Back to Product

Ws Wind Shield Pants

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 42 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Wind Shield Pants

4.4/5
Kinda Large
January 22, 2022

Comfortable and protective

I have the previous version wind shield pants as well. I like the cut on this new design betterits less like a sweatpant than the first. I think it does offer protection from the elements and is a good winter running, dog-walking, hiking pant, or ice skating indoors, but I dont find it quite as warm as the previous model which I also used with a th... Read Morein baselayer for snow showing and ice skating outdoors. I dont feel like they are as heavy to wear around the house, either, so I do that often and then I can run outside with the kids for a bit wearing these in place of a windproof and waterproof snow pant if I wont be out for long, even when its close to 0 in the Midwest. I dont know if this new model could accommodate a thin base layer as easily or if it is quite as warm on super cold days, but I think the overall design, nice fabric and functionality makes up for it.

January 20, 2022

Great fit !

Love these! Super comfortable with flattering fit and overall look. Very sporty. I got an Xs at first but wanted them to be looser in waistband so I switched to small

January 16, 2022

Perfect for cross-country skiing

I absolutely love these pants. Theyre the perfect pant for cross-country skiing. Slim fit but roomy enough to fit thermals underneath when its super cold out. I imagine Ill be wearing these in the shoulder season for hiking too. Im 5 2 and 130 pounds and these fit great. The length is perfect on me, but I could see these being a problem for someo... Read Morene who is taller. TBH as a short/petite person Im just thankful to finally have a pair of pants that fit without needing to be rolled up or altered. I usually struggle with Patagonia pants because of the long inseams. Thank you!

January 11, 2022

Great Pant On and Off the Trail.

These are the perfect pant for someone like myself that's self-conscious about wearing spandex type running tights in public. I can trail run or hike and then stop at the store on the way home and not have to change pants. I've used them for trail running about three times in 35-50 degree windy + drizzle type weather and they were super ... Read Morecomfortable and breathable. Fit: I'm 5'9, 145 lbs, athletic build, and wear size 8 in all Patagonia pants and the size medium fit perfect for my body type. Your model shows her wearing size small but the mediums fit my body exactly like in the photo, including the length. These are slim fit pants, I'd probably size up you wanted to wear liners underneath them for very cold conditions. The only two negative things about these pants is that the zippered opening at the cuffs is worthless, getting these pants off wearing size 10 trail running shoes was impossible and the length on these could be about 1-2 inches longer but it wasn't not a deal killer. Overall awesome pant and I love them!

January 10, 2022

good for multiple uses

got this for my gf (shes about 55 115) and they are great for cold weather/windy running, walking around utah in the winter, backpacking and walking the dog when its cold out. great pants

January 10, 2022

An excelkent product

An excelkent product

January 5, 2022

Wanted to love these

I really wanted to love these pants as every aspect of them was as described, except they were too short! I really thought about keeping them because the design and fabric itself is awesome, maybe wear long socks and pull them up? Nope, I decided to return them and continue the search.

January 4, 2022

Great pants!

Love them! Perfect for winter. If you're between sizes, take the bigger ones if you wish to layer with merino leggings.

December 29, 2021

Cold Weather Only

Not sure what I think about these. They're definitely best suited for cold weather as I don't find them to wick moisture super well, so once I start to sweat I feel like they're sticking to me a bit. I do really like the pockets (big enough for iphone) and the ankle zips for extra ventilation. They'll keep you warm I'm just... Read More not sure they'll keep you that dry. Also, they're mid rise, which for running isn't my favorite, might be more comfortable as a high-waisted pant.

December 28, 2021

Great pant with winter activities & layering!

I bought these for winter time biking, climbing, XC, etc and putting these over thick thermals helps to get me outside while cutting the chill of winter!

December 20, 2021

Fit Great- don't seem small at all

I usually wear a M/L and would have purchased a Large but accidentally picked up a Medium in the store. They fit great, but they don't have much stretch in waist for getting them over your hips. They are plenty warm for higher output activities in the cold (skate skiing, running, maybe classic skiing if it isn't too cold). The wind resist... Read Moreance is great for a little extra warmth. They are great pants/winter tights!

December 13, 2021

Good for cold weather

These are super comfortable, stretchy, and provide some warmth. They are not too warm though and really comfortable. I love the stretchy side pockets. I don't really see the use of the zip open slits on the bottom, it would be really hard to get a shoe through these pants as they are pretty slim fitting. I am 5'2/125 lbs and usually wear ... Read Morea 2 or 4 and these are on the smaller size of that fit range.

December 9, 2021

Way too small

I have an older pair of these pants in a size small. They are much bigger and fit better than this new, uncomfortable size medium. Im returning them and want you to know that theyre way smaller than any basic medium Ive ever bought.

December 6, 2021

Great material terrible fit

Way too short. A medium should not be designed to be above the ankles on someone who is 5'9. It baffles me that a brand so committed to details can have such a tragic time getting sizing sorted out when brands that are terrible with details seem to have an amazing array of well sized options.

December 3, 2021

Great Winter item!

Great item for winters in Michigan! So far I did not have to layer underneath but I will as the weather get colder.

November 23, 2021

Warm and comfy

I bought these pants a while ago. Ive only really started using them recently, as the weather has turned cold. I mainly use them for mountain biking in 30 to 40 degree weather, with liner shorts underneath. They are stretchy enough to be comfortable on my bike, breathable on the back side to wick away sweat. The wind coating on the front keeps me w... Read Morearm on the descent. I also like the cuff at the bottom, tapered enough to not get caught on the bike, zippered and a reflective tape for visibility on these short winter days. I love everything about them. Pockets well placed. Fit is just right for me. I also used these for the first skate ski of the season. They performed excellently for that too! I suspect in really cold weather that I will need full tights underneath. I logged in today to leave a review, and buy another pair. Thanks Patagonia.

November 22, 2021

super comfortable

I love these. I use them for all kinds of activities - dog agility, Pickleball, or outdoor walks. They are very lightweight and warm.

November 17, 2021

Keep me warm and love the pockets on both sides

This is much better than the older version. It's lighter and less material at the bottom of the pants.

November 5, 2021

So comfortable!

These pants are soft and smooth, super comfortable for both lounging and working out! Will have to still see about wearing outdoors in cooler weather, but would work well with a thin layer underneath.

November 3, 2021

One and done pants

The wind pants are much more than that. I pack ultralight for multiweek hiking trips. These should be the only pants I need. Wore them with hiking tights underneath for two hours in torrential rain with thigh length raincoat. Only the knees were damp. Soft enough inside to sleep in. Perfect length for me, tenting over the tops of boots. Expensive ... Read Moreand worth it.

October 26, 2021

Wind Protection!

Perfect for wind protection!

October 20, 2021

Great buy

Review Title (e.g. Super Warm) I am ending up wearing these much more often than I had planned. Originally got for power walks in cooler, damp weather (PNW); but find I am wearing these for casual as well.

October 15, 2021

Too wide in the hips

I love the style, comfort, warmth of these pants.. the string around the waist helps cinch the waist buttttt I really wish Patagonia had a Slim Thick type category for lack of better words. I sized up to the M because my hips and thighs are muscular.. SO when I cinch the waist I get a lot of bunching of material at the front and lower back area bec... Read Moreause otherwise its too wide at my hips even with the draw string and I dont want my pants to fall down! Patagonia PLEASE consider more inclusive sizing! I love your brand and what you stand for!

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2021

Hey Tia, thanks for leaving us a review on the Wind Shield Pants. We have been working on offering more inclusive sizing and have updated a number of styles with a wider size range for Fall of 2021, but it sounds like the issue is not with finding the correct size but with the cut of the pants. We greatly appreciate this feedback and will share it with the rest of the team. If you're looking for something similar in the meantime that is intended to sit a lot closer to the body, we recommend the [Women's Peak Mission Tights](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-peak-mission-running-tights/23990.html?dwvar_23990_color=DAK&cgid=root).

October 6, 2021

Have to return :-(

I loved these out of the package. Nice light-mid weight feel, side drop in pockets, and zippered legs. Once I put them on, they were a loose but not baggy, fitted but not tight, casual fit. I normally wear a small in Patagonia tights and I ordered a medium. But I had to take them off after just 5 minutes of wearing around the house! The inside sea... Read Morem on the back of the legs where the different paneling meets was very irritating on my skin. There is no way I could wear these for active use, I would be chafed raw! Smooth that seam over and it's be a winner.

Response from Patagonia
October 13, 2021

Hi Margaret, we would never want you to be uncomfortable in your gear. We're always working to improve our designs, so thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please feel free to begin a return or exchange here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

September 29, 2021

Wow!

These immediately became my new favorite mountain biking pants and to wear fishing under waders in in cooler weather. With wind resistant and heavier material in the front where you need it these pants were surprisingly lightweight and low profile. Although I haven't tried them yet I know they will be fantastic under my fly fishing waiters. Th... Read Moree material has a slickness to it which will make getting in-and-out of the waders easy, and there was no extra bulk. Deep pockets on both thighs were big enough to hold my Samsung S20+ phone. I often wear smalls in Patagonia bottoms but decided to order a medium To have a little extra room for my athletic thighs. With the draw string waistband, there was no problem customizing the fit and since they are slim didnt look too baggy. Well Done!

September 19, 2021

If Athletic Sexy is your jam

These pants dont disappoint. Form fitting yet flexible, they allow unrestricted movement while keeping cold out. Love the look, fit and feel.

September 16, 2021

Great Except

This pant was exactly what I was looking for. I loved them except they were way too short. I'm 5'9' and they just looked foolish on me. I listened to the reviews and got a large instead of a medium. The medium would have been a better fit. I didn't listen to the reviews about length and sure should have. Maybe a shorter person w... Read Moreould be happy with them. Please a longer length would be appreciated.

Response from Patagonia
September 28, 2021

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on the Wind Shield Pants, Mary. The inseam for these pants comes in at 30.125" for the size medium and large. If you're looking for something longer, we recommend checking out the [Women's Simul Alpine Pants](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-simul-alpine-pants/83067.html?dwvar_83067_color=STBL&cgid=root) which measure in at a 32" inseam.

September 15, 2021

Everything you need in a lightweight pant

I still don't know how something so stretchy and lightweight can do such a superior job compared to other windpants. They are not noisy, or feel like you have plastic wrap on- you simply forget you have these windshield pants on until you reach for the handy pockets to dole out dog treats to your trusty 4 legged running partner. The pockets ar... Read Moree ample yet lay flat unlike other pockets that flair out and can catch you hands while striding. Just like the Air Shed Pro, I should have bought this a long time ago as both products are well thought out and let me just get out and run without fussing over my clothing choices.

September 13, 2021

Comfortable lightweight trousers

I completely love these trousers. They are comfortable and lightweight and good value of money. Highly recommended.

August 16, 2021

Will use these for cross country

Great fit and quality. Could fit long Johns under these. Purchased a L, Im a size 30-31 in womens pants for reference (or size 10). Didnt want them too tight. Happy with purchase. Definitely will be good in cold, windy conditions. Missed out on them before they sold out last season.

June 30, 2021

TOO SHORT, but loved everything else

I wanted to love these pants so badly, but just couldn't. I'll echo other reviewers in that the length is unnecessarily short - WAY TOO SHORT. I am 5'10", about 135lbs and typically order a small in pants at Patagonia and have had no length issues in the past. But these are crazy short. They look comical. And from a functional s... Read Moretandpoint, I don't want my ankles exposed on cool, windy days or my hiking socks to get covered in burs, pine needles and whatnot because my pants aren't long enough to prevent that. It's unfortunate because I absolutely LOVED everything else about these pants. The rest of the fit was spot on, the material is ridiculously comfortable and flexible, the side pockets were great. But the length was a deal breaker for me and I returned them. If it hadn't been for the length, these would've been my go-to pants and I would've purchased multiple pairs. I read another review where that reviewer is 5'5'' compared to my 5'10'' and she even said she had length issues, too. So, maybe they'll work for you if you're on the shorter side. But if you are taller and want pants that go past your ankles, these are NOT the pants for you.

April 9, 2021

Nice but too short

Patagonia, I was so hoping the Wind Shield pants could replace an older pair of warm wind pants from Patagonia that have been my go-to for skate skiing and trail running over the past ~10 years. I love the pockets, and although they are not particularly warm (definitely need long johns for skiing), the biggest issue is that these are too short, eve... Read Moren for someone who's only 5'5. How short are they? They're so short that my running gaiters can't bridge the gap between my shoes and the hem to keep snow and grit out of my running shoes. And, frankly, they just look a little ridiculous when I'm off trail -- which isn't often, but I need these pants to work harder. Disappointed.

February 21, 2021

SO many mixed feelings!! But LOVE.

First, I really like these pants. They fit amazing, and they provide excellent range of motion (no break-in period). They performed well in 30s F hikes. So why only 3 stars?? :((( My review is specifically for last season's pants that came in black. I love them so much, but they are noooot rugged!! At all!! First day out, the ankle got caught ... Read Moreon a rock and bam! There are holes in my pants! I'm afraid to sit on rock :( I've never had pants rip on a hike before (and I hike a LOT), so I'd say these are best suited for running on groomed trails, not mountain adventures. I think I will keep them, likely this season's is similar in material so getting the new one wouldn't help. Now where are my gear patches...

January 28, 2021

Nice layering or stand alone piece

I live in Wyoming and do most of my running during the winter months. I am 5'4", 125lbs with 37" hips and the medium fits well. It feels slightly tight around my thighs when layering with tights underneath, but nothing that hinders my running. I've also worn these on their own and they worked great on a windy running day in the ... Read More30s. I have ran with them as a layering piece in 10-20 degrees F and my legs were much warmer than before! I tend to wear M in most bottoms, so it is true to size. Having the drawstrings on the outside is great for adjusting the fit. Instead of the open side pockets, I do wish this had a zippered back pocket like a lot of running tights have, but that is a minor complaint.

December 7, 2020

My Favorite All Around Pants

These are hands down my favorite pants. Super comfy to hang out in all day long and perfect for cold weather running/xc skiing! Love the side pockets, super functional for activities.

October 15, 2020

Incredibly Comfy

I bought these pants for a hiking trip up in Maine in October. I usually wear a size 12 in pants. The waistband was a little tight, but otherwise the pants fit comfortably through the thighs. If you're a bit generous in the hip and rear area like I am, you may want to consider sizing up. Otherwise, I'm quite happy with the fit! I wore the... Read Morese over three days of hiking, including a sunrise hike where the temp dipped to around 32 degrees with heavy winds, and they did a great job of keeping me warm while moving. I've since worn them on chilly morning walks with no issue, and look forward to wearing them throughout the winter.

October 5, 2020

Just what I was looking for

This pants seem pretty perfect for what they are described as. They feel like a quality pant, nice material, great at blocking the wind. The fit is quite nice as well, tighter to the leg, fitting, a little looser around the ankle but not like a boot cut or anything. I ordered a small, and have ordered smalls in my other Patagonia pants, and they fi... Read Moret perfectly, any smaller though, and I would have to size up. I measure 37" at my widest point, 36" at the hip and 29" at the waist. The waistband has very little stretch, and I was just able to suck everything in enough to get them up over my widest point, but if I had eaten a large breakfast, it might have been a different case. Not the pants that I will be putting on after a Thanksgiving meal. Even though it has little stretch, the end fit was pretty perfect. So definitely take your measurements, and compare! Otherwise-I am looking forward to putting these to the test in more cold/windy situations!

September 29, 2020

Stretchy

I ended up with a medium after trying on both medium and small in the Patagonia store in Squaw Valley on a awful hot day with an equally hot and stuffy dressing room. I found the medium to be slightly more roomy. Better for bending and moving and also sitting just above my hips instead of with small that caused wedgies. It's odd that my pants ... Read Morehave zippered vertical pockets instead of the side pockets seen on this website. Do I have last years model? I say zippered pocket far more functional for carrying valuables. I'm looking forward to using these pants for xc skiing and hiking.

September 16, 2020

Fabric is loud

I love the fit and the quality. But....the fabric is noisy, to the point I actually stopped to listen to see what the sound was hahaha it was me moving. Kinda weird but still love them!

September 10, 2020

My Best Fitness Pants

I have three pairs of these and cycle through them constantly. They are form fitting, but not tights, which is perfect. I love that they have zips at the ankles, BUT the openings need to be a bit bigger to be able to actually take them off over most of my shoes. I was disappointed that this latest version has a waist tie on the outside, which makes... Read More for a weird poof right on my belly where I really don't want a weird poof to be. What was wrong with the older version that didn't have that? Nothing!, that's what. But still I do love these pants and get tons of compliments on them. Thanks!

September 8, 2020

Comfortable as heck!

I love these pants! Great for biking, working out, lounging! They keep you cool and dry and they are extremely cute :,3 love the reflective detailing as well! Definitely worth the price! The only thing I dont love are the pockets. They are extremely useful, deep for sure, however, I personally think theyre kind of ugly and awkward. ️ Not a deal bre... Read Moreaker, though. Definitely would recommend these!

September 7, 2020

Perfect pants for inclement weather

In short, the Wind Shield pants are magical. They are comfortable enough to wear all day but stand up to rain and wind like the best raincoat. The side stretch panels make these pants feel as comfy as a yoga pant. Yet, they dont stop there and have the bonus of wind and rain shield fabric to help make inclement weather hikes more comfortable. I jus... Read Moret finished a day of hiking in rain and the pants never once let my legs feel even remotely wet. The pants repelled the rain like they were treated with RainX, the coating put that you put on car windows that causes rain to bead off. As the weather cleared, the pants dried quickly and easily. Amazing!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches