Back to Product

Black Hole® Duffel 70L

Write Your Review

4.88 /5

Filter Reviews

All 58 Reviews

Clear All

Black Hole® Duffel 70L

4.88
True To Size
July 13, 2020

Black hole duffel bag

This bag is durable and the 70L is a great value. Lots of room, this bag is a keeper for life!

July 9, 2020

Black hole duffel bag

This bag is durable and the 70L is a great value. Lots of room, this bag is a keeper for life!

June 25, 2020

Superb bag and an even better gift

I bought two of these bags as gifts for my college age kids. They absolutely love them! Spacious, well crafted and well designed. I owned an earlier version of this bag, I believe it was called the "Wet/Dry Bag" because it had sections for wet clothes and dry. That bag is now 20 years old and still looks new! I feel like I'm giving m... Read Morey kids a future heirloom.

June 25, 2020

Great Duffle

I use this duffel to keep all my search and rescue gear, the bag is light durable and water proof. Its the best duffle i have ever had.

June 24, 2020

These are bomber

I love my black hole bags. This is the 4th one I purchased and they work perfectly for all of my travel needs, whether it's trip on the plane or a days worth of gear in the back of my car.

June 17, 2020

Bigger than expected

This bag is very well made as I would have expected. A little larger than I anticipated but I love it. It fits a weeks worth of clothes and cold weather gear with plenty of room to spare.

June 17, 2020

The bag

Still looking for a travel multi use reliable bag? Here you got it!

June 17, 2020

Great all around bag

Super durable finish. Stays looking great. Zipper is easy to run and doesnt get caught. Plenty of space for the 70 and just the right size for a few days away.

March 9, 2020

Top quality as usual

Typical Patagonia product, does what it says it will do and in style! Great quality and features.

February 17, 2020

Favorite bag

Best bag for travel and hauling gear. I can't seem to have enough of these. Makes my life easy to have a black hole for each activity.. keeps everything organized and together. Most useful thing I own! They are well made. I had something spill in the bag the other week and the liquid did not leak out of the bag. Super easy to clean. Durable an... Read Mored fashionable. Everyone always compliments the black hole bags. The straps are very useful to put on back and carry - I don't think getting the wheeled version is necessary.

January 29, 2020

Great for hauling gear for any discipline

I predominantly use this as my larger gear hauler for motocross / dirt bike gear (helmet, boots, goggles, protective gear, clothing), and it's held up really well. I love the multiple strap options, that it can collapse and fold up when not in use, and the durability of the pack. I've contemplated running over it with my bike to see if th... Read Moreat can mark it up, since nothing else seems to.

January 27, 2020

Black hole Duffel

Nice quality and good looks!

January 15, 2020

These are the best bags for hauling gear

I have one of the original black hole duffles that I still use because it has held up so well. And this new one seems as sturdy, I like that it has gone back to the more squared off dimensions while greatly improving the pack straps and other strap features. This is a great size for carrying climbing and other heavier gear. And that it is made out ... Read Moreof recycled material can’t be beat.

December 31, 2019

wonderful

My grandsons were very suprised and very very pleased. Oldest grandson has his backpack for three years it still looks great. Very pleased with the products we have purchased from you.

December 31, 2019

Fits everything for anywhere

The perfect size bag for your next adventure! Can be used as a duffel or backpack! And the plum color is fantastic. Thanks for an amazing product!

December 27, 2019

a big hit at Christmas

I bought 2 of these -one for each of my sons, 18 and 19.They were immediately impressed with the unexpected gifts and will use them to travel abroad this summer and shuttle back and forth to college. Love the backpack option.

December 24, 2019

70l

Great bag for the value. Have several of them

December 19, 2019

Travel Bag

The 70 L is great for long trips. It holds everything I need for a 5-7 day trip. The material keeps The rain from getting wet. I also have the 50 L. Best duffel I’ve ever owned.

December 19, 2019

Black Hole of My Dreams

This bag is perfect for travel. I spill things pretty often and I appreciate how easy to clean the bag is, as well as how much it holds. Great for all types of travel - I've been able to keep a months worth of clothing in this duffel.

December 19, 2019

Black Hole Duffel

Great bag from a great company!

December 18, 2019

Black Hole Duffel

It is a great bag. I also own a 60L. Great bag for short trips to the snow or any where. Thank you for the great products you produce.

December 13, 2019

Fast shipping, great product

Great boat bag, lots of room. Backpack straps are comfortable.

December 11, 2019

Great Duffel. Super sturdy and

Great Duffel. Super sturdy and a wide range of use from a daily catch all for all my biking gear and spare clothes to airplane travel for extended trips. Paired with the smallest Black Hole bag for my travel kit it is awesome!

December 9, 2019

As advertised great utility bag

As advertised great utility bag

December 6, 2019

BH Duffel 70L

Not new to these bags, and am in fact creating a collection of all the sizes. Durable and easily 'handle-able" when full. This one will actually be rolling south for a trip into Argentina...and then who knows.

December 1, 2019

Best Bag Ever!

this is my absolute favorite duffel! Super easy to transport, fits ton of stuff, durable, waterproof and lightweight!

November 26, 2019

Great bag!!

Wanted one of these for a long time! Totally held up to my expectations! Good for both backcountry and just regular travel.

November 23, 2019

Amazing Bag

I have three of these bags and have been more than happy with every one of them!

November 22, 2019

Best duffel I've had

Toughest and best bag I've ever owned. It's been in plane holds, in torrential rain and deserts. Best all round bag I've owned. Taking it to Greenland and I've no doubt it will hold up.

November 19, 2019

Best bag I own

This bag has been lugged all over the world from the desert to snowy alpine locations and it has proved itself as true workhorse. The water resistant material and backpack straps truly but this bag on another level. I will continue to use this bag as my main workhorse for many years.

November 19, 2019

Great shell

Super light weight, comfortable and practical. Love the stretchy material.

November 18, 2019

SUPER

this is great, super. used for a trip to uzbekistan. but, hard to carry when full, heavy.

November 13, 2019

Great bag!

I live in southeast Alaska where it rains almost everyday! The bag sat in a boat for over 2 hours and I was so shocked to find everything dry inside! It’s durable it’s a great bag for anything!

November 8, 2019

Great duffel with 1 limitation

Received my 70L duffle recently and it is now getting the treatment with some rough overseas travel in Africa. The construction is sturdy; the zipper very good; the ease of converting to backpack mode is excellent. My only suggestion for improvement is related to security. The zipper is not designed to accept an approved lock in the closed position... Read More. More concerning is an internal pocket that can easily be accessed from the outside. This is not lockable, and an internal zipper of the same pocket gives prying hands full access to the main compartment. Other than this concern, I am quite happy with this product.

November 6, 2019

I like that the changes have been changed up

I think these are the perfect bags for long weekends or really up to a week. I like that the sizes were changed up a big, so I can have the full array!

November 5, 2019

Stoked!

Stoked!

November 5, 2019

Great Bags

These duffels are solid. Everything you need and nothing you don’t. Our old 90L bag was stolen along with all of our clothing and gear a few weeks back. This bag served as a nice replacement and the 70L is a good size for long weeks on the road.

November 4, 2019

Great Bag

I used my 70L for a trip to Maine this fall. It held the many clothes and gear I couldn’t live without. I’m very happy with the bag and look forward to using it again

November 3, 2019

I like the bag and

I like the bag and will use it to carry my Ski Patrol stuff to the hill for my shifts. No shifts yet, I have another Blackhole Bag that I use a lot.

October 30, 2019

Bags for Safari

Bought two bags for a 2-week safari in Kenya and Tanzania. Probably could have gone down a size, but this allowed for some extra room for other items. No issues with airplane cargo hold, safari vehicle stuffing, etc... Still look new. About to buy the 55l for smaller needs. Also love the recycled content.

October 27, 2019

great bag, rugged

I own one of the very first black hole duffels (which is still my favorite bag - so light and roomy) but bought this as I needed another travel bag. I suspect it will last me forever. While a bit heavier then the old style black hole bags it does allow more organizing with the internal pockets etc... I don't think you can go wrong with one of ... Read Morethese.

October 17, 2019

High quality

Packs small, unfold and it’s just the right size duffel/backpack for traveling.

October 15, 2019

Lots of capacity

Love that this holds so much and that it has the option to use as a backpack. It’s a little too big as a backpack when full. I wish the straps had more padding and there was a hip belt to shift the weight. But otherwise it’s a solid duffel - love that it collapses to a small pouch.

October 15, 2019

Best bag ever?

I wanted a bag I could use for long trips and didn't have wheels. The bag is huge! This bag is so durable. It was processed through 4 airports. Very important to take the shoulder straps off prior to checking it so they don't get broken or lost. The bag still looks brand new. My lady and I were able to both use it over a 4 day long weeken... Read Mored. I will definitely be looking for a smaller one for shorter trips. If you were on the fence about getting the Black Hole, time to get off and buy it! Thank you Patagonia for quality products!

October 9, 2019

Perfect Travel Bag

Great for long weekends, traveling aboard, and/or camping trips. It’s versatile, sharp looking, functional, easy to travel with, and not to mention, the bag that’s the envy of all of your friends!

October 4, 2019

Amazing duffel bags

I have had a smaller Black Hole Duffel for years and use it constantly. I needed a larger one for a more extended vacation and I expect it to be just as great. These are well made, extremely resistant to wear and weather, and are very convenient. I would highly recommend these bags.

October 3, 2019

Black Hole Duffel

Perfect size for road trips. The duffel is built to last!

September 18, 2019

Great duffel, but lacks security

I'm very satisfied with my new duffel, except for one design flaw. You cannot secure the contents of the bag with TSA approved locks. The problem isn't with the large access flap on the top (which can be locked), it is with the small pocket on the side. There's an external zipper and an internal zipper, and neither one can be locked ... Read Morein any way. So if you lock the top access flap, a potential thief still has access to everything in the duffel by simply unzipping the side pocket, reaching in, and unzipping the inside zipper. Yes, I know that all duffels are vulnerable to knife attack and can't ever be fully secure, but there is no good reason why simple measures (like rings sewn into the bag to which the side zipper and/or internal zipper can be locked) can't be taken to deter some thieves. Please note that the many of the questions in the review don't apply to duffels, so I left them blank.

September 17, 2019

Great duffel and colors

This duffel has great workmanship and color combination but is bigger than what I need so I have returned it

September 14, 2019

Outstanding bag! I took it

Outstanding bag! I took it on a 10 day trip and had room for plenty of optional clothes/gear with lots of extra room still available.

August 26, 2019

Love it!

We have multiples of this bag now and love them! This bad is pretty large but the quality of the bag wasn’t sacrificed at all!

August 22, 2019

Black Hole Bag

Awesome product. Love the attached daisy chain: easy strapping to the roof rack for road tripping!

August 15, 2019

It's big. And perfect.

As the owner of a 60L Black Hole Duffel that was purchased a few years back, my partner and I needed to buy another so we'd both have bags for weekend camping and cabin trips. When I've been able to fill the 60L in the past, I still haven't been able to fill the 70L. Love the added backpack straps for when this bag is used for weeklo... Read Moreng work trips and the bag is durable enough that I'm not afraid to throw it into the back of a truck. 12/10 would recommend.

August 12, 2019

Awesome Gear Bag

I'm a ski patroller during the winter and a firefighter during the summer, and this bag goes everywhere with me. It can carry everything I need, from my ski gear in the winter, to my fire gear during the summer. I have 2 of these bags in the 70L and the 60L, and both perform exactly as expected. If you're looking for a catchall bag that c... Read Morean carry a week's worth of clothes, your ski gear, your fishing gear, cycling gear, or any outdoor trip imaginable, this is the bag for it.

August 11, 2019

Bomber bag

So far so good...just finishing up a 3-week plus Alaskan adventure using commercial airlines, floatplanes, pickups and remote cabins. Held all my gear (any bigger and I couldn’t lift it). Love the purple color-stands out in the airport. Like the inside cinch down straps and handles on each end of the bag to boost it up into the bush plane.

August 8, 2019

Ugh.

So yeah, as a Guide, I spend about 200 days a year out there and my 11 year old Daughter spends about 80 out there with me. We have three of these bags. The marketing narrative reads, "highly weather-resistant." Nope. Which, is a bummer. We absolutely support Patagonia. We are dedicated to the Philosophy of the company and Chouinard perso... Read Morenally. I'm a Tenkara fly fishing Guide, ski instructor, backcountry ski Guide, snow shoe Guide...yada, yada, yada. Our gear is super important to us. This one, actually three (we have three sizes), didn't leave up to "the dream." Again, bummer.

Response from Patagonia
August 11, 2019

Thank you for your feedback on the Black Hole Duffel and sorry to hear that it's not the bag that you were looking for. The Black Hole line is water-resistant but it is not waterproof so water will eventually soak through the bag. For truly waterproof protection for your gear, we recommend checking out our [Stromfront line](https://www.patagonia.com/search/?q=storm+front&lang=en_US).

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches