Back to Product

Ms Silent Down Shirt Jacket

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 60 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Silent Down Shirt Jacket

4.4/5
Kinda Large
October 8, 2021

Love it

Looks great! I wear a suit most days also the style fits my work scene perfectly. Not to big, but plenty of room to move and be mobile. Will definitely buy again.

September 26, 2021

5 star jacket

Picked this as a jacket to going out and it is perfect. Its sharp looking and enough jacket to keep warm. 5 star jacket.

September 7, 2021

Good Fit

Nice fit,

August 3, 2021

Odd Fit

Gave 3 stars because fit was odd. Product looked great and felt well made but fit was off. Fit in shoulders and at waist but the arms and around stomach were big. The cut was almost pear shaped. I returned it because felt Large would be small in areas that fit in XL

Response from Patagonia
August 4, 2021

Thank you for the feedback on the fit Bradley. We're always happy to provide dimensions prior to purchase.

June 26, 2021

Men's Silent Down Shirt Jacket!

This is one nice looking piece, fits is on point, color is perfect, lengths of sleeves is just right, and is warm as heck!!! Like all my Patagonia clothing choices, this is perfect!!

April 23, 2021

Awesome product like everything that Patagonia creates.

Despite the product, which is excellent, the support and help of the Patagonia team was stunning. They were always focus on solving any doubt or problem i had.

March 26, 2021

Handy coat

This is a soft light jacket. Very nice.

March 20, 2021

Grey color

The color is matt and it's what I would. Not looks very thick however warm

March 9, 2021

Fits great - surprisingly warm

I need 35 sleeves and this jacket fits me just right in the sleeves and in body length without being too wide in the shoulders. Its extremely lightweight but surprisingly warm. I find it too warm to wear when its above 60F or so, including inside the car and indoors for very long.

March 5, 2021

Warm jacket

Nice jacket I would like to have two button on sleeves

February 28, 2021

Versatile

I bought this to wear as a mid layer for those days when I need some extra warmth but also want to keep it urban. Even worn on its own its a great piece. Not sure wether I prefer the button front it comes with or zipper though

February 27, 2021

Disappointed

Too wide in the body. Customers who are 66 are more likely to be slim in the body.

Response from Patagonia
March 12, 2021

We're sorry that the Silent Down Shirt Jacket didn't live up to expectations for you. This jacket is considered a "regular fit", if you were looking for a slim fit instead, we'd recommend [checking these out](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-jackets-vests?prefn1=fit&prefv1=slim).

February 25, 2021

Warm

Great and functional layer for cooler spring weather, with extra room for a light sweater.

February 25, 2021

Weird fit

The pros are that the shirt jacket is warm and well-made. I have to say, however, the fit is what ruins it for me. I really wanted to like this shirt more but it just didnt work well for me, at least. The upper half at the shoulders and chest is nice and formfitting but the bottom half is what makes the fit really awkward. When buttoned up the jack... Read Moreet is tight around the hips and waist and the shirt jacket rides up with a bulge in the middle almost giving the person a pear-shape. Because of the warmth in good quality, I can still wear it as a layer underneath a coat or jacket for insulation, but wearing it casually as a shirt jacket for what I had intended is a no-go.

February 24, 2021

Perfect all around shirt

As always Patagonia stuff runs small The fit is perfect for me because I like a loose fit It fits over a flannel easily an is warm I live in the mountains so warmth is paramount The shirt is light an can be stored easily in a pack or in your truck or car It could be used for spring skiing or knocking around town Its warm lightweight an fashionable... Read More What can I say Patagonia its a winner

February 24, 2021

Warmth Without Weight

The perfect jacket for walking and driving. Wear a t-shirt or light sweater underneath. Supremely comfortable for 25-45 degree temps.

January 28, 2021

Pockets

Pockets I love all the pockets because of all that I carry. The snaps are super much more useful than buttons. It does run large I usually wear a Large but w/ this shirt/jacket I bought a Medium and its perfect

January 27, 2021

Warm, Attractive, But Sheds Feathers

This is a very well constructed shirt jacket. It keeps me plenty warm on 35+ degree days in NYC. The cut of the shirt jacket is more of a regular fit. My only compliant is that the down feathers pop out of the shirt jacket fairly frequently. Sometimes I try to pull them back in, but thats not always an easy task, so I end up pulling them out. Im no... Read Moret sure why this happens. If this issue was fixed, Id go so far to say this shirt jacket was perfect.

January 2, 2021

Versatile

Got this jacket for Christmas and love it. Its warm and also allows for layering. Great looking coat for wearing for work or going out.

December 26, 2020

Love the style

I love how its different from regular down jackets with some style! Super warm

December 23, 2020

Warm

Solid jacket.

December 9, 2020

Warm and practical!

Chest pockets are deep and wide with snaps so phone etc. don't fall out when you bend over. The hand pockets are huge and can be filled up with your stuff or your cold hands. Very warm and practical.

December 6, 2020

Perfect for what I wanted

I ordered an XXL because I wanted to layer and this is the perfect shirt for it. Its warm, comfortable and very easy to wear. If your not layer, definitely buy one size down from your regular size. It is one of several Patagonia shirts that are on the top of my winter list for staying warm. It is very well made, as expected and will become one of y... Read Moreour favorite shirts.

November 29, 2020

Disappointed

Ive had this shirt for a year, and it irritates me to no end how often the down comes through the outer material. Patagonia says to pull the down back into the shirt from the inside, but thats easier said than done. My success rate with that method is painfully low. Patagonia should do away with the silent aspect of this shirt, and manufacture it w... Read Moreith a more durable outer material.

November 25, 2020

Like the warmth, the length is long

I bought this for my boyfriend and we were both surprised at how long this jacket is. He is 6'4'' and Patagonia XL jackets are never this long. We are keeping the item because it is warm and is functional. Personally, I love how it looks on him, it has an urban feel to it. He, on the other hand, is getting used to it. Some of the iss... Read Moreues he has are with the snaps (he likes zippers) and the positioning of the side pockets are a bit awkward. I know he will learn to love it.

November 22, 2020

Fantastic warmth

Bought to wear while teaching this fall and winter. Were teaching outside the majority of the time. Sitting around in mid-40s temps called for a warmer insulating layer. This jacket is perfect. Low bulk, but very warm. Only improvement I can think of is to add a pencil holder to each pocket.

November 20, 2020

Perfect cool weather jacket

This jacket is perfect for running around town on cool fall days. Looks good going out to eat or taking a hike.

November 18, 2020

toasty

I like the jacket but wish that there was a way to adjust the cuffs rather than the snaps, maybe velcro would be better.

November 12, 2020

Great Fit

At first I ordered an XL for fear I would not get the length I needed and it was too big. Contacted Customer Service they were amazing with the exchange and the large is perfect!

November 5, 2020

Way too big

I loved the look of this shirt/jacket when I saw it on-line. When I put it on when I received it, it was way too long to ever be comfortable.

October 25, 2020

Warm, lightweight, and comfortable

Great old-school styling! Lightweight, warm, and comfortable. Good for temps in the 30s or 40s with just a t-shirt or a base layer. Comfortable cut with some layering room . I would suggest ordering your normal size. I'm glad it's not shiny. The matte fabric seems to bring the whole thing together. Kudos for the recycled down, the quality... Read More of the materials, and the excellent craftsmanship!

September 16, 2020

Practical

Ordered a M first - way too small. The L fits fine. Very comfy and light and will be used frequently.

September 8, 2020

A+ if you love Patagonia down jackets

I have 84701 in Large so I figured that size would be good for me here. This product is essentially that jacket with shirt features -- button snaps on the sleeve cuffs, pockets, etc. This jacket is warm, light weight and stylish.

June 22, 2020

good

good

June 19, 2020

Great jacket but too large

I really liked the style and utility of this jacket but it was a size too large. I'm 5'9" 165 lbs and always wear a medium. This jacket was almost a full size too large, so I sent the medium back.

February 24, 2020

Also losing feathers

I've had the shirt/jacket for a couple of week now and just wear it to work and client meetings. Like another reviewer, I'm seeing more feathers poking out of this garment than any other Patagonia jacket I've owned. It's a great looking alternative to a typical jacket style. I recommend it for the looks. I am, however, hesitant ... Read Moreto recommend it based on losing feathers at a high rate. Even if it doesn't affect the warmth (for the time being), it looks a bit shabby...which is a problem for a jacket I purchased for the more dressed-up style. I got it on sale, so I'm not as upset as if I had paid full price. Still, I am super surprised by the quality of this jacket. Not sure it matters, but I have the brown one. Still a committed Patagonia customer...but this one was a bit of a miss in my book.

February 7, 2020

Couldn't be happier: soft, light weight, warm, stylish

I am a huge fan of Patagonia's down jackets, particularly the Hi-Loft Down Hoody which I've had for years. I got this Silent Down Shirt (which is absolutely a jacket and not a shirt) recently and love it. As with the Hi-Loft Hoody, this jacket can keep you very warm in cold temps but I very rarely, if ever, get too hot in it. It's so... Read More soft and comfortable, looks great, and is super light weight. I highly recommend this jacket. I'm 6'1", 185lbs and the Medium fits perfectly.

January 24, 2020

Nice shirt-type jacket. Use it

Nice shirt-type jacket. Use it for what it is intended for like simple layer for short trips outdoors. When going into the cold for a longer time use a real jacket or use it as a layer. Nice cosy inner lining.

January 17, 2020

Great customer service !!

We purchased it for Christmas gift. One item was missing in time for Christmas, but the customer service was great !! That's why we love this company.

December 29, 2019

All Good

Fits well. Good color. Love the snaps.

December 26, 2019

Great jacket

Purchased as a gift for my husband. He likes it very much. The style is unique as it looks like a shirt but has the functionality of a down jacket. Warm enough, he says no need for extra layering in 30-40 degree weather. Blends in really nicely. Trendy style for the typical NYC commuter. He is happy with his purchase.

December 20, 2019

Toasty warm

Super light weight, comfortable

December 18, 2019

Excellent

First impression when i got this jacket was soft, comfy, light and stylish. Easily best feeling jacket i have owned. My favorite down jackets from Patagonia to date and happy about it Higly recommend

December 17, 2019

Almost perfect

I love the overall fit of the jacket. It's warm without being too puffy. My only gripe is with the cuffs. They are not adjustable and slide over my hands. I wish Patagonia added a second snap button on each cuff.

December 16, 2019

Amazing product as expected, with a caveat

A small amount of down feathers will poke through the jacket infrequently.

December 11, 2019

Magnificent

Words cannot really express how stoked I am on this jacket. All the soft, cozy, and functional chops of a technical piece with some casual/streetwear aesthetic. Beautiful color in the sage khaki. Signature eco and socially responsible Patagonia foundations. Perfect fit. Simply cannot lose with this piece....and I’m critical and picky as hell!

December 9, 2019

Good quality, fits a bit big.

Overall the quality is great. It keeps me warm, its silent and very easy to wear. However it is a bit big and the black color is not as black as my other Patagonia jackets.

November 14, 2019

Great shirt!

Great price, arrived on time, perfect fit!

October 9, 2019

Runs a tiny bit big.

Runs a tiny bit big. I'm between a M and LG and went M for casual wear (not layering underneath).

September 3, 2019

Not silent

Its a fine jacket, it is just nowhere near silent.

September 1, 2019

Good jacket

I gave 4 star only for the reaaon it has buttons instead of zip, rest everyrhing is good. Nixe cozy jacket.

May 11, 2019

Great jacket!

Is well made, breathes well, and keeps me warm in Chicago! What I've come to expect from this great brand :)

May 8, 2019

insulation and fit

got this late in the season so not a full winter's use yet. the insulation works great; very versatile as a layer and overall; the cut of the sleeves and collar are comfortable and the pockets are adequate - would be nice to have an inside breast pocket, or zipper seam one - the only improvement to suggest

March 8, 2019

Solid

Best jacket I own. Dresses up for work and functional and warm for early morning east coast surf checks

February 1, 2019

spot on

No complaints from me, its really comfortable and very warm. I will mos likely get another one soon in another color.

January 16, 2019

Losing feathers

I love the warmth of this jacket and the shirt-style look, but I've never had a Patagonia down garment that lost feathers at such an alarming rate (I've had multiple Down Sweaters, a Fitz Roy Parka, and and Ultralight Down Hoody ). I'm just wearing this casually to walk the dog and to/from the car at work, and there are always feathe... Read Morers poking through the fabric. I was schooled never to pull them out, which means I'm spending way too much time trying to keep them in. Is anyone else experiencing this?

January 14, 2019

Warm, Comfy & Stylish

I love jackets styled after button-up shirts, so this was a no-brainer for me. Fit is on the money, it runs longer than typical Patagonia down jackets which suits tall guys well. Super cozy and the collar stands nicely when flipped for extra protection. While still lightweight like most down jackets, it isn't as light & packable as the cla... Read Moressic. This is more for casual, everyday wear. The hand pockets are well-placed and very spacious. If I'm being nitpicky, an interior pocket & a zipper underneath the snap buttons would be a nice touch for full insulation when needed. But that's hardly necessary where I live, so I'm stoked. Warms me up proper after a winter surf on a cold day & looks sharp. I'll be wearing this for years.

December 2, 2018

Excellent style

Great retro styling and perfect within the bulk. As for Matt’s review, it naive to think it’s a “shirt” but rather the style resembles a shirt. Silly people.

November 17, 2018

Not as described (it’s a jacket not a shirt)

This garment is very nice, but it is a jacket, not a shirt. A down “shirt” would be rather thin, like a shirt, even down filled, and appropriate to have on under a jacket. This “shirt” is very puffy, bulky, and runs quite large. Putting a jacket over this “shirt” would be ridiculous. I love the products but just call this one a jacket with front po... Read Moreckets.

November 3, 2018

w

bout his down shirt under arm bit tight but overall very comfortable snaps bit to stiff to open and close

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches