burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Altvia Pack 14L Reviews

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • M
  • L
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 21 Reviews

Clear All

Altvia Pack 14L

4.7/5
Kinda Large
November 21, 2022

Nicely made. High quality materials.

Nicely made. High quality materials. Color very special- got a lot of compliments.

October 20, 2022

Almost a great bag

There are many good things about this bag but there are 2 major faults. First of all, unless you use short water bottles, they tend to fall out of the water bottle pockets. Twice now, I have found myself on the trail without water because my water bottles fell out of the pockets. The second issue is the pocket on top. If you put your cell phone in ... Read Moreit, the weight pulls the bag forward and makes it difficult to get into the main compartment. If you want to avoid this and put your cell phone in the main compartment, there is no zippered pocket to place it in so it gets jumbled around with everything in the pack. The inside has no pockets that close, just one divider. It is too bad because the fit of this bag is perfect. It is very comfortable to carry but I have quit using it because of the above issues.

Response from Patagonia
October 21, 2022

Hi Constance, thank you for sharing this feedback. This is immensely helpful to our product designers, as well as to other customers. We're so sorry to hear this pack is not working for you! We want you to be happy with everything you get from Patagonia, so if you wish, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. Please let us know how we can help!

October 19, 2022

Perfect size and materials, very good quality

The Altvia Pack 14L is just what I was looking for, something light and relatively small that is confortable to use. Materials seam very high quality and the color (Orange) is very nice!

October 17, 2022

Perfect day hike bag

Love this bag - the angled water bottle pockets are secure yet still easy to access. The small top pocket easily holds two phones, two wallets, keys and chapstick. Have carried a 2XL and a S hoodie as well as a light lunch in the bag no problem. Only improvement would be a thin hip strap to make the bag a big more secure.

September 29, 2022

Comfortable and lightweight

Love this bag, perfect for me for both everyday carry and hiking. I am 5'2/158cm, and the S/M fits my ~17'' torso very well. I'd prefer one or two more pockets than it has, ideally at least one zip pocket inside, and slightly narrower straps, but these are minor quibbles. I wore the backpack for a few hours in light to medium ra... Read Morein (didn't bother with the rain cover), and the inside of the bag stayed completely dry. The outside of the fabric does get wet, but the coating on the inside kept the contents dry. In a heavier downpour though, the rain cover would have to come out.

September 19, 2022

Simple design

I was on the fence between the L and S, and went with the L. I'm using this as a commuter bag and it fits my 14.5 inch laptop, for work just fine. The water bottle pockets are deep, but a bit snug at the entry. It is a simple pack so if you like extra pockets this isn't for you.

September 19, 2022

Great for a day hike

I love this pack! I can pack a light raincoat, gloves, a light fleece, my fishing go bag, a small first aid kit, a water bottle, and a tenkara rod in it. I could probably pack more in there but why?

September 15, 2022

Just right for light day-hiking and travel

This is the pack I was looking for a quite a while for a recent trip to Iceland and Italy for day hikes and exploring. My Black Hole 25L was proving to be overkill since I needed to keep the overall packing to a minimum. Plenty of room for the layers I needed, but small enough to pack in my small duffle for airline check. The water bottle pockets w... Read Moreere big enough and secure. The small pocket was great for sunglasses and snacks. The built-in rain cover is a really nice added feature. The shoulder straps were comfortable. I didn't use the hydration bladder feature, but that's another great feature. This will be a go-to pack in the future for travel and local day-hikes.

August 22, 2022

Order Small

The 14L pack is just right for robust day hiking. A few small quibbles: the top zip pocket is very small. It won't even fit a small wildflower guide book. And, the side pouches for water bottles are not well sized for 27oz bottles; they slip out a little too easily. As for pack size, order smaller if you're going for a compact volume . S... Read More/M fits just fine on my 5-11 frame. Actual sizing seems inconsequential.

August 5, 2022

Perfect Day Trip Bag

I returned 5 backpacks to find this one! Perfect size for daytrips in europe, indies or where ever your travel takes you. The two bottle pockets, one I put a folding hat in and another for my small yeti. Top zippered pocket perfect for glasses or travel documents. The inside large pocket- perfect for Ipad and kindle. Buy 2 or three small packing cu... Read Morebes and your perfect. The back is padded but breathable as few this size are and straps are fitted for a male and female. Very light pack but well build. I use for travel and fits a on night emergency clothing, headsets and bath stuff. For day tripping nice and light and you can cram into overhead compartments easily. Color looks great in urban cities Paris, London or Petra. Fits allot more than you'd think a 14L will hold. Highly recommend for a constant traveler. Oh ya and doesn't look small on my back.

July 31, 2022

Pretty good pack, but...

I only have one qualm with this pack. There is no exit hole for a bladder hose on this pack. If you hike with a water bladder, like myself, you have to put the hose out through the main compartment zipper, therefore you can't actually close the main compartment all the way. Why say the pack is water bladder compatible, if there is no separate ... Read Moreentry/exit point for the hose attached to the bladder? I know it seems like a small detail, but it's the smallest of details that make a pack our favorite or our least favorite.

Response from Patagonia
August 4, 2022

Hi K.R., thank you for submitting a review for this pack. The 14L Altvia Pack does have a hydration port, but it may be a little tricky to find. It's located above the back panel, between the shoulder straps, and below the haul loop. It's under a little flap. Please reach out to us at (800) 638-6464 if we can be of any help in finding it!

July 25, 2022

Adventure in Utah

I bought this backpack to use for our trip to Utah. We went fly fishing, mountain bike & hiking. This backpack was perfect size & comfortable.

July 10, 2022

Very lightweight. Super day pack.

I love it! I walk to work everyday and need something to carry my laptop, lunch, etc. I retired my 14L, 15 year old CamelBack and opted for this gem. My 13" laptop (with protective sleeve) fits into the back netted pocket (a water bladder would fit here too). The top pocket for keys, lip balm, wallet, etc. The water bottle pockets are great an... Read Mored fit a 20oz good; I can reach around and grab while wearing. In the. main compartment, I often stuff a rain coat and hat in (still, have room) and put my hot topic oven with lunch. I often strap my sandals on the exterior for the walk home. It ALL fits (w/room to spare). The chest strap is a great add-on; glad there is no bulky hip strap. Top carry handle is great. I opted for the small, I'm 5'8, 150, 49 female and it fits great. I waited for the orange so I had more bright colors on for people see me. Will get many years of use out of this, also will make a great day pack when traveling.

May 26, 2022

Nifty and practical backpack

I use my Altvia Pack 14L for my trail running shoes. It's just the right size for them. I also use it for taking back books/dvds to the library. You can use it to carry a container of water and there'll be a little room for something else. It's small but perfectly sized for my smaller treks and missions. It's a beautifully muted... Read More shade of blue. It's my 3rd Patagonia backpack. Highly recommended!!

May 11, 2022

Bicycling

This bag is built tough and fits compact to your back while hiking. Plenty of room for gear inside. I like the lightweight feel, this bag is not flimsy and will last very many years.

September 24, 2021

Light & Comfortable

I wanted a short-day pack that is super light and roomy enough for a vest, rain coat, water and whatever I might bring back from a short hike or walk about town. Perfecto!

July 27, 2021

Great Day Hiking Pack

I love this hiking pack it is my go to now even for a longer day hike this holds the essentials and lets me go fast on the trail. Perfect for trail running as well.

July 17, 2021

Great Travel Pack

Brought this with me to Iceland. It was perfect to stash some small hiking/walking trips, a big water bottle, and some camera gear. The blue rain cover is attached to the bottom and was perfect for a quick sprinkle during one of my treks. Only wish this came in black and that there were side buckles to strap in a water bottle.

July 16, 2021

Sizing vs volume issue

This is a great pack! So lightweight and perfect for day hikes. I was happy to see 14L as an option - just what I wanted. But because I am over 6ft tall, I ordered a L/XL. When it arrived in the mail, I found that the L/XL definitely holds more than 14L - closer to 18L or 20L when I compared it to other Patagonia bags I own. Plus it hung pretty clo... Read Morese to the top of my butt, which could be annoying for longer day hikes. I exchanged it in a Patagonia store for a S/M, which is MUCH closer to 14L and it fits my frame just fine like I wanted. The S/M is also about 6 inches shorter than the L/XL.

May 23, 2021

Altiva 14l pack

Well made, good design, very comfortable to wear, and easy to access my water bottle from the side pocket.

May 7, 2021

It meet all my expectations.

The top pocket is perfect for my keys and phone. I love the double water bottle pouches. This bag is great!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches