Back to Product

Ms Classic Retro-X® Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 234 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Classic Retro-X® Jacket

4.6/5
Kinda Large
September 8, 2021

Really nice fitment and the

Really nice fitment and the inside of the jacket makes it perfect for colder autumn weather.

August 18, 2021

Ms Classic Retro-X® Jacket

Wonderful, extremely well made fleece jacket.

August 14, 2021

Fits great

I bought this because of the liner to provide protection from the wind from what I can tell this will work great. Size and quality are excellent.

July 14, 2021

Awesome Product

Very happy with this purchase, which was on my list for quite some time. Surprisingly warm, comparable to my down jacket. Wind and cold do not penetrate this fleece jacket AND it's got a cool factor to it whether I'm on a hike or at work.

July 11, 2021

I love it!Perfect!

I will buy some other things.

June 25, 2021

Great quality of product.

Can't expect more really. All abut it is just as I wanted.

June 24, 2021

Great Quality Jacket

This jacket is warm and super stylish. Enough for cool Bay Area nights.

June 19, 2021

I love it!

It will be good for the winter

June 15, 2021

Fab but small maybe a little smaller than version from 5 years ago?

I got the purple/blue, and it's killer in an I'M WEARING PURPLE AND BLUE WHETHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT kind of way. I think it's a bit smaller / slimmer overall than the cream/blue version I got a few years ago, which works fine for me. I'm a 5'7, 125 lb woman with no hips. If you have hips, you may want to size up or go with ... Read Morea cut for women.

June 8, 2021

Classic Retro-X jacket

Love the jacket Very comfortable and warm

June 2, 2021

Decent but sizing/cut needs work!

Bought the Men's XL natural with blue trimming/pocket on sale during the spring holidays. As a male with an average build, broad shoulders and 6' ft tall, the jacket just fit. It's very warm, a little stiff and somewhat heavy probably due to the meshlike barrier that's sewn into the jacket to make it supposedly windproof. It&#... Read Morex27;s warm for cool spring nights while wearing a short sleeve shirt underneath. Let's see how it handles in the upcoming autumn/winter months later this year. The sleeves' length goes down to the wrist while the jacket's length goes down slightly below the waist. There are no inner pockets and the hand pockets appear to be warm since the barrier material is in front of it to block out the cold/wind. Hope the fleece stays soft and warm after repeated washings. The issues found: 1. The armpit seams are sewn up so it stands UP INTO the armpits. It should be sewn Flat instead! - Also, the armpit area needs to be Wider! - The armpits' shortfalls are Very obviously when you try on the jacket! 2. It's not that roomy inside! - It's very warm when worn with a short sleeve t-shirt and has room for a long sleeve t-shirt for the sleeves. - But it's a Little tight if a lightweight fleece sweater is also worn with a shirt. FYI.. the vest version is Much more slim! Barely enough room to wear a shirt and lightweight fleece sweater underneath it. The armpit holes need to be widened as well! 3. Need a cinch band around the waist! Not everyone is thin and Patagonia's designers Must make their clothing for the average person instead of skinny people! The sizing of Patagonia clothes have been 'off' in the last few years in that the older clothing fitted Much better while the newer clothing are inconsistent and made for thin people! It's a bit too big & fluffy to wear the jacket underneath a shell jacket in bad, wet weather. The vest version just fit underneath a shell jacket.

May 21, 2021

Great jacket

Very nice jacket, warm and windproof. The length is however a little bit short compared to the rest of jacket, this could be longer. But overall it's a must-have for people who love Patagonia.

May 20, 2021

Great for cool days at the playground.

I primarily bought this because I found that most technical layers arent warm enough when you are watching your children at a playground. (I try to do this everyday as I have outdoor kids) Its windproof and warm and your kids dont just slide off you when you pick them up. Besides I look like a sesame street character!

May 20, 2021

Fits short and boxy

As a tall but fairly slender man, this jacket runs too short and wide. Ordered online but returned because of this issue. Bummed out because it feels like such a great fleece, but the size/shape isn't right for me!

Response from Patagonia
May 21, 2021

Thanks for the review and sorry it didn't work out with our Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket. Since you have a slender build, we'd recommend checking out our slim fit options for fleeces. You can check these out by using the filter bar on the left-hand side of the screen under any category. The [Men's Los Gatos Fleece Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-los-gatos-fleece-hoody/25922.html?dwvar_25922_color=ELKH&cgid=mens-fleece) will be our most similar slim fit option, check it out!

May 19, 2021

Good jacket

The jacket is really nice and it fits very good

May 9, 2021

Cozy and fun

I bought one of the original, classic, ugly pile jackets back in the seventies. Ive had a couple of other versions over the years, and I love them for their warmth, wind blockage, and fun look. This will undoubtedly last me the rest of my life. Love it!

May 5, 2021

Best Fleece jacket

I dont usually like synthetic fabrics, but I love this jacket so much!! Super comfy and worm. (Best windproof fleece jacket) Also I like the look. Very simple and classic.

April 26, 2021

My new go to jacket

Although it's a bit thinner than I expected, the material and the stitching certainly feel durable, which is exactly what I wanted. It's held up so far in windy and wet conditions of England. I also think it looks stylish, which is a plus.

April 23, 2021

Now I Have My Own

I have had a Retro-X for many years. It is my favorite go-to jacket. My son also discovered that he liked this Retro-X....so he "borrowed" mine all the time. Now that we have 2 of them, I get to wear mine again. Would love to see this in even more colors - keep up the great work.

April 17, 2021

Great product and quality, fits

Great product and quality, fits both men and women, very versatile

April 12, 2021

Great Jacket!

Great jacket warm and windproof!

April 12, 2021

Very nice

It’s all I expected from it. The zipper gets stuck on the same spot every few times when I take off my jacket, but otherwise it’s a great jacket. The pockets are huge, and the jacket itself is very warm and comfortable.

April 9, 2021

Classic Retro-X Jacket

Classic Retro-X Jacket

April 9, 2021

Perfect fleece

Warm and windproof, I now wear this fleece where before I would have worn a jumper and jacket. I usually have trouble with fit because I have long arms, but this fits perfectly. Worth the investment!

April 9, 2021

Great jacket

Well made wind prof warm. Fits like a glove. This is the second one I have bought for personal usage I truly love it.

April 7, 2021

Excellent wind proofing and well fitted

Good gear the second one I have purchased in the past six years.

April 6, 2021

Break the Wind

I wanted a fleece that was windproof. This definitely fits the bill. It's soft on the outside, a bit stiff on the inside. Nice and warm and a true wind proof fleece. Not a light coat by any means, but I'd recommend it to my best friend....

April 5, 2021

Just love it

Replaces a 20 yo version. Tested for two weeks in cold and Gail force winds. Wouldnt trade it for anything.

April 2, 2021

Built to Patagonia standard

This is, bar none, the best fleece Ive owned. It is incredibly warm, comfortable and the pockets are deep, and perfectly placed; I think. Everything is of the highest caliber, which one would expect given its a Patagonia. I bought the blue jacket, and it is really sweet I must say.

March 31, 2021

Warm & Comfortable

Wonderful Fit. No need for multi layering. Many compliments on style & overall look of the jacket.

March 24, 2021

Great all round jacket

In a short space of time this has become my go-to jacket, it's just really functional, comfortable, well constructed, warm and versatile. It also sits well with whatever I'm wearing... jeans, jogging bottoms, hiking trousers, shorts, salopettes etc, and over a tee, hoodie, shirt, additional mid-layers. I like to wear things slightly baggy... Read More and oversized so the fit works well for me too. It may feel a little stiff at first but it quickly loosens up and softens. Worth it.

March 24, 2021

Comfy jacket

Customer service was superb. She was beyond helpful. Will definitely continue shopping with Patagonia

March 23, 2021

👍

👍

March 23, 2021

Brilliant Retro-X

I tried my new jacket on a cold and particularly windy day it was brilliant. The only slight issue is the length of the jacket. However it’s is superbly warm and great looking too.

March 23, 2021

Awesome jacket

Bought the jacket a few weeks ago and it’s been awesome. Really nice quality and durable working jacket and also comfortable at the same time.

March 23, 2021

Warm and good looking jacket.

Warm and good looking jacket.

March 9, 2021

Exactly what I expected

True, warmth, fit and function... exactly what I expected

March 8, 2021

Great at stopping the wind

Great jacket, has multiple uses.

March 4, 2021

A Must Have

Super solid piece of warmth. Great to throw on getting out of the surf or the hot tub as it functions well in the wind and when wet. Wish the zipper was stronger...

February 25, 2021

Cozy and timeless

I have had several Retro X vests, but never the full jacket. I'm very glad I decided to get one because it has quickly become one of my go to everyday jackets. It is a very warm and cozy windproof fleece, and the wooly style is great because it doesn't pill. It is a nice casual piece that can be layered up or down underneath easily. I tho... Read Moreught it would be more of a shoulder season coat for me here in Maine, but I have worn it all winter. If it's cold, then I wear a flannel and vest underneath. This is a great jacket all around and a timeless Patagonia classic.

February 25, 2021

Just different

I have a couple of zip down sweaters that I really love I was looking for one in black and I thought because its extra warm it would be great however I did not like the cardboard feel of the inside and I thought the waist line could be a little longer basically what I wanted was a warmer replica of the other sweaters that I had. Dont worry! I do ow... Read Moren many Patagonia products and I will continue to buy them

Response from Patagonia
March 11, 2021

Hello Jim! We're truly sorry that this jacket was not what you expected in terms of length and feel. Our designs and fits are constantly being revised and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes, so we truly appreciate you so much for sharing your thoughts with us. Thanks so much for your review!

February 25, 2021

Quality product

Comfortable and versatile!

February 19, 2021

Could be an inch longer around the waist length wise also the front pocket needs to be made of better material already have a hole/slight rip. Possibly might return due to manufacturing default?

Other than the material on the front pocket love the coat. With living in Michigan it has been keeping me warm through these cold months.

February 19, 2021

Great jacket

Great jacket! It fits well, looks great and keeps me warm. I live in the Northwest and go hiking frequently and its been more than enough for hiking in most weathers.

February 14, 2021

Warm

This is my favorite jacket in my closet. 10/10

February 14, 2021

Absolutely amazing jacket

I love my new jacket so much. It's warm, it feels so great to have it on, it's stylish. I have nothing to object here. Maybe its too warm haha, sometimes I have to take it down. Perfect!

February 14, 2021

warm and comfy jacket

I've been wearing this jacket for my commute on foot, recently with temperatures between 0° and -10°C with wind. Together with some wool layers under it you're well equipped for the frost, at least for an hour or two. The windbreak works well. The chest pocket is super practical for a mask and such items these days. Only remark, for someo... Read Morene tall and slender, like me, the boxy cut might feel a bit loose, when you're not layering under it.

February 13, 2021

Excellent, but...

I have purchased Patagonia products for DECADES; I have Baggie, Hoodies, etc. that are 25+ years old that look almost new despite rigorous use. This is the first Patagonia product where the zippering function is "intermittent" i.e. it catches at the neck. I find myself having to be "extra" precise in lining up the zipper to prev... Read Moreent locking...

February 13, 2021

Excellent craftsmanship

Another great Patagonia item! The wind resistant liner/interior makes it different than other fleece jackets, but also gives it a sturdier feel. Likely takes a few wears in order to break in. You can size up if you intend to layer, but fits true to size and is warm enough to not need a thick layer underneath. Beautiful and highly recommend!

February 4, 2021

Cozy

Bought for my son. He loves it. Perfect for. Quick service.

February 3, 2021

Warm

Wish the inside of the jacket was soft as the outside.

February 1, 2021

Warm

It works very well to keep me warm that sometimes I have to take it off to cool off.

February 1, 2021

Great purchase

Fantastic Patagonia retro fleece. Superb quality. Fast delivery!

January 31, 2021

Super Duper Warm!

This is the warmest fleece I have ever worn. Perfect for cold weather!

January 31, 2021

Super warm

Im able to use this jacket as an outer layer even during winter on the east coast

January 31, 2021

All Around a Great Piece

I love this jacket! For the price you're getting a great bang for your buck! I a bit large of a gentleman and it still fits great. I would purchase true to size.

January 29, 2021

Won't let you down!!

It's currently 23 degrees Fahrenheit where I am at and wind gusts of 15 mph. This jacket is amazing. Considering that I am only wearing an under shirt when I decided to go out with my dog for a walk. I managed to stayed warm with the jacket and it did exactly what it was meant to do. Protected the upper body from the wind and kept me warm. To ... Read Moredate, happy with the purchase.

January 27, 2021

Retro Fleece

So warm, so soft .. just the best fleece/jacket I’ve ever bought

January 26, 2021

Great product

Great fleece warm and cosy :)

January 26, 2021

Just awesome

Nothing but love to this product

January 24, 2021

super warm

Fashionable and super warm

January 24, 2021

Super warm

I bought this for work and it keeps me warm down to freezing so far. It offers moderate wind protection, but after about 15 mph, some air gets in. If I were to hike in this above 30 degrees or so, Id get too warm. The jacket is well built and is made of quality materials. I highly recommend the Classic Retro-X.

January 23, 2021

Warm and Windproof!!!

Almost too warm! Fantastic in windy conditions. I find myself wearing less underneath this fleece than I anticipated. Retired several other older coats that I had considered to be heavier. Size is great.

January 22, 2021

First purchase

I bought a Patagonia product for the first time and loved it.

January 21, 2021

XMAS GIFT

I bought this for my husband for xmas. I bought him the xl but it was a snug fit, probably the fit that some people would want. We swapped for the xxl as he likes a bit more oversized. quick and easy exchange :).

January 21, 2021

Warmth with Retro vibes

I bought this for my boyfriend after I saw him eyeing my retro-x jacket. Now its the only jacket hes been wearing. He still wears the heck out of his nano but loves how windproof this is as well as street forward. Also, thank you Patagonia for your AMAZING customer service! You are one of a kind

January 20, 2021

Zipper sometimes gets stuck

Sometimes the zipper gets stuck because it rolls over the inner lining. you have to pull the lining fabric out of the zipper to get it to move. Also its not as soft/cozy as I had thought from pictures. The inside is not at all like the outside, not soft or fuzzy. Jacket is very warm though and looks great in my opinion, so I still wear it often. ... Read MoreJust have to move the zipper gingerly.

January 19, 2021

Good fit

I like it

January 17, 2021

Very Nice Fleece

A very nice fleece that I ever owned. Torso runs little bit large but true to size in general. You won't be disappointed

January 13, 2021

Super warm and cozy

Cozy

January 12, 2021

Awesome look, great fit, and super warm

The initial reason was the great retro look. Im in love with this jacket. Its warm and cozy and looks great

January 12, 2021

Super Cool and Classic!

You guys have the right stuff. Keep going.

January 10, 2021

Great jacket. The new work line is fantastic. Boots are amazing. Jackets fabulous.

Great jacket. Good fit. Handsome design.

January 8, 2021

So comfortable you can't pry it off.

I really dig how comfortable the jacket is and its crazy warm yet breathable on a brisk winter walk. My only downside is the fit around the chest is a bit wide. Not sure how to change that though as the back allows me to have a large range of motion. Also, the change in color on the chest pocket is a bit weird and would look that much slicker if it... Read More was more subtle.

January 5, 2021

StapleWear

Great color and look. Extremely functional, I know it will take a beating. only drawback is the fit. Fits in shoulders, too big in waist.

January 5, 2021

LOVE IT

Super warm, comfortable, exactly what I was looking for.

January 4, 2021

Amazing

I wear this almost everyday!

December 31, 2020

Second one owned

My original retro x jacket was purchased in 2000 for myself and along with all of my Patagonia gear I loved it from the start. Fast forward 20 years and my 17 ear old daughter has hijacked mine (its a size lg and too loose for her but it didnt deter her). I ordered a medium for her and she loves it. Its awesome to see the quality Has not wavered in... Read More 20 years as many other companies do. Its identical to mine, except for size and color. For casual wear or as a mid layer under a shell you cant beat this jacket.

December 30, 2020

Really warm. Heavy duty. Very durable.

Really warm. Heavy duty. Very durable.

December 29, 2020

Super warm

Purchase to give as a gift, liked it a lot. Impressed with the fast delivery of the product Patagonia is good!

December 29, 2020

Great Jacket

Only gripe i have is that the sleeves are pretty huge both in length and width but super cool jacket

December 29, 2020

Super warm jacket!

Really happy with this purchase! Jacket fit perfectly and will be nice for Minnesotas cold weather.

December 28, 2020

Excellent jacket

Exactly what I was looking for in both fit and performance. I dislike jackets that drop to low below the waist, this hems right where I like it. Wind proof interior makes a huge difference in overall warmth of a fleece jacket like this.

December 28, 2020

The BEST Pile Jacket

I absolutely love this jacket. Its incredibly warm and very stylish. I see some people complaining about the fit in the comments- it is supposed to be a tad shorter in length because its retro. Personally, I love it. Patagonia has the best stuff, period

December 26, 2020

Size alert

Careful with size selection if you are tall

December 26, 2020

Good

Service was very good

December 23, 2020

Comfiest Fleece Ever!

I am absolutely obsessed with this fleece! I wear it every day. I live in a cool/cold climate (Ireland) and this fleece keeps me warm enough outside the house with only a t-shirt underneath! the only downside is there's no drawstring on the waist so drafts sometimes blow up & inside the fleece. The lining isn't cuddly, but that'... Read Mores okay - the lining is windproof and you can really tell that on windy days as you stay nice and cosy. I always fall between M and L with every brand, and went for M with this fleece. The torso runs normal if ever so slightly short, with quite long arms. I'm 6ft and skinny, so the fit works really well for my body. The pockets are really big, the zips keep everything secure and the chest pocket is super useful. I do wish there was a pocket on the inside surface of the jacket however. Over all I am in love with this jacket and I look forward to wearing it for years to come!!!

December 17, 2020

Very cuddly

Very soft and warm

December 17, 2020

Super Warm

I really love this jacket! I ordered a M and the torso fits well, but the sleeves are kinda long and baggy. This makes it perfect to throw over a sweatshirt for extra warmth. But overall, its a great quality jacket and I wear it all the time now.

December 16, 2020

Warm, attractive , and durable

This is the 2nd jacket I have owned from Patagonia. The first one I "borrowed" from my daughter for a few years (!) and when she wanted it back I bought a new one. It is actually a men's small, like the old one. Don't know if the ladies' size is better but I am happy with the fit of the mens' small. Nice and warm and a... Read Morettractive an for sure durable. The new one is a bit stiff but I expect after I wear it a bit it will soften. Maybe a washing eventually will soften it too.

December 10, 2020

Warm

While its a very warm jacket, I feel like I am wearing cardboard. The inside feels a little strange to me compared to the other jacket that I have purchased from Patagonia.

December 6, 2020

The Best.

My first Patagonia fleece, and I was amazed how warm and insulated the jacket is. It is true to size, and as noted, a regular fit. If you want to have an oversized fit like I do, I recommend getting a size up, but remember that it'll look a little big instead of the oversized look. If you know you know. This jacket is designed to fit true to s... Read Moreize. I still love mine.

December 6, 2020

Amazing

Bought myself the female version of this jacket and its so incredible I bought it for my boyfriend for Christmas as well! They are so warm and perfect for chilly weather and being outdoors since the inside lining is basically wind proof. The look is great and the fit was excellent (I did size down in the womens for a more fitted look but mens was t... Read Morerue to size). I would totally recommend this jacket and we are so excited to have these great Patagonia fleeces for years to come.

December 6, 2020

uncomfortable

It is a beautiful coat, but interior windproof material was both stiff and uncomfortable. The most uncomfortable thing I've purchased from Patagonia, with exception of the small arm sleeves on the better sweater jackets. Returned it today.

December 5, 2020

Comfy and Warm

Perfect for the Midwest winter. Keeps you just the right warmth without sweating you out of the jacket.

December 5, 2020

Bad Fit

The fit on these Retro X jackets is very strange. I'm 6'0, 185 lbs. The Large is extremely tight in the torso in that it is almost form fitting. The sleeves are very baggy and loose. I returned it immediately. The old Rero X I still have from 20 years ago fits like a normal jacket/fleece. The current version is very different. I wouldn&#x... Read More27;t recommend this product.

Response from Patagonia
December 11, 2020

We're sorry to hear this jacket was a disappointment, but we appreciate your feedback on sizing, fit and fabric, Jason!

December 4, 2020

perfect

I am an internal medicine redent, the night shifts are super long and cold > 24 hours, the jacket keeps me super warm I even sweat some times in the back and I don't mind it cause the hospital gets really cold. This would be perfect for travel and cold weathers.

December 4, 2020

Unimaginable

The first time I bought this product from PATAGONIA, I feel completely different from other products (UQ, A&F). This jacket is windproof but not very comprehensive, but it is usually enough for daily use.

December 1, 2020

Warm, Comfortable, Durable

Great jacket for cold days, whether you are out on a hike or out on the town. Blocks the wind better than ordinary fleece jacket. Highly recommend.

November 30, 2020

Another great product from Patagonia

This product is fashionable for a fleece. Rather warm too; I have worn this with a t shirt in 25 - 35 degree days in Vermont and felt very comfortable. I only recommend rethinking the length of the product. If the length was 1-1.5 inches longer about. It has a very comfortable, snug fit. I have worn this on windy days and it did not disappoint me. ... Read MoreOverall this product is superior to every similar product I own. Patagonia knows how to make great products! I highly recommend this to anyone looking for new gear.

November 29, 2020

RetroX Fleece Jacket

I found that the size medium was a bit too small and the large was a bit too large. I need a medium large.

November 26, 2020

Bestest Thing! patagonia doesn't let me down this time either

I absolutely fricking love it. I am 186cm, 72kg, long arms and I am quite skinny. Went for the M after testing L as well.

November 26, 2020

Big

Love the warmth and style of it, however the sleeves are very large for someone of my weight and it looks very baggy for that reason(only around the arms)

November 25, 2020

Awesome durable and warm fleece!

Got this fleece as a gift from my daughter after telling her my layers werent keeping me warm during chilly days cycling in Central Park. I love how the wind doesnt penetrate this fleece and I can stay warm and dry using this fleece with only a few layers underneath.

November 20, 2020

Nice jacket, a little short

Gifted this jacket to my husband as an alternative to his Nano Puff. It is solidly constructed! As other reviews note, this is not a cozy, stay inside fleece. It's a jacket made for breezy, cool days outside! He is 6", ~165lbs, with a 31" waist and a climber body (muscular arms and shoulders, but not bulky). The M fits him really n... Read Moreicely in the chest, arms, and torso, but is a little short. Probably about 1" shorter than the Nano Puff. Not a deal breaker, but an extra inch on this jacket length would be really nice, Patagonia! The dark blue is more vibrant in person and is definitely wearable with blue jeans. Overall, he really likes this jacket, but wishes it was just a little longer.

November 17, 2020

Very comfy and warm

Great jacket, but has a strange fit like some of Patagonia's other jackets. The fit is near perfect everywhere except the chest, where it is a little more snug than I want. However, if I were to size up to a large, there would be a bunch of loose fabric around the midsection. Overall, it's a great jacket.

November 14, 2020

Looks nice and warm

I purchased this for my husband. It fits him very nicely and he said it was very warm. I'm happy with this purchase

November 13, 2020

Great look, warm, versatile, great customer service

Great product & company

November 9, 2020

Adds Wind Resistance to Fleece Jacket

I have many Patagonia fleece jackets but I wanted the added wind resistance. I like the look and feel of the jacket. It is a little stiffer than a regular fleece because of the interior material that prevents wind infiltration. My only slight complaint is sizing. I find mediums are too tight and larges are slightly too big. I weight 175 lbs and am ... Read More510

November 8, 2020

This jacket lives up to its popularity

Warm, stylish, and true to size. Good for casual wear.

November 5, 2020

Super great!!

I posted instagram, then my friend liked it so I bought it for him. He really likes it! Thank you so much.

November 5, 2020

Nice jacket!

This is an excellent jacket. The large fits me very well. The jacket is quite warm, perfect for damp fall conditions with temps in the 30s and 40s. A bit bulky for backpacking but great on a day hike or walk around town. Feels sort of like wearing a bearskin. Nice chest pocket for your phone or a map.

November 2, 2020

I liked the outside of the jacket, but the inside was rubbery. I really wanted a jacket that was fleece inside and out that didnt shed.

Was not a comfortable jacket. It was too stiff on the inside not what I was expecting. I love Patagonia products but not this one. Make a fleece jacket with fleece on the inside and out that doesnt shed and Im in! Your customer service is excellent!!!

October 31, 2020

Very soft and warm

Excellent fleece, warmer and thicker than I expected.

October 30, 2020

I have two original coats of this style and couldn't resist this one.

Love the color, as I said, I have two originals of this style - a green and cream color - and they still look great! This was a birthday present from my wife.

October 30, 2020

Great purchase

I bought it as a gift! It's so cozy and cute! He is also like it!

October 5, 2020

Stylish Design

Loved the style of color when I saw it online, but wish I had tried it on at store. The material inside isn't as comfortable as I thought and it feels rough against bare skin. Hope they can redesign with soft material, especially in the sleeves. Runs a bit loose so it'd be great to layer with. Might return for a size small.

September 22, 2020

Coolest fleece ever

Love the look and classic style! Feels great on cold days climbing surfing hiking!l Wind proof now and cold days e biking! Fuzzy

September 16, 2020

Fantastic Jacket

I bought my first Retro-X jacket about 20 years ago and I have really beaten it up. I put suede elbow patches on it and the zipper had to be replaced once by Patagonia, for free. It's still going strong and it's the one I use for backpacking and camping. I have a newer one in a different color for 'around town' because it looks ... Read Morea tad better. I have worn these in every kind of weather and they are the most versatile jackets I have ever owned. I washed mine in NikWax water repellant and they shed snow and rain admirably, though they are not great raincoats in a downpour. They are also comfortable over a range of temperatures -- warm when it's very cold; if you unzip them they do not overheat when the temperature warms up a bit. This is one of the best outdoor garments I have ever owned.

September 13, 2020

Retro-X

Jacket looks great/retro My only complaint is the inner liner is very stiff. I'm guessing that's for wind. Maybe it will soften with age or washing

September 9, 2020

Great outside, less than ideal inside

I loved the course and thick fleece that makes up the jackets exterior. But, lining (which I assume is the wind proof portion) had an odd feel to it. It was odd enough that I ended up returning it. A fleece like this which is fluffy in and out would be a welcome purchase for me.

September 1, 2020

Amazing

I am writing this review 7 months after purchase and the jacket has held up perfect.

August 17, 2020

Ultimate Jacket

If you are looking for a solid fleece to rep when going out on cold nights, driving back from the slopes, or just for walking the dog, look no further. This thing is toasty! Super high quality fleece with a solid internal backing to make it windproof. Fits true to size, and of course the zippers and overall construction are top notch. Ordered it ri... Read Moreght before the new colors came out, just might have to buy another!

July 13, 2020

Too baggy

I ordered the Classic Retro-X to replace my Retro-X from the 90's. My current Retro-X is perhaps the most worn garment in my entire life, spanning 20 years. Unfortunately, the new Retro-X is not an accurate re issue of the original. The new version is cut much larger with extra fabric around the chest and waist and especially in the arms. It i... Read Mores actually clearly visible in the picture of the model. This has clearly been re-designed to be an outerwear jacket rather than a middle wear insulating layer. Upon attempting to layer it under my ski coat, my arms bound up and there were folds of fabric in the middle section. Additionally, the fabric is much stiffer and feels thicker. I tried the small as well, and it was too tight with an additional zipper problem. All in all, this is only appropriate for fashion wear, not for layering or serious use outdoors.

Response from Patagonia
August 12, 2020

Hi Jonathan, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit of our Retro-X Jacket. We're not exactly sure what season your original jacket came from but it definitely sounds like some revisions have been made. The Retro-X is more of a casual fleece and it won't make the best mid-layer as you've described. If you're interested in checking out an option that would serve as a better mid-layer we'd suggest taking a look at the [Men's R2 Fleece Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-r2-regulator-fleece-jacket/25139.html?dwvar_25139_color=CSRD#q=r2&lang=en_US&start=1)

June 26, 2020

Best product on the market

Patagonia are the foremost company for apparel - if you havent got this fleece jacket, you should try to find one as it is the best jacket.

June 17, 2020

Excellent tool

For cold, windy weather, there is no better piece of gear. I live the NE and wear the retro-x five months of the year.

June 4, 2020

Great jacket, warm and stylish

Warm and true to description. Oversize fit as expected. I'm 6'3" and broad shoulder width and Large fits great.

April 24, 2020

Best Pile Fleece On the Market

I have multiple colors in this jacket and its by far my favorite fleece jacket to wear. Im not typically someone who wears certain jackets in specific seasons. This jacket I where all year long, even some of those summer nights with a cool breeze. I am 5'8. I could probably fit into a medium which would be a standard fit but I like my outerwea... Read Morer a little roomy so that's why I wear a large in this fleece.

March 12, 2020

Really warm and stylish!!

I've been waiting for perfect color for retro-x fleece jacket. This ivory and mustard detail jacket is perfect. Really Really warm. I took this jacket to camping couple times during winter and it made me sweat.

February 11, 2020

Love It!

I've been waiting to get one of these for years. Wind blocking is excellent, definitely a warm piece, so almost too hot to wear indoors unless the wearer is cold natured. Fit is true to size, so allows layers underneath. Great jacket for running around town.

January 19, 2020

Quality Jacket

This jacket is warm and provides awesome wind protection. Fits very true to size and the sleeves are a little bulky but fits the overall aesthetic of the piece. Not as soft on the inside as expected but nonetheless a comfortable fit! Excellent quality as usual with Patagonia.

January 5, 2020

Super warm. Perfect fit for

Super warm. Perfect fit for cold and dry weather

January 1, 2020

Great Quality and Superb Customer Service

Worked with the Chat Patagonia rep and he was so helpful without a lot of fuss. And, the quality of the jacket is perfect. My son looks so handsome in it! And, it keeps him so warm. His friends already want the same one! Thank you!

January 1, 2020

Many Compliments!

The only thing I would say is the body runs a bit short. Great piece otherwise!

December 30, 2019

Great jacket

Really warm and insulating jacket. Fits really well and has a nice vintage look

December 29, 2019

Best jacket i've owned

Best jacket i've owned

December 27, 2019

Pretty good Jacket

Keeps me very warm. Looks good. The inside material wasn't what I expected but still a good jacket

December 23, 2019

CNYguy

This was my first Patagonia product and it easily made my top three favorite jackets, which is saying something because I’m kind of a jacket nut. The fit is flawless and the jacket (while slightly bulky) is a treat to wear. Extremely comfortable and high quality! Bravo Patagonia!

December 19, 2019

Great Fit! Love the style

Great Fit! Love the style and how it feels

December 19, 2019

Love this jacket!

I bought this jacket impulsively and it was the best decision ever. I wear it daily and it works both in the outdoors or in a restaurant. Love x a million!

December 18, 2019

Great jacket

Warm and light weighted jacket can wore whole winter!

December 17, 2019

Great jacket

This is a beautiful, functional jacket. Unfortunately it was too small and I am returning it after finding a larger size elsewhere.

December 15, 2019

Very nice good fit and

Very nice good fit and warm

December 14, 2019

Great Fleece

I love this fleece. It is extremely warm and comfortable. A little extra room in the arms makes it great as a top layer.

December 13, 2019

DMB

Versatile, windproof, and very warm on a cold day.

December 13, 2019

Retro Zipper Sticks

I purchased the Retro-X fleece to replace my trusty old R4 fleece which I recycled with Patagonia Worn Wear. The Retro-X is light,warm and I really like the color. The inside lining is not soft, but rather stiff and rough compared to my my old R4. The Retro-X could also use an inside pocket. The problem with my Retro-X is the YKK zipper catches on... Read More a ribbon sewn parallel to the zipper. Every time I try to unzip the jacket the zipper catches on the ribbon and sticks a couple of inches below the neckline . I've learned to pull up on the right side of the collar when unzipping to avoid this phenomenon but it irritates me. I would send the Retro-X in for exchange but after talking to customer service I learned my color is sold out and not scheduled for future availability. Only one other color in my size is in stock and I don't like that color. This zipper problem may be a sewing flaw on my fleece only. YKKs are the best. I need this fleece for the winter so I'm stuck like the zipper.

December 11, 2019

WOW

This is definitely the best fleece jacket I’ve ever owned! It’s warm it’s stylish it’s just perfect! I originally went with a size XL but ended up returning it for a size L and it’s a perfect fit! Glad I bought two more of these jackets in different colorways.

December 10, 2019

Very nice looking jacket

Very nice looking jacket

December 8, 2019

Good fast

Good fast

December 7, 2019

Love it

Runs a bit big, but good for layering. Love it!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches