Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Isthmus Parka

Write Your Review

4.56 /5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

All 66 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Isthmus Parka

4.56
Kinda Large
June 17, 2020

All the best!

So warm and safe! Bundled up like a new born in mothers Love!

May 31, 2020

INFURNO JACKET 2005

The Infurno Jacket was also made out of recycled plastic bottles. It was infinitely softer, much more compressible, the pile was much thicker and warmer and softer, the forearm sleeves were not snug and uncomfortable as this version... The sweep was perfect in a size smal -not tight as this version. 3 stars due to quality. Years ago you transitione... Read Mored the unmatched M's Das Parka into an unwearable cardboard jacket. Incomprehensible why you change jackets (profits-bottom-line?) that are as perfect in their performance as Alex Magos. When I wrote the review about your new Das Parka "version" years ago, I received "68 likes!" I thought your designers would reconsider. No luck. Patagonia never goes back to basics with a phenomenal product if it's been discontinued.

March 12, 2020

No such thing as too many pockets

Used daily for 10K steps and recreational hikes during below-freezing weather. The number and utility of the pockets allows for a pack to be skipped without leaving behind any essentials. Plenty of dedicated space for multiple pairs of gloves, hat & balaclava, phone, sunglasses, and pull-on ice cleats. The hood may be slightly too generous, whi... Read Morele the cuffs are slightly too restrictive. Even when unsnapped removing the coat while wearing a watch isn't friction free. Hope to see this design continue in future seasons with other insulation options and even more pockets.

January 31, 2020

Nice Jacket

Warm, comfortable, stylish, quality material.

January 26, 2020

Super cozy and warm

Amazing parka, I got a size L, I am normally a medium but thought it would look nice being more loose, allowing space for many layers. It is really warm. The only downside I can think of is the zipper that feels a bit cold on my neck and face but it is really minor!

January 24, 2020

Men's Isthmus Parka is Great!

I purchased the Men's Isthmus Parka as a Christmas gift for my son. He's tall, with a long torso. The coat fit great! It's very warm and comfortable to wear. He really loves the coat!

January 19, 2020

A proper coat

Really pleased with the coat! Does what coats are meant to do and actually keep you warm! Good value for money

December 30, 2019

Parka Men’s Jacket

Great jacket, fits perfect on my husband. Arrived just on time for Christmas.

December 30, 2019

Very warm!

I live in Minnesota, and LOVE the warmth of the jacket. The only suggestion I have (and I don't know if this is possible while still maintaining the warmth) is that I'd love an inside pockets.

December 29, 2019

This coat was a birthday

This coat was a birthday gift for my grandson. He loved the coat. He’s a college student and needs a warm coat.

December 29, 2019

Comfortable

Had jacket for a week now, it’s comfortable and looks great. Only thing is that It’s been in the 50’s in Chicago area so not really sure how it hold up in cold weather. Overall, I’m happy with purchase.

December 28, 2019

Warm, Comfy - Killer build

This fur lined parka has been the solution to a lot of my cold days. I originally bought it to replace one jacket, but it ended up replacing a couple instead because of its versatility. Some nice touches : the DWR coat actively works and beads rain quite well, the zippered hood attachment is clutch, and the pockets are large. Fit wise, I’m 6’3 but ... Read Moreskinny so a large was perfect. Usually I’d rep an XL just to compensate for length but Patagonia XLs are very wide and boxy if you don’t have the body mass to fill them with. I’d recommend buying this jacket if you’re just over those cold city temps at night (loves 30 degree weather) and you want something fashionable yet technical.

December 27, 2019

Great fit, great look

Great fit, great look

December 26, 2019

Great Gift!

I bought two of these for both my sons for Christmas. They love it! Perfect jacket for around town and out on a hike!

December 23, 2019

Overall good piece. Just warm

Overall good piece. Just warm enough for 0 to 5 deg. Mainly for casual wear. Nice removable good option. Hood feels a bit small. Hand warmer pockets feel a little out of position if you are coming from other jackets. Too bad there's no fleece for the sleeves, that could make it just a tad warmer.

December 20, 2019

Isthmus Parka

What a wonderful jacket! It’s a perfect jacket for that casual look! Came just in time for the cold season to begin!

December 20, 2019

Decent, not the best

The external material on the jacket is thinner than expected and not as bulky/canvas-like as You tend to see with heavy-duty/rugged parkas. I’m sure it’s fine for many people, just not what I expected. The fit was a bit more snug than other similar sized pieces from Patagonia. Specifically around the waist, it was trimmed in more than you would exp... Read Moreect on a parka jacket. Returning it...

Response from Patagonia
January 14, 2020

Betty we're sorry you were disappointed by the parka, and glad that you found the jacket to be a better fit overall! Please know that we're always happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) items to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out next time.

December 19, 2019

Not warm enough

Wanted a non bulky mid winter coat and this is not warm enough.

Response from Patagonia
January 10, 2020

Hi Jessica, we're sorry this wasn't warm enough. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you were looking to do so, but haven't already. Unfortunately, non-bulkiness is something that has to be sacrificed if you're looking for a really warm parka. Feel free to check out the Men's [Jackson Glacier Parka](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-jackson-glacier-down-parka/27910.html) or the [Men's Maple Grove Down Parka](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-maple-grove-down-parka/26810.html), which is the warmest out of the two.

December 17, 2019

Awesome coat

Wear it with anything and you’re good to go.

December 16, 2019

Color is slightly lighter than

Color is slightly lighter than shown on website but very happy with the jacket overall

December 16, 2019

Fits well and works great

I always have a hard time finding jackets small enough for me so that I don't lose most of my heat. This jacket fits perfectly and doesn't impede my movement either. It's warm enough, though the sleeves seem to be much less warm and are noticeably thinly lined. The outer fabrics seems to be a higher quality than similar jackets I hav... Read Moree tried on. Even though it is a parka, it's not that long which I like, and I love that I can use the second main zipper to make the front open more, which helps me get into pockets and move my legs more.

December 15, 2019

Perfect

Great coat, super warm, lots of pockets.

December 7, 2019

Men’s isthmus parka

Great coat great fit and very warm

December 4, 2019

Perfect weight/warmth

I’ve worn this parka in a variety of weather conditions and find that I can zip, tighten, hood, etc. to stay warm and dry. Pile fleece may be old tech, but it works to hold the heat.

December 4, 2019

So far so good. Nice

So far so good. Nice insulation in the body and love that the hood is lined as well. I only wish there was more insulation in the sleeves but it's not a deal breaker.

December 4, 2019

Pretty good

Pros: - Fur on the inside is soft and cozy - Outside shell is water resistant Navy color is nice Cons: - It’s just shell + inner fur, but no inner lining so it’s not as warm on a really cold (30 degree) day as I was hoping - Wish there were an inner pocket in the chest area or something to hold extra items (like a scarf or a document). - the ou... Read Moreter front pockets are where you’d naturally put your hands but they’re a little too high for that to be comfortable, and they also are just shell fabric so it’s not at all a warm place for your hands - it’s really expensive! So having spent that amount of money on a jacket, you’d hope design / quality flaws like the above wouldn’t be present

Response from Patagonia
December 20, 2019

Hi Eric, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear that you're disappointed with the parka. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 3, 2019

Christmas Present

This is a Christmas Present for my son so he will not be wearing it until after Christmas.

December 2, 2019

Perfect winter coat

This is exactly what I hoped it would be. Warm, not too bulky and great length for spending time outside. Very pleased.

December 1, 2019

A perfect jacket

I really love how many pockets there were on the jacket. The fit was very true to size. I love how it was lined on the inside to make it even warmer. 12/10 would buy again

November 30, 2019

Nice

170lbs, 5'11". Very well made. Perfect for your New England falls and winters. Handles heavy rain and wind very well.. You will probably need to layer up though. I ordered a large. Its a little to long, but fits my back and my arms, with some room for layering. If you want a form fit, order one size down.

November 25, 2019

Fantastic looking parka, the torso

Fantastic looking parka, the torso is a little wide for me but that could be because I’m skinny.

November 22, 2019

Great looking jacket / terrible sizing

Loved everything about the jacket, but the sizing was terrible. Bought a large, was way to big. Returned and bought a medium, was too tight across the shoulders. I am 6'1" and 190 lbs with an average build. I tried so hard to make this jacket work, but in the end it was not working at all.

November 19, 2019

Best Ever

Daughter and future son in law just move to Asheville from Savannah...so some winter things were necessary. He loves his jacket. It’s stylish, durable, well constructed and comfortable. Well worth the price.

November 19, 2019

Great! Very fluffy jacket on

Great! Very fluffy jacket on the inside with a hard outer shell that keeps the wind and moisture out. Great hood and tapered sleeves keep you warm when it gets cold or windy and the pockets and buttons are very sleek and low profile.

November 18, 2019

Love

My husband loves this coat. Hopefully it will be warm enough for the depths of winter. It’s looks great and fits true to size

November 14, 2019

Great look / very narrow / not very breathable

I like the parka. It is well constructed, the design is great, and the materials look high quality. I find the fit a bit narrow at the bottom, but the one size up is too long in the arms / torso. My 5'8" feels shorter every year. The jacket is warm. Plenty warm for sub zero temperatures if you wear another layer (like a wool shirt) unde... Read Morerneath. But... the jacket is not very breathable. For this reason, I don't think it is suitable for anything but light activity. E.g. good for waiting for the bus in winter, but not so great for raking leaves. I don't know how I would compare it to the industry standard, but I find it far less breathable than my previous, very warm (but now worn out), parka of 12+ years. I know making clothes out of recycled plastic is good for the planet ... but I miss the natural fibers of my previous jacket. All in all, I rate this 5 stars on style, 5 stars on comfort, 4 stars on fit, 3 stars on breathability.

November 13, 2019

Love the color fits great

Love the color fits great and is perfect for almost all weather.

November 6, 2019

Great coat

Bought this for my brother and husband in the navy and green - both love it, says it’s very warm without being puffy!

November 2, 2019

UNREAL

Great coat, super comfy and is perfect for minesota winter, it's not not too bulky and it's a well put together coat. Fur on inside is awesome and pockets are super accessible.

November 1, 2019

Ms Isthmus Parka

The fit is perfect and love that the lining is thru the full coat

October 31, 2019

Awesome

Awesome

September 21, 2019

Only one thing to become perfect parka.

Overall, this is the best parka I've ever had. Fitting, Style, Versatility, Material are on top rank. Only one thing that is its weakness is warmer pockets. It should be fleece lined since added weight is negligible (this is not performace jacket) while added feeling will be much more appreciated. Hope to see this come true.

July 30, 2019

I Love this Parka

This was the first Parka I ever bought from Patagonia and it is the best coat I have ever owned. The lining in the coat is super soft and kept me warm in Anchorage AK all winter long.

December 28, 2018

Cheap zipper hardwear

Do not buy this coat. The zipper lasted one week of normal wear and tear. My first Patagonia coat was very disappointing.

November 28, 2018

My "go to" jacket

This jacket is perfect, its the right blend of technical, rugged and casual. fits really well, and has a lot of pockets to hold a bunch of stuff. It keeps me pretty warm, but I wouldn't recommend this jacket for extreme temperatures. I've had mine for about a year now and my only complaint is that the "fur" inside starts to get ... Read Moreslightly matted around the butt, and areas of friction. Other than that, it's just incredible.

November 26, 2018

Comfy

I love this coat! I was on the fence about whether it would be warm enough and it has kept me plenty warm down to 30 degrees. I expect it to keep me warm down to 15. It is the most comfortable coat I have ever worn and it looks great! Every time I put it on it is like wearing a down blanket!

November 14, 2018

An awesome jacket for everyday use

This jacket is well worth the money, its nicely made, with good attention to detail and stitching that will hold up to daily use. Its also very warm, I was surprised at how warm it was given how light it is. I have been using the jacket for a few weeks now, and so far its been great for walking the dogs in the cold mornings. It doesn't trap my... Read More sweat despite having a really nice warm soft lining. Its also water resistant, so its been great to have for the cold rain we are getting. The arm pockets are placed perfectly for me, so I'm very comfortable walking and standing up outside. It also has great wind resistance, I don't feel any wind through the jacket at all, and the hood works really well. Normally I would have to pair my old coat with a hat to keep my head warm, however the hood on this jacket is more then enough. I am very happy with the fit, and the length of the jacket as well. I would absolutely buy this again. Only cons are keeping the inner lining clean, it doesn't run all the way down the arms, so that helps. The pockets are nice and deep, with plenty of storage for phone, keys etc. Overall I'm super happy with the jacket, we will see how well it holds up. My previous jacket worked well for 10 years or so, and I am now using it as my coat for yard work, etc.

October 8, 2018

Bring pack the zip pockets!

The jacket itself is great - tuff, and burly beyond its weight - this jacket is a keeper. However, the biggest issue is that it no longer has the aesthetic and functionally prefereavle zip pockets that it had a few years ago. Patagonia, please bring these back! They were easy to access when riding a bike, and so on and so forth. If this new version... Read More of the jacket could revert to old pocket design... it would be a 5 star

February 6, 2018

Great Jacket

Bought this jacket for myself as a birthday gift in November and after having used it for a little over 2 months already,I am really glad I did. The jacket is very comfortable and can honestly withstand temperatures of about 10 degrees,comfortably. I normally wear it with just a regular t-shirt under,unlike with most of my previous jackets from oth... Read Moreer brands,where I needed to layer. While layering does help,it's not needed I'd say.

December 29, 2017

Great Jacket,Highly Recommend

I ordered this jacket in the green Med,5'10 170. When I got it I didn't think it would be warm enough to hold up against a New England winter without two solid layers. I was totally wrong. Tried it in 20-degree weather with just a flannel shirt on underneath and completely comfortable. 9 degrees and below base layer under it is all that i... Read Mores needed. Keeps the cold out for sure. Only two minor changes I would make to it. First,if anyone from Patagonia reads this,I would add a piece of fabric(fleece) on the inside at the top of the zipper. So your lips don't have to feel the cold metal zipper when it's freezing out. Second,the two side-entry handwarmer pockets could be a little bit deeper. Other than that solid buy. Totally recommend

December 11, 2017

Reintroduce

Please Reintroduce the INFERNO. It's one of the GREATEST COATS that ever came from Patagonia.

January 28, 2017

So warm,so comfortable

This was a self- gifting Xmas present. I have a Patagonia beanie,at its the warmest one I've had. I live Central Illinois,and winter winds are cold,my jacket is lightweight and flexible,and really warm.

January 12, 2017

Great Jacket

Needed a parka for PNW winter. This covers all the bases. Sleeves are a little snug but can wear a thin layer under jacket if needed.

January 11, 2017

First Patagonia purchase

I've had coats before and I've been weary of buying a more expensive coats than the ones I've owned. When I put on my parka i fell in love. It takes a beating. It's warm it hold all of my small gear. I found myself reaching into my coat closet and pulling out my other coats then putting them back to get my parka. I decided to cl... Read Moreean out my coat closet. The only coat that is in there is this parka... when I'm not wearing it.

January 11, 2017

Good lookin!

I bought this as a gift for my boyfriend and it's such a great purchase. I got the black in medium and it fits him really well,he's 180# and 6' but with a small waist and broad shoulders. He's been wearing it non stop since he got it! We live in the mountains in CA kinda on the edge of the snowline,so the weather is really unpre... Read Moredictable in the winter. Rain today,snow tomorrow,freezing rain the next day and this jacket has been great even in the rain. He said if he's been out a long time it will be a little damp inside but it's been a solid coat with great features. Love the classic winter style of it too! If there was a women's version I would buy it for myself! Wink wink Patagonia

January 11, 2017

Classic design reissued

This was purchased to replace a very well worn older model of the same coat for my sweetheart. He tried on all types of parkas and would not give up his original. I was thrilled to see it coming back as one of Patagonia's selection this November for a Christmas gift. He was thrilled on with his new Isthmus parka but the old one is still in ser... Read Morevice as his winter work coat!

January 11, 2017

It's fine,but not particularly good at anything.

I bought this as a sort of multipurpose jacket for the fall-spring,expecting that I could stick it over a Patagonia down sweater and be weatherproof in a Massachusetts winter. I bought mine at 50% off and I'm still not convinced that it was necessarily a worthwhile investment. It looks decent enough and adventure-y but it's not terribly w... Read Morearm by itself,despite the pile fleece,and since I didn't read the description carefully it's only water-resistant,not H2No waterproof. So if you walk a distance in a reasonable amount of rain it will get soaked through. So I end up only wearing it in 20% of weather conditions,when it's slightly cold and only slightly rainy. I ended up keeping it just so I have another jacket but this is something that doesn't really have a raison d'etre. If you can find the Tres 3 in 1 Parka that would be a better investment. I should mention that a M fits very nicely at 6'0" 190lb.

October 1, 2016

Style and function

I have only had this for about a month but have worn it constantly. Perfect for weekend day hikes and chilly morning work commutes. True to size. Got the red as it was more cost effective. Wish i had a different color that wasn't so loud but form follows function. Will be great for messy winter weather with an extra insulation layer underneath... Read More. I expect to have this as my go to for many years to come.

February 28, 2016

Great for non-severe falls/winters

I bought this parka because I recently moved to SF and needed something that would withstand wind,rain,and cold (by SF standards). I can easily cover all my bases with this parka and have no regrets buying it. At first glance,it's easy to be taken aback by how red it is in person,but it's actually nice to have something that's not m... Read Moreuted grey or black,and it's definitely won me over with how practical and comfortable it is. One thing that surprised me was how mobile it allows you to be - I never feel restricted in the waist or shoulders,which sometimes happens with baggier jackets. I also really appreciate the amount of pockets on the parka,it's nice to have more than enough space. Something about the design of the hood also makes it stay comfortably on my head without it slipping off in the rain or restricting visibility. It definitely keeps me comfortably warm during the colder days or nights when commuting or walking around with just one layer underneath. It hasn't rained much this year so I can't speak to the water resistance. I think small is the perfect size for me in my lanky-ish frame (6',165lb).

January 18, 2016

Classic parka

A nicely made remake of an old favorite parka I had in the 70's. I've been looking a long time for a similar parka! The only slight drawback is the collar.. I would have liked the collar to have been made with a slightly stiffer material to allow the collar to stand..

December 18, 2015

Great coat

LOVE this jacket. Super warm. DWR works very well. I wouldn't wear it in a super heavy down pour, but it's great for walking short distances in the rain (under a mile). It's my everyday winter coat right now and I love it. Super comfortable, and has a classic non "technical" look to it which I prefer. Highly recommended.

November 30, 2015

Extremely durable cool weather coat

I have had this coat for two years. THis is a really fantasitc coat for wearing in cool, windy, or damp conditions. I bought the coat to be used in very cold weather (<25 F) without additional layers, but unfortunately, its better suited for temperatures in the 30-40 F range. The sleeves are realtively narrow and not quite wide enough to comfort... Read Moreabley fit a thick fleece or down layer underrneath. The center of the jacket along the ziopers has no insultation and this is really noticeable at low temperatures. The bomb-proof nylon shell holds up to barbed wires and thorn bushes without tears. The coat does a fantastic job at blocking wind and its highly water repellent if DWR is applied regularly. The lined hood is incredibly comfortable and warm. The jacket also has an internal drawsting located slightly above the waist which helps trap air. The newer version has chest pockets with flaps on the top. The older version has two vertical zippered pockets which i find to be much more ergonomical. The fit of this coat is not ideal for me, but it probably works well for most people. I have a 44" chest and 34" waist. With a single layer underneath, the medium size fits perfectly at the waist and is wearable, but slightly too small in the chest and shoulders. The large fits me with a little extra room in the chest and too much extra volume at the waist. I would give the coat 5 stars if not for the lack of insulation along the front zopper and the narrow sleeves.

October 1, 2015

looking chill and keeping warm!!!!!!

Spent way too many hours looking for a nice jacket that would not be too bulky or snug fitting. I ordered both the XL and Large and was able to wear the large with no issues. I am 5"8 the arms were perfect length and the jacket sits right below the waist. The hood was also nicely made and I am able to adjust it as well. the fabric is a nylon t... Read Morehat looks like it will shake off the rain. my only gripe is when snapping off the buttons in the front, It feels like the fabric is going to rip.

December 28, 2014

Really awesome!

I really wanted this jacket. Like really wanted it. So I bought both colors, thinking I'd sell the color I'm not going to use. But I'm finding this jacket is so awesome, having them in both colors could prove pretty useful. It's really warm on its own, but layers really well too. I've had it out in the low 20s with a base l... Read Moreayer, shirt, fleece, and vest, and was very comfortable, even with the wind. I also put a nano puff hoody underneath to see if it'd fit, and it does. I think with all layers and and a puffy under this coat, I'd be good down to 0 or more. The style is awesome, the tech specs hit all the right boxes. Probably my favorite Patagonia piece I own. Glad I bought both. I hope Patagonia continues to blend the old school flavor with the new school tech.

November 14, 2014

Pretty Sweet Jacket

This jacket is real nice. I for one can't believe how many high-fives and double finger gun points from super cool dudes with awesome beards saying, "pretty sweet jacket dude" i have gotten in the past week alone. This jacket is super comfortable with a great liner to cover by body and keep the cold from making me cold, the arms are ... Read Morelined with a thin down and best of all the hood has the fury stuff the body part is made from. I am 5'10 @ 165 and got a medium, it goes down below my pockets. All and all it is a cool jacket that looks retro but was made last year so its not retro at all. I am pretty happy with it.

October 24, 2014

Stylish and Functional

This is my favorite go-to casual jacket. 1. It fits really nicely - fitted but still roomy enough to layer a sweater underneath. 2. It's warm - the fleece lining is very soft and comfortable. 3. It looks really good - I like the simplicity of the parka and the bit of flair that the fleece adds. Within a few days I had already received a bunch ... Read Moreof compliments. I'm 5'7 / 130 and the XS fits me snug, which I personally prefer, but I think I could have sized up for a slightly looser fit.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches