burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Cliffside Rugged Trail Pants - Regular Reviews

Write Your Review

3.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 32
  • 34
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
  • 42
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 11 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Cliffside Rugged Trail Pants - Regular

3.8/5
True To Size
December 5, 2022

Amazingly robust pants

These pants are seriously heavy duty, and pleasantly warm because of it despite being uninsulated. Very pleasant for late autumn or winter hikes as the thick material is warm and feels quite wind proof. The cargo pockets and the extra material at the knees are useful.

November 30, 2022

Functional

As others have said, the front pockets are comical. I've gotten used to using the cargo side pockets. The inseam on the regular is 31, which happens to hit my sweet spot. (The acceptable variance in inseam length of most Patagonia products makes 30 or 32 inseams something of a gamble.) These pants soften up considerably after a wash or two. ... Read More Slight adaptability from the elastic waist and button snaps. I like the cuff snaps for bike riding - snugs up that pant leg on the chain side.

November 29, 2022

Waist runs pretty small

I love these pants, but the waist is pretty tight. I usually wear a size 34, and I bought a size 35 just incase. However, the 35 is still super tight, so I'd recommend going up a size or two. Other than that these are a great solution to a warmer backcountry pant.

June 1, 2022

Bulletproof

These pants are exactly what I'm looking for. Traversing extremely rugged terrain for Search and Rescue takes a toll on clothing but these pants just shrug off impenetrable brush and course rocks. As others have pointed out there is room for improvement, such as front pockets and a slightly longer length, but I've never found a pair of pa... Read Morents which moves this well and withstands thorns, snags, rocks, and everything else so darn well.

May 27, 2022

Cool pants

The only item I thought need some consideration were the very shallow front pockets, sit down once and stuff falls out. Rugged knees and wonderful fabric. The waist is a tad tight, recommend next size up. Love the cargo pockets storage

April 22, 2022

Front pockets

Front pockets stick out and way too shallow, you will have coins or other items sliding out. Legs flare too much. Quality material. You can feel the knee patch when walking

February 5, 2022

Make them Longer

These pants have a really functional design for fieldwork, but like many other pairs of Patagonia pants I have tried, they just arent long enough for me (Im about 6 ft 1 on a low gravity day, which isnt exactly an outlier). I might try to have some material added at the bottom to keep the ticks and pokey stuff out because I like everything else abo... Read Moreut them.

Response from Patagonia
February 7, 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback, JB! We're sorry to hear the fit missed the mark. This kind of information is extremely useful to our product team as we work to improve our products, and expand the range of sizes where needed. If you'd rather return them please remember you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that doesn’t work out for you.

November 2, 2021

Super tough and functional, needs improvements

These pants are basically bulletproof. The material is very tough and not stretchy, and branches and burrs just brush off it without a scratch. Fit is good overall, just a bit on the short side. Cargo pockets are very useful. Cons: Front hand pockets are too small (I can't even fit my whole hand in there) and have a weird little notch in the c... Read Moreorner that meets the outer thigh, which makes the pockets stick out basically all the time and never quite sit flat. Also, the elastic ankle cinch is basically useless; it only has one adjustment that doesn't do much, and the elastic is very weak and is quite difficult to work back into the little hideaway. The inseam length is also a little short for a regular fit (32 inseam), which is good for me since I usually go for the short (30 inseam) in Patagonia pants. The stretch material on the knees moves well but I worry about long-term durability compared to the main pant material which seems indestructible. Lastly, there isn't a good place for my multi-tool to live in these pants (esp. with the odd hand pockets). Overall great concept, needs improvements, will keep an eye out for the next gen.

October 11, 2021

warm, very durable

I sized up to a 35short as I have a thicker bottom and thighs. Quite durable and will be great for winter hikes

October 6, 2021

Way small

Purchased for hiking and they would have been good if they fit. They were returned.

September 9, 2021

Tough!

Well, these are not exactly what I expected. For Patagonia, they are seriously heavy duty, and that's no bad thing. They are incredibly tough and durable, and will no doubt last for years. Great pockets in all the right places too. Awesome pants - just remember - heavy duty!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches