Back to Product

Ws Silent Down Parka

Write Your Review

4.1/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 126 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Silent Down Parka

4.1/5
True To Size
October 20, 2021

Too Tight

The shoulders fit me fine, but there is not enough room in the hips. I will have to return it as I don't want to get a L and be swimming in the top half of the jacket.

Response from Patagonia
October 26, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Becki. The Silent Down is a slim fit. You might prefer our [Women's Arctic Willow Parka](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-arctic-willow-down-parka/27960.html) which is a regular fit and a bit more roomy through the bottom.

October 14, 2021

Medium silent down parka

The coat itself is just as pictured. It is make well and warm. Only problem I have is the bust is a little tight. A large would have been to big everywhere. But the medium fits everywhere but the chest. I guess this style is made for a flat chested person. But other than that its perfect!!

September 20, 2021

Title is perfect

I couldnt zipper the coat. Too small at hips.

September 18, 2021

Lovely, soft, and warm

I tried the small but it was too tight and the sleeves were a bit short (I am 5 foot 6, 120 lbs), but the medium fits perfectly! It is definitely a fitted coat, not a relaxed fit, so it looks nice and can double as a dress coat or work coat. Love the smooth, soft fabric and ease of movement. Love most of all that it is made with recycled down!! I a... Read Morem waiting for cold weather to test it, but definitely happy. Thank you Patagonia for doing your best to do what is right :)

September 17, 2021

Wish it were perfect

I love the idea of this coat. For some reason it doesnt fit well for my daughter nor me around the chest / shoulder area. Its a bit puffy there - probably just our build but It seems cut to a slightly larger frame.

September 10, 2021

Super cozy, a great buy

Got this on sale and have zero regrets. Im 53, 108 lbs (size 25 jeans) and got a small. It fits perfectly but I can see why some reviewers complained that its tight in the hipsbut that narrow cut is also why I dont look like a giant blob and actually have some shape when its zipped. Havent worn this since its still hot out but havent seen any of th... Read Moree feather-spill issues some reviewers mentioned. Looking forward to getting daily winter use out of this parka for years to come.

September 7, 2021

Runs small

My wife tried this on, unfortunately it was quite small on her when she usually wears a medium and that's what size we purchased. Ended up having to get a large off the wornwear shop, but it is in great condition and fits much better.

September 6, 2021

Very Warm

Live in a tropical climate (HI) and plan to use this coat for our trip to Europe in Dec.

Response from Patagonia
September 15, 2021

Thanks for your feedback, Jane! It will pack down very small to fit into luggage or a backpack. In addition, the stowaway hood is useful for extra warmth if you're out in wintry weather. Great choice for your trip!

September 3, 2021

Perfect in every way

The coat is the perfect size and the color is neutral but not basic black. Cant wait to wear it this winter. I had to exchange it due to a shipping issue and the Patagonia staff was beyond amazing!

September 2, 2021

Odd Fit

Nothing special about this coat. The fit is odd - big on top, tight around hips. It just doesnt feel or look right. The black is not attractive. Returned.

Response from Patagonia
September 10, 2021

Thanks for describing the fit Sheila. You might prefer our [Women's Down With It Parka](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-down-with-it-parka/28441.html). It's a slim fit with more of an hourglass shape.

August 3, 2021

Just perfect

This is the most perfect winter coat and I live in Alaska where a perfect coat is a necessity

July 17, 2021

Slightly large

I ordered this in an xs and a small to compare. I also ordered the Down With It Parka in an xs. I am 5'4", 110lbs. I must like my coats more fitted than the other reviewers because I think this runs slightly large. I want to wear heavy sweaters under this one (which is why I tried the S), but just the size of the xs will allow for that. P... Read Morelenty of room in the shoulder and chest area. The sleeve on the xs is past my wrist (which I can live with) and the length is ~ 3-4" above my knee. Might feel long for some, fine for me. The view from the rear, slightly wide at the hip. I am keeping both coats in the xs. I have to disagree with some of the other reviews. I do NOT think this runs small. I think it runs slightly big. I love that the hood is separate from the collar. And, I love that it even has a hood!! I also have the Fiona coat (no hood) but on cool, rainy days, a hood is great to throw on from the car to wherever.

July 5, 2021

Great Coat

I am 54 and 120 pounds. I ordered a small and Im very happy with the fir. I would say I have an athletic build, not super curvy. It hits at the knees which is great for windy cold days. Flattering through the torso but with enough room for light layering. After reading the reviews I was nervous about the fit, but couldnt be happier with this coat p... Read Moreurchase!

May 19, 2021

If you're about 6 feet tall, the length would be good

The cut was fine, but it was way too long, making it look weird

May 9, 2021

Nice parka but order up a size

I found this on sale and needed to replace another long parka I own. Im a medium in every which way and should have listened to the other reviewers. My size 8 bottom was uncomfortably snug to the point where if I bent over and straightened back up, I had to pull the parka down my legs a bit. Its a great jacket at a great sale price but this medium ... Read Moresized woman will be exchanging it for a large. I dinged it one star because its not true to size, otherwise its a great winter jacket.

May 2, 2021

Caveat

The description given that this cost is attractive, lightweight and warm is correct except for one thing. I am a petite and slim woman, but be aware that this is cut very slim around the hips. It would be greatly improved if the designers gave this coat a bit more ease around ones bottom.

April 3, 2021

Not too puffy, not too slim

5'6, 165 lbs, bust 36DD, usually size 10-14 depending on company. This fits perfectly around bust (snug) and hips (comfortable). Packs down nicely, no feathers lots, perfectly warm.

March 28, 2021

Packable down jacket

I like the fitted cuffs. It is warmer and better quality than the LandsEnd jacket I replaced with yours. It could be a little more relaxed in the torso to fit over a fleece jackets. I like it. Hood is great too.

March 20, 2021

This coat has many good features and warm!

I have spent a lot of time looking for a warm down parka. This has everything I was looking for in a long winter coat. I tried the medium on in the store in black and even though it was a little snug, I was really happy with fit and it was very light and comfortable. I had gone to the store to try a different parka but ended up liking the features ... Read Moreof this one so much better. Those features included an attached hood that can be snapped down into parka, no Velcro anywhere (thankfully!), pockets with zippers, a coat zipper that can open from bottom and top and a high down count. I ended up getting the forge grey in a large for extra room, by mail, because it was on sale and the black wasnt available. I wasnt sure I would like the color but to my relief it was a beautiful grey, almost greenish grey. It fits great! The only other feature I would have wanted would be that the coat also snaps over the zipper. But Im very happy!

March 20, 2021

Super Warm

This is an awesome jacket that is super warm, light weight and extremely comfortable. Originally bought it in XS and had to exchange for a S. Very satisfied with my purchase.

March 19, 2021

Totally Amazing!

The Silent Down Parka is the most fabulous parka I ever purchased! Being a figure skating coach I purchased a size large to fit over my Fiona jackets along with my down vests. It is stretchy enough bundle up and layer for the ice rink and I can easily move well and perform. So fabulous that I bought another one to wear outside of the rinks. I will ... Read Morebuy another if it becomes available in navy! So snuggly warm.

March 12, 2021

Warm but runs small towards the bottom

Everything fit perfectly but it was just too snug around the bum area. If you're straight up and down, it probably will work out fine, but if you're more of an apple bottom gal, you may need to size up

March 11, 2021

Warm and comfortable

This is now my coat for my morning hikes when the temperature is below 40F. It fits snugly but is very comfortable - I am 5'4" and 135 lbs.

March 11, 2021

Toasty

Warm but not bulky, slim fit yet comfortable. 5'6" 135lbs.

March 10, 2021

Disappointed

I am disappointed with this purchase. I did read reviews but its really too tight. I have removed the tags so I feel Im stuck with it. I would love to be able to return it.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2021

Hey Suzanne! Thanks for providing feedback on the sizing. It's ok for you to send it back under our Ironclad Guarantee. Please reach out to our Customer Service team to get started.

March 9, 2021

soft and light

I have Patagonia jackets in both x-small and small. However this Silent Down Parka in small is a bit tight around the hip. Medium is roomy and still looks nice and sleek. I feel warm and cozy wearing it walking outdoors around 20°F.

March 9, 2021

Runs small

Beautiful coat however it runs very tight thru the hips and therefore I returned the coat. Sadly, if I purchased a larger size coat the sleeves would have been too long and the coat would have run too large in the shoulders.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2021

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the sizing for our Silent Down Parka. We appreciate the feedback and have passed the word along about the narrow hip area of this parka. Please note that in Customer Service, we have access to garment measurements which could be helpful when making the best choice for you. After some research, we see that the [Women's Radalie Parka](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-radalie-parka/27695.html?dwvar_27695_color=BLK&cgid=womens-jackets-vests-parkas) affords a bit more room in the hip area, check it out!

March 8, 2021

Recycled down!

First, I like that this has recycled material in it. It keeps me warm. Its not too puffy. Ive even draped it over my legs while reading. Its comfy.

March 8, 2021

Warm and cozy, but size up

I'm usually a size small in Patagonia, but with the slim fit had to reorder a medium, which fits well.

March 8, 2021

Sheds Lots Of Feathers

I love how the material feels, and its very hydrophobic. Super light for how warm it is. I ordered the black but it looks dark brown next to other black fabrics. My only complaint is that it sheds a ton of the down from inside from the very first wear so Im worried it wont last long, which is a bummer because its otherwise a nice coat. The sleeves ... Read Moreare a little short but its nice and form fitting and the length is good.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Thank you for the review on our Silent Down Parka. Some down leakage is normal. If you see a feather sticking halfway out of the parka, pull it back in from behind and rub on the material to close up the hole. What you'll want to avoid doing is pulling it out, as that only opens the hole wider and invites others to also leak out. If you feel that the leakage is excessive, feel free to reach out to [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can look into getting you a replacement.

March 7, 2021

Incredibly Warm

Given how light this coat is, I assumed that it wouldnt keep me particularly warm, but Ive been very impressed since day one. Its quite long, but the double zipper makes moving around in it easy and functional.

March 7, 2021

Great coat!

Very nice warm coat with flattering seams on the back. It runs a little snug around the hips so I went up a size which fits me perfect.

March 7, 2021

Warm & functional

Love the length and warm! Perfect for a chilly day.

March 7, 2021

Very warm

This coat turned out just as it appears on the website. The black is a light black matte. I am 52 and 117 lbs, and the small fits just right. I can definitely fit layers underneath. Its long on me and the sleeves are plenty long for me, but again, Im 52. I find this coat to be very warm. I live in Portland, OR and this is almost too warm for our mi... Read Moreld winter this year. I think its great for the sale price and have no complaints!

March 6, 2021

Super warm.

I love it. Its really warm. Its just that the feathers keeps on coming out. Otherwise, its great!

March 5, 2021

Great lightweight coat that is also warm.

This coat is definitely fitted. Other reviews said it was large on the top and tight in the bottom. That and the shorter sleeves fit me perfectly. The grey color is great. It is warm enough to wear something light underneath.

March 4, 2021

My new favorite coat!

I love that this coat is quiet, super warm and the hood folds up. These were the features that attracted me to this coat. The zipper is a double zipper and is a little hard for me to get to used to. I love the inside pocket.

March 4, 2021

Very comfy!

Ive been looking for a green jacket and this one is perfect. Its long so it covers your butt which is great so it keeps you warm. Its soft and quiet and warm. My only complaint is that Ive only worn it twice and the feathers are already starting to poke through! Kinda weird. This is my first Patagonia jacket and I am surprised to see feathers come ... Read Moreout but it sounds like maybe that happens to down jackets?

March 3, 2021

Warm and super soft

Love this jacket, warm, light and super soft.

March 2, 2021

So warm!

After returning the first one I bought due to feathers popping out everywhere, I got a new one and I love it. Its very warm, I typically wear a tshirt underneath. Thanks!!

March 2, 2021

Warm but fitted in hip area

For reference, I'm 5'0" and 140 lbs. After reading the reviews, I went up a size (from medium to large). Even though I can fully zip up my coat (carefully), it's snug in the hip and bottom area. So I can't put anything in my coat pockets, bend down easily or sit down. However, it is a nice warm coat! It has kept me warm whi... Read Morele standing outside for work. Since I'm petite, I think an XL would be too long in the sleeves and too much room on top.

March 2, 2021

Super Warm

I love my coat. Definitely runs small! I am 53 114 lbs and had to get the medium. Runs small in the hip area. I love the sleeve! It has the extra band at the sleeve to keep the cold out! Length is good! I am excited about having this type of coat!

March 1, 2021

Perfect for Alaskan winter

It was a gift for my wife and it has become a go to jacket for her when the temperature hits less than 20'F.

March 1, 2021

Great for petite

I was between this coat and the Down with it Parka and choose this one due to the slimmer style. I'm 5'2 and 120 lbs, narrow hips and it fit much better than the other coat which was great, just too much bulk around my neck (I have a smaller head too ha) and too long. This hits just above the knees and although fitted, is very comfortable... Read More; arms perfect length and hood is really great. Very lightweight and comfortable even when sitting. Sage khacki is a nice lighter army green matte color.

March 1, 2021

Perfect

Just right

March 1, 2021

So glad I bought it

I was nervous about the size because I have wide shoulders and often things don't fit, bits perfect! Such good quality and it's flattering

March 1, 2021

Great coat, but the sleeves are short

Its warm. Its quiet. Its sleeker than my other down parkas while keeping my body warm in New England winters. However, the sleeves are quite short. I need to wear a warm sweater under it to cover my wrists.

February 28, 2021

Not designed for women with curves

I really like their products but unfortunately the sizing doesnt work for women with curves. I found the XL coat was too big in the shoulders but tight in hips. When I returned the coat to the store I tried other styles but all had the same issue.

February 28, 2021

very light but astonishingly warm and comfortable

coat is very light in weight but super warm. It is very durable and can be cleaned easily. Keep packing slip in case zipper breaks, or area gets worn. the guarantee is iron clad; I want to buy more

February 28, 2021

Great but some issue

The jacket provide greats warmth. Unfortunately, the jacket leaks down from micro holes in the outer fabric. Maybe thats why it was on sale. Im a little disappointed because of the quality I usually expect from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
March 12, 2021

We're glad that you're enjoying the warmth of the Silent Down Parka! We recommend machine wash cool water with a mild detergent, then tumble dry on low heat with a couple of dryer balls (or clean tennis balls) to fluff the down and refresh the outer fabric. If that doesn't improve the condition, please reach out to our Customer Service team to return or exchange it under our Ironclad Guarantee. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

February 28, 2021

Great jacket

I really liked this jacket. Its very warm. I did go up a size, but more because I like to layer and it felt better with the layers in a bigger size.

February 28, 2021

Warm

Excellent

February 28, 2021

Nice jacket but...

I had read other reviews that the down feathers poke out all around the coat! I love the Patagonia brand so decided to purchase anyway:( it is super warm but the feathers are annoying! Hope I lasts more than one season!

Response from Patagonia
March 12, 2021

We are glad that you find the jacket so warm. Down shedding is normal to some extent. You'll want to grasp the feathers from the inside and wiggle them back in to avoid making the hole bigger. If after that, it's still not working for you, you're always welcome to return it under warranty.

February 27, 2021

Thin but Warm!

Thin but very warm for Midwest winters. Great length. Great buy!

February 27, 2021

As advertised

I bought this coat to walk my dog in the early morning and late in the evening. I layer my clothes for the walk so the coat is a little snug but warm.

February 27, 2021

Warm, not too puffy and comfortable

Down makes this a very warm coat. But unlike previous down puffers this one does not shed inside on my usual black clothing. It is warmer than my Nanos and I love that it has a hood but also that the hood tucks away. The fit is trim so you dont look like a house in the coat, even with the XL size. Good color choices. Very happy with this coat.

February 27, 2021

Good I between temperatures coat

The coat is a slim fit. I weigh 125 and needed the large as the medium was too tight around the stomach. In their longer coat, I took a medium. Very comfortable coat and good for temperatures in 30s and 40s.

February 27, 2021

Rhonda

Love it!

February 26, 2021

Really like this jacket but ~

After I wear it 2 Weeks the inside feathers keeps comes out ! Otherwise this jacket is perfect for me ! Very light and warm !

Response from Patagonia
March 11, 2021

Hi there, thank you for the feedback and we are sorry to hear that. Please note, leaking feathers can be normal with down products as those sharp quills can make their way through the nylon. It should not affect the warmth of the garment and we advise that you try and carefully push the feathers back in and gently pull them out if they cant be maneuvered back in the baffle. If this doesn't work, or you are unhappy with the garment, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under our Iron Clad Guarantee.

February 26, 2021

Nice and warm BUT...

I love the coat. Unfortunately like others had commented on the feathers do come out. Every time I wear it more feathers are lost.

Response from Patagonia
March 11, 2021

Thanks for providing this feedback. If you're unsatisfied you're welcome to send it back for a refund.

February 26, 2021

Warm

I order regular size and got slim fit. I am 52 weight 125 . I bought medium size and it is tight for me. Length is little longer for me. It is warm enough to wear in winter.

February 26, 2021

Not happy

Jacket is not warm and not comfortable Very disappointed Too expensive and very unhappy

Response from Patagonia
March 9, 2021

Hi! Thanks so much for taking the time to review the Silent Down Parka. We're really sorry to hear that it didn't end up being warm enough for you and that you were overall unsatisfied with your purchase. Please note, all of our items are covered under our Ironclad Guarantee, so you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

February 26, 2021

Odd fit

Long arms and snug around my rear - felt frumpy definitely made for someone taller and slimmer, I bought a medium which is what would regularly wear for clothes intended to give me room.

February 26, 2021

Comfortable!

This is a very comfy coat and fits me well. At first I thought it might be to fitted but as I have worn it have realized that it's just right. I'm 5'5" with wide shoulders and long arms. (148lbs) I have worn my nano puff jacket under it when I needed more warmth. Have used it on a construction site during an inspection in windy ... Read Morecold weather, road my bike to a nearby winery in it during wind and a bit of rain, wore it shoveling snow and have used it lots as a casual run around jacket. Comfy and breathes well.

February 25, 2021

Perfect length + warm

Im 52 and the length is perfect, hits right above my knee. Wore a sweat shirt under it and was very warm. Definitely more fitted so size up if you are wanting to layer with thicker clothing underneath. Love that the hood can be zipped inside of coat. Wore in 20° weather and kept me warm. Amazing quality! Love the color!

February 25, 2021

Very nice fit and styling.

Loved this coat the minute I put it on. great fit and style. Im 5 foot 7 inches , 135 lbs.

February 25, 2021

Unusually slim fit

I really wanted a Patagonia puffer coat but this was a disappointment. I'm a size 2 (XS), but both the XS and the S in this coat were too slim in the hips. Sadly, I had to return the coat.

February 25, 2021

Slim fer ser

Perfect for dog walks Runs slim like the description says- thats why I ordered large. The only weirdness is the feathers have already started coming out. Usually they dont start that until later....?

Response from Patagonia
March 10, 2021

Hi Katherine! Thanks for taking the time to write this review. The face fabric of the Silent Down is a little softer than some of our other pieces, and sometimes it's simply the nature of the working with down insulation for the feathers to poke out. When this happens, make sure to pull the feathers back in (through the inside of the jacket) rather than pulling them out as this will create a larger hole. Additionally, make sure to properly care for your down garments by washing on cold and tumble dry on low with a couple of tennis balls to keep the down lofted and in good condition. If you begin to notice a larger hole forming, temporarily patch it with tape and send it to us for [repair](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html)!

February 25, 2021

Slightly tight

It was a little bit tight around the waist

Response from Patagonia
March 10, 2021

We're sorry that the size purchased was a bit snug for you. If you're interested in swapping it out for a bigger size, you can start the exchange process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 24, 2021

Very comfy and warm

This coat is the perfect length. It covers your bottom and falls a few inches above your knees. The hood is just the right size; not too big, so it looks nice. This coat is super light weight, which I love... and it is truly warm. Ive walked in 19 degrees and been very comfortable. Its very fashionable as well. Definitely not bulky. I said it runs ... Read Morekinda small because its a tad snug at the hips. However its still comfortable. Im very pleased with this new coat!

February 24, 2021

Just comfy!

This coat feels brilliant. It makes me warm and cozy, while keeping my body temperature nicely tempered. Love the color as well. Happy with this purchase!

February 24, 2021

Its nice and soft and warm

Im disappointed in the fit. Im a small but Patagonia sizes are inconsistent (Ive been buying Patagonia for 40 years). I ordered a medium so Id have a bit of room under the coat for layering. The sleeves are 3 inches too short and the hips are super tight. Frustrating. I wanted to exchange for a large but they are sold out. I bought 2 of these one f... Read Moreor Bailey my sons lovely GF Please advise Thanks. Patty McGown

Response from Patagonia
March 9, 2021

Hey Patty, thank you for leaving us a review on our Silent Down Parka. We're so sorry that the sizing was a disappointment for you. Good news is it looks like we have restocked, so you are still welcome to do an exchange! To get started on one, click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 24, 2021

Lady’s parka

Great jacket for my wife. Really good price and communication from the company. Efficient delivery and service.

February 24, 2021

Very warm, perfect for dog walking in NH winters

I bought this mostly for walking and snowshoeing with my dog in the winter, it is almost too warm though. I have figured out the perfect layers underneath and now it is my favorite jacket. The only slightly annoying feature is the cuffs are a little tight. Other than that it is great.

February 24, 2021

Needs to be available in a larger size

Nice coat. Just isn't available in a large enough size. 2xl was needed but not available

February 24, 2021

Great everyday jacket

This jacket is very warm and the perfect size and weight for a winter everyday coat. The slim fit means I dont feel like a marshmallow!

February 24, 2021

Very warm and comfortable jacket.

I am a petite size 6 and its longer than I would like but it keeps me very warm for walking my dog during this cold snowy winter. I like the fit it isnt too puffy.

February 23, 2021

Disappointed in fit

I noticed that a few reviews mentioned this item runs small. Unfortunately, that is true. I found myself to truly be between sizes and neither was a good fit. I have the shorter version of this jacket, which has the same name, but they're actually very different. The fit is different, the puffiness / stitching style is different, and ultimatel... Read Morey I was looking for a long version of what I have. Unfortunately had to return.

February 23, 2021

Warm, so warm

Its great for everything I do, from taking the dog on a walk in the morning to sitting outside at bars and restaurants with friends. Im yet to be cold wearing it. My favorite touch is the elastic sleeve cuffs, which are comfortable and help keep everything warm.

February 18, 2021

Cozy cozy

Love this jacket. I am on the petite side and sometimes feel jackets like this look too puffy or roomy on me. I like that this one is fitted and doesn't look like I am a kid wearing my mom's coat. It hits be above the knee by a few inches and I am 5'0". For those looking for fit, I am around 105 lbs.

February 14, 2021

light and warm, love the grey!

Very soft and lightweight. Great grey color. I opted for the xlarge as others reviews recommended to size up, since it is categorized as slim fit. I wear a size 10/12 in tops, and am always between a large/xlarge for coats. Once I layer a tank, long sleeve shirt and sweater or sweatshirt or just a bulky sweater, a size large coat is often too snug ... Read Morein the arms and shoulders. The xlarge is a tad large, but rather that, than too small. I got it just in time for our ice rain storm and it stood up excellently! Didn't soak through, rain dops beaded, and kept me toastier than my cheaper lightweight coat. Exactly what I was hoping for, warmth without the bulk and weight! Love, the grey color, very nice. In the photos, it seemed a bit green, but is not. Hood stays on well, just wish the cuffs were fuzzy fleece and inside the pockets. Love the chest inside zip pocket and the diagonal seaming! Very flattering! Hope it wears well :)

February 10, 2021

warm and snuggly

I bought this as my late Christmas gift to myself - I love the color and that it is a hooded jacket. I did not know it would not come with the logo as I wanted the logo - yes it is warm and smooth but my little ones all wanted to match - the customer service was kind enough to give me a sale price as i was not all that happy with it with the logo. ... Read Moreso that I give an A+ to but the photos can be deceitful as i thought it would have the logo

February 5, 2021

Ive been looking for this!

Ive been on the hunt for a parka with a diagonal design that includes a hood, and this fits the bill! I love how I am able to able to tuck the hood away nicely. I am normally an XS in Patagonia jackets, but I sized up. Im 50 and this hits just right at the knee.

January 24, 2021

Tight in the elbow area of the sleeve

I bought a small and a medium in this jacket. I am 5'6 tall and weigh 125. I loved the way the small jacket fit through the body, but unfortunately the sleeve was too tight, especially around my elbow. The medium was fine in the sleeve, but too roomy in the body, so I had to send both of the jackets back. It is a beautiful jacket. I was disapp... Read Moreointed it didn't work. I usually wear small in Patagonia jackets, and have never had a problem with the sleeve being too tight.

January 4, 2021

Warm and cozy

I love this jacket! It keeps me warm and cozy. I like the zip in hoody because I usually dont wear it so its tucked away until I need it.

December 25, 2020

Great Gear

This is the perfect winter coat for hiking and walking. Great length, comfort and the hood is so good for windy days.

December 24, 2020

Perfect coat!

This coat is cute and practical. Perfect winter coat. Love how lightweight it is while still keeping me warm!

December 9, 2020

Lovely coat, warm, strange fit, loses down

When I first put this on, I was disappointed in the fit. It's great from the waist up, but tight around my hips - which is never an issue for me. The fit is passable, but not if I want to be able to really layer up, and that's specifically what I was looking for with buying a winter coat right now. But, the fabric is just lovely and I lik... Read Moree the color and style, and I need a coat, so I wore it for an extremely slow walk around my hood in about 40 degree weather at night to test it out. It was TOASTY warm - and I get cold very easily, so I really liked that. But after that brief wear, there were about 5 feathers coming out in different places. I saw in a number of other reviews that leaking down was an issue, but decided to try it anyway because it didn't seem to be an issue for everyone, and I need a coat! I considered exchanging this for a larger size, but I'm afraid that it would be too large from the waist up, and I can't afford the time and expense of exchanges for something that might not work. Between the fit and the down leaking I'm sadly going to have to return it.

November 29, 2020

Super soft and warm

I loved this. I had exchanged my medium for a large as the medium was snug. Lots of room for layers. Love love it

November 16, 2020

Perfect for the Outdoors

I wear my Patagonia down sweater as my daily jacket but needed something warmer for outdoor sporting events. I researched all of Patagonia's parkas and am so glad I selected the W's Silent Down Parka. I love that it covers my hips and upper thighs. It makes such a difference in my comfort outdoors! I also love the fitted cut, the zipper/s... Read Morenap combo that zips from both ends if I want the bottom looser while sitting in a beach chair, the cozy pockets and the detachable hood. I layer sweaters and fleece tops under mine and the XS still fits fine, not too snug at all. I was worried the arms might be too short in the XS based on reviews but they're fine as well. I've attended sporting events with steady rainfall (not pouring, but still lots of water) and it kept me dry. I'm leaving this review because so many people have had problems with feathers shedding, but it honestly hasn't been an issue for me. Overall, after a year I'm still extremely happy with this jacket and expect it to last me for many years.

November 4, 2020

Great jacket

Super warm. Great fit. Great color. Great company :)

October 30, 2020

Bland color, drab coat

Okay, this coat is super warm and light weight and Noiseless! if that is something you care about. The fit is okay, a bit too large on top (but hey you can put sweaters) and tighter around the bottom....not bad at all. BUT there is something about this coat, is it the polyester or the down?? that feels/looks worn out, a flat and wrinkled look that ... Read Morefor me at least did not appeal. This color I might add is pretty drab and there is a dullness to the coat, no sheen. Now if none of that bothers you, I think it is a great layer of warmth and I was sorry the fabric and loft did not appeal.

October 29, 2020

Favorite Jacket

This is my favorite jacket. It is warm, comfortable, and cute. I love all things Patagonia, and it is even better that I can always trust this brand. Thank you for doing what you do!

October 17, 2020

Love this coat!

I got this coat for 70% at a local shop this summer. I've been wanting a longer coat to cover my thighs and butt for football games and everyday wear in Montana. I didn't want to pay a lot (more than $200) for a coat and I randomly found this on a sales rack. I wore it last night and it was so warm and I just discovered that the hood can ... Read Morebe zipped into the neck area when not in use. I am short and chubby (5 ft tall and 152 lbs) and the arms fit perfectly. I have a larger chest (G cup!!!) and I can zip up with no probs. I do have to say Patagonia sizing and cut of clothes have gotten slimmer over the years, but maybe that's the style these days. I have not noticed any feathers poking out yet and I didn't realize that being silent was one of the features. Not typically something O care about unless its totally obnoxious. I have loved Patagonia gear since I discovered my first blue pullover jacket in a fly fishing shop over 30 years ago when I was in high school. I the quality and repairs!

August 27, 2020

Overpriced jacket

I don't usually buy this expensive jackets but decided I would spend a little more to get something that would last. I was very disappointed to discover that jacket was bleeding down, not only from the seems, but also from the fabric. It seems to me that the woven composition of the fabric isn't dense enough which results in down peeking ... Read Moreout. After a month of use I went to the store and explained the problem, I got the explanation that the down will set and the bleeding will stop when using the jacket over time. They also said that they could send the jacket to a facility where the reclamation will be investigated. After more than a month of wait, with no winter jacket, they sent me a new jacket. They claimed that there was no faults but that I got a new jacket out of goodwill. Now having used the new jacket for a while I still experience the same problem. I regret buying this jacket and I wouldn't recommend anyone buying it.

Response from Patagonia
November 5, 2020

Hi Julia, we are so sorry to hear that the down leaking issue has persisted with your new jacket. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty. We went ahead and passed your feedback to the appropriate team.

January 30, 2020

Not that silent or warm

My husband and I both had to order the silent coats because our autistic daughter can’t take the swish noise in regular down coats. Mine is not that silent, and not real warm. The noise is barely acceptable for our sound sensitive daughter, so we are keeping them. However, I am disappointed that such an expensive coat isn’t really warm, and hardly ... Read Moresilent. We have to keep them though, for the sake of our daughter.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2020

Hi Mary, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're truly sorry to hear that the Parka is too loud for her and for the disappointment this causes. Just know that your satisfaction is always guaranteed so in the future if you decide you need to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) you're welcome to.

December 24, 2019

Great coat!

Great coat!

December 17, 2019

Even with a Cairn

I walk my Cairn terrier three times a day. She loves the snow and temps down to 10 or so. This coat is warm, comfortable, and fits. I love it!

December 16, 2019

Nice

Nice

December 16, 2019

Nice and silently soft

Nice and silently soft

December 16, 2019

Amazing jacket

Such a warm jacket, just perfect for cold Ohio winters. Fit is a little smaller than I expected even for slim fit, but still ordered normal size. Sleeves are a little short, but there is elastic closure so no fear of cold wrists.

December 16, 2019

Nice warm coat. Snug fit

Nice warm coat. Snug fit but also flattering. Glad to have this as an option for a cold Maine winter coat.

December 15, 2019

Fast service great quality 👌

No problems. Great service. Very nice coat.

December 13, 2019

I love this parka. It

I love this parka. It is soft and warm and easy to wear. It makes up for the fit, which feels a little snug around the hips and looser on top.

December 12, 2019

okay parka

It seemed like it would be fine, but I didn't like the look of it - seemed kind of unpolished, too outdoorsy - and wasn't sure it would be warm enough for me.

December 4, 2019

Too small

I’ve been wearing a size small in Patagonia for years, so felt confident that this size would work for this parka. It should have fit according to the chart. However, as another reviewer experienced, I could barely zip it up and the sleeves are also short. I had to check the size again to make sure it wasn’t an XS! I’m really sad about this because... Read More it seems like a really nice coat otherwise.

Response from Patagonia
December 20, 2019

Hi Catherine, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the trouble with sizing. The Silent Down Parka is a slim fit so it will fit a bit more tight than our regular fit items. Nevertheless, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 28, 2019

Beautiful and warm!

Beautiful and warm!

November 23, 2019

Nice

I purchssed this coat recently and have not had the chance to wear it yet. The weather here in the northwest has been mild, but suppose to get much colder next week. So I am sure that I will be wearing it soon. Looks to be a very nice coat, fits well and well made. I like that it has a nice looking hood. It is not snug liks some on Patagonia jacket... Read Mores. I like that the hood can be tucked into a zipper collar when not needed. The cuffs are very nice, with the knit inside the outer cuffs, which make it easy to slip on & off. I wish the Jackets were made the same way. Nice length....just above the knee. I think it will be a great coat and I like the style.

November 1, 2019

Loved the jacket, but too small

I fit the profile on the size chart of a size 8 Medium exactly - yet I could barely zip the jacket up and no, my hips aren't enormous! They measure 38.5 just like the chart. I am returning which I'm super sad to do but there's no way it would be comfortable. A large would be too big based on their size chart, and I'm not wearing... Read More a LARGE. Would be nice if the size chart was correct for the garment and better yet, making the jacket so it fits the size chart! Color was great, fabric great.

Response from Patagonia
November 20, 2019

Thanks for this valuable and detailed feedback Lisa! We're sorry the sizing was a disappointment and We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the parka to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

September 15, 2019

Perfect jacket for fall

The fit and feel of this jacket makes it perfect for fall temps. It's a flattering cut, and not as bulky as other long parkas. Runs a bit small (I had to exchange for one size up, and I'm nearly always an XS), especially if you plan to layer.

May 8, 2019

I love this coat as

I love this coat as others said there is a slight shedding problem. Wish they could fix it. I was told to put it in the dryer and that did help. That being said I would buy it again.

April 10, 2019

Feathers started leaking immediately

Love this coat, color, fit, etc., but the feathers we’re leaking through (without my pulling or otherwise) almost immediately after purchase. For the price this is unacceptable.

March 13, 2019

Love, but a little frustrating.

I got this jacket in December 2018, so I've had three months. This jacket keeps me warm, and fits nicely. I love the hood. However, I have feather leaking EVERYWHERE. I never pick or pull them. I've had a lot of other down products from Patagonia I love that hardly come out. I honestly feel like this is due to the outer material making it... Read More silent. Almost like the outer material it's not as thick as say my down vest from Patagonia(which hardly EVER loses feathers). If I had known a month in it would be leaking like this, it would have been harder to pay $349+tax for this jacket. I wish all these reviews were here before I ordered this jacket.

March 9, 2019

Patagonia long parka winter jacket

I got this as a Christmas gift. I really love this jacket, but i'm worried that the quality (at least of the zipper) is questionable...I've had it for a little over a year, and when I went to zip it up the other day, the zipper broke off in my hand. I can post pictures if anyone needs, but basically now it's a sharp shard which I&#x2... Read More7;m worried will cut my hand. I'm going to write to the company today and see if they can repair or replace it, and I'll let you know what happens! :)

February 27, 2019

Wanted to love it...

I wanted to love this coat so much, but just couldn't. Was looking to upgrade my 10-yr old 'Down With It' parka and thought this would be a winner. I normally wear XS in Patagonia but this XS was way too snug in the hips. Thought maybe I could skip heavy layers since the coat would keep me so warm in NYC winters. Wrong again. I could... Read More actually feel the wind/cold traveling through the material. And finally, down feathers everywhere! Poking out from all over the coat. For the price you pay, this is unacceptable. A few pros: very soft material, love the soft layer at the wrist for extra warmth, and cute overall design. Good news is I returned it without hassle and upgraded to a new Down With It parka that I'm in love with.

February 15, 2019

Loses feathers on a daily basis

So first, the positives: I love the color (and fact the coat isn’t shiny), it’s warm, it’s quiet and fits TTS (I’m 5’8”, athletic 140# bought M and didnt have an issue with sleeve-length). I also appreciate the hood. But the feathers. Feathers leaking through the seams. Feathers pressing through the fabric itself (followed, of course, by more feat... Read Morehers unless you can push the escapee back into the coat). Feathers every single day. I’ve had the coat for about a month and a half and initially hoped the feather leakage was due to packing/shipping, but it’s proving to be an ongoing issue which is disappointing. As desperately as I wanted to keep the coat as I love it otherwise, this is likely going back for another solution.

January 10, 2019

Pros and Cons

I really like this jacket. It is warm and it fits me well. I got it for Christmas and it is already shedding feathers everywhere. It looks like a black jacket with white dots. It is very disappointing because this is a quality product from a quality company. I have not owned a down jacket before but I feel like the amount of feathers coming out of ... Read Morea brand new jacket is not normal.

January 9, 2019

Sleeves!

5'5", 125 lbs I received this coat for Christmas, size small (and according the size chart this is accurate). It fits snugly and keeps me warm due to the snug fit, and the fabric is beautiful, but the arms are 2-3" too short!! I don't have abnormally long arms and this has never been a problem with any other patagonia coats I ow... Read Moren (down sweater, windbreaker, butter fleece, better sweater), but this coat stops well before my wrist and looks ridiculous. I ordered a medium to see the difference--sleeves fit better, but the body is so loose that cold air gets in and doesn't keep me as warm as the small. I also don't have to have to layer underneath all the time. This coat is too pricey to not fit well. I'll likely be returning.

January 6, 2019

Beautiful but porous

I love this coat. I agree that the fit around the hips is too tight. I feel comfortably free in the shoulders, but not so much in the hips, especially if I'm wearing a tunic top or work jeans. Feels a bit prissy, so tight around the hips. The one sad thing about this coat is that the feathers poke out occasionally. Just the big feathers, appar... Read Moreently, and then you have to wonder about pulling them out, risking making a bigger hole in this lovely silent fabric, or stuffing them back in, which rarely works. So now I'm walking around with 4 or 5 little white dots on the coat which ruins the elegant look. Got any suggestions, Patagonia?

December 27, 2018

Great down coat...perfect length...easy to layer...but...SLEEVES TOO SHORT

I love the silent! I love the warmth...but I had to buy a size large to get the sleeves down to my wrists...And usually I LOVE Patagonia long sleeves. Upside...I can wear a nano puff jacket underneath even tho' it's rarely necessary

December 9, 2018

Warmth without looking like the Michelin man!

I’ve been looking for a down coat that would keep me warm in Boston winters while waiting for the bus and walking to work. This one is perfect! It truly is ‘silent’ without that swish sound, it’s super warm without feeling huge and puffy and it has the perfect amount of stretch to make it comfortable. I did size up (5’2”, 120 lbs, usually a small b... Read Moreut bought a medium) and I’m glad I did.

December 1, 2018

Slim fit

I have a couple Patagonia down jackets, including this one. I love them all. But be careful to check whether a jacket is “slim fit”. I was a better slim fit 20 years ago than I am now....

November 26, 2018

WE LOVE IT

Haven’t even used it yet but from trying it on in the store I can tell this is a 5 STAR jacket

November 19, 2018

On the fence

This jacket has a hood which is not shown on the model. I love that it has a hood so that was a pleasant surprise. The fit is different. I am 5'7 130 lbs, bought the medium. The hip area is more fitted than the top part of the jacket. I am a 4/6 on the bottom or a 28-29 waist in denim and feel this jacket is not proportionate to the top. In th... Read Moree shorter version of Patagonia jackets I take a small most of the time and a medium on occasion. Just feel this fit is off. Took a walk with it on, temperature was 17 degrees F, and honestly this jacket did not keep me very warm. Temps above 25 its fine. Really on the fence with this jacket.

November 17, 2018

Too slim

5'4" 145lbs (pear shape) this coat is beautiful. I wanted to like it so bad. It's just too slim fit. I could zip up a large, but it hugged my hips in a way that made the look unflattering. The 'puffiness' of this coat was perfect. Didn't make me feel like a marshmallow woman. If you have a slim figure and can wear this... Read More coat I'm so jealous!

November 2, 2018

Too small!

Absolutely love everything about this coat - the fold away hood, the style, the warmth. I am 5’ 10”, 160 lbs. and the extra large was too snug! No room for a sweater underneath. Have other “slim” fit coats from Patagonia in extra large that are plenty roomy, especially for wearing bulky winter sweaters. Was very disappointed to have to return this ... Read Morewonderful coat. Maybe Patagonia could be more consistent with their sizing. Maybe loosen up this style for next year? Would definitely purchase!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches