burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Ms Houdini Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 321 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Houdini Jacket

4.6/5
Kinda Large
September 23, 2022

Great quality

Can't say more but patagonia always makes good quality stuff!

September 20, 2022

Functional and great fit

Just the running jacket I needed. Great color and fit

September 19, 2022

Great jacket

Wore this all over Chicago, very portable and good rain coat

September 13, 2022

Perfectly light, could use better pockets

It would be nice to be able to carry my phone in a pocket. Breast pocket is too small, and no side pockets.

September 12, 2022

comfy & attractive

I like it

September 12, 2022

Best Jacket

The best jacket for windy and rainy days in the city. Light, easy to carry, good capabilities at repelling water.

September 9, 2022

This jacket is very windproof

This jacket is very windproof meaning not real breathable. It's OK for hiking, but it's too airtight for running, ski touring, etc. The length of the fit was great, but it's a little snug for layering (and I'm a thin guy). The next size up would have been comfier but too long. It's OK for the price, but not as versatile as ... Read Moresome other similar products out there.

September 8, 2022

Great lightweight warmth layer

The Houdini adds instant warmth either on its own or as an outer layer over fleece or down jacket, It's extremely lightweight and crams down into almost nothing to fit in a pack.

September 4, 2022

Practical, elegant and functional

My first purchase of a Patagonia wind jacket. So far, great! I still need to try on longer hard runs but so far so good. Really helpful to be able to wrap it in the pocket for traveling.

September 1, 2022

My go to jacket!

This jacket is a game changer! Perfect for rainy, cloudy, or cool days. Very light weight rain shell for when its raining and you just need to run from your house to the car or from your car into the store. My work office runs runs real cold in summer, this jacket keeps me warm but not sweating. Best everyday lightweight jacket!

August 25, 2022

Great quality, fit and comfort!

Great quality, fit and comfort!

August 23, 2022

Good for light rain in warm climates

Wore this on a recent trip to Seoul in the summer where it was super hot and humid and rainy. This jacket was great for keeping me dry without being too heavy or warm. I tried both the XL and the XXL (I'm usually an XL), and opted to go for the larger size just because its a jacket and wanted a slightly looser fit over my clothes. I love tha... Read Moret it can pack into itself (via the chest pocket).

August 17, 2022

Awesome lightweight jacket!

We carry one in each of our daypacks for mtb, hiking and climbing! We start out the adventure with it and keep it when we lunch or break. It feels like a buddy on a trip! I can not imagine an adventure with out it four seasons and all reasons! K&K

August 16, 2022

Perfect Ultralight jacket

Pros: -you can barely feel it on -provides adequate wind protection -works well for layering -adjustable hood Cons: -definitely not waterproof/water-resistant -only one chest pocket ???: -questionable durability but that will only show throughout the time of using Overall I love this jacket and I take it everywhere with me. It's perfec... Read Moret for biking, running or hiking

August 9, 2022

Great jacket

This may be the most functional piece I own. So lightweight. I wore it on a windy and sprinkling morning. It cut the wind and kept the rain off. Its not a Torrentshell and isnt supposed to be - keeps a small drizzle at bay when you need it to. The hood cinch is great in the wind. Fit is slim to tailored. I am 5 ft 9, 150. The wavy blue fit me right... Read More on for what I need. Black color way fit more snug - maybe just a small variation?

August 8, 2022

Very satisfied

Ultra compact and lightweight wind jacket. It fits right in your pocket.

July 31, 2022

3XL too small

While other 3XL Patagonia jackets fit me fine, 56 chest, 48waist, 37sleeve, this one is tight in the chest and forearm. Returned it.

July 31, 2022

This lightweight jacket is a

This lightweight jacket is a staple in my day and overnight pack. I have two Houdini's and I consider them an important part of my outdoor gear. More than just a windbreaker for me.

July 29, 2022

Nice light weight fabric and

Nice light weight fabric and keep in the warmth great for sailing !!

July 28, 2022

perfect for mosquitoes and horseflies

This summer I took a dive into fly fishing and I'm glad I did. Being that the best time to fly fish is in the evening, I was being eaten alive by mosquitoes. I bought this windbreaker because its made out of nylon and stops the mosquitoes from being able to bite. Although I would have preferred a different color, gray is decent neutral color f... Read Moreor the river. I also bought this to protect myself from horse flies while hiking or cutting wood. For the reasons I bought it for, I have been nothing but impressed and I'm thankful that bought this product.

July 25, 2022

Near perfect

A very thin windbreaker that can take a few drops of rain. Just what I was looking for. Would have been nice with something that holds down the hood. It blows up like an extra head in the wind.

July 24, 2022

It’s great

It’s great

July 19, 2022

This is my fourth one.

This is my fourth one. I love them and use them mostly as a layering piece on a hike or when Im fishing. I find they cut the wind really well. My previous ones lacked the hood. I like the addition of the hood.

July 9, 2022

Good size and verry light,

Good size and verry light, but it is not breathing good.

July 6, 2022

Breathable Backpacking Bug Buster

Two weeks in the Whites of NH in mid-summer-this kept the stinkers off and provided the exact protection desired. It will now sit as a staple in my frisbee bucket. It is a trim cut, not a problem here but if your built a bit, size up.

July 6, 2022

Super lightweight, but no pockets

The weight of the windbreaker is great, almost can't feel it. My only complaint is the lack of pockets. I like to have one or two pockets in all my jackets.

July 5, 2022

Light as a feather

Light as a feather

July 1, 2022

Extremely light, windproof, water resistant, packs small

Very happy with this - it's windproof and water resistant, packs into the chest pocket and weighs nothing. Haven't worn it out in the mountains yet, but I'm confident it'll perform well. Is a little roomier than I was expecting for a medium 'slim-fit' (70kg at 6').

June 23, 2022

Thin, breathable, and surprisingly warm jacket when fully zipped

The jacket fits well but it is too high under the arms and the shoulders, and also it suffers from the same defect the Torrentshell suffered before, it does not have any structure on the collar, it is just a loose fabric that drops on your shoulders, exposing the tag in the back and looking messy and unstylish. I wish this style of jacket can be of... Read Morefered with a collar like the Variable Jacket, and cut lower under the arms, and on the shoulder to make it more comfortable, especially for guys who have broad shoulders and a little bit of thick muscular arms. In sum, this jacket can be improved so it can be more versatile by having a structured collar that can hide the hoodie (similar to the Variable Jacket) and to be a bit more generous under the arms and on the shoulder drop. I like to see this jacket be offered in Purple or Burgundy, and in other colors especially in pastel or earth tone hues that mimic nature.

Response from Patagonia
June 27, 2022

Hi Serge! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about some of the disappointment with the collar and the fit. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

June 19, 2022

Light weight, packable and wind

Light weight, packable and wind proof.

June 17, 2022

Perfect Light Weight Packable Jacket

Perfect for travel, running, and on the bike. Packs super small and very light weight. I found fit to be similar to other Patagonia jackets.

June 10, 2022

Really Nice Jacket w/ 1 Problem

I agree with reviewer Ben about the garment tag at the neck being too bulky for this very light fabric. It's pretty annoying and unsightly because it turns out when you wear it with the hood down. Otherwise, this jacket is just what I wanted for a super-lightweight wind breaker for travel, cool hikes, etc. Fit is great. Sadly, returning to the... Read More dealer.

June 9, 2022

Perfect for travel

I just finished a 3 year trip throughout Europe and North Africa and this jacket was indispensable throughout. It is light, packable, water resistant, and blocks the wind well. It works as a stand-a-lone jacket on the cool summer nights and when coupled with a few layers, works to block the wind during the winter.

June 6, 2022

Perfect weight

My only problem with this jacket is not losing it because i take it with me everywhere and wear it all the time. It's is the perfect weight to just add some wind protection for a walk to the pub or a morning hike....

June 5, 2022

Wind jacket

Great fitting light weight wind breaker. Ultralight, and packable in any pocket.

June 4, 2022

Light, packable, great!

Bought for a trip to Europe- great decision. So easy to pack, just the right amount of light warmth & rain cover. Orange color is nice. Definitely a slimmer fit, order up if needed.

Response from Patagonia
June 8, 2022

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the packability and water resistance of the Men's Houdini Jacket on your trip to Europe! If you have any questions on how to wash and care for your Houdini after a long journey, check out our [Care Instructions page](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) or chat with one of our Customer Service Team members.

June 3, 2022

Very warm and versatile

I have purchased Patagonia products since the 1970s. Always an excellent product.

May 31, 2022

Wonderful outer layer with fatal flaw

The Houdini is an amazing jacket. Its incredibly light and flexible. Its perfect for hikes with elevation, as it provides insulation but you never get too hot. It also provides a little protection from the rain. The tag on the back is a deal breaker though. If you wear this jacket with the hood down, the fabric has so little rigidity that the tag... Read More flips the very top portion of the jacket inside out. It is incredibly annoying, to the point that I dont enjoy wearing the jacket unless the hood is up. A smaller or printed tag seems like it would be an easy solution. I oscillate between small and medium in Patagonia but this jacket is definitely smaller than most of their jackets so size up.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2022

Hello Ben! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the irritation that the tag causes. This is great feedback, and we'll share it with our design crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

May 21, 2022

Too light and material too thin

Expected jacket to be light, but the material is extremely thin that a simple snag I think will tear or pierce it. I wouldve opted for a different one had I know this.

Response from Patagonia
May 24, 2022

Hi Berto, the Houdini Jacket is a lightweight weather-resistant windbreaker that’s great for high-output activities. If you're looking for something heavier, but still light enough to pack away, take a look at our [Men's Storm10 Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-storm10-alpine-jacket/85125.html?dwvar_85125_color=MEOR&cgid=root).

May 7, 2022

Most versatile coat I own.

My wife raved about this coat for the past year.. It is the perfect coat for wearing on the windy days at the beach, on a hike, under a life preserver while kayak or SUP, as the top layer to block the wind or to keep you dry from any light rain, and packs into nothing so super easy to always have with you.. she even layers it over her nano puff on ... Read Moredays its cooler and the wind is a bit too strong. I mean she sold me on this must have coat. Shes not wrong. I am so thrilled to have a simple coat that is so versatile. I pack it for runs, hikes, biking, water sports or just about anything. It fits in both a hip pack or backpack with no issues. It is even breathable. I finally understand why she raved about it. I highly recommend.

May 7, 2022

Lightweight

I normally wear a large and I had to do an XL which is not a big deal at all. But every other Patagonia garment I have is large. This is so lightweight and packable. I would say it is rain resistant. more so than rain proof. But if you need a light rain resistant coat this is it. I love it. I live in the Pacific NW and sometimes it is just drizzly.... Read More You don't need a full on rain coat but you also need something. This is it.

Response from Patagonia
May 11, 2022

We appreciate your feedback and we're so glad to hear that our "slim" fit, water resistant classic windbreaker is working so well for you, Michael!

May 4, 2022

Perfect for daily use.

Must have item!! No matter where you are, you need this no matter what!!! Comfy and yet breathable.

May 2, 2022

Wind break

Excellent windbreaker. Only recommendation is that if you intend to use it as a outer layer windbreaker for ski touring you may want to consider one size larger. Otherwise fits great.

April 26, 2022

What wind???

This is a gift for someone. I have a Houdini and I love it so much, I give them as birthday gifts!! Cant go wrong!!

April 25, 2022

Love it!

I had a windbreaker and I thought it was lightweight until I got this one! I was actually shocked at how thin it was and was anxious to see how it worked, especially since the price was a little steep. It did not disappoint! Ive worn it on my last 3 hikes and I dont think I will ever hike or backpack without it. It folds into a pocket on the jacket... Read More making it SO tiny and able to fit anywhere! Did I mention how scrumptious the color green is? I have it in fresh teal and the color just makes my heart happy! Loved the jacket so much I bought my husband one and he is as big a fan as I am. Havent been in the rain with it so I cant speak to the water resistant coating but even if it didnt have that feature I would still love it!

April 24, 2022

Less than expected

I expected more out of this jacket, fabric is very light. I do not believe it will protect much in wind or a light rain. I would not have purchased it if I knew this before hand .

Response from Patagonia
April 26, 2022

Hey Jerald, thank you for the feedback. If you are not pleased with your Houdini, you're welcome to [send it back](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). This jacket is intended to be very lightweight and packable. We're not sure how you were intending on using the jacket, but feel free to reach out to us if you'd like to have a conversation about it. One of our customer service reps could offer an alternative that will work better for your needs.

April 15, 2022

Great jacket but needs improvement.

The Houdini jacket is a great value for the price. The jacket lasts a very long time. The current design has an interior chest pocket that flaps out and the waist draw string is of inferior quality compared to previous years 2015/16 in my opinion. The size L is a little large around the torso area however if you workout and have a chest, size M is ... Read Moresimply too tight as you will not be able to extend your arms.

April 6, 2022

Versatile Jacket

I love these Jackets. I own 2. Black for everyday use and hiking and orange for my bike rides. It packs down and fits easily into the pocket of my bike jersey and protects me from the wind and chill during my descents. Thank you, Patagonia, for your the fantastic quality and thoughtful design.

March 28, 2022

Different cut on this version

I've been using Hoodini's for like 15+ years. This version fits trimmer. The big deal is that the arms are slimmer and I can't pull up the sleeves at all to vent my forearms, something I did all the time with previous models and is really important for a jacket with low breathability like this. Please make the cut more generous in th... Read Moree sleeves again Patagonia!

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2022

Hi Eric! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit of you Houdini Jacket. We truly appreciate this feedback as it's crucial to improving things for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 28, 2022

Such a good packable windbreaker, just wish it had another pocket option

AWESOME jacket. I use it for running. I stuff it in my pocket when I'm unsure of the weather and run errands too. It's not water proof but I found it actually holds up well. I just wish it had some simple zip pockets on the side. The only pocket is on the chest and a bit awkward. It's also the patch logo. The old ones were screen-p... Read Morerinted right on and that felt a little sleeker in my opinion. I think everyone should own one of these.

March 22, 2022

Great windshell

Love the Houdini windshell which I use primarily for fishing in a kickboat and hiking. It's an excellent wind layer which is super light and goes in the pack everytime.

March 22, 2022

Great updates on a classic

I use a Houdini for ski/rock guiding, along with other varieties of windshells. The updates that I appreciate on the 2022 version are the low profile cinch closures, that do their job while still being easy to lay/sleep on without bothering me (I don't like high profile toggles on a hood volume adjuster, for instance). I also like the added to... Read Morerso length over my previous (2016?) model, and the addition of a longer zipper pull on the front zip, an easy but annoying mod I had to make myself on my previous Houdini. Ding: The hanging chest pocket occasionally snags in the main zipper. All told, very happy with this jacket for low-abuse use in less abrasive environments.

March 22, 2022

Warm weather alpine touring

Great piece for alpine touring.

March 20, 2022

Great Patagonia piece

My family love the Houdini. We have them in different colors. Great for traveling! Good to wear over a sweater as a windbreaker and keep heat in as well as under a jacket for extra warmth. LOVE THEM!

March 18, 2022

Versatille

Excellent. Amazingly light. Great wind protection.

March 17, 2022

Perfect for travel

I am 5 ft 9 in 165 lbs., and always buy medium tops. The Houdini Windbreaker pairs perfectly with my same sized hooded R1, and is perfect of my go-to light weight travel kit. It is an important side note that I find all Patagonia products Ive purchased to have the same fit for the stated size. This has a major impact on my brand loyalty. I know ... Read Morethe quality and the fit. If I have the need and like the item, I buy it.

March 16, 2022

excellent commuter

Used this biking in Wisconsin from 25-40F. As long as it's not raining, a light layer under is perfect. also good for walking dogs in 40F wind on beach

March 16, 2022

Like it's not there

I purchased the Houdini jacket to serve as a rain/wind shell running and rain shell fishing and hiking. I've put it to the test and I'm pleased. The jacket goes unnoticed which is exactly what I'm looking for. I'm pleased with both the performance and value.

March 12, 2022

No more hand pockets

I have an older one, with hand pockets. They ruined it when they got rid of the pockets.

Response from Patagonia
March 18, 2022

Hi Michael! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the lack of pockets. This piece is designed to be as lightweight as possible so it doesn't have a ton of features. That said, we appreciate the feedback and we'll share this with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 11, 2022

The perfect lightweight jacket for mild climates

It doesn't surprise me that a company headquartered in Ventura has created the ideal light jacket for Southern California. Just enough jacket to keep the wind off without overheating, and even repels a bit of rain (scarce here lately). If it does warm up, you can take off this jacket and stuff it into its own pocket for a convenient little pac... Read Morekage that weighs practically nothing. It's also a great fit that doesn't look like you're wearing a tent. I couldn't be more pleased with it.

March 9, 2022

Nice Windbreaker Shell

I use this generally on runs and it provides a solid shell to protect from those windier days. I like that its easily foldable and can be stored in a running belt or hydration vest. Id definitely recommend it for anyone looking for a simple wind shell.

March 4, 2022

Patagonia Houdini windbreakers are great

Several seasons ago, I purchased a previous Patagonia Houdini windbreaker, but I misplaced it, and it drove me so crazy not having it, that after a week without one, I had to order a new Houdini. For the weight, compactibility, breathability, windproofness, and water resistant qualities, this is the clothing layer to carry and pull out when the wea... Read Morether turns from sunny to windy, chilly, and wet. In other words, the perfect item to pack in your carry-on, fanny pack, or back pack. Forgetting the size of my original Houdini, I used the online Patagonia size chart, and it determined I should order a Medium (I'm 180 lbs 6'0"). The Medium arrived and it was a perfect fit--if I was only wearing a tee-shirt underneath. However, sometimes I like to wear a tee-shirt and a mid-layer like a lightweight fleece, so I had to exchange the Medium for a Large. The Large fits perfectly, especially the hood, with layers underneath. I love this jacket like I loved my old Houdini, but the one suggestion I would make is the zip pocket on the front should be slightly larger to accommodate smart phones. The size on any jacket now really only accommodates a set of keys.

February 25, 2022

Super light. Breathable. Packable.

I am in love with this jacket. I use it for running and hiking. It is perfect for light rain and or as a windbreaker outer layer when you need to keep things light. Somewhat slim fitted which is exactly what I needed. Absolutely perfect.

February 20, 2022

Warm and comfy

It can fit anywhere and you can bring it to any situation while traveling. Great !

February 13, 2022

Swing and a Miss

I purchased the Houdini to replace a different branded jacket that I wore out while mountain biking. Based on reviews, I was expecting a light weight breathable jacket designed for high intensity activities. I was disappointed. Ill start with the positive: 1. Very packable. First inside my cycling waist pack. 2. Nice looking. Not so positive: 1... Read More. Limited to no breathability. Ive taken the jacket on multiple rides in varying conditions. The jacket gets hot and sticky quickly. After wearing it for a few minutes, it feels more like a light raincoat than a windbreaker. 2. The zipper is poorly made. Too light weight. Has a tendency to come undone and unzip from the bottom. 3. I dont recommend it for mountain biking, running, or other high intensity activities.

Response from Patagonia
February 17, 2022

Hi Tyler, we're sorry to hear that the Men's Houdini Jacket isn't working out for you. We recommend checking out the [Men's Dirt Roamer Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-dirt-roamer-mountain-bike-jacket/24381.html?dwvar_24381_color=BRLG&cgid=root).It's an awesome MTB jacket that’s breathable, and designed for changing climates and altitudes specific to mountain biking.

February 12, 2022

Houdini Jacket - Shocking

The Houdini windbreaker provides excellent protection from the wind. I use it for my daily walks in temperatures from 38 to 55. The jacket has one unanticipated unpleasant side effect - it builds up static and can create quite a surprising jolt when you touch metal.

Response from Patagonia
February 15, 2022

Hey Les, we appreciate the feedback on the Houdini. We're glad to hear it's working well for you with exception to the static! We did some research and found that there are a few things you can do to help reduce this. You can rub the jacket with a dryer sheet, or increase the humidity on it by rubbing it down with a damp rag. Dry air is what causes static, amongst other things so give those options a try and if you find that the problem is not reduced, you're welcome to [send it back to us](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 11, 2022

Great minimalist shell for when the sun goes down

I've been carrying this in my MTB hip pack for the last month and it's been just what I needed when the sun goes down, wind picks up, and the chill sets in. I'm really happy with how small it packs down, but also how easily I can get it back into its stow pocket. I can quickly slip it on, zip it up (zipper feels durable) and keep on ... Read Moremoving. Just enough wind protection to keep me warm. Haven't had a chance to use it for climbing yet but I envision clipping it to my harness for alpine climbs. My only suggestion would be to a way to stow or remove the hood. It flaps around when I'm riding and don't have it over my helmet. Minor issue.

February 6, 2022

Super light and comfortable

A very light and comfortable jacket. It repels small amounts of water, so in a light rain storm it works fine. I wore this hiking during strong winds and I couldnt feel the wind through the jacket.

February 6, 2022

Houdini jacket

Great product and fit as you would expect from Patagonia!!

January 30, 2022

Weird pocket

Love the jacket! Wish I would have bought one a long time ago. Only have a wish.... The small pocket on the chest for a key, gel, etc should be somewhere else or have its own little drawstring. You have a jacket that weighs less than anything you put in its pocket. Thus, the weight difference creates a strange bounce right over your chest when you... Read More run. Since the jacket at the chest area is not snug (nor should be) the bounce becomes even more prominent. The sensation goes away quickly. Bonus: You can tie the jacket around your waist and fold it in such a way the pocket is readily available. I ran 33KM with the gels perfectly placed on the lower right side. Worked perfectly. Thanks, hope this was a bit helpful and to anyone reading, hope you are healthy and happy. RJ

January 29, 2022

Good windbreaker, poor breathability

I bought this specifically for cutting the wind while running/cycling. I was unsure about the jacket because of how thin it is. If you're buying online, it's literally thinner than paper. Imagine a bride's veil, its that thin and light. However, I was very surprised at how incredible it is at breaking the wind. I ran in 30 deg, 20-25... Read Moremph winds and I couldn't feel it at all. I was amazed. Even cycling I was impressed by how well it cut the wind. Now for the bad parts. It is insanely unbreathable. Imagine running in a trash bag. I am drenched in sweat every time I run in it. This is not necessarily a bad thing because it breaks the wind efficiently so the sweat doesn't make you cold like you'd expect. But it does leave you feeling like you just got out of the pool. Lastly, the hood is freaking stupid. It's so light that it is like a parachute behind you. Unless you keep it up (but seriously who uses a hood when running) it is very irritating. I have been tucking the hood inside the jacket so it doesn't get on my nerves. I would buy a hoodless version if it existed, but it unfortunately does not. Size wise, it does fit a bit slim, but I like that. It is not baggy or flappy. If you are a bigger person you might want to size up, but I'm 6'4 160lbs and the medium fits well (my other patagonia jacket is also a medium). Overall I'd give it 9/10 for windbreaking, 2/10 for breathability. And a -999/10 for the hood being as useful as a lifeguard at an olympic swimming event.

January 27, 2022

THIN!!! (but in a good way)

Upon opening my mailbox and seeing the jacket sent in a cardboard mailer (I honestly thought it was something else before I saw the Patagonia on the label) I had my suspicions. They dont call this thing the Houdini for no reason! CRAZY thin! Its so cool how small it folds down you can practically store it in your back pocket. I was also a little ... Read Morenervous that it wouldnt feel very warm due to its thinness but after a 25 minute walk with my dogs in 32 F weather, I was just fine. What a cool jacket, seriously. 10/10 would recommend.

January 15, 2022

Disappears in your pack windbreaker

Works really well for me for ski touring, xc skiing, hiking, running in cold temps. I can fit it in a fanny pack along with my water bottle so easily. So compressible. For that reason I don't leave this behind on any hike. I've only had mine about a year and haven't seen any wear yet, though I know friends who have patched ones. Only... Read More a matter of time, I suppose. But until then, it's serving me really well. It isn't snug on me but isn't roomy either. I'm 5'11 170lb and I expect for heavier people the M might be a little snug. Suits me well for my outdoors pursuits, though, where I want to avoid baggier clothes.

December 29, 2021

Comfy

Light weight, wind proof, and water resistance. Nice look too.

December 20, 2021

Good, but zipper could be better.....

Nice light weight jacket...don't know how it will wear over time. Zipper could be better quatlity which is also true for Patagonia Vest and down coat I bought ...for the cost should put in a better quality zipper....major flaw in a what appear to be quality products otherwise!

Response from Patagonia
December 21, 2021

Hi Lawrence, thank you for sharing your feedback on the Houdini Jacket. We hope it wears well for you for a long time, but we're sorry to hear the lightweight zipper may not work for you; we've shared that feedback with our team. As always, we want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us. If any of our products isn't right for you we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

December 4, 2021

Great light wind and mist jacket

Very light weight and breathable to an extent when you sweat the jacket sticks so you and has a hard time drying but as long as u have a capilene on underneath everything is great and it seems to be fine. If I could improve the jacket I would make sleeve length a bit longer and give a sealed seam zipper but I love Patagonia so I support there produ... Read Morect and would definitely buy this my faults are very nit picky so really its a great jacket

November 28, 2021

Perfect weighted jacket

The perfect jacket for hiking, jogging and casual use. Can be easily put in your backpack. Light weight and very comfortable!

November 28, 2021

Compact

It's compact capability is why I bought it. And it fits in my pocket when I'm on a hike and get warm. The cord fell off the zipper the 1st day I got it or I would give it 5 stars

November 16, 2021

Perfect for chilly day

I carry or wear this for outdoor workout and hiking on cool to nippy day. I wear it until warmed up on trail, and pack it. It is almost no weight.

November 12, 2021

New Favorite Piece

The packability of this jacket makes it perfect for all activities. Slim fit doesn't flap too much while on mountain bike. Always stowed away in my gear bag when heading out for an adventure.

October 30, 2021

Just what I wanted

Absolutely perfect for the SoCal wet weather days. It arrived just in time and took it for a 2 hour hike in the wet. Worked as described.

October 25, 2021

Always in my pack

I love the Houdini jacket and I have purchased several over the years. No matter the season, I always have this in my pack or tied around my waist. It is amazingly light and also super versatile. Works perfect as a little extra warmth for a summer mountain bike ride into the alpine when things turn a little cold, or in winter when I need a quick la... Read Moreyer to cut down the wind and shed some light snowfall. I highly recommend it!

October 18, 2021

The best versatile jacket

My husband swears by this jacket. It is one of our favorites. It is durable and last a long time. Patagonia has a great repair program; however, when I sent in the last 2 jackets I only got credit for one. Great jacket!!

Response from Patagonia
October 21, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the jacket. Please reach out to our Customer Service Team regarding the missing credit.

October 17, 2021

Extremely light

I really like this jacket because it is really light and protects from wind.

September 19, 2021

Not For Running!

So Ive had this jacket for about 3 years and finally decided to post a review. Ive been a Patagonia fanboy for well over 10 years, but this has been the biggest disappointment of anything Ive used from Patagonia. I dont know what the intended use is for this jacket, but it is not for running. Ive used this jacket in temps ranging from the mid 60s ... Read Moreto single digits, and in wind, rain, and snow. I specifically purchased this as a running jacket. However, the poor breathability of the fabric and complete lack of ventilation means that even in the coldest of temperatures I still wind up a sweaty mess. Often times I would have been better off not wearing the jacket at all. In cold temps you want to be able to dump the heat and evaporation, but this jacket holds it in like a plastic bag. In warmer temps the goal may be to stay dry, but even on short runs I still wind up soaked from within. What was the point of wearing it? The only area I can really see this as being useful is in a stationary setting where I would need to block the wind, but that is such a small range of use. And be warned about the hood, even in light wind it does not stay on. As for fit and construction, its typical of all Patagonia gear, perfect. Im 62 and 205 lbs. and wear a large. The fit is on point, aside from the hood. If you need to block the wind this is a fantastic jacket, but impermeability goes both ways. For active endeavors this is not the jacket to purchase.

Response from Patagonia
September 30, 2021

Hey Ethan, thanks for leaving us a thorough review on the Houdini, and thanks for taking your time to really test it out in the field before reporting back. We're sorry to hear that it has not been a very breathable product in your experience, we'll be sure to share these thoughts with our team. The good news is all our items are backed by the Ironclad Guarantee, and if you're unhappy you're welcome to return it and buy something else. We recommend checking out the Men's Houdini Air Jacket or the [Men's Storm Racer Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-storm-racer-waterproof-running-jacket/24111.html?dwvar_24111_color=SPRB&cgid=sport-trail-running-mens-jackets-vests).

September 13, 2021

perfect for light and fast operation. super efficient.

my houdini has become the de facto go to piece. i use it for trail running, gravel riding, hiking and ocean. always there and easy to deploy and store when it is required. provides the right amount of insulation when the wind kicks in and allows for a great warm up piece on cold morning.

September 9, 2021

Great super thin jacket

Super thin jacket, easy to put in a smal pocket or backpack for an fast change.

September 8, 2021

I have been looking for this Jacket for a while.

This is the prefect lightweight packable shell for almost all adventures.

September 8, 2021

My new rain jacket

Took this one to Europe on vacation and my wife wore it more than I could. It is wind proof and water proof and perfect for when it cools down at night. This was the case in Germany, it would be warm during the day but in the shade or at night much cooler and out would come my Houdini jacket. Great jacket!

Response from Patagonia
September 16, 2021

Hey Joseph, we're stoked to hear you're loving your Houdini! Though it has some water resistance, the Houdini isn't waterproof, it's intended as a windbreaker jacket - so definitely wouldn't recommend wearing yours in a downpour.

September 2, 2021

Wind shield

Very Light! Recommend for transitioning weather and windy days

September 1, 2021

Latest Design a Major Step Back

I own four Houdinis, purchased over the last seven years, and it's maybe my favorite clothing product ever. It works for me daily, as a button-down shirt would, over a t-shirt, or as an under layer for cold weather, or working in the yard. Over the years, the design has changed slightly the logo used to be screen-printed, but it rubs off; the ... Read Morepocket get larger to better stuff the jacket inside but the latest iteration (20192020) has been a huge disappointment. The collar seam and tag have been notched up, behind the neck, causing the tag to flip up even when the jacket it zipped up  and always when the jacket is open. I am 6' 2" and wear a Large; their product page shows a 6' 1" model wearing a Medium. It's possible if I wore the Medium the tag might sit tighter to my neck, but I prefer the Large for flexibility in motion and clothing option. My previous three Houdini's (all Larges) never had this problem, nor did I experience issues with the collar/tag, so I don't know what problem they were solving. The second major issue is the pocket, which is no longer sewn to the jacket on all sides. When the jacket is open, the pocket-pouch flaps around on your chest and is annoying. I assume there was a savings in production to reduce more stitches/seams, or it helps with packing the pouch, but it spoils the jacket. It's possible this jacket is intended only for wearing zipped up, and the smallest size possible, to reduce these two issues. But if you want to wear the Houdini as a style piece not just for active wear the new design is a bummer. My previous three Houdinis, two of which have been repaired with the Worn Wear program, and I love to death, are perfect. I hope they fix this design. If you're experiencing these problems, the Houdini Pull-over seems to be a good alternative. I just purchased one a Medium fits better here, despite wearing a Large for the zip-up and it has no pouch or tag problems. Thanks, Patagonia, for reading these reviews and for everything else you do.

Response from Patagonia
September 8, 2021

We appreciate your thoughtful and detailed feedback, and we've passed it along to our product designers. The Houdini Jacket was last revised in Spring 2019 and we're sorry this version has been a disappointment. Note that your purchase is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) and you're welcome to return it. You may also want to take a look at our Dirt Roamer Jacket and Stretch Terre Planing Hoody as possible alternative windbreakers.

August 31, 2021

Best for climate control while running

Very cool product. Packs super well and it works great for my long runs in SE Florida when summer rain showers show up unexpectedly. I also use it while running a my boat early mornings.

August 31, 2021

Super lightweight and easy to pack.

I weigh about 125 so thought a small mans jacket would fit. It did and I love it! My husband got his jacket first and loves it. Very lightweight and easy to take along for a day trip or on a world trip.

August 31, 2021

Excellent!

Ever since Patagonia brought out its first ultralight wind proof (early 1980's?) I've always had one in my kitbag and it's always been one of my most used pieces of clothing. The Houdini jacket is my latest purchase in this department and it doesn't disappoint. The fit and build quality is as good as it's always been. Very ... Read Morehappy with this!

August 24, 2021

perfect for my long cycles

Recommended by a patagonia store - and used it twice on long road cycles. perfect as it squashes down into a pocket - been great to help keep wind off in the morning and ideal for the showers. dries quickly and then packs down into pocket. Previously bought one by a cycle brand and this is miles better , zips dont get stuck which was is a big issue... Read More with most cycle clothing.

August 22, 2021

Perfect for high altitude summer hiking

I used this jacket while hiking the Presidential Traverse trail in New Hampshire, this is all I needed for all the peaks, very compact, light and kept me dry all day. highly recommended.

August 22, 2021

Better than expected

Last year I tried this jacket on in a REI in my usual size, XL. The fit to me seemed tight and it was really thin so it made me rather uncomfortable like I was wearing a wet tshirt. I didnt even bother trying on the next size, I thought "what good is this jacket for?". So, a couple of months ago I was in the Freeport Maine Patagonia outle... Read Moret and saw one houdini left for a wicked price in a nice color combo in an XXL. I remembered the day in REI but I really couldnt resist trying this one on anyways, it was a bigger size after all which I knew would be a significant difference. This felt 100% better, everything fits great, slightly too long but just barley. It didnt fit like I was wearing a wet tshirt anymore and the material was much more flowly and all around very comfortable to put on. Needless to say I was and still am to this day very impressed with it. I wore it later that evening on the beach which was about 50 degrees and windy. I only had a tshirt on under and it really did a great job at keeping the wind and chill out. I will say though, a windy 50 degrees is for sure the limits on this jacket. I live in FL so I think this is going to be my most used jacket. For sure something everyone should own. Size up if you are built up top

August 15, 2021

Very Refined Lightweight Jacket

I love the lightweight feel of this jacket. The color choices are the best. Of course, new colors over time are welcomed.

August 6, 2021

Great light weight jacket

This is a perfect jacket for the cool mornings of summer. I wear this jacket everyday when I get on the boat. Its light enough that you really dont know its there but has great wind resistance and creates a bit of warmth too. The pack ability of this jacket is excellent and will be in my bags anytime I travel.

August 3, 2021

Light jacket

I love this jacket. I use it for the on and off rain showers here in south Florida. Its very light weight so its not very hot or uncomfortable. Super easy to store and carry around. Great purchase.

July 28, 2021

Kinda slim fitting, but nice and light

Great lightweight layer, somewhat waterproof. Wish it wasnt slim fitting, I had to buy a size up to wear it over stuff.

July 23, 2021

Terrible design

This is the most poorly designed product Ive seen from Patagonia. The tag is so high on the jacket that is sticks out the top no matter what you do. The inside pocket is not sewn down so it also sticks out when the jacket is worn open. Also, this product came with a seam that was already coming apart.

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2021

Thank you for you feedback on the Mens Houdini. We are sorry to hear about your experience with the jacket. It sounds like you might of potentially received a faulty product, whenever that is the case please do not hesitate to give us a call at 800-638-6464 and we can get it replaced at no cost to you.

July 22, 2021

Best option for chilly airplane flights and terminals

On the ground at my destination, the Houdini folds flat into a Ziploc (fewer wrinkles than stuffing into its tiny stuff pocket) and travels with me everywhere. A cold mall, cold Starbucks or local equivalent, cold movie theater. A sudden tropical downpour. The bang-for-the-buck in terms of warmth and wind/rain protection vs. gram-weenie weight leve... Read Morels is superb. But, at the end of the day, this shines, it's a must-have, for airport terminals - often frigid for late night departures - and for overnight flights, which in my experience run colder at night and colder still if you swing over the artic on a night flight. The on-the-ground situations I can back out of, retreat from, but if I'm miserable and on the verge of shivering in a terminal or on a flight, I really need, and really appreciate, the Houdini as my first line of defense. Also great under a jacket during winter flights, acts as a vapor barrier to help keep my skin humidified, seals in the warmth under a more breathable/permeable jacket or fleece, and also adds a hood (lot's of heat loss from head otherwise) and even pulls down over my eyes for sleeping.

July 13, 2021

No Pockets

I returned this item because it has no pockets at all. I never thought to check closely because I had never seen a windbreaker with no pockets. I paid return postage.

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2021

Thanks for the feedback John. This jacket only has a chest pocket as this is meant to be ultralight and every ounce counts. You may like our [Men's Steel Forge Windbreaker Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-steel-forge-windbreaker-work-jacket/27545.html) as it's got lots of pockets. Take care!

July 10, 2021

Great jacket

This is a perfect light weight jacket. I bought it for a trip to Seattle in August. Love the color and the pockets. Great value. And outstanding customer service.

July 5, 2021

Everyone Should be Issued a Houdini Jacket at Birth

This is just an incredibly useful piece of outdoor gear that EVERYONE should have. The two characteristics: VERSATILE and LIGHT. If you have this in your cycling kit, your international travel gear, your bike commuting backpack - whenever and wherever you're outdoors - this jacket will protect you from wind, unexpected colder temperatures, rai... Read Moren, sleet, snow. Packs up into itself very handily into a fist-sized zippered enclosure, which let's face it -- anyone can take the Houdini everywhere. Planet Houdini!

July 3, 2021

My new favorite windbreaker

Only problem is I wish it had pockets. Other than that absolutely perfect.

June 30, 2021

The layer you cannot afford to not bring

This layer is light, packs small, and is perfect for providing the little bit of rain or precipitation protection you need to get out and active. A go-to layer for bridging the gap between not needing a jacket and needing a rain shell. I recommend it to all my friends.

June 24, 2021

Great little jacket

You need to know what this is for but if you do, its perfect. I used it as a windbreaker on a backpacking trip where I knew there would be no rain. I used it over a down and cap base layer and it worked great to temps down to around 30. Seems like it would even work well with temps a little lower as well.

June 22, 2021

Grab and go

This is the first jacket I grab when heading out. It fits well over one layer but would need to be one size larger if you plan multiple layers underneath. I wear it hiking and paddling in changeable weather. Love it!

June 18, 2021

Perfect for summer, perfect fit

Perfect for summer, perfect fit

June 16, 2021

The best windbreaker out there

I absolutely love this jacket and wear it nearly every day. It is super ultra lightweight, and also keeps me dry for a while in a light rain. It protects against the sun too! Ill be buying another years from now when this one wears out.

June 13, 2021

Great piece for your kit

Wind and water protection, super packable.

June 12, 2021

Nice Jacket

I have far fewer miles in this than in the Houdini Air which I think is about as perfect as can be for four season use in the high desert and mountains with drier snow. This Houdini is more waterproof, more crinkly, but still very light. Would rate higher but it arrived with two small tears: one pin prick viewable only if held up to the light, but ... Read Moreanother larger one which will have to be patched. Not a huge deal; but frustrating that quality control took the day off.

Response from Patagonia
June 15, 2021

Hey Trent! Thank you so much for the feedback. We are so sorry you received a defective item. We'd like the chance to make this right. Please reach out to our Customer Service Team to work on a replacement.

June 10, 2021

Amazing

Super lightweight and does what is expected.

June 5, 2021

Great, packable jacket.

The good news: 1. This jacket will keep you reasonably warm in a pinch. Not 30F but have worn it in high 40F-50F and just for walking around not running. 2. This packs down to N_O_T_H_I_N_G. Literally smaller than a sunglasses case. The bad: 1. It packs so small that I have packed and lost two. 2. No side pockets, only a chest pocket that it pack... Read Mores into.

June 2, 2021

Great for aerobic adventures

Been using this jacket for a little bit of time in mountain biking. For this purpose, i would add a little bit of lenght in the back part

May 26, 2021

Essential jacket

I use this for all weather and is an essential jacked for any activity.

May 26, 2021

Lightweight, comfortable and breathable. I

Lightweight, comfortable and breathable. I love multipurpose garments, and this is one of the best I have. Surely it is not the ideal jacket to crawl through a granite chimney, but we can use it to climb, walk, ride a bike or go for a walk around town. Of course, ideal for windy days. You have to have it.

May 25, 2021

Versatile

I love the versatility that the Houdini offers me. It's great for casual wear, gym wear, or even as a thin shell for the chillier days out on the road bike. The ability to pack it up and stow it in the jersey pockets as the sun comes up and warms day or when you wish delayer for extra cooling makes it a great pack for a cyclist. I loved it so ... Read Moremuch I got two and maybe more in the future.

May 25, 2021

Slightly small

I am 58, and fairly athletic. The medium was too tight , and since the material doesnt really stretch, I took it back and exchanged for a large size. Great jacket.

May 17, 2021

Absolutely love this jacket! It’s

Absolutely love this jacket! It’s light and perfect for a run/hike. I purchased a large size as I like an oversized fit and it’s perfect!

May 14, 2021

Great jacket, great service.

Great jacket, great service.

May 13, 2021

The windbreaker you didnt know you needed.

This jacket is so lightweight, I questioned its functionality. Until I put it on. This little thing is brilliant. Weight is nearly nothing and it does what it says - cuts the wind totally. I was in sustained winds a few weeks ago in the desert - cool made cooler by the wind. This jacket made all the difference. My wife confiscated it - we just boug... Read Moreht one for her. I foresee a lot of use - this jacket is packed into itself in my Jeep console. Two thumbs up.

May 12, 2021

Versatile piece with nice fit and hood

Very light but seems durable compared to other ultralight running gear since its ripstop. Hood covers all head and leaves room for good peripheral vision. Long on the back. Size and fit is same as other patagonia slim fit gear.

May 9, 2021

Wind and rain proof

The perfect jacket for bike riding. I use it as a wind breaker and water resistant layer. When the weather changes out comes my Houdini jacket.

May 8, 2021

Great coat

Lighter than I thought but still amazing ! Fits well. True to size, off to adventure now - goodbye.

May 8, 2021

Awesome windbreaker!

Fits in a small pocket, great if you need a windbreaker, wide color selection.

May 7, 2021

Best purchase

Im 6-2 /215 pounds. Bought the large which fits well. Great purchase!

May 4, 2021

Stash it in every bag

This jacket is my go to in spring and fall in the Wasatch (Park City, Utah). I keep it in my mountain biking pack all season long in case of a storm or cold temps at higher elevations - it barely takes up space and is so light I never notice it. The most versatile jacket I own.

May 3, 2021

Great windbreaker!

The Houdini jacket is light weight, has adjustable fit and looks good. Our family owns several of these jackets in different colors. Houdini is an absolute must to own. Great to wear for golf too. It would be great if Patagonia would design another Houdini with hand pockets! !

April 30, 2021

Houdini jacket

I can only confirm all of the 5 star ratings. In 2014 I bought my first Houdini jacket, which is still in use but getting thin on the back where my running pack rubs a little plus a couple tears in the sleeve from a new puppy. It has been the best all-round running shell by far – from daily run commuting to long, mountain outings – and there was no... Read More doubt of another Houdini jacket. Lightweight, durable, great wind protection, decent protection in a light rain, no unnecessary frills – just does its job.

April 27, 2021

Keeps out the chill and the rain!

So thin but seems durable. Packs down small. Keeps you just warm enough on a chilly summer night, keeps you dry in a pinch.

April 26, 2021

Best jacket

Love it. Best EDC jacket.

April 24, 2021

Perfect

I will recommend it, light and fits perfectly

April 22, 2021

Super light wind shell

I got this jacket specifically for ski touring. I get pretty warm going up, but still want something to block cold breeze and flurries. A normal shell over my baselayer is too hot, and just the baselayer is too cold and prone to getting soaked. The houdini over a baselayer is the perfect middle ground - very happy with this arrangement. I've a... Read Morelso used it over a micropuff for a long day alpine climbing in a cold breeze and that was also a great combo. Feature-wise, the hood and hem adjusters work great. The sleeves are half elasticized at the cuff. My only nitpick is I can't pull the sleeve very far up my forearm. If the elastic went all the way around, that would be more helpful, but then you'd need a baggier sleeve.

April 22, 2021

2nd Houdini jacket

I already have a medium, which is great to throw over an insulation layer. But using it over a base layer whilst running or taking the chill off whilst hiking, the medium is too baggy around the body (I'm 172cm, 94cm chest). I've now bought the small and it fits great for this purpose.

April 22, 2021

Bang for your buck

I was pleasantly surprised by this jacket. Stylish, fits well, warm and very light. What more could you ask for? I weigh 90kg, athletically built. L fit well without being too tight over arms and chest.

April 16, 2021

Lightweight and the perfect layer

This jacket is perfect for those 20-45 degree days to wear a t-shirt under and go for a run. It keeps you warm without needing big bulky layers and it's lightweight and packable in case it gets too warm out for a run. I wear this jacket indoors too if I want a t-shirt and just something a little extra.

April 8, 2021

More Than I Expected

I've owned the Houdini for 2 months and it has become my go to light weight top layer for all things out doors. Very compact when in "stow mode". A great buy.

April 6, 2021

Perfect for bike commuting

Ive had this jacket for almost 2 months. Its proved very useful several times, either because the weather turned rainy or cold or both. It packs small so I just leave in the bottom of my backpack and forget that its there until bad weather reminds me. Its ideal for making my commute (5 miles beside the Hudson on the west side of Manhattan) in the r... Read Moreain.

April 5, 2021

Versatile Comfort

Very comfortable fit and perfect for those chilly western Pennsylvania mornings. When the heat kicks up it packs up smaller than a water bottle so you can keep blazing the trails.

April 1, 2021

Minimalist shell

The Houdini shell is perfect for a light extra layer. I use as a warm up jacket when I start a strenuous activity such as running or biking. Easy to pack away once Ive reached a higher body temp. Some might say the price is a bit high for such a simple garment, but I have Patagonia gear from the 1980s that I still use regularly. Quality gear is alw... Read Moreays a better investment.

March 29, 2021

Awesome for running against the wind!

Fits me okay. A tad off for size but still fits. Thanks tight and sexy!

March 29, 2021

Houdini

My third Houdini from Patagonia and this one is just as good as the first. I prefer the laminated logo on the chest but the classic stitched edition this time round is also a very nice touch.

March 25, 2021

Perfect!

The jacket is amazing. I love the packed size, its almost as small as a Clif bar. Toss it in any pack, takes the place of a heavy shell on nice day either skiing or trail running. Nicely done.

March 24, 2021

Light, Tight and Right !!

Great little jacket. Light as a feather, tight fitting & good wind resistance......

March 23, 2021

Works

Works well.

March 23, 2021

Excellent jacket for running

Lightweight, great fit and packs down small. Wish i'd bought one a long time ago!

March 22, 2021

Great Windbreaker with Terrible Hood

There're two kinds of wind jacket, breathable and non-breathable. This is the latter. First, the fit is not trim as advertised. It's more like regular cut of Outdoor Research jackets. In other words, if you're an avid runner, cyclist or long distance hiker, you need to size down. I've put it thru the wringer. I've used it i... Read Moren 60+ mph wind in the Himalayas. One design flaw is the hood. In relative high wind, 25-ish mph wind speed, there's no way the hood can stay on your head without a helmet. Other than that, it's a good windbreaker. Just remember it isn't a rain jacket, so from time to time you need to reapply DWR yourself if you want it to handle some light rain, and also be aware it ain't breathable type. If you need breathable wind jacket, you'll need to look elsewhere. Another thing is the hood has the draw cord in the back of hood. The problem with this type of design is you can't sleep in it because the toggle will irrate you. You may ask ehy you want it to wear it in your sleeping bag. There are times your sleeping bag's temp rating is not up to the task, so you need to wear all your layers.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2021

Hey there, thanks for the review! If you're still looking for a breathable, waterproof jacket that packs down we'd recommend checking out the [Men's Storm Racer Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-storm-racer-waterproof-running-jacket/24111.html?dwvar_24111_color=SPRB&cgid=root).

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches