burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Ms Classic Retro-X® Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 365 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Classic Retro-X® Jacket

4.6/5
Kinda Large
November 18, 2022

Awful Fit For Tall People

If you are a taller person, stay away from this jacket. Aside from the inner lining being uncomfortable for the price, this product runs extremely short and is not meant for anyone with longer torsos.

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2022

Hi Cole, we're so sorry to hear about the fit issue you're experiencing with the Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket. Please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

November 18, 2022

Sizing

I'm 6'0 180lbs, usually between a M or L depending on the brand. I find the M to be too tight around the waist area and also too short. The L was far too roomy in the waist area, although I liked the fit in the shoulders better. Really love this jacket just not sure it's the right fit for me

November 14, 2022

Perfect jacket for winter season.

It is super warm and light. Great for winter season

November 2, 2022

Not the right size for me

I did order this jacket in two sizes and I have to admit that neither of them fit me. So this is the main reason I shipped them back.

November 1, 2022

Super comfy!

Good quality fleece very much comfortable but I do not like rough interior. Fitting is great Love it.

October 26, 2022

Functional jacket!

The jacket is nice and super warm. And has a good windblock. The collors are perfect and it will last for a long time. Don't know how it wil do in a bit of rain yet! But I think it's a nice and cozy jacket

October 22, 2022

Amazing

This jacket fit perfect. But I would somewhat would want it to be longer. Im pretty short but the jacket fit my perfectly. Maybe a bit bigger and longer would be great

October 21, 2022

A little stiff, but probably

A little stiff, but probably will soften with age

Response from Patagonia
October 25, 2022

Hi Dana! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. The Retro-X can be a bit stiff upon arrival due to that windproof backer, but it will start to soften up and become really cozy.

October 20, 2022

Very nice, lined throughout

Very nice jacket. Very thick. I am 6 feet 205lb and an XL fit well. But I didn't realize that the jacket is lined throughout, which is not what Im looking for.

October 19, 2022

Stylish and warm

I was surprised how warm this jacket keeps me! I had worn this when temps in the Mid-Atlantic reached the 50s, and I was almost sweating in it. I could certainly use this into late fall/early winter for sure. I received a lot of compliments while wearing it too!

October 18, 2022

Warm and comfy

Great jacket, I love it like most patagonia gear. The only caveat for me is that it feels a bit rigid with the liner inside. Other than that, it feels and fits perfect. Most importantly, it is warm!

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2022

Thank you for this review, Ivan! What you're feeling is the windproof membrane, which can feel a little stiff inside the jacket, but most folks find it's worth it. Please let us know if we can be of any help!

October 15, 2022

Timeless

Bought my first retro x in 2015. Always liked the style of this line and was happy to see they still sold it. Im 5 foot 9, 180 ish pounds with slightly athletic build. My M size vest fits like a glove ( a little too snug ). Im glad I bought L for this jacket. Fits perfectly and could probably layer a light sweatshirt underneath. This was my biggest... Read More concern ordering this so if you are on the fence I would size up .. it still looks well fitted too.

October 14, 2022

Very nice

I love this fleece, it's my first ever item form Patagonia and it's so good quality. It looks good and is warm aswell for winter days in Stockholm.

October 1, 2022

Warm, thick, windproof fleece!

Fits the way I expect an XL to. Love the inner lining; I can put on over a flannel shirt and slides on with no binding. Looking for one in black! They used to be here but now.........................?

September 25, 2022

Good fit but rough interior

This jacket looks good and fits well. So, why the 3 stars, the inside of the jacket is not lined with soft material. I dont like this at all. The lining inside feels like a rubber mat!! I wore it on a t-shirt and it felt very rough. I am surprised no one commented on this issue. Maybe its not supposed to be worn on t-shirts! All else is ok with thi... Read Mores jacket.

Response from Patagonia
October 4, 2022

Hey Baba, thank you for the feedback on our Classic Retro-X Jacket. The lining helps with the windproofing properties of the jacket. If windproofing is not a priority for you, we recommend checking out the [Men's Retro Pile Fleece Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-retro-pile-fleece-jacket/22801.html?dwvar_22801_color=DNAT&cgid=root) in it's place.

September 16, 2022

Great all around jacket

It's warm and great in any weather! Especially the cold! Great fit too, I now want more designs od the same jacket!

September 10, 2022

Had to size up to

Had to size up to xl because.the large was tight through the waist but the xl is too big in the waist you need to follow the TNF sizing with the waist of a large fitting a 36 to 37

September 9, 2022

Super-warm fleece

Love this Jacket & love the fit! This is my 2nd Retro-X fleece jacket & already have the Vest too. Is definitely wind-proof & will be my go-to this Winter. Thx again for a great product.

September 8, 2022

Patagonia good Patagonia warm

Patagonia good Patagonia warm

September 7, 2022

Cant wait for cold weather.

This is my second retro jacket. The first one is several years old (maybe 10?) and still in daily use during cold weather. Im pretty sure it wont wear out in my lifetime but I need it in two locations and decided to get a second while it was on sale. Its great. I like it. Nothing more to say. (Apostrophes seem to be disabled.)

September 6, 2022

Excellent jacket. This one is

Excellent jacket. This one is number 7.

September 6, 2022

Good for long arms

So either have super short arms or patagonia standard model arms are super long. Otherwise no complaints with fit, quality and warmth

September 6, 2022

Super warm

I really like this piece as it is super warm to the point of being too warm for any kind of activity. The interior lining is heavy and doesnt breathe as well as other items so its not practical if youre on the move. All said, its a great jacket for cold days

September 6, 2022

Fuzzy and warm

Hi Love this jacket! I bought the retro x vest last fall and love it I wear the vest for work and play outside When I saw the jacket on sale I had to have it I like the thick wind resistant fleece on the retro x and the smooth liner makes it easier to layer with a flannel or sweater Cant wait to try it this winter

September 6, 2022

I bought the original 30+

I bought the original 30+ years ago and still have it. I bought this one just to have a newer version to wear around town. The quality and workman appear to be as good as the original.

September 5, 2022

Great Jacket with superb looks

This Jacket fits me great and feels really comfortable. The looks with the camo colours is just pure joy :) It's warm too and I can only recommend it a lot.

September 1, 2022

Comfortable

Nice fall jacket. Comfortable fit plenty warm enough for cold New England mornings.

August 28, 2022

A tried & true classic.

A tried & true classic. Love this jacket! I still have my original in black thats 10+ years old & still going strong - it was simply time for a new color. Bring on winter! :)

August 6, 2022

Great jacket

This is a great jacket. It looks good, has great wind stopping properties and as a result is nice and warm. It seems really well made. Absolutely no regrets!

July 24, 2022

Super warm

It is narrow for the body

June 17, 2022

Great jacket (even if it's somewhat short

I purchased the Retro-x in Pelican w/Dark Borealis Green in XS and S to compare sizes and decided to keep the XS. The Retro-x is said to be a regular fit but in reality, it's quite roomy around the shoulders and long in the arms but short in the body. Also, the Pelican color shown in the product photo is darker than the actual Pelican color. I... Read Moren reality, the Pelican color is lighter and a bit more beige. Although the size S fits well enough, I prefer the fit of the size XS as it looks a bit more professional (I'm about 5' 6", 140lb, 38" chest, 28" waist). For those that are taller, definitely stick to the size S as the XS will be too short for you. I also bought a Northern Green Men's Recycled Sherpa Fleece Hoody in XS. It has a much better fit and length but the chest area feels a little tighter as it does not stretch like the retro-x. On a side note, the Northern Green color is spectacular and if Patagonia makes the retro-x in Northern Green, I will definitely buy it. An interesting fact is that the color and fleece quality for 2021 and 2022 are different. Based on the information shown on the paper tag, the size XS is a 2021 model and the size S is a 2022 model. I preferred the lighter color shade and the pile length/softness of the 2022 but liked the 2021 for the thickness of the fleece as it feels more durable and may be less prone to matting in my opinion. Differences in color and fleece quality between the 2021 and 2022 models: - Color: 2022 Pelican is lighter than 2021 - Pile Length: 2022 Pelican is longer than 2021 - Softness: 2022 Pelican is softer than 2021 - Thickness: 2022 Pelican is thinner than 2021

May 21, 2022

Wind proof and warm

Love this jacket it fits like a glove. Keeps me warm on the windiest days.

May 13, 2022

Classic Feel

Classic feel. Feels great when wearing in cool weather with moderate to slightly strong winds. Inner lining of the jacket isnt soft, but does break in some, although I wouldnt wear it with short sleeves. Feels durable. Great chest pockets. Love the collar, very sturdy and protects from wind. Many companies try and copy this jacket, so had to try th... Read Moree OG, didnt disappoint. Curious if they had a different lining how that would make it feel, like fleece outer, membrane middle, and a different lighter fleece for inner.

Response from Patagonia
May 16, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Steven. Yes, it's the windproof membrane you're feeling that is a little stiff. We'll pass your suggestion about adding a different lining on to our product team!

May 10, 2022

Really nice fleece, very warm, but unfortunately, size runs too small.

Really nice fleece, very warm, but unfortunately it runs too small for me. Would be nice to have a possibility to change it to size M....

May 9, 2022

Warm & so comfortable!

I love the comfort, warmth & style of this jacket, extremely happy with my purchase!!

May 4, 2022

Well made with a Classic look

This fleece is very comfortable and wears great. It is not going to be as soft as the synchilla due to the material, but it is still nice and the classic look can't be beat.

April 25, 2022

comfy and breathable

love this for early morning walks with the dog or as something to have in the back seat if it gets a little chilly on a night out

April 24, 2022

Super warm

Super warm jacket. Blocks wind well. Fit is a little bulky not tapered which is good for layering if needed. However, its soo warm, layering isnt necessary. Could be slimmer through the torso. Perfect camo color to blend in and hide while stalking fish.

April 11, 2022

Love that jacket!

Great cut and super warm!

March 29, 2022

OK

Good quality - my only issue is the size illustrated on the ordering work up runs small

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2022

Hello Glenn, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry that the sizing did not work out on the Retro-X Jacket. You are welcome to [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it at your convenience. We are also available to provide garment measurements if needed.

March 22, 2022

Favorite coat

This is the 6th time Ive purchased this coat. Its my all time favorite coat. Its super warm and is great at blocking the wind. This year the coat runs very small. Ive always purchased a large and this year it was very snug. I didnt try it on in the store because I was racing to catch a plane to Iceland. I was disappointed when I put it on when I go... Read Moret there and it was so snug. I barely had room for a fleece underneath it. Fortunately the coat is so warm it wasnt so much an issue. When I got home I bought another one in a larger size. The XL is a little big but I still love it.

March 21, 2022

Great classic looking jacket

At first, I wasnt sure about the jacket looking at it on the hangar at the store but after trying it on you feel like a boss. I am 65, 225, so tall and slim and this jacket in an XL fits perfect, more of a standard fit rather than slim and tight fitting. (Ive learned through the years I have to try on Patagonia stuff first because I vary from L or ... Read MoreXL based on the fit. I wear a L Nano Puff instead of XL since the L is much more slim fitting where the XL nano felt too baggy.) even though peoples biggest complaint is that it isnt super cozy on the inside like how it would look based on the outside of the jacket, it is very comfortable and very warm. I have noticed it cuts all wind better than my nano puff. 10/10 jacket

March 20, 2022

A classic

Love these jackets, nylon shells on down jackets tend to make me sweat, these are warm, wind proof, and are more comfortable for me.

March 19, 2022

Warm and wind proof

Second time I bought the jacket. Great on raft trips and amazing warmth in brutal cold.

March 17, 2022

Dumb Warm

It's dumb how warm and resistant this jacket is. Haven't stopped wearing it since purchased. Doing well in chicago!

March 17, 2022

Great jacket

Love the wind resistant. Very warm.

March 17, 2022

Great Coat

I am 62 and 200 pounds and a large fits really well. A little baggy like some of the other reviews say, but it fits the style of the coat. Really warm and the liner blocks the wind. I get a lot of comments on it.

March 16, 2022

Warm and comfortable

Keeps me warm in really cold weather.

March 14, 2022

Stops the cool breeze.

Excellent coat this one makes Five.

March 14, 2022

Super Warm and Comfortable

LOVE this jacket. Bought a large because the XL arms were way too long for me. Love this warm piece!

March 14, 2022

Runs smaller than my 2 older Retro X

I ordered this color because I always wanted this one , I have 2 older Retro X jackets and this new one is smaller in the body snd chest , its almost like a fitted jacket while my others are a loose fit , I had this one in an xxl a few years back and it was too big , now I should have ordered another xxl

Response from Patagonia
March 22, 2022

We're sorry to hear that the new jacket fits differently. We did make this jacket in a "relaxed" fit long ago, but revised to a "regular" fit about a dozen years ago. Please reach out if you'd like to exchange, return or discuss some other product recommendations. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

March 13, 2022

Built to last

Sound construction, tough material yet comfortable.

March 11, 2022

Perfect, just be aware of fit.

I originally ordered a medium, but after being suspicious of its size, I tried on a small in-store and returned. This is a sweet jacket, if you are around my height and weight, 5'8" and 140 pounds, a small is perfect for a fitted look that can go with anything. A medium is perfect if you want to wear a hoodie or layer under it, but really... Read More baggy in the arms because of the size up. Hope this helps.

March 9, 2022

Cannot Recommend

I really really wanted to like this jacket/fleece, but there are too many small issues with the design of this jacket that I am going to return it. First the positives: - The quality of the stitching and materials is excellent. - It is quite warm for the most part minus in certain instances outlines below. - Decent price if picked up on a sale. No... Read Morew the negatives: - As others have mentioned, the jacket is quit short. That made it ride up my back constantly while driving or sitting. So I had to continuously pull it down. - The shoulder to elbow section of the sleeves is humongous which makes a lot of fabric bunch up in you arm pits which makes for an uncomfortable fit. - Because it is so short and the sleeves so huge, it does not retain heat quite well when outside in the cold. - The fleece SHEDS. Like crazy. Just putting it on and off results in a ton of fleece fibers flying off. - Pocket are very small and awkwardly positioned. It is quite difficult to easily put a phone and wallet in the packet due to the very small opening of the pocket and the pockets themselves being smaller than what I'm used to in other similar products. - The elastic around the wrist was rough for me to a point it got painful after a couple of wears. Only happened on one side. - The pocket is more than normal space towards the back so when you pull stuff out of your pocket, it gets stuck in that extra space. - The chest pocket is tiny. It can't fit an iphone 10 max with a cover. Again, I really really really wanted to like this fleece and I was so excited when I first got and I tried so so hard to look over all the relatively small weirdness. In the end there were too many issues to be happy with this jacket.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2022

Thank you so much for sharing this detailed review. This kind of feedback is incredibly helpful both to other customers and to our design team. We're so sorry this jacket was a disappointment when it arrived! We see you've been able to return it. Please let us know if we can help you find something that you'll be happier with!

March 2, 2022

Very comfortable

Keeps warm and comfortable

March 1, 2022

Warm, Sturdy, High Pile

I really like this fleece jacket. It is almost too warm for hiking, and a little too stiff for folding up. But it is perfect for casual wear when the temp is above 35-40F. And I think it looks great.

February 25, 2022

A Really Cool Jacket!

So, me being the chic, monochromatic, navy blue and black clothes wearing guy that I am was admittedly pretty skeptical about buying Patagonia Men's Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket but that didn't last long. I bought two in a week :) and am eyeing a third (all in different colors). I know, I know! Let me explain. After realizing I needed a ... Read Morewarm and versatile but stylish jacket while running morning errands or grabbing evening drinks on a rooftop, I looked to one of my favorite brands, Patagonia, to check out my options and this jacket met all of my needs. I'm so happy I made this decision as I look forward to wearing this for a long time. I highly recommend it!

February 21, 2022

Warm and Functional

Super Warm and Functional! I bought this retro fleece jacket as a replacement for one I have been wearing nearly every day for the last 10 years. The original is still very functional but getting a little warn so i will shift its use to hiking, rafting, camping and fishing and use the new one for every day. Breathes well and works great when layeri... Read Moreng during winter or on cold mornings around camp. It has a wonderful quality on a cold clear morning when the sun hits the fabric it feels like you're wearing a heating pad!

February 19, 2022

Warm-durable- functional

Im outside a lot, much of that time in the woods, thick woods and need a coat that will stand up to branches, briars and not be to heavy or cumbersome- this one works - real well ;)

February 16, 2022

Looks nice online..

Bought this for my significant other but it was just stiff the material just isnt soft to the touch.

Response from Patagonia
February 18, 2022

Hi Carmen, thank you for sharing this review. What you're feeling may be the heavy-duty windproof barrier in the jacket. It does soften over time, but if he'd prefer something without that stiffness he might check out the Men's Los Gatos Jacket, or the Men's Retro Pile Jacket, both of which are fleecy but have a softer hand since they don't have that barrier. And we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this one if it doesn’t work out for you!

February 8, 2022

Rugged and well insulated

Great jacket! Just like the one I owned 20 years ago. Very warm!

February 2, 2022

Warm and Comfortable

Very warm in 30-40 degree weather, no need to bundle. Very comfortable for long hours of wear.

January 31, 2022

high quality

I love how when I purchase from Patagonia my money goes to a conscious company and the clothing is wonderful with a great guarantee.

January 30, 2022

Classic Retro-X® Fleece Jacket

Outstanding, fits great , very warm and you can feel the quality. Wasnt sure about purchasing because of the price , you can definitely tell / feel this is not your typical fleece jacket .

January 29, 2022

Great Jacket

Purchased the green camo version. A little short in the arm but layering (with hoodie) helps and its very well constructed. I do wish there was an interior pocket but exterior jacket pockets are really deep and can fit several items without giving you that bulky feeling. Chest pocket is great for shades. Im happy with my purchase.

January 29, 2022

Wind proof and very warm.

I bought my first Patagonia fleece jacket in the early 80s. It had a rough outside finish with fleece inside; it looked like Id skinned a sheep Very warm jacket as long as it wasnt windy. The new Retro-X is warmer thanks to the smooth inner layer that is very effective at keeping out the wind. I may look like the Cookie Monster (I bought the blue o... Read Morene) but it is very warm and comfortable to move around in. This will replace a down puffer jacket as my go-to cold weather outerwear.

January 29, 2022

Fits good

The retro x is great. I was concerned about the fit after reading some of the other reviews. I am 6'4" 220# with a 37" sleeve length and 44L jacket size. I ordered the XL (1/2022). It fits perfect in the arms and I can wear a sweater under it no problem. The length is maybe an inch and a half too short but it is not noticeable and so... Read Moremething that most tall folks are used to dealing with. The length could be in issue in the XL if you have a heaver build.

January 29, 2022

FInially fullfilled

Coveted this jacket now for 40 years. I always thought it too expensive. finally it was time and now worth every penny, I should have been wearing it for decades. Warm but not wind proof, easy temp regulation, looks so good!

January 29, 2022

Looks are deceiving

Very stylish good looking jacket, but it is not very warm or comfortable. The inside lining is rough to the touch. I would never wear this with a short sleeve shirt, and despite the warm fleeced look the jacket doesnt retain body heat very well.

Response from Patagonia
January 31, 2022

Hi Charlie, thank you for providing this review. We're sorry this jacket didn't work for you! What you’re feeling is the inner windproof barrier, which may feel a little stiff. If you’d like a fleece jacket without that kind of lining you might check out our Retro Pile Jacket or our Los Gatos products, which are softer inside. And of course, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this one if you wish.

January 29, 2022

A old friend

Wonderful coat. Stylish and a great fit. A friend to my 1986 pile coat that still gets brought out on special occasions. One thing- it's a little drafty around the bottom of the coat - a draw string would have been nice.

January 28, 2022

Perfect

Im a woman who hates the way women coats are typically made. I like more arm room without looking fuller in the body. Today its 37° a with snow coming and despite how thin it initially felt its doing an amazing job keeping me warm Definitely worth the wait and purchase

January 28, 2022

Black was slim fit

As opposed to the green, blue, camouflage XL jackets of the same type - this black version was a slim fit. The others fit appropriately. Love them otherwise.

January 27, 2022

Fantastic Fleece

I own two of these Classic Retro Jackets in Black and Blue. Plus a Classic Retro Vest in Black. This Patagonia fleece is the best fleece you can purchase. They keep you incredibly warm and they last for years.

January 26, 2022

High-quality and warm

This fleece feels really rugged and keeps me very warm. I love the high collar that I can pop up when its cold outside and windy. The full zipper jacket makes it easy to transition when taking it on or off. I also like a really large pockets.

January 22, 2022

Super warm.

I received this jacket as a present. Can't wait to wear up on the mountain hunting. I can't believe you don't make a matching beanie.

January 15, 2022

High quality product jacket and super warm and comfortable.

High quality product jacket and super warm and comfortable. Husband love it.

January 14, 2022

Amazing jacket

Fits really, I love The coloring.

January 14, 2022

Great Gift

Bought this for my husband. He loves it and is wearing it all the time. The jacket acts as a windbreaker and is very warm.

January 13, 2022

Size

The length of the jacket could not be smaller at all, im 6'1, but L size is still a bit loose on the arms. Otherwise quite happy with it.

January 13, 2022

It was an awesome Xmas

It was an awesome Xmas gift. I look forward to be stylish in the city and wear it during hiking, trekking or outside bouldering. Hopefully the natural colour will survive

January 7, 2022

Great first version

I have the earlier version without the unsightly contrasting outside pocket. I have used it for over ten years and its a great part of my outdoor kit for climbing, sailing and casual. Still looks great. BUT I am waiting for a new version, more stretchy for movement, without that ugly pocket !!

January 7, 2022

Wonderful

Very warm and comfortable piece. Works well in many outdoor occasions.

January 6, 2022

Love it

Comfy and warm my go to fleece jacket. Love the external breast pocket and the huge side pockets, I can get 2 1L water bottles in just one pocket (just a reference for how huge they are). In terms of fit I bought a large, I'm 6ft with a 42in chest. The fit is exactly what I would be wanting from this style (I prefer slightly baggy not skin tig... Read Moreht) . The elastic around the cuff ensure sleeves will stay on my wrists with enough material in the sleeves to cover past the knuckles when pulled over my hand. This is great as they stay in place even with outstretched arms reaching for things. The body of the jacket allows enough room for another layer underneath maybe 2 but I might start to feel like the Michelin man at that point. Overall very happy with it so far and would recommend.

January 5, 2022

Best heavy fleece out there

I have the retro x Large from back in 2000, and this is heavier and an improvement- better than ever. Nobody makes a jacket like this - I mean nobody. Not EB, REI,TNF, even commercial fishing outerwear companies. Wind proof, perfect for cold snowy days skiing as a mid layer under a shell. Down sweater jackets arent good for that. I also wear th... Read Moreis all the time in town and everywhere. My only issue is with size. The large was too large, I settled for the medium, which is tight with anything substantial under it. My old 2000 Retro Large was perfect for a mid weight sweater underneath. Still, I think this is the best Bomber fleece out there.

January 5, 2022

It's a no from me

I was really excited about this jacket, and if you're under 6' you should be too. Unfortunately I am not. The sizing of this is really weird. I understand its a retro design and sizing was different when this was first designed. But yeah, as some of the other reviews from tall people mention, this is way too short on me. It's also ba... Read Moreggie is very odd ways. The arms, especially around the biceps are huge for example. and yeah this did not look good on me at all. I wish Patagonia made a tall version of this. This is also a stiff coat, but if that's what it takes to be windproof, which it does seem to be, then I can't personally complain about that. But yep, this is going right back to Patagonia unfortunately

January 5, 2022

Efficient Cut and Toasty Insides

I compulsively purchase fleece products - I first bought this item in the Pelican colour, and liked it so much I also bought the navy, black and natural versions as well. A real sickness. (Note that the Natural colour does look like . . . well, like one is wearing a sheep (or a mod vicuna), so wearing it out in town for errands or a drink may yield... Read More hurtful/inappropriate comments, depending on the crowd). But this jacket is awesome outdoors or on the couch taking an unscheduled nap. Feels sort of cold when I first put one on and then, a few minutes later, just the right touch of warmth. It is cut at the waist just below the belt, so it is great in a car or in a large suv. The sleeves are generous in length.

January 4, 2022

Warm and wind proof

Great jacket. I have been wearing to to walk to work in the cold New England winter. Much warmer than you would think and super comfortable. I particularly like how it has a protector on the zipper so you dont scratch your neck when its not fully zipped up.

January 3, 2022

Too short

The jacket is very short. The XXL fits my brother, who is 65, but both the body of the coat and the sleeves are inches too short. The sleeves are above his wrist bone when hes standing with his arms straight at his sides. The body of the coat almost reaches his belt. It looks like a petite coat. We will definitely return it. (That being said its a ... Read Morecool jacket and seems to be nice quality.)

Response from Patagonia
January 13, 2022

We appreciate your feedback, and we're sorry the fit was disappointing. If you haven't already returned it, please reach out to our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

January 3, 2022

Best Item of Clothing Ever.

This jacket is my daily driver of outerwear. The build quality is second-to-none. It’s super warm, looks great and you can fit a bottle of wine in each of the side pockets. (I’d recommend buying on the larger side so you have room to put hoodies and smaller fleeces underneath!) honestly this is like the only thing I wear now.

January 3, 2022

Great Jacket

The jacket is much warmer than it looks because of the lining. Fairly boxy fit and very warm and cozy. Washes and wears very well. I thought the price was high, but it is worth every penny and I am sure it will last for many years.

January 3, 2022

Super warm

Really good and wants to give as a gift to family and friends.

December 31, 2021

Great jacket

Stylish, comfortable and warm.

December 27, 2021

Amazing

Amazing

December 27, 2021

Cozy, stylish, and comfy

Fits comfortably throughout, warm, and looks great. Instantly became my favorite jacket!

December 26, 2021

Love it

Much warmer than I had originally imagined, which is amazing. They weren't lying about it being wind resistant. I was thinking I might need a more true winter jacket living in Michigan, but so far this covers all my bases.

December 25, 2021

A must have

So thrilled with my Christmas gift this year. Got the Nena Blue in Medium and it fits me perfectly. This fleece jacket is like a Swiss army knife of fleeces.

December 25, 2021

Super comfortable & nice quality

The brand is exactly what they say it is. It does run a bit small for men with broad shoulders. I bought this item for one of my sons who swears by the brand. The one positive outcome is the other two kids decided to purchase similar items and no returns.

December 24, 2021

Cozy

New to Patagonia for the most part. Been trying different fleece jackets from different companies. I was impressed with the amount of loft in this one and the warmth it gives you. Not all fleece jackets are created equal. My only complaint is the inside liner which may have plastic in it ? It is somewhat cool to the touch. Would have preferred some... Read Morething warmer. Jacket fits just at or below waist level. Not for big bellies or buy one size bigger in that case.I am 5' 10" 152lbs size small was a good fit for me.

December 21, 2021

Great Addition to the Winter Wardrobe

Comfortable, TTS, and super soft. Keeps me warm in the NYC winters

December 20, 2021

Decent jacket but needs to be roomy!

Bought the XL and it fits relatively well, though the shoulder/armpit area is somewhat tight. The upper portion is more form fitting while the bottom half is slightly roomier. Sleeve length is fine and extends to the wrists. The length extends around the waist instead of below the waist. There is no cinchcord in the waist which is needed considerin... Read Moreg the price! You can wear a base layer shirt and a lightweight fleece/wool sweater and even a lightweight vest underneath though the vest may make a snugger fit. That'll help block any updrafts since there's no waist cinchcord. There are no inner pockets, only the zippered pockets outside, which are relatively roomy enough to store gloves and a small hat in the hand pockets. The zippered chest pocket can store smaller items like keys or money. There's a stiff mesh membrane that's sewn together with the fleece that blocks the wind. The jacket is relatively warm and will block most of the wind but it won't provide that much warmth when temps drop to the low 30s F or below. Visit New England during late autumn & winter when the cold, wind & wind chill cuts through your bones, hence bone chilling weather which New England is known for. No way you're going to wear just a regular shirt underneath in freezing temps, despite what some people state in their reviews. Best to wear under an insulated or shell jacket/parka in freezing temps. If you move around in the cold, your inner body will feel hot so it does provide some warmth. The jacket is somewhat stiff & heavy because of the membrane lining and the fleece may even get a bit hard over time. Patagonia needs to update the jacket to make the shoulder/armpit area Looser and include a waistcord! It should consider making a hooded version but with a bit looser fit. For comparison, the retro-x vest is More snug fitting than the jacket. Buy when it's on sale at it's expensive at regular price.

Response from Patagonia
December 21, 2021

We appreciate your thoughtful and detailed feedback, Michael! Our classic Retro-X is windproof and not particularly breathable, so we don't recommend high-output activity for this item. It will work well with a light layer underneath, and a waterproof shell outside of it if it's raining or snowing. You might prefer the fit and features of some of our other [fleece jackets](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-fleece). Thanks for your review!

December 19, 2021

Brilliant!!!

Brilliant!!!

December 18, 2021

Pretty good jacket

Fleece jackets are usually not that great once the temperature is below 40 degrees. This jacket is good below the freezing point. The difference is this jacket has a wind proof layer. It works really well! This fleece jacket is actually functional. I just love it! I got four different colors so far!

December 14, 2021

Love this jacket!

It is super warm and windproof, exactly what I was looking for so I can be comfortable on those cold days while hiking or shooting pictures.

December 13, 2021

PLEASE MAKE PANTS

Hello development team. My husband bought a pair of pants that are this EXACT material when he was maybe 15. They are still his favorite pants at 41yo. The only wear and tear they show is where coals burned through, and he did bachelor-style repairs. I have now been looking for the past 3-4 years for pants in this material--just thick, draw-string,... Read More comfy fleece pants. I have ordered from REI, brought them in to Cabella, called folks at BackCountry Gear. Whenever I show them to people, they say "I want a pair!" When I had babies, I told him I wished I had a pair that fit me to wear to be cozy. You would sell zillions of them. Pants. Make pants in this. I promise, I would buy 5 pairs and most people I know would buy them too.

December 9, 2021

It's a good jacket with a couple of issues

A couple of things that I don't like. It's too bulky. Arms could be be more narrow and shorter. Also the jackets seems too short on the hips. An extra inch would be good. When I get in the car I have to keep pushing it down because it hickes up on my back. Good points: since Pategonia in their wisdom discontinued the R4, this is the only ... Read Morefleece jacket that is wind proof. The R4 was an awesome jacket.

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2022

Hi George! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear about some of the disappointment with the way the jacket fits. Also, you're not alone in missing our old R4 Jacket, so we'll definitely share this with our design team. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products and offering the styles customers want for future seasons. We appreciate you!

December 8, 2021

Super warm and soft

Very well made, and it keeps me super warm

December 7, 2021

Super Warm

I owned one of the originals in the 90s -- and lost it and was so sad and always missed it -- thank you for bringing it back! Love the nubby texture of the fleece -- very cozy looking. The fit is the same, which is OK, though it is retro -- the body is slightly cropped relative to the arm length and the arms are cut very roomy relative to the chest... Read More which is a normal to slightly snug fit. It does make you look kind of like a gorilla -- like you have really muscled, long arms. But it's nice to have it not feel tight in the arms and not restrict your movement. And it's SO warm, because it's windproof. Literally I can wear a tee shirt and this jacket and be comfortable outside in 40 degree weather. Some people may not care for the feeling of the lining since it's not fleece inside, especially if they want that snuggly soft fleece feeling against their skin, but it's worth it to have the wind proofing and you are probably layering under this anyway.

December 3, 2021

Warm and windproof

This fleece is more a jacket really than a fleece sweater since its quite thick and heavy. Love the retro design and have used it a lot over a flannel shirts. The collar is a bit stiff and it takes a few washes to even out, but once its there its fine.

December 1, 2021

Perfect

Website to purchase was very user friendly. Received emails on the purchase and delivery. COAT fits perfectly and super warm.

November 29, 2021

Good design and quality

So comfy and warm.

November 25, 2021

Arms too long. Waist was fine.

Arms were too long. Other wise fine..

November 25, 2021

Definitely cuts wind, but not super warm

I bought a medium mens jacket for my daughter who is 58 and 130# and she could have went with a small, however she likes it oversized and can layer a hoodie or vest under it. We went with the mens style because she liked the color better and didnt want a fitted jacket. Bonus her mom can wear it too, Im 59 and 155# and it fits great!

November 25, 2021

Perfect All Around Fleece

I was eyeing this fleece for some time. I get cold very easily and always like something with a little more protection. Having the wind proof feature also made it extra alluring because theres nothing worse than commuting to work on your bike on a windy day. This really hit home. At first I was a little reluctant about the stiff interior but this i... Read Mores what keeps it windproof. I also must say that the staff at Patagonia were extremely helpful. Initially I was looking at the womens style but the associates told me a lot of women go with the mens because of color, cut and overall fit. I took their advice and went with the mens as well. I normally wear a medium but went with the mens small. It has a little more room in the arms which is perfect when layering. You cant go wrong with this jacket!

November 21, 2021

Surprisingly warm, plus it block the wind!

I am very happy with this purchase! The classic retro X jacket cozy, light weight, and surprisingly warm! ️️️

November 21, 2021

Super Warm

The jacket is warm and stops the wind from coming through it. I love the navy color and the softness of the fleece.

November 18, 2021

So Sharp!

Bought this for my boyfriend. We both absolutely love it. It is nice and warm, suuuuper sharp, and stylish. The fleece softens after a few uses. Overall just very very sharp when he wears it.

November 18, 2021

super warm and comfy

i ordered small size, it perfectly fits and super comfy and warm.

November 17, 2021

A++++

Im 511 185, with pretty broad shoulders and a Large was to small, so gave to my son. Xl fits like a glove!!!!

November 15, 2021

Warm, but stiff

I bought this jacket to wear mostly in the time where multiple layers are not really necessary, but its chilly enough to want a single warm jacket that fits well. While this jacket is certainly warm, the wind proof membrane lining inside is actually quite stiff, and holds the shape of the jacket. This makes it a bit uncomfortable to wear over a pol... Read Moreo or t-shirt, and basically requires a sweater or pullover or thick long sleeve shirt to wear comfortably. Also, because the lining is hard and holds its shape, the jacket runs a bit large around the shoulders and is more baggy around the armpits than I anticipated. The outer fleece is also not quite as soft as some of the pictures might make it seem.

Response from Patagonia
November 23, 2021

Hi Afsayh, thank you for taking the time to write a review. That windproof barrier is no joke on the Patagonia Men's Classic Retro-X® Fleece Jacket, it's burly to keep you protected from the elements. Also, it does soften a bit with wear and washing. However, if you're looking for something softer with the same look, check out the Men's Retro Pile Fleece Jacket: https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-retro-pile-fleece-jacket/22801.html?dwvar_22801_color=DBGR&cgid=root. It's extremely warm, so multiple layers are not needed. It might be just what you're looking for!

November 10, 2021

Great Winter Fleece

This is a great fleece for the times where you want to wear a fleece, but a snap t or better sweater style fleece might not provide enough warmth. The liner in it does a good job of blocking wind and making it more of a jacket than fleece. The liner also makes it easy to get on and off when you are wearing another cotton or wool layer underneath it... Read More. The fit is perfect for me, it's a combination of being a little shorter and a little boxier, more similar to the fit of the snap t. I wear small (flannel, sweater) and medium (snap t, better sweater) and the medium in this was perfect for me. It is definitely a high pile fleece with a lot of texture, which in my opinion is a pretty cool look and adds to the coziness of it.

November 10, 2021

Stylish, light and practical

This was for my son who wears it to school. Stylish, light, soft and very practical. Perfect for the autumn season when it's too warm for down jackets but too cold for hoodies. Highly recommended!

November 5, 2021

Fleece Perfection

This piece fits well, stops the wind, and looks great all the time. Some fleeces look like you dried them with your girlfriends cat when you pull them out of the dryer, but not this one! I had my last one for twenty years, and lost it recently. I recommend getting a vest and jacket, you will want both.

November 5, 2021

Excellent Jacket

I owned the old fleece jacket years ago but lost it somewhere. The Retro-X fleece jacket is even better than the old fleece. It is an excellent jacket.

November 3, 2021

Better lining than expected

Great jacket, as expected looks-wise, with a better, more structured, more breathable lining than expected. Could be an inch longer in the back -- or I could simply wear longer shirts or pull my pants up more. But otherwise I'll live in this for the next ten years.

November 2, 2021

Barn red coat is giving me life everyday , durable, warm

Wonderful item. Fits short on torso , I am 6 foot 3 needed the xxl

October 26, 2021

Great wind block with liner

Love the internal wind block liner makes all the difference in a cold wind.

October 18, 2021

Perfect oversized look

I'm 6'0 165lbs and this jacket fit my style perfectly. I prefer the oversized look and this jacket was perfect for that.

October 13, 2021

Comfortable, Warm, Good quality

Received a lot of compliments for this piece. I like it. I'm 30lbs bigger than others and I usually wear a M in their pullovers but the jacket fit me pretty good without being overly snug.

October 11, 2021

Honest Review

Super warm and will definitely keep you warm in the winter. Also is wind resistant which comes in handy when you live in Chicago. Looks great and goes with a lot in my wardrobe. This jacket is a little pricey but when you consider the life time warranty and the eco friendly aspect of this item its totally worth it.

October 5, 2021

Choose your size wisely

I purchased a large since people say its run true to size but dont believe that. The sleeves are perfect but they make the chest/torso area tight and slim for skinnier men. Im not heavy or have a belly but, I prefer comfort. I ended up returning the large for an XL. BEST DECISION!

September 26, 2021

Really great and versatile fleece

Bought a jacket for myself after having gifted one for my wife. Really impressed with the quality and versatility with this fleece, escpecially since it is windproof.

September 8, 2021

Really nice fitment and the

Really nice fitment and the inside of the jacket makes it perfect for colder autumn weather.

August 18, 2021

Ms Classic Retro-X® Jacket

Wonderful, extremely well made fleece jacket.

August 14, 2021

Fits great

I bought this because of the liner to provide protection from the wind from what I can tell this will work great. Size and quality are excellent.

July 14, 2021

Awesome Product

Very happy with this purchase, which was on my list for quite some time. Surprisingly warm, comparable to my down jacket. Wind and cold do not penetrate this fleece jacket AND it's got a cool factor to it whether I'm on a hike or at work.

July 11, 2021

I love it!Perfect!

I will buy some other things.

June 25, 2021

Great quality of product.

Can't expect more really. All abut it is just as I wanted.

June 24, 2021

Great Quality Jacket

This jacket is warm and super stylish. Enough for cool Bay Area nights.

June 19, 2021

I love it!

It will be good for the winter

June 15, 2021

Fab but small maybe a little smaller than version from 5 years ago?

I got the purple/blue, and it's killer in an I'M WEARING PURPLE AND BLUE WHETHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT kind of way. I think it's a bit smaller / slimmer overall than the cream/blue version I got a few years ago, which works fine for me. I'm a 5'7, 125 lb woman with no hips. If you have hips, you may want to size up or go with ... Read Morea cut for women.

June 8, 2021

Classic Retro-X jacket

Love the jacket Very comfortable and warm

June 2, 2021

Decent but sizing/cut needs work!

Bought the Men's XL natural with blue trimming/pocket on sale during the spring holidays. As a male with an average build, broad shoulders and 6' ft tall, the jacket just fit. It's very warm, a little stiff and somewhat heavy probably due to the meshlike barrier that's sewn into the jacket to make it supposedly windproof. It&#... Read Morex27;s warm for cool spring nights while wearing a short sleeve shirt underneath. Let's see how it handles in the upcoming autumn/winter months later this year. The sleeves' length goes down to the wrist while the jacket's length goes down slightly below the waist. There are no inner pockets and the hand pockets appear to be warm since the barrier material is in front of it to block out the cold/wind. Hope the fleece stays soft and warm after repeated washings. The issues found: 1. The armpit seams are sewn up so it stands UP INTO the armpits. It should be sewn Flat instead! - Also, the armpit area needs to be Wider! - The armpits' shortfalls are Very obviously when you try on the jacket! 2. It's not that roomy inside! - It's very warm when worn with a short sleeve t-shirt and has room for a long sleeve t-shirt for the sleeves. - But it's a Little tight if a lightweight fleece sweater is also worn with a shirt. FYI.. the vest version is Much more slim! Barely enough room to wear a shirt and lightweight fleece sweater underneath it. The armpit holes need to be widened as well! 3. Need a cinch band around the waist! Not everyone is thin and Patagonia's designers Must make their clothing for the average person instead of skinny people! The sizing of Patagonia clothes have been 'off' in the last few years in that the older clothing fitted Much better while the newer clothing are inconsistent and made for thin people! It's a bit too big & fluffy to wear the jacket underneath a shell jacket in bad, wet weather. The vest version just fit underneath a shell jacket.

May 21, 2021

Great jacket

Very nice jacket, warm and windproof. The length is however a little bit short compared to the rest of jacket, this could be longer. But overall it's a must-have for people who love Patagonia.

May 20, 2021

Great for cool days at the playground.

I primarily bought this because I found that most technical layers arent warm enough when you are watching your children at a playground. (I try to do this everyday as I have outdoor kids) Its windproof and warm and your kids dont just slide off you when you pick them up. Besides I look like a sesame street character!

May 20, 2021

Fits short and boxy

As a tall but fairly slender man, this jacket runs too short and wide. Ordered online but returned because of this issue. Bummed out because it feels like such a great fleece, but the size/shape isn't right for me!

Response from Patagonia
May 21, 2021

Thanks for the review and sorry it didn't work out with our Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket. Since you have a slender build, we'd recommend checking out our slim fit options for fleeces. You can check these out by using the filter bar on the left-hand side of the screen under any category. The [Men's Los Gatos Fleece Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-los-gatos-fleece-hoody/25922.html?dwvar_25922_color=ELKH&cgid=mens-fleece) will be our most similar slim fit option, check it out!

May 19, 2021

Good jacket

The jacket is really nice and it fits very good

May 9, 2021

Cozy and fun

I bought one of the original, classic, ugly pile jackets back in the seventies. Ive had a couple of other versions over the years, and I love them for their warmth, wind blockage, and fun look. This will undoubtedly last me the rest of my life. Love it!

May 5, 2021

Best Fleece jacket

I dont usually like synthetic fabrics, but I love this jacket so much!! Super comfy and worm. (Best windproof fleece jacket) Also I like the look. Very simple and classic.

April 26, 2021

My new go to jacket

Although it's a bit thinner than I expected, the material and the stitching certainly feel durable, which is exactly what I wanted. It's held up so far in windy and wet conditions of England. I also think it looks stylish, which is a plus.

April 23, 2021

Now I Have My Own

I have had a Retro-X for many years. It is my favorite go-to jacket. My son also discovered that he liked this Retro-X....so he "borrowed" mine all the time. Now that we have 2 of them, I get to wear mine again. Would love to see this in even more colors - keep up the great work.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches