough for cocktails at the fanciest lodge. All while protecting you with 50 spf sun protection.

May 8, 2019

Great shirt

Wore this on safari in Kenya, great fit and lightweight shirt.

May 8, 2019

Super In Sun

Just acquired my second Sol Patrol Long Sleeve..I rely on the shirts to help protect me from Sun (per my dermatologist suggestion)..have used in Florida, Arizona, and Summertime Midwest..nice and light and spacious enough for some cooling. Highly recommend.

April 3, 2019

Men’s sol patrol II long sleeve shirt

I have two of these shirts and just ordered another, they are great for wearing out in the heat of the day, it’s amazing how cool they keep you in the hot sun. I ordered mine in extra large, they do run big but I have broad shoulders and do not like to feel constricted, freedom of movement when fly fishing is important to me. I will wear this shirt... Read More in Florida in May and it keeps me cool when waking to dinner, or on the beach. Great shirt from a environmental concerned company, you won’t be disappointed with this shirt

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches