burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Ms Triolet Jacket

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 160 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Triolet Jacket

4.5/5
Kinda Large
November 22, 2022

I sent this back Im

I sent this back Im 510 175lbs 61 years old been climbing for most of my life..... I had no movement in my shoulders wearing this "straight jacket." No way I could put layers on under this, Fit was way to tight for a large. Tightest Patagonia Jacket I have had. Loved the weight. Sent it back

November 22, 2022

Super versatile

Great cut, to start with. Not bulky, just loose enough. I am 5'85, 180 pounds, wear it with think layers, no problem. Not the usual super long sleeves looking ridiculous if you don't have gloves, but long enough for ample movement. It is not this crispy noisy feeling most G-Tex have, this one is kind-of soft (kind-of). I love the recco ... Read Morefeature. Overall feels super durable, the one do-it-all jacket that looks great and perform even better.

November 18, 2022

Great fit for my size person

I have NOT tested the performance of this jacket out (I'm sure it's great), but am posting a "size/fit review" for those of you out there that, like me, are "in-betweeners". I'm 5'10" and 143 lbs. Skinny, athletic build. Long-torso, short legs. I consider myself a size M kind of guy. At least in most bra... Read Morends. However, the size S fits me perfectly. Trim but not snug fit. Maybe a little tight in the shoulders when I am wearing my nano-puff jacket under it, but not too tight or uncomfortable. Size M would be wayyyy to big for me. (Side note: since when is a model that is 6'1" a size M??? Scandinavia maybe...???)

November 6, 2022

Keeps me dry

I spent the afternoon outside in my jacket. It was raining and I was pressure washing, usually a recipe for getting wet. Not me - I stayed dry in this jacket. To top it off, it's a new jacket because there was a glue issue with my previous jacket. Patagonia stood behind their product and replaced it (even though I was kinda hoping it could be ... Read Morerepaired). Great product, great service.

October 31, 2022

In love with this coat

I was a little hesitant just because of how the reviews were all over the place. I purchased a size small as a like a little bit bigger of a fit to layer underneath. This coat is awesome! It keeps me perfectly warm and it holds up for sure. It is great in the wyoming wind! I plan to use it for skiing as well because it has been amazing for me in th... Read Moree chilly autumn weather. I never want to take it off!! It is a little bit longer than Im used to, but I don't feel like it restricts my movement at all. The jacket is super comfortable, I saw a lot of reviews saying the material was too stiff, but I did not have that problem. I have worn it for a few days, and I think it helped to break it in for sure. I love the color too! Good job Patagonia!!!

October 30, 2022

Triolet jacket

The jacket is very nice and of good quality! The sizing is kinda large for me but it's a hardshell anyway.

October 26, 2022

Great rain jacket.

The jacket is great ,water tight ,breathable. Only thing I would change would be to make the hood tension cords with slide stoppers for a more controlled fit when using. The jacket is worth the price and out performs all others I've owned.

October 25, 2022

Good fit.

Good fit, great jacket.

October 25, 2022

Good... and very square.

If I lived in a pineapple under the sea, this would be the fit for me. When did things get so square?! In reality, I'm a large long, but to get the necessary length I end up in an XL. Regardless, this is a well conceived layer, but has some short comings beyond its strangely square fit. The material lost waterproofness by the end of season 2. ... Read MoreThe shoulders and entire left sleeve started seeping water.... quickly. After that the main sipper got caught and lost a tooth. It's a super fine zipper, good for keeping water out, bad for durability. I expect this is a common fail point. The hood and synch clasps are great, the cinches do get weaker and slip over time. The pocket placements are spot on. I do miss the rubber gasket on the cuffs of my previous super alpinist shell. These cuffs need a little more cinch and seal. All that to say, I'm on my second one and not really disappointed about it.

Response from Patagonia
October 27, 2022

Hi Matt! We really appreciate you taking the time to share these comments with us. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. Also, we were bummed to hear that the jacket lost some of it's waterproof ability after a few seasons. The good news is, a machine wash with gentle detergent, and drying on low can actually clear out any oils and dirt in the membrane that can affect how well your coat keeps you dry. Of course if this doesn't seem to help you can always [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) under warranty.

October 23, 2022

All good so far

I've only had it a week but it seems fine so far - waterproof, comfortable and smart. Main part of the jacket fits OK but arms a bit long for me. I like the two chest pockets. Would be good to be able to draw it in around the waist as well as around the hem.

September 29, 2022

Perfect. Fit is good. Feels good. 100% confidence

Great product, and I bought online. One of the easiest online shopping experiences.

September 22, 2022

Solid Material, Built To Last

Upgraded to this one from a Torrentshell Jacket that had worn out. I like the jacket. I would be able to say that I love it, but the top part of the jacket seems to just rest right at cheek level. Has an awkward look as the 2 flaps kinda rest on my cheeks instead of my neck. Hopping that the material is stiff & will maybe soften up & lay do... Read Morewn over time. Other than that, It is another quality investment garment from Patagonia that I will wear for years to come. Please note that this part of my review is simply my opinion: I can't help but to think is that this jacket is the first Patagonia item I've purchased that reminds me that maybe inspiration of this years model came from a competitor, Arc'teryx. I own several & its pretty uncanny the resemblance. Historically Ive always found Patagonia to be the trailblazer in their material, design & function. There's lots of companies that make Patagonia ish apparel. I hope its never the other way around.

September 13, 2022

Great all around jacket. Rain

Great all around jacket. Rain coat, skiing, snowmobiling, mt. biking, to the office, the coffee shop. Great pockets and helmet hood. Super good in extreme Alaska conditions, hood can withstand 100 mph gusts and not get blown back if probably adjusted. Basically my favorite jacket that I wear every day, I live in coastal Alaska.

July 15, 2022

Keeps me dry perfectly

I work on a boat in the north sea and we go out in all conditions safe to say this jacket keeps me dry through rain and spray

July 6, 2022

Tried and True Fave

This is my 3rd version of this Jacket. I wear the hell out of this thing here in the PNW. Its durable, light, has vents, and fits great with a puffy underneath or a t-shirt. Love it.

July 5, 2022

Perfect Fit

The reviews made me nervous about fit. They were all over the place: too large, too small, too tight, too loose. However, I went with large and it fits perfectly. I am 5 foot 9 and shrinking, 195 lbs. Its a bit long in the sleeves, but thats how it should be IMO. The Velcro cuff closures work perfectly with gloves or mittens. I hope the zipper hold... Read Mores up. Thats how the last one failed, but Patagonia made good with their iron clad guarantee and it nearly paid for this one.

June 24, 2022

Great Rain protection.

This is a great jacket. I bought a second one so I could have a seamstress cut the hood off of one dur to the helmet size of the hood. That way I can have one with or without a hood depending on situations.

June 13, 2022

Outstanding jacket but fitment issues

"This jacket is 4 stars for fit alone. Otherwise it would be an easy 5 stars for me. And theres a lot of poor reviews about fitment. With that said, I didn't find it to be particularly boxy in the body like some reviewers have stated. I don't know if people buying these jackets are all skinny to an unhealthy degree, but I am not a bi... Read Moreg guy by any means, only 5'9" 170lbs and the medium is good for me in this area. It's not quite as trim as say an Arcteryx fit, but I still found it to be what I would consider a trim fit. With that said we will get into the cons. It is LONG! Overly long. And I feel like this can contribute to the "boxy fit" many people complain about. As someone who works in law enforcement and needs a good hardshell for training in inclement weather, all the unnecessary length makes it difficult for get this jacket to not get in the way too much while running a duty belt. I know this is kind of a niche problem but I own other jackets that I can just roll and tuck up at the waist to clear my gear without issue. This one has so much excess that it doesn't do that as well. As for the sleeves, again, LONG. Like way long. Why Patagonia? This doesn't bother me as much as the excess length in the body but I still just don't understand the purpose behind this. We just want proportionate sizes! This extra material also adds unnecessary weight and reduces packability, which the jacket doesn't pack up very well as it is. So those are the negatives. Now for the pros. The overall quality of this jacket is excellent despite my fitment complaints. Zipper quality is excellent. Weather resistance is amazing and 3L Goretex does its job. I find the jacket to be extremely comfortable (so long as I'm not wearing my work gear as mentioned above). Face fabric has been durable. Hood works fine for me. It breathes relatively well. It just flat out looks good. It pretty much checks all the boxes of what a high quality hardshell is supposed to do in terms of pure functionality and performance. It might not be the best hardshell on the market but it competes very well against comparably priced jackets. I also got this jacket at a discount from an online retailer so I feel the value is good for what I paid. If I paid full price+tax I might have gone down to 3 stars for my fitment issues as there should not be so much consistent negative feedback about lack of proper fitment with jacket that has been on the market for a number of years now so Patagonia has had a lot of time to listen to the end users, get it right, and stick with it. There's really no excuse. But fitment aside the jacket really is fantastic by every other metric."

Response from Patagonia
June 15, 2022

Thank you so much for your feedback, Joe. The length issue you are noticing is due to the fact that our Men's Triolet Alpine Jacket is designed for our Alpine line. The added length helps protect users from snow if they we to be sitting down or if they may have fallen. A great recommendation we have for you since you enjoyed the Gore-Tex shell but want a more average sized rain jacket is our [Men's Calcite Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-calcite-jacket/84986.html?dwvar_84986_color=CRBA&cgid=mens-jackets-vests-rainwear). With the same great breathability, this more versatile jacket may be a better option for training in the rain with your gear belt. Feel free to chat with one of our Customer Service Representatives and they will be happy to go over different fit, style, or use for our many different products. You can contacting them using the link below. Help Center: https://help.patagonia.com/s/

June 10, 2022

Well engineered.

I am a ski patroller, and gear can make or break your day. I rely on Patagonia to hold up to the elements and let me focus on my task. This jacket does what it is designed to do with no complaints. I have yet to own anything from Patagonia that is not simply functional, durable, and reliable. This jacket is another in the line of dependable gear.

May 27, 2022

Quality through out

I'm very happy with this jacket. I have the yellowish color which is one of those amazing colors only Patagonia is able to do right and is what attracted me immediately. The sizing for me is just right. I like the fact that it is not too bulky but it's still possible to wear another layer underneath. It gives me a nice trim and modern loo... Read Morek. I bought it mainly for the wet Finnish spring but I can say now that I'm sure to wear this for 3 seasons and can see it will make a fantastic ski shell. Perhaps a zip interior pocket would have been nice, but dint think it is any big problem. This jacket, like all from Patagonia, screams quality and surpasses others costing 100s more. I'm sure I will get at least 10 years of enjoyable wear from it.

May 27, 2022

Nice jacket but challenging fit

I have had a Triolet jacket for six years and wear it often. It had to be replaced when a hole developed from rubbing on an inner snap. Patagonia was great about taking care of it. My old Triolet jacket was a medium. I also have a Patagonia Calcite jacket and an older Patagonia soft shell jacket, all in size medium. They all fit very well. So I ord... Read Moreered the replacement Triolet jacket in a medium. When it arrived, it was too small. It fit tight through the shoulders even without an insulation layer underneath. I replaced it with a large which feels a bit too big but will have to work. I wish Patagonia was more consistent in their sizing and kept a jacket model the same from year to year.

April 30, 2022

Tough, with ample storage space

I needed pockets and a tough hardshell. This is the best there is! If you go hiking, sailing or just need a rainshell - this is the best. Its hard wearing and a little stiff. After hours in rain and everything soaking wet you will welcome the stiffness as it gives a feel of dry and does not feel clammy. It also does not uncomfortably stick to your ... Read Moreskin. The five pockets are seldom to be found. I looked for big pockets, that would get me going on the boat without the need for a backpack when I am the skipper. Sunglasses, the smartphone and a wheat bar all comfortably stow away and dont mix. It looks good on me and I am slim. But it is rather on the baggy side. Its okay for me. Breathability is okay. Its a three layer build after all. Dont expect too much. But again: the stiffness and the armpit zippers do a good job of venting. The biggest and undeniable drawback is the noise: the material is really loud and takes away a little of the overall feel. Also the hood is not too well thought out. If worn in heavy rain you will get water drops into the neck through the front. The visor is too short and the construction leaves some open spots. That is common across the board with other brands too. But there are solutions. If I had a say: Patagonia would sell a pricier version with a better hood, longer visor and the normal version. But for me, stiffness (on purpose!!) against soaking wet feel, the tough outer material and the many pockets outweigh anything else. Dont take the many reviews out there too serious. I am a normal alpinist, Not on the extreme professional side and I can only recommend the Triolet for best price-value-feature richness.

March 21, 2022

Strong protection

This is a great Gore Tex jacket that does not have the stiffness that most fully waterproof jackets have.

March 19, 2022

Dry and durable

Great shell use it under my patrol vest .far better than company issue. Simple bomber design

March 17, 2022

Solid Essentials, Skipping Frills

The Triolet ticks all the boxes for a flexible-use shell: great performing fabric, effective waist drawstring and cuffs, generous pit zips, sufficient pockets, good hood. These essentials are all executed well and no frills added. The jacket is versatile and a good match for outdoor work in all sorts of conditions. I am 6'2" tall, 160 lb,... Read More long-armed, and found a good fit in the large; there is a bit of excess material in the body but the critical fit points in the shoulders, cuffs, and body length are all great.

March 15, 2022

bomber jacket

Finishing out my 3rd PNW winter in this shell. I wear it everyday to bike commute and every weekend to ski. Maintaining it with semi-regular washes, it's still super water repellant. Just a perfect, durable, shell. Would definitely buy this again.

February 23, 2022

Versatile Shell Option

I bought it for a ski outer shell & worked great. I am around 185 lbs. & it fits great with couple thin inner layers such as a nano puff jacket. It was bit snug when I tried to layer with thicker inners.

February 22, 2022

Nice Quality but didn't quite have the features I was looking for.

Went to the local Patagonia store and tried this jacket on. Salesman was super helpful and said a lot of ski patrol staff buy this jacket and layer up. They didn't have my size (5'7" 160 lbs Medium) so ordered. Really nice coat but the collar is really high and came up way too high on my face when zipped up all the way. It would be r... Read Moreeally annoying to ski all day with the coat unzipped because it is so high. A few things that I wished it had were internal zipper pocket for keys, another internal stash pocket, chest pockets had cable routing, fleece collar pad for chin, and having a mesh liner would make it less sticky if only wearing the shell. I returned it and am waiting for the uninsulated Powder Bowl jacket which has these features. I did really like the cut of the Triolet (minus the high collar) because it wasn't super baggy. Overall a really nice jacket with recycled materials. Just not what I was looking for. Looks like most reviews people use for hiking or alpine climbing but with a few more features, would be a really nice ski jacket.

February 18, 2022

sizing is way off

I bought a medium and a large and figured I would return the one that did not fit. The medium was way too tight and the large was way too big. I am 5'10" 175 lbs. Athletic build. I have also had trouble with the R1. I have 2 R1's size large. They fir great. Got a third and its too tight. I love the patagonia products but the sizing s... Read Moreeems to have changed.

Response from Patagonia
February 24, 2022

Hello John! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're very sorry to hear about the trouble with sizing that you experienced. Feedback like this is truly appreciated as its how we improve products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

February 14, 2022

Stylish and Snug

Recently purchased the Triolet Jacket for resort ski, needing a shell to alternate with my regular insulated jacket. Very happy with my choice and especially the beautiful color (Andes Blue). The fit is extremely snug and true to size, a bit on the tight size (which I like), but comfortable enough to allow good movement. Perfect insulation (over a ... Read Morebaselayer and M's Better Sweater) for resort ski outings. The zips were unfortunately quite stiff, but I am hoping they will release over time.

February 8, 2022

Well designed and tough

I guide multi days in New Hampshires White Mountains and needed a hard working shell that would stand up to the worst of winters wrath. Our maritime environment can be wet, cold and extremely windy. This jacket holds these forces at bay and allows me to focus on my guests. Definitely not your lightest choice but it is gonna last for seasons!

February 8, 2022

awkward fit

Beautiful technical piece with a predictable Patagonia awkward cut. Long in body (acceptable as Im short), very long in arms (again acceptable but definitely longer than industry standard arm length for medium size), wrist cuff closures are minimal hook and loop design but when fastened end to end with no Velcro overhang the wrist has several inche... Read Mores of open space....when Wrist is tight to ski the Velcro is barely connected with the top strap hanging almost completely off the wrist and looking / functioning like poo, ample room through belly (acceptable because beer is good but my beer belly still leaves room)(good because I can drink more beer without maxing coat out but bad because garment pooches a little and creates illusion my beer belly is larger than it is), shoulders too tight (THE WORST!) ( when I hold hand at shoulder level and bring together across chest the coat binds bad across back and shoulders). This sucks because the obvious assumption is that athletes will actually be doing things when wearing a jacket like this. In summary, a typical Patagonia product with awesome fabric and design but an awkward fit that will annoy for the life of the garment....no big deal.....just another long term relationship that looks good from the outside but is slightly annoying to be in.

Response from Patagonia
February 9, 2022

Thank you for sharing your review, Goeffrey! We're really sorry to hear that the fit isn't quite right. You can contact our Customer Service Team for specific measurements of any item. In the meantime, we want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us, and if you like we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

January 24, 2022

A true versatile alpine shell.

An amazing piece of equipment. Great fit and looks (for wearing around town) and at the same time is doing a great job as an shell over layers in the outdoors. Top level freedom of movement especially while skiing. Top choice!

January 13, 2022

‘solid’ !

In the old fashioned sense of the word, this is a ‘solid’ outer layer with a good fit, cut and well proportioned arm and body length. First use was in 4 different types of precipitation ….. it kept me dry!

January 13, 2022

Scottish Winter Shell

I have worn the Triolet jacket about 6 times in the Scottish mountains this winter working, great robust piece of kit as an outer shell. On the last occasion on a very windy, snowy day when the temperature was around 0c, the shoulders and arms turned damp but did not let moisture in, within 30 minutes of the snow stopping, the damp areas had dried ... Read Moreout, back to normal. I can go to work knowing that i am wearing an outer shell that isnt going to let me down in any weather,

January 9, 2022

Functional and Versatile

This is my second Triolet. I have used it for mountaineering, backcountry skiing, bikepacking, downhill and cross-country skiing and many other activities. It has kept me dry when it was raining all day long. I like the pockets, the hood which works with a helmet, and just the overall simplicity. Thank You Patagonia.

January 7, 2022

Breathe able

Love the high chest pockets- great for when I have my climbing harness on. Wished the sleeves were a bit shorter and venting on the side had some netting so when I am skiing, I dont get as much snow in the vents. Well made. Love how it breathes.

January 3, 2022

Super Shell

This is my bombproof ski shell. Fits like a charm. Goretex is money. Keeps layers completely dry while blocking wind and being very comfortable. Looks great with a classic streamlined design. Fantastic shell.

January 3, 2022

Generally amazing with a few question marks

Overall this jacket is exactly what I was looking for, a bit of a tougher material to withstand the snow/wind/rain that I'm used to and a great fit. There are just a few decisions that I'm not sure why Patagonia decided to make - most notably the lack of handwarmer pockets and a stiff somewhat less comfortable neck collar than on other ja... Read Moreckets I've had. In general, this jacket is a workhorse, I just feel like they could have done a better job making it slightly more comfortable than it is. Last comment, the sleeves are very long for a large - much longer than other larges I've had from Patagonia in the past.

January 1, 2022

A great jacket

Third triolet jacket after after first 10 years ago. I have used them excessively in the mountains and have relied on them in essential to stay dry conditions for years. Countless repairs from gear poking through or sharp rock. I have noticed the subtle design improvements they have made on each subsequent model making me believe in Patagonias comm... Read Moreitment to continuous gear development. Would recommend highly.

December 31, 2021

Boxy long fit

Im not sure what is going on with the Patagonia jackets, but the fit has become way too baggy. I bought this to replace an older Triolet in the same size. They seem to have made the jacket 3 longer which feels excessive when you are trying to stuff it into a climbing harness. The stomach area is also excessively large and the wrists are too big. Wi... Read Moreth the velcro tight around my wrist, the velcro extends out beyond the cuff leaving a flap of velcro. Last triolet was soft comfortable fabric, this is very stiff and uncomfortable.

December 24, 2021

Versatile, Lots of pockets

I bought this jacket needing something that was versatile since I live in the south but travel to the Midwest every year to ski. So my goal for buying a jacket was something that could wear in the rain and layer for skiing. The triolet delivers on both. Went out to Jackson Hole this past week and we got hit by massive snow storm. The jacket held up... Read More great during our 6 mile snowshoe trek. And held up great on the mountain. The goretex does its job. Excellent purchase!

December 20, 2021

Comfortable, light and warm!

Comfortable, light and warm!

December 14, 2021

Waterproof windbreaker

Replacement for 2006 summit series jacket. Not as warm. Excellent quality.

Response from Patagonia
December 16, 2021

Hi Kathryn, Thank you for sharing your feedback about the Triolet Jacket.  The Triolet is a 3-layer GORE-TEX shell, intended to be a used as an outer layer with insulated base/mid layers, depending on the climate and your personal preference. We're happy you're pleased with the quality!

December 6, 2021

Good fit for a smaller person

My comments may help other smaller individuals like me find a jacket with the fit that they like in a shell type jacket. While a Patagonia small fits me well, some jackets are just too long and not only cover my bum, but extend halfway down my thighs. The Triolet doesnt do that. With a back length of 29.75 inches, it is the length I like. I looked ... Read Moreat the Stormstrider jacket, but with a back length of 34.125 inches, it was much to long for me. I also tried the Stormdrifter jacket. It was better, but still longer than I wanted (back length of 31.5 inches). So, for my size and preferred length, the Triolet was the length and fit I wanted. Excellent quality, waterproof, and comfortable with a hood that works well with my helmet for skiing. Others have commented that the material feels a little stiff. I dont find that a problem and I think that is not atypical for a waterproof shell type jacket. The jacket and the fit work well for me and I recommend it as a jacket for smaller people to consider.

December 4, 2021

BOOOOOOOOOM!

A jacket unmatched! Do I really need to say anything else? Me thinks not

November 16, 2021

Small pockets

The two hand pockets are not very deep and things fall out of them easily. Ive already lost a glove and a winter cap. Ive had other hard shells from Patagonia where this was not an issue. Otherwise the jacket is good.

November 15, 2021

Stay dry!

Iv grown to count on Patagonia shells for over 30 years! Im a big fan of layers when Im out skiing. A few insulation layers under a great shell like this give me versatility and keeps me dry all day!

November 1, 2021

Shell

Excellent for layering. High performance outer shell.

October 25, 2021

Stay dry

I had been wanting this jacket for three years, I work outdoors in the Pacific Northwest and so I need to stay dry for a lot of the year. Ive had the jacket for a couple weeks and weve already had our first storm of the year, it performed perfectly I love it.

October 25, 2021

Best all purpose shell I own!

This is my second Triloet Jacket. I wore the first one as a bike messenger for two years and it is still in great shape. I needed another one for a different location and love the new colors. I have worn this jacket walking around in the city, biking, fishing, working, and even skiing, and it performs splendidly for all those tasks and has always k... Read Moreept me warm and dry. It never feels clammy on the inside even when it is pouring outside. It has a relatively slim fit but has enough space for some moderately thick layers. The hood can be adjusted to fit with or without a helmet. I would highly recommend this if you are looking for a high-quality all-around breathable waterproof shell.

October 20, 2021

My Go-To Gortex jacket for the mountains!

Patagonia Triolet is my favorite Gortex Jacket for mountaineering, long range trekking, backpacking and hiking in the PNW. It's extremely durable, and is the perfect shelter when you're spanked by a storm at elevation in the Cascades or the Olympic mountain ranges. Also, this sizing is beyond practical since it allows folks to layer techn... Read Moreical close to body and puffy layers when things get colder. I've purchased numerous Gortex Jackets lighter than this one, but they don't remotely last as long as the Triolet. Enough of the impractical metro tailored jackets,.. this one rocks!

October 19, 2021

Wind blocking and very breathable

Super fabric to keep the wind out and keep me dry and comfortable while wearing. Very breathable fabric, and good weight. Looks good enough for on the town and stands up in the wild!

October 6, 2021

The one

Worn multiple shells from all across the outdoor industry, this shell is my all time favorite. I break everything I touch, can't break this jacket. Solid build, good cut for cycling as well and A+ for the helmet hood. Doubles a pillow for bus commutes (rolls into hood). Great all around shell for any and all outdoor activities including work a... Read Morend bushcraft. Favorite Shell.

September 24, 2021

Triolet Jacket

Fantastic. Already been in a downpour and it did its job really well. Also glad that price paid was all-in, so no post-Brexit nonsense about import duty. Great jacket!

September 23, 2021

Hasn't seen any real use

Hasn't seen any real use yet - the sun came back out - but great fit, and looking forward to getting through winter with it

September 7, 2021

Fabric is too stiff compare to insulated torrentshell

I like everything about the jacket, light, waterproof and warm for California weather. Only thing is that the water proof fabric is too stiff.

August 30, 2021

Good sizing, clean design

I am 59, 5'11", 180lbs (82kg) and a size 42 regular. This jacket fits, but there's not a lot of extra. Maybe this is the way of it with fit - people wanting the features of this coat are probably an athletic build. With this said, the sleeves are a little narrow. A Patagonia down sweater over a synchilla and it was hard to get on - t... Read Morehe sleeves were quite tight. If it was getting cold layering might be a challenge to get right. Good hood size.

August 28, 2021

I fell a lot skiing this past winter and it held up

I've been suing this as my winter shell. I picked up skiing and I probably fell close to a 100 times last winter. Some of them nasty falls into deep powder and not so deep hard snow. The shell held up and I never once got wet. I fit into a small but it was tight around my pits and didn't allow for layering with a puffy. my chest measureme... Read Morent was 38.5 in. Their size guide said I should go for a medium anyways since that bumped me up from the small. The medium is a bit larger sleeve length wise and height wise than I need but now I can wear a puffy under there if need to. Happy I went with the medium. It allows for a lot more movement which is more important when you are in the harsh elements.

August 7, 2021

Great jacket wish it was more supple

The rain/wind jacket is superb and kept me dry on the trekking in Iceland. I only wished that the material was stiff and more supple.

July 7, 2021

Worth every penny

This jacket is absolutely awesome! Perfect fit. Just the right amount of features without overdoing it. Love the high collar and comfortable zipper garage. Good length in the sleeves, generously fitting hood. Really like the longer cut on the bottom hem. And its Gore-Tex! Super comfortable functional piece of kit and youll look awesome in it. This ... Read Moreis a very high quality ultralight jacket that I would highly recommend.

July 5, 2021

Spot on

I purchased this jacket for work on remote TV productions. I needed a solid robust GTX jacket that keeps me reliably dry allowing me to concentrate on others. It is a great jacket and has stood up to some disgusting weather. I chose black so that I do not stand out when around cameras. The only point I would add is that it would be good to have a l... Read Moreoop within the chest pocket so I can attach a compass (Or any other object that I regularly need). Patagonia can you please make a bib style waterproof pant in a similar style.

June 10, 2021

Great fit - I’m usually

Great fit - I’m usually a medium but a small was perfect. Lightweight, wind proof and waterproof but breathable. Ridiculously bright too. Probably the best jacket I’ve ever bought.

May 28, 2021

Excellent rain jacket

Have been out in the rain a couple of times and the jacket performs excellent. The size is on the larger size. I normally have size L but this jacket would fit well in size M. It's not a cheap rain jacket but works very well.

May 21, 2021

Great piece of kit

Really pleased with this. Great fit and excellent all round quality. Great service too.

May 18, 2021

Savage jacket

Water just falls off it it’s a beauty, 84 kg 5 foot 11 male fits almost perfectly tiny bit big but no harm

May 14, 2021

Ms Triolet JAcket

Spent a lot of time speaking to patagonia to determine what would be the most appropriate Scottish Highlands, climbing and mountaineering, hard shell. Eventually I was recommended the Triolet, and let me tell you I am not disappointed. It is slightly thicker than a super lightweight shell, which will be good for durability on tough climbs and snowy... Read More ascents. Couldnt be more happy. Getting a chance to try it out again this weekend.

May 12, 2021

Amazing Jacket

Took it to the test at heavy & strong winds the first time at Haleakala Volcano on Maui. Did not leave the wind or any water through while being at 10.053ft above sea level. Love the Jacket. Many more Hikes to come with it!

May 7, 2021

Alaska-proof!

There's a reason why I've owned/used several Triolet jackets over the last 10+ years for summer/fall seasonal work in remote Alaska - I find it nearly bombproof. Some days I work in the rain and mud and carry heavy gear (metal tent frames, logs, boat frames, motors, etc.), and I have yet to hurt this jacket. I'm 6'4" and 21... Read More5-ish. The L fits me perfect in my environment (I don't wear too much bulk underneath). The XL is definitely too big on me - too bulky and sleeves too long. I tend to wear XL in most shirts and jackets, but sometimes L in jackets. (Large Long is generally my perfect size). The only weakness I generally see in these jackets is the velcro sleeve closures - they are always the first thing to deteriorate, but what velcro does last forever? None. An easy repair and very minor complaint. Overall, it's a rugged, very functional jacket that lasts and keeps me dry in the Alaska crud.

April 15, 2021

Awesome!

This jacket is awesome! I could not be happier... with how it fits, feels, looks, functions. It has lots of adjustment draws and straps. Durably built. I anticipate that this will be with me for many, many years.

April 13, 2021

Great Shell for All Outdoor Pursuits

I've worn the Triolet as a ski shell this season. It's been tested in almost all weather conditions, from wind, blowing snow, sleet and freezing rain, and rain. Worn with the proper layers, it's kept me dry and comfy for full days out on the slopes. The jacket is simple and clean, with everything you need in a minimalist shell. The f... Read Moreit is a little baggy on me, I bought a large for layering. I'm 6'0", 170lbs, so there is room for layers, but not too much that it's baggy and feels like I'm swimming in it. The outer material is tough, I've bushwhacked in this jacket and it didn't leave a mark. Would give it a fifth star if it had a zip pocket inside, otherwise great product! I highly recommend the Triolet.

April 11, 2021

Great wind and water protection

I bought it for spring skiing but its great if you layer it for colder times

April 4, 2021

Great jacket

This is my first gore-tex jacket and I am very happy with it. The collar does run high as this is an alpine jacket but I like that as it really protects you from the elements (in Ireland). I wear this as an everyday jacket. Wearing the R1 Air hoody underneath when the weather is cooler. Patagonia make quality products and I would highly recommend t... Read Morehis jacket.

April 1, 2021

It Got Bulkier

First, I want to thank Patagonia CS for all their amazing support. My old jacket lost it's waterproofness and they replace my jacket with this one for no charge, no problem. Maybe it's my love for that jacket that left me wanting more from this one. It's a bit looser, even as an XS, and the hood a bit more "wide". It just d... Read Moreoesn't have the same slim feel of the last jacket I had. But that's not to say it's not amazing, just looser fitting. I'm sure for climbing and other more aggressive sports, that space helps. For us everyday, walking our dog in the rain, it's a bit excessive.

March 31, 2021

Great shell

I bought this primarily for hiking and it works excellent. Robust but still fairly packable and light. A simple and very well made shell jacket with a great fit.

March 21, 2021

very comfortable

light, soft, excellent waterproof shell.

March 21, 2021

Great outer layer

Solid jacket. Pockets are all well thought out. Deep pocket on right side of jacket holds XL mittens perfectly. No powder skirt but versatile enough to wear hiking, fishing etc...

March 21, 2021

Practical outer wear

Another awesome product from the folks at Patagonia.

March 16, 2021

Good windbreaker

Plenty of room for layering. Tight across my shoulders. Zipper a little hard to get started.

March 12, 2021

Versatile outer weal

As always, a very well made product by Patagonia.

March 5, 2021

Needed a rain shell

The Triolet is an amazing jacket! I love it. I bought it because I live in the PNW and needed a shell to keep me dry while out in long days of rain. The triple layer Goretex is perfect and the pocket design and zippers keep me dry while spending long days in heavy rain. The pit zips help regulate my body temp when doing more rigorous activities lik... Read Moree hiking, playing in the snow, and on those warmer days. I rated this 4-stars for one reason... the hood is designed for a helmet, therefore is usually very big and loose and difficult to adjust to find the right snugness when I need it more fitted. I realize this isn't a design flaw but is something that doesn't fit my activities. I just wish the hood would fit better around those who don't wear helmets. Otherwise, the perfect jacket. I have no regrets. Haven't gotten wet once! Which I cannot say about previous jackets in the rains I endure! The jacket does seem to run a little "big" with extra room to spare, but that doesn't bother me.

March 3, 2021

Nice and simple

It works, cuts the wind, helps keep me warm.

February 28, 2021

Great shell

Works well for layering with other garments which is what I wanted.

February 27, 2021

Waterproof Swiss army knife

Snowboarded in this in every condition the east coast will throw at you. So, you know, -9 days with offensive wind, perfect 20 degree days with blue skies, and everything from dry fluffy powder through heavy wet snow, sleet, and of course, rain. Kept me dry for at least 4 hours of rain up at Hunter Mountain, until we decided to call it quits for fo... Read Moreod, not to dry off! (Wife has the same jacket). Afterwards it dried out quickly. Breathes easy in 40 degree sunny days even without the vents open. Shows no wear and tear after hearty runs through thick glades. Honestly a killer jacket. Price seems high but its a steal for what you get.

February 27, 2021

Good Jacket

It has kept me really dry on stormy days. Fits well. The only thing that I have struggled with is getting the sleeves over a leather ski glove that does not have a powder cuff. The wrists seem small.

February 26, 2021

Great outer layer

Just great. Used it on a ski trip and mountain biking. A++

February 24, 2021

Great Jacket

This jacket looks great, is comfortable, and keeps me dry. All of the Patagonia products that I have owned are high quality, and this jacket is no exception. Im extremely pleased with the purchase.

February 16, 2021

Love it !

I love this jacket! Im still breaking it in. The new Gore Tex is a bit stiffer than my older shell but not a problem, just an observation. I also noticed the front pocket was a just right for my phone that is 5 1/2 inches, I could see a lot of phones having trouble fitting in that front pocket. Again I love this jacket and it serves me perfectly. K... Read Moreeep up the excellent product making.

February 13, 2021

Perfect fit, awesome quality!

Perfect fit, awesome quality!

February 9, 2021

Allrounder

I wanted an allrounder: rain, casual - everyday jacket. The color and fit was important too me, and non of the considered the options ticked all boxes. I ordered two, this one and the Torrentshell, I liked both, but kept the Triolet as it was more substantial.

February 7, 2021

Usual Patagonia quality and service

Has thus far kept me warm and dry whilst skiing and walking in the wet and windy UK.

January 26, 2021

Spot On

I normally take size small/medium in jackets and if day this is on the bigger side of small. The fit is great plenty of room for layers without being too baggy but isn’t fitted by an means, plenty of external pockets and feels bombproof with a top quality build!

January 26, 2021

Simply perfect !

Simply perfect !

December 12, 2020

Bomb proof in the rain and wind of the Northeast!

The jacket is a great shell. Perfect for wearing over a simple shirt or multiple layers for the cold wet days of the Northeast. Arms are nice and long and good ventilation under the arms. Pockets are good size and appropriately placed. Inside pocket is perfect for stuffing things in. The lower outside pockets are slightly shallow, I lost a hat out ... Read Moreof one of these that I didn't zip up. I found the hat on the next hike on the same trail! Win! Hood fit system works great. Pull the cord and it snugs in around your hat or head and dramatically improves visibility on the sides. Great color too, I'm a National Ski Patroller and we need to wear red on the hill. Go get this shell!

December 6, 2020

Killer Jacket

Big fan of this jacket that was part of a warranty trade in for another jacket that was coming apart. Great cut and ample sleeve length which is a big problem for me in outerwear.

November 10, 2020

Soooo nearly perfect

This is a great jacket, was a replacement for a faulty Galvanise and I much prefer it, it feels absolutely bombproof. Not five stars due to the super annoying elastic tab at the back. I see why this is there but I think totally unnecessary and an area of now high abrasion and wear!

November 1, 2020

perfect except no map pocket

I love almost everything about this coat. Great style, waterproofing works very well, durable. The one thing I miss is an exterior pocket large enough to take a standard (UK) map.

October 13, 2020

fit must be for some other species

I've had the jacket nearly a year, used it less than I would have liked due to travel restrictions. It works OK, and seems to keep the rain out. The fit is just weird. My primary complaint is with the hood. It's enormous, room for two heads, or perhaps the big-brained guys from old science fiction. As a result it falls down over your face... Read More to the bottom of your nose while having 4-5 inch sails on each side of your face to catch the wind and rain. No strap that I've found to hold it back out of your eyes. Then there are the arms, I have very long arms for my torso, I have to buy sized shirts because the S-M-L versions come down only to the middle of my forearms. The sleeves on this jacket are 2" too long for me, perpetually in the way when fishing or doing anything else where you want to use your hands. I can't imagine how people with normal length arms cope. Finally, it is tight in the torso, across the chest, limiting movement. A couple layers underneath and it's game over. If I still skied if would be a complete fail for that purpose. The next size up was better for movement but fit like a tent everywhere else. Given the price I'd really like to like this jacket better.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2020

We appreciate your detailed feedback you've given on the Triolet and were glad you've been able to put this to the test. If you end up decided this isn't the jacket for you, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us.

October 5, 2020

THE ONE waterproof shell

I couldn't be happier with this Gore-Tex shell. Random list of things it tackles superbly: skiing (resort and skimo), daily commuting on a bike in the rain, rock climbing and mountaineering 4000mt peaks in the Alps, walking and playing with your dog in the park mud. And I could go on... It's super burly and it handles maintenance well (I... Read Moref washed properly with some NikWax). Sure, it is expensive but it is definitely worth the money.

September 6, 2020

Warm and Dry

Replacing a 30 yo raincoat. Meets all my needs

September 5, 2020

Fits like a box

Patagonia seems to be changing their fits the past couple years to resemble a box. I ordered the same coat from years prior, due to its versatility and rugged construction. Unfortunately it fits nowhere near the model from a few years ago, so I sold it. Way to big and boxy. If you have a beer gut youll fit this coat and otherwise love the versatili... Read Morety.

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2020

Hi Ladd, thank you for sharing your feedback. The Men's Triolet Alpine Jacket is designed as Regular Fit to allow room for layering over heavier midlayers. If you prefer a closer fitting jacket, look for Slim Fit styles, the technical jackets in Slim Fit will still accommodate baselayers and light midlayers. If you are not happy with the fit of the jacket, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under our Ironclad Guarantee.

August 14, 2020

Wish it fit better for this awesome color !

Too tight around the hips/waist, great every where else. Seems like an awesome jacket and I love the purple color!! Bbut for layering purposes this jacket needs, with layers and snowpants, its too tight when zipped!

Response from Patagonia
October 19, 2020

Hi Ashley! So sorry to hear this jacket was too tight when zipped. The men's jacket is designed a little narrower on the hips than the women's which could be why it doesn't feel proportional. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it for a refund if you'd like.

April 13, 2020

Great jacket, couple of imrovements to be a true 'jack of all things alpine'

First off, I love the jacket, the pockets, joint articulation, waterproofness (if thats a word), and Id recommend it to anyone, especially because of Patagonia's mission statement. I do however have two issues with the jacket, my last jacket hada second stash pocket on the left breast as well as the right, and I never realised how much I used... Read More it till I didnt have one, super useful for everything from gloves, to biners and food. Second, the loop designed to attatch to the pants is way too low on the jacket, meaning the jacket rises up a fair pit before the loop stop it, and I'm 6ft, so not short. I have two other suggestions which I assume were not put in due to weight considerations, but I think both would sincerely add to the jackets 'jack of all things alpine' allure. First, I think the hood should be removable, I don't use the hood 90% of the time, and I like to be able to take it off and stash it a bag or pocket rather than have it flap about. Second, I think the jacket should have a removable snowskirt. I'm east coast, so really not vital, but I'd like the option to put one in, and then take it out when I go hiking or climbing

April 10, 2020

Great

The jacket feels awesome. It looks like it can take a beating and with the Patagonia warranty I'm not afraid to push it either. That was honestly my main driving factor. I wanted a jacket that I knew I could depend on for years to come whether I'm climbing or skiing. It's also a huge plus it's eco friendly. I had to do a lot of ... Read Moreresearch on sizing before I committed to a medium. I felt silly doing that seeing reviews above of people much taller than me getting also a medium. Here's the kick though, the shoulders are tight. I have a 38-39 in. chest and the small was tight around my shoulders. If you look online at people actually wearing this jacket for its intended purpose it's loose on them. I think that's how it should fit. That way you can layer and the bottom of the jacket won't ride over your hips when you reach above you. With a medium I was able to wear a base layer, fleece, and a down hoody underneath and still have complete mobility. With the small I also could do that but I felt restrained. I had to trust the Patagonia suggested sizing on this one.

April 9, 2020

Some minor issues

I bought this jacket for my year round hard shell to replace my worn out Super Alpine Shell. I've worn this jacket a few days a week for a few months this winter primarily in bounds skiing and ski touring. The jacket blocks the wind well and the pit zips dump heat adequately. It has kept me dry in wet snow even despite the jacket wetting out i... Read Moren the hard worn areas under pack straps; though wearing a wet jacket makes me cold despite being dry. I know the intended use is not as a ski shell, but I wish the hood was big enough to fit a large ski helmet under. I can put the hood over, but then the collar rides up too high to my nose. Additionally when wearing the hood without a helmet, the collar when zipped up sits slightly forward of my chin and allows some snow to fall inside. The vertical hood cord locks do not grip tightly enough to close this gap. I pull down on both sides, turn my head, and the cord locks easily let the shock cord run through to the full slack. I own other jackets with vertical hood cord locks positioned on the outside of the material that work great, so perhaps the lower profile interior placement is not worth the loss of function. My solution to avoid the snow infiltration has been to fold the collar back in towards me and tuck it under my chin, which works quite well. The sleeves are 1-2" too short for me (normal ape index) and so when reaching out or up, the sleeves pull up past my glove cuffs. The elasticized strap on the lumbar that connects to snow pants is right where my pack sits and rubbed when hiking, which was pretty annoying. I cut the stitch and removed the tab with no compromise to the waterproofness. The Triolet is a reliable hard shell with some ski-activity specific issues that I have worked around. I think it will function better as three season alpine/backcountry shell than as a dedicated winter ski shell.

March 15, 2020

A bombproof no nonsense hard shell jacket

Fits true to size, enough room for layers without being too bulky. Excellent quality and craftsmanship! Feels like it's gonna protect me from rain for decades!

March 13, 2020

So far used the jacket

So far used the jacket for skiing in mixed conditions (wet snow fall to glorious sunshine), good fit when skiing and carrying a backpack, no humidity/water coming through, nice colour. Hope it keeps the characteristics

March 11, 2020

Great jacket

I have owned the jacket for five months. Normally i wear a large but a medium fit me better. The fabric has been great. Perfect weight and keeps the wind and rain out. I wish it had one more interior pocket but otherwise perfect.

March 9, 2020

Good shell for various activities

- rain +++ - wind +++ - movement +++ - ergonomics + My size is L but M fits me perfectly. I took Navy Blue, beautiful but only after couple of days wearing a backpack the color has worn out around the snap fastener which is located on the back. Not sure if other colors would have the same problem.

March 3, 2020

Sleek and hardcore

Most of my ski days are spent in my work uniform, so this jacket is reserved for FUN. The cut is slim, but not binding. The arms allow a full range of motion during bushwhacking, climbing, and backcountry skiing. I like the two chest pockets which are big enough to stash gloves when I need to make adjustments to gear or ropes with bare hands. These... Read More are also handy for sunglasses and a water bag. The zipper pulls are unobtrusive, but still easy to operate with gloves on. The rear snap works with my ski pants. The hood works well with a helmet, but can be adjusted to fit without one. Breathes well, yet keeps me very dry in wet snow and snain.

March 1, 2020

all perfect

all perfect

February 20, 2020

very good jacket

+ The membrane is working very well. + Very light + very simple + Good fiting size - back size could be a bit longer

February 3, 2020

Bought my first in Dillon MT 18 years ago...

...and wore it flat out. Antarctica, New Zealand, in my motorcycle panniers riding across the US. It was "go-to" shell for over a decade. Sent it to "Worn Wear" and they wouldn't give me a nickle for it. That's ok, too, 'cause I used it as intended. Ordered another, same size, Large, and it flat swallowed me. I ... Read Moreguess folks are getting bigger. Medium is the new Large. Nephew now has the Large, Medium now hanging in the closet on this 70F February day in the mountains of NC (it should be in the 20's). We are back to winter soon, and the Triolet will be my "go-to" again.

January 29, 2020

Awesome jacket. Not as versatile as it portrays, though.

I just got back from winter travel to norther norway (tromso and bergen), and this was my only hardshell. This was very warm, and definitely waterproofed. Quite useful for variety of things, but it won't be my go-to, all season jacket. 1. warmth - i mean, you gotta wear it with a midlayer, but once that's all taken care of, this jacket ... Read Moreis amazingly warm. it blocks 99% of wind. I generally dont cover my neck, and zipping it up provided enough protection against wind or cold weather. 2. waterproof - It rained a lot in Bergen. for light rain, the outer layer repelled water, but the rain SOAKED into the outer fabric once it turned into downpour. i guess that was expected for breathable technical gear. The thing is, I didn't feel wetness on my skin. So it didn't soak through the jacket. It breathed well enough that i didn't even feel my own sweat. 3. weight - it's pretty lightweight. Much lighter than some durable jackets meant for hardcore skiing. However, it's not the lightest. It didn't compress as well as, say, the torrentshell jacket. Luckily I rarely needed to put it in my bag, but if i had to, it wouldve caused a lot more trouble. I will wear some other jacket for warmer weather. Overall, this jacket does what it promises to do. I can definitely see myself wearing this jacket for everything except late spring, summer, early fall, and lightweight travel.

January 17, 2020

10 Years and going strong...

I purchased the "10 yrs ago" version of this shell for running rivers, skiing, Alaska fishing trips, and all other outdoor adventures. I am continually surprised at how well it has held up to the wear and tear I have put it through over those years. I've looked closely at other models within the Patagonia brand as well as competing b... Read Morerands but always come back to the Triolet. There are lighter jackets that supposedly have the same water-proofing and insulation qualities but I just don't believe they could hold up as well as this jacket.

January 4, 2020

Not Very Warm

I purchased this for my husband under the impression that it would be a very warm, yet lightweight coat. It was lightweight, but not warm. It would have been great for autumn breezes but not the cold we were hoping it would keep out. Love Patagonia regardless, as they produce top of the line products of great quality and style.

Response from Patagonia
January 28, 2020

Hi Hannah, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the jacket. The Triolet Jacket isn't insulated so it's not meant to provide much warmth. It's a waterproof breathable shell which can be worn with layers to keep warm. If you're interested in a warmer waterproof jacket we'd suggest taking a look at the [Men's Qaundary Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-insulated-quandary-jacket/27630.html?isSearch=true&dwvar_27630_color=NENA).

December 17, 2019

Great Alpine Jacket

Fits well but the arm quite long for XS size. Kept me warm and dry. I'll tested it in winter soon.

December 15, 2019

Good jacket. Stayed dry on

Good jacket. Stayed dry on a wet snow day. I'm 5'8" and 160 lbs wearing a medium and its a little tight in the shoulders. Although the Triolets are pretty durable, I'll save this jacket for wearing under a Ski Patrol vest and for snow and wet free ski days. I would rate it a 5 if it weren't tight in the shoulders.

December 11, 2019

New patrol coat

Love the coat. I purchased this coat to wear under my ski patrol vest. From early mornings to late evenings this coat performs great.

December 5, 2019

great!!

The jacket fits well, functions as expected, kept me dry...

December 2, 2019

Dreamy mountain jacket

I've had my eye on this model for a while. I spend most of my resort time in the 3L Patrol jacket, but I needed breathable and flexible fabrics for when I wasn't in uniform and for backcountry skiing and camping. Superlight and packable, yet heavy duty. Very breathable. The arms are pretty long, but this allows a long reach for climbing w... Read Moreithout exposing my torso. Full range of motion without binding, yet still fits sleek. Very happy with it.

December 2, 2019

Great Jacket

Simple and to the point- all the features I need and nothing extra. Durable, weather proof, breathable, excellent build quality. I got it primarily as a ski shell (over insulation layers) but will use it all year. Its just what I expect from Patagonia.

December 1, 2019

Triplet jacket

Excellent jacket. Shoulder sizing is a little small

December 1, 2019

Great shirt!

I'm 6' and 226 lbs. A shirt run large but not to much. A fabric is very pleasant to a skin, soft but rugged.

November 27, 2019

A perfect Shell!

Just from a few weeks of wearing this I am already in love. It is very lightweight but totally weather proof. I fly fish in the awful climate of Upstate NY through fall and winter and this is a great addition. We did two days in 30 degree rain and I was dry and happy. I needed something bright because my fishing season is also hunting season around... Read More here. I love this bright red! And when the rain stopped I just stuffed it in my pack no problem.

November 15, 2019

Excellent choice

Was able to use the jacket at opening days at Arapaho Basin. Kept me warm and was a great fit.

November 10, 2019

Fit is awful

I had a previous Triolet jacket years ago that I absolutely loved until the seam tape came undone after cleaning the jacket. This was a replacement jacket. I am not sure what patagonia did, but the cut is awful and it isn't just this jacket. They did the same thing to the snowdrifter and powder bowl jackets. Basically, the chest, shoulders, an... Read Mored arms feels like a slim fit shirt and then the stomach area is huge. I am a fit guy who prefers to wear a fleece under my jacket, so I need some room to move in my shoulders area. I don't have a gut so all the extra room is in the wrong spot. A medium is too small and a large is ridiculously big. I am not sure why they cut their jackets this way, but it ruins a otherwise great jacket. This in no way is a normal cut. They should consider offering two cuts; athletic and normal fit. Athletic with more room in the shoulder and arms, but slimmer in the stomach area. Make the normal a little smaller in the stomach area, but make it bigger in the shoulders in arms. My only other issues is the side pockets need to be lower and bigger, the previous version had a softer feel to it that I liked, and the hood design needs some work. I would have bought the jacket despite these issues, but the fit was a deal breaker. I am returning the jacket in hopes they come up with better fits next season.

Response from Patagonia
November 29, 2019

Hey Mathew, thank you for your detailed review and we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the fit of our jackets. Our designs are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we don't disappoint you in the future.

November 8, 2019

Seems pretty great but runs big

Initial impressions only as the jacket is yet untested by weather. Seems solid, well-built as are all Patagonia products. Good variety of features. Issue is that it runs really big. I am 6'1", 200lbs, +3" "ape index". I bought a large initially so I could layer and have long enough sleeves, and it was way too big, even with... Read More a layer underneath. Sent it back and got a medium, which is perfect and can take a layer underneath too.

November 5, 2019

Runs small/ for tall skinny

Runs small/ for tall skinny people

November 3, 2019

Amazing jacket

I highly recommend this jacket. Keeps me warm and it is comfortable. I used it daily and I couldn’t be happier with the product.

November 1, 2019

Durable and great snow, rain

Durable and great snow, rain and wind protection. I love it for snowboarding, sledding, and general wear.

October 31, 2019

Triolet Jacket

Fit is good with room under the shell for layers. I’d tried to find something close in weight and design to the patrol jacket and even used the chat line since you can’t compare fabric weight or specs. Disappointed that there’s no powder skirt to keep in the heat and keep out the snow in powder days

Response from Patagonia
November 19, 2019

Hi Eric! We're so happy you're enjoying your Triolet Jacket, but if not having the powder skirt is terribly bothersome you might want to check out our Men's Snowdrifter Jacket. It features a powder skirt and weighs just one gram more than the Triolet. https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-snowdrifter-ski-snowboard-jacket/30065.html?dwvar_30065_color=BALB&cgid=root

October 29, 2019

Quality and Service as usual

My order was fulfilled quickly and the jacket looks impeccable. The true test of water resistance is to follow. A pocket to stash the hood would have been great.

October 28, 2019

Way TOO small

No way is a six foot tall person wearing this jacket in size medium. The sleeves were way too short. As in, they missed my wrists by about four inches. Also, worth pointing out, this is just a shell. And as it is just a shell, cold weather days likely would require a couple other layers to keep you warm. I doubt I would have been able to zip this u... Read Morep if I had been wearing much more than a t-shirt.

Response from Patagonia
November 14, 2019

Hi Sean! Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback, it's truly crucial to improving products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 22, 2019

Comfortable, Effective, Pleasantly Unremarkable

The Triolet Jacket fits great and does what it is supposed to do without any notice it's there. It kept me warm and dry while allowing me the freedom of doing whatever I needed to do.

September 19, 2019

Smart-Looking Hardshell

6'2" 170lbs, long arms. Bought Navy Blue (size M). It fits great, and it lives in my closet while I pray for snow. I loved the water resistant properties of my ski patrol 3L jacket, so I bought the Triolet jacket to wear in the city. The lightweight Triolet jacket provides a very clean, smooth aesthetic, which is perfect for business casu... Read Moreal. By comparison, the ski patrol 3L jacket is thick, heavy, robust, and box-shaped. I intend to acquire an additional, flamboyantly colored jacket, for hiking during hunting season. I can't give a 5-star rating because I haven't used the jacket in the rain/snow/cold -- it's still in my closet.

September 16, 2019

the most disappointing Patagonia product.

I bought this for ski touring and mountaineering, but recently used it for hiking and was disappointed with several features, particularly with weather protection. The two biggest flaws are that the hood design allows water to drip into the collar. The other huge issue is that it wicks water up the insides of the sleeves and hem. I got wet practic... Read Moreally up to my elbows in a relatively light rain. Admittedly the hood was meant to fit over a helmet and that might improve the leaking collar, but I don't see they helping with the sleeves. Also, this jacket is considerably heavier than comparable jackets that seem to have better waterproofing. On the upside, the zippers were watertight, the pockets were well placed.

Response from Patagonia
September 26, 2019

I'm sorry to hear your feedback on this jacket. Feel free to give our customer service team a call at 1-800-638-6464 to set up a return, and to go over alternative jackets.

August 10, 2019

Awesome Coat

this was my first Patagonia Shell. I have wore it into the mountains of Montana, Wyoming and Idaho, as well as fished on many of the amazing public rivers in those states. If you are looking for a bomber, lightweight, dependable piece. I think that this one is hard to beat. It would be cool if there was one interior zip pocket to hold a phone. Than... Read Moreks

August 10, 2019

Rain jacket and waders

I wanted a really nice rain jacket for those times we want to dress up, and still stay dry. I'm looking forward to wearing this jacket to the symphony this winter. It's gorgeous- The zippered waders fit me like a glove and they will get many years of keeping me dry on my favorite wild trout rivers.

August 10, 2019

Functional, Quality, Patagonia

My Triolet Jacket is the best Rain Jacket I’ve used. Serves it’s purpose while feeling comfortable and stylish at the same time.

June 13, 2019

Protects from wind and snow

My husband gave me this jacket as a gift for a trekking adventure in the Himalayas. It shielded me from the wind and snow as he hoped and no doubt will serve me well on future adventures. I also live the rasberry pink color.

May 30, 2019

fit is way off

I generally go with a large. However the large is super tight in the front and back of the shoulders. I sized up to XL and it's still tight and everything else is very very baggy. I can overlap the front part as if it were a double breasted coat. I received this jacket due to warranty exchange for my defective Super Cell jacket. Needless to sa... Read Morey I'm very disappointed with this jacket despite the upgrade from 2.5 layer to 3 layer. Very unhappy with this.

Response from Patagonia
June 11, 2019

Sorry to hear that the jacket has been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) it to a Patagonia-owned store or send it in for a merchandise credit.

May 8, 2019

Triolet Jacket

Love jacket with exception of zippers. They are small and difficult to open and close.

May 8, 2019

Nice jacket. Accurate fit.

Zippers hard to operate. Good wind break and good finish. Durability - come back in 5 years.

May 8, 2019

Almost Perfect!

I love my jacket. The only thing that would make it better: A pocket on the sleeve for RFID passes for skiing.

May 8, 2019

Triolet

Great color (red) and I like the durability yet light weight design, without a liner. Good exterior pockets. Would be nice to have a zippered interior pocket however.

May 8, 2019

Ms Triolet

This is my first foray into the world of 3ply Gore Tex jackets. So far it has rained more than its been sunny this spring so I have had plenty of use. I have had to get used to stiffer and slightly boxier fit, the length is great, covers my bum and has kept me super dry. I gave a four star review only because I prefer a slimmer fit usually and I fe... Read Moreel Patagonia has been getting away from the technical fits of year past.

May 8, 2019

Fantastic

Great fit, great element protection, great features. Wind and water are merely a nuisance with this shell on.

May 8, 2019

Triolet 2019

This is my second triolet and I sized down to a medium 5’10 180lb. Main use is hiking rain jacket and warmer ski days. Works great for my purpose and fits me well.

May 8, 2019

very well made but runs way too trendy tight

I loath newer trendy modern fit outdoor clothing, Its impossible to layer properly. xxl runs same size as my older size L . this is same problem w other brands as well. simple solution is to offer 4xl and roomier arms to encourage proper layering. Kudos to you all as my goto top quality gear always seems to be made by Mr. Chounards company !

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches