Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Burly Man Soft Shell Hooded Work Jacket

Write Your Review

4.45 /5

Filter Reviews

All 47 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Burly Man Soft Shell Hooded Work Jacket

4.45
September 13, 2020

Very comfortable jacket

I like it very much, it has great pockets and I can wear it with just a shirt underneath, its what I was looking for .

September 13, 2020

Perfect fall jacket and more

Roomy fit is ideal for adding base layers. Rear pocket holds frisbee for when I'm playing with my dog. Sometimes stash a camera in it. Really well thought out garment.

September 10, 2020

For work or play?

I usually buy a medium from Patagonia. But from what other people put in their reviews I gambled and got a small. I am 511 and 175lbs. This hoodie/jacket is the real deal. Went camping in Michigans Upper Peninsula and some nights it was in the high 40s sitting by the fire. This jacket is wool lined and very warm. The pockets on front have riveted c... Read Moreorners and are set at the right angle for easy use. This jacket has a pocket on the back which I stashed a set of work gloves in. Also the hood comes in handy when the wind picks up off Lake Superior. I did not get wet in this jacket so I can not speak to its permeability in the rain. I would buy this coat again in a different color. More expensive then Carhartt but should last as long or longer for work wear.

September 9, 2020

Too big but...would love a xxl please, since was never refunded

Never got the refund when I returned or a xxl because xxxl was way too big. I prefer exchange, but if not refund please

September 8, 2020

Quality

I haven't had a good opportunity to use this jacket, but will now that the weather is getting cooler. It's a quality made jacket that's warm and durable. Perfect for walking the dogs, hauling wood and working in the yard during fall-winter-spring months.

September 7, 2020

Burly it shall be.

Fits as expected, slightly large for the size. Hood could be a little bigger, or at least adjustable some how, to fit over standard construction hard hat. Looking forward to seeing how it holds up during the upcoming winter season.

September 6, 2020

Well made

I had heard this jacket runs large but being that I dont wear my clothes tight I thought it was an excellent fit. I recently was displaced by the CZU Lightning Complex wildfire in the Santa Cruz mountains in California and this jacket arrived the day I was evacuated , so along with some photo albums and a duffel bag of clothes for my son and a duff... Read Moreel for me this was the only cold weather piece of clothing I had and it didnt let me down. I highly recommend this jacket

September 6, 2020

Burly indeed...

Great sweatshirt / coat, definitely runs big, I am 6 195lbs and the medium fits great, normally I am a large. Look forward to putting it through its paces this fall and winter.

June 25, 2020

Not abrasion resistant as stated

Scratched up pretty easily.

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2020

We are sorry to hear that this got scratched up and we really appreciate your feedback on that. If you decide you are unsatisfied with the purchase, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

February 10, 2020

Great Work Jakcet!

This Jacket is great for farm work and even leisure time! it is every warm and stylish. I'm really impressed with the style and material! it is very true to size.

February 3, 2020

Great Jacket

Will last a lifetime. This jacket is that well made. 3XL with room for layers.

January 13, 2020

Hope to wear for life.

Love this jacket.

January 2, 2020

Outstanding jacket for warmth and

Outstanding jacket for warmth and work

December 19, 2019

Great work jacket

Roomy warm jacket built for a layers underneath. The slick lining in the sleeves help keep the base layer sleeves at the wrist. Big pockets and a massive one along the lower back. Another plus is the cuffs are tight so they are not in the way when working

December 11, 2019

Best work Jacket for Chefs

As a professional chef, I spend 2-4 hours a day butchering fish, chicken and meats in 32 degree walk-in. This jacket holds up to riggers of my job. Designed well not to restrict my movements. Love all the pockets, keeps my iPhone warm, back pocket stores my gloves and hats, removing them out of the front pockets. Cleans up well and easy

December 11, 2019

Great Coat!

I bought this coat for my dad as a present for helping me fix my automatic transmission in the winter. He had a torn up hoodie and never complained. He loves this coat, the back pocket really excites him, he wonders why all coats don't have it. The length is great, with the tail coming down, the pockets are all great, and the weight of the fle... Read Moreece is perfect for winters out here. It's highly mobile also, since it's still a soft shell jacket regardless of the weight of the fleece. And the hood, where some people in the reviews says it hangs down, I'm not used to climbing gear or mountaineering gear cause I don't buy it much, but when it comes to work clothes it is completely perfect. The cord system, where the pulls are inside the neck, is great. We spent a good half hour going through all the little parts of this coat, and even now he runs up to me and gives me a new one. The coat is built so well, the seams are strong, the material is though, I couldn't have asked for a better purchase for him. Also, the loose fit is great, he got a size Large which is normal for him, but more specifically, the sleeves are great. My family has naturally long arms, a couple inches longer than the norm for our height, and this coat works great for him. Also, we have wider shoulders than we should to go with it, and this coat is great across the shoulders, tons of movement. I could write so much about this coat. When we got it we were working on the car, a UPS driver walked up, gave me a package, I turned and handed it to my dad. He immediately put it on and has loved it ever since. Thanks for making such great work clothes that are vast improvements to what I've had to buy from other companies for years, I always thought, when patagonia starts making work clothes they'll wiped everyone out, and you're proving me right! thank you!

December 1, 2019

Excellent choice for a hooded

Excellent choice for a hooded winter jacket. We live in Northwestern MA and winters are long. Bought this jacket for my husband but I’ll be borrowing it !!! Lower pockets are very big and the elastic cuffs work well. It’s stretchy fabric and insulation fleece are cozy and very comfortable.

November 22, 2019

Toughest jacket ever!

I bought this on a whim with some credit, and it has been my favorite Patagonia purchase out of probably 50 lifetime that I've made. For years, I've worn the Down Sweater Hoody, which I still have, but have made the Burly my go-to ever since I received it in September. It's similar in terms of warmth to that jacket, but doing things ... Read Morelike working around the house, camping, snow removal, projects in the garage or in the yard, I don't worry about the fabric catching on something and tearing. This jacket is tough, doesn't show much dirt, but still has a classic Patagonia look. The rear pocket is great for keeping a buff or pair of work gloves for easy access. The only thing constructive feedback I have is that it's definitely not a slim fit. I'm 6'3" and 185, and usually wear the slim XL or regular L in Patagonia stuff. This one I had to go with the L, which is a bit roomy for me and just long enough. I'd like to see this jacket with a slim fit, and I'd go with the XL, but that's just a skinny person's problem. I'll still be wearing this one for a long time to come.

November 20, 2019

Good construction hoody

Great build quality and materials. I was sceptical about the hood size upon reading reviews. I like to wear my hood over my hard hat to block the wind and keep warm. After 2 weeks on the job it is awesome. Hood could be bigger. A little snug when wearing over a hard hat but you get used to it. Just needs another chest pocket and a bigger hood and i... Read Moret would be perfect. Fit is roomy enough for a insulation jacket underneath. I am 5'10" 230 and have good room with a large. Keeps you warm in the low 40s with a t shirt. Add an mid layer and you will stay toasty as the temps drop

November 12, 2019

Great Product

Love it

November 12, 2019

Awesome Jacket!

Very well constructed jacket! I’m hoping for many years out of it! The only thing I wish it had is a drawstring at the bottom. If it’s possible, and anyone reads this, I would pay extra to have a drawstring put in!

November 10, 2019

Hooded Jacket

Initial impressions are good. Fits well. Useful pocket in the back, good for stashing gloves.

November 1, 2019

Rugged

Fantastic durability and warmth.

October 30, 2019

Nice jacket, not perfect

Overall a really solid jacket. Definitely runs large so consider sizing down 1 size. I'm 6'-3", 225lbs and a large fits with room for another layer under it (say a hoody for additional warmth). Sleeve length was a concern of mine, but after wearing I'm happy with the length at a size large. An internal gaiter at the waist would ... Read Morebe nice to block wind, or a cinch cord around the bottom hem. An internal pocket would be nice as well, but overall really pleased with this jacket, looks like it'll last for some time. So far I'm diggin' it.

October 9, 2019

My burly hooded jacket review.

I bought this mainly because of the hood and the description mentioned it was not slim or regular fit. It is definitely burly, and at first I didn't like it, but it will be a perfect jacket to wear tailgating, cutting trees, fall leaf maintenance, basically any outdoor home project. I haven't needed it yet, but am comforted with the fact ... Read Morethe jacket is at the ready.

May 8, 2019

Burly Man Jacket

Generous in size, waterproof and warm. Wish Patagonia offered more options in 3xl, my son’s favorite brand. His go to favorite jacket!

May 8, 2019

Great Coat

I purchased the burly man coat for my father and he loved it. I then purchased one for myself. Its a great work jacket, with room to have layers on underneath. It keeps the wind out and is water proof enough

March 6, 2019

Major failure on hood/face area

I have been using old climbing jackets for years to work in. I was excited to see a climbing gear company develop a work jacket. But the hood and face area is a major failure. Will not fit over a hard hat, my face will not fit in the jacket when fully zipped and if I have anything more than a stuble it pulls the hair out of my neck. The rest of the... Read More jacket is nice. I guess Patagonia does not know how to collaborate the desingers in the climbing department with the designers in the workwear department.

December 19, 2018

Quiver killer hoody so long as it's not fully raining...

This hoody does what it says it will. Warm, water repellent, tough as nails, and overall comfortable. However, the "soft" shell exterior is pretty stiff, as you might expect for it to be a durable work jacket. This stiffness causes the hood to come off pretty bulky behind the neck if you're wearing it in a car seat or other high back... Read More chair. That being said, there's a lot to like about this jacket. The oversized pockets are super cozy and convenient, but be careful if you're wearing this on the slopes as they have no closure mechanism and are snow magnets. The full sized hood and chin coverage are great. The interior phone pouch is a plus and holds my over-sized iPhone just fine. While a hem drawstring would have been nice to keep wind from creeping in, it's not a deal killer. I would agree with others, however, that the zipper allows more wind through than expected. On sizing, I'm 6'5" and 230 and the XXL fits well. It certainly isn't as big or boxy as some have described, but it also isn't so big I could fit multiple layers underneath comfortably. Overall, I see myself grabbing this for both everyday winter use and for those medium-cold days on the hill where the temps are in the 30s but there's not a lot of wind or precipitation to worry about.

November 23, 2018

Awesome Jacket

Super well made and warm. I got a small at 5 11" 168lb climber build and I can still get another hoody under it.

November 21, 2018

Phil

I ordered a large in this coat and it fit like a tent. Returned and sized down to a Medium and is was tight. Maybe its my body type, but am completely disappointed on how Patagonia sizes their winter coats and pants (see review of Powslayer bibs). Quality on this coat is impressive, the fit is not.

October 25, 2018

Outstanding build quality

Another great 3XL piece of kit. The quality is felt and the attention to detail show in this Burly Man jacket. Thanks Patagonia for making great gear for the larger sized people. Will continue to buy Patagonia. Been a customer since the late 80’s.

October 10, 2018

Nice but WAAAAAAAAAAAY to big

This coat is nice but ridiculously big. Nothing in my full closet is a size Medium except this coat, my entire wardrobe is in size L, even a few XL's, i'm 6-1 and 180-185 and am not a Medium. This is a hassle for the customer,the Fit Finder even said a size L. The "cell phone" pocket located inside the right big pocket will fit ... Read Morean old Apple 5 or 6, not the 6 or 7 plus, this could use an upgrade.

September 7, 2018

Warm jacket, except for the zipper

I have been wearing this jacket when I was working on a research vessel up in Western Alaska. The jacket is very warm. The only issue is the zipper. As soon as you are facing the wind, you can feel the wind chill just drill into your body. It honestly needs to be redone to have a zipper cover or a lining on the inside to prevent this(like most othe... Read Morer jackets). The jacket runs quite big, but workwear always does. I would’ve recommended this jacket to a friend, but the zipper is such an issue.

June 9, 2018

Seriously Amazing Patagonia!

Although I have only had a couple months on this piece,I sense it is already headed towards my personal Patagonia hall of fame list. I have been wearing Patagonia for 30 years,and it's truly that good! I sure appreciate the generous cut,as I have returned most of my recent Patagonia purchased due to constant sizing shuffles. I wear this jacket... Read More almost every day in the cold weather,and it's an awesome jacket in the boat. The soft-shell keeps me dry in light rain/snow,but would recommend something else to stand up to exposure to heavy precipitation.

April 10, 2018

Burly Man a Patagonia winner

I've had this coat through this past winter into spring and it rocks. I don't usually write reviews on clothing/coats yet wanted to pass it on that this coat was more than I expected in warmth,durability,lightweight,and water repellent. Pockets galore,good hood over the forehead,and snug wrists. For really icy cold days a down vest fits e... Read Moreasily underneath. You can't go wrong with this coat. Also priced right.

March 24, 2018

Another good Patagonia product

I just received my burley men's jacket . It was back orderd wasent suppose to get it till April but i got it early . I got a large I'm 6'1 200 pounds and jacket fits perfect . Only thing I don't like it how big the hood especially when not having it on it looks bulkly on your back. Other then that great product .

March 5, 2018

Smooth and Warm

A recent addition to the stable of stuff I have used over the years from Patagonia. I am going to give it praise where applicable then some comments about needed upgrades. Pros: Warm,wind and a bit water resistant. The fabric is very heavy duty,most things retained brush right off. The sewing is very tight,wonderful attention to details. Cons: The... Read More pockets either need flaps or a snap closure or both. When I am in the barn feeding the woolies haylage the pockets accumulate spillage very easily. The pull tab for the chest pocket is too flat and is hard to get to wearing gloves. As another reviewer brought up the lack of a wind flap I will have to say I agree,it is needed. Another nice feature would be a double pull zipper so you could open up the lower section of the jacket when sitting on machinery. As it is now it tend to buckle up around the waste when you sit. The sleeves could be at least another half inch longer but then I have long arms! I hope this jacket goes through some metamorphosis in design features and it would be a solid five. Until then,I will give it a four star rating.

January 5, 2018

Well build and durable

Overall exactly what the description states but a few comments: 1) not the typical Patagonia fit. This is for larger guys & fits more like carhart than typical Patagonia. Waist draw string would have helped. 2) the zipper has iced up on me forcing me to warm up and thaw out before being able too get it open. (Or use it like an anorak). A zippe... Read Morer flap would have helped 3) unless the jacket is zipped fully,the exposed zipper is scratchy. Again,zipper protection would have helped. It's insanely warm (a good thing) and stands up to all kinds of conditions.

December 12, 2017

Well done - a must have if you're working outside!

This is another home run for Patagonia. The fabric is tough and the construction bomb proof. It resists wind superbly (40+ mph don't cut through it). The cut is generous,allowing layering without being baggy and in the way. Drop back/length is great and the sleeve cuff allow for an easy interface with glove gauntlets. It sheds water and snow. ... Read MoreHood is awesome (same fabric). Zipper doesn't disappoint. In short,it is not just a make believe work-wear,it's the real deal. Don't expect to wear this in mild temp tough,it's just too warm. I would have liked another pocket like the stretched pocket for the cell phone,in the left pocket,to protect eye-ware. Also,I am 5'10" with a rather long torso (30" inseam for pants),I ordered a Medium and could have used 1/4" longer sleeve. Well done Patagonia!

December 9, 2017

Just Awesome

While I can see how some might feel stiff in this jacket,I absolutely love it. The material feels durable,it's warm,does great in the rain and is superb in blocking wind. It's been my go to and favorite jacket so far. I'm 6" and about 165lbs (slim) and the medium fit me perfect.

December 5, 2017

Solid piece of work gear. Ready for punishment.

Received this today for the winter work season and I am pretty darn excited to use it. Jacket is indeed quite burly being heavier and more dense than expected. Outer softshell fabric feels as if it is a hybrid between traditional canvas and softshell weave. Inner material feels as high loft fleece will and is very soft and warm. I have no qualms ... Read Moreabout running saws in thicket while wearing this jacket or staying warm in 10 - 20 F while running heavy machinery. Sizing feels appropriate according to the guideline. I wear an XL in most outerwear,ordered an XL in the Burly Man and feel like I have excess space to layer/move around in. I typically don't like a tight fit so the extra space is no problem to me but if you want to be more snug I could see ordering a size down as necessary. For reference I am 6'3 200 lbs with an athletic build. I haven't used Patagonia in many many years for work and am pretty stoked that they have designed a work line. I'm ready to see how long this thing lasts.

November 27, 2017

Great coat just not for me

I dont want to bad mouth the product i think its a great coat but for me i couldnt freely bend my elbows. Plenty of room in the back and shoulders but when i bend my arms to say 90 degrees it was extremely tight in the elbows which caused me to return it. Im 5'11' 235 (husky) and got a XL

November 13, 2017

Super

I wear this jacket daily for work. All of the pocket placements were well thoughtout and resourceful. The jacket is warm and protects me from the strong cold winds off Lake Superior on the north shore of MN.

October 11, 2017

Technical and Stylish

Picked up this jacket because I wanted something I could wear around town this winter as well as use as a work jacket out on the water guiding that was more weather appropriate than the Patagonia canvas jacket I already own. Plenty of room to layer underneath for the very cold days and being 6'2" about 205 the large is pretty roomy. The D... Read MoreWR finish allows light rain and drizzle to bead off no problem and moves nicely while rowing a boat. Hood is as burly as the jacket which I love,can't stand jackets built of one material and the hood is something lighter/different,not a problem with this jacket.

October 8, 2017

Great work jacket

Haven't got a ton of hours in this jacket because the temps haven't dropped,but looking to use this jacket as an addition to my fleet of Nano Puffs this winter. Love the brown color,great for hiding dirt,love the large pockets for tools. Inside fleece feels dense but great,the exterior shell feels a little stiff out of the box but guessin... Read Moreg it just needs some mileage to break in. For a medium there's plenty of room underneath for another layer ( not as form fitting as nano puffs ).

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches