burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Ws Iron Forge Hemp™ Canvas Barn Coat

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 64 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Iron Forge Hemp™ Canvas Barn Coat

4.4/5
Kinda Large
November 30, 2022

Very comfortable and well made

I had my eye on this jacket for ages, and its living up to my dreams, I love it! I'm a size XS but ended up getting it in S because it had sold out in my size, it is quite long, it covers most of my bum (I'm 5,2) It looks great zipped or unzipped, I usually wear it with a warm top and a fleece underneath if its super cold, the layers fit... Read More well and it doesn't feel suffocating at all. The pockets are wonderful! I like that they don't have flaps because you can just slide your hands in and they feel enveloped in warmth. The pocket on the inside of the coat is nice and big, a phone and a passport can fit inside. The chest pockets are also great, very easy to just pop things in, and nice and roomy. I like that the waist can be adjusted, it gives it a feminine fit. Just love this jacket so much!! Would definitely recommend and can be worth sizing up if you would like to wear layers underneath without feeling restricted. The packets are so useful, they're great for dropping my keys or phone in to.

November 2, 2022

Favorite jacket

Ive had this for a couple years now and I still love it. Its warm, comfortable and fits nice. Its held up really well to all sorts of abuse. I got tired of Carhartt making all their womens work wear pink and was so happy to see Patagonia came out with this line!

October 29, 2022

Very warm and well made

Im 5ft 10 and a UK size 10/12, athletic build with 34 inch bust and the medium fits perfectly. I have enough room to layer underneath but the coat is plenty warm on its own! Worth noting that if you have a curvier figure it might not fit on the hips as this complements a slim figure. Its worth every penny and I like the fact you can cinch it in to ... Read Moremake it slightly more feminine.

August 14, 2022

Good weight and insulation

This was a great purchase because the jacket fit true to size . I purchased a Medium. Love all the compartments and pockets . Insulated, good weight , but not too heavy. Love that it can be adjusted from the back .

April 25, 2022

Very comfortable

Really like this jacket. Warm and reasonable wind protection. The best thing about it in my opinion is that it's already nice and soft after a couple months and it's quiet. Holds up to briar and branches too.

April 21, 2022

Love it!

Another great jacket. I have the bomber jacket also for cold weather, but this one is nice because it is a little longer for more coverage in the colder months. I found the arms to be a little long, usually not a problem for me, but its great because you don't get that gap between the sleeve and your gloves. Great jacket to have for outdoor wo... Read Morerk.

April 12, 2022

Well made but

Biggest item is zipper which needs to be two way. Seems that Patagonia has been eliminating them. Sizing is frustrating. Had to exchange for medium which is a bit too large in order to wear more than just a shirt. Im a small build. Insulation is nice.

Response from Patagonia
April 14, 2022

Hey Abigail, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We typically reserve two way zippers for our parkas or technical belaying pieces, but we'll be sure to report this feedback to the design team. As always, if you find yourself unsatisfied, you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 31, 2022

Rugged Vibe

My mom purchased this coat and I fell in love with it. She is 58 140 lbs and ordered a medium. I went with a large being 510 and 170 lbs. the sleeves are nice and long which is usually where I run in to issues. I like the cinch waist that gives it more of a fitted feminine look since I was worried it would look boxy on myself. The weight of the jac... Read Moreket is heavy and the quality is top notch. It gives you the look of a Carhartt jacket.

March 18, 2022

Better Than Expected

Fantastic functional coat. Very flattering and classic neutral color. Nice long sleeve length. Great job Patagonia.

March 18, 2022

GREAT Jacket

This jacket is VERY well made! Lots of pockets and keeps you warm. Enough room for layering. Worth every penny

February 27, 2022

Warm, soft and great fit

This coat is a new favorite. Its warm without bulk and the fabric is much softer than I expected- the feel is well worn, not stiff or in need of break in. The material and hardware appear of solid quality and the construction makes for an excellent fit.

December 27, 2021

Fairly warm

The zipper teeth are cheap plastic and should be metal, mine broke and the coat was replaced by Patagonia. The pockets should have flaps that snap down if this is really. "Barn Coat". I am constantly fishing hay out of the nice deep pockets. Over all I am happy with the coat and glad it's Hemp.

Response from Patagonia
January 7, 2022

Hey Jenna, thanks for the review. We'll share your thoughts on the zipper and pockets with our design team. We're glad to hear that overall you're enjoying the coat though!

December 19, 2021

Odd fit

I started with a small (I'm 5' 2" and 110 lbs.), which was tight in the armpits and arms making it difficult to move and wear warm layers under it. The hips were also a bit tight as other reviewers have noted, and sleeves a bit long. I exchanged for a medium and had the same issues with the fit except the sleeves were even longer. To... Read More top it off, for the same price the men's has reinforced shoulders, snap lower pockets with hand-warmer pockets behind, plus a large pocket in the back for gloves/other essentials. I was trying to replace an old Carhart women's arctic chore coat from the late 90's that is in tatters (yes, they used to make one identical to the men's), and this is not as warm as that. Although I like the adjustable cuff on this, the long slit lets a lot of wind up your sleeve. On the plus side, I love the material and basic style of the jacket. I ended up getting an extra small men's ranch jacket which fits much better, except of course, the sleeves are long and I wish it were a little warmer for Upper Peninsula Michigan weather. It has a ribbed cuff on the inside which is also nice, for the gap issue. There are also snaps in addition to the zippered front. They could combine the best features of these two styles and make petites for women to make a great jacket.

Response from Patagonia
December 21, 2021

Hi Joanne! Thank you for sharing your experience with this coat. Our Product Design Team is always interested in our customer feedback and suggestions.

December 15, 2021

Great design but fit not for a real womans figures

Love this jacket- details, fabric and design perfect for my needs. Unfortunately, Patagonia does not understand womans fit at all. We are not all 58 and weighing 110. The sleeves on this were far too long and overall cut too slim for most women. Too bad, it is a really nice jacket otherwise.

Response from Patagonia
December 16, 2021

Hi Kathy, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sad to hear that coat's fit was disappointing. We want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us, and if you like we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

December 13, 2021

Great Jacket

I love this jacket. I'm a small in Patagonia jackets (5'3 125, pretty flat chested) but I prefer my jackets to be a little on the large side. This jacket is really comfortable and moves easily, unlike Carhartt's which can be really stiff. The lining makes the jacket nice and warm and I think its an attracting and very nice piece. I&#... Read Morex27;m very pleased with this purchase. I had been considering ordering this jacket for months and am so glad that I did.

December 8, 2021

Protection!

I bought the jacket to save my lightweight down coats from the blackberry bushes we had to clear. It holds up to everything, and washes beautifully! It is my go-to clear brush, build trail coat.

November 17, 2021

Excellent Barn & Farm Coat

I love this jacket! I was distraught when I had to send it in for a repair on the waist buckle, however I chose to do that at the launch of summer when I knew it wouldn't be needed during warm weather. I do have a couple of design suggestions... 1. Oiled canvas or a more water repellant shoulder surface (washable of course). I'm in the Se... Read Moreattle area and wear this in the rain quite often. There have been several occasions that I've had to change out coats because it's become drenched. 2. Pull-out pocket liners. Ugh! My pockets get full of hay all of the time and there's no way to dump it out before I throw this in the wash. 3. A top and bottom zipper. Perhaps adding two zippers for zipping up and also expanding the bottom of the jacket for riding to relieve tightness around the hips and ease of movement. 4. Love the left chest pocket but it could be a little deeper so my phone doesn't fall out when I bend over. It is perfect for having it on speaker and holding a conversation while being hands free. The quilting weight is perfect and I got a size that I could wear a hoody or fleece underneath for really cold days. I have Carhartt jackets and hoodies and EVERY single one of them has had the zippers fail. I'm so happy with the quality of this Patagonia jacket. Love it!

November 1, 2021

Style + Function

LOVE this jacket. I was going back & forth between this and the "All Seasons Hemp Canvas Bomber Hoody" but I'm now very confident I made the right decision. I've received so many compliments and have only had it for 3 weeks! I wear this jacket everywhere - quick walk around the block with the dog, to the grocery store, doin... Read Moreg yard work, hiking, etc. It's very warm but also super functional and easy to be active in. It does run a little bit large - I have a Patagonia nanopuff in XS which fits perfectly, and I would say this runs at least 1 size larger than that fit. But I'm happy with the size since it leaves plenty of room for layering. The small details are what make this jacket AMAZING though...I love that I can adjust the wrist buttons to be wider or smaller, and there's an adjustable waste belt (not sure I'm describing this quite right) on either side so you can adjust to be a little more fitted if you desire.

October 13, 2021

Great coat

This barn coat is almost perfect. The only thing I wish it had were zippered bottom pockets. I cant seem to keep the hay out when Im feeding the horses. And a pet peeve of mine is hay in my pockets once its in there, its always there. No more soft cozy pockets. ️

August 9, 2021

Awkward Fit

Fell in love with this jacket when I saw it online! First, ordered the Med. and it fit around the shoulders, arm length and bust, but the hip area was way to tight, could not zip it up. Very disappointing. Exchanged for a Large and it was big all over. Nice jacket but not loose enough. Ordered the Chore Jacket and hoping it fits right!

Response from Patagonia
August 11, 2021

Hi Lupe, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the fit wasn't quite right. We definitely appreciate this feedback as its crucial to improving products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

June 25, 2021

Super stylish and rugged at the same time

The jacket is warm, sturdy and super stylish! I love it! Met my expectations and more.

February 25, 2021

Warm coat; needs a few changes

I bought a medium size based upon other reviews...needed that to accommodate my shoulders. Overall the coat is true to size except in the shoulders...at 5'4.5 and 113 pounds, the shoulder issue is not about weight for me. I had to get a coat that was large for my small frame to get the shoulder room I needed. It is nice that the collar will st... Read Moreand up...it would be even better if there was a snap or button to keep the collar upright and closed for warmth on windy days. As others have noted, one chest pocket is open...it would be better to have a zipper or snap to close that pocket. I liked the dark ash color...this would be a 5 star jacket if the issues noted were fixed. It is warm and durable.

February 17, 2021

Lovely coat... A little bit roomy!

This is definitely the nicest coat that I own. It has a lot of great features and you can tell it is really sturdy. It is super warm and comfy. I also LOVE how soft the pockets feel inside! The only thing that dissapointed me slightly is that it is a bit too big for me. The website recommended that I get a size Large! But I went for Medium because ... Read Morethe measurements didn't seem right. I am 5ft 8 and a slim build, there is quite a bit of of room between the coat and my stomach. I'm not too bothered because it means I can wear layers underneath - but I also live in the UK where it's not that cold all year round... so I think I would've preferred a size Small, but it was out of stock :-(

February 1, 2021

Nice jacket but....

I bought this jacket to replace my Carhartt work jacket that I find cumbersome. Unfortunately, I was disappointed because although it had plenty of room through the shoulders and sleeves, the lower part of the jacket when zipped was very snug. I am not a hippy gal! It needs a double vent at the back to make it equestrian friendly. I like the materi... Read Moreal and style so much that I just might make the vents myself, though for the price Patagonia should do this!

January 27, 2021

long arms, small hip

The quality and feel of this jacket are amazing but the fit is really disappointing. I am 5'8 and a size 8 in pants. The sleeves on this jacket are obviously too long and it's very small in the hips and rides up. I might try the men's version, though these fit issues are usually what i expect from men's jackets which is why this... Read More was so disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
March 2, 2021

We're sorry to hear the fit wasn't quite right on this coat, Isabel! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you return it. You might appreciate the unlined Chore Coat, or the Bomber Hoody for a bit more room at the hem.

January 20, 2021

Disappointed

I was really hopeful in this barn jacket - the material is anti-snag and rugged. But it is too tight in the shoulders to be able to move comfortably. The product is also extremely heavy for the amount of warmth it provides. I would have kept it despite the weight, but the fit just wasn't right. It felt like it would tug and pull and restrict m... Read Morey movement - I need something that will let me stack hay and ride horses without wasting muscle on restrictive clothing! The zipper was also super-cheap - not rugged enough to withstand any actual work.

January 10, 2021

Beautiful Jacket

First of all I never write reviews, but I purchased this jacket after searching several Barn Coat styles online by many well known companies. This jacket by far exceeded my expectations. The craftsmanship and details that went into this coat are well worth the price. The outside is soft with no stiffness or need to break in. The pockets are big eno... Read Moreugh for your hands to fit comfortably. The big zipper slides up and down perfectly. The lined inside I thought was red, is actually a burnt orange color and goes way better with the outside tan color than a red would. Its not too bulky and is still feminine. Its county meets outdoorsy feel, and reminds me of growing up in the country and taking trips to Yosemite. If your looking for a beautiful yet warm and functional jacket then this is for you. Thank you for creating this new line and keep up the good work!

December 28, 2020

Great Jacket

I bought this for my daughter for earlier in December. She loves it and has worn it every day.

December 28, 2020

Great Quality and Style

This coat is well made, warm and durable. It has a great cut and is adjustable. Exceeded my expectations.

December 10, 2020

Sturdy and comfortable

I like the weight of it. Well constructed. Good for morning dog walks. Also nice looking.

October 27, 2020

Hemp farmer in Michigan

I work on a hemp farm in Ann Arbor, Michigan and this coat stops the wind. It's flexible and warm and has great pockets. I wanted a feminine cut jacket as well as a tough work coat. I bought it a little large so I can wear a vest under it. This is a great coat. Thank You Patagonia.....

October 27, 2020

Hemp farmer in Michigan

I work on a hemp farm in Ann Arbor, Michigan and this coat stops the wind. It's flexible and warm and has great pockets. I wanted a feminine cut jacket as well as a tough work coat. This is it. Thank You Patagonia.....

October 14, 2020

Collar Issue

Let's start with the pros: great fabric, super warm, nice fit. Patagonia is one of the only brands that actually makes quality workwear for women, and I hope that continues. I'm sad to return this jacket because of a construction issue causing the collar join seam to come apart. (right out of the box, I did not wear it once) I think a fu... Read Morell collar stand instead of a partial stand would help solve this. This also makes for a strange collar spread at the front. I would also suggest removing the side cinching tab and buckle. This should be a hard working, wood chopping jacket, it doesn't need any vanity components hanging off it to get in the way or get caught on something.

Response from Patagonia
December 4, 2020

Hi Meg, we're so sorry to hear that your Women's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Barn Coat arrived with the collar falling apart. We'd be more than happy to help out with a return or exchange. Please feel free to begin either process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

April 22, 2020

Love it!

Love this jacket, very comfortable fits great true to size, and looks great on. Would love to see lighter weight work pants in womans.

December 17, 2019

Coat for all seasons

The material and construction is exactly as described on the web site. I'm 5'3" and about 125 lb and medium is a good fit with regular layer underneath. I can zip it up and be warm in 40F weather. The inside of the pockets are actively soft and quite deep so it is very handy if you are working outside with this jacket on. If anythin... Read Moreg can be rugged and stylish at the same time, this coat is.

December 5, 2019

Canvas Barn Coat Rocks!

Very warm and stylish for barnyard attire. Well made of sturdy fabric and double and triple stitched. We like the inside zipper pocket.

November 27, 2019

It's amazing, warm, good fit,

It's amazing, warm, good fit, and great for chores!

November 16, 2019

durable and great looking

wow- have waited for years to replace another brand barn coat - the wait was worth it!

November 14, 2019

Best work coat ever

The fit is perfect and roomy exactly like the description!!! It is so warm and perfect for throwing on in the morning and evening to feed.

November 11, 2019

Ws Iron Forge Canvas Barn Coat

I was looking for a sturdy work coat. I work for an Environmental Non Profit, and being out in the elements when it is cold, I wanted a coat that was sturdy, yet comfortable and warm, and this coat is perfect!

November 11, 2019

Love this coat

It is so cozy to wear on a cold day. I like having the deep hand-warming pockets and all the other pockets, including the interior hidden pocket to hold another pair of glasses. I love the rustic, yet kool look and color. I am only 5 ft. tall so the coat is just a bit too long I thought, but then I got used to the look. Also had to fold up the slee... Read Moreves. I ordered a small.

November 7, 2019

Barn coat

I love that this coat has a zipper not buttons that get caught on round bale hay netting. It is warm but still allows for full movement in the shoulders. I wish it had another interior pocket, one isn't enough.

November 5, 2019

iron forge hemp

first time with Hemp...….nice material...soft ..strong.. I have found my favorite jacket....

November 5, 2019

Not for smaller women

Designed for taller women with narrow shoulders.. The small was very long with only adequate width in the shoulders - not much room for layers. I am 5'3" and 115 lbs.

November 4, 2019

Stylish and functional

Great jacket, very comfy and warm. Can go straight from working in the yard to grabbing coffee in town. I wavered between an XS and a S - the XS was a more tailored fit but ultimately too tight in my shoulders. I like that you can cinch the jacket in for a more tailored fit.

October 16, 2019

Amazing quality and trendy alternative to boxy barn coats from other brands

This coat is really great. The material is super hardy but supple so it's not uncomfortable to wear. The fit is nicely flattering. Pockets are lined with a super soft cotton, and coat lining is soft also. I am 5'4", 165lbs, busty, and the M fits perfectly. I am happy that I did NOT size down as the website suggests, but I think that ... Read Morerecommendation is really for slimmer women with smaller busts/hips. Very great coat.

October 10, 2019

Love it

Totally in love with it. Originally I ordered an XS, normally I wear a size Small but the description suggested ordering a size down. I ended up returning the XS and exchanging it for a Small. I have pretty long arms and the Small is perfect. Not baggy with enough room to wear a layer underneath for extra warmth. I’m 5’4 and 115lbs.

August 12, 2019

Rugged City Slicker

Love this jacket for the fall and winter. I'm 5'10" in a M and it's a wee tight over my 36C's but fits nonetheless! It's a great addition to my wardrobe and I love its contrast with my city wear. I live in the country and work in Philadelphia, so this is the perfect style to blend those two opposites together. I'm... Read More over fancy coats for my daily commute, so looking forward to living in this one for years to come. Great fit with a modern but classic style!

August 10, 2019

Forge Hemp Canvas barn coat.

I bought the barn coat for ranch work, it is perfect. Love the fit and you can make it a bit more fitted with the side adjustment. Highly recommend

May 9, 2019

I sent it back. I

I sent it back. I love Patagonia. I have been wearing your clothing for over three decades. I have never experienced such wild sizing. It’s not consistent. I’m so excited about the fabrics of the workwear but the cuts and the sizing are so off.

Response from Patagonia
June 5, 2019

We're very sorry to hear you're disappointed with the sizing. Please don't hesitate to contact our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you'd like to inquire about your refund.

March 21, 2019

Love It! But it is Sooo heavy!

Love the jacket but it feels wearing it with weights

January 16, 2019

A plus

This is my work coat. It is warm, protective, and totally comfortable. I am 5’6in, 125 lbs. I hesitatly purchased an XS based on the size and fit guide, i ordinarily would of ordered a S taking layering into account. I’m happy I got an XS! I typically wear a long sleeve T-shirt and a very thin down jacket under my Barn Coat to work outdoors in temp... Read Mores often between -10- 20 degrees. This coat has served me well! As a bonus, it looks great. It transitions well into street well.

January 10, 2019

Near perfect

Just got the coat today and can’t take it off. Very warm comfortable and streamlined. Only complaint is the fabric in the pockets is too synthetic feeling(and thin), not comfortable. I am going to get it altered with corduroy. :)

January 6, 2019

awesome jacket

i was looking for a warm jacket, and this jacket fits the bill. hemp is such a sturdy material, and for cold/windy weather, this jacket is perfect. i am 5'5" and 140lbs, S worked just fine for me. i could fit a thinner sweater or a baselayer under without a problem.

December 14, 2018

Great...except the pockets

I love this coat, great for barn work. But why dies the men’s version have a flap on the pocket and this does not?!? The hay in the picket is a real issue. Other than that design flaw, I love it. I’m 5’9”, 145lbs and the medium fits me well.

November 27, 2018

Great coat!

Living in Florida, it’s hard to find a versatile coat. We go from 89* to 50* in 24hrs. That said, this jacket is WARM, not bulky, and can be worn for nearly any occasion. It was true to size based on the Patagonia website suggestion. Though FL is just beginning to cool off, I’m thoroughly looking forward to staying warm!

November 23, 2018

Great coat but could use a back vent for movement

I have liked this jacket for the most- for not too much bulk it keeps me really warm on cold winter days in freezing temps if layered. The only fit modification I would suggest is a back vent to allow better fit/ freedom of movement over hips since this coat hits right at the hip. I have a size 29 waist and 41" hips, the medium is best fit in ... Read Moretorso and arms but too snug hitting at the hip.

November 6, 2018

Women's Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Barn Coat

This jacket should be a five star item: well designed, no velcro, very warm, roomy enough for a warm sweater for extreme cold if you order a size up. However, the jacket needs one modification: a flap on the front pockets. For those of us throwing hay over the fence for horses, these pockets accumulate hay. After emptying the pockets outside, you p... Read Moreluck off as much as you can from the little pieces left on the wonderfully soft and warm pocket lining when you go inside. A flap on each pocket would solve this problem!

October 4, 2018

Best. Coat. Ever.

I love this coat! It's hands down the best work coat I have ever owned. I purchased this coat to wear while working on our property and wore it for the first time today to tend to my flock of backyard chickens. Not only is it comfortable and warm, but also easy to work in with no binding or tightness anywhere. I'm 5'8" and 120 l... Read Morebs. so ordered a small, which fit perfectly. The tabs on the back of the coat are a great feature and allow me to cinch the coat in a bit so it doesn't feel bulky at all. The materials and construction used in this coat are top quality so I know I will be wearing it for years to come. An all around fantastic work coat!

May 18, 2018

It's summer and I don't want to take this off

See title. But in all seriousness,this jacket is fantastic. The material is soft yet feels durable,it looks great on,it's warm,and fits great. I like the adustable straps on the back in case I want to make it tighter fitting or let it be looser for layering underneath. I'm 5'6" 130lbs and I got a small which was perfect. The sl... Read Moreeeves could be ever so slightly longer but I also have long arms so am used to that problem. I live in Idaho where cold and wind are a constant in every day Life and this jacket should be great for an every day piece in fall,winter and spring.

May 12, 2018

Great jacket,but poor fit for me

I'm giving this 4 stars,because it's a great jacket,but for me the fit was off. I'm 5'5",107 lbs. and ordered an XS. The jacket was too long for me,and it was longer in the front than the back. It's a very straight up and down cut,so I found it somewhat narrow at the hips,but quite roomy through the chest. It might fit... Read More a larger chested person about my size better (I'm an A),and that might correct the longer front length issue I had. But just with the jacket lying flat on a table,the front of the jacket is longer than the back. I found the sleeves to be just barely long enough when reaching,but about right with my arms down. My arms are about average,maybe slightly shorter than average. For reference,the XS measures approx. 19.5" armpit to armpit,and about the same across the bottom of the hip area. The sleeve is approx. 21" armpit to cuff.

December 7, 2017

Great Work Coat!

I bought this coat a little over a month ago and have been wearing it for work and chores ever since. It is soft,comfortable,warm,and functional. I am 5'8" and 140 pounds,and the size small is a perfect fit. It does have one design flaw,which is that the angle of the pocket openings,while easy to slip a phone or chapstick into,are also pe... Read Morerfectly oriented so that they fill up with hay when I'm throwing hay over fences or out of the back of my truck. Other than the hay-in-the-pockets it's a 5 star keeper for sure.

November 19, 2017

I love this coat!!!!!!

I have had this coat about a month and it is soo comfy wumfy!! And warm! and durable and beautifully crafted. It is roomy enough to move freely,including enough room in the shoulders and fit a sweater underneath. And it looks nice in a work coat kind of way and the pockets are useful. Well tailored for the job!

November 5, 2017

Great jacket!

I love this jacket. The style is great. For being a barn style jacket it is much softer than I expected. It's very comfortable and the liner is warm all over. I've been looking for something like this for a long time. I've had men's jackets before but they never quite hit the mark. I'm just to small for a men's jacket ... Read Moreas hard as I might try. My only beef with an otherwise fantastic coat are the sleeves are just a bit long (perfect fit if I keep the cuffs rolled up) however, it's possible I should have gotten a size smaller but I just like having a little extra room and I'm shorted a couple of pockets the men's coat has but I suppose it's not huge loss since I love this jacket so much.

August 1, 2017

Super Nice "Carhartt-esque" Work Jacket.

I stopped by the Patagonia store in Portland today and was so excited to see this jacket (and also the "matching" double knee pants and farrier's shirt). I love it that Patagonia created a Workwear line for men AND women,and that the women's versions are basically the same as the men's - similar colors,cuts,etc. So happy th... Read Moreat the women's versions exist,and that they are not pink or turquoise or with a silly flowered lining,etc. The only difference seems to be that the women's version has two cinch straps with buckles. And here I would ask,WHY? Just because we are women does not mean we need/want extra features like buckles. This is supposed to be a work jacket - it should be straightforward and simple. If the men's version does not need buckles,I'm sure us ladies can make due without them as well. Also,why is the women's version $20 more than the men's version??? Other than that,my only complaint is that while the size S clearly is the right size for me,the sleeves are super short. I wish Patagonia would err on the side of making sleeves and overall lengths an inch or two longer,rather than shorter. For anyone curious about size,I wear a M in most Patagonia jackets (Nano Air,Nano Puff,Better Sweater,Down Sweater,etc). In this jacket,the size M was too large (though at least the sleeves fit).

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches