burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Black Hole® Pack 32L

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 258 Reviews

Clear All

Black Hole® Pack 32L

4.5/5
Kinda Large
December 3, 2022

yes

best backpack ive had so far

December 2, 2022

Indeed a black hole

I love the pack. It holds far more than you would expect, its still comfortable when completely stuffed. It has enough pockets to keep things organized as well. I am a huge fan.

December 1, 2022

Great backpack

Love this backpack, so much space. Is perfect to travel.

November 29, 2022

Bad Quality

I bought this backpack and loved it at first but the handle is ripping off a week later :(

November 21, 2022

Like it so far

It's a nice, comfortable backpack, from the looks of it, it will last ages. In my opinion it's a nice hybrid/intermediate between a casual backpack and a hiking backpack

November 19, 2022

Awesome bag for everyday a

Awesome bag for everyday a use and short trip(2-3) days.

November 17, 2022

Great bag but the 25L is better

Coming from the 25L I would have hoped this bag would be identical with the exception of being slightly taller. Unfortunately that's not the case. In isolation this bag is excellent, it's water resistant, tough, a great size and comfortable but when compared to the 25L it uses thinner/cheaper feeling material, has less pockets, and has le... Read Moress structure, meaning the bag is floppier when not fully saturated. Despite this, it is still a great bag for commuting in the rain and the separation of the laptop into the rear pocket is a nice addition, albeit slightly awkward to unzip. Would recommend if you feel you need larger than the 25L.

November 13, 2022

Great bag!

Well made, comfortable, lots of room and nice style. And doesn’t cost the Earth. Everything I would expect from Patagonia.

November 12, 2022

Fantastic

This thing is the perfect backpack. Amazing for migrating to and from different cafes and great on the trails as well!

November 1, 2022

Great backpack

Great backpack, perfect size and fit for day hikes or a full day of work/gym.

November 1, 2022

Perfect Fit

I use the backpack for my daily bike commute to work fitting in my laptop and needs for the day but I find extremely fitting for travel

October 30, 2022

Black Hole 32L Backpack

I love the color! This is my go to backpack when I am going to the city. It holds everything I need for the day, including my rain jacket.

October 26, 2022

Returned

Had bought this bag 3 years ago it was great.. was time to get another. This version of the bag was so cheaply made, I couldnt justify keeping it at that price. it was returned.

Response from Patagonia
October 31, 2022

Hi Mario, thank you for submitting this review. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with this pack, but glad you've returned it. Please let us know if we can help you find an alternative that will work better for you!

October 25, 2022

Functioinal

Has everything you need in one backpack. I use for sports, travel, and work. The laptop pouch is very convenient. I have stuffed it full and the zipper holds well, slides easily when full, and the straps feel secure when you're carrying something heavy. Obviously quality material.

October 24, 2022

The back pack is perfect

The back pack is perfect for every day use in carrying my items needed for work! The shoulder straps are very comfortable.

October 21, 2022

I travel quite a bit.

I travel quite a bit. I am an expert packer. I can roll up clothes and pack 2 shoes and make up for a whole week in one backpack carry on. What I need is two side pockets for my thermos of coconut water and thermos for my coffee. I use Amtrak a lot and these two pockets are key. I love that this bag is waterproof and I love the fun color. Super hap... Read Morepy with the inside pockets as well . Awesome

October 17, 2022

Cool and functional!!

Great pack to put all the little things you need with plenty of room for clothes.

October 17, 2022

Great bag

Great bag

October 15, 2022

Stylish and durable

Personally a big fan of this backpacking. Its deep. Has enough pockets and I get compliments.

October 11, 2022

Awesome

This is a favorite backpack - perfect and durable.

October 9, 2022

Spacious pack for travel

I use backpacks every day and my last one was with me for 7 years. I'm used to a certain pattern and efficiency in use and the Black Hole Pack 32L gives me that. When I got it at home I right away packed it for 3-4 days travel and it worked. Shoes below, pack with clothes, bathproducts and at the back the great zipper for my laptop. specially ... Read Morewith airports that is a plus. I hope this one will last a while -- don't forget the good coated outside, I travel around UK and rain is part of the travel :)

October 1, 2022

Greatest Backpack Ever

Durable. Comfortable. Lightweight.

September 28, 2022

Great backpack

I purchased this backpack mainly for traveling. I wanted something that looked good, had plenty of space, and the compartments were convenient to access. This bag checked all the boxes I was looking for. It is also extremely comfortable to wear. I would definitely recommend it.

September 28, 2022

nice pack

enjoy this pack and the material is particularly nice for outdoorsy endeavors

September 25, 2022

It was really difficult to

It was really difficult to choose a multipurpose backpack for work, commuting on a bike, travel and day hikes. Thats a wide variety of functions. This is the pack! I love it.

September 22, 2022

Black Hole® Pack 32L

The Best in all conditions and for any activity. Very spacious and with a zip system that allows easy access to all spaces. Well organised and very light. I recommend it to everyone!

September 19, 2022

Great Travel Backpack

This iteration of the Blackhole backpack is great. For me I used this for one bag travel and I think it really excels in this aspect. It is functional, lightweight, and seems to be pretty durable. There are a few things that is like to share that I think could have made this bag even better. The first is the addition of a hip belt to assist with he... Read Moreavy loads. I have really filled this bag up while traveling and sometimes I need that added support that hip straps provide. The second is to include aqua guard or some type of sealed zipperage. This feature would have truly given it the water resistant edge. Lastly, I think the bag could have been a bit thicker in material to really bombproof it. Maybe a 100d more of material? Those are my only gripes so far but to be honest this is a great bag for the price and will hopefully last me a very long time. I highly recommend this bag for travel.

Response from Patagonia
September 28, 2022

Hi Daniel! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We truly appreciate you sharing these suggestions with us. We rely on feedback like this to improve products for future seasons so we'll share this with our design crew.

September 17, 2022

LOVE Patagonia, your products, and mission!

This is the best backpack I've ever owned, and I routinely rotate through several, depending on work / recreation / travel ... The top compartment is genius - especially when traveling via plane or train, and stowed on floor between legs, allowing easy access to necessary items. Zippers don't slip. The main compartment lives up to its nam... Read Moree, and swallows up a surprising amount. Handles in just the right spots. Super comfortable shoulder straps. Very padded, safe storage (and easy access) of laptop, iPad, etc. And great front compartment for notebooks, books, maps, etc. TWO bottle / whatever holders, one on each side. Super stylish design, highly portable. Perfect for city and hikes. Suggestion for improvement: Rain flaps to cover zippers! After finding it sold out online, I called around, and found ONE in the Meatpacking District shop in NYC, which held it for me until I could pick up. Super friendly and smooth transaction. Paying a premium for such quality is made even better, thanks to Yvon and the company's mission. Great brand and team.

September 9, 2022

My new favorite back pack

Had a Swiss Gear by Wenger backpack I used for many years for daily commute to/from work as well as any travel (personal or work) as carry on bag for flights. It is now second to my new favorite Patagonia Black Hole 32L pack. During a visit, I borrowed my son's Black Hole pack for a hike up the famous Manitou Incline in Colorado, to carry wate... Read Morer. It was fabulous. I got one for myself. I've used it for overnight visits, and work gear - it even holds my large MacBook pro. Love the size of the main compartment and the extra stash compartment on top. Great design. Zippers stay closed while the pack is full. Comfortable to carry. Easy to clean. Looks great. Very versatile.

September 5, 2022

Best Bag Ive Ever Owned

I ordered this bag because I needed something sturdy to carry my text books, laptop, and my nursing school supplies. This bag exceeded all my expectations. It makes all that stuff actually feel comfortable while I carry it around.

September 2, 2022

Almost perfect everyday backpack

The packpack is well designed and seems to be of good quality. I love the use of recycled materials. The only downside with the design is the "breathable mesh" on the back, which in my opinion doesn't have proper air channels to channel the airflow to my back.

September 1, 2022

Best backpack around

This is the best travel backpack for professionals. It's light, versatile, large, and enough pockets for what you need. Get one.

September 1, 2022

Good

nice look, good size. i use it for traveling when i dont want to take a suitcase, or for hiking

August 31, 2022

Know What Youre Getting

I bough this backpack for school and as a hiking backpack. The quality is great. all of the zippers are nicely put together and the material of the entire backpack is of good quality. My issue is partly my fault and partly Patagonias. My fault in this that I thought that this backpack could fit a role as a school backpack when knowing it was not ... Read Morecreated with that intention. There are a total of 5 zippered compartments and only one of which offers SOME organization for small things. If you try hard you could make this into a school backpack but I have found that this is not within it's element. On Patagonia's fault, the laptop compartment zipper just seems poorly thought out. It is a little too hard to access since the shoulder straps are in the way. Some tweaking on Patagonia's behalf could result in a better engineered backpack layout. Overall the backpack is great but I feel like I had the wrong application in mind for this backpack. Patagonia could work on this backpack and truly perfect it.

August 29, 2022

Perfect backpack

Aside from looking really cool, the bag is really sturdy. I just got back from a two week trip to Europe and didn't want to check any bags, so this was my sole bag and performed marvelously. Everytime you think you've stuffed it to the brim, you can figure out new ways to cram stuff it. I was a little worried but the stitching held up and... Read More the back is no worse for the wear.

August 26, 2022

Good travel pack

Water resistant fabric is nice, although zippers will not stop any water intrusion. Zipper location for computer/folders section is a little weird since they run under the shoulder straps. But overall, a good bag for planes and simple travel.

August 26, 2022

Great Travel Bag

This is a great work and travel bag that fits nicely under an airplane seat, even leaving room for feet due to its narrow design. Comfortable with enough pockets and packs well. I got a TON of stuff in this! I Really wish there was a detachable waist strap. Fully loaded this can get a bit heavy and could use weight distributed to lower body.

Response from Patagonia
August 31, 2022

Thanks for the feedback on adding a waist belt feature, Kathryn!

August 26, 2022

Beware the new version

What a disappointment! I loved this product so much that I bought a new one, to have for the future. The materials are much cheaper feeling and my arms are sore from wearing the nasty nylon straps.

Response from Patagonia
August 31, 2022

Hi Dominika, we're so sorry to hear that the Black Hole Pack 32L isn't what you were expecting. We want you to be comfortable with your gear, so please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at your earliest convenience.

August 17, 2022

Excellent for Work

I really enjoy the size of the backpack. I also like the functionality of all the pockets

August 8, 2022

Good design but very weak buckle clip on shoulder strap

On my first outing the clip on the should strap broke. Causing my pack to fall off my should and damage my computer. Since it is sewn into the shoulder strap is is impossible to replace on your own without tearing up the shoulder strap. Fortunately I have some small cord to tie it all back up. This is a really bad design and not worthy of internati... Read Moreonal travel...so for the next 2 weeks I am traveling in Rwanda with a clapped out backpack that I paid a lot on money for.....

August 8, 2022

No key compartment; water bottle holders loose

It's roomy, attractive, and well made. There are two design flaws: Theres no logical place to put keys. An old backpack had a small pouch just for that. Here they get lost with other stuff. The water bottle holders are loose and theres no way to tighten them. My bottles fall out if I lean over slightly.

August 3, 2022

Terrible

I thought, this would be a great replacement for a previous version of the Black Hole backpack. Unfortunately, the design is frustrating and poorly thought out. All the zippers line up on top and make deciphering which one to use annoying. Smaller pockets are designed in a fashion that they immediately want to empty themselves on the ground. Cleary... Read More not what you want to happen when stuffing little items in for safe keeping. Bag will not standup and if you by chance have another pocket open, plan on searching for stuff that fell out. Wish I could return for a refund or different pack.

Response from Patagonia
August 8, 2022

Hey Dalton, we're sorry to hear that this pack is not working out for you. You're always welcome to return an item if you're not pleased with it's performance. If you purchased it elsewhere, the credit back would be in the form of merchandise credit. To begin a return, [click here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 31, 2022

Great for traveling

I use this for travel when I need to pack a few extra things for the night. Pros: Massive Storage Capacity The large main pocket is great for packing clothes and the organizational zipper can pack a wallet, eyeglass cleaner, pocket knife, and keys. The top pocket can pack two eyeglass holders, a phone, and some extra smaller items. The front zippe... Read Morer pocket I use for my charger bag--it fills out the space perfectly. In the laptop pocket I can fit my laptop sleeve and a large moleskine planner (I actually use that planner). Cons: Structure There's not a structure that lends itself to the pack being able to stand on its own the way you see in the Paxat or Chacabuco. Although the back pad is well padded, the best way to structure it is to put a laptop sleeve in the back, and the pack will feel a lot sturdier. I've also noticed that the PATAGONIA logo on the front pocket has slowly started to peel off, so it looks like I'm wearing PATAGO, but that's not really an issue. Overall, the 32L is a great addition if you're already into the Black Hole line. I wouldn't wear it for hiking because of the lack of structure, but it's good for traveling to and from domestic places.

July 30, 2022

Comfiest everyday packpack

Pros: weatherproof (haven't had it in the rain yet, but looks solid), lots of pockets (2 bottle holders!), and most comfortable and secure fit of any pack I've had. (minor)Con: the dark weatherproof material seems to heats up in the sun more than a cloth bag. I wonder if it'll degrade if sun-exposed too much.

July 27, 2022

Better access

I am a fan of the black hole bags. This is my second backpack. Two features I like about the new version of this bag are the laptop pocket being accessible from the outer portion of the bag and the addition of the water bottle holders. In the past, I would have to use a carabiner to secure my bottle to the pack. I believe that better access to the ... Read Morebottom of the bag could be helpful. Like a side zipper or even a clamshell-type opening this way if there was something at the bottom that needed to be accessed one could.

July 25, 2022

Stellar looks, large capacity, and lightweight

Looks amazing in person and is large enough for school or travel. Only downside is the lack of an additional internal zipper pocket. If this pack had two, it would be 5 stars.

July 25, 2022

Great product Be aware that

Great product Be aware that zips are NOT waterproof

July 25, 2022

Perfect for my Needs

This thing can comfortably contain my DSLR with lenses, drone, headphones, Zoom Q8, diary, notepad, MacBook and various accessories with room to spare. Feels super strong and well made. I’m looking forward to our adventures together!

July 23, 2022

All-time favorite dry bag. Simple,

All-time favorite dry bag. Simple, spacious, lightweight design. Well placed pockets with easy access. Sleek styling makes it a smooth transition from the beach to the office. Label says Patagonia, feels like Patagucci. FUNctional style. Timeless classic.

July 18, 2022

Awesome Bag - though needs more pockets

Simply an awesome bag - great feel and depth to the main compartment. Fits well and its comfortable on the back. My MacBook16 fits snuggly and seems well protected. The only issue is that it could do with some internal pockets - there is only one.

July 16, 2022

Not well designed

I gave my previous pack to a friend, and I bought this newer version thinking it is an improved design. I used it a few times traveling but was very much disappointed. The backpack is basically just an empty compartment. I assumed that if you just want to stuff it of everything you got then this give you a lot of space. However, there is no other ... Read Morecompartment that you can use to organize what you need. The zip packet inside is too small to be a versatile storage. The top compartment supposedly uses for convenient storage, but once you put few items in it then it just sacks into the main compartment, when you unzip the main compartment, because the top compartment weight, it just flips over and makes handling the whole back very cumbersome. The back compartment for storing laptop and documents. The zippers are so close the edge and the stripes make them a bit difficult and annoying to zip and unzip. I wish the design includes many divided compartments for travel activities organization like the previous version. If one wants a big empty bag, then one could just use a duffel bag. The backpack probably will not get much use and I will need to look for another more versatile one.

Response from Patagonia
July 20, 2022

Hi Dannis, thank you for sharing this detailed feedback. We're so sorry the features of this pack didn't work for you, but we're glad you've returned it. Please let us know if we can help you find something that will work better for you!

July 14, 2022

Love it !!!

Can put everything,so soft and isnt heavy,i really love it !!!

July 9, 2022

Super backpack

Super backpack

July 5, 2022

Awesome Backpack

The Black Hole 32L backpack is the best travel and hiking backpack I have ever owned!! I highly recommend it!

June 22, 2022

Great pack

An all around amazing pack. Enough room for everything you need. Love the dedicated laptop compartment. The fact that it is made out of recycled materials is just the cherry on top.

June 17, 2022

Very good.

I love it and use it every day.

June 14, 2022

Perfect bag for transitions from work to play

This bag came onto my radar because I use the 50 L black hole duffle and I was looking for a back pack to replace my 20 L bag as I needed more space. I like this a bag a lot. The pockets are note worthy as I have grown to really like their layout even in the short time Ive had the bag. The top most one swallows all my quick access stuff and the mai... Read Moren one is big enough to fit all my needs. The laptop sleeve is also well padded. Im also a sucker for the attachment points running along the back. I think they look great and they are very function. I clip my chacos or hoka trail runners on to them for moving from spot to spot. With all that being said, this bag has a few things it could improve to be five stars: 1st: please add a bottom strap that can also be removed. Having that option would make it a much better outdoors pack and allow it to be used for more than just chill walks around camp, transitions, and just being a duffle in back pack form 2nd: please consider making the zippers water proof if for no other reason than the feel 3rd: it would be cool if there were another mesh pocket in the main compartment above the current one for some more organizational help 4th: make the tablet pocket in the back sleeve area a little larger 5th: it would be cool if one of the water bottle holders (preferably the left one) had a second Miny mesh pocket inside it (rei style)

June 9, 2022

Love this bag

Overall, I love this bag. I can stuff a change of gear for working out, water bottle, computer and cords ect, and much more. The 32L is the perfect size for a daily commute. Although, I see what everyone is suggesting with the zippers, a waterproof zipper would be so annoying and would not last long on this style of bag. The one thing I don't ... Read Morelike is how flimsy the bag is. Would be nice to have a little more structural support. Overall its a sick bag and I get so many compliments for it.

June 9, 2022

Sturdy Body, but Disappointing Bottle Holder

I got this bag as a gift from my sister because I was looking for good commuter bag in the city. I love the bag, except the side water bottle holders are either too small or too flimsy for my 18 oz Yeti water bottle because it goes flying any time I put the bag on my back.

Response from Patagonia
June 13, 2022

Hi Mary, we're so sorry to hear about the trouble with the bottle holder on the Black Hole Pack 32L. If you end up finding it too bothersome, please feel free to begin a [warranty return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

May 30, 2022

Just short of perfect, unfortunately

Best bag Ive ever bought untilI bought this bag for work to carry all my essentials for lifeguarding on busy south Florida beaches. The exterior loops allow me to fasten bungees to carry all sorts of quick grab gear like rain jacket and fins while all the compartments allow me to separate other things so its not all jumbled together in one big heap... Read More of tangled mess. I started packing my laptop, and of course, it rains hard the first day I pack my laptop but was confident this was the best bag I ever bought so I passed on purchasing a rain cover for the backpack until I got to class and opened my laptop compartment and my computer was water damaged. Disappointed. I still love the bag, I just wish Patagonia wouldnt have skipped on putting quality zippers that would at least attempt to keep water out. Anything more than a drizzle and youd better hope you brought a separate rain cover for your pack. If I knew how to Id update the zippers myself to something a bit more beefy and waterproof/resistant. Dear Patagonia, Great pack design, poor execution on zippers.

May 25, 2022

Great carrying comfort! Weather resistance?

I bought this product because I needed a backpack to hold my laptop for going to work but also all my sports gear for working out afterwards. I am supper happy with the looks and functionality of the pack. The fit is great, this is the most comfortable pack I ever carried. HOWEVER, the main reason I bought this particular pack was that it was descr... Read Moreibed as "weather resistant." On two separate occasions the laptop compartment got seriously wet after wearing the pack in somewhat intense rain for less than 5 minutes. The top pocket was also slightly wet. @Patagonia is this normal?

Response from Patagonia
May 27, 2022

Hello Mihai, thank you for sharing this feedback. It sounds like this pack may not have performed in the rain the way you needed it to; we're sorry to hear this! The outer Black Hole fabric is water-resistant. It's possible the rain leaked through the zippers, which are less waterproof. If this turns out to be a deal breaker, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

May 25, 2022

Water resistant pack.

I initially purchased the Stealth backpack, which is very nice, but a bit small for my needs. At that time the 32L black hole was unavailable. I recently purchased the 32L black hole pack mentioned and I love it. I am planning to return the stealth pack and purchase another 32L BH for my son-in-law. Perfect size for a day on the water. Fits all the... Read More gear I need for a day long float trip and is very water resistant.

May 19, 2022

This Best of Both (Backpack) Worlds

I do a lot of research before I put money down on anything, and after studying the list of necessities I needed and wanted in a backpack, this was the only one out of a dozen plus that met all of my criteria. Somewhat flippantly, I created my list of a "dream backpack" and decided to use the Paretto Principle in my final choice. Because r... Read Moreeally, when do we ever get EVERYTHING we want in a product and are COMPLETELY satisfied with it? Well, the long story short is I FINALLY did with this pack! The storage space, compact size that meets maximum storage in European countries, attachability (yeah, I made up that word for this review, just look at the pack, you'll get it) for extra gear, water resistance, ergonomic strap fit (which the most comfortable I've ever experienced in a pack - even under heavy weight!), stretchable water bottle pockets, multiple storage compartments for easy organization, and at last, the really cool way it looks! If you think it looks cool online, see it in person.

May 13, 2022

Not as good as the old one

I had the old Black Hole bag for about 8 years and wore it into the ground. Unfortunately I think the design on this one is much worse. My chief complaint is that the laptop compartment is very difficult to access. Why was this put behind the straps? This doesn't make any sense. Also, the new one seems a bit smaller.

Response from Patagonia
May 17, 2022

Hey Gabriel, thank you for the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're not satisfied with the performance of this bag. You're welcome to return it to us for a refund or merchandise credit. To begin that process, click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

May 13, 2022

Black Hole

Backpack recommended by Consumer Reports with good reviews on Patagonia and REI for travel. It holds a lot, more than I needed. It squishes to fit under seat in front on airplane and it also fits easily between legs when traveling on plane to retrieve items easily. I probably should have gone for the size smaller and may buy that one and give this ... Read Moreone to my husband. Bottom line it is a great bag for traveling.

May 9, 2022

Perfect Casual Backpack

This back pick is great. The material is ultra touch and water hasnt been an issue at all. The back pocket for laptop storage is awesome too. Theres also plenty of room for all of my daily essentials and travel needs.

May 7, 2022

Durable Pack w/ Plenty of Room for Improvement...

I really wanted to give this pack a 5 star review especially since I've been waiting for it to be in stock for months now, but I just couldn't. The pack super durable and from the Black Hole duffles I have had for years I know that this material will hold up for years. The pack is comfortable and has plenty of room (more than I need hones... Read Moretly). However, unless this pack is filled to the brim, it is a bit flimsy and has little structure to it. I opted for this pack rather than the 25L because of the TSA friendly laptop sleeve which is really handy especially if your in a hurry to catch your flight. Also the front vertical pocket is super convenient for stashing my passport and wallet. Also this pack has great water bottle pockets that fit my huge yeti without issue. Also I can fit my entire sport rack snacks and extra layers for the crag in my pack which is a huge bonus. Thanks Patagonia and keep it up!

May 6, 2022

Awesome Bag

I love this bag. It looks smaller than it is. I used to carry two bags to work. My laptop bag would only hold that. This Holds what the two did and theres still room. The best part is it sits in line with your spine, doesnt make you lean to one side. Its very light. As I said, I LOVE IT!

May 4, 2022

Recommend

True to description. Perfect for what I need.

April 30, 2022

Perfect pack

Durable, good looking, functional

April 29, 2022

Couldnt ask for a better bag

Hands down the best purchase Ive made this year. Between the TSA approved (and well padded) laptop sleeve, to the balance and ergonomic fit, to the actually useful top pocket, this bag has served me well on an international vacation, hiking, and general travel. I use it while flying and it fits in the cockpit with me behind the seat perfectly and I... Read More dont have to worry about moisture or wild temps. 10/10 would recommend. Oh, and it feels good to have something so useful AND stylish from sustainable materials and supply chains.

April 27, 2022

Good stuff

Great stuff for the value, used in everyday activities.

April 19, 2022

My Travel Pack of Choice!

I am a huge fan of the black hole; I'm really glad I chose the 32L over the 25L, though, because I feel like it carries so much more and is much better for my travel needs. I love the feel of the bag. The materials feel great and the fit is comfortable. I do wish that there were more pockets so that you could organize your items more efficient... Read Morely, and that's what makes this a 4-star review. Overall a great bag, and I think it will last a long while as my main travel companion!

April 17, 2022

Patagonia Black Hole 32L: perfect commuter and day bag

After almost four years of use for train commuting 2-3 times weekly (only for a year before the pandemic), family outings and vacations (about 10 trips), and some business travel, I've concluded that the Patagonia Blackhole 32L backpack is an almost perfect commuter backpack and, because other reviews are terrific, I'm just going to make ... Read Moresome observations that I hope are helpful. The material looks shiny and you'd think it hard, but it actually has a suppleness and yet seems really tough, is water resistant (material itself and not a coating that will come off over time), and wipes off easily. I wanted a flat-backed backpack because I didn't want my computer to be bent over my arched back, especially when on a bike, and I've previously cracked a screen on my laptop when I over stuffed a backpack cinched it down. The laptop pocket is easy to access, but only one side is padded and, in the same compartment, the tablet pocket is really useful and I like that I can lay my backpack across my lap when commuting and can easily and discreetly slip my tablet in and out. There a handle at the top, but there's also a really handy grab handle on the front face of the backpack (like when you slide it under the seat in front of you, you can easily find it and grab it). The front face also has a loop ladder and this a must for me as I use it to lash gear (like when my kids shed their coats and hear). Although it's 32L, it looks deceptively slimmer and seems almost svelte given it's capacity. On the other hand, when I really need to stuff it, it can take a load and I'm always surprised how much it can swallow. The vertical zip map pocket on the front is really useful and, because it's a side access, vertical-zip only, it's flat and discreet. Bottom is tough and has held up beautifully This isn't a technical backpack, but I've used it for travel to a destination and then taken it hiking, and it has worked well (and great that it has a sternum strap, which was another must). My bag is black, but the interior is a nice, light gray, so you get a bit more light and can see deeper into the bag. Looks nice for business-casual look, or in the field, and my daughter has the smaller 25L in bright orange (discontinued) that she uses as her hunting backpack.

April 4, 2022

Great pack

I got this pack a few weeks ago and love it. The main pouch is fantastic and its large and swallow up everything I throw into it. The future thing I would ask is work on the TSA approved laptop area. The placement of the zipper is not optimal as I need move the shoulder straps to get to it. Other than that love this pack.

March 25, 2022

Excellent Pack

I bought this pack primarily for my mobile office while traveling but also for hiking and sailing. This holds a ton of gear and makes a great weekend bag. I wanted a large open main compartment and this definitely has it. The top compartment is great for keeping a variety of small bits out of the bottom of the bag and handy to access. Love the big ... Read Morebottle pockets on the side, too. Very happy with the quality so far.

March 13, 2022

Multipurpose

Great pack. Wish it came in a 40 L size and it had lashes on the outside. Not complaining. Love the pack

February 14, 2022

Sweet as bag, just missing compression straps

Seriously, that's it. this bag is awesome, good comfort, holds heaps of gear, or groceries plus everything you need for school/work/activism (brought it out to the Fairy Creek Blockade this summer). The only drawback is a lack of compression straps on the side to keep it tight as when not full - without them its a bit droopy and swingy. And th... Read Moree laptop compartment gets wetter than you'd expect in the rain.

February 13, 2022

Exceptional bag

Ive had my 32L bag for a while now. I use it daily for bike commuting and have used it for some basic domestic travel by car and air as well. As I write this, Im concluding a 20-day trip to Argentina and Antarctica during which I used the backpack daily under some pretty rugged conditions. At every point, its been superb, maybe the best item I took... Read More on the trip. Foremost, its very comfortable to wear whether jam packed or not, walking through an airport, riding a Zodiac on the Southern Ocean, or hiking up a ridge on Antarctica. Second, its organization is excellent: the thinking that went into the compartments, pockets, straps, etc. really shows. Third, the zippers! Damn. They hold up even when Argentine customs made me consolidate another bag with this one. Fourth and last, the color hot ember is great: appealing, not over the top, and easy to spot on the baggage carousel! About the only downside to the bag is that it didnt discourage me from taking so many books that I didnt have time to read.

Response from Patagonia
February 16, 2022

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Black Hole Pack, and for showing your bag such a great time! We're very happy to hear it's working so well for you!

February 5, 2022

Great Backpack

Bought this backpack to replace an old top loading pack that was stolen. I thought my old pack was perfect, but Ive loved the new features I found with this one. The side pouches for water, food, phone, or gloves. The small top zippered pouch is ideal for holding sunglasses, airpod case, or extra gloves. I thought it might be too big overall but I ... Read Morefind its perfect for a morning cross country ski trip.

January 18, 2022

All in one

I don’t have a huge amount of space at home for loads of luggage options, so I bought this bag to be my casual bag and also for day hikes. I’m so pleased that I did. The bag holds up well against the elements, the side mesh pockets can hold 1 litre of bottles of water each, and can easily store walking poles on the front. I bought a separate Patago... Read Morenia rain cover too, just in case I get caught out in unforgiving downpours, as I wouldn’t want to chance it with the zippers holding out water for too long.

January 16, 2022

All-in-one backpack

I have used this for hiking through Glacier NP, field work as an archaeologist, and a backpack for going to and from lecture halls. It is as durable as it is versatile, and I look forward to using mine in the years to come

December 30, 2021

Love this bag

It’s a great piece! Love design and the way the bag opens - very easy access and can oversee everything in your bag without taking everything out and putting back in. Also comfortable to wear.

December 24, 2021

really good quality! loved the

really good quality! loved the backpack!very practical and comfortable!

December 24, 2021

Just Perfect

The perfect pack - love it

December 19, 2021

Looks great. The variety of

Looks great. The variety of pockets is appreciated. However, two points can be enhanced. First, the bag could be even more resistant to heavy rainfall. Second, a ventilation design at the back could be considered to reduce sweating. One last point: a sliglhy bigger overall capacity would be great. A Loyal customer

December 7, 2021

Perfect school backpack

Got this for my 13 year old son to use riding his bike to school in rainy Seattle. It is light, comfortable and fits all his middle school stuff (laptop, water bottle, lunch, folders, jacket, cell phone, pencil pouch, bike lock) perfectly. I hope he can keep using it for years.

December 6, 2021

Perfect for quick overnights, the gym, or work!

This is a great daily backpack. Enough room to fit an overnight's worth of stuff, or a change of clothes / shoes for the gym, but also a great carryon or work bag if you leave it empty.

December 3, 2021

Great backpack

The backpack was just as I hoped. It was large enough to comfortably fit everything I needed for my multiday trip. Not so large as to be cumbersome and annoying to carry. It's a sleek design and it's waterproof which is awesome.

November 26, 2021

Casual wear

I love this bag! I bought the 25L for my boyfriend but he wanted to size up so he got the 32L instead. I kept the 25L because it is beautifully and sustainably made. Looks, feels, and works great! Highly recommend for a chic yet functional backpack. He loves his, too!

November 25, 2021

Excellent bag

I bought this to replace a wonderful Refugio pack that was just a little too small to travel with it was a great daypack but I couldnt easily get a weekends junk in it. This Black Hole solves that problem, and then some. First and foremost, its incredibly comfortable to wear either walking or, surprisingly, biking. I use it on my daily bike commute... Read More, and it just *floats* on my back, no matter how much I jam in it. (Unlike many backpacks, the shoulder and sternum straps are extremely easy to adjust.) Superb! Second, the bag is very well designed. Im impressed by how easily I can pack, find, retrieve, and empty all my crap from the combination of the top flap pocket, the front-and-back vertical pockets, and the main compartment. Astounding and wonderful. Im looking forward to using the bag on some real trips, including one to ACTUAL Patagonia. Third, the bag is as weatherproof as advertised. Ive used it in a couple heavy rainstorms and some snow flurries, and everything inside stayed dry even the stuff in the most exposed pocket, on top. Fourth but not least, damn this bag looks GOOD. I got the hot ember color, a deep red that is more orange than it looks onscreen  a great color. Ive received a few compliments on the color, which is nice, but also its just a pleasing color. If I changed one thing about the bag, its that the zipper pulls are kind of small. Id like bigger loops that are easier to thread a finger through, especially while wearing gloves, and/or a bigger tab thats easier to grip. This is a pretty fine point, though, and one thats easy to fix with some aftermarket pulls.

November 21, 2021

Functional

While most qualities of this pack are good and functional, I am disappointed by the computer sleeve. When I actually have a computer in it (even a very thin one), I can feel it through the very thin foam of the pack against my back. It's also clunky to get to the computer sleeve zipper. I like the different pockets and the fact that the main b... Read Moreody of the pack is accessed through the fold over top. Sadly, I wouldn't buy this version (32L) of the pack again. The smaller version looks like it has a more sturdy foam for the back portion and no computer sleeve.

Response from Patagonia
December 1, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Patagonia Black Hole® Pack 32L. We are of course sorry to hear that it did not work out for you. You are always more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any item that does not work out for you.

November 21, 2021

So Close

This was NEARLY the pack that solved the quest for the functional, all-in-one backpack that checks every box. I LOVE the way the main compartment opens. Nice and wide with easy reach-in access and the right amount of space. 32L feels like the sweet spot for having enough capacity to use for multiple scenarios but not to capacious for things to ge... Read Moret lost in the void. The front pocket is serviceable albeit tight but just right for its use. The top compartment is stable enough to throw some moderately weighty items in without it slouching, and the top strap on the front is bomber! I didn't realize how nice a strap like that is for handling the bag short distances. But ohhhh the laptop pouch. The main thing I look for in a bag that will hold my computer is how fussy it is to access, and the computer pouch is farrrr too fussy. I understand the idea behind a lay-flat design. But my first issue has been with the airports I frequent still requiring me to remove the laptop and defeating it's inherent purpose. What it has done, however, is introduce a few daily frustrations removing and storing my laptop. Wedged underneath the straps, the pocket is a chore to access from the top due to the straps arching over the zipper. It's not wholly inconvenient, but for accessing the compartment in the day to day, I would rather not wrestle a zipper,strap, and buckle to start work. So I instead started loading my notebook from the side without using the inner sleeve to avoid dealing with the straps every day. Unfortunately, I quickly realized that this part of the pocket does not have a false bottom like the inner sleeve does to protect it from small drops. So after a small dent, I went back to fighting the intended top load design. I feel like the easy fix would be to add a false bottom to the lay-flat pocket as well, giving the user the option with which way to load the laptop and not have to worry about drops. However I am not a bag designer, so this could be a misguided sentiment. Furthermore, the plastic buckle inside the lay-flat sleeve can scratch up the surface of a laptop a bit. In my case it was nothing crazy, just some unsightly marks that only I will probably notice. I realize this buckle is there to use with a water reservoir if necessary which is a nice addition, however Velcro or another soft enclosure is probably not going to mark up any gadget. Everything else about the pack is great. The materials, the fit, and even the water bottle holders are excellent! Unfortunately for me, after a small dent and some smaller marks, the quest for that unicorn backpack will have to continue.

Response from Patagonia
November 29, 2021

We appreciate your thoughtful and detailed review, Jacob! Your purchase is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so if you find that a product does not perform as intended under the usage for which it was designed, you're welcome to return it.

November 15, 2021

good design could go a step further

This is my third blackhole backpack. My previous 2 were 25L packs. I wasn't happy with the more recent 25L size, so I upgraded to this larger pack. It can hold a lot more, and I like the separation for the laptop/bladder. I'd make three changes to the bag if I could. First, I'd make the laptop sleeve a tiny bit larger to accommodate ... Read Morebigger computers. My 16 macbook fits, but it is very snug. Second, I'd make that whole section removable, allowing to unzip the whole panel. This would make airport travel very easy. Third, I'd make the front vertical zipper pocket zip on both sides so you can get to it easily with either hand. This could also make the pocket usable for carrying some oversized things. I miss the side compression straps from older packs. Those were great for carrying my inline skates, a light jacket, or a travel pillow.

November 12, 2021

Great overall backpack

This one has everything you need for a daypack to go hiking or to the office. Big roomy main compartment, plus a couple smaller pockets for small things to not get lost. And the computer sleeve in the back it nicely padded. And the side water bottle pockets are deep so your bottles will not drop out. It is definitely one of the better day packs I h... Read Moreave owned!

November 11, 2021

Nice look

Very comfortable backpack, but front top zippers only zip down half way. Would prefer more opening access

November 9, 2021

Perfect size to fit all your needs for commuting to work!

I'd been looking for a backpack to use for my bike commute to work and this pack checks all the boxes. Like most Black Hole products, its fits way more than you would think and has just the right amount of zippers and additional storage space. Holds all my work supplies, mirrorless camera and lunch and spreads out the weight on my back. Highly... Read More recommend!

November 4, 2021

Love all of the Black Hole bags

I have several Black Hole bags including the duffles, backpacks and tote bags. Use them for every sport, travel, daily use. Super durable, have all the right spaces, and look amazing in all kinds of environments. Highly recommend!

November 4, 2021

Good

Holds more than I anticipated

November 2, 2021

Great bag for air travel!

I recently purchased this bag and used it for a three day trip. It was comfortable and perfect for carry on travel. I also got rained on for a couple of minutes and everything inside was dry. Three thumbs up! Ill be doing a video review too. Thanks!

November 1, 2021

Nearly Perfect

The 32l backpack is great! I love its separate laptop pocket (finally, my laptop and a chalk bag are not in the same compartment) and two quite large mesh pockets. I wish it had waterproof zippers and detachable hip straps and was slightly larger.

October 30, 2021

Great bag!

Super durable all around great bag and love the navy blue color. Only downside, which is major for me, is the bag lacks organization. Not even one pen holder and its pricey!

October 13, 2021

Stylish

Looks good. Good pockets.

September 30, 2021

Great pack!

My 14 year old asked for this pack for her birthday. Buying this was a no-brainer; I still have a pack I used in high school 25 years ago. Built well and to last- I know that this will be the start of a long and loving relationship! The pocket array is really useful, especially the small one at the top, and it fits comfortably for light and heavy l... Read Moreoads. Not to mention the durability for its already tough life- a day in the life of an active outdoor teen is pretty great rigor for testing.

September 30, 2021

Great, but not enough pockets

Great big backpack but not enough smaller pockets. WOuld be nice if it had just one more outside pocket.

September 29, 2021

I would make 2 changes to design

Use for work and travel, and this is fine, There are 2 exceptions (1) I would add a removeable hip belt, as travel can get heavy and lots of bags over 30L have a belt . Without a belt, I think the bag is more suited for larger set people. I adapted by added a buckle to the free end of the shoulder straps. (2) the back design can concertina dependin... Read Moreg on how you pack it. If you are carrying a lap top, no issues. Without a laptop, I pack my Fjallraven seat pad. If the back was designed with vertical rather than horizonal panelling, I don't think this would have been an issue.

September 20, 2021

Great bag

Love it

September 18, 2021

Black hole

Yea nice rucksack. Brilliant how wide it opens out. Makes finding your gear really easy.

September 17, 2021

The best back for school

The Patagonia Black Hole Backpack is the best backpack for school After using The Patagonia Black Hole Backpack for over a month now for school I have concluded that this backpack is the best backpack for school and here's why. This backpack is everything you would ever want in a school backpack and more. It's the perfect size for a schoo... Read Morel backpack and I am easily able to fit everything I need for school with extra room. This backpack also comes with every compartment and pocket you would need in a school back. The backpack is also very high quality and is sure to last a very long time. This is why the Patagonia Black Hole Backpack is the best backpack for school. One reason why it is the best backpack for school is because of the size of the backpack. This backpack has an insane amount of space to carry anything you could possibly need in your school backpack. In my bag I carry a computer, four textbooks, two binders, my phone charger, computer charger, headphones, extra masks, 10-15 pencils and pens, and a water bottle and I still have room in my bag for two to three more books. I think it is safe to say that you will not run out of any space with this bag. This is why the Patagonia Black Hole Backpack is the best backpack for school. Another reason why the Patagonia Black Hole backpack is the best pack for school is because each compartment in the back pack and the perfect sizing of each one. The patagonia black hole back has two side pockets that can carry anything from water bottles, to headphones, to chargers. The backpack also has a special compartment in the back of the bag for a computer which can also fit 1-2 thin books. Then there is a small compartment at the top of the bags perfect for storing smaller items such as chargers, headphones, phones, masks, pens, pencils, or a wallet. Then there is the large compartment that carries up to six or seven large textbooks and other binders of books. This is why the Patagonia Black Hole backpack is the best pack for school. Another reason why this backpack is a great backpack is because of the quality of the back pack. Not only is the bag high quality but its made of recycled materials such as plastic that was taken from the ocean. The majority of this bag is made out of high quality recycled polyester and was made and manufactured in Taiwan and Cambodia. The recycled materials are mostly made out of recycled plastic bottles which reduces CO2 emissions by 59 percent. This is why the Patagonia Black Hole backpack is the best pack for school. These are all the reasons why the Patagonia Black Hole backpack is the best pack for school. From the high quality materials, to the perfect size compartments for everything you would need for school you are sure to never run out of space for things you need for school. In conclusion the next time you are looking for a back to school backpack the Patagonia Black Hole backpack is the one you should get.

September 17, 2021

ok - 2 exceptions

3 stars. Use for work and travel, and this is fine, There are 2 exceptions (1) I would add a removeable hip belt, as travel can get heavy and lots of bags over 30L have a belt . Without a belt, I think the bag is more suited for larger set people. I adapted by added a buckle to the free end of the shoulder straps. (2) the back design can concertina... Read More depending on how you pack it. If you are carrying a lap top, no issues. Without a laptop, I pack my Fjallraven seat pad. If the back was designed with vertical rather than horizonal panelling, I don't think this would have been an issue. This is my second attempt to add a honest review. I hope they post it.

September 16, 2021

Great backpack for hiking and school

I love that design and practicality of this bag. It's great for school, the laptop compartment is great. It's a bit big, and if its empty it kinda sags. But otherwise great.

September 11, 2021

Light weight & versatile

Im in love with Patagonia navy bluejust wow! I used the backpack on a recent trip. Perfect for the plane, scuba boat (kept my things dry) and for tennis (tennis racquet fit in the computer compartment no problem). Spacious, great loops to hang things, great pockets with & without zippers. Top compartment is brilliant (spacious with easy access)... Read More. My complaint about the front pocket is its a side zipper only so its difficult to see inside & easy for things to fall out. Should have 2 zippers that zip up the sides & top.

September 10, 2021

Excelente

Excelente cómodo práctico muy útil además de muy lindo

September 9, 2021

Super quality

Love the bag, I got it for my first edition to my growing ohana (family) I wanted to pack for me and baby and all though baby isnt here yet it is already packed with he/shes things along with what I need for baby adventures.

September 7, 2021

Nice looking

Packs was not to small and not too big. Perfect for a day hiking pack.

August 31, 2021

The perfect bag

This is the perfect commuter bag, nothing to catch on pesky door knobs or get tangled in a seatbelt. More room than you can believe and very durable.

August 30, 2021

Perfect size for carrying multiple items!

Fits my Macbook Pro & ipad whilst also having room for clothes & accessories.

August 30, 2021

Nearly Perfect

I mainly use this backpack as an all day commute bag for school or work. A few features are definitely centered more around camping/other recreation activities, but it makes for an incredible school backpack. I can't think of another backpack that is sturdy enough and large enough inside to hold more than 3 full size textbooks along with every... Read Morething else you need for the day without wearing out in a month. The fact that it's fairly waterproof and subtle in design is another plus. I would give this a 4.5/5, but the stars system won't let me go to that level. The only issues I would have with the bag are that it isn't completely waterproof and that the front daisy chains don't seem to provide any utility since I don't camp/hike. If they cut the amount of daisy chains in half and had larger loops, I could use them to hang equipment from. I can easily see myself using this bag for the next 10 years if it lasts me that long(and I'm confident it will).

August 29, 2021

Great little pack!

Perfect for one or two nights away. Keeps me to one bag as electronics and glasses aand little stuff have their own places. Seriously, this could not be better for what I was looking for.

August 28, 2021

Large bag, disappointed with design

I used to have the 25L bag which I owned for a long time. This bag definitely holds more. But Im pretty disappointed the straps just flail about. My old bag had built in strap holders that matched the color of the fabric. Im not sure why these are absent from a more expensive backpack. Also really miss that center strap on the face of the bag. It w... Read Moreas really convenient for quickly grabbing the backpack. The fabric is thinner and lighter which is nice. But overall feel like Ive spent more money for a less capable product.

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2021

Hey Joel, thanks for the review on our Black Hole Pack 32L. This particular bag does have more streamlined features, but the added cost goes to the extra space and material needed to make it 7L bigger. We'll be sure to pass your thoughts along to the appropriate team members. We don't want you disappointed with your purchase, so feel free to [send it back to us](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 24, 2021

Just perfect

I’ve been using an older Black Hole 32L(?) model for a couple of years now and wanted to order another one. My old one looks like the 25L but is in fact as big as this one. This one has a couple of improvements in comparison to the old one, even if the old one is already amazing!

August 23, 2021

Very useable water resistant day-pack

This is a great day pack. Very water resistant from the top and sides. Just be sure not to set this pack down in the wet as the bottom is not waterproof and the contents will get wet from the bottom

August 15, 2021

Perfect commuter bag

I ride my bike to work, and this has been the best way to get my computer and all essentials to and from in a weather-resistant way. Having the laptop secured right behind my back gives me peace of mind and less movement than other bags I have used.

August 12, 2021

Perfect for extra gear.

Bought to carry extra raincoats,water, first aid kit while wade fishing. I didnt want a hip belt and this fit the bill! Great lightweight and water resistant pack.

August 2, 2021

Couldn't be happier!

This backpack is exactly what I needed for short (and not so short) work trips. It's light, has many compartments so everything is organized and accessible at all times. It's super comfortable, if you can afford it, don't think twice about it.

July 27, 2021

Great pack with 2 exceptions

I love my new Black Hole backpack. I am a healthcare provider working in a mobile unit, and it holds all of my equipment, a change of scrubs, and keeps my iPad anc laptop (16in MacBook Pro) dry. (I was impressed both fit even with their cases.) Another plus- I can easily wipe it down after a particularly virulent day at work. I wish it had 2 things... Read More though: 1) More organizational features to keep smaller loose items like pens organized 2) Luggage strap/sleeve for easier travel

July 22, 2021

Great Bag, Solid Construction and Cavernous

Put a few miles on it and so far it's a solid performer. Wide open inside with plenty of room for boots, shoes, and a couple changes of clothes. I like the almost hidden area for laptop and tablet; plenty of room and secure. Nice webbed pocket inside with key holder. Could use another separator or pocket in the main storage area for more orga... Read Morenization.

July 19, 2021

Its nice and big

I liked it, nice and big, not heavy at all, hope it lasts

July 15, 2021

Best backpack!

Durable, all-purpose backpack that I use for travel, sport and work in all weather conditions.

July 7, 2021

Great Everyday bag

The Black hole back is a great product, super easy access and comfortable to wear. It is everything i needed in this bag

June 29, 2021

Gorgeous but top heavy

I really wanted to love this bag. There are so many amazing features, the material, space, storage, but unfortunately theres one thing that drives me nuts about this bag. It is very top heavy. It has to lay on its side/front/back no matter what you have in it. I was hoping the bag would sit up for packing or grabbing things out of it, but it simply... Read More isnt capable of that, darn.

Response from Patagonia
July 6, 2021

Hi Cristina, we're sorry to hear that the weight of the Black Hole Pack wasn't what you were expecting. We do have a lighter version of the Black Hole, the Ultralight Black Hole® Tote Pack 27L, https://www.patagonia.com/reviews/view-all-reviews/?productid=48809. Though this pack is smaller, it will sit up when packed and works as a tote. It might be just what you're looking for.

June 25, 2021

Deceptively Big

Deceptively big yet portable because it's thin and hugs my back. Definitely nice knowing its water resistant for camera gear.

Response from Patagonia
June 30, 2021

We appreciate this great feedback on the design, sizing, fit and performance of our 32L bag, John! Please note that you will want to add a waterproof bag inside to truly protect your camera equipment, as the Black Hole fabric is resistant to moisture, but water can definitely get into the bag through seams and zippers quite easily.

June 21, 2021

AMAZING Pack

I was searching for a new backpack, but this one is by far the best one I have come across so far. Its versatile and super durable! I would want more!!

June 17, 2021

Perfect for a rainy trip.

I Purchased this pack for my trip to Iceland. The waterproof aspects and the trim design was perfect for travel in a country known for rain and wind. It accommodates plenty of layers and a hearty lunch. For the airplane it fit easily under the seat and the laptop sleeve was very convenient at security. Love it!

June 15, 2021

Nice Pack

Nice size pack, zipper configuration could be better. Good suspension system.

June 15, 2021

Solid backpack

I was looking for a larger backpack, with some sort of water resistance material. This 32lt is perfect lots of pockets. good size for laptop, trainers. comfortable straps. looks very stylish also. might even buy a small one for gym.

June 11, 2021

Best Backpack Ever!

Best Backpack on the market for school, work, and my personal favorite; travel! Really great product all around. Love the laptop and tablet zippered pocket. Only reason I didnt give it 5/5 stars was because when wearing it, at the very top of the bag it seems to pick into the back of my neck a bit. Its not uncomfortable but just an awkward feeling.... Read More

June 6, 2021

great product and quality

As expected, the quality of the material is great. The backpack is light and the zippers are smartly made. I give 4 stars because the comfort is good but a sweat guard would have been a real plus to provide a better back ventilation and avoid wet stains while cycling or hiking.

June 4, 2021

Patagonia quality

Perfect

May 14, 2021

Amazing backpack : )

I would definitely recommend everyone this backpack who is looking for a stylish, spacious and well-designed backpack to commute from work and still have space to put in more gear to go to a sports class after work.

May 9, 2021

Sturdy, functional. Lots of thought

Sturdy, functional. Lots of thought and care has gone in to the design and manufacturing.

May 7, 2021

all excellent

easy to buy what I wanted on the web pages, very transparent logistics, fast delivery, and the backpack is perfect

May 1, 2021

Bomb Track.

Bomber. That is all.....

April 29, 2021

Pilot Approved

Im an airline pilot and I use this bag for my work trips. It is plenty large to pack a few days worth of clothes, holds my iPad and laptop and is very comfortable.

April 28, 2021

Great for travel

Been traveling with this bag all day, and it is super convenient for the airport with the laptop zip in the back, and it really is a blackhole. Lots of must-have items fit great!

April 27, 2021

Best back pack for commute.

Brought this bag because my 15 year old northface started losing its water resistance and it was difficult to carry my water bottle, lunch, umbrella, small screw driver set, and if i wanted to carry anything else it made it very uncomfortable and hard to pack. This bag feels twice the size and the pockets are perfectly placed, very easy to clean, p... Read Moreerfect water resistance, extremely comfortable and lightweight. perfect bag!

April 27, 2021

Prepared for downpours

Smart phones are becoming more water resistant but paper is not and I still carry papers and a laptop computer al the time. I am not always prepared to keep myself dry when I emerge from the indoors into a sudden downpour, and a part of climate change seems to be an increase in short but severe storm events. The Black Hole keeps all of my circuits ... Read Moreand scribbles dry even if my hair, clothes, and shoes are drenched.

April 26, 2021

Love this bag

I used this bag to travel and it fit perfectly under the basic economy seat and in the storage above. I wish there were more zipper pockets, but I loved that I was able to fit all my clothes for a weeks worth of traveling in this bag.

April 23, 2021

BEST BACKPACK ON THE PLANET

This may be my 9th Patagonia Black Hole backpack, but this size in particular is my favorite. It's perfect for the laptop, some food, two little Patagonia cubes, and some other things like charging cords. They are super comfortable to wear, they are easy to clean, they are attractive i.e. they look awesome, and they support Patagonia + 1% for ... Read Morethe Planet!

April 20, 2021

Great bag on your back

I personally love the bag. I like the way it sits on my back and I love the commuter style of the pocket design. Color design is great and like people say the material is thinner than it used to be, but I believe Patagonia wouldnt sacrifice durability to cut corners. I assume they just made a better material. What I would want this bag to have ... Read MoreThicker bottom so it stands on its own. Straps for the water bottle pockets to make them secure. (Its smarter to use them as small item pockets and to use rope and carabiners to secure them to the back currently) This one is the biggest for me but detachable hip straps. Or at least the ability to add them if you wanted with sewn in loops. It would be a 10/10 all around with that addition becoming a perfect commuter, travel, and day pack. I emailed worn wear since I live very far from any Patagonia store to see if they would be interested in doing any of these modifications to my bag but I havent heard back yet. Either way Im excited to have this bag for years to come. People dont often sell them after market on sites and I think that speaks to longevity and strong preference to these bags. Excited to see where it takes me!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches