Back to Product

Ms Better Sweater™ Jacket

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 676 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Better Sweater™ Jacket

4.5/5
Kinda Large
January 22, 2022

Warm & Cozy Fleece

This is the second one I have purchased, just in the same color. The first was a Christmas present for my partner. He has literally worn it every day since opening the package. Because he was wearing every day - around the house and outside - I decided he needed a second one, in another color. So I bought a second for his birthday, which is in Janu... Read Moreary. He loves them both. He says they fit perfectly and are super cozy.

January 22, 2022

Love it!

I bought one in Light Khaki XL and it fits me perfectly. I'm 6'4", 200lbs. Bought another within a month in Nickel. Going to pick one up in New Navy shortly. They fit well, very comfy and well made. I get tons of compliments on them. Highly Recommend!

January 18, 2022

Given as a Gift

I purchased this sweater for my son in law for Christmas, he already has one from 2 Christmases ago in a different color that he loves. He loves the fit and comfort of Patagonia wear. My only complaint is I sent back a half zip sweater after Christmas and still have not been credited for it.

January 18, 2022

Warm

Great fit for my college grandson.

January 18, 2022

Very Comfortable

These jackets are very comfortable to wear at any time of the year. It will keep you warm if it's an extremally cold day but can still be worn as a comfortable pull over on a typical fall day. I would recommend this to anyone, no matter where you are.

January 18, 2022

Highly Recommend

The materials are great, an ideal jacket under a parka or casual winter wear. Not ideal below 35 degrees very comfortable in the jacket on sizing. Im a active person on body shape. Great work Patagonia.

January 17, 2022

Very comfortable

My son usually takes a medium but felt it a bit too tight of a fit. Large was perfect

January 15, 2022

Very comfortable

Very comfortable and warm.

January 12, 2022

Another Patagonia homer

This is my third Better Sweater. I gave my first two to my adult children because it is an essential piece of winter wear in the northern states. I definitely recommend Patagonia's Better Sweater.

January 12, 2022

Great Jacket

Love this sweater jacket so much that I bought one for my husband, who loves it. Not only is it sustainable but warm and looks good. Would definitely recommend this product

January 12, 2022

perfect

It is perfect for me and winter. This jacket plus layers is terrific. With my 2000 storm coat I can handle anything.

January 11, 2022

Warm and comfortable

Purchased the Better Sweater Fleece Jacket and I am happy with the purchase. The jacket is warm and comfortable which is suitable for Southern California. I also like the sustainability efforts by the company. I am sure I will buy other Patagonia products in the future.

January 10, 2022

Better sweater

Lovely quality, and a great colour (green)! I have a “fuller” figure, and the XXL was nice and long in the body (to cover my belly!) The one downside was that it is “just” a little long in the sleeves.

January 10, 2022

Warmth on a cool day

This sweater was purchased to replace a worn fleece sweater. It does that well and looks nice. The fit is slim compared to the fleece it is replacing.

January 10, 2022

Super warm.

I purchased this for my Sons Christmas present. He loved the way it fit. He loved the fabric. It was true to size. Very impressed with the all over quality.

January 10, 2022

Its not super warm, but dense and allows some chill to come in, which is perfect for me.

Its a bit dense, but still able to let some air in which is fine with me as I dont abide too warmish sweaters.

January 9, 2022

Great sweater

Love this!!

January 9, 2022

Comfy and warm

Runs true to size and is super comfortable per owner of the sweater! Great quality product

January 9, 2022

Comfortable

Warm and feels comfortable at work. Its great feel and quality material as a travel nurse I want something that is quality and will hold up. I can tell it will meet those standards.

January 9, 2022

Well made

I saw this in a shop and was reluctant until I put one on! Guys we can feel quality right? This is like a tailored suit feels so good. Warm, and best of all handsome!

January 9, 2022

Excellent

Really nice material would definitely recommend Thankyou

January 9, 2022

Warm Comfortable

Very comfortable go to jacket for colder days where dont quite need a down jacket

January 7, 2022

👍

👍

January 6, 2022

Versatile and Extremely comfortable.

I bought a second better sweater in black just because I loved my stone grey one so much. Ha! Its my favorite zip up jacket that I own. Amazing for a fall day, and makes an EXCEPTIONAL layer piece under a down sweater coat if you live in a cold climate like I do during the winter season. 10/10 recommend getting one. You wont be disappointed. You ma... Read Morey even buy 2 like I did. LOL.

January 5, 2022

Warm without being too bulky.

My husband loved his first better sweater so much that I got him another one!

January 5, 2022

Comfortable

I'm 130 pounds and 5' 7" and usually I purchase size XS because I prefer true size

January 4, 2022

vanity sizing

cant believe that patagonia is vanity sizing now. make sure you order down one size if you want your sweater to fit properly.

January 4, 2022

Husband Loves This Sweater

We got one of these Better Sweaters a few years ago on sale and my husband likes it so much he wanted another one. He wears them all the time.

January 4, 2022

Cool

Cool

January 3, 2022

Unofficial Doctor's Uniform

Comfortable. Warm. Stylish. Pockets. Glorious.

January 3, 2022

DOESNT FIT

58 150lb male Bought medium size which was tight so exchanged at local Patagonia shop for large size. Unfortunately this was too large so will return. Perhaps Ill try Womens large

January 3, 2022

Slightly baggy but very comfortable

Would recommend trying on a sweater in-store before buying it. For me, medium was a tad bit tight and large fits but a bit too big at the chest and waist (that's probably just the style). Normally a large for jackets though. Sweater has been comfortable enough that I bought a second one in a different color a week after wearing the first one c... Read Moreontinuously. Minor complaint if I had any is the Better Sweater could have better wind resistance. Felt chilly with it on in 50F temp with wind using it as outer-layer.

January 2, 2022

Amazing

Just perfect in every way, if you don't have one get one, if you already have one, get another one :)

January 1, 2022

My husband was delighted with

My husband was delighted with this. Great fit, lovely material.

December 31, 2021

My Son Loved it!!

My son loved this jacket. He always wanted one but didn't want to splurge on himself. Glad we purchased it. It looks great on him and he loves it.

December 31, 2021

Great Item

This jacket fits great!

December 30, 2021

Cool sweater

Bought this jacket for our 28 year old son as a Christmas gift.We went with the blue colour.Super cool pattern.Excellent fit.Excellent quality.Well worth the price.Patagonia service is superb.Next day delivery.We are purchasing another Patagonia sweater now for our 25 year old!

December 30, 2021

Mega high quality

Mega high quality

December 29, 2021

Fit

The sweater runs slim on the body. Looks great a must have for a sporty casual lifestyle.

December 29, 2021

Ms better sweater jacket 👍🏻

I am very impressed with this product. The idea of wearing a jacket made with a % of recycled plastic is impressive and a great step forward for our world. Keep up the good work Patagonia. 👍🏻

December 29, 2021

Patagonia doesnt miss

This is my 3rd better sweater and I love it. Quality of finishing is superb. Fit is true to size. Keeps me warm and looks good. Definitely recommend.

December 29, 2021

Great looking

Bought for my Grandson. He loves it!

December 28, 2021

I now have 4

I now have 4 better sweaters and I wear them to work every day.

December 28, 2021

Must buy!

Great soft fleece to wear every day!

December 28, 2021

Super warm and comfy!

Jacket was a little big but after a machine wash and dry it shrunk to fit perfectly. I'm a bigger build with broad shoulders and a broad chest. I recommend sizing down if you're in question between sizes. Overall, I love the jacket. 10/10 would buy again.

December 27, 2021

Husband Gift

I bought this jacket as a gift for my husband and he absolutely loves it! Great quality and fits true to size!

December 27, 2021

A super Gift

This was a gift for my husband.He knows it will be very warm and stylish.He has several Patagonia products and appreciates to quality of each item.We will continue to purchase your fine clothes.

December 27, 2021

Very warm

I got this sweater for my husbands Christmas present. He is 58 and around 130lb so S size is perfect for him. He said its very warm and comfortable. He really loves this sweater so he ordered another color.

December 26, 2021

Husband loves it

Great quality! My husband is 6 and 190lbs! He needed a warmer yet lighter jacket and this is perfect for San Diego, CA weather!

December 26, 2021

I like this!

This is a great piece. Fits well, great new color (to me, at least). Its very warm on its own, but theres room to put a layer or two underneath. I recommend this fleece.

December 26, 2021

nice but almost too "true to size"

The quarter zip Better Sweater are great and are the new uniform of certain office stiffs like myself. The only complaint I have about this full zip model is that it is basically exactly the same fit as the other one... you can't fit anything beside a t or button up underneath. If you size up to wear as a jacket, it's proportionally bigge... Read Morer in every way... i.e. the sleeves are super long. It just becomes ill fitting, not "oversized." The retro design fleeces like the Snap-T and Retro-X are a better choice for sizing up for an oversized fit. I wish Patagonia made a couple more retro 90s relaxed fit items

December 26, 2021

Warm

Good quality and warm

December 26, 2021

Great

Got a size small first but the sleeves where kind of long so ended up exchanging it for an xs and it fits perfectly... its perfect for any occasion !

December 24, 2021

Perfect!

It was everything I wanted and more. Super comfortable, great fit. Flattering to the cut of my jib!

December 23, 2021

They Keep Messing with Sizes.

I am a daily wearer and huge fan of Patagonia. But will never understand why they continuously have to tinker with sizes. I've recently discovered that the Better Sweater jacket is perfect for me. I have 2 that I wear from SPRING 2019 that fit perfectly. Wear around the house, as a jacket, as a midlayer. Just got my new one and it is so small... Read More and slim it feels like 2 sizes too small. I don't get it. Waste of time . Now have to wait weeks for a refund and a repurchase of the larger size that apparently I have to buy

Response from Patagonia
December 24, 2021

Hi there! Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Better Sweater Jacket. We're so sorry to hear the fit of the newer model wasn't right for you, especially after you've been happy with our products for so long. This feedback is super helpful for our designers, so that we can continuously improve our products. If you ordered through our website you can exchange any product that isn't working for you for a different size without having to repurchase it; we release the new item when we get your return back. You can find that link here: [Auto Exchange](https://returns.narvar.com/patagonia/returns).

December 21, 2021

Even XS is too big

I had the same better sweater from a couple years ago, and the XS fit me well (I'm short and athletic, 5'6" 145lbs). This version in an XS is baggy and boxy even after trying to shrink it!

Response from Patagonia
December 22, 2021

We're sorry to hear this jacket isn't working for you. We don't recommend intentionally shrinking it, as it could ruin the jacket entirely. You may prefer one of our [fleece jackets](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-fleece?prefn1=fit&prefv1=slim) designed in a "slim" fit.

December 20, 2021

Helpful and warm

Its a good sweater for work, and ocasional wearing. Works good from 40° to 60° Fahrenheit for me.

December 18, 2021

The best!

I have 4 of the above jackets in different colors just because they are great. Warm, cozy, comfortable and fits perfect. No matter how many times you wash it, always looks good.

December 18, 2021

Its warm

Fits nicely, like its made for me.

December 18, 2021

medium weight

I was between a large and an large x.Large is perfect. Not a slim fit.

December 18, 2021

Staying warm in the office

Bought this to stay warm in the office and its pretty awesome. Love it.

December 17, 2021

Warm and Stylish

This sweater is the nicest warmest jacket I have ever owned. The fit is true to size and the sweater is made with the highest quality materials. Made to withstand the test of everyday life and time.

December 14, 2021

These are fantastic

I own several of these. I bought this one in large so I could wear it over a canvas or flannel shirt. I am between medium and large in just about all Patagonia clothes at 5-10/180 (+/- 5 pounds).

December 12, 2021

Comfortable but

Ive owned this garment now for a while. The fit is good and the fabric is comfortable with one proviso. This jacket is totally worthless when theres the slightest breeze.I love Patagonia and the products they offer, but this garment is a huge disappointment.

December 11, 2021

Material now cheaper, flimsier, thinner. Not worth the price IMO.

I have this same sweater from 2 years ago and decided to buy a new one since the original was showing age. I compared them side to side. The material is noticeably thinner than my old one, and this cheapens the look since it's flimsier, looser fitting and more wrinkled. Very disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
December 14, 2021

Hey Chris, we're sorry to hear of the disappointment with the Better Sweater Fleece Jacket. The main difference you'll find is we went from 0% to 100% recycled polyester fabric and trims. We're sorry to hear that you're not a fan of these changes, and we'll share your input with the team. If you'd still like an older version you're always welcome to check [Worn Wear](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/).

December 10, 2021

Versatile, warm fleece jacket

I bought the Better Sweater Jacket in the Dark Borealis Green. I really like the color and it is very soft and warm. It is definitely not a technical fleece as it's not the lightest weight and not wind/weather resistant. Therefore, in my opinion, it's best suited for casual wear. It transitions well between office and leisure, business ca... Read Moresual to casual. It works well with a pair of jeans or khakis; T-shirts, henleys, and collared shirts and it is comfortable and keeps you warm as long as there is not a whole lot of wind. I prefer using my R2 Techface jacket when outdoors in breezy conditions for extended periods of time and when engaging in more active pursuits outside. My one minor issue with this jacket is that the sleeve cuffs are not quite tight enough. The sleeves are a decent length for a jacket, but since the cuffs seem a bit loose, the jacket sleeves hang down a bit and sometimes get in the way of my hands. The sleeves don't stay up when you pull the sleeves up which can get a bit annoying especially when washing your hands. I tried a Better Sweater Jacket a couple years ago and found the exact opposite- the sleeves, particularly in the forearms and cuffs, were too tight to the point that it would be difficult to wear a thin long sleeve under it. Maybe Patagonia changed the sleeves(?) and went a little too loose (?) Other than that, awesome, warm, cozy and comfortable casual fleece jacket.

December 10, 2021

Better sweater full zip

Great fit and very warm

December 10, 2021

Excellent kit

These are great sweaters I love the weight and really like the full zip version. I tend to overheat on occasion with the quarter zip version but these can be unzipped. These are great for layering and on their own.

December 7, 2021

Fit is perfect

Fit is perfect. Love your fleece jackets.

December 7, 2021

Perfect Fit

6'0 and 170 lb male. Had large in the past and it was slightly baggy. The medium fit perfectly. Love the pockets on the side. Zipper is nice to be able to take on and off easily for work. Super comfortable and warm

December 5, 2021

City and country

I love this piece has body length l need .substantial feel very warm feels great .. Im a sweater guy .

December 5, 2021

Super warm

Feel nice

December 4, 2021

Love the look

The quality of the product is excellent. Good quality will last for years. I have had my eye on this for a while. Glad I bought it!

December 3, 2021

The year-round go-to

It's become my absolute default jacket inside and out, leading to selling some other jackets that are now obsolete! Very happy with the purchase.

December 1, 2021

Good sweater

I wear it at work, looks great.

December 1, 2021

Okay, but....

I am 5'10" and 190 lbs with a 34 sleeve length and I ordered a medium. While the fit was good in the body and length, and the sleeves weren't tight like other reviewers have commented, the sleeves were too long. If there was elastic to keep the sleeves from extending so far past your wrist it be better. So it not only looks long and ... Read Moresloppy while wearing, but having the cuffs hitting the middle of the back of my hand is annoying. Also, as other reviewers have stated, the zipper seems flimsy. I would have expected a much sturdier zipper for the price.

November 30, 2021

Another color!

Gift for my husband. He loves the new color and great fit!

November 28, 2021

Cool pattern, but different feel

This is my 5th better sweater. IMO they are the BEST fleeces on the market. Got this one because of the pattern and needed one more in my winter rotation. My only complaints are that its a bit boxy around the waist, and not as soft as the other better sweater material. But from experience with my others, it will shrink a bit with drying.

November 27, 2021

QUALITY QUALITY QUALITY

Love my purchase . Jacket is very well made. It's sturdy with zippers reinforced. It shouts excellent workmanship and worth the purchase price. Only sorry it isn't a bit bigger as O would wear a sweater underneath the jacket ALL IN ALL FABULOUS

November 27, 2021

We love it!!

This is the best jacket everno other words.

November 23, 2021

Super Warm

This is a very warm fleece. I like that it has a zippered breast pocket along with zippered hand. It is a nice slim fit so I can easily wear it under a down jacket without adding bulk.

November 22, 2021

Best in class

Its a nice fit, durable and warm

November 18, 2021

not a fleece, and not brown

Sold in fleece section on website, but is a pretty non-stretchy material. Good thickness though but like any similar jacket, does not stop wind, but decent for an under layer. Am annoyed by color not at all brown. Billed as mulch brown, and appearing a light-medium brown in online pics, it's actually a dark, mustard yellow. Only in bright lig... Read Moreht next to other browns does it look brown. Outside with blue pants for instance, looks yellow. It's a cool color though, just doesn't quite fit my earth tone themed clothes. Especially given the misleading color & fleece descriptions, it is way over-priced.

Response from Patagonia
November 24, 2021

Hey Dave, thank you for the review on the Better Sweater Fleece Jacket. We're sorry to hear that the color on the website did not read as true for you. Sometimes the settings we have on our computers or phones can play a part. With that said, you're absolutely welcome to exchange it out for another color, the Pale Khaki color is more of the brown you seem to be looking for. To begin the exchange process, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 16, 2021

Comfortable go to

Nice fit, comfortable keeps you cozy when its chilly! Like the color!

November 12, 2021

Perfect

I own 2 better sweaters. In a perfect world I would have every color. This is the perfect casual jacket. I wear this around the house or out and about. You can wear it under a jacket for extra warmth or by itself.

November 10, 2021

Quality clothing

I really like the quality of the clothes but wish I bought large instead of extra-large. Have an older Patagonia quarter zip sweater and the extra large fit good but the two that I just purchased are too big. I already washed them and wore them so I cant send them back.

November 9, 2021

Super warm

The color is fabulous as well as the fit. This is a second better sweater because he liked the first one so much. Shipped fast, great service. Very satisfied

November 9, 2021

Dependable Quality and Size

As a smaller male, XS is hard to find in adult clothing. That said, I have three generations of this jacket/sweater. All are still in use. Also, other articles of Patagonia ourdoor wear have been purchased with the same results. Patagonia is 90% of my outdoor wear. Thanks for keeping the high stanard - and my size!

November 8, 2021

Warm and comfortable

Great jacket, very comfortable. Wear regularly, multi use!! Good feeling. Very versatile! Im wanting to purchase another color of same jacket!!

November 5, 2021

Stylish

Nice slim, sleek look. Warm and lightweight.

November 3, 2021

Best Sweater Ever

All around great sweater. I use it for work and just casual wear the stitching and materials used on this jacket is amazing. I have other high quality jackets in the same category but Patagonia puts them to shame on warmth comfort, and Swag. I love this jacket and I recommend it to everyone I know.

November 3, 2021

Overall Meh

I received this jacket and honestly I'm kinda disappointed. It's not super warm or stylish as many people claim and for some reason the sleeves are too long. I find that they are constantly getting in my way while I'm working. Definitely not worth paying full price for.

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2021

Hi Omar, we're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the Better Sweater Jacket. In the future, we're always happy to provide measurements to help you decide what size to get or if the fit will work for you. With that said, if you aren't completely sold on this one, you are welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us at your earliest convenience.

November 2, 2021

Beautiful and well made!

Beautiful sweater jacket and perfect for fall weather. Love this shade of green.

November 2, 2021

Great fit, comfortable

Great purchase, our 3rd for members in our family each in different styles. Great fit, comfortable and looks dressy enough for work or night out as well as casual cool days at home or just hiking outside.

October 27, 2021

Way too long

I had a Patagonia M crew neck so grabbed this in the same size. I was sort of swimming in this. Quality is great and I might have put up with the slightly large fit, but for some reason this is really long. I would imagine itd fit someone way taller just right though. Still disappointed so had to return.

October 25, 2021

Great jacket and customer service

The better sweater jacket is a staple. I have a couple of them and wear them all the time. They are great to stay warm in the house, outside, and as a layer in colder weather. Patagonia also has great customer service. I had a broken zipper after a few years. I stopped by a Patagonia store to get some advice. They looked into fixing the zipper in t... Read Morehe store, but ultimately exchanged my used sweater for a new one!

October 25, 2021

Very warm and comfortable

Sleeves are about an inch too long but otherwise the nicest piece Ive ever owned

October 25, 2021

Poor quality

Wore about a half dozen times and the coat is developing sweater pills.

Response from Patagonia
November 2, 2021

Hi William! Thanks for the feedback on the fabric. Any fleece when met with friction will develop pilling. The great news is it's very easy to remedy. We've created a handy [video](https://youtu.be/2aFbPb6Rn8o) here.

October 22, 2021

Love the sweater - slightly large

I love this sweater. Very comfy and looks good enough to wear to a business casual workplace. The large is a little big for me and the medium is a little tall, but other than that this product is great.

October 20, 2021

Love this sweater!

This is the best all around casual sweater I've ever owned! Super comfy and I love the zipper pockets.

October 17, 2021

A bit tight

Bought a Medium as I always do. Have been buying your version of a better sweater like this for almost 7-10 years. Your medium sizes are getting smaller, a bit too tight. PS, I have not gotten bigger! The large is way too big. You need to expand the medium size chest size by about an inch to an inch and one half.

October 16, 2021

Comfortable

It looks nice, drawback is the pocket stretches when I put my cell phone in pocket. I should have realized before purchasing.

October 14, 2021

Little bit coarse inside

It's a good looking fleece that you can wear not just for mid-layer. It's okay warm consider it is not super thick and bulky look. Overall, it just look really good. The problem is the interior. When I first got the fleece, I feel the inferior is soft and fluffy. I notice the stitches inside are coarse and scratchy that you will notice th... Read Moreat there is something bothering you. It is not saying that it is uncomfortable to wear it. But consider its price, I don't think I get what I expect.

October 11, 2021

Very comfortable

Super comfy for casual wear.

October 8, 2021

Somewhat disappointing

Yes, I know that knits will pill, but this is excessive. I have to regularly shave it.

Response from Patagonia
October 14, 2021

Hello Richard W., thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to learn about your disappointment with the pilling on the fabric. We do want you to be satisfied with your purchase so please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the jacket for a warranty evaluation.

October 6, 2021

Warmth and weight ain't what it used to be

I have one Better Sweater jacket and several sweaters, all of which are more robust than this iteration. It's noticeably thinner. Construction is still Patagonia quality, but it's not enough to prevent me from returning it. I'd give 3 stars, but am opting for 1 because, and Patagonia's not alone here, of knowing how good it once... Read More was.

Response from Patagonia
October 13, 2021

Thank you for the feedback on the Patagonia Men's Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket, we are sorry to hear that it did not work out for you. As the technology improves, we are able to make thinner items that are still just as warm. We can assure you that the quality is still there. Please feel free to call us at 800-638-6464 if you have any product questions.

October 5, 2021

Disappointed

I have a number of Patagonia outerwear items: Two Nano puff jackets and two Nano puff vests, plus a better sweater vest, all in large size. They fit me well. Not too tight, with enough room underneath for a base layer and a light mid layer if I need one. I just purchased the sweater vest two weeks ago (in a L) and I liked it so much I decided to b... Read Moreuy the full sweater, same color, same size. Because it was not available locally I ordered it from Patagonia online. Well, the garment is just mis sized. The L fits loosely like an XL, and the Medium (I found a local store with one) is too small. I noticed several other reviewers with similar comments. No other of my Patagonia outerwear (including the sweater vest) is sized this way. Truthfully, the Patagonia sweater fleece design isnt as technical as two other sweater fleece garments I have from another well known outdoor supplier (which have draft flaps behind the zipper and a zipper hotel at the top), and the Patagonia models costs a lot more. So overall, disappointing compared to my previous Patagonia outerwear.

Response from Patagonia
October 12, 2021

Hi Edwin, thanks for taking the time to write such thorough feedback and we're sorry to hear about your experience with sizing inconsistencies. In the future, we're always happy to provide measurements to help you decide what size to get, simply reach out to our customer service team by calling in at 800-638-6464 or chat in with us live at patagonia.com. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us under our warranty.

October 1, 2021

Best, I mean Better Fleece Jacket.

This fleece jacket is the very best jacket on the market, period. The material and design is superb.

September 28, 2021

Good

Good

September 21, 2021

Autumn Treat

Product arrived earlier than scheduled High quality fleece Fits great Will buy another in future

September 19, 2021

Super cosy and warm

Excellent quality fleece and very warm.

September 12, 2021

Exactly what I wanted!

I havent purchased any new fleece in several years and I decided to get a new jacket. I love this new one, its VERY comfortable!

September 12, 2021

Great fleece. Super Quality

Superb quality. Ordered medium which is my usual size. It is a good generous fit overall but arms very long for me.

September 10, 2021

Overall a Great Jacket

I originally purchased the large size which usually fits me well but the waist was too large and the arms too long. I now have the medium size which fits much better however the arms are still a bit long. This is a beautifully made garment and for a casual fleece is surprisingly warm. Next time I buy from Patagonia I will order 2 sizes and return o... Read Morene.

September 4, 2021

This Large is way to big.

Very disappointed with how large this Large is. Its unwearable for me. Ive bought 2 other Patagonia jackets in Large size and they fit quite well.

Response from Patagonia
September 14, 2021

Hi Mark, we're sorry to hear that the fit of the Patagonia Men's Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket didn't work out for you. Please feel free to begin a return or exchange here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

September 3, 2021

Love it

Very comfy and have no problems, no snagging, keeps it shape, love it!

September 1, 2021

Decent

More of a cardigan sweater than a fleece jacket. Fit is snug. Material is beginning to pill, despite the fact that it's made entirely of fossil fuels.

August 26, 2021

bought on sale and great

bought on sale and great value. Keeps me very warm whilst being breathable.

August 22, 2021

Wears Out Quickly

I received this as a gift in February for my birthday. It has been worn intermittently and washed twice since I received it. The fabric is pilling and and it looks worn out. It fits poorly and does not reflect the quality that is stated in their advertisement. It still keeps me warm but looks like a cheap sweater.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2021

Hi Holger, thanks for taking the time to write a product review. We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the quality of your Better Sweater Jacket and that it has begun to pill. Pilling can be inevitable with knit garments as it is the nature of those fibers. With that being said, there are various products that can remove the pilling so your jacket can look good as new! We recommend using a Sweater Stone or fabric shaver to remove pilling. To prevent pilling in the future, try washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get upbraided. Of course, if you are not satisfied with your purchase, you may send it in for a warranty evaluation. Don't hesitate to [contact us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/), so we can set that up for you.

August 21, 2021

perfect fit, very comfy

perfect fit, very comfy

August 6, 2021

Very Warm & Windproof

Love this fleece sweater- I lost the first one I bought so had to replace. Warm & does good job of keeping wind out.

August 2, 2021

Better sweater was not made better by recent changes

I purchased one of these a few years ago. I loved it and always meant to grab another one, but just didn't get the chance. I recently ordered a new one and. . .ugh. They've cheapened this product. Both of mine are 100% polyester, but the 2021 version is extremely thin. You can feel the difference in thickness between the two. The older on... Read Moree is cozy; the new one feels like plastic netting. I thought maybe it would soften with washing, but I've washed it several times and there's no difference. They also changed the trim around the bottom to be obscenely tight. It's a whole inch or two smaller than the polyester fabric. They took away the zipper pull as well. Overall, I still like this garment, but I don't love it the way I do the older version. As a tall person, it's hard to find fall gear with long sleeves that are actually long, so that's the biggest plus for me. I just wish they'd bring back the original quality and make a better Better Sweater again.

Response from Patagonia
August 3, 2021

Hello Dana, thank you for taking the time to share some feedback with us on the Better Sweater Fleece Jacket. We're sorry to hear of your disappointment with the developments that have been made with this particular piece. The main difference in material is that it's 100% recycled, but it's still made of polyester. Nonetheless, we'll pass your thoughts along to the appropriate team members. If you'd like to return or swap out for a size up, you can begin the process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We also welcome you to check out our Worn Wear website where we post lightly used gear from past seasons, you might find the version you prefer.

August 2, 2021

Great and warm

Great and warm sweater, however, runs a bit too wide

July 31, 2021

Nice. Better fit than the 1/4 zip.

Fits so much better than the 1/4 in the same size. And fits the same as the vest that is a size larger. Patagonia either needs to make their smalls slightly larger or their mediums slightly smaller. Maybe the brand just isnt for my body type. I wish theyd address the inconsistent fit across different items of the same size from the brand.

July 27, 2021

My Favorite Sweater/Jacket

I have purchased 5 Patagonia Fleece sweaters. My favorite sweater for all around use; around the house on cold days, hiking, fishing, travel. The sweaters look great in many settings. Warm, comfortable, keep their shape after extensive use. Outstanding product.

July 23, 2021

Most comfy and Good looking

Very happy the size is Good. It wears like a teddybear and Love the look. The nano puff jacket will be next.

July 22, 2021

Love the material and the

Love the material and the fit. It's definitely warm.

July 19, 2021

Great looking and warm

Good looking, warm. Using recycled materials also please me.

July 8, 2021

Good quality

Bought this for my son, he loves the quality and more important keeps him warm.

July 2, 2021

Super comfortable, warm, and looks great!

Purchased to have a nicer looking zip up sweater and am so impressed by the quality. Keep it up Patagonia!

June 24, 2021

more casual than athletic

The M's sweater jacket is a great item incorporating the usual superb Patagonia quality and I love the weight. For my taste and being 6'2"/ 175lbs, and wearing a t-shirt, the L size was too big in lower half (ie, around my mid-section) and the body of jacket itself too long. The sleeve length was generous which is great. Alternativel... Read Morey, the size M was way too tight. If a future design embraces more of a "slim fit" style, or I gain/lose 20 lbs, I will take another look at the Better Sweater.

June 22, 2021

Love this color!!!

Love pigeon blue color. This is a nice neat jacket to wear dressed up, running around town doing errands, traveling or going on a hike. Love the true to size fit & the zipped pockets, a must have!!!

June 22, 2021

Fits great and gets the job done

Extremely comfortable and fits perfectly. Would recommend it to anybody that doesn't mind spending such an amount for a light jacket. If the product proves to be durable (and I'll be able to edit this review), I'm going to change it to 5 stars.

June 21, 2021

Great quality, colour true to

Great quality, colour true to photo image. A present for my husband, great fit.

June 12, 2021

😀

😀

June 12, 2021

Perfect Jacket

The perfect Jacket. Had the same one for about 2 years but unfortunately lost it. Had to order a new one the next day. Im 60, 175 lbs and the Medium was too small.

June 11, 2021

Great looking comfy fleece

I know they call it a sweater but we all know its a fleece. I got a medium as it stated on the size chart 38" chest which I am but it's a little on the large size for me - especially the sleeves, so if you can try before you buy. Other than that (which is not a huge deal, it's not hanging off me or anything!) this is great. Really lo... Read Moreve the colour and the general style and comfort. Seems good for mild weather protection when outside too.

June 9, 2021

Comfort and satisfaction

The was designed to last. It is so comfortable I can see that I’m going to use this for years and years! It’s like wearing a blanket but without the weight!

June 4, 2021

Outstanding yet again!

Warm, comfortable and stylish and very well made. I’ve worn this every day since I purchased it- in work, casual and outdoor settings.

May 31, 2021

The thinner one fits best

I really liked both Better sweaters but the fitted one in XL was better than the traditional. This one is a bit of a cube and the arms came up shorter. Just didn’t fit my body shape

May 30, 2021

Great fit

I'm 188 cm and 82 kg. Medium was a great fit.

May 25, 2021

Comfortable, practical and well made

Very pleased with my Better Sweater Jacket - sizing is perfect, very comfortable and practical for the chilly Dublin mornings. Happy that the shape doesn't look or feel saggy as so many inferior fleeces do.

May 24, 2021

Lovely cosy jacket

This was a gift and recipient delighted.

May 24, 2021

Better sizing on this product.

Better sizing on this product.

May 20, 2021

Great to wear for spring and fall

I bought this for my husband and it fit perfectly well. He is 135 lbs. The pockets are useful for keys, cellphone and wallet

May 18, 2021

Amamzong product. Warm amd comfortable.

Amamzong product. Warm amd comfortable.

May 18, 2021

It fits perfect from the

It fits perfect from the moment you put it on. And the material is obviously of great quality. I hope it lasts all my life.

May 18, 2021

Great

Comfortable, warm, high quality.

May 16, 2021

Nice comfy sweater.

Nice comfy sweater.

May 14, 2021

Super comfortable

This is an awesome article of clothing. Super warm and super comfortable. Patagonia is such a high quality company. They make the process of returning goods for a different size very easy and smooth. You know you are getting the best when you purchase from them.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches