Back to Product

Ws Frozen Range 3-in-1 Parka

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Runs Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 35 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Frozen Range 3-in-1 Parka

4.6/5
Runs Large
April 14, 2022

Bitterly Cold Winters? Bring Them On!

I received this parka as a gift this winter and it has solved the icy cold for me. This past winter was pretty brutal in Minneapolis (home base) and because I walk everywhere (don't own a car) I needed extra protection from the cold. In addition, I get really cold quite easily. After reading review after review of online quotes, I tried out my... Read More husband's version of this coat and became an instant believer. Well worth the price!

March 23, 2022

Warm but bulky

I was a bit conflicted when I received this but ultimately ended up returning. The good- Very warm. I took a short walk around my neighborhood in 15 F temperatures and stayed very warm. Fabric feels very durable, hood is spacious (for my big head!) and isnt like the scuba hood that looks a little much for casual outings, length of hem and sleeves a... Read Morere nice for my height at 54. Negatives- incredibly bulky. I look 50 pounds heavier in this. Thats not a bad thing in sense of weight but more so its just not very flattering. I understand the 700 full down needs space but was surprised at how much of a sleeping bag I looked like. If I were to wear the outer shell only, it looks 2 sizes too big, which is not wearable and thus defeats the purpose of a 3 in 1. I was able to get over those things because I dont see myself wearing just the outer shell on many occasions and warmth trumps looks. What made me return it was the zipper. It feels very durable and sturdy but takes forever to align and zip up. Once the alignment is perfect, its an easy pull up, but it took me multiple tries each time I went to zip the coat up and I dont have the patience for that. So, a lovely coat over all that does whats advertised but the small details made me return

March 15, 2022

Love it

Love the fit, style, havent tested it in the cold but excited to try out for next winter. Patagonia always seems to provide me with my favorite coat.

February 26, 2022

Functional Challenges

Unfortunately, this product did not meet my expectations. I purchased the parka for a trip to Alaska, Arctic Circle having upgraded from one of your slim fit parkas (28409). Having been told that it was twice as warm. Where I cant compare the overall warmth having not utilized the 28409 in as extreme cold climate there were some fundamental issues ... Read Moremaking it difficult to stay warm. First, the sleeves of the down insert would roll up and allow both air and cold into the sleeves. The finish looks to be elastic banded however the banding is not layer well causing the issue. Second, where the zipper to the jacket works fairly well when not wearing the jacket it does not zip up well while you are wearing it. Meaning, it is difficult to line up the threads to zip the jacket and definitely not something you can do with gloves on. As I stated the jacket runs big so the six wasnt the issue. The threads or teeth have to be held in a very precise position to work. Once lined up the zipper works great. I do not have this issue in the 28409. Alaska was beautiful and we enjoyed our trip but the function of this parka in those extreme colds made for a bit of a challenge. Thank you for seeking feedback. Have a beautiful day, Teri

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2022

Thank you so much for sharing this detailed review, Teri! This kind of feedback is crucial for our product development. We're so sorry that parka didn't work well for your needs on that important trip! As you probably know, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that doesn't work out for you. Please let us know if we can be of any help!

February 25, 2022

Awesome

Love this coat! As warm as I was looking for.

February 21, 2022

Super warm, but too big on upper half

I needed a jacket that could accommodate my larger hips compared to smaller upper half (36-30-42), it had to be super warm, and it had to come down at least to mid-thigh. Unfortunately, the medium was way too big on my upper half - if I raised my shoulders, the whole thing moved like a cylinder around my body. But I knew a small would be too tight ... Read Moreon my hips, since I need to wear thick pants in winter too. That said, the inside was buttery soft and it was VERY warm.

January 22, 2022

Colors!

Id love this in the fuzzy mauve color that you guys have with some of the kids jackets/vests! I like that mauve color better than the mauve for the adult jackets! I also like nest brown, burnished red, and forest green! I originally bought the regular 3-in-1 parka but I like how the frozen range one will keep you warm no matter how cold it is! I kn... Read Moreow the quality of this jacket will last forever so Im hoping for a great color choice!

Response from Patagonia
January 25, 2022

Hi Denise! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on this parka. Just to let you know, our product development team does see these reviews, so your color preferences is getting to the appropriate teams!

January 15, 2022

Exceeded Expectations

This jacket has been a game changer to my winter. I have been with North Face for every winter since I stopped playing hockey. I went to Freeport Maine where the North Face and Patagonia stores are right next to one another. Went into both stores asking for the warmest coat, wanting features such as a hood that doesnt fly off when Im walking into t... Read Morehe wind and a jacket that will keep me warm instead of feeling the cold air going right through me. Nervous, especially on the price, I waited 6 months to give this jacket a go (bought during July 4th weekend). The salesman at the store (think his name is Jud?) was so great on the features I wanted in a jacket, he told me when its freezing I know I wont regret this purchase and boy was he right. This jacket has exceeded all my expectations of a winter jacket and in Boston it can get cold especially close to the water and the wind tunnels. I hope this gives you the push to get a jacket like this and keep yourself warm because no one likes to be cold in January and February.

January 14, 2022

So comfortable

Its so comfortable and super warm. I love that i can take out the outer jacket incase its not that cold outside. It has a lot of pockets. If you wear the outer jacket just by itself it is a little big but if you layer shirts it not that bad. Overall im very happy with my purchase

January 13, 2022

Worth the investment

Its the best winter coat ever. Im never cold when wearing it. I tested it out when the weather outside was 4 degrees and it was icy and snowy. The gortex is a plus. When its rainy and cold, I just put on my coat and out I go. I will never feel cold again.

January 12, 2022

Different colors please!

I really like the functionality of this coat and what stops me from buying/keeping it is the color choice. I would so appreciate you putting this out in the beautiful blue/gray you have other coats in. A real keeper for me then!

Response from Patagonia
January 21, 2022

Thank you for sharing your review, and your thoughts on the color choices, Johanna! We're sharing this with our product team. It sounds like Smolder Blue might be more to your liking if we could offer it in the future!

January 7, 2022

Super dry and warm

This coat is great! The design is well thought of, and the inner down coat is fluffy, poofy and warm. Outer Goretex layer keeps you dry. Pockets are deep with an inner hand warmer pocket too. The coat is a bit heavy due to the layers but this coat will get you out there and secure from the cold and wet elements! I love this coat!!!!

December 31, 2021

Loved it, but too big of a size for me..

I ordered the frozen range parka to be able to compare it with the Tre 3in1 parka. I would have taken the frozen, since it was way warmer, but the frozen XS was way bigger than their S for the lighter counterpart. I could not move properly. Either there was a mislabeling or they just run that much bigger. The shipping was amazingly quick, and the q... Read Moreuality was amazing!

December 31, 2021

Life Saver

I have lived in Montana my entire life and realized I have never felt warm while outside in the winter. This coat makes it so I can go outside in 0 degree weather and feel totally fine. I can stay outside and play longer with my dog during the winter. I cannot recommend it enough for super cold winter climates. If its over 32 degrees it is a bit ov... Read Moreerkill. It is expensive, but I bought it during a sale and it was worth every dime. Seriously such a life safer!!

December 29, 2021

Perfect for Cleveland!

In Cleveland, Ohio, the weather can go from sunny to rainy to a blizzard during these crazy winter months. I bought the Medium and Small because I have wide hips but a tiny waist. My last jacket (Not Patagonia brand) was tight around my hips so I had to constantly pull it down, and the next size up was incredibly large in the shoulders and chest. T... Read Morehis jacket fits perfectly and is incredibly warm and, surprisingly, not as heavy as I thought it would be. The inner lining is so soft and I love that I can keep it together as one piece or split it into 3 different jackets to adapt to the ever changing Cleveland weather. The top soil color is more like a dark khaki which I appreciate something different than the black. I cannot stress how happy I am with the warmth, sizing, length (about knee length-Im short), and even the return policy for the size that did not fit. For once I found a jacket that fits my tiny top and big bottom without negotiating one for the other. I will certainly be a returning customer to Patagonia for all of my outerwear needs!

December 24, 2021

Super Warm

I wanted a warm everyday jacket and this one is perfect! You dont need to be wearing many layers and thats great for staying warm while wearing cute outfits. I recommend it.

December 5, 2021

Warm body poor cuts

I'm 5' 5", 135lbs, with a long torso and relatively short arms for my torso size. I wear the size small in the Down-With-It Parka which is a trim fit and it fits well. I've come to accept that sleeves on most off-the-rack clothing are going to be a little long. The Frozen Parka in size small cuts me up the armpits a bit, yet it&... Read More#x27;s supposed to be the more relaxed regular fit. The sleeves are much too long. If I sized up they'd be way too long. While the coat body seems really warm the neck portion is open and lets wind travel down. You'd have to have a gaiter and the hood up to get the benefit of all the down in the rest of the coat. The Topsoil Brown is tan on the inside. On the outside it's more of an earthy, not quite army green, unlike what is pictured. I'm returning it because of fit issues, the neck profile and it's not the color pictured.

December 4, 2021

I've found the love of my life!

Am a long time Patagonia customer and was looking for a very warm jacket for a very cold and snowy winter in the mountains of Colorado. I am 5'2" 100 pounds with the shape of an Olympic ice skater. This coat is not a slim fit, but is flattering nonetheless. The length is just above my knee. The inner down coat is extremely lofty and will ... Read Morebe plenty warm all by itself. This fits a bit more snugly than the outer coat. The whole ensemble together and separated is smartly made and chic!!! I purchased the topsoil, which is a medium brown khaki color.

December 4, 2021

Worth It

I love this jacket. Its weight and warmth are pretty luxurious, with a handful of small technical details that I really appreciate (especially the zippers at the wrists of the outer shell, which make room for bulky winter gloves). I live in Massachusetts and its been great for freezing cold dog walks in the wind and rain. Only downsides are some fe... Read Moreathers shedding even upon first wear, the outer shell zipper being tricky (its starting to loosen up), and when zipped all the way up it can be a bit scratchy on the face (there isnt much fabric covering the heavy duty zippers). I initially purchased a large, which was huge on top. I sized down to a medium which is a bit snug in the hips, but its so warm all I need is a base layer top underneath. I carry most of my weight in the hips/backside. Overall I love this jacket and would definitely recommend it.

November 30, 2021

Mostly love it!

I've been wanting a long, waterproof & insulated coat for years. We live in coastal Alaska where it can rain/snain/and dump 12" of snow all in one day. This coat is fabulous for warmth and length. The zipout puffy is great and easy to remove and put back in. The only thing that's bothersome is just how bulky the outer shell is wi... Read Morethout the puffy. It would have been great to integrate a since of interior belt to slim down the waist of the coat.

November 8, 2021

Serious winter gear

I'm 5'7'' and 135lbs with long limbs. I tend to wear M for a roomier fit - and based on reviews I went for a M in this jacket. It's too big for my taste, so I'm going to return it. But it is amazing. The fabric is so soft, the puffer inside is almost buttery, it's so smooth. I was told by a salesperson the puffer ... Read Moreis 1.8x warmer than the Tres 3-1 and you can feel it. Makes the whole look bulkier and the outer shell more relaxed to compensate. If you love being warm, this is your jacket. I wonder how much one would need a thick sweater underneath, that's how warm this parka is. Also, I found the Topsoil Brown to be a nice khaki shade. Into it.

September 24, 2021

Thoughts on Sizing

I haven't had a chance to wear yet this winter but was so torn between sizing. I'm 5'2" 119 lbs. I bought both a S and XS. I tried on with a hoodie and also tried with a sweater I would wear in winter. It was a snug fit with XS but I didn't look like a marshmallow. The S fit more comfortably but being short, having short ar... Read Morems, it looked like I was swimming in it. I'm guessing because it seems so warm, I won't need to wear super thick clothes to stay warm. Hoping I don't gain any extra weight lol otherwise it might be too tight with the XS but it looks much better. Seems like a super durable long wearing coat. Actually looking forward to cold weather to try this out!

September 16, 2021

Cozy

I purchased the Frozen Range Parka for the cold and wet NE winters. I do love the fit and I really like having the two separate layers, but I'm returning it because the inner insulation layer isn't so great looking and seems a little too heavy for my tastes. The wide seams on the quilting just makes the fabric look loose and sloppy to me.... Read More I'm 5'11", 139 lbs, 32"bust, 31"waist, 37"hips, broad shoulders, long torso and arms. The medium fits me perfectly with room for layers underneath. The sleeves are long enough on the rain parka, the sleeves are a tad too short for me on the insulation layer. I decided to go with the same idea and exchanged this for the Radalie Parka as my insulation layer (size large) and the Torrenthshell City Parka (size large) as my outer water/wind resistance layer. The Frozen Range Parka is really beautiful and functional, just not my cup of tea.

September 5, 2021

Best Jacket for MN Winters

Born and raised in MN, I can't believe I waited so long to buy this jacket. Its AMAZING. I walked my dog all winter long and never was cold. The size of the jacket was perfect. I'm 5'9, 150lbs and was very happy with the medium.

March 16, 2021

Collar Revision a hit.

I was periscoping my way through Chocago with the 2019 Frozen Range Parka and switched it out for the new iteration. To my delight, the collar is perfect with a warm, snug fit and the coat itself is fit for any kind of cold. My dog will wake me up and I'll slip into my coat with a t-shirt jeans and some warm winter boots and I'm good to... Read More go for a few hours. Makes waking up in 5 degree weather like rolling into another blanket.

February 25, 2021

Super warm and looks great

I LOVE this coat. I had to move from California to the east coast and was not thrilled about living in the cold again. I bought this coat to help me handle the cold. It is amazing! I am never cold and I sometimes spend quite awhile outside. The fit is great. Im 510 and 150 pounds and the medium fits great and looks so nice on. The only thing I wish... Read More was different was that I wish the arms were 1 inch longer. Its definitely not a deal breaker but it would be perfect with slightly longer arms.

February 21, 2021

Well made, but fit issues

If the shell with the lining fits, then the shell without the lining will be huge. The lining is very thick. It would help if the shell had snaps on the ends of the sleeves, since the sleeve length on the shell without lining completely covers the hands. I had to return it since I wanted to wear it with and without the lining.

February 3, 2021

Overall good with some clunky features

Overall super warm and fits great- not too baggy, not too snug. Room to move without giving too much room for cold air to get in. The zipper is awkward and takes a couple tries to get every time, which for a coat this expensive is annoying. The loop for hanging also is placed too low so the whole top third hangs backwards when you hang it, which se... Read Moreems to put a lot of stress on the seems/fabric. No clear way to attach the two hood layers. Overall great coat, though some of the functional details seem poorly designed in general and especially frustrating given the very(!) high price of the coat.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

Hi! Thank you for this valuable feedback. We have passed this on to our Design Team so they are aware of these issues. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review, as it can help for future iterations of the Frozen Range 3-in-1 Parka!

January 31, 2021

Excellent Jacket

I bough this jacket yesterday, 1/29/21. I ordered it small on line and it was too big. I ended up going to San Francisco Patagonia store and exchanged easily to XS size and It fits very well. WOW! My first word came from my mouth. The jacket fits perfectly in my body frame: petite, weight: 100 lbs, height: 51. . I ended up using the jacket right aw... Read Moreay when I was in San Francisco and It was very cold morning strolling by the Marina District but the Jacket kept me super warm. And it rained too in San Francisco, didnt feel cold at all. I like the length and the dual pockets inside the side pockets, very clever design. One huge pocket inside the jacket is a real plus. Overall, the jacket is super warm, and I couldn't think of any words but it fits like a gloves in my body. I also owned the Ws Tres 3-in-1 Parka, excellent piece in Small size. I dont usually write a review, I only read the other peoples review. At this time, I meant to write an honest review because I am very pleased with my two and only jackets forever. Have a happy reading.

January 5, 2021

THE BEST!

I live in Minnesota, and I'm not sure how I functioned before owning this parka! It is so warm and cozy. The pockets are amazing and hold anything you might need to carry in winter. I walk everywhere in Minneapolis and have not been cold once. I've also stood outside in this coat for several hours in 15 degree weather and stayed warm with... Read More just a baselayer and fleece underneath. This parka is necessary if you live in a cold region, buy it! I found it true to size with room to layer comfortably.

January 5, 2021

Very warm and snuggly

Purchased as gift for my daughter. She is thrilled with the fit, versatility, warmth and quality.

December 18, 2020

Warm and Ready for Winter

This jacket is extremely warm and performs well on the coldest days. The fit is great and allows for layering. It is a bit on the bulky side, so if you are looking for a sleek or more fitted option it may not be the choice for you. However, if warm yet stylish is your goal, you can't go wrong with this jacket!

December 17, 2020

Winter Storm Approved!

I got this coat on suuuper sale at the Patagonia Outlet in Freeport, ME about a month ago. Winters in Maine are... well, cold! I wanted a parka to keep me warm while taking my black lab puppy out for long walks/winter adventures in single digit temps. I've worn it a few times in like, 9 degree weather on walks around town and was super warm, l... Read Moreike, almost hot while moving! Today I wore this coat to the park in blizzard conditions (high winds/snow) in 12 degrees with negative 4 wind chill. I was throwing the ball for my puppy standing in one spot for like half an hour, and was still roasty toasty even though I only wore a long sleeve t shirt underneath! The hood on this thing is awesome - a bit big, so kind of hard to see in your periphery but it's so warm and cozy I don't even mind. I'm 5'2 and ~150lbs and normally wear a medium in Patagonia but got large since I wanted to be able to wear sweaters, etc. under it. Although, it's so warm I'm not sure I'll need to! Ha! It is a bit roomy, but I like it roomier. It comes down a bit below my knees. Even with the extra room, it is still pretty flattering! Not as flattering as the Tres 3-in-1 but the difference is the hood - this coat has a full down hood on the inner layer, whereas the other 3-in-1 doesn't, and in 12 degree temps, I'm glad I had the insulated hood! :) I've been raving about this coat, but the price is... high! I could understand why it's priced the way that it is, because it is amazing, but I am not sure I would have been able to afford it had I not found it on sale. That said, I love it so, so, so much and I am so glad I got it - it is absolutely awesome.

November 30, 2020

Love this Coat!

I walk to work everyday and having the extra warmth on my legs is amazing! Also love that you can easily send it in for repair. I have broad shoulders from being a swimmer and this coat is perfect for that! Would buy it again (but won't have to since the quality is amazing) love that I can buy a product and use it forever! *posted 1 year after... Read More purchase

September 8, 2020

Best coat I've ever had!

The Frozen Range parka is the winter coat of my dreams! I had the Tres parka for years and it wasn't nearly as warm as this coat. I found that there is way more down in the Frozen Range parka than in the Tres parka and the fit is slightly longer and looser which allows for layering. The Frozen Range parka's warm down shell and gore-tex ou... Read Moreter layer keeps me toasty through Chicago winters. The scuba style hood seems silly at first but when you're waiting on a train platform during a snow storm it's a lifesaver! I really love this coat and I think it's definitely worth the investment.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches