Back to Product

Black Hole® MLC™ 45L

Write Your Review

4.8/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 105 Reviews

Clear All

Black Hole® MLC™ 45L

4.8/5
Kinda Large
November 18, 2021

Patagonia Black Hole® MLC® Briefcase Backpack 45L

Great bag! I used this for a quick weekend trip, and really like it. Plenty of room, lots of storage, and zippered compartments, to keep items where you want them. If you pack judiciously, I dont see why you couldnt get away with a weeks worth of items in this bag. My favorite aspect of this bag is the carry/handling options. I typically carry a ba... Read Moreckpack as well when traveling, so I really like the shoulder strap carry option with the MLC. The bag is well built, and definitely has the bomb proof feel that you would expect from this series of bags.

November 7, 2021

Great travel companion

I just got back from a 5 day work trip and used this pack as a carry-on so I didnt check luggage. This bag worked great except I had a difficult time getting the pack in the overhead compartment in smaller planes. The pack fit under the seat in front of me so I still made it work. I do wish that the second zipper on the bag went back a little farth... Read Moreer back so the compartment would be easier to open. I also wish the backpack straps could be removed from the pack so I wouldve had a little more room in the pack.

October 30, 2021

Versatile bag

Great bag, lots of pockets, dividers. Many ways to carry, including backpack style, shoulder strap, two different hand held options. Good size for airplane carry on, fits easily in overhead bin but not under seat in front of you. Tough and durable. Overall great product.

October 15, 2021

Lots of pockets

I was looking for a carry-on bag for a recent trip to the UK. I decided on the Patagonia Backpack Brief case after much research. I liked all the pockets which are easily accessible and I liked that you could use as a back pack or shoulder bag. Couldn't be more happy with the bag, durability and clean style.

October 14, 2021

Not right for me

The bag is exceptional in its quality. If I needed it for an overlarge computer tote bag; then I would be thrilled. I ordered the bag for its multiple pockets and shoulder strap. However it was too small to be useful for myself. I needed a good weekend travel/car camping bag. I think the pictures/videos on website make the bag look larger than real... Read Moreity. The bag would be perfect if larger and had side pockets.

Response from Patagonia
October 19, 2021

Thanks for your review, Elizabeth! This bag is designed to be the maximum legal carry-on for plane travel, but you may prefer the Black Hole 55L Duffel, or Planing Duffel for car camping. If you haven't already returned it, please don't hesitate to reach out. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

October 14, 2021

Best Bag Ever for Single Bag Travel

An amazing bag. Everything I expected and wanted. I had my eye on this bag for a little over a year after seeing one at REI, but was holding off on purchase due to the price point. Finally gave in and bought it for myself as a college graduation gift and so glad I did. I use it as an all in one travel bag. I went back and forth about whether to pur... Read Morechase the smaller version or the 45L, but ultimately chose the bigger size. It easily holds enough stuff for two-three weeks of travel (I am a little bit of a minimalist though) plus all my entertainment supplies/laptop. Quality it strong and the clamshell design is everything I ever dreamed-- nothing worse than fishing around a standard backpack bulk pocket. Highly recommend!

October 12, 2021

Pefect Carry On

I bought this for short trips and it has worked out perfectly. I love that it has a sleeve on the back that slides right on to the handle of virtually any rolling luggage even though I haven't flown anywhere since the pandemic started, I can't wait to try it.

October 1, 2021

Great travel bag

Great carry on travel bag. Plenty of room for a 3 day trip, but can be used for a serious travel trip. Like all the zip pockets, and quality of the bag

September 14, 2021

Great bag. Amazing service.

Love the size and weight of this bag. Super light, holds a ton and fits into an overhead bin. Even better, I messed up on the timing of my shipment. Customer service went above and beyond to make sure I got it before my trip, after the fact, even though it was totally my fault. Super impressed with the quality and service of Patagonia.

September 14, 2021

Great luggage for leisure travel and work

Now I have three pieces of the luggage set. This MLC in the 45L is awesome. I have a black hole duffle, and a brief case, and use these pieces regularly. They organize my life, are tough, they perform, and are just "sexy" to tote around.

September 2, 2021

THE perfect travel bag

Absolutely incredible bag that has so many pockets for storage and opens like a suitcase. I prefer this over a duffel bag which is difficult to rummage through and find items. Great design. Easy to clean.

August 30, 2021

Perfect Bag!

Bought this for my fiancé as a wedding gift. I have had this bag for years and have used it for international trips! My favorite part is that Ive never had to check it! Stuffed in and always used it as a carry on (some airlines may make you check it but Ive never had any issue with international travel!) I will say - getting the bag from OnTrac w... Read Moreas the worst shipping experience Ive ever had! But everything about the bag - perfection!

August 30, 2021

Great bag!

Strong zippers, very durable material with lots of storage pockets.

August 20, 2021

Backpack

Great luggage to take it in the airplane My first one gave to friend. Would like to see more bright colors instead of black

August 19, 2021

MLC45 Bag is Perfect.

Designed to be a carryon size backpack and duffle and wow, does it live up to those expectations. Great for flying. Combines laptop/tablet, briefcase functions into separate compartments while having a ton of room. Absolutely recommend.

August 19, 2021

The best

Its a staple and a legend for carry on multipurpose bags. Like Ford cars, this bag is simply the best

August 10, 2021

LOVE THIS BAG!

I cannot get enough of this bag. I saw someone traveling with it and asked them the name, I could not be MORE impressed. I love all the pockets and the versatile straps so much that i bought two - one for "Ready-set-go" bag for adventures!

August 10, 2021

Great Bag with many pockets

I love this bag. I originally purchased the larger one thinking I'll need all the space, but after using it a few time around it was too large for an everyday bag. This smaller 26L is a lot more functional for a everyday use in my opinon.

August 10, 2021

The Ultimate Travel Bag

I just purchased this as a gift for a friend headed overseas to college. The size and strap configuration make it perfect for all sorts of trips. The interior pockets are very thoughtfully designed, too. I own a Black Hole duffel which has kept my gear dry on many a wet excursion! My friend will enjoy this piece for a long, long time. I have the or... Read Moreiginal version of this from the early nineties, and it is still a great piece of luggage! This current version is truly wonderful.

August 6, 2021

Perfect and so many pockets

This is our 5th black hole and we love it. We have two other 45 L black holes and they are perfect for weekend trips, we wanted another 45L, the style had changed by having mesh dividers throughout the bag which is so nice to be able to keep things organized. We didnt think we could love our black holes more than we did until we bought this one. So... Read More many pockets too, we love it.

August 5, 2021

Great Travel Bag

The Blackhole MLC Backpack 45L is a great travel bag. I had an earlier version that I used for business and personal travel for 20 years before it finally wore out (after replacing several zippers and sewing up rips). The heavy blackhole material should last even longer and stand up to all that the airlines can throw at it. I don't think I&#x2... Read More7;d trust it packed on the roof of a vehicle in a storm (unlike my original blackhole bag) since the zippers aren't waterproof, but otherwise this is about as bomber as it gets. It does go a little overboard on the zippered compartments and could definitely be simplified, but I'm sure there's someone out there that needs or at least thinks they need that many separate compartments. Definitely a great bag/pack.

August 4, 2021

Super Versatile and Durable

I love that it has multiple forms of storage for minimalistic travel. The waterproof material is great for many experiences. The different handles are great as well. Can't wait to travel the world with this bag. Perfect for one bag travel.

July 25, 2021

LOVE this bag! Omg.

I love this bag. I am ordering two. Its great for low key weekends and lots and lots of pockets. Love.

July 22, 2021

Black Hole Brief case backpack

Love this bag. It is a little big for me, but when traveling, I can get it into the overhead (with a little help) on the plane. Once on location, I repurpose the bag to carry equipment and use it as a backpack.

July 20, 2021

The Perfect Bag

This bag is amazing! Ive been looking for a bag thats the perfect cross between a duffel bag and a backpack and this is it! I have the 45L and its great for me. Its perfect for long weekends and when I fly I use it as a carry on and its great! Definitely recommend this bag to anyone!

July 12, 2021

Perfect.

This bag is amazing. Very well thought through!

June 21, 2021

Perfect Travel Bag

The most perfect travel bag. Converts between bag and backpack so easily and so many great compartments for organization. Great size for a carry on.

June 18, 2021

Awesome bag

I live on the road, and this bag has been perfect since I got it two weeks ago. I like all the pockets the have nicely fit power cords, snacks, sunglasses, etc. It's handy to put on as a backpack when it's time to move, and I think the colors are cool. I'm very happy with this bag!

May 24, 2021

Prefer the 40L duffel

I used one of these while bouncing around Asia for a few months before ultimately living out of it in Spain. Being Black Hole, the material is great. But the backpack straps are terribly uncomfortable, position the weight uncomfortably on the one's back, and seem ready to break off the bag. When the bag isn't full, it loses its rectangula... Read Morer shape, looking droopy (if visual appeal matters to you). When full, getting anything out of the side pockets is difficult. If you can do with 5L less, I'd recommend the 40L Black Hole duffel. I've been living out of it for 8 months now, feeling I've made a stellar purchase. The straps are great and it doesn't put stress on my back.

May 19, 2021

Perfect carry on

This is my second Blackhole MLC and it lives up to its name. I can fit everything I need to carry on and is rugged enough to handle the harness of working abroad and constantly traveling around the world.

May 19, 2021

Perfect for Traveling

This bag was recommended to me by someone who travels frequently and doesnt like to check bags, but packs quite a bit for work. The recommendation was spot on! It fits all of my work equipment and everything I need while traveling to avoid having to check bags. Its also durable and stylish.

May 18, 2021

Amazing!

My favorite travel bag for everything from international travel to weekend trips.

May 1, 2021

Perfect as a carry on - and I don't want wheels

I travel frequently for week-long sprints. I don't want to have to check in luggage, nor is wheeled luggage the best to get me from here to there. This backpack is great: I can store 2 laptops in the padded sleeve; the other compartments let me organize the clothes that I need when I get there, and work/books/electronics/etc stuff that I may w... Read Moreant to access at any time during travel. I found that the shoulder strap really is helpful when lugging around ~30 lbs. Is it expensive? yeah. Do I think it will last pretty much forever and protect the contents under any weather conditions? yeah.

April 14, 2021

Best Travel Bag!

I love this bag. It is fantastic for business trips as well as weekend adventures. The pockets are perfectly placed and I really enjoy how durable the bag is overall. This is my 4th bag in the black hole collection and I´ve never been disappointed. They are my go-to travel bags.

March 26, 2021

Long Weekend Size

Long weekend size bag that feels bigger than the advertised 45L. I went from a 70L to this for ease of travel. Everything fits AND its more organized than my 70L duffel. Theres literally a pocket for everything snd tons of storage areas. I fit 3-5 pairs of pants, shirts, underwear, socks and toiletries and everything fits just fine, including a lap... Read Moretop! Wears like iron with the durable fabric, yet is soft and pliable.

March 8, 2021

Perfect gear for travel bug

As expected with Patagonia- the Black Hole oozes with build quality. The material is super tough, zippers are over built for when you try to jam too much stuff in. Two options for straps makes for easy carrying. Slip away stowage of those straps allows for a last minute fit in any jet overhead. Its the perfect light packers 3-5 day bag when you jus... Read Moret dont want to have to check it.

March 8, 2021

Handle not comfortable

The bag is nice BUT the handle is flimsy. I bought the larger bag and its functional but if you choose to carry it the handle is extremely good uncomfortable. Im sad.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Thank you for the review on our MLC Briefcase Backpack. We're sorry to hear that the handle was not comfortable for you. We've taken note of your feedback. There are a multitude of ways to carry the bag luckily, with the backpack and shoulder straps, however, if you find that you're still not satisfied feel free to [send it back to us](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 4, 2021

Travel bag

Great travel bag that doesn't need to be checked in. Wish it had a space for running shoes so you wouldn't have to put them into your clean clothes section. That's the only space they'll fit into.

March 4, 2021

great bag--plan to use it for years

Well, I bought this during the pandemic and haven't yet the opportunity to travel... but I checked it out thoroughly upon delivery and it is going to be awesome. I anticipate using it for all sorts of trips and I know it will last a long time. I love it and look forward to using it.

February 28, 2021

The perfect carry on

This is the perfect size for a carry on. Has so many useful pockets- Patagonia thought of everything. Use alone for a short trip or pair with a bigger bag for international travel! Now I just have have to wait for travel to be a reality again! ;)

February 25, 2021

Rugged build.

The pocket lay out is great for my uses. Long Weekend trips. Able to keep things organized and snug. Overall build is stout , you feel it in the zipper. 17 mo old loves fastening the chest strap too.

February 25, 2021

Not really what i was expecting

Not really what i was expecting, MUCH better. This product has really worked well in every way i could ask for

February 24, 2021

Great carry-on bag

Just used this bag as my carry-on for a Western ski trip. I take everything I need to ski (minus the skis) on my person so I can still go out even if my checked bag goes missing. I was able to carry my ski boots, knee brace and full ski outfit along with an iPad and a few casual clothes without over-stuffing the bag. It fit easily into all overhead... Read More bins including the narrow Canadair Jet. I was never asked by the flight crew to check it plane side. The MLC has many well designed storage options to help organize your stuff. Im very happy with the bag and would buy it again without hesitation.

February 24, 2021

The perfect travel bag brief case all wrapped up in one amazing Patagonia

The perfect travel tote/ brief case/ computer bag/ overnite Patagonia Carry -on bag

February 21, 2021

Great bag, tacky logo

This is a fantastic bag for travel and an improvement over the previous bag. The only thing I don't like is the size of the logo. I get you to want to brand your product but this is too much and takes away from the aesthetics of the bag.

February 15, 2021

Very useful bag for travel

I love this bag! I use it frequently for travel and it performs great. The rucksack straps are good for on public transport or carrying longer distances. Inside the mesh pockets are great for smaller items like socks or knickers and I use the larger pocket for things to be washed. The whole bag is strong and sturdy.

February 9, 2021

Amazing!

Totally jazzed with this bag. Now I can put my ski boots in them, and know they'll arrive with me. Pockets and zippers are numerous and flexible in use.

January 22, 2021

Great bag, I feel made for taller people

I took this bag across Europe for 6 months and it withstood spills, cargo areas of planes, beach, mountains, scratching / dragging on dirt/rocky road. No holes, no rips, spills, leaks, malfunctioning zippers. This bag is 100% adventure ready. The only downside is that as my bag was filled with gear, it got a bit heavy and there was no waist strap ... Read Moreto help me redistribute the weight, resulting in the whole bag resting on my shoulders and become very uncomfortable, resulting in my the dragging bag down the road (it withstood that abuse). The proportion on the bag to my height of 62inches, the bag went from top of my shoulders to the middle of my butt. This I feel was the only downfall of the bag, but other than that it's a solid bag.

January 8, 2021

Perfect Burly Travel/Daily Bag

Just returned from Baja...Perfect for four flights, vans, trucks, and serious beach use. The multiple zipped compartments held kite gear, foil tools, parts, water, sunblock, fins, towels, iPad, etc. Such a great purshase.

November 29, 2020

Black Hole Mlc Backpack

This is my favorite Patagonia backpack! They are so easy to sell, because they are so well designed. The amount of space and the ability to organize makes living out of this bag a breeze!

November 21, 2020

Laptop sleeve is wasted space

This is a great travel bag (if you are a light packer). The one thing I hate about it is the laptop sleeve - big waste of space. I don't take a laptop on trips and even if you do, the laptops sleeve is GIANT. I can fit a jacket and two pairs of pants in the sleeve easily but i would rather that the pack just didn't have the laptop sleeve ... Read Moresection. Because of its pocket-like shape, it's not a good way to pack for clothing. Get a neoprene sleeve for your laptop and put it in the front pocket already.

November 15, 2020

My husband was so happy

I was looking for an amazing work/luggage bag for my husband. He loves the look, that its waterproof and the right size! He also liked the backpack option.

November 1, 2020

Best Bag EVER!

Im a medical provider, working night shifts in rural Midwest hospitals and ERs. In the past, Ive had to carry 2-3 bags with all of my clothes and gear for a stretch of night shifts. I spent a ton of time researching bags and comparing measurements and purchased the 40L MLC black hole bag. It is PERFECT! Can be carried as a messenger bag or a back... Read Morepack, it carries my laptop and all of my clothing/supplies for 3-4 nights easily. The compartments and pockets allow you to separate clothes from documents/computer and there are a TON of pockets. Seriously considering purchasing the 26L for everyday use!

October 7, 2020

Best travelling backpack!

Best travelling backpack! I've received this as a birthday present and I'm totally in love with it! It's really comfortable to carry as backpack, also convenient to carry on a shoulder and it fits well on top of a wheeled suitcase. It's super light and fits perfectly on overhead lockers on plane. It's perfectly organised w... Read Moreith plenty purposed built zipped compartments, which are great to pack and divide clothes, from electronics, books and magazines. This allows keeping everything tidy even during a week-long trip (in the past I had to unpack and repack everything almost on daily basis) and being able to find where everything is! The front pocket is great to keep small items, such as passport and wallet for quick access and the side/ back compartment is perfect for storing a laptop. The only down side is that it doesn't have an external pocket for a water bottle, which looks like could fit on one of the sides (hopefully Patagonia can add this to future models!). It's also waterproof and made 100% in recycled fabric (love Patagonia!). Can't wait to take this backpack to the next trip :) Last, but not least, big thanks also to the guys working in Trento (IT) store for their expertise and friendliness.

September 2, 2020

Useful carry on. Fits overhead bin without drama.

Not too heavy, but well divided to keep items organized. Laptop sleeve saves trouble passing airport security. Fits 16" Dell Mobile Workstation, older and bulky, with big screen borders. Zippers are robust where needed and smaller in low stress areas.

August 21, 2020

Best carry on!

I originally got this bag for a trip before the global pandemic derailed all plans. I've used it twice for domestic flights and it's literally a black hole. I can fit multiple pairs of shoes, clothes for a week, a small dop kit, plus my laptop, a notebook, and all necessary chargers. With ample space comes weight and sometimes when on my... Read More back it does get a bit heavy. It is great for walking through the airport but definitely not for extended carrying. I also wish it had an external water bottle holder. I pair it with a Patagonia Atom 8L sling that I wear on the front and it's a great combo!

July 7, 2020

Best Travel Bag, hands down

I have now traveled to over 5 countries with this bag. If you are looking to be able to carry on and pack a lot into your bag this is perfect for you. The only downfall is that it doesn't have an external water bottle pocket. This fits all of my camera equipment plus days of clothes and still I can walk onto a plane with it.

June 19, 2020

Versatile bag for travel

Love this bag

June 17, 2020

Cant wait to try it out

So I bought the MLC bag to travel lite overseas, however with COVID-19 I havent had a real chance to use it the way I intended to. I have however packed it with 2 sweatpants, 3 jeans, and 7 tee shirts and some underwear. It still had room for toiletries and small random stuff. Ill update my review when I do travel with it.

June 17, 2020

Super Versatile

Bought this bag to haul around my 16" MacBook Pro. Works perfectly for weekend trips when I want to pack light. Can fit about 3 days worth of clothes along with an 11" iPad and laptop comfortably

March 12, 2020

This makes the perfect carry on!!

This is the best carry on ever! I got so many compliments on it and I was able to fit more than a weeks worth of clothes in it, plus more! I defiantly am going to get another one for my significant other! Highly recommend! It fits in the overhead bin of small regional jets! You just have to push kinda hard and squish it down. I love it!

March 8, 2020

Near Perfect Design

I'm sure my review will get lost in the other numerous good reviews of this bag. I don't often write a review of a product so soon after purchase, but this bag was worth it. Pros: -Compartmentalization -Easily fits in overhead luggage of a plane, and not be that annoying person trying to shove a bag that clearly doesn't fit -Comfo... Read Morertable carrying configuration Cons: 45L might be a bit large for a shorter person and all around use, and the only other option is a 25L MLC, which may be too small for travel, and daily activity. My recommendation, needs a 35L option.

February 20, 2020

Awesome

Absolutely in love...the design is so sleek and the compartments make organisation incredibly easy! Highly recommend.

February 11, 2020

Perfect for a quick trip

This has quickly become my "go-to" bag for a quick trip away. With enough compartments to separate the items I need, as well as a huge main area to fill with enough for 3-4 days of travelling, it's a perfect over-the-shouder option.

January 20, 2020

Great cabin bag

A great combination of cabin case luggage and laptop bag. Easy to use zips, lots of functional pockets and a flexible size. Items inside are protected well with integral padding. A well thought out pack.

January 16, 2020

Bags of options

Bought the Black Hole MLC for all its options. I can back pack it through and separate myself from all those poncy rollie baggers !

January 15, 2020

Awesome plane bag

Great for work trips, easy to carry, easy to organize. Fits in the tiny overhead compartments for regional jets if you don't mind squishing it. As domestic airlines crack down on oversize carry-ons, this one becomes so much better than the usual suitcases, which rarely are legal. Great durability. Very efficient use of space and features. Than... Read Morek you!

December 28, 2019

Better than expected

I travel a lot for work and have been using a 60L black hole duffel for about 5 years now. I love the black hole but it just wasn’t compartmentalized enough. The MLC45 is perfect. Just the right amount of room for clothes and enough compartments for good organization. The designers thought of everything on this bag. Multiple ways to carry it, and s... Read Moretill fits in overhead bin!

December 20, 2019

Almost perfect!

For years I've traveled with the Black Hole 40L Duffel. Able to fit 2 weeks of clothes and necessities and small enough to never have to check it when flying. My only gripe about my 40L duffel was that I had purchased it years before the backpack straps were added. I always wished mine had them because the shoulder strap is useless when boardi... Read Moreng and deboarding a plane; unless you want to be the guy smacking each isle-seat passenger on your way back to the cheap seats. The MLC 45L is SO much better! Smart, thoughtful compartments to divide all your stuff. 5 more liters of space and still carry-on compatible. A sleeve to connect to my wife's wheeled luggage and so many other added details. If you're a minimalist traveler and hate checking bags, this bag is excellent! My only gripe is that I think the zippered compartment that conceals the backpack straps when not in use is a waste of usable space since you cannot zip it closed when the straps are out (Which mine always are). I'd have like to have seen removable backpack straps that were mounted on the exterior like on my 70L duffel and that would allow you to use that large existing compartment to stow your straps when not in use but also as extra pack space when the straps are in use. Other than this apparent design over-ambition I think this bag is absolutely perfect. Dare I say the R1 of travel bags.

December 18, 2019

Black Hole MLC 45L

I've not used the bag yet, but planning to make a trek to Mexico for 2 weeks. There's plenty of room for everything I need to wear, place for 2 pairs of shoes, camera, passports, laptop, etc. So I'm excited.

December 17, 2019

Perfect pack / luggage for travel.

No need to check in luggage with this travel pack. Fits perfect in overhead storage and easy to carry around the airport. Really like how organized you can keep items in this pack.

December 16, 2019

Best bag ever

I travel for a living and wanted a “go bag” I could keep fully stocked so when work calls I can immediately hop on a plane with everything I need no checked bag required. This guy not only fits the bill but exceeded my expectations for any duffle bag I could have purchased. The clam shell design is perfect for separating bulky items from the rest o... Read Moref my stuff. All the individual pockets keep everything neat and tidy so I can find anything I need in a pinch. I especially love the outer zip pocket so I can keep wallet and passport close when passing through the airport but still secure. Couldn’t recommend this bag enough - two of my coworkers have already purchased since I’ve shown this bad boy off. Oh and it’s water proof as if you needed another reason to buy this!

December 16, 2019

Perfect Bag

Needed something for my wife to use for freelancing gigs. She absolutely love it and we both feel good about the purchase knowing how Patagonia sources the material, labor, and work to make our planet a better place to live.

November 25, 2019

Perfect carry on

You can travel with this one bag alone. It’s perfect

November 25, 2019

I love the bag! Just one suggestion for improvement ...

I’m traveling with this bag now on a 10-day trip to Iceland & England. I love everything about the bag except one thing: I think it needs compression straps. I only brought this bag & a personal item, so everything I had for 10 days had to fit in this bag, and I had to buy a luggage strap to wrap around it so when I packed it full, it would... Read More still meet the carry-on requirements, which was sort of disappointing since it’s called the Maximum Legal Carry-On. Otherwise, it’s fantastic. I stayed organized; it has great pockets & compartments, but not too many; and it’s lightweight. Also, I love the shoulder strap, backpack straps & grab handles - it’s so easy to carry it different ways. I definitely recommend it since my one complaint is fix-able.

November 23, 2019

Awesome Flight Carry-On/Boot Bag

This a very well made and sturdy bag. My ski boots fit nicely in the main compartment with plenty of room for other necessities. The multiple carry options are a bonus. My favorite is the backpack option(leaves my hands free). Lost or delayed skis, gloves, and poles can be picked up at the mountain but my boots are irreplaceable.

November 21, 2019

Almost Perfect, with a Fatal Flaw

I've had several MLCs over the past 15 years, and while all were good bags, the latest iteration is the best. This said, there is one glaring flaw for frequent travelers--the bag only functions best when you pack it absolutely full. Although there are zippered compartments inside to organize things, there are no compression straps, inside or o... Read Moreut, meaning that if the bag is not full your clothes will slide and bunch up at the bottom (no matter how you are carrying it). I often travel exclusively with a carry-on, but rarely pack it all the way full, and the constant shifting and wrinkling is leading me to look for a new go-to bag. I don't want to buy a smaller bag, because I like the flexibility of having more or less space as needed. A couple of simple cinch straps on the outside would have made this bag perfect--maybe next generation? I can only hope.

November 19, 2019

AMAZING BAG

I purchased this bag for a weekend bag that fits carry on. No issues at all with carry on requirements. I did get about 1 million compliments on it, including the pilot of the flight. Great bag Patagonia, great bag.

November 13, 2019

Better than a roller!

I've been traveling for years and refuse to use a roller bag as a carry-on, they are clunky and obnoxious. Was so happy to find this bag, which holds MORE than a roller, is structured by flexible and easy to carry right on my back.

November 10, 2019

The bag is excellent, and

The bag is excellent, and exactly what I was looking for

November 9, 2019

Great Bag for travel! Highly recommend.

My husband and I purchased two of these 45L bags (plus an Atom Sling) prior to a two week trip to Italy at the end of August 2019. We flew into Rome, then took the trains to Florence, then to Venice and then to Milan during this time. We knew between using the train system and navigating uneven stone sidewalks at time to get to our hotel, that thes... Read Moree would give us a more nimble way to navigate. These were such a great solution! We loved them so much we even bought a pair as gifts for our son and his wife for their honeymoon in Portugal in October and they love them as well for the same reasons as they were traveling for two weeks. The pockets/compartments give lots of options for best ways to pack. We packed "just enough" clothes and it wasn't too heavy or awkward and much easier than pulling a wheeled suitcase along.

November 9, 2019

Best duffle!

I love my black hole bags fits everything for a weekend away or a backpacking trip.

November 6, 2019

Awesome

Built with durability of the duffles but with MANY more organizing pockets and features. Great for airline travel carry on for many nights away.

November 6, 2019

Bad shoulder strap

I bought this specifically for the shoulder strap but it’s been disappointing. The buckle to material design is bad. The shoulder strap simply comes undone and goes to full extension every time. I’ve tried to double it back in the buckle and it still failed. I’ve now going to stitch it down. The rest of the bag is great.

Response from Patagonia
November 26, 2019

Hi Brian, we're sorry to hear about the troubles you're experiencing with your Black Hole MLC. We think there may be a defect, and we'd like to send you a free replacement strap. We'll reach out to you to get that started.

November 4, 2019

Organized

Found this great for a long weekend or as a compliment to a roller bag for extended trips. I love all the built in organization, something that is lacking from the black hole duffle. It’s a great carryon. I was able to fit it in all but the smallest of overhead spaces.

November 2, 2019

Perfect size

The MLC 45L is a great carry on for my business trips and weekend getaways. It’s thoughtful design compartments keep everything accessible and easy to pack and unpack.

November 2, 2019

Great for quick travel

The perfect bag for one or two day travel, no complaints! Im a bigger dude (6’2 235) with bigger clothes and shoes; so I’ll push the envelop and ask Patagonia to make a version of this bag a little bigger maybe 55 or 65 while still trying to stay within carry-on size limits. Such an addition would make this THE perfect travel bag! Thanks for contin... Read Moreuing to make great products responsibly.

October 30, 2019

Great travel bag

I needed an in-between bag for two to four day trips. Very functional. I almost refuse to check a bag. Great for air travel to have one bag including my computer. I can either stow at my feet or above with no issues. Many compartments for all my cloths, shoes and toiletries. I love the back pack straps. I can go through the airport with my coffee a... Read Morend phone with no struggles.

October 23, 2019

Great Two Day Travel Bag (maybe Three)

I love the bag. Easy to pack and organize my clothes and self. The bag itself is so light compared to other things I have used it makes it so much more comfortable to use.

October 14, 2019

LOVE LOVE LOVE this bag

This bag is fantastic - so many great places to put things to stay organized, and it even fits under the seat in front of you...;o)

October 10, 2019

Love this bag!

Perfect for a carry on. Just dont over-stuff it or it will be too big.

September 18, 2019

BEST BAG AROUND

I absolutely love this bag! It is practical in so many ways. The straps to carry on the shoulder or across like a messenger bag, plus the backpack straps! It also holds a hefty amount of "stuff". I've used it for clothes during travel, work items on a long trip, and as a diaper bag when traveling.

September 12, 2019

Star traveler

The best hand carry bag ever. I love the different straps, how it’s set up to zip-and locate items with out having to dig and pull things out. The mesh compartments let you see what you placed in them. It’s soft and comfortable to sit on your shoulder and it’s easy to fit in the over head, not bulky at all. Greatest travel bag ever! I am a happy tr... Read Moreaveler and very happy with my “black hole MLC”

September 5, 2019

Surprisingly large, great organization, pack it full!

This bag is BIG! I've taken it for weekend travel trips as well as camping and it is plenty big. The downside of its size is that if it is not full, things tend to fall to one side and the bag becomes awkward. It would be great if there were compression straps and packing cubes could also help in place of straps. The shoulder strap is somewhat... Read More awkward if the bag does not have something inside to keep its shape, so I tend to use the surprisingly comfortable backpack straps. The main compartment access zippers are nice and big so they are easy to open. Inside the bag is split into two sides like a suitcase which is nice and ends up creating additional space for something rigid like a large laptop. The outside double zippers I find to be too small so they are difficult to unzip one-handed which may help with security but not convenience. There are tons of organizational pockets and the pass-through for a luggage handle works great. Depending on your airline and how strict they feel like treating you on your day of travel, I've gotten away with a 22" spinner plus my MLC under the seat (not packed full) for longer trips. I love the new matte finish on the Tres MLC 45L. Maybe in 20 years when this black hole wears out, I can get a new one :)

September 2, 2019

Last travel bag I’ll ever buy

I seriously love everything about this bag. Tons of pockets, laptop sleeve, backpack straps, quick access pockets, and maximum capacity. I go to a new different country at least once a year and it’s always troubling to wonder if my bag will fit in the overhead of a new airline, or take a small bag just to be safe and end up leaving essentials behin... Read Mored. I love the new green because it’s not boring gray/black/blue but it also doesn’t stick out in a crowd. It’s not the perfect bag for every single situation I encounter but it’s my #1 go to bag for travel.

August 30, 2019

Great little bag. Used for

Great little bag. Used for overnight summer travel and was very pleased. All the compartments are great to store different items. Going to use as a boot bag this winter. Wish they had a bigger size so I could store my helmet.

August 29, 2019

45L bag

Bag is unreal! Love it! Best piece of luggage I have purchased.

August 12, 2019

Perfect do-it-all bag

I love this bag because it's big enough for an efficient packer to go on a week-long trip, but it's compact enough for shorter outings. It is an ideal carry-on size, and the straps are great if you have it loaded up.

August 12, 2019

Great for Storage...horrible to carry!

Fantastic pockets for organizing your things. The back pack straps are ok. The weight distribution on the pack is awkward. Very hard to carry with a 17" laptop and clothes for a week of work travel. It would be a fantastic pack if it would work more like a backpack.

August 10, 2019

Great size and very versatile

Good size for carry on and can pack a lot of stuff. Perfect companion to my Black Hole roller bag as this bag has a sleeve so it can rest on the roller bag handle.

August 10, 2019

Travel Worthy

I have used this case twice to travel out west in my teardrop trailer. It allows me to pack a week’s worth of clothing, electronic accessories and toiletries, towels, etc. so much space and different compartments to stash stuff. I am very pleased with it.

August 10, 2019

45 MLC

Best carry on luggage period. Very difficult to find anything negative about this product, except perhaps the price but the nonetheless, WELL WORTH IT!

August 5, 2019

Favorite bag

Have used this bag for over two years on trips to Europe and locally. The soft sides make it infinitely flexible....i can always fit more stuff in there! Multiple compartments make organization a breeze. Built in back pack straps are invaluable, but i usually use the sleeves to hook onto a hardshell wheeled carryon if i need two bags. Buying this f... Read Moreor all my kids who travel, its a winner.

July 25, 2019

Exactly what I needed

This bag is awesome. I agree that it does not have much structure and at first I wasn't sure I'd like it but after a long trip to South America in and out of planes, cars and boats it fits tons of gear and always fit into tight cargo spots. It has tons of compartments which makes it easy to find things quickly and the flexible space allow... Read Moreed me to over stuff the main compartments when needed but always have what I needed at my fingertips. Its not waterproof but like other blackhole bags I own its stayed dry in the rain and on deck. I also dig that I can use it as a back pack, side strap or just grab by the handle.

July 18, 2019

Not enough structure

The black hole MLC fits perfect into the overhead of all planes I have been on in the last couple month, things are easy to organize, and it looks sweet; however, due to the lack of structure of the bag it ends up packing and feeling more like a weird shaped duffel bag. For this reason, I would rather have bought the duffel with the compression str... Read Moreaps. Also, as a commuter/travel bag, the computer seems to sit in limbo, not really secured in place, just floating around. I would not recommend the bag. The idea is cool, but it is just not working out.

Response from Patagonia
July 22, 2019

Thanks for your comments about the structure of the bag and the storage. We are sorry to hear it's not working out for you and encourage you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that back to us. We are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=help) with this process.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches