Back to Product

Stormsurge Roll-Top Pack 45L

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 44 Reviews

Clear All

Stormsurge Roll-Top Pack 45L

4.7/5
True To Size
May 2, 2021

Very good, could be better

I love this bag. Its extremely versatile and has room for lots of customization. The only downside are the waist straps. I believe for the best hiking/ adventure bag, support is everything. If the waist straps were bigger and more cushioned, it would make the bag more comfortable and ready for the long haul.

May 1, 2021

love it

really robust, reliable and rather lightweight backpack, easy to handle

April 20, 2021

Great Waterproof pack

The is a great roll top waterproof pack. Everything remains dry despite downpours and wading deep. Very roomy, holds a ton and super durable. Love it.

April 7, 2021

10/10 design and functionality bag

This bag is all you could ever want and ask for for a dry bag. Amazing quality, looks great, and tons of room to store whatever it is you are looking to bring along with you.

February 7, 2021

Great bag fits alot in.

Great bag fits alot in. Great quality

November 17, 2020

Could use a bigger internal pocket

So far I really like the bag - except - the internal pocket is too small. I like to leave certain things in the bag (wax, comb, key, snack) but it is barely big enough for a bar of wax. Have to resort to adding another bag in the bag. Other than that its great

November 3, 2020

Perfect fit for my gear

I use this bag to carry my work gear (survival suit, Grundens, change of clothes, extra socks, and some food) out on the "launch boat" during rowing practices. There is plenty of room to store the bulkiest of gear. These boats sit low to the surface of the water and the decks are wet all the time. This bag sits upright and balanced even w... Read Morehen full of gear and also hangs nicely on my back and evenly distributes the weight which is critical when getting on board and off board the boat. Gear remains dry all practice long, day after day in very wet environment.

September 10, 2020

Awesome backpack

Perfect waterproof backpack! My fiancee uses it for softball, hiking, skiing or fishing. You can fit a lot of stuff inside. I will just want more inside pockets but it was a great b-day present for him.

July 13, 2020

Great all arounder

Stoked on the new pack. Use it for just about everything and never worry about dry gear getting wet or wet gear making a mess.

July 13, 2020

Bottomless

Alot of room for fishing gear...rain or snow, no worries waterproofing is awesome. Easy access through the roll top...highly recommended.

July 9, 2020

Great all arounder

Stoked on the new pack. Use it for just about everything and never worry about dry gear getting wet or wet gear making a mess.

July 9, 2020

Bottomless

Alot of room for fishing gear...rain or snow, no worries waterproofing is awesome. Easy access through the roll top...highly recommended.

June 21, 2020

The best water proof pack in the market.

This waterproof bag is on my skiff everyday in all kinds of Florida rain storms. No Leaks!

June 17, 2020

The best water proof pack in the market.

This waterproof bag is on my skiff everyday in all kinds of Florida rain storms. No Leaks!

February 11, 2020

More or less perfect

Maybe the small pocket on the inside could have been a little bigger? This pack suits my training, school and travel situation well. Now it just needs to last a lifetime.

January 2, 2020

Solid.

What you get is what you see. No inside pockets except for a little netting one for keys/wallet. Material is fairly tough, but only more use will tell to what extent. What I really like about this bag is how well it handles being stuffed. I took it on a good long day hike in the snowy Rockies carrying food, clothes, my fly gear, and tioletries (alw... Read Moreays carry those). It had a good amount of gear in it, and even though it has no frame, the bag sits comfortably and still had room for a ton more inside. Will definitely use this bag for some light backpacking/overnights, as it is very comfortably carrying loads and has the space. The only thing I would add is some water bottle pockets. It really is a pain to have to open the roll top every time I need a drink, but like I said, you get what you see.

December 28, 2019

Light, spacious, durable, waterproof

Very impressed with the quality of this bag. Bought it for a ski trip for which I wanted to travel lightly and be able to move from place to place with all that I packed on my back. The only downside is that it’s a bit tedious to get something out once you’ve packed everything and closed it up and I would have liked to have a small zippered pocket ... Read Moreon the outside for easy access, but all in all I am totally happy with it. It does not hurt my back and shoulders to carry, even when it’s filled to the brim. There are multiple places on the outside to attach a water bottle, tie shoe laces, etc. A very functional bag.

December 17, 2019

Great CS

Great CS with timely responses. Set me up with the pro deal very quickly even though you set the expectation low with your disclaimer about volume of applicants. Under promise, over deliver=rare. Product shipped right away. 10/10 will use again.

November 23, 2019

Keeping the water out

I needed a backpack to keep my work gear, including some electronics, out of damaging weather. A colleague had this bag and it looked perfect. It is. Switched it with my usual pack yesterday for work on a boat in the rain. I may use it permanently.

November 20, 2019

Just what I was looking for

Well, light and totally what I needed. Use it as my fishing backpack in search of the elusive Steelhead in the NW

November 18, 2019

Excellent Product!!

If youre looking for a backpack you can take anywhere with you and need to be sure youre gear stays dry, this is the bag for you.

November 5, 2019

Buy again. Waterproof. Versatile.

This is my second purchase. Very impressed with form and function. Simple open and close, one compartment, stays waterproof through all my travels, most recently on a 30 day motorcycle trip across India to the Himalayas. I use bungee cords to strap it to my bike, not sure about shoulder strap comfort on long carry, they are not padded but work fin... Read Moree for shorter distances. This second bag replaces a dry bag which was motorcycle specific, claimed to be waterproof. Not.

October 14, 2019

Excellent!

Hi! I am a professional Tenkara fly fishing Guide based in Park City, UT. I've been looking for a pack that is both water proof and big. I take Folk out on the Rivers and Creeks of the Unita Mountain Range here in Utah and I needed a bag that fits a major medical kit, a thermos of coffee, water and extra fleece and rain jackets. This bag suits... Read More my needs perfectly! It's big enough to stuff jackets that come on and off during the day, carries five telescoping rods and connects to my Patagonia Convertible Fly Fishing vest. Super happy with this bit of gear! Tight lines! - Shawn Beautiful World Adventures, Park City, UT

September 23, 2019

Roll top fishing pack

This pack makes walking up rivers or packing into new fishing spots easy. Has enough room for everything I need for the day out

August 22, 2019

Awesome backpack

This is a great backpack, plenty of space for everything you need, take it on river/kayaking trips all the time and keeps everything in my bag dry and secure love using the side fishing pole strap for my yak paddle.

August 14, 2019

Great for Something

This pack is probably great for a floating trip but I took it on a 12 mile hike from CB to Aspen and found it to be slightly uncomfortable for such a hike. I also managed to break the waist buckle while tightening the pack to my hips. It seems like a great pack, just not for how I tried to use it.

August 11, 2019

Stormfront roll top

This thing is awesome. It’s huge, but fits under the seat in front of you on an airplane. Having an orange or yellow color interior would be helpful for finding gear inside of the black model.

August 10, 2019

Well constructed bag. Excellent use

Well constructed bag. Excellent use for working on the boat. Perfect size. Easy access and care.

August 10, 2019

Great bag for fishing trip

My bag is currently on a salmon fishing trip in Oregon. It works great!

July 22, 2019

Great waterproof bag, at a great price.

Kind of a no thrill bag, but a great bag none the less. Plenty of room for the angler hiking into somewhere and needs more than a fly box and tippet. I actually use it almost everyday, especially when flying. Completely waterproof. Will float if you roll it correctly and tighten it down. It’s a great price, considering how well it will keep your ge... Read Morear dry.

June 14, 2019

Dry Pack for the Gods

This pack is my favorite for my surf excursions that can be accessed only by boats. It may seem a little too large than some things may get lost inside, but with this bag you will be the saviour for all your surf buddies who lack foresight. I use the straps on the outside for my wet boardies or rashguard for the ride back home.

May 30, 2019

Perfect for Grand Canyon!

I bought this pack for a field science survey trip (channel mapping) in Grand Canyon knowing that id have to be in the water constantly waist deep hiking downstream with all of my gear. So this pack just made sense. I also needed a new guide pack for in Grand Canyon (river guide). I did not expect to love it as much as I do! Its comfortable, light ... Read Moreenough to backpack with, and the tube body "no nonsense" design is perfect for just about any adventure. I.E. Climbing, backpacking, rafting, kayaking, grocery shopping, terrestrial surveying and just a great everyday pack as well. I would like to see a variety of light colors just as a guide preference, its nice to be seen from far away. So I just ended up tying colorful bandanas to the pack. Ive already convinced a handful of people that they need this pack in their lives and they love it as well!

May 10, 2019

SE Alaska Bike Commuter

This bag has been great for my biking commute in soggy South East Alaska. I have also used it for fly fishing and getting my gear to shore from the boat, bone dry. My only criticism is that I would like some more storage options on the inside; the one it has is kind of small.

May 8, 2019

whitewater and saltwater proven

Originally bought this bag for an overnight whitewater trip where it lived up to its waterproof billing. Same goes with multiple salt fly trips. I've never fully immersed but it's been doused with multiple waves and sheet of rain.

May 8, 2019

Loved our backpacks!!!!!

The items were exactly as described and the items were delivered right on time!!!! Can’t say enough great things about Patagonia

April 2, 2019

Love this bag

I now have three of these. They are durable and easy to carry adn just the right size. They are slowly replacing all my other bags whenever I need that extra waterproofness and portability. The newest version opens a little wider at the top, which was a great improvement.

March 11, 2019

Great product, hands down.

I'm a field scientist that travels pretty much anywhere wet and marshy. At first, I was very hesitant to spend over $100 on a bag that has only one compartment, but I soon realized that this bag is worth every penny. After owning this roll top for a little shy of a year, it's safe to say that this bag is perfect for storing dry gear and c... Read Moreomfortable carry. I did five transects last year, all were in coastal marshes, all were extremely muddy, all were in torrential downpours. This bag kept everything dry and had a lot of room for our gear. Even the mud that coated the bag didn't create a problem since it's waterproof and I could just hose it down. Granted, our most expensive tech was put in pelican cases to ensure safety but my phone, clothes, other electronics and even 3 notebooks were bone dry at the end of each day. I also slid on an oyster bed with the bag and a tear didn't even occur. I'm very content with the comfort, size and durability of this bag and hopefully will have it for years to come.

December 3, 2018

great but..

I've taken this pack on salt and fresh water trips. Plenty of interior room, the roll top provides extra security and is leak proof. All positives. One draw back, no front exterior pocket for small, quick grab items (fly box, tippet, extra line etc) If Patagonia blended the Stormfront Pack with the Stormfront Roll Top it would warrant 5 stars.... Read More

April 13, 2018

Great pack!

Bought this a few weeks ago to pack my fly fishing gear into the Gunnison and surrounding rivers. The straps are padded and provide comfort when the pack is full. I added two additional ski straps to the outside which allows for an additional rod tube, net, or whatever you want to pack in. I also put a cam strap through loops that are sewn into the... Read More pack to attach wet and dirty boots. There is plenty of room inside the pack for a jacket, waders, hip pack and lunch. The pack is made with burly material that would be difficult to puncture. Pack keeps inside gear completely dry during extended rain storms and river crossings. The waist strap could be a little better to provide support for heavier loads. Overall, great pack and highly recommended.

December 23, 2017

Great for cycling and beach excursions

As a cyclist and surfer,this pack is great! It stores stuff and keeps 'the stuff' dry. It is very comfortable on my back while cycling or walking to the beach. It is easy to use and has sturdy clasps which are important to have for cycling scenarios especially.

December 2, 2017

Simple and awesome pack

This pack is exactly what I expected after watching the demo video. Super simple design and NOT loaded with extra pockets and secret compartments. There's not a lot of padding and structure in the back panel but I don't think that's something I would want in a pack that was going to be introduced to wet or damp environments. This i... Read Mores my go-to pack for heading out for extended surf sessions not near my car or on kayak / boat trips. I even use it as my yoga tote pack and the straps outside double as a mat transporter. Bottom line,it holds everything I want and keeps out everything I don't. Solid pack if you're not asking it to do things it was clearly not designed to do.

September 30, 2017

Product Fail

Loving most things Patagonia,I bought this pack for SUP touring as a sub-bag on board deck. I love the design,and the more supple material used as opposed to most dry bags. But after a couple days touring with it (separate days) this bag revealed one major flaw... It leaks. As in,the fabric wets out within a few hours of exposure to moisture. Af... Read Moreter one overnighter almost the entire bag has wet out on the inside. I'm not sure if the pack I got was a flaw or not,but it's the material itself that appears to not be waterproof,as opposed to a seem seal failure. I'm returning this pack today,sadly.

July 25, 2017

A Solid Option for River-Based Adventures

I have thrashed this pack around for the better part of a year,through all conditions,with absolutely zero issues. The refreshing thing about this pack,when compared to a traditional dry bag with a shoulder harness,is its flexibility and body-hugging design,which I find to be solid and supportive up to about 30 pounds (but I nearly always max the v... Read Moreolume out before this. The shoulder straps and waist webbing feel comfortable over waders and a wading jacket,with the added benefit that the waist strap acts as a secondary wading belt. One of my favorite features is the quick-release buckles at the shoulder straps - they make it fast to drop it on the bank when I get to a new hole. It's easy to unfasten the shoulder harness in this way and drop the pack without trying to take the pack off traditionally over your arms,which could interfere with a neck lanyard or vest. These buckles also make it easy to turn the pack around for access to the main compartment while still keeping the waist strap attached - just unclip,flip the harness over your shoulders,and twist the pack body around: voila,easy access. The pack fabric is durable and waterproof while still being lightweight - it doesn't feel like my rafting dry bags,but that's a good thing,since I'm usually wearing this pack only on long days on the water. I opted for the orange color,which does stand out on the water,but it's way easier to spot on the bank if you can't remember what willow you stashed it by. Added bonus points for safety when fishing in combined fish/hunt areas in deer season. I've lost a rod strap,but the attachment point is perfect for a Voile ski strap,which works wonders (and is also longer,so I can add more bulky items like a tripod on occasion; I've since replaced both original straps with these ski straps). It's great to use on float trips as a boat bag,too - plenty of lash points that make sense for a framed boat. Apart from fishing uses,it's great for camera gear (I use a foam-padded insert),and winter bike commuting (the attachment points also work with bike lights). I'll admit that I have also used it as an impromptu cooler - it'll hold a twelve-pack and plenty of ice,I'm happy to report! All in all,a solid piece of my kit.

June 2, 2017

Missed the mark / Very little back support

The bag is completely different from the prior version. It is very flimsy and had next to zero back support; the straps are very uncomfortable and are not accurately proportioned to the size bag this is. Simply stated,if you intend on adding weighted items,I can see the straps breaking and tearing in a short period of time. I would not take the ris... Read Morek. This is a huge step back from the predecessor it has replaced. The 30L was amazing. This bag I feel took a step in the wrong direction with respects to eliminating the key comfort features. My thought would be: increased bag size would equal the same if not more padding than its predecessor. The pictures on the website do not do justice for how little support is actually there. I have been a big supporter of the Storm Front line that Patagonia has since its inception. Overall I can say that the products have been great if not outstanding. However this product completely missed the mark. I utilize dry bags for camera gear and items that simply cannot and shall not ever get wet. I loaded hard items inside of it and felt a great amount of pressure due to the lack of support and padding. It almost feels like a new TPU was used from the prior version as well. Sorry for the negative review Patagonia,still love your products. I am sure my needs are different from the next reviewers,but simply stated I was stoked that you made a bigger version than the 30L. However I am now disappointed I waited since January when you first put it up and now for it to just get returned following a 6 month wait. Please go back to the drawing board on this one and try again. All of your other Storm Front items I have purchased are amazing and I am sure you will make the needed changes if you see fit.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches