burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

R5® Yulex™ Mitts

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 10 Reviews

Clear All

R5® Yulex™ Mitts

4.5/5
Kinda Large
May 9, 2022

Toasty!

These are my first Patagonia neoprene mitts and they rock! Comfortable, not flappy in the water, and super warm without flushing too much (at the moment), these really are a must in cold water and wind. The sizing was a bit hit a miss online/delivered but I opted for the larger size and don't regret it.

March 19, 2022

They were warm, but wore out

I have been surfing every day in the winter (39F water and sometimes 0F air plus windchill) and these mittens were warm at first but really wore out after about 2 months of daily use. I feel the thumb pad material is not durable enough, I patched it and it held up for another month of daily use, but now both mitts have leaky thumbs and seams and th... Read Moree palm area is leaky for some reason. I have the following recommendations: 1- needs better material on the contact surface. 2- why not just join the thumb with the hand pocket, like a small webbed foot. The thumb pocket is small and tight and this one mod would make these so much warmer. I am hoping to get these professionally repaired, and hope they go back to theirs old earth levels :)

February 16, 2022

Very warm, wish it fit better.

Worn once so far. The X-LARGE size mittens fit well in terms of the palm to finger tip length measurement but theres too much room in the main body of the glove which is what I assume the around knuckle measurement is for. Seems like they take in a little more water in than Im used to when wearing five finger gloves. If there was a size like Large/... Read MoreLong maybe it would be a better fit. The gloves are very warm. Used in water that is in upper 30s for a few three hour long sessions.

February 4, 2022

Warm and comfortable

They are a really good option for the cold water. I felt the size a bit small, next time I will go for size L.

December 12, 2021

No more numb hands!

I use these wetsuit mittens while swimming in (currently) 49 degree lake water. With a pair of gloves (purchased earlier in the season) my hands would be so numb that I could barely open the Velcro tab on my wetsuit. With these mittens my hands feel nice and warm the whole time. The sizing guide made me copies between width and length, so I went wi... Read Moreth width, because I figured they should fit snugly, like my wetsuit. They are really hard to get on and off, but I chalk that up to appropriate snugness. Also, Im not sure how Im supposed to dry them. I hung them up, and it took 2-3 days for them to feel dry on the inside.

November 16, 2021

Very snug!

These mittens are excellent for cold water surfing and have kept me very warm. Their snug fit and textured palms make them a perfect match for cold water paddling!

August 31, 2021

Grateful for these

So I have been using these to surf the bore tide in Alaska. Last week the current took me for about an hour longer ride than I had hoped for. I was wearing an R5 hooded wetsuit and R3 booties and these mitts, and was warm and happy the whole time until the current spit me out past Girdwood. Thanks, Patagonia! The thumb is a bit tight, and the finge... Read Morers a bit loose, but the water inside stayed warm and I was cozy and happy and looking for Belugas.

November 22, 2020

Cold water swimming

I use these for cold open water swimming. So far down to 38 degrees F. and they absolutely keep my hands warm. The only thing is that the thumb is a bit tight which so far is ok but if you have thicker thumbs it might be a problem. I'm planning on using these until it freezes over and sure that they will keep my hands warm.

November 3, 2020

Yulex gloves

I was a little skeptical of the Yulex gloves at first but after wearing them once, I am completly sold. I may buy the winter wetsuit next.

December 24, 2019

Mitts

Hey all. Happy holidays This is the third pair we have bought in our family. They are comfortable, roomy for fingers, easy on/off yet don’t let in water. And of course warm. The rating is based on sizing. I usually wear a med. But in these mits I had to go to a large. No biggie but my son in law has slightly larger hands than mine and the xl are hu... Read Morege on him so we’ll try the large ( he tried them originally and found them to be a little tight) and hope they are not too restrictive. Bottom line is great mitts once you get the fit right.

Response from Patagonia
January 15, 2020

Hi Lela, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! Feedback like this is crucial in improving products for future seasons. We're sorry to hear about the trouble you've had with finding the right size. Don't hesitate to [contact us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/#searchterm=contact) if you need any assistance with your return.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches