Back to Product

Ws Torrentshell 3L Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 192 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Torrentshell 3L Jacket

4.6/5
Kinda Large
December 4, 2021

Versatile

Great all-round rain protection and good for wind. Packs small and light so whether its a warm downpour in to July in Tokyo or November in the Pacific Northwest, the Torrentshell got you covered.

December 3, 2021

Love it!

Comfortable and a great fit. Doesn’t withstand a serious rainstorm but did pretty well in harsh weather conditions

December 2, 2021

Water and wind proof

I was looking for a bulletproof rain jacket and am happy to report I found one. It fits well with a down vest layer or puffy and has been worn in a downpour with no leaking through and in a chilly blow with warmth retained. A great purchase!

November 27, 2021

Love My New Jacket

I ordered the RHP color and love it! The fit is perfect for me. Walked outside with it on and it repelled the rain beautifully.

November 24, 2021

Terrific!

Exactly what I was looking for

November 23, 2021

Rain coat

Big difference in sizes from xl to 2x

November 23, 2021

Rain proof!

Completely, reliably rain proof. I only wish it had a 2-way zipper!

November 22, 2021

Spectacular Jacket

I LOVE this jacket. Its a great rain and wind breaker all by itself or as a super comfy shell over my down parka. Its bright colors make me feel happy and excited whether Im hiking on a trail, shoveling dirt or delivering loaves of French bread. I am beyond happy with this fantastic coat!

November 21, 2021

Rainy days

Great looking jacket for inclement weather. Rain & wind resistant. Havent had much of a chance to wear it.

November 20, 2021

Waterproof but very narrow body cut

I bought this very expensive jacket after reading an article comparing the effectiveness of various brands of rainwear. As a gardener working outside, I am subjected to Cole earth, dew, sprinkler systems, rain and cold temperatures. The jacket is warm and waterproof so far. I've had it a few weeks. The torso is very narrow, and I would prefer ... Read Morea straight side to give airflow and room to manoeuvre. The XL would be better for me. I weigh about 169 pounds, so slightly overweight but the jacket is uncomfortably tight even over a thin t-shirt.

November 20, 2021

Nothing special

It is really nothing special about it For the price i was expecting a better material

November 19, 2021

Fits great but pockets leak through

Overall, I really like my Torrentshell. Fits great, with room to layer underneath. I love the way the hood fits, even with a hoodie underneath. I purchased it a year and a half ago, but only just wore it in a heavy rain in the PNW. My phone and wallet were in my pockets and both ended up soaking wet, which is quite disappointing. Besides that, love... Read More the jacket. I just wish I didn't have to worry about things in my pockets getting wet.

Response from Patagonia
November 24, 2021

Hi Christina, thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear about your pockets leaking. If they are zipped up and this is still happening, it's possible that this is a warranty issue. Feel free to [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can assist you with sending this in for warranty evaluation.

November 18, 2021

Biking at night

THis is the third Patagonia jacket I've owned. The first two had the same de-lamination problem--lining in the area around the back of my neck peel off. I thought it was because I didn't wash it often. But the second one had the same problem and it was fairly new. Still, I need a sturdy jacket for biking. I need the bright colors for hig... Read Moreh visibility especially at night. This does the job. This third one is a bit bigger around the torso than the previous one. I miss the upper left chest pocket, which I use for my cellphone. Maybe Patagonia will restore the pocket in future versions.

November 17, 2021

Highly Recommend

I originally purchased the Artic White jacket. I'm busty (hourglass figure), so purchased the largest size, as it's often hard to find a rain jacket that zips comfortably. This jacket is so great that I purchased a second (red color blocked). Lots of complements - many asking where they could buy one. Fits an hourglass figure nicely witho... Read Moreut the arms being too long and ends mid hip on me. I walk a lot and have been caught in several downpours. This jacket kept me dry without issue. Zippers under arms are great for ventilation when needed. Comfortable with a few layers underneath. I'm very pleased with this jacket. It's excellently priced, very good quality fabric and sewing. When on it looks like a "sportive / day on the slopes" rain jacket. #love

November 17, 2021

Solid, lightweight rain jacket

The fabric is sturdy, but light. I like the fit and the length is good. I would love more pockets, especially inside.

November 16, 2021

Great Shell

Bought this jacket to summit St Helens, and the trip got canceled. BUT I've been wearing it around town and on short hikes and it's been so great. Very well sealed keeps all the wind out. So far it's kept me super dry, but I haven't taken it through super heavy rain yet. It's kept me warm as an outer layer. The only thing I... Read More wish it had is a little reflective patch on the back for urban environments, but overall I'm very happy with the jacket and I can't wait to use it on more hikes.

November 15, 2021

NICE JACKET

I have been in need of a decent rain jacket for some time and have not been successful in finding something I like that fits my need and budget. My first was too hot; I cannot wear those rubber slicker types i die in them. I found one that wasn't plastic (or whatever) but it and only repelled water. I finally decided to go with a good brand co... Read Moreat and settled on this jacket. I love it with all the vents, pockets etc. I've only had one occasion to wear it so far and i was very happy. It kept me warm and dry - it was in the low 50's raining and I only had a long sleeved t-shirt on under it and i was very comfortable. My only complaint at all on this jacket is the material is a little stiffer than I'd like and it's very crinkly (almost noisy) - not a fan. But given all the other pluses, this I can live with. Also, I'm hoping with wearing and time it will be less crinkly.

November 15, 2021

looks good, fits well and warm

havent worn it in heavy rain yet - it stayed dry with steady showers.

November 12, 2021

Water repellent

It is definitely water proof and that is what I am looking for when the weather is wet. Feels comfortable without being bulky.

November 11, 2021

Actually rain-proof!!!

I love this raincoat!

November 9, 2021

Appropriately Roomy

I chose the size that fit my chest (45in XL) rather than my waist/hips (35/45in L) according to the fit guide so the fit it a bit large but still comfortable (it does not noticeably nip in at the waist) and has room for another layer underneath. So far it's been completely waterproof and is not too hot. The hood protects my whole face, thumbs ... Read Moreup!

November 9, 2021

Rain Jacket

Fits perfect. I purchased a large so I could be comfortable when layering a fleece or other clothes underneath. Packs small for traveling too. Good quality! I'll have this for years to come.

November 9, 2021

Nice rain jacket

This jacket is great for the fickle weather in the mountains of Western Maryland. I will wear this in the fall ,spring and summer. I can put this on over a long sleeve shirt and a fleece for chilly days and it repells water completely. I'm a sixty year old, with a small frame and I wear size 8 petite pants. I purchased this to wear on the play... Read Moreground when I am outside with my preschool classroom and when I hike in the woods or walk in my neighborhood.

November 2, 2021

Wind resistant- waterproof

This is super lightweight, yet really blocks the wind and light rain. Havent used in heavy rain yet.

November 2, 2021

Medicane and Cyclone Apollo

My husband and I each bought Torrentshells prior to last weeks trip to Southern Italy and Sicily. Not intentional but we were there for the Medicane and Cyclone Apollo. So much rain! The jackets worked beautifully! I just wish wed also taken rain pants!

November 1, 2021

Covers your butt

I had an older version of this jacket. Fit is more narrow in hip but longer and covers your butt. Have not tried this out in the rain but good for a top layer in fall.

October 31, 2021

Perfect rain coat

Perfect layer for people who want to wear a thin sweater under in winter or just a fall or spring rainy day by itself. This might not be true for a lot of people, but I get hot very easily so it's all I need on most mild winter days (mid-30 degree range) with a couple layers underneath plus hat and gloves. This is my second torrentshell in 15 ... Read Moreyears (I wore the other one thin) and am looking forward to bonding with this one now as my new favorite coat!

October 29, 2021

Dry

This coat feels like an upgrade from my older torrentshell and has proved to keep me dry. Pit zips are a plus and a must and so lightweight and packable

October 24, 2021

Perfect Fall/Spring Rain Gear

This is a great jacket! Stylish , great in the rain, flexible fabric. Plus I love white ! However, I often have a problem with Patagonia fit. I am 5'6", weigh 130 lbs, wear a size 6 in almost every garment from every manufacturer. The medium jacket has sleeves a bit too long and there is too much material in the back shoulders. However, t... Read Morehe small jacket, while a better fit in the shoulders, arms and chest, was too short. Therefore. I bought the medium and I still love it. I can never buy Patagonia pants, almost always too small, although I wear a small in Zella and a 6 in Lululemon. The Patagonia polartec jackets (RN51884,STY25543) and vests I bought last year in a size small are a perfect fit. The best fitting garment I have ever purchased from Patagonia is the 3-in-one coat I purchased last year in a size medium (RN51884, STY28409). I wish Patagonia sizing would be more consistent.

Response from Patagonia
November 1, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the fit Jane. We do have differences in our fit from slim fit, to regular, to relaxed. We're always happy to provide garment dimensions prior to purchase.

October 23, 2021

LOVE

Had an older version for 15 years Got this new version and still the great quality and fit! Love Patagonia Please bring back the Serenity pants

October 18, 2021

Great in the rain!

I especially like the hood. The bill is long enough to keep rain from getting in my eyes. The rain jacket is comfortable, due to the underarm vents. The velcro at the wrists help to adjust the sleeve length.

October 16, 2021

Dry & comfortable

the white color is great for before sunrise walking, helps cars see me, so far has been great for keeping me dry in an occasional rain storm, underarm vents work like a charm to cool me down. Happy so far!

October 8, 2021

Perfect little shell

This was ordered for city wear and it is nicely appointed and light.

October 7, 2021

Great updated rain jacket

I had a problem with my old rain jacket and Patagonia understood and was completely aware of the problem. They exchanged my jacket without any problems. The updated jacket is an excellent update. I am really happy with my new jacket.

October 2, 2021

Very light, waterproof, stylish.

The first order was lost and Patagonia's excellent customer service had a replacement to me in two days. Thank You!

September 26, 2021

Bought for Peru. Got SOAKED.

I love most things I have from Patagonia. Bought this jacket for a trip to Peru and found out on the trip how poorly designed it is. The jacket itself isn't very waterproof, it is a bit short imo but the deal breaker; the hood is pointless. The hood doesn't protect your face from rain at all. An extra inch of fabric along the hood would d... Read Moreo wonders to make this jacket more comfortable. Instead, I was pelted in the face all day while visiting Macchu Picchu. Other people actually commented on the uselessness of the Patagonia jacket by how soaking wet I was compared to others. I gave it away and got something else.

Response from Patagonia
October 5, 2021

We're so sorry that the hood didn't work for you. If you still happen to have it we'd be happy to help you return it.

September 26, 2021

fits perfect

fits perfect

September 19, 2021

Best rain jacket out there

This rain jacket had, best rain jacket to buy, reviews and it is true! Great fit, great hood and keeps you bone dry. Love it!

September 17, 2021

Great jacket

Light and rainproof, just what I wanted. Only gripe is the lack of inside pocket, otherwise great.

September 15, 2021

Bring on the rain

This is an amazing rain jacket. Great color! Great fit- and I can wear hoodie or sweater under it. Repels water and looks good! Who could ask for more!

September 15, 2021

Water proof

Love love this jacket. I do wish the zipper was a dual zip from the bottom so when I bend over etc I would have some better flexibility. Totally recommend otherwise.

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2021

Thanks for your review! If you prefer a two-way zipper, we recommend the longer [Women's Torrentshell City Coat](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-torrentshell-3-layer-city-rain-coat/27119.html?).

September 12, 2021

Not waterproof

I bought this jacket as a rain jacket to run and bike in. I loved it when I tried it on - it was roomy enough to run in comfortably and fit several layers underneath as it gets colder (I live in Boston). I did not want a tight fit and had been looking for a replacement for my goretex jacket. However, when I wore it to run in a moderate rainstorm I ... Read Morenoticed that it was not repelling water and that my shirt underneath was wet. I was hoping this was a fluke and I tried it again a few days later but same thing - wet underneath and quite uncomfortable. I went back to my old goretex and it was much better despite a rip in the side. I dont know if I can return the jacket now that I have worn it but it is NOT waterproof and I will have to but another rain jacket (going with goretex next time).

September 12, 2021

9 years and still going

I've had this jacket for 9 years, re-waterproofed it multiple times, and most recently sent to patagonia repair to waterproof again (as I couldn't get the waterproofing to work this last time). Works great. First few years I wore it snowboarding, and then I moved and mostly fly fishing, hiking, camping, and traveling (wearing packs and ... Read Moreshoving it into packs). I definitely haven't beat it up like my climbing gear bc I love the color so much, but it still keeps me dry and holds it shape. I'm 5' 6" 110lbs lean athletic build w/ longer torso

September 12, 2021

Keeps me dry!!!!!

I have to walk quite a ways to my car from the office and this jacket keeps my nice and dry! No hassle holding an umbrella! And can I say I LOVE the hood with the little bill!!!! No wet makeup!!!!! Best purchase!!!!!

September 7, 2021

Perfect for rainy weather

Its hard to find the smallest sizes in outerwear in stores so this was a great find! Plus the vibrant color will be welcome on a gray day

September 4, 2021

Great quality and fit

Great quality and fit

September 3, 2021

super waterproof

I hiked in a constant downpour of rain for 8 miles to a backcountry chalet. I was dry when I arrived

September 3, 2021

Doesnt Wash Well

Bought this jacket in a pinch when I realized I under packed for an endurance cycling event out in the mountains. I instantly fell in love with it. Looked great, kept me warm and dry. I bought the jacket in white. After the ride I had a few dirt spots on it in which I used a very mild stain remover (that Ive safely used on many other items) and was... Read Morehed alone in cold water. When I took it out of the washer, it was COVERED in big blue grease spots. Despite my very best effort, I could not get them out. The wash instructions were minimal and gave no indication on how the material should be cared for. So disappointed with how this product washed up. Im heartbroken as I only wore it once.

Response from Patagonia
September 13, 2021

Hey Rebecca, thanks for the review on the Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket. It sounds like there might have been something in the wash that caused the color transfer. The care on this jacket is relatively simple, please see below. Here are some [stain removal tips](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) on our website, scroll down to "More Patagonia Product Care Tips" and find the type of stain that seems to suit what's on your jacket. If you give those instructions a go and find that you're still having issues, feel free to reach out to us so we can go over some other options for you. Care Instructions-- Machine wash warm, do not bleach, tumble dry low, cool iron.

September 2, 2021

Great jacket

I was a little nervous purchasing this jacket in small because I need to wear a mid layer but thankfully the jacket is true to size, and runs bigger than their other tops. I found patagonia tops to run small and usually need to buy medium but this jacket is a great fit in small. Love it.

August 31, 2021

Disappointed

I was super excited for this rain jacket. The jacket keeps you dry and is breathable. I had the jacket for 2 1/2 years. I probably got no more than 10 wears of the jacket and the lining is peeling. I am truly disappointed and expected to wear the jacket for at least 5 years. I do not recommend for the above reason

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2021

Hi Vercell, we're so sorry to hear about your experience with your Torrentshell lining peeling off. This is called delamination, which can happen from things like sweat, dirt, and different oils from your skin that can start to break down the inner liner of a waterproof jacket. To prevent this in the future, we'd suggest washing and drying the jacket on low heat regularly. Unfortunately, delamination is not something we can repair, however it is something that is covered under our warranty. Please [contact us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can assist with a warranty return.

August 24, 2021

Sturdy, Lightweight, Great Fit

Being 5'1" and quite petite, I have trouble finding rain jackets that don't look super frumpy or too long/wide SOMEWHERE as outdoorwear isn't usually made for people of my stature. To my surprise, this Patagonia jacket fits me exactly how I wanted - and it wasn't even the smallest size! The length of the body + sleeves were... Read More perfect, while still giving me some room to layer on those colder hikes. Best of all, it was thin and light enough to pack into my backpack when I didn't need it. 10/10 all around, worth every penny!

August 22, 2021

Perfect for the rain

I’m in love with my new jacket. It is perfect for the rain and the product is good quality. I’m a bit disappointed for a couple of things: - I’m not really tall (1,58 cm) and I have wide hips (98cm) . I was recommended M in the size guide and I got S in the end. It was difficult for me to choose a size because it was a little big in the top and tig... Read Moreht in the hips. - the delivery company that it was used to deliver the jacket to UK didn’t deliver the jacket on time and even if Patagonia return the money back to me, it was really disappointed.

August 22, 2021

Good looking and practical

Good looking and practical and water proof.

August 21, 2021

Love it!

I ordered medium first as I usually like room for layers but this jacket already has it. Exchanged for a small and it’s perfect. It’s even great for trail running. Very waterproof and breathable. Beat jacket I’ve owned. I’m a size UK8-10 and 5ft4. The size small still has room after a number of merino layers and a fleece underneath. It’s not bulky ... Read Morehowever, really can’t recommend enough!

August 19, 2021

Stay dry

I purchased this because I was tired of wearing rain jackets and feeling wet and sticky. I can wear this with a tshirt and dont feel that yucky sticky feeling I used to get with other brands of rain jackets. It still is super light and easily packs away in my backpack.

August 14, 2021

Practical and comfy

Went on a hike with it and it does the job! Really well built and good quality material. Favourite thing is the hood which doesn’t slide off and has a rim that channels water so water doesnt fall on your face. I love it so much I’m wearing it casually too.

August 13, 2021

Great jacket

Bought this jacket a few weeks ago as a summer waterproof for walking, mainly in the Peak District. Great fit, if slightly long arms, has kept me dry in a couple of downpours and windproof but with ability to unzip the armpits.

August 13, 2021

complaint turned into a satisfied customer

Having been unhappy with an older jacket, I'm very satisfied how this issue was handled and also happy with my new Torreüntshell 3L

August 11, 2021

A surprise

I never write reviews, however, I recently had a pretty special experience at your Boston store. I happened in to purchase a birthday gift for my husband. I was speaking with one of the staff and mentioned that I was disappointed with my less than 10 year old torrentshell, because it was no longer waterproof in the shoulders or wrists. After a litt... Read Morele friendly back and forth, the staff member said if you bring it back in "we'll take care of you". I laughed and continued shopping and then thought wait . . . it's in the trunk of my car. I retrieved it and they gave me the new torrentshell. It's been a rainy summer here and, of course, it is keeping me dry. It has an extra layer of waterproofing, per the staff, and it definitely feels thicker than my previous coat. Here's hoping this one lasts as long as my 1982 stand up pants. I can't tell you how it made my day - it was such a pleasant and unexpected surprise! Thank you Patagonia! and thank you Boston staff!

August 10, 2021

Perfect Rain Jacket

This rain jacket is perfection. Great, fitted look and keeps me dry. A classic.

August 9, 2021

Good rain jacket

Great jacket that looks good while keeping you warm and dry. I gave it 4 stars only because the zipper gets stuck occasionally. My daughter has the same issue with her jacket.

August 6, 2021

Love my jacket!

As always, Patagonia has an exceptional product. My rain jacket is exactly what I wanted. It repels water, is lightweight, and very pretty. I knew the arms would be a little long. I had to order a large to have it fit in the chest. This is my second Patagonia jacket purchase, and I will never order anywhere else.

August 5, 2021

Great looking jacket

Great jacket for hiking or just generally staying dry. I love the Catalan Coral colour - it’s so unique and bold. My only problem is that it’s short on pockets with only the two side ones; it would be good to have one inside and on the chest too. I am normally size XS but bought the S to fit over a a puffer in cold weather. It is quite roomy (whi... Read Morech is what I wanted) but get the XS if you are petite and want it to be more snug.

August 4, 2021

Super light

I'm very much pleased with this purchase. It is a lightweight coat but so far it has protected me from mild wind & rain. I also like the mint/green color.

August 2, 2021

Attractive but pros and cons

I had high hopes for a well put together waterproof rain jacket since Patagonia is known for good quality products. I live in a very rainy part of Alaska and needed something new that would work for summers here. I wore it yesterday and found some good and not so good things. Some good parts are: it is flattering though a little narrower in the wai... Read Morest than ideal for me. It has nice deep zippered pockets, a nice hood that can be cinched and I love the green color I purchased, soft and almost neutral. Not so good things are: surprisingly no inside or top outside pocket I associate with well designed outdoorsy use jackets. I automatically reached for it but wasnt there assuming wrongly. The armpit zippers look awful when unzipped in terms of puffy, odd appearance added. I needed to unzip these because I was warm in it and was in the 60s. As mentioned by others the sleeves are way too long so I folded them up. So I may or may not keep this. I like it but have felt disappointed. I will see how it does in heavy rain and that might be the decision factor for me.

July 30, 2021

Rain jacket

Purchased as light jacket that provides rain protection. Perfect!

July 30, 2021

Bellissima!

Cercavo un guscio impermeabile da usare tutto l'ano e l'ho trovato. Poco ingombrante nello zaino e bella linea semplice. Sono alta 164 cm ed ho preso una S calcolando di mettere sotto Nano puff e felpa in inverno.

July 29, 2021

Lightweight but robust.

Really pleased: it's light and folds up into one pocket - not a stuff sack that will inevitably get lost - but still feels substantial enough to protect against wind and rain. Glad it's not too fitted - there's room for layers underneath and though the sleeves are too long for me, the velcro tabs mean I can adjust the fit.

July 29, 2021

Great Rain Jacket

Great rain jacket, not too hot, keeps me dry and fits well. I did order a size up because I wanted to be able to layer it over a fleece or light jacket.

July 28, 2021

Obsessed

I have worn my jacket everyday since it arrived in the post. It fits perfectly and the armpit zips are great for letting out heat on my morning bike to work. I can't wait to pack it for future adventures!

July 21, 2021

Keeping me dry

I bought this to keep dry, or as dry as possible when we visit Disney World in Florida.

July 21, 2021

Great Jacket

The medium fit perfectly, however thought I wanted a little extra room so I could wear my down jacket under (going to Iceland in late September) so went with the large, hard choice though. Both the medium and large the arms are extremely long, I dont understand why- the Velcro closures at the wrists are the saving grace. The jacket is top notch for... Read More construction- it will be a piece in my wardrobe for years to come! Oh and I returned the medium without hassle and was refunded promptly!

July 20, 2021

Excellent rain jacket

Cleaning hotel rooms and making very little money, I will spend my entire paycheck on your clothes for my adventurous daughter. To see the sheer excitement on her face when she receives a Patagonia pkg from her momma. Thank you for making well futting and quality products! And, in my daughter's eye...mother of the year!

July 19, 2021

Love this jacket

Love Love Love. My Torrentshell from 2013 started to fall apart and got the new version--it's perfect.

July 12, 2021

Great jacket except for stowing hood

It is a good quality jacket and fits well. But, I prefer to stow the hood when not using it. The jacket does not have the usual compartment secured by velcro to stow the hood. Instead, after rolling up the hood, you have to secure the clip on the back of it to a loop on the inside of the jacket. It is not comfortable and does not store compactly. I... Read More am returning the jacket, but hoping Patagonia makes a design change, so I can purchase it in future.

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2021

Thanks for your feedback. We don't currently offer a Women's rain jacket with this feature but hope you find something you love.

July 11, 2021

Great lightweight rain shell

I bought this jacket for backpacking because of its light weight and ratings. So far I love it. I don't feel that it is too crinkly like other reviews. You can tell the quality is good.

July 4, 2021

The holy grail of lightweight coats

My search is at an end! This coat is totally waterproof, even West Wales Wet waterproof. But also fantastically breathable. Unlike a lot of womens clothing has generous pockets. I haven't yet tried folding it into itself and haven't yet mastered the hoods hook system. I love the colour. I am very pleased so far and have already Recommend ... Read Moreit to family and friends. Thank you it's perfect for dog walks

July 3, 2021

Easy exchange process

I bought this for my mom, and originally ordered a Medium which was too big and long. The exchange process was so simple and fast, the small fit her very well and she said the jackets perfect for her daily needs and hiking!

July 3, 2021

Perfect fit and color and weight

I love e color and the jacket is lightweight enough to wear on muggy rainy days. On cooler days I could even get away running in it. Absolutely love this and it is easily a favorite.

July 3, 2021

Absolutely in love with it!

I gave this purchase a lot of thought, considering the price of the item, but I am so glad I bought this jacket. It's so light that you don't even notice you have it on, 100% waterproof. I usually wear a Medium size for jackets but reading reviews online I went for a Large and it fits perfectly!

June 29, 2021

The torrent shell jacket

It is a great fit and really comfortable to wear

June 24, 2021

Waterproof

Does exactly what it says on the label.

June 23, 2021

Perfectly Dry

Well made and comfortable. A tad on the larger side which would be good if you needed a warm layer underneath. The hood is awesome for keeping the rain off. Great jacket.

June 22, 2021

High Ratings...And Now I Know Why!

I've been looking for a practical, packable waterproof rain jacket for a long time, looking ahead to travel this year and next. My husband read somewhere that this Patagonia jacket was top rated, relatively reasonably priced and I was always impressed with the Patagonia name. The jacket fits great, the hood is actually substantial and provides... Read More full coverage - and I love the fact I can stuff it into a pocket for packing/traveling purposes. I anticipate I'll be using it a lot when traveling - or if it's raining where we live.

June 22, 2021

Fantastic lightweight jacket for humid conditions!

I bought the Patagonia Torrentshell 3L rain jacket last year and it is so good, especially in humid and warm climates! I can layer it easily over a thermal or sweater if it is cooler and it keeps all moisture away. Only detail I'd like this jacket to feature would be a drawstring closure around the neck to prevent rain from slipping in. Hood e... Read Morextends out a bit from the top and keeps glasses from getting wet. Underarm seams have zippers for ventilation if needed. Bottom has a drawstring cinch if preferred. I used it while exploring Victoria Falls and it kept my iPhone, dslr camera and t-shirt completely dry.

June 19, 2021

Looks Great!

For reference, Im 5 ft 5 in and weigh 147 lbs. The jacket fits really good and true to size but the sleeves are on the longer size. I did need to roll the sleeve up a little but aside from that, spacious enough to wear a sweater underneath and fits really comfortably!

June 16, 2021

Excellent fit!

Love that it fits well. Hood adjustability blocks wind and rain well.

June 15, 2021

Most comfortable jacket I've ever had

I hike as part of my fine art photography outings. Comfort helps keep my mind on esthetics. I wanted something weather resistance, warm but breathable, and that allowed fluid movement. This jacket was a homerun! It just feels right.

June 13, 2021

Repels water as advertised.

A wonderful product. Just right.

June 13, 2021

Great jacket

This jacket fits perfectly and is breathable. I love it!

June 12, 2021

Good fit

Happy with purchase, definitely a decent fit and feels sturdy enough to handle most weather conditions. Very light

June 11, 2021

Torrent rain shell

Fits great!

June 8, 2021

My go-to light jacket

I love the Torrentshell. Lightweight, fits great, perfect for the rain, wind or chilly day. Easy to pack its a staple when traveling.

June 8, 2021

Love it, really comfy &

Love it, really comfy & Big enough hood to keep dry. Fits perfectly over down jacket for colder months, love the coral colour to brighten up a wet day.

June 6, 2021

Great all weather jacket

I love this jacket. The fit is great and I'm in love with hood. You can adjust it so that only your eyes and nose are poking through; perfect for hiking on a rainy day. I really like the zips under the armpits, I finally got to use them this week and they really made a difference. Great jacket, would definitely recommend it!

June 6, 2021

Excellent

Good fit & nice length & lovely colour. The visor in the hood fully protects my glasses from rain- first raincoat that’s ever been that well designed ! Love the vents as I get hot when walking ! V lightweight yet gives everything you need in a rain jacket - highly recommended. N.B. I chose this make because of its ethical & ecological c... Read Moreredentials but the coat itself is fabulous.

May 31, 2021

Love it

The first time I wore my jacket it absolutely poured down in The Peak District on a 5 hour hike. The jacket kept me bone dry. Very impressed! Love the colour too.

May 20, 2021

Material

Like the jacket but it feels like paper. Whenever you move it makes so much krinkley noise.

May 17, 2021

Great Jacket

I've worn it a couple of times now and I can't fault it. So lightweight and keeps me dry. I'd definitely recommend it.

May 16, 2021

Great rain coat

I am 5'8, 165 pounds, and the large fits me perfectly. I have pretty long arms and the sleeves are just the right length, keep that in mind when choosing a size. This jacket is very lightweight, perfect for a warm rainy day. I've already worn it in the rain, it was great, hood fits completely over my head, no need for an umbrella!

May 12, 2021

Purchased as a Mother's Day gift, very satisfied

Gifted to my mother for Mother's Day. It was a funny convenience that it rained that day so she was able to try it on when we stepped out. She loves it!

May 11, 2021

Great jacket

Love it but would like a looser fit

May 11, 2021

Great coat

Lovely coat - keeps me dry! I purchased the coral and it’s a really nice colour

May 5, 2021

Perfect for rainy days

I am using this jacket for rainy days. It fits well and is perfect for keeping me dry! If it's chilly, I have room to add a fleece underneath. I am usually a medium, but ordered a large. Sleeves are a tad long, but the Velcro straps keep them from hanging over my hands. I am very happy with this jacket and hope to have it for years to come.

May 5, 2021

Amazing

Water proof, light weight. Comfort. Style. Color block is perfect. Fit is perfect. Zipper vents at the armpits works well if you get to warm.

May 2, 2021

Zipper jammed

great jacket....though ran into a problem today. The carbiner loop in the left hand pocket got jammed in the zipper and it was impossible to open the pocket. Big issue- my house keys were in that pocket!!! Luckily my husband was home and managed to pry open the zipper with pliers, after reaching in the one-half inch that the zipper could open and c... Read Moreutting the loop. Me and my bad luck that will probably never happen to anyone else.

Response from Patagonia
May 4, 2021

Hey Marsha! We're so sorry to hear that you had this issue with your zipper. Please reach out to our Customer Service team to get set up with a warranty return.

May 1, 2021

Good for all use

Wish it was not so crunchy sounding

April 30, 2021

Excellent

Excellent for wind/rain. Delighted with it.

April 29, 2021

A nice weight material

Just got my jacket last week and have used it several times in this unpredictable Spring weather. I'm on the chunky side but can eadily wear a thick cotton shirt under it. I plan to get a lot of use from this jacket.

April 25, 2021

Great Rain Jacket

This jacket is GREAT for the spring and summer seasons when you want to stay dry from the rain. Great, durable material. This is my second color!

April 22, 2021

Perfect for rain and wind cover

Love this jacket. The fabric is a little loud but it keeps me dry and warm against the wind.

April 16, 2021

The chin cinches have a hidden lock

I wanted to write a review because this may not be obvious to everyone. I had to contact customer service and they had to dive deep to find this answer as well! The cinch cords near the chin can be pulled down but you might notice. they don't stay put. The solution is feel along the hood rim and you will encounter the cinch cord locks. Pinch t... Read Morehem, adjust the hood cord, and release. It holds MUCH better than before. Not perfect, but much better. Also, Patagonia. This would be a 5 star product if it had one pocket on the inside that was pretty watertight, just to keep a car key.

April 15, 2021

Looks great - Feels great

I have not had chance to try out the jacket as yet. The quality seems excellent and the colour is vibrant. One thing I would like is to have a couple of pockets so that I dont have to take a bag everywhere but that is just personal preference. I think the jacket is a unisex fit which is fine for me but would not suit everyone as it is tighter aroun... Read Mored the hips and less fitted around the waist.

April 15, 2021

All purpose

I ordered small but it was too small zipped up to sit comfortably b the car. I reordered it in medium. Length ok but arms way too long. I still weigh 110 and older Patagonia un size small fit. I still wear many years worth of garments. Wonderful to not wear out. Janet

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2021

Thank you for this valuable feedback on our Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket, we've passed the word along about the fit. If you find the long sleeves to be bothersome, feel free to begin a [return here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 12, 2021

My favorite

I love this jacket it is super comfy and works great in wind or rain. Also super cute!

April 12, 2021

Great Rain Gear

I prefer purchasing petite-sized/Medium clothing. This rain jacket was not available in Petite. Medium was too small around my hips, so I moved up to a Large. Sleeves were 6" too long. Glad I have been sewing for years and could disassemble the cuffs and shorten the sleeves. The hood provides stellar coverage and protection for those stormy ev... Read Moreents and the length goes just below the hips for more protection. Light weight making this jacket the perfect rain gear to have on hand.

April 11, 2021

Colors look great and it's

Colors look great and it's very light.

April 10, 2021

So impressed with the performance

So impressed with the performance of my daughter's Patagonia jacket & the after sales care you showed her there was no contest when I needed a new waterproof. Great so far but not enough rain for full test yet!

April 7, 2021

Perfect Delivery

Love my new jacket which was fantastic value on sale but would have been great value at full price. Since purchasing I have read nothing but exceptional reviews around Patagonia's customer care which is reassuring. Yet to fully road test my jacket on a. Post lockdown hike but locally it looks super stylish and keeps me warm and dry. Size wise ... Read Morego with your normal clothing size not the measurements which are generous in the lower sizes). Delivery was amazingly efficient within 48 hours of ordering and I think it came from a European store or distribution centre. In short an ideal experience to date.

April 7, 2021

good layer piece

This jacket definitely repels the rain. However, unless you are doing an outdoor activity to keep you warm or live in a warm climate, I would layer up! I would appreciate a liner in it

April 6, 2021

Lasts a long time

I had a previous version of the Torrentshell that lasted almost 10 years before the inside lining started to peel off. This new jacket has a lining made of fabric and feels thicker, hope it will last just as long!

April 5, 2021

Great updated fit

I had this jacket in college and needed an upgrade. Its a great fit and length. Perfect for casual wear & exercising. Its lightweight and perfect for a rainy Mississippi spring

April 4, 2021

Well constructed

I had to return my jacket for a size up which was ok since I like to be able to layer as needed. I am usually a medium. The large was still a little snug around the hips but still wearable. I feel like the clothes for women are made for slender women without curves. I would appreciate a more generous fit. I really like the jacket and the green colo... Read Morer is great. Price is a little high but am hoping the jacket will last a long time. I dont mind paying for quality.

April 3, 2021

Great Rain Jacket

I have been wearing the same black rain coat since college and thought it was finally time for an upgrade. This jacket is perfect. It's lightweight and water resistant. It'll be perfect for this spring!

March 31, 2021

Wind and rain repellant

As a woman, I love how this jacket fits: It's not baggy and feels like it has a custom fit for my body type. It's very durable and does the job of blocking wind and rain and also keeps me warm enough over a sweatshirt in unpredictable Michigan spring weather. I especially like that it was made with recycled materials. The hood and pockets... Read More are very handy, too. I think my previous one finally wore out after 15 years of heavy use. I would recommend this jacket to friends and plan on replacing it when needed with the same thing, which will probably be a long time from now.

March 31, 2021

Perfect

I love this waterproof. Perfect fit even over a down jacket. Great shape. Kept me bone dry during heavy rain. The hood protects well and the colour is very attractive.

March 30, 2021

Patagonia W's Torrentshell 3L Jacket

Delighted so far. Keeps me totally dry for 3 hours+ hilly dog walks in horizontal lashing Irish rain. Doubles up as a handy jacket for every day use. It's robust and I can see it lasting for years. If the trade off is being bone dry on the inside, I can easily cope with it sounding a bit 'crinkly'. Delivery was swift too.

March 29, 2021

Super dry

Love this jacket...perfect for watching outdoor high school sports in Seattle

March 27, 2021

Definitely water proof

I normally wear a size medium or even small, however I went for the large because I figured I could wear a large over layers. Definitely recommend.

March 26, 2021

Very happy with purchase

Its very true to size. Great quality

March 24, 2021

It's noisy

Jacket itself is a lovely colour and Patagonia after care is one of key reasons for choosing the brand. BUT it's very crinkly sounding which is disappointing especially when you want to feel isolated in the wilds.

March 23, 2021

Great jacket

The jacket is lovely and it is truly waterproof. Great quality I highly recommend it. Order your usual size.

March 23, 2021

Jane W

A lovely lightweight waterproof jacket.

March 23, 2021

Love It So Far

Great looking jacket and very compact. The perfect rain layer. Really like the hood and the extra fittings. Feels worthy of the price tag and is something that will age really well. Think it will work well for hiking and even as rain layer on the mtb.

March 23, 2021

Lovely

My wife really loved, it worth every penny. The sleeves are quite long which was perfect for her

March 21, 2021

Great rain jacket

I purchased this for my wife who says she loves it but wishes the cut was different which is the only reason why she said 4 out of 5 stars. Maybe the mens cut she would like better. But for keeping her dry on a rainy day at work or walking, running, and hiking it does its job well. It also breathes well when it is that more humid rain. All in all i... Read Morets a great rain jacket.

March 14, 2021

Comfortable for waterproof

Not as rigid and clunky as some waterproof materials. Vibrant colors.

March 13, 2021

Great jacket as usual from Patagonia

I bought this jacket to be large so I can fit my jacket and down vest underneath. I walk 10 miles a day in the east coast winter and this jacket has kept me dry for the 2 1/2 hours that takes me.

March 10, 2021

Good fit

I still have my old Torrentshell from when they were Unisex size. The new one fits nice, I like the fabric. I havent worn it on a hike yet because we are still Nordic skiing in my neighborhood and havent had rain. The real test will be backpacking out of a lake in the rain for 5 or 6 hours. Ill write another review for you then.

March 8, 2021

Sizing

I haven't gotten much wear out of my jacket yet, so I cannot speak on performance. However, I have tried on both the medium and large sizes. I am 5'4" and about 150lbs. I first chose to size up from a medium to a large so that I could layer under the jacket for colder weather. However, the large was way too big, even for layering. I ... Read Morethen sized down to a medium, and there is still plenty of room with a sweatshirt and a puffy layered underneath. So far, I love the jacket and am excited to use it in more adverse weather!

March 6, 2021

Best Rain Jacket!

This is my second Torrentshell, I LOVE everything about it. It keeps me super dry and I dont get hot, the color is so bright and pretty. I highly recommend, especially for people like me who live in rainy areas. Thanks Patagonia!

February 28, 2021

Definitely waterproof!!!!!!!

I love my waterproof rain jacket. It fits perfectly. I have long arms and the arm length is perfect, I weigh 150 and could easily get my Patagonia fleece under my raincoat in cold weather!

February 26, 2021

true to description

Fits well even with a layer underneath. The only negative is that the sleeves are long.

February 26, 2021

Narrow in the hips

A two-way zipper would have made this jacket work for me. The large (Im a size 12) fit, but the hips were very snug, making it awkwardly tight fitting when sitting down. Loved the color and the well fitting hoodI can tell it would keep me dry on those wet dog walks. If youre slim in the hips, this jacket will work.

February 26, 2021

Nice coat but too noisy

I wanted to like this coat and liked most things about it but the very noisy fabric was very distracting when I was out walking in the rain so I returned it.

Response from Patagonia
March 9, 2021

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write this review and we are sorry you weren't satisfied. In order to create a fabric that is waterproof and up to our H2NO standards, it does end up making some noise when rubbing against itself. With that said, we have passed this feedback along to our Design Team who are constantly working on improving future versions of our gear.

February 25, 2021

Longer than hip length when your 5 tall

Because I am short it came over my hips. It fit fine everywhere but a little snug at the hips. Since it has no insulation I wanted to be able to wear layers underneath. I returned it for a medium.

February 25, 2021

Not completely satisfied with rain jacket

This is the third Torrentshell jacket Ive purchased from Patagonia. If I had been able to try it on in the store, I am not sure I would have purchased it for the following 2 reasons. One, the color is blue blue, like neon blue. The other reason is that it is so crinkly, kind of hard surfaced. It scares my cat when I put it on. The other two jackets... Read More which I still have (although the lining has worn out which is expected after this much use) are not as crinkly and noisy and hard.

February 25, 2021

Worth every penny...

This jacket is perfect for PNW. I wear it daily, vented so I can layer with synchilla pullovers. I got in XXL just to be able to do this and be comfortable. Yep, you heard me, XXL. I dont like tight, fitted outdoor gear and Im afraid that smaller sizes did not offer same comfort with thicker under layers and large chest. Have been loyal Patagonia c... Read Moreustomer for 30 years and counting. To me, best in class. And happy that XXL is an option for me anyway.

February 24, 2021

This must be at least my fourth torrentshell

The new version has upgrades and is more expensive. I'm happy about the pit zips. I thrashed my previous one but it was still fine. I lost it. Wahhh! When my daughter moved to Oregon, I bought her a torrentshell and I bought my sister one, too. So yeah, I like it. It's simple, has two generous pockets (maybe this one has three?) and keeps... Read More me dry in the rainiest conditions for my job thinning California's wildfire fuel. Never stop making this please!

February 24, 2021

Noisy but works

The coat works very well in keeping me dry. I wore it in a downpour yesterday and the water just beaded up on it! Medium would have probably fit but I like it roomy so I can wear a fleece under it if necessary. My only complaint is that it is very noisy. It sounds like crinkling waxed paper when I move. But since it did what it needed to do and kep... Read Moret me dry, I can live with the noise! :-)

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches