Back to Product

Patagonia Baby Down Sweater Jacket

Write Your Review

4.9 /5

Filter Reviews

All 62 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Baby Down Sweater Jacket

4.9
Kinda Small
October 3, 2020

On our third season of wearing this coat

Im motivated to write a review as I just put this coat on my daughter for the third year in a row. Two years ago I bought a size 2T for my then-20-month-old. Last year she wore it at 2.5. This year it still fits at three-and-a-half. The sleeves a bit short but its still the perfect weight for fall, layers nicely, washes beautifully each time, and s... Read Moreomehow, miraculously still fits... I highly recommend it, and next year we will size up a few sizes and start the process anew!

September 28, 2020

great buy

Purchased this last minute for a camping trip to wyoming. It was windy and rained on us, and my little one was nice a warm. Purchased a 3T for my 2 year old. 2T fit perfect, however we bought a size up so it lasts her a year and for layering.

September 15, 2020

Super comfortable and easy to pack!

I purchased the Baby Down sweater jacket in red for my grandson who is 18 months old. His parents live that he can wear it while in his car seat but the down lining keeps him warm while playing outside. I bought him a size 12 month last year which he has grown out of. My other 4 grandchildren all have this jacket in different colors (ages 5-10) and... Read More they all love wearing them!

September 2, 2020

Great fit for a little one

This is a great jacket, keeps the little ones warm with out the large/bulkieness of other jackets.

September 1, 2020

Baby down sweater jacket

Good fit for size ordered. Nice jacket.

July 3, 2020

Bring Back Plains Green!

We bought the Plains Green when my son was between 2T and 3T. He LOVES his coat. We live on Nantucket and this jacket works 9 months out of the year, it isnt water proof or all the water resistant but it works. He now wears 4T and I had hoped to get him a 5T which would last him another 2 winters but theyre out of the Plains Green color. It is his ... Read Moreactual favorite color and helps him be easily identified when we are out in Nature. The coat keeps him warm and isnt bulky so its not an issue in his car seat. I will check at our local shop to see if they have one otherwise I will wait and see if the color comes back for the fall *fingers crossed*

July 13, 2020

Warm, Easy to Clean

Purchased for my 10 month old to replace his 3-6m puffy sweater. Both sweaters ran a bit long which helps to keep his back and stomach covered when being carried. New one is a bit oversize and should fit in a month. Easy to layer if necessary and works well as a 3 season jacket. Easy to clean spit-up and sticky foods. Does not stain easily. Will pa... Read Moress on sweater to friends kids as he outgrows it.

July 13, 2020

Very warm, great quality

I bought this jacket for our babygirl and I'm in love with it. The quality is great, it's super cuteand very warm without being bulky. Would recommend it!

July 10, 2020

Very warm, great quality

I bought this jacket for our babygirl and I'm in love with it. The quality is great, it's super cuteand very warm without being bulky. Would recommend it!

July 10, 2020

Warm, Easy to Clean

Purchased for my 10 month old to replace his 3-6m puffy sweater. Both sweaters ran a bit long which helps to keep his back and stomach covered when being carried. New one is a bit oversize and should fit in a month. Easy to layer if necessary and works well as a 3 season jacket. Easy to clean spit-up and sticky foods. Does not stain easily. Will pa... Read Moress on sweater to friends kids as he outgrows it.

June 18, 2020

Washes and wears beautifully.

This is the second baby down sweater jacket I bought for a gift for my nieces boys. She loves these jackets. She said they wash up well and her sons get so much use out of them. Shes hooked.

June 14, 2020

Best puffy for kids

We were first introduced to these jackets as hand-me-downs from friends and quickly realized this jacket was LIFE for little ones. I can trust my toddler is warm enough in his puffy all winter, even if its drizzling. They wash well when he inevitably spills things all over it. It has held up well on falls and playground climbing. They run big, wh... Read Moreich is a plus in my book so the kiddos dont grow out of them as fast. Once our son did grow out of his puffy we did not hesitate to buy the next size and expect to pass it down to his younger brother too. So worth it!!!!

February 24, 2020

Perfect heath controll

Too bad they didnt have a hooded version - would be even better. Bought 4T for my 2yo, because the one we had i 2T was way too small. He is 92cm (average hight).

December 30, 2019

Excellent product and service

Excellent product and service

December 29, 2019

The Best Jackets

Durable, light jackets that can take a beating. We’ve purchased a few now, which we then pass down to friends and family with smaller kids. The quality is outstanding and customer service is always friendly and efficient.

December 26, 2019

Great coat!

Great coat!

December 19, 2019

Very warm and great shade of red

This is year 2 buying the Baby Down Sweater and the fit is great and this jacket keeps my son very warm even in the cold Northeast winters. And it looks great and fits comfortably in his carseat.

December 11, 2019

Perfect for Toddler!

This jacket is a staple for our kids. And especially love the gender neutral navy color. Simple, straightforward and keeps our kids super warm. Will continue to buy for years to come!

December 7, 2019

My daughter is usually a

My daughter is usually a 5T. The 5T fit her fine and had a little room to grow but since we wanted this jacket for under her snowboard and rain coats for warmth we went with a 4T which fits just a bit more snug (without being too small) so it’s more comfortable as a layer. I’d say my daughter is average size for a 5 year old

December 3, 2019

Amazing Jacket!

This jacket is perfect for our son! It looks great, and he loves it!

December 3, 2019

The sizing is big I

The sizing is big I ordered a 2t for my son that is 2-1/2 and it’s very big on him but I already took the tags off to be able to exchange. Hopefully it will fit next year .

Response from Patagonia
December 23, 2019

Hi Monica! We're sorry this ended up being too big. Please note that you're welcome to return that for the right size, even if you already removed the tags. We've emailed you a free shipping label and all necessary instructions in case you'd still like to return that.

November 25, 2019

So cute

Love this coat. Love that there is no hood - easier for the car seat. It's thin but nice and warm. Good quality. My 4 y/o loves it.

November 22, 2019

Always love the Patagonia product.

Always love the Patagonia product. Wears great and good quality.

November 22, 2019

Perfect!

Perfect jacket to keep the little warm in the car and in between stores! Even out in the cold, it keeps him super warm!

November 20, 2019

Perfect

This jacket is perfect for NY weather, the car and the outdoors. It's a great jacket to layer. My Little one is 22 months old and is on the bigger side( 33 pounds and 35inches ) we ordered the 5T and it's amazing. Hoping to get another season out of it. We roll the sleeves once and its great.This jacket will also serve well come time the ... Read Morespring.thos was a great qaulity purchase... worth the money! He has worn this jacket everyday for the past month.

November 18, 2019

Patagonia jacket baby

Great coat for 60’s - high 40’s. anything colder we use a bigger coat. Also runs HUGE. My 2yr fits in the 12-18m jacket and there’s still plenty of room.

November 18, 2019

The ONLY kids winter jacket you need!

The best winter jacket. Lightweight & super warm. Never leaks the feathers. Easy to put toddler in car seat in this jacket. Easy to clean. We’re rough on our gear and Patagonia stands tough. Worth every penny!

November 17, 2019

Perfect Car Seat Coat

We bought this coat to make our daily winter commute in the car seat much easier. It keeps our little one warm during our MN winters and is thin enough to keep on while in the car seat. It was spendy but well worth it to avoid the daily hassle we'd have with other winter coats.

November 13, 2019

Great Winter Coat for Kids

This is a great coat for kids. This is the third winter we've purchased this coat for our 3 year old. I know you aren't technically supposed to wear with carseats but it is so thin that you can. Super warm and practical. Also holds up really nice so his little brother will get great use out of it too :)

November 13, 2019

Great Value

This jacket is perfect for my 5 year old who is on the smaller size. A 4T fits her well. It's warm but also not bulky, which is helpful when getting her in and out of the car seat.

November 12, 2019

Great jacket for my grandson

Great jacket for my grandson

November 11, 2019

What’s not to love?

Appreciate all that is Patagonia!

November 9, 2019

Warm and cozy

Warm and cozy

November 9, 2019

Perfect for my 19 month

Perfect for my 19 month old to use from the house to daycare and around as we get in and out of The car seat. You probably need layers or something heavier for lots of outside time on a really cold day, but otherwise great for everyday use.

November 7, 2019

Perfect

As perfect as it is every year. Runs narrow

November 6, 2019

Always great

We have never been disappointed by a Patagonia purchase.

November 6, 2019

Love Patagonia's business model and

Love Patagonia's business model and quality of clothing. Colors are difficult, but always find a color that works. I'm a bit color obsessed!

November 5, 2019

Great jacket for layering for

Great jacket for layering for Kodiak weather.

November 1, 2019

Great kids jacket, durable and

Great kids jacket, durable and warm.

October 31, 2019

Best Buddies

Dodad with his best buddy. Purchased next size for this guy. His is being passed down to his baby brother. Love the look and quality. Not showing any wear or tear. Looking forward to buying pink some day.

October 28, 2019

Fast delivery- great product

I buy one every year for my daughter for the winter. It is car seat safe and keeps her warm. They do run big. MY daughter fits in 5T but I always buy the size smaller. I ordered her a 4T and it is still a little big.

October 25, 2019

Perfect

I love the jacket. Can't wait for my grand daughter to wear it.

October 25, 2019

Three Cubed

We love this jacket!! We know our oldest will wear it, then we’ll loan it to our friend’s son to wear for a winter before it comes back to us for our youngest son to wear. Since we’re all connected via six degrees of separation...we possibly might be able to then share it with someone across the world whose kid could wear it and then pass it on to ... Read Morethe next lucky bugger.

October 21, 2019

Best jacket ever

I’ve bought this down sweater many times for my grandchildren, and it’s always a hit. Do know that it runs large, unlike the fleece jackets. Size down when ordering.

October 17, 2019

We've had multiple!

This jacket has been our go-to for all season in Alaska for our children 6mo-4yrs so far. Great for spring and fall, still warm enough in winter for trips in and out of the car or out playing with additional layers. Great insulation for its weight and good wind protection. Not too bulky for climbing and play. The only puff-style jacket we'll p... Read Moreut our kids in the carseat with (as long as they aren't wearing bulk underneath). Awesome quality, good to hand down season after season. Wash well. Runs large, as we've found most Patagonia to do for us. Our kids are petite but both wore the 3-6mo size jacket until 16/18 months old! While wearing other brand 12-18mo. This said the jacket works well still fitting big with room to grow, so we get multiple seasons for each kids out of each jacket. For two winters now we've debated maybe not worth the price as it's easy to find less expensive jackets, then we end up getting this jacket because it is so functional.

October 14, 2019

Great

Exactly what we were looking for. The sizes fit big so we ordered a size down.

September 26, 2019

Lasts forever

Over a year ago I received this jacket for my 2-year-old daughter. After wearing it aaaaaaaaallll year (it was her only jacket other than a nice church jacket), and getting everything imaginable on it, it will looks fantastic when washed. So I bought another for this year. Great to have found an awesome product (even though it costs an arm and a le... Read Moreg).

September 20, 2019

We come back to these

We come back to these jackets every year for our boys. Here in New England, we use them daily fall winter & spring. Light enough that the boys feel comfortable being active and moving the way children should. Warm enough for nearly any weather this region throws at us. A bonus that car seats buckle comfortably over these jackets for our kids. T... Read Morehe ones we’ve purchased for our oldest have been in perfect condition as hand me downs again and again. In our opinion, the perfect jacket.

September 1, 2019

Awesome gear

Family Loved it so much, bought matching sets

August 29, 2019

Comfy, warm, great quality

I really can’t ever say anything bad about a Patagonia product, and this is just the same. I bought big to try to get a couple seasons out of it, and knowing the quality I know it’ll last through any rough and tumble kid wear!

August 10, 2019

Baby down sweater

Would be a five star item however runs so small that had to return.

May 9, 2019

meant for warmth and cuteness

A lovely item for growing babies

May 9, 2019

Looking forward to years of use

This is the second purchase as my son is getting bigger. These have been excellent hand-me-downs to his little brother.

May 8, 2019

We love it!

This is the perfect little jacket for chilly days. So light, we just throw it in the backpack if we think there’s a remote chance we might want it. It keeps our toddler cozy and it looks cute, too.

February 16, 2019

Perfect for the car

I got my daughter (currently 19 months old) the size 6-12 and it was perfect. She is small, but not super small. I wanted it to fit nicely because I planned to use it in the car and you need something that isn't too bulky for the car seat. We've been super happy with it! Granted she's not rough on her clothes besides getting food all... Read More over them. It cleans up nicely in the wash.

January 1, 2019

Love love love

Lightweight. Warm. Seemingly comfortable for my toddler. Love this jacket.

November 2, 2018

Best car seat coat - the search is over!

After 3 winters of searching, I've finally found a great carseat coat! This jacket is awesome - warm, thin, compresses super small (easy to shove in a toddler-size backpack), and wind resistant. It doesn't get that cold in Northeast Ohio (winters are usually mid-teens), but the wind can make you miserable. We've had some cold and w... Read Moreindy days already, and so far these coats have held up. My daughter used to complain about the wind, but not anymore. In all fairness, I don't plan to send the kids out to play in the snow in these coats, but they're PERFECT for wearing in the car to run errands or go to/from daycare.

October 18, 2018

Best jacket! Love the new zippers

My kids each have a hi-loft down hoody, a down sweater, and a down vest. These 3 pieces of outerwear get them through whatever weather Colorado throws at us. The down sweater jacket gets worn the most, and it's as close to perfect as a kids coat can be: warm, packs down to nothing, easy to clean. My younger kiddos wear hand-me-downs, so some o... Read Moref the jackets and vests in rotation are a few seasons old. I bring this up because the older jackets have small metal zippers that are very hard for toddlers to do by themselves. The newer jackets from the past couple years have chunky plastic zippers that are much more kid-friendly -- it makes my life so much easier to hear "I do it I did it I do it I did it!" which means I don't have to help dress them. Bravo for these new zippers! And THANK YOU to the amazing staff at the Denver store. I called to ask if there was anything they could do about our older jackets, and they offered to replace the old metal zippers with new plastic ones, free of charge. Great gear and amazing customer service!

October 6, 2018

Baby Down Sweater, the coat that is worn each year

This is our 2nd purchase of a baby down sweater. Each year, our boy wears this coat through the winter months. I may be biased for this brand since it's everywhere here in Bozeman, but I have really liked this coat. I can layer it or not and it stays functional and warm. This time, we got the Dark Currant color. It isn't quite the reddish... Read More color that I saw on the picture. It is more like a purplish, with a pinkish lining. Still pleased with purchase.

August 25, 2018

Love

So, we've had five of these for our boys as they've grown and absolutely love them. They're warm without being bulky and needing lots of extra layers - and we live in Colorado! We'll continue to purchase through the years. We did just receive the Dark Currant and were disappointed to see that in person, it doesn't appear as... Read More boyish as it does online so we'll be exchanging it. Otherwise, a great product that last through many children and seasons.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches