Back to Product

Hose-Down Slicker Bib Overalls

Write Your Review

4.1/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 39 Reviews

Clear All

Hose-Down Slicker Bib Overalls

4.1/5
Kinda Large
March 23, 2022

Light and functional

Saw these in a commercial fishing magazine add, and just what I was looking for: light yet durable, easy on and off, and well made. I am a commercial fisherman, power troller in Alaska, and have been looking for a bib like this as for years. Well done Patagonia.

March 17, 2022

too baggy and material too thin

Was intending to use the bibs on my boat when salmon fishing. They were too thin for my purpose and while I feel the size was right they fit like a mother hen dress. Wasn't for me and I returned them.

March 15, 2022

Great for fishing

I recreationally fish and lobster and these are great for use on a boat to stay dry. I like the relaxed sizing and ease of putting these on and taking them off. The only thing I would change is to make the metal ankle headwear out of stainless steel or something that wont corrode in the salt water environment. Otherwise their light weight and just ... Read Moregreat.

February 18, 2022

Perfect Commerical Raingear!!

Everything about them is AAA+++ They need Velcro Leg Cuff closures and they would Lack Nothing!!

January 10, 2022

Nice, just too big.

The product looked great. Unfortunately it was too large and the smaller sizes werent available.

Response from Patagonia
January 20, 2022

Hi Nick! We're really sorry to hear these overalls ran too big for you. If you'd rather return them we'll be happy to help. You can start that process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 5, 2022

This is not a bad review!

I loved these bibsIm a professional brewer and was really excited about themthey were light weight and seemed very durableheres the issuethe fit is wonkythey run bigbut also shortIn the future when you redesign these you should offer a tall versionalso I would pay more for pocketschest and back would be coolunfortunately I had to return these I wil... Read Morel buy them in the future with a tall optionI could live without pockets but everyone knows you can never have enough pockets

Response from Patagonia
January 13, 2022

Thank you for providing your review, Patrick! We're sharing your suggestion about adding a longer version with our product team. Please let us know if we can be of any help!

January 3, 2022

Way too big. Like clown pants.

Im 210lbs and 62, the large is honkin big. Im swimming in these things. I dont get how they could be so big. Im going to have to return. Hey Patagonia, work on consistent sizing. Why would I need to buy a medium when everything else is a large for me. Bummer.

Response from Patagonia
January 13, 2022

We appreciate the feedback Mark. We are putting more attention into streamlining our sizing while also providing extended sizing options. It's definitely a work in progress, but your feedback helps. If you'd like to [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) you're welcome to do that, and please note we're always happy to provide garment measurements should you need them.

January 3, 2022

Great Bibs

A little baggy for a skinny guy but work great. I recommend one size smaller than what you normally order for Patagonia gear.

December 20, 2021

Super Dry Zero Frills Short Inseam Too Girthy

Im a carpenter and fisherman in Coastal Oregon. These went on today at 7am and did not come off until 7 pm. From casting this morning and walking dogs to building a deck all day outside in the pouring rain these did their job for f keeping me dry. The midsection is HUGE. Would be nice to have a cinch/closure on the back to bring them in to your cor... Read Moree when not wearing a sumo suit. I have very long legs 34 inseam so its tough to say but if theres a flood Im ready with mud boots on. These are definitely a function before form article. They will be very well used. Worn over my iron forge pants and a torrentshell on top with a good rain hat. Bring it on. Back at it tomorrow. Gotta pay to play. Priced well. Thanks

December 5, 2021

Easy Waterproof

What I really loved was the idea of something light weight and durable that could keep me dry and comfortable while I'm planting and doing landscape work. The fact that it is easily cleaned and reasonably priced makes it perfect. It has lots of great features: the wide leg that allows to take boots on and off easily and allows air flow; the lo... Read Moreose fit to stay airy and allow layering when needed; the adjustable bottoms to adjust the length so I'm not stepping on the hem or dragging it through the mud; the easy cleaning by hosing it down. The cons: limited sizing, lack of smaller, shorter sizes; much wider than necessary for my needs; the adjustable hem is extremely difficult to use. I couldn't undo it to use it. A simple velcro adjustment would be more functional and easier to use. I would a second adjustment a few inches above the first to keep the wide upper leg from getting in the way if needed.

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2021

Hello Magdalena! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate you sharing these critiques with us. This info is super helpful and we'll pass this along to our design team!

December 4, 2021

Great for gardening

Pulling weeds and planting seeds is better when your knees are warm and dry...these bibs are a wonderful addition to my winter gardening ensemble...the bibs run large...medium has plenty of room for a 6-footer...their ultralight weight increases their comfort factor...you'll be glad you got 'em...

December 3, 2021

When it gets wet on-shore

When you mount your boots, your slicker bib overall and your Goretex jacket, it is wet and stormy, but you complete the job outside! Just a little sweat on the inside! Very satisfying.

November 30, 2021

Inseam is too short

Overall really great rain bibs. Very waterproof you can sit in a puddle and not get wet. After one year of service the material is still holding up well to abrasion. The inseam is only 27 1/2" so if you are taller then 5' 11" be prepared for the crotch to be just above your knees in order to keep the bottom of the pants near your ank... Read Moreles. The boot closure is maybe the best design that I have ever encountered. Just make the inseam longer and these would be perfect,; fix that and I would buy another pair of these today!

November 14, 2021

Best Yet

I'v been commercial fishing for 50 years and my gripe of other rain pants are long and many, these are the real deal! The fabric is is light, tough, slick and totally waterproof and the pants are cut roomy so that with bulky rain boots on, the slick of the fabric allows them too slide easily on and off; best ever. My only criticisms are, the r... Read Moreusting hardware at the cuff straps that I never use. And for guys, dropping the bib to pee is difficult without loosing the shoulder straps backer over your shoulders. There needs to be a way to clip the straps together ... maybe flip the male and female strap clips on one side so the straps may be clipped together around the neck when one needs to drop the front bib.

November 5, 2021

Impregnable

When you absolutely, positively, unconditionally have to keep out the elements, nothing beats the hose down slicker line. I've tried rainwear from all the best manufacturers and eventually they all get wet. The fabric gets soaked, which weighs you down and invites the cold. this stuff is bomb proof and sheds water like a tin roof. When it&#x27... Read More;s dumping in buckets, this is the gear you want to have. I wouldn't trust anything else.

November 3, 2021

HOSE DOWN SLICKER BIBS

I ordered a Medium and needed a Small. They run big! Tough and super durable, just really big.

October 11, 2021

Keep you Dry

Great overall specially is you work in environment involving a lot water and this particular overall keep you dry.

September 16, 2021

Farm gear

Great for wet tasks. Washing vegetables, harvesting in wet grass and the rain.

September 9, 2021

Almost perfect!

This was by far the most comfortable bibs I worked with. Lightweight and durable and truly waterproof on heavy rainy days and windy days on commercial fishing season. That being said, I would like to modify a few things for the future, the sinching system at the bottom of the legs could be an internalk drawstring like in the climbing pants, that a... Read Morectual little hook catches the net really easy. Second, the distance from crotch to leg could be longer, so you don't have mobility restrictions. When I pull them all the way up, the leg barely has room to close it to the boots. I hope to get this newer version in the future, also would love to have a chest pocket, for phone, snacks or tide book and license. My .2 cents!

Response from Patagonia
September 17, 2021

Thank you for the feedback and Kakiko! We'll pass along those suggestions to our design team.

September 1, 2021

Lightweight and Comfortable

Lightweight and comfortable PVC bibs. I bought them to replace some HD Grunden's gear. Good shoulder straps, with a nice high yoke on the back to keep them in place, they don't slide off. My only complaint is that they are a touch short legged. The pants ride up when you sit down and expose the top of my shorty deck boots. However, if I w... Read Moreere wearing tall boots, no problem. Or just sag them down a little when you sit down. Happy with the purchase.

August 16, 2021

Alaskan Fisherman Approved

These bibs are fantastic, light, and durable (so far). They have held up to one Alaskan summer's worth of hard time labor in the woods, in the garden/farm, and commercial/subsistence/sport fishing. In our very humid climate the blackhole material does not get damp, and when the sun comes out briefly they dry out instantly. The reason I only ga... Read Moreve it four stars is the metal ankle hem is not made of corrosion proof metal. My bibs are used in salt water and after the first fishing trip they already had signs of metal corrosion. These need to be made of either stainless steel, or aluminum (or some other corrosion resistant material). Other than this one flaw (easily remedied) I love them!!! Please fix this issue... send me a replacement pair of metal hook clasps.

Response from Patagonia
August 16, 2021

Hey Nathan! Thanks for reaching out and giving this helpful review. We'll reach out privately regarding getting the metal hook clasps sent out.

March 11, 2021

Waterproof and Tough

I bought these for my father who is a farmer in Missouri. He uses the bibs to keep dry when power-washing machinery and absolutely loves them. They are waterproof and windproof and they kept him dry and warm during this winter. He is extremely hard on his stuff and these have held up well so far! He is looking forward to getting the slicker jacket ... Read Moreto go with it soon.

February 9, 2021

Soft and waterproof

I wear these power washing my boats. I wear them on the boat in the rain. I wear them working in the rain. They're comfortable, dry and fabulous!

January 16, 2021

Worth it!

Holds up to the salt water and the perfect foul weather gear.

June 5, 2020

Smaller Sizes Needed

I am a backcountry trail maintenance worker in the North Cascades, which means I aim to stay (relatively) dry for eight days at a time, subject my rain gear to a good bit of abrasion (while walking through brush, kneeling, etc.), and carry it on my back when Im not wearing it. Considering these factors, I was excited about this product, which promi... Read Moresed to stand up to the conditions I work in without adding the same weight to my pack as the canvas-backed vinyls I usually lug around. But, as previous reviews had given me reason to fear, the smallest size available was unwearably big in every dimension - I maxed out the straps and the legs were still dragging on the ground. The accompanying jacket I ordered was also far too big. My height is hardly unusual. If Patagonia really wants to demonstrate that it cares about providing high-quality gear for outdoor manual laborers, they need to cover the full size range of women (and men) who work outside.

Response from Patagonia
June 7, 2020

We really appreciate your feedback here on sizing. We hope we can soon expand our sizes to fit the varying body types that could benefit from our gear. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us.

December 30, 2019

Best

I work on boats and in wet country. These get the job done Rain or shine. Stoked to have a material that doesn’t tear easy as I’m around snags al the time.

December 16, 2019

Awesome

I bought the Hose Down Overalls to complete the outfit with the Hose Down Slicker - the combo kept me dry working at a choose & cut Xmas Tree farm - in 37 degree degree, windy rain this weekend. I was much happier than any of my customers & I was out in weather all day.

December 15, 2019

Great Heavy Duty Rain Gear

I'm a general contractor and also work at a mountain resort. This pair of bibs and jacket put up with the wet, abrasive, and downright nasty weather conditions I see on a regular basis. I feel like I should be working on deck of a boat in Dutch Harbor and love the ease of cleaning up the gear at the end of the day.

November 20, 2019

I am a full time

I am a full time ceramicist, these are a lifesaver! I put these on when I need to get really messy in the studio. It would be good to have something in the back to tighten up the top. I use a small clamp on my back.

October 25, 2019

Öyster Farmer

These bibs are ready for work. Been using other brands for years that are heavy and tear easily. These bibs make it through the harsh winters and blazing summers. Light weight and durable. Lots of style points earned as well. -Tom - White Stone Oyster Co. Virginia.

September 6, 2019

Need to make a Medium Tall version

I purchased these bibs and slicker jacket to replace an old Helly Hanson rubberized rainwear set I had been using while photographing in Southeast Alaska for the past few seasons. On the positive side - it did great in the field tests in Alaska this year. I'm not commercial fishing in it - I'm simply sitting in unrelenting rain that would... Read More bring gore-tex to its knees. On the negative size is the fit. I'm 6'3" and 180lbs. The Large size was the right length in the legs - but was so gigantic I could have easily fit two, possibly three of me in it. I eventually went for the Medium - which was still a bit big even with lots of layers on - but a lot closer on the waist size. Sadly the Medium only made it halfway down my calves... not a huge issue with the xtratuf boots providing protection lower down - but it looks pretty strange. Patagonia needs to make a medium tall size for skinny tall guys like myself.

August 28, 2019

Won’t replace Grundéns

I wanted these to be the new slicks for the lobster boat I work on, but they are far too thin and you get cut up right through them. They’d be great in certain application like super hot days but they’re just not tough enough to replace Guy Cottons or Grundéns. I like Patagonia so I thought I’d try these, but I’m going back to a thick set of skins ... Read Morefor sure.

Response from Patagonia
September 5, 2019

We appreciate your comments and we are sorry that these didn't work out for you. If you can't find use for them at all, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) those back to us. We are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) out with this process if you need it.

August 26, 2019

Light, Durable, and Waterproof

Putting these slickers to the test. Commercially fishing off the coast of California, day in and day out, there are a lot of reasons why this product should fail. So far so good and they are holding up great. A front pocket, like waders, could be a helpful addition in the future. But otherwise the minimalistic approach does the job.

August 22, 2019

Great Foul Weather Gear

These are just as described - great foul weather gear to keep you dry. It’s made of similar material to the black hole bags, although a little thinner. Doesn’t breathe, but didn’t expect that going in. I would size down one full size as these run large. I usually wear an L and M fits perfectly with enough room to layer for colder days on the wate... Read Morer.

August 15, 2019

Please make a smaller size for women!

I ordered a small, which were still pretty large on me. I’m 5’8” about 135-140. I sent them back but I’d order them again if they made them in xs. The quality seemed high and they are incredibly light and seem strong.

August 10, 2019

Light weight

I’m a commercial fisherman of 25 years and weight of these is sure a relief on my neck and shoulders. I’m 5’ 11”, 180 lbs and the mediums definitely have plenty of room and are a bit loose in the straps. I really wish the coating they used on the outside of the bib was used on the inside also. I watch the moisture wick from the bottoms up. At least... Read More maybe coat the insides up to the top of the boot

May 9, 2019

rain overalls

the material is nice and light weight which is what I am looking for. I am a woman who does alot of fishing in rainy Alaska. I was hoping that these would fit. I ordered an extra small. I am 5'7, they are still sized for men. the legs are too long and the straps and waist are way to large. I was hoping for a lighter waterproof material that wo... Read Moreuld actually fit. I haven"t used them yet as I am contemplating just cutting the legs off.

Response from Patagonia
June 6, 2019

We're sorry to hear that the fit of these wasn't quite what you were looking for. If you'd like to send those back to us, I have reached out to you privately with some return information.

May 8, 2019

Simply Amazing

I took the new Hose Down Bibs down the Grand Canyon in April for 280 miles and 18 days. The Grand Canyon will test any piece of gear you own, and the bibs performed flawlessly. From rainy days and the incredible whitewater, the bibs are easy to take on and off, without removing your shoes. Sitting on a cooler and pushing an 18 foot gear boat for 28... Read More0 miles will test your gear. 20 foot tall waves crashing over the raft will "hose down" everything. I stayed dry. Near the end of the trip, our trip leader said: "can I have those bibs when the trip is over?"

April 18, 2019

these are very cool

I have worn them for over two years without taking them off because I was at sea. They have stayed in perfect condition 10/10 the whole time! They are the most cozy overalls I have ever bought!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches