Protect the ocean so it can protect us

Our future is tied to the ocean. Its shared seas connect us through food, culture and sport. The home of amazing, abundant life, it’s also a powerful climate solution. Yet the practice of bottom trawling threatens to destroy this precious resource—bulldozing our ocean floor, undermining small-scale fisheries and deepening the climate crisis. Let's end this destructive practice, starting with an immediate ban in marine protected areas and inshore zones.

Learn more

Returns

Unsure of the right size? Can’t decide between jackets? Our Customer Service team is here to help—the less unnecessary shipping, the better. We have no time limit on returns and accept both current and past-season products.

How returns work Start your return Customer Service

Subscribe

Sign up for product highlights, original stories, activism awareness, event updates and more.

Back to Product

Women's Down Sweater Vest Reviews

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 59 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Down Sweater Vest

4.6/5
Kinda Large
May 19, 2023

Love my sweater. Collar high

Love my sweater. Collar high at front by my face and catches on my make up. Easy to order and return. Excellent.

May 6, 2023

Favorite vest

I love the fit as it flairs out at the hips. Went with a large so I could layer underneath and I don't like tight clothing. Love Patagonia products and even more their mission to the planet!

April 11, 2023

She love it, the neck

She love it, the neck is different from the past years Warmer than before with the high collar

April 6, 2023

Perfect for layering! Love it.

Perfect for layering! Love it.

April 1, 2023

Hips too tight

Disappointing this wont work well for me. WHY are the hips so narrow? XL is my typical Patagonia size, and both the remodeled (2022-2023) down sweater vest and jacket have such a narrow hip that I cant wear my size, even though its loose and large enough (even somewhat too large/baggy) in the upper part of it. Whats baffling is that they put a dra... Read Morewstring cinch on the bottom of both vest and jacket, so you can cinch the hip. WHY do that if youve already made the hip as narrow as the narrowest of female hips? This vest and jacket are made for women with boyish hips, so the cinch is unnecessary. Of course I wish the design would be remade (much more sensibly) FOR wider hips, and then women without hips could cinch and wear the same item too. Alternatively, this tight hip is a problem because the vest and jacket are so long. If it was a shorter vest/jacket then it would sit above the hip and this wouldnt be an issue. I am 5 ft 6 in and the XL almost covers my entire butt, its so long. I dont mind a longer length, but not when I cant get it over my hips. This vest/jacket is not a slim fit. It is bulky in the waist and chest. Super tight on the hip. I dont even have huge hips compared to my torso. My hip to waist ratio is less than on P. size chart. This fit is not a womens fit. If you lay the down vest or sweater flat youll see that the hip is NOT wider than the underarm side of the vest. Its just a square. Vast majority of womens bodies, pelvic bones, are wider at hips. Please remodel this for wider hips, include the cinch, and many many more women will be able to wear the same item.

Response from Patagonia
April 3, 2023

Thank you so much for this detailed feedback on the fit of this vest, Courtney! We're sharing this with our design team. We hope to expand the fit of many of our products in the future to be more inclusive of not only different sizes but also a wider variety of shapes. In the meantime, if this one isn't going to work for you, you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. You can also reach out to our Customer Service Team for more detailed measurements on any garment so you can feel more confident of getting the right fit.

March 27, 2023

nice vest for any activity

I wear this most days during the cooler weather. Add as an extra layer under a jacket or by its self. I replaced my nano puff vest with this one. A little warmer.

March 15, 2023

Down Vest

I've always worn the down vest in a small but in the last couple years they lengthened it so now I have to buy a medium otherwise the bottom fits to Snug when zippered over another layer. The upper part fits more loosely but still works. If I wasn't layering or had a thin top underneath I could probably still get away with a small but I l... Read Moreike the versatility of the medium. I like the new drop in Pockets inside. Also the outer fabric is softer than it's been in the past.

March 9, 2023

Sizing is a little off

I have multiple Patagonia jackets, so I bought this vest in the same size as usual (M). Even with a thin baselayer underneath, the vest felt very tight so I unfortunately had to return it. It was very warm in the short time I spent wearing it and I'm sure it's high quality. I just wish sizing was more consistent with the rest of their out... Read Moreerwear. I got the Pinyon Green on sale, so I'm not sure if it's an issue specific to this color. Customer service was amazing as always!

March 4, 2023

Great for travel

This vest is warm and compact so great for International trips. Lightweight, works well in winter.

March 4, 2023

So versatile!

Love it!! Have 3 other colors.

March 3, 2023

Down Sweater Vest

Well worth the money, this vest is tailored, warm and long enough to be flattering. Multiple large pockets add benefit to the use and design. The collar edges can be turned down or soften with a scarf. I wish they offered this down vest in the Nano Puff gray for work and camping.

February 28, 2023

Light weight, great fit, warm

I love how light weight it is but yet it keeps you very warm

February 25, 2023

Great fit went hiking in

Great fit went hiking in it and it was super warm and blocked the wind. It's my new go to!

February 24, 2023

Beautiful and Warm

I love this vest. It's stylish, and the quality meets Patagonia's high standards.

February 22, 2023

Super comfortable!

I love that its made from recycled fishing net. I also Iove that it packs into a little pocket. Perfect for backpacking.

February 20, 2023

Perfect fit snug and very

Perfect fit snug and very warm. Thank you

February 19, 2023

Warm Layer

Got this to use as a layer while I am working outside with my horses. Had one previously that last for years but the zipper broke. Happy with this new one.

February 19, 2023

The vest is light weight

The vest is light weight yet it is super warm. I want to buy the exact same vest, but in a different color just to change things up a bit. I give this vest 5+ stars.

February 13, 2023

Nice vest, but didnt love

Nice vest, but didnt love the color, so Im returning.

Response from Patagonia
February 23, 2023

Hey Lynne, thanks for the review. We're sorry to hear that it didn't work out with the color purchased. If you see another color you like, you're welcome to begin an exchange on [this page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 13, 2023

Love it!

Love it!

February 12, 2023

Trimmer Version Not XXL Friendly

This was my 3 vest I purchased and the redesign isn't friendly for those who previously wore XXL in the 2019-2020 versions of the vest. There was no option to size up, therefore you sized me out. Have to say I am disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
February 21, 2023

Hi S, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our Design Team does look over our reviews, so please be assured that your constructive criticism will be taken into consideration for future iterations. In the meantime, feel free to begin a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at your earliest convenience.

February 9, 2023

Great vest

Great weight for mild weather. I usually wear a medium , got a large for layering and its perfect.

February 9, 2023

Core warmth is key

Working with livestock has me on the go in kinds of weather. I am a sold Nano puff gal fall & spring, but shifted for the colder months to the down sweater vest because of the sleeker sweater fit under my coat.

February 9, 2023

Super warm, light weight and

Super warm, light weight and attractive. Doesnt make you look like a blimp

February 9, 2023

The quality I expect, disappointed in color

This isn't my first down sweater vest, so the quality, fit is exactly as expected. I loved the green color so much online, not so much once it actually arrived (more green-blue vs green).

February 8, 2023

Great down vest!

So, I needed a new down vest, and went back to Patagonia for another classic. This well-made, mid-weight down vest fits true to size--has enough room for good insulation, but still a trim and attractive style. Color is great--neutral but not boring. Using for winter hiking, snowshoeing and extra warmth on cold evenings.

February 7, 2023

Down sweater vest

Absolutely love the down sweater vest, wishing for more colors!!!

January 31, 2023

Love this vest, a little large

Love this vest and the color is amazing. I am usually between a small and medium at Patagonia but opted for medium so I could fit other layers. I would still say its a bit bigger than a true medium but love it so much I wont be returning it!

January 28, 2023

Fit in waist much tighter than old style

I was so excited to find this vest on sale in an awesome green color, but ended up really disappointed. I have 2 other down sweater vests from the past 2-5 years or so, and the fit is totally different on this new one. I actually liked the softer feel of the material (and that it's made from recycled fishing nets, here for that!), but I got it... Read More in the same size as one I bought 2 years ago and I can barely zip it. The old one still fits great. Sizing up would make it way too boxy in the shoulders. I honestly don't understand why the waist on the Patagonia women's items has gotten SO small in the past few years. I seriously don't get the measurements - I have a pretty normal waist size, and many older style Patagonia items that fit great in the same sizes, but I'm ending up returning everything for a tight waist issue. Really disappointed to have this happen to my favorite brand - I struggle to find much that fits right anymore. Please stop making everything with such a tight waist!

Response from Patagonia
February 8, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we are incredibly sorry to hear about the fit and sizing issues you encountered with this product. Please rest assured that we will be passing along your feedback to our Product Designers so they can look into making the necessary adjustments in future products. In the meantime, feel free to start your [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time, as we do want you to be completely satisfied with your Patagonia products.

January 26, 2023

L too tight, XL too big

Sadly, this was returned. The size Large is too tight and the XL is way too big. Would love something in between. I have two other older XL's that are also large, but the new ones have enormous arm hole openings that make the fit just too oversized. It's like an XXL. I have a large chest and newer Patagonia clothes never fit. Such a bumme... Read Morer because we love the company.

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we are very sorry that this purchase led to a return. Please rest assured that we will be passing along your feedback to our Design Team so they may take a look into the fit of this product.

January 12, 2023

This vest is warm ,

This vest is warm , its the perfect weight not heavy

January 9, 2023

I absolutely love this vest.

I absolutely love this vest. It has a slender fit which gives you nice shape contour, and it is the perfect length. The vest is super warm and when the weather is 40 degrees or below, I simply wear a thermal top with the vest over it. I can easily give this vest a five star rating.

January 6, 2023

It was true to size for me

Based on many reviews saying this vest now runs small, I went to try it on at the Patagonia store before purchasing one. I usually wear small in Patagonia products. Despite many reviews, the size small fit me the best. Medium was too baggy and unflattering. Also, I wear this vest right above my base layer and under the shell jacket, so I appreciate... Read More the fitted cut. Its very warm, soft and high quality.

January 5, 2023

Super Comfortable

This vest is extremely lightweight, test warm and comfortable!

January 4, 2023

Fits great, warm!

Great layer for skiing. Love it.

December 28, 2022

Great Product

Love the look and fit.

December 22, 2022

Perfect for cool temps

This vest is functional and looks good too. It's perfect when you don't need a full jacket but a long sleeve shirt isn't quite enough. It's warm, lightweight, and well made. Very happy with the purchase.

December 22, 2022

Perfect for Moms

I got this vest from my mom and its perfect to throw on and take the kids for a walk or on errands. I absolutely love it.

December 21, 2022

Just perfect.

Just perfect.

December 20, 2022

Super Warm and functional

I have a down vest from last year, this vest is smaller in the chest and sides than last year, it still works it just not as comfortable as my vest from last year. There are improvements like the big inside pockets, and it is warm. This vest keeps me warm through all types of weather. I can just wear my vest and mid-weight long sleeve shirt and be ... Read Morefine in cooler weather. I would buy it again, but if given a choice between last year model and this years, I would get last years, just a bit bigger and more comfortable. The one I got last year was white, and its been hard to keep clean. Patagonia makes excellent winter gear.

December 4, 2022

This vest ran small, but

This vest ran small, but with the help of an amazing employee in Palo Alto, Carolina O. I was able to get proper fit. She was OUTstanding. Love wearing it, warm and soft. .

December 1, 2022

I returned it because the

I returned it because the zipper when zipped all the way up piled my neck. Very itritating

December 1, 2022

Cozy and Just Right

Nice trim fit, cool color, just the layer I was looking for!

November 30, 2022

Really love this vest, color

Really love this vest, color light currant, wonderful

November 27, 2022

Fabulously warm and comfy best

Perfect for a walk, hike, or running errands on a cold day. Ordered a size up to fit sweater and under layer. Washes beautifully and so many discrete and useful pockets. Will All my Patagonia wear lasts for decades.

November 23, 2022

This vest is a good

This vest is a good versatile garment

November 18, 2022

Wear indoors to keep warm

I love it. I wear in doors while I’m working at home without the central heating on to keep warm. It fits well. The only thing I’m not 100% happy with is the shade of navy which is a bit dull. I prefer a slightly brighter dark navy.

November 18, 2022

Love my vest!

This vest is a little bit longer than the prior Patagonia vests, and is a little tighter in the chest area. I am 5'5", 117lbs and 36D, if you are similar definitely go with the medium and not the small. It is very cozy, fits great, and I wear it often. Definitely recommend A++++

November 12, 2022

I love my down vest!

I love my down vest! I have several in different colors and my favorite is the black! Great for travel and just hanging out! Keeps me cozy & warm. Best of all, Patagonia has the same practices that I believe in.

November 10, 2022

Hardworking and Pretty

This vest is such a pretty color in the stingray mauve. And it is super warm while allowing my arms freedom of movement. I just started a new job where I can't control the thermostat and this vest is perfect for taking the chill off. I can also slip it on to immediately "professionalize" my appearance. The fit is a little big, but as... Read More winter comes on I will welcome that. My mom raves about the color every time she sees me wearing it.

November 5, 2022

The small was a better

The small was a better length, but too tight. The medium was a better fit, but too long. Why no petit sizes? Not all women are shaped like the stick figures in your catalogue, both men and women. Ive outgrown Patagonia-literally.

Response from Patagonia
November 15, 2022

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and feedback about including petite sizing in our line. We have gone ahead and passed along your feedback to the appropriate members of the Patagonia crew. We're always trying to improve our product designs, so we always welcome customer comments. With that said, please feel free to start a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time as we want you to be 100% satisfied with all of your Patagonia items.

November 5, 2022

Light but warm

Light weight and warm. I dont care for the redesign. Seems not as good quality as my previous vests.

Response from Patagonia
November 15, 2022

Hello Jeanne, thank you for this feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're not liking the redesign, we'll make sure to share this with our product team. You're welcome to send this vest back and check out what past season versions we have available on our [Worn Wear website](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/shop/search?q=down%20sweater%20vest).

November 4, 2022

The down sweater vests are

The down sweater vests are the best! They are perfect for layering, they look nice & its nice to choose from a variety of colors to complement outfits.

October 31, 2022

Absolutely love!

Amazing for hiking, casual wear, going out for drinks, ect. The Dusky Brown is a gorgeous color!

October 30, 2022

Perfect!

The perfect vest, not too bulky and yet warm enough for the great outdoor.

October 22, 2022

I like down vests but

I like down vests but this one is quite boxy. Happy had prec Viously ordered the XS but they t was too tight at the hip. Disappointed with this vest

September 9, 2022

Gorgeous newly designed vest

What a beautiful vest and the new design is lovely. Gorgeous shade of dusty brown.

September 3, 2022

Perfect fit that keeps you

Perfect fit that keeps you warm & looking smart.

August 27, 2022

Lovely light brown vest

Love the remake of the tried and true vest. Stitching is a little different from the older style but fits wonderfully. The cocoa brown color is delicious!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches