Back to Product

Boys Retro Pile Jacket

Write Your Review

4.3/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 33 Reviews

Clear All

Boys Retro Pile Jacket

4.3/5
Kinda Large
May 7, 2022

Nice Product but Pills Easily

I bought this for my 9 yr old and within a couple wears it started to badly pill on the sleeves and along the bottom. For very light use this might be okay but for an active 9 yr old, it's not.

Response from Patagonia
May 10, 2022

Hi Carmen! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the jacket started pilling. To prevent pilling, we recommend washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get abraded. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again. With that said, if you're unsatisfied with the jacket you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 15, 2022

EXCELLENT FOR KIDS

Far superior fleece sweatshirt for kids. I know that even when my son chooses shorts, he will be worm if he takes this fleece with him! Such a win and we love it so much!

February 26, 2022

Fleece jacket

I bought the wrong size. This is for my 17 year old granddaughter, and though shes slight build, it was too small, but she loves it. We returned this and bought a ladies size

February 22, 2022

Cute style

Again found this jacket to be shorter in body length and narrower. Cute style. Grandson likes it for the warmer days.

January 29, 2022

Great fit and style, poor QA/QC

I've ordered two rounds of these jackets for my 8yo twins and both times the wrist seams came apart on the first machine wash. Returned both times. Disappointing - as the fit, style, fabric and features are otherwise good.

Response from Patagonia
January 31, 2022

Hey Jean, thank you for leaving us a review and for sharing your input on this quality issue, we've passed along the feedback to our quality control team. There is a chance that there was a miss with the care instructions, so we've included those below. If you're interested in trying something similar we recommend checking out the [Kids' Retro-X Fleece Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/kids-retro-x-fleece-jacket/65625.html?dwvar_65625_color=HENB&cgid=root). Machine wash warm, do not bleach, tumble dry low, do not iron.

January 14, 2022

Not the best product

I wear this jacket casually (no adventure sports, outdoor activities, etc.) and the stitching on the cuff came undone within the first couple weeks of wearing it. The elbows also look worn. I own FAST FASHION jackets from many years ago that have held up better than this. Its not worth the price, and for being a Patagonia item this should have held... Read More much longer. The only good thing about this is that its warm and has good zippers.

Response from Patagonia
January 21, 2022

Hi Natasha, thank you for taking the time to share this review. We're so sorry to hear this jacket didn't hold up the way it should have! Your satisfaction is always guaranteed. If you haven't done so already, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

January 13, 2022

Super warm

Truth is, I purchased a second one because I lost the first one. It was a gift to my 11 year old grandson. He was upset cause he loved it. So, for the second one, he picked the color and hes wearing it just about daily, he likes the plush, the feel of it and not to mention the warmth.

January 7, 2022

Throw away quality

I purchase kids sizes, since they are the perfect fit for a petite woman. This jacket is my the only purchase from Patagonia that I regret. The jacket only lasted through one Florida winter. I would prefer to pay more, but have a quality product that can be worn for many years. It piles, and wears out terribly.

January 7, 2022

Second Time

Fits boys 16-18, my son absolutely loves this! Had 3/4 zip, grew out of it and purchased this to replace. Washes great, wears to school, play, everywhere. His go to for warmth and cozy

November 22, 2021

Horrible

I purchased two of these fleeces for my son last Christmas. They were too big last year so this year is the first year they have been worn, and after a few weeks of wearing and one wash, they look horrible. They are pilling and look several years old, this is not the quality I expected from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
November 30, 2021

Hey Amy, thank you for leaving us a review on the Retro Pile Fleece Jacket. We're so sorry to hear of the premature pilling. We expect some pilling down the line, over time with friction and use, but it should not be deteriorating in such a short amount of time. We've emailed to get you set up for a warranty return, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

November 19, 2021

cozy

The fabric is thinner than I thought, but it is soft and cozy.

November 13, 2021

Comfy and Cozy

My 5 year old absolutely loves it! He says he feels nice and cozy in it. Perfect for fall weather.

November 12, 2021

Nice fall jacket but runs small

I bought this for my 9 yr old son in size large. While this is a nice quality jacket, it runs small. It barely fits him. His last jacket from here was a size medium so I just naturally assumed the large would be the next size to get him. I would return this but my younger son will wear it instead.

October 8, 2021

Lovely, warm jacket purchased for petite lady

Boys XXL fits beautifully - love the color

September 30, 2021

Great Jacket

Purchased for my six year old and it fits him great. The jacket feels soft so my son really enjoys putting it on. My son still has room to grow into the jacket, so looking to get good use from it, until hes ready for the next one.

September 24, 2021

Sheds A Lot

This jacket is so comfortable and warm. But it sheds like no other fleece I have ever owned. I hoped that it would get better after washes. It has been over a year and it still sheds.

Response from Patagonia
October 4, 2021

Hi Claire! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our Design Team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this to us under our warranty. We hope to not disappoint you again in the future.

September 11, 2021

Nice but runs small

I expected the product to be larger, especially in arm length. My son wears an XL in all other brands, but this fit him more like a large.

Response from Patagonia
September 21, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the fit Stephany. We're always happy to provide garment dimensions prior to purchase.

September 7, 2021

Finally a fleece my son likes

My son is very picky about his fleece jacket. He had one from LLBean that he lived in for two or three years, but it was finally dissolving from use. We went on a hunt for over a year to find a fleece that ticked all his boxes and came up with this sherpa version from Patagonia. He loves it! I would have liked a fleece layer on top of the sherpa, b... Read Moreut that doesn't seem to exist in the marketplace. This is going to work well through the fall and early winter, and he can layer it in truly cold weather. Thank you Patagonia for making the perfect fleece jacket for my picky son.

December 6, 2020

Loves It! Great casual fleece!

Recently bought for my 14 yo son! He loves it and wears it every where. Lightweight, washes well. Very happy with my purchase.

November 11, 2020

Cozy for my son

My son loves his Patagonia!

October 29, 2020

Exceed Expectations

I was very surprised when my eleven year old asked for a comfy fluffy jacket ( he never asks for clothing) for his birthday. He is a tall, healthy 11 year old and I went with a XL based on sizing and it fits perfect. Great quality. I am blown away by the shipping. I ordered it yesterday expecting it to be here next week and it arrived within 26 hou... Read Morers. This may not seem like much but I have waited 2-3 weeks for other retailers to get orders during these times. First time ordering from Patagonia but will not be my last A+++++++ quality, style, sizing and shipping. Looks just like the photos.

January 28, 2020

Retro Jacket

Got the correct size and my grandson loves it! Found I needed to go up to XXl (16-18) to fit my 12 year old slender grandson Great color great style!!

January 9, 2020

Great warm jacket

Especially with cold winters declining nowadays this jacket is suitable year round together with a rain shell.

January 3, 2020

Great coat for an 11

Great coat for an 11 year old!

December 27, 2019

Perfect jacket

Super warm and cozy! My little guy loves this coat, which is saying a lot because he usually refuses to wear anything warm. I feel so grateful he won’t be freezing all the time thanks to this!

December 26, 2019

Exceptional Product

Exceptional Product

November 25, 2019

Great Casual Jacket

I was searching for a pile jacket that was more light weight than the poofy ones you find in the women's department. However, I usually like jackets that don't have a hat attached to them so when I found this jacket in the men's/boy's section I was super happy! I wish the ladies section offered more neutral colors rather than gi... Read Morerly ones. Luckily I can fit a boy's XXL size so I also scored on a cheaper price than the men's version. Only difference was inner lining was tan instead of navy and the red zipper is more of a coral color than a dark red like in the men's version. Also, the jacket does create lint so make sure not to wear with dark colors. Overall, I love my purchase and it's a great everyday wear item.

November 20, 2019

Cozy fleece

I got this jacket for my son as another layer of insulation to wear under his outer jacket when he's biking with us on cold weather mornings and evenings. It's a tiny bit bulky for this purpose, but he loves the jacket and color. It is not wind-proof, so it definitely needs another layer on top for biking.

November 14, 2019

Good

Good~~^_____^

November 3, 2019

Great Quality

The jacket we purchased for our son exceeded our expectations.

October 31, 2019

Favorite thing to wear

Bought this for my 11 year old son. He is obsessed w clothing. This jacket is perfect for him In middle school - fits in his locker but keeps him warm. Love the color and fit.

October 12, 2019

Boys Retro Pile jacket

It is soft and comfy but unfortunately shrank from the first wash. I have many many Patagonia jackets and vests but I was kind of disappointed with this one. I am a small adult who wears boy's jacket and vests bc they fit much better.

Response from Patagonia
October 24, 2019

Hi Annie, I'm sorry that the Retro Pile Vest shrunk in the wash. We would be more than happy to return or exchange that for you. We'll reach out to help you get that vest back into us.

October 9, 2019

The only disappointment is the

The only disappointment is the length of time it takes to fill and ship the orders. Kids sizes run large. Ordered items for 5 year old grandson. Always have loved Patagonia items.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches