burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Ms Calcite Jacket

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 166 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Calcite Jacket

4.7/5
True To Size
December 5, 2022

Can't be true....

Needed to replace/upgrade my rain shell and decided on Patagonia and Gore Tex Pac Lite combo. I'll be honest: when I first got it I was dubious. It was much thinner & lighter than my old Marmot. Packed down to 1/3 the size. Did great in torrential rain & I haven't overheated yet (sweat). It has all the features I want: pit zips, G... Read Moreore Tex, velcro cuffs, chest pocket, the wind doesn't whistle through! Will update when I go backpacking as I'm curious about pack straps & shoulders. So far: great investment.

December 5, 2022

Dependable

World class rainproof. I 100% recommend.

December 2, 2022

Kept me dry in Scotland

Have used this jacket on a number of occasions while out on the mountain bike and it has dealt with everything even the pub afterwards! After spending a full day out in the elements and getting full of mud and absolutely drenched in a downpour this jacket kept me dry and shielded from the wind and kept the little heat in helping me regulate body te... Read Moremperature on a cold November day in the Scottish hill's, I will have to try the mountain bike specific range next if this is anything to go by

December 2, 2022

For Nature and the city

Perfect jacket for the nature and the city

November 23, 2022

Great fabric, not so great value

The fabric of this jacket is unparrelled in terms of feel, look, and waterproofness. Fit is very nice unless one overly portly in the belly (as is true for all Patagonia products). At this price point I expect a two-way main zipper.

November 20, 2022

good looking jacket

Have yet to wear it in the rain but I assume it sheds water as advertised. Hiked with it in 39degree day and was very comfortable. Hood is deep and does not pull on my head/neck when I wear it with my backpack. Full range of motion too. Plus it looks good period, not like a regular frumpy hiking rain jacket.

November 16, 2022

Awesome

Very high quality material , Fast delivery

November 12, 2022

Looks nice

It looks super nice and is good at repelling water

October 24, 2022

High quality jacket, high sustainability,

High quality jacket, high sustainability, great purpose of the company. I like it a lot!

October 18, 2022

Ahhh...waterproof again

I had to replaced a Torrentshell jacket where the waterproof liner delaminated (and stopped repelling water in general). I'm 5'9" and 42" chest and bought a M. Fit was consistent with other reviews of longer arms and narrower body (typical Patagonia fit). I can get a trim insulating layer under it but a bulky one feels tight (L ... Read Morewould be way too long in the arms and torso). Pros: Goretex (survived a soccer game in a 39F monsoon). The inside texture is comfortable against the skin. Pit zippers. Cons: The helmet compatible hood is too big without a helmet or ball cap (I feel like a Sith Lord at times). Improvement Suggestions: The thin knotted main zipper and chest pocket pulls are too small and hard to grab with any gloves. The chest pocket is roomy but "above" the zipper opening, meaning I push my phone UP into the pocket first rather than DOWN into it. Overall: Works for everyday life and will be a good addition for warmer skiing. Great jacket and hope the Goretex last 20+ years like my other jacket.

October 11, 2022

Bone Dry

This jacket is great. I wear it for surf checks in the rain. Everything the jacket covers stays dry as can be.

October 11, 2022

I wish they did T sizes (or just longer sleeves)

Well made, fits over/under helmet nicely. The only problem is the sleeve length, which seems to be cut for hiking not biking. Admittedly, I do have long arms for my height (6-3 tall, 6-6 span) and I would order an XL-Tall if they had it. I have long-cuff gloves that work, but regular gloves leave a gap when riding.

September 22, 2022

Great Jacket

Tough, waterproof, sleek n sexy

September 15, 2022

Seems fine. Have only worn

Seems fine. Have only worn it once.

August 17, 2022

Fantastic lightweight weather protection

I just got back from a fly fishing trip and it rained every day. Perfect layer for quick on and off. Stows easy in my pack and performs perfectly.

July 29, 2022

Great jacket!

I bought this jacket about a year ago while visiting NYC and have worn it in all conditions. I live in Chicago and would use this as a top layer jacket for when the wind/winter was spicy and always use it when it rains. I recently went on a trip to Oaxaca during the raining season and this jacket served me extremely well. Pairs well with a sombrero... Read More (:

June 29, 2022

Will keep you super dry

I bought this jacket for two reasons: 1) details about the jacket: 2.5 layers of goretex, cinching at the cuffs with Velcro, cinching at the waist and hood and length of the jacket to cover back and rear; 2) a trip I was planning to Yellowstone National Park. I was one of this individuals who was evacuated from the Park/Gardiner. I arrived in early... Read More June and the day before the park closed because of flooding, landslides and crumbled roadways it rained all day. I was out in the rain exploring the Park like a typical tourist and was caught a in multiple downpours. This jacket kept me dry all day. Occasionally I felt the heat being retained, but rolled down the front zipper to open the coat when I was able to get under cover and all was well. There is a trade off: do you want to be completely dry - especially if you are layering and do not want the layers underneath to be wet - then you will have to endure heat being trapped inside the jacket that will require some venting or do you want to sacrifice being wet so you avoid the venting. This jacket outperformed my expectation! Thank you Patagonia for manufacturing an outstanding jacket at a favorable price point.

Response from Patagonia
June 30, 2022

We're glad you safely navigated the events in Yellowstone and managed to stay dry! We appreciate your review. It's no small feat to stay comfortable in wicking layers under heavy rain. Thanks for the review, Edward!

June 21, 2022

Great Shell for near anything!

I bought this jacket since I was heading up to the PNW, Oakridge, OR, to work on some trails with the Trans-Cascadia folks! Needless to say, this jacket was put through the ringer! It handled some decent rain and trail work without issue. Handled hefting 10ft long 80lbs logs on the shoulder with ease. My only complaint is the drawstrings near the h... Read Moreood, they don't really stay in place when pulled to cinch the hood tighter (without helmet), but all in all I am more than stoked with this purchase! Bought from my local Santa Cruz Outlet, those folks are the BEST! I love that this jacket has pockets, arm pit vents came in clutch working in this, a nice big hood for helmets and adjustments for fit without a helmet. You don't need me to tell you to buy this jacket.. if you're looking to stay dry, look no further.

June 1, 2022

Totally waterproof

Very comfortable, easy to move around with it on and breathable. Also good colors and it looks good

May 18, 2022

Review

The Calcite Jacket is well constructed, and is very effective at blocking wind and repelling moisture. It is a nice looking jacket.

May 7, 2022

Exceptional Water Resistance

I usually order size Medium in men's from Patagonia, but I size down to small for a more snug fit since rain jackets tend to run a little bit larger. The water repelling Gore-Tex is amazing in light rain and steady pours. Definitely would recommend to wait until these go on sale before purchasing.

May 2, 2022

Functional and stylish

This is a triple Goretex jacket which replaced a waterproof one that delaminated over the years. I usually take Large as my size, but i did not plan to use it with much underneath, so the Medium fit fine. The large was just too large without consideration of what one would wear underneath.

April 21, 2022

Quality rain jacket

I was seeking a goretex rain jacket for trips to Yellowstone and Patagonia in 2023. I did not want to be that person who purchased a jacket with DWR only to discover a couple of years later that I should have paid a few dollars more for better quality and extend the durability. The jacket was going to complement a plan for layering: the Capilene Me... Read Morerino wool long sleeve as a base, a mid layer and then either this rain jacket that would act as a shell for a winter layer or by itself. Also I purchased a pair of top rated waterproof rain paints from a third party. The jacket exceeded my expectations for quality and coverage! It provided excellent protection below the waist line so pants pockets were completely covered from rain (an issue in reviewing comment ratings). Cinch cords are available around the base of the jacket and also the hood to tighten down and seal out downpours and keep everything dry. Wrists on jacket have Velcro straps to also keep out the elements. When you put the jacket on you can immediately feel the protection the jacket conveys for wind and rain. And, its goretex at a great price point. Dont over-think this purchase because it provides excellent value!

April 16, 2022

Sung and dry

Light and comfy. Use it while at work on a college campus and keeps me dry all year.

April 13, 2022

As advertised

Fits well! Hood is a bit bigger than I would prefer but I rarely wear a helmet and this coat at the same time. Perfect if you do.

April 11, 2022

Too stiff

The fabric is too stiff so fitting is not so good

April 11, 2022

Great rain jacket, kinda large

I am 5'6.5". I tried Storm10 in Small. The fit was perfect but it's pretty much a Torrentshell with finesse. I tried Calcite in Small. I was impressed with the quality, construction, armpit zips, etc... Much less of a street-wear compared to Storm10. It's great for hiking on rainy days, backpacking, spring skiing with a thick la... Read Moreyer underneath. Alas, the fit was very loose, long sleeves, and the hood was ridiculously humongous. The Patagonia designer(s) of this jacket must be over 6' tall with a large skull. I was wearing it with a ski helmet on and there was still room to have my daughter's hamster sit on top my helmet below the hood. I tried XS and bingo, fit is perfect. Sleeves are of correct length and the hood is a tad smaller and doesn't look ridiculous when you were the coat without a helmet. I love the color which is kind of burnt red, not the pure red of other jackets. I love the quality and the social awareness of Patagonia. The fact that this jacket, as well as other garments of recent year, is made in Vietnam (where I hiked in the past) is a virtue in my mind. The cost of Patagonia equipment is justifiably high. It means though that a large portion of the client base of non street-wear is very active people over 40 and 50 who can afford the cost and have the need. I find too many items to be crotch hugging, or extremely tapered, or skin close uppers, despite the fact that they are meant to be used outdoors in high impact settings. The inseam and sleeve lengths of many items is geared for noodle-bodied 20 something y/o. Patagonia: please include 50 something people in your design and testing teams, add more 30" inseam bottoms to your selection, and make you sleeves in small and x-small match the typical height of people who need these sizes. The above said, I love Patagonia, the company and the land.

April 6, 2022

Do-it-all jacket

One coat that does the job of many! Lightweight, Gore-Tex, windproof, packs small and it looks good! Youll wonder why you didnt buy it sooner.

March 31, 2022

Review of the sizing

I'm a men's XS in basically everything Patagonia makes and a big part of why I shop with them is because they make stuff that just fits me right. This, however, did not. The fit was oddly boxy and the arms were way too long. Sadly I had to return, although the overall product seems fantastic if it fits you well.

March 26, 2022

upgrade

I tend to get a Torrentshell and abuse them until they fall apart. Seems like the Calcite will hold up better with the stretch. Also seems more breathable compared to the Torrentshell. The Patagonia smalls always fit me great (5'11" 150 lbs). Both to wear over a t-shirt in summer or over a few layers if up skiing.

March 24, 2022

Amazing Shell

Great shell, love the color and the waterproofing, really great service and products.

March 21, 2022

My Go Winter Coat in Colorado!!

I bought this coat with many other Patagonia jackets. This one is my go to favorite winter jacket. Some people dont like the noise of the jacket. To me its not that loud and I personally like the sound of it! Does not fit like your standard nano puff or micro puff. Its longer and the zipper isnt the softest on your neck because of the waterproof zi... Read Morepper. You just have to play with the zipper and adjust it down and its fine. Not enough to make me not like the jacket! Overall Im very pleased with all my Patagoniaprodicts I have recently purchased and plan on buying more products in the future!

March 21, 2022

Pretty good

I like this. I use it as a rain jacket and has kept me dry. Would recommend.

March 20, 2022

Fits well

As with all Patagonia outerwear, fits well, performs well, and friendly to the environment. Thx for another great coat.

March 18, 2022

Perfect rain/wind shell

Finally decided to purchase and glad I did. Have been looking for cool/warm weather rain shell and this is perfect. Does run on the fitted size. Im 61 and switch between medium and large size. I went with medium since I didnt want it to be loose. If youre on the fence, Id suggest possibly sizing up. Happy with medium but a large would have allowed ... Read Moremore layering.

March 16, 2022

Great with Caveats for Improvement

As expected with Patagonia products, the jacket preforms well in rain and snow, but there is room for improvement: 1) Sizing: The small is sized for someone much taller with longer arms, such as a 6' tall thin person. Patagonia's sizing has trended this way in the past few years. Instead of lumping regular and tall sized folks together, p... Read Moreerhaps creating a line of clothing for "big and tall" people would be more appropriate? 2) The pocket zippers and pit zippers are great. They would be better if they were waterproof zippers, like I had on a previous Patagonia shell. Overall, a great product with minor areas for improvement.

March 15, 2022

Great coat, runs a little large, frustrated with helmet hoods

Great waterproof rain jacket, has born its first rainfall well. I am 57, 140 lbs, usually wear a small, the small in this coat swam on me, even with a hoodie underneath, but I was able to locate an XS, and it fits perfect. My outstanding complaint, and this goes for 98% of shells on the market, is trying to wear a hood sized for helmet sports, wit... Read Morehout fail, ends up with me blind. The hood covers my eyes, and the draw strings only secures the material in place over my eyes. What I need, and I am about to take it to a tailor, is just a couple Velcro tabs at the base of the neck where I can fold the hood material over, take up a couple inches, and instantly the hood is tight and form fitting. Im surprised this option hasnt shown up on coats yet, but it seems like the simplest work around for daily wear and helmet sports with the same jacket. Cheers, Loren

March 2, 2022

Very well made.

I was looking for a light jacket. Since the less expensive jackets are notorious for low durability, I took a chance on the Calcite. First thing you notice is that it is extremely well made. Patagonia is among the best constructed in outerwear, but this is next-level. Mine was made in Viet Nam and I have to say the stitching and construction is top... Read More notch! Im normally a XL but I rolled the dice on XXL. It gives me a little more room to layer and not feel soooo constricted with the tight look. So if you want that look- stick with your normal size. Wish it came in more colors like Navy, had one more chest pocket, and had more soft material around the neck/chin. Other than that, no real negatives to speak of. Hopefully Patagonia will make more with Gore. This is one product that makes the brand shine and well worth its price. You wont regret it!

March 1, 2022

A Versatile Calcite

The Swiss Army knife of jackets, the Calcite can do it all. Don't just wear it for skiing or hiking, but take it to the river as your rain jacket. Very nice flex for downhill action. This one jacket can do it all at a great price.

February 26, 2022

Light and Substantial at the Same Time

I took a chance and bought this without trying it on and I am glad I did. Just used it outside in 25 degree blowing sleet shoveling my driveway for an hour and I am very happy with how it performed over a cheap puffy. I bought the XL and it is just a bit baggy over a T-shirt but still looks fine and over a puffy the fit is perfect, I am about 200 p... Read Moreounds. I was worried that the length of the jacket would be too short but it is perfect. Would buy again or recommend to a friend.

February 14, 2022

Good rain shell.

True to size, excellent fit.

February 12, 2022

Allseason Jacket

The jackets fit is great, it's length is enough to keep water off of your butt during a rain storm. I purchased it as a rain jacket but wearing it over a fleece shirt or sweatshirt it is warm enough for winter temperatures.

January 30, 2022

Great for ski touring. Also works for resort skiing.

175 cm. 71kg. Size medium. I can’t fault this jacket. Worn for ski touring (over a Nano Puff Hoody) and resort skiing (over a Down Sweater). Hood has plenty of room to fit over a ski helmet. Fabric is surprisingly durable. Doesn’t take up much room in your pack when you are skinning uphill. Looks good.

January 10, 2022

flexible and fit for purpose

typical thoughtful features and high Patagonia quality. Very versatile with layering from cool to cold.

December 23, 2021

Fits Like a Dream

Absolutely love the Calcite. Use it for daily wear all year long. I've used it skiing. Use it with a midlayer. Love the feel of the fabric. Tough but soft. Pit Zips are a huge feature. Perfect jacket.

December 3, 2021

Rain protection done right

Compact when not in use. Great to use alone in fair weather, pair with a micro puff hoody when its cooler outside. These two jackets paired together will not let you down. I carry both of them on every trip.

December 1, 2021

Dry

Keeps the rain out. Pit zips are tricky.

November 26, 2021

Super Versatile Wet Protection

This jacket is a replacement for my ultra worn Torrent Shell rain jacket, and I can already see we will be spending a lot of time together. It is extremely lightweight, packable, water resistant, can be layered with a vest for colder days, and even used as a wind breaker when on a bike. I got the black one, and it is a true black color without much... Read More grey or reflection, which I like more than the black of the Torrent Shell black. All in all, this is a perfect companion for so many days. It won't disappoint.

November 25, 2021

Almost there

Looks great and made of great materials, true to size and looks awesome. Only thing, I wish it had lining, like the torrentshell. Without a lining, it feels weird and like something is missing

November 11, 2021

really dry

I bought the jacket because I was looking for a very light weight and easily packable rain protection. I had the opportunity to really test the jacket a few weeks ago when the "atmospheric river" washed across the Bay Area. I had a few errands to run and wanted to watch a women's soccer game, which was outdoors. The result is that I ... Read Morewas outdoors, riding my bike and sitting in the bleachers for 4 hours during the day as torrential rain fell on and around me. There were few people in cars and a lot fewer on bikes during the storm. The soccer game was similarly sparsely attended but I remained dry and comfortable through the day long downpour. Because of the activities that day, I sat still in drenching rain for nearly 2 hours and rode my bike around town doing errands for another hour or two. When I got back inside later that afternoon all my clothing was dry (I was also wearing rain pants.) While I was on my bike I was able to get the hood over my bike helmet pretty easily as well. I have also done some walking in the mountains with this jacket on when rain was threatening and through light snow. The pit zips provided adequate cooling on the uphills and the jacket with a thin fleece layer underneath was warm throughout a 6 mile walk gaining and losing a 1000' of elevation. The jacket rolls up very small and fits easily into my carry on suitcase. I am very happy with the purchase.

November 9, 2021

Great purchase

Well made. Warm and comfortable. Plenty of room to wear a sweater underneath

October 29, 2021

Well constructed, clean lines

The rain jacket seems well constructed with clean lines. I bought it for warm weather rain and it will be fine for that. If anybody wants a layer it, youre better to go the next size up. I like reviews that indicate if a garment is looser fitting or tighter; kow other customers found the sizing. It really repels the rain and is warm enough in a coo... Read Moreler wind.

October 12, 2021

Ultimate Shield

I am 5'-9" 170lbs and wearing this jacket in large for a perfect fit. This jackets' versatility is epic, I use it on my boat ocean fishing, hiking, snowboarding and for daily wear if windy or condition warranting a shell style jack. It provides 100% wind/water protection for all uses while being incredibly light weight. The adjustabl... Read Moree cuff closures are key, If needed I cinch them down over gloves, etc., but generally just set once as tight as I can while keeping on and off access smooth. Eventually I will stain this jacket from use on the boat, that why I go with the darker color.

October 12, 2021

Great lightweight Shell

Great lightweight shell. Enough room to layer for warmth, but not too tent-like. Bullet proof but light weight. Cant go wrong. Only gripe is length; a good rain coat is like a good friend they should cover your ass. Im 6ft 4in and Id live this coat to be about 2 - 3 inches longer.

October 10, 2021

Light comfortable and dry

I bought this jacket one size larger than needed on purpose. I use it daily guiding fly fishing on a river that requires a pfd. I have used it in some of the heaviest jungle downpours in the Amazon cloud forest and it has never let me down.

October 5, 2021

Sheds the water like a new wax job!

Its truly impressive the waterproofing of this jacket. Im 511 170lbs and bought a M. It fits nice and looks good.

September 28, 2021

Keeps me dry!

I bought this jacket for all around use, but also for fishing trips. I went on a trip last week and fished in the rain all day... this jacket kept me dry! It is also very comfortable and fit me perfectly.

September 27, 2021

Total protection

I purchased 2 Calcite jackets for me and my husband and they came in quite handy during torrential rain storms while away. Very comfortable, breathable and protective.

September 22, 2021

Top Quality Raincoat

This jacket is totally waterproof without noisy rustle as some waterproof layers suffer from. The cut fits the body comfortably - I'm average build 5'9" a medium fit perfectly with good sleeve length and free movement during rock climbing climbing or cycling. Very impressed.

September 16, 2021

Great lightweight rain protection

Great weight, great quality

September 15, 2021

Great jacket

I have to say, Im very impressed with Patagonia. This Jacket is amazing. One of the reasons it is amazing is it was a replacement for a jacket that I had sent in for repair. They couldnt repair the original so they sent me a full credit for the original jacket. Amazing! Not only was this jacket cheaper than the previous jacket it actually is better... Read More. My last jacket did not have a visor on its hood which made it quite unsatisfactory in heavy rains. This new Jacket has a visor on its hood and is made of Gore Tex. It repels water extremely well and keeps me dry. Im very happy with this jacket.

September 14, 2021

Ms Calcite Jacket - 5/5

Perfect fit. Perfectly functional.

September 12, 2021

Good for summer and early winter.

An excellent garment. It is waterproof but also provides warmth

September 6, 2021

Nicely Designed, Especially Hood

I'm about 6 feet 2 inches and roughly 175 - 180 pounds. The large fits nicely with some extra room for layering and adequate sleeve length. The jacket's hood and its cord system are really nice. I can close the hood tightly, keep out the rain, and still have an unobstricted view. The jacket's zippers are some kind of "rubbery&... Read Morequot; material which helps keep me and the contents of pockets dry. I wish the coat had internal "drop pockets" that you could use for drying something. My DAS Parka has these and I find them useful. But, maybe internal pockets are hard to include on a rain jackets.

Response from Patagonia
September 15, 2021

Hey Sean! Thanks for the detailed feedback on the fit and features of your rain shell. We designed this one to be light and packable for the lowest weight when facing an Alpine pursuit. For this reason we've left out any inner liner or drop pocket. Hope that clears things up!

August 24, 2021

Love the jacket but not the fit

Like all of my Patagonia clothing, the product quality is great. Unfortunately, also like a lot of my Patagonia clothing, the cut is baggy and not a great fit. It's great for layering over a light weight puffy jacket, but wearing it over a light under layer it feels to big.

August 23, 2021

Weather proof comfortable

Is it rain, snow, ice or wind, or all together, this is the comfi jacket! With ventilation below the arm.

August 8, 2021

a proper test on first wears

On a family camping trip I was excited to use my new Calcite jacket during some thunderstorms, I enjoyed seeing the rain bead and then easily shed from my jacket. Two days ago I rode home after an overnight bikepacking trip in strong rain showers. The fit of the jacket and especially the hood give me a lot of confidence to use this piece on future ... Read Moretrips. Nice one Patagonia!

August 6, 2021

Foul weather Jacket

For use on the boat/work. Essential gear. Patagonia always comes through.

July 20, 2021

Very good product

Very good product

July 17, 2021

Just not right

Calcite is noisy and feels clamy. I returned the jacket as it did not feel comfortable.

July 16, 2021

Great all round rain jacket

This is just a great, well-designed jacket, that I should've gotten earlier. What I appreciate most: - The fabric feels so much better on the skin than most other rain jackets. Probably due to the combination of thinness and the liner material. It doesn't clamp or feel 'plasticky' as many other jackets do. - The fit is more ath... Read Moreletic then other jackets, and this suits me better then the Torrentshell jacket for instance (even in casual situations). I think this holds for anyone who is on the thin side. The Gore Tex has held up perfectly for several rain showers, as expected. It's too early to speak about longevity but I have a feeling this will last for years. Beautiful deep blue colorway as well (classic navy)!

July 14, 2021

The Gore-Tex works extremely well

My brother sprayed me with a hose when I was wearing this coat. When I took off the coat, everything covered by the coat was very dry.

July 14, 2021

Patagonia Jacket

I haven’t stopped using my jacket since it arrived. Even when it is considered to be a bit warm, I open the pit ventilators and keep going! A stylish, wearable, fit-for-purpose garment that I love

July 10, 2021

Beyond Expectations

True to form for Patagonia, this jacket addresses every need with functional details that go beyond any other jacket Ive ever owned! Extremely breathable, water repellent, and so comfortable you might forget youre wearing it. Awesome product!!

May 29, 2021

Nice color and waterproof

Bought the calcite jacket as water a replacement lightweight and waterproof jacket that was not black. Great colour selection the jacket fits really well. As it's goretex I trust its rain credentials.

May 13, 2021

Great fitt

I love this jacket material soft and comfortable!!

May 11, 2021

Quality product

Love the velcro on sleeve ends, waterproof zippers.

May 7, 2021

Very nice!

This coat is so nice... I don't even want to wear it.

May 6, 2021

Great Decision

I had a previous stretchier version of this jacket that had a delamination issue. Patagonia swapped it out for the calcite jacket. I like the hood better than the previous one and how this one hangs. I cant find a stow pocket but other than that its a great jacket. Couldnt be happier.

May 2, 2021

Excellent lightweight jacket

I bought this jacket a few weeks ago. For far, I'm very impressed. If you need a warm weather, lightweight, and waterproof jacket, this is an excellent choice.

April 30, 2021

Money well spent

Bought a medium first but was a bit too tight. Ordered a large and fits perfect. Very light jacket, love the blue color and keeps me dry in rainy weather

April 17, 2021

All was great and as

All was great and as expected. Looking foreward to new adventures skiing and hiking and testing the durability.

April 16, 2021

Nice rain jacket, lightweight and packable

Jacket fits nicely! Now I'm waiting for gale force winds and torrential rain to test it out. Wouldn't you know it? Weather in Hawaii has been fine since the jacket arrived.

April 15, 2021

Great Jacket!

I was debating this vs the Triolet and I ended up getting both and replacing other jackets. This is relatively lightweight (compared to the Triolet) but it is still durable. Patagonia functional as well. Im very happy with it.

April 9, 2021

Very breathable. Quickly become go

Very breathable. Quickly become go to jacket

April 6, 2021

Lightweight

Looks good. Lightweight and easy to pack away if not needed. Good amount of pockets. Appears well made and although I've not yet used it in the rain yet it looks and feels watertight.

April 2, 2021

Great cut and lightweight

I purchased two of these. 1 XL and 1 XXL, for everyday use and layering over average clothing, the XL is perfect. The XXL allows a Macro-Puff or Down hoody to have ample room for loft. The hood on both is great and easily fits my Mammut helmet. Oversized interior mesh dump pockets would be a nice addition, for glove storage.

March 28, 2021

buy this coat

Very versatile to layer with this jacket. Can go with a puffy for extra warmth or just a flannel. This jacket, at least in my opinion, was cut to layer. It is a lot roomier than other patagonia products I own, but that to me is the best selling point. I live in the PNW, and I'm out in all conditions. Super easy to throw on and head out the doo... Read Morer in any weather. Bottom line, buy the coat if you are looking for a piece of gear that'll get you through late March to early October.

March 25, 2021

From rain to ocean spray on a flats skiff

Calcite jacket ? Its works! Ive used lightweight Patagonia gortex jackets and pants for years. From Rain squalls to rough ocean rides in a flats boat down to the marquesas keys. As with all gear used in saltwater environment; rinse well with freshwater after use.

March 23, 2021

Great purchase

Lightweight jacket, but still looks tough to resist hard use. The Andes Blue color is shiny but still wearable for commuting and daily use. The fit is just perfect, although the hood is a bit bulky if you're not using a helmet.

March 23, 2021

Perfect jacket

use it for fishing

March 20, 2021

Super versatile lightweight shell

Didn't quite know if I was getting a raincoat or lightweight gortex shell. Happy to say that it definitely feels more like a packable, rainproof, and breathable shell that I can use for a number of pursuits. That's important because I needed something both for hiking in wet conditions and skiing when the weather doesn't call for me t... Read Moreo pack my bomber shell. This thing is super well built and looks great, with lots of room around the neck. I'm looking forward to having it around for a long, long time!

March 16, 2021

Great All Around Jacket!

This jacket is exactly what I was looking for. It is strong enough to stand on its own or pair it with a mid layer for some added warmth. I use this jacket for just about all kinds of weather. Days on the slope, hiking and backpacking trips or a trip an a cool or rainy day to the grocery store. It is a great weight and packs small. The fit is true ... Read Moreto size and allows for plenty of unrestricted movement. I work as a professional ski patroller and find this jacket to be the perfect piece under my patrol uniform vest! Just an overall great garment.

March 10, 2021

not for layering

As a shell, one would expect the jacket to be sized to accommodate warm layers underneath. This was too small for that.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Mens Calcite, we are certainly sorry to hear that it did not work out for you. You are of course welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any item that does not meet your expectations per our Ironclad Guarantee

March 8, 2021

Great Jacket

Love this jacket and it is so versatile. Living in upstate NY weather conditions change and so far In a week I have used this jacket hiking at 9 degrees Fahrenheit and today it was almost 50 degrees. Just wore the inner liner and it was perfect. Have used the shell when it was sleeting and I love how adaptable it is.

March 4, 2021

Super Light

I'm happy with the shell overall, it's very light and protective at the same time. I'm a little disappointed by its transpirability. I'm experiencing more vapor condensed on the inside than expected. For example, I find my phone completely wet in the chest pocket.

February 28, 2021

Richard

Foggy rainy onion snow dry&warm thanks

February 26, 2021

Versatile through mild and extreme weather - a great travel jacket

I bought an extra large in 2019 to wear for wind and water protection over a down jacket. It worked great - breathes well and stays dry. I liked it so well that I bought a large in a different color this year to fold into my carry on for mild weather travel; it still is roomy enough to add a layer. The quality of the material and the design of my t... Read Morewo jackets are first rate so I highly recommend the Calcite Jacket.

February 26, 2021

Seattleites! Perfect shell for everyday rain, hiking, backpacking, or skiing

Per the title, this jacket fits the bill for a multi-purpose, high quality, great fit, breathable waterproof jacket. I use this every day when walking the dog in the rain, commuting by bike, on weekend hikes/backpacking adventures, and over a fleece or down when skiing or in colder weather. Provides ample protection without being stifling, fits per... Read Morefectly as is or over other layers. Highly recommend.

February 25, 2021

Dry

Perfect for the late rains of winter here in ne Tennessee. Kept my entire top dry with out the sticky condensation.

February 25, 2021

Awesome Shell

Bought this as a replacement rain jacket, but have ben using it as a wind breaker (in addition to a rain jacket). Love it and highly recommend the shell. Reviews indicated it runs large, but it fit me perfectly (with room for a a nano puff, down vest or down jacket underneath).

February 25, 2021

Waterproof and breathable

Love the environmental standards, superior styling and fit, so sturdy. Awesome color. It really holds up well!

February 25, 2021

Nice coat

Purchased to wear as top layer. Worn a few times past week. Seems well made. I used to have shells 20 years ago so it was time to update. Wish hood was smaller since I wont be using a helmet.

February 25, 2021

Always on point!

Superb update to the past model Really great to have the additional chest pocket Really happy with my purchases

February 24, 2021

Top marks!

A large would have fit but needed this as the first line of H2O/ frozen rain defense over all my warm gear so got xl and it works perfectly! It is very minimalist but doesnt pretend to be otherwise. Very happy with it!

February 24, 2021

Nice jacket

Great jacket I love it

February 24, 2021

Outstanding outer layer

Perfect with sweater or sweatshirt underneath even in cold temps

February 24, 2021

Really Good Jacket

Jacket is a touch large, but not as large as other similar jackets. Can layer underneath without issue. Keeps you dry and the wind out. Would be nice if it were a touch thicker for warmth, but again, layers can help out with that. Would recommend.

February 17, 2021

Very Versatile

Protects nicely from wind and rain. Layers easily. Not very warm on its own but with a good base layer its more than enough.

February 16, 2021

Perfect

I this jacket perfect for my day's walking, I'm a guide on the Camino de Santiago and it will be ideal for the changing weather in certain regions, hoping to buy the matching pants in the near future, very happy all round

February 14, 2021

Good mid-weight parka

I bought this jacket because I wanted something lighter weight than my 3 ply Goretex Pro shell for Spring and Fall use and also summer trips into the higher elevations. I also wanted something that would compress down smaller for going in my pack. I have a pair of Goretex Paclite pants that have held up well for years and I have glisaded in them a ... Read Morenumber of times. So far I have used this jacket for my daily walks, many in the rain, and general wear around town. Pretty happy with the performance and fit so far. Factory DWR is always good when it's new and usually holds up for one to two years before you have to start treating with a spray on to keep water beading up on the surface. I have only two gripes which may not matter to other people. One is that I would like one more adjustment point on the hood to really dial the fit and keep it moving with my head so that I don't lose visibility when turning my head to the side. The other is that when I wear a pack, which I often do on my daily walks, the hip belt cuts right across the side pockets rendering them mostly inaccessible. You would think that if you are designing a jacket with a helmet compatible hood it would also be compatible with the hip belt on your pack. I do really like the breast pocket which holds my i-phone and pit zips and water proof zipper are a nice bonus. The other thing I like is that it is not over-featured. I hate jackets with too many pockets or that still use storm flaps over the zippers that add unnecessary bulk. This jacket gives you everything you need in a nice streamline fit. Overall I am happy with my purchase, especially for the price. Some of the things I am wishing for may only be available on a more expensive jacket.

February 4, 2021

Light but protective

Great jacket to throw in your pack for rain and wind protection. Can be coupled with warmer underlayers for three season use. Quality company and principles equal quality outdoor clothing.

February 2, 2021

Great Jacket But...

I love the feel and fit of this jacket, fits perfectly and the pit zips are a blessing. Unfortunately I lost the jacket after its second use as it fell out of my backpack during a ski tour :(. Sadly I can't purchase this jacket again anytime soon. Will stick with frogg toggs for the foreseeable future. If you can afford this jacket I would def... Read Moreinitely recommend it!!

January 30, 2021

Good looking jacket with great functionality

Bought this as an over shell for my macropuff. Does a great job at keeping me dry and blocking the wind. The new navy color is so crisp. Looks great.

January 28, 2021

Go-to Rain Jacket

I have looked for a go to dedicated rain jacket that I could also wear to the office for years now... and after owning this jacket for the past year I can say for me, its perfect... almost. There are two things that kinda bug me. One, the jacket sheds water well but starts to wet out after 20+ minutes of mild to heavy rain, not the whole jacket jus... Read Moret the parts that see heavy wear. For comparison I have another patagonia gortex pro shell for 7 years and it still bead water after hours of use, as long as its clean. Either way its not a big deal and the parts that do wet out dry quickly. The other small issue I have is the hood. There is no vertical adjustment so it does come down a little too far in my face. I am sure its designed for a helmet, which is great. I just wish it had more adjustments for folks not wearing one. Overall this jacks is super light, very packable, softish exterior fabric, and not too crunchy as far as gortex goes. It is a hair long in my arms when not layering but perfect when I have a light jacket under it. Overall I really enjoy wearing this jacket.

Response from Patagonia
March 2, 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on the Men's Calcite Jacket. We'd like to share some notes on care to ensure that your jacket stays fully waterproof: We suggest washing at least a couple times per season. You'll want to machine wash warm, tumble dry low, warm iron, and avoid using fabric softeners. A performance detergent is preferable (Storm Clothing Wash, Nikwax Tech Wash, etc.), but any gentle detergent will do the trick. A post-wash tumble dry on medium heat will help revive the water repellent DWR finish. Eventually, the DWR finish may lose effectiveness and water will no longer bead on the surface of the garment. The DWR can be restored with a performance spray or wash-in treatment such as Storm Eco Proofer or Nikwax. As far as the hood is concerned, the cinch cord works for everyday use as well, not just helmets. Feel free to use that for a customized fit! If you try all of the above and find that you were still hoping for more, note that all items are covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) and you are always welcome to return.

January 26, 2021

Calcite Jacket

Nice simple jacket which does the job well. I am normally size XL. Patagonia size chart says I should be L but ordered XL and definitely right size paticually if layering in colder conditions

January 26, 2021

One Fixable Flaw

One of my favorite features of this jacket is how there are so many points of adjustment. Being able to tighten the hood is great, especially because it runs large being able to fit a helmet. However, when you pull the hood drawstrings, there is nothing to cinch it down. Whenever I get hit with a gust of wind, or even by looking up, the drawstrings... Read More become slack and the hood falls off my head. While this is irritating, it's a quick fix. In the field, I tied stopper knots. At home, I added cord locks so I could adjust the drawstrings with gloves on. This is the only reason I'm giving the jacket 4-stars. If a newer model did have these cord locks on the drawstrings upon arrival (which it does for its other drawstrings), this would be a 5-star jacket.

January 25, 2021

Upgrade!

I was given a gift card for Christmas so decided I wanted to upgrade my old Patagonia rain jacket. Previous model was super lightweight, but not gore-tex...what a difference!! Im super happy with my purchase. Thanks!

January 19, 2021

Good performance to prevent wind

I use this to casual wear and running and it pretty good performance to prevent wind and right rain.

January 2, 2021

A well-made rain jacket.

One of the things that I appreciate about Patagonia is the care that they put into the clothing that they make. This jacket seems to be well designed. I like the large pockets and the chest pocket and overall so far I am completely satisfied. I havent worn it a lot in the rain but when I have it seems to function very well. When you live in Oregon ... Read Moreyou need to have a reliable rain jacket. I think this will fit the bill.

December 31, 2020

Extreme Water/Weather Protection

I bought this jacket for my husband, and he loved it. I was looking for good quality and thin water/weather protection, and this jacket got it all. He already tried it in the snow as well as the rain; all good!

December 28, 2020

Just the right balance of weight and protection

Bought this for mtb/fat biking in the elements. Got a 2 hr ride in tonight ranging from rain/winter mix/ to snow. As well as the reverse on the way back home. Made it home dry and ventilated. Nice mix of fit, stretch, and large pit zips to manage heat and the elements. Nice piece of kit.

November 20, 2020

Excellent Multiple use yet fashionable!

I bought the jacket for my hubby who is 6-ft. He told me he loves the Calcite Jacket Gortex because it is lightweight, durable, wind resistant and above all truly waterproof; where other brands can only claim to be. Patagonias overall look is also fashion forward and polished!

November 19, 2020

Solid Jacket (fits a little bit)

Got this jacket after a previous rain jacket I had failed miserably on a long ride that turned wet fast. Had my friends spray me with the hose to test it out and it passed with flying colors. Its marketed as an up for whatever type jacket with no specific intended use but it definitely has the roomier ski jacket fit. Im an XL for all other Patagoni... Read Morea products but Large would have been the better call for this one. Quality jacket.

November 12, 2020

Too tight

The size runs too small and does not allow for any layering.

November 8, 2020

Lightweight Ski Shell

I find that the Calcite Jacket, layered over a Patagonia Down Sweater, a Crosstrek Pullover and a short sleeve base layer works really well for skiing in European conditions. I’m 175cm, 71kg and wear a size medium in all of the above.

November 6, 2020

Great outer layer and rain coat

Like everything from Patagonia, excellent service, excellent design and excellent functionality. I would not mind some additional color options.

September 24, 2020

Super Warm

Loved it. Bought it for a friend, but will also be getting one for myself.

September 23, 2020

Great jacket

Great gore-tex jacket for the price. It works as an everyday raincoat but is substantial enough to be used as a snow shell. Im 58 and 155 lbs with an athletic build. I ordered the XS. It fits a bit snug (which I prefer in outdoor clothing) but it still allows for layering underneath. Id imagine the small would feel big, especially in the arms.

September 16, 2020

Too large

Usually I am wearing M but this jacket is too large. The underarm zippers are not necessary, too, and restrict mobility.

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2020

We're sorry to hear the Men's Calcite Jacket didn't work for you. Please note, you're welcome to return or exchange for a different size. We included pit zips on this jacket to help with breathability. If you're looking for a waterproof alternative without pit zips, please check out our [Men's City Storm Rain Parka](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-city-storm-rain-parka/20700.html?dwvar_20700_color=CSC&cgid=root).

September 9, 2020

I wanna love it, but i dont

From the first time that I wore this, it just wets out quickly. Even from new. It's like the fit is perfect when I just stand in regular stands but when I put my arms in front of me and bends them, the back piece of the jacket just stretches out to the max and makes the sleeves too short and exposes my forearms. It's like my back is too w... Read Moreide for the jacket, or maybe my arms are too long? Then it also just doesn't breathe that good, but i dont know of any waterproof jacket does that 100% satisfyingly. I love the company and its products, and I still fully support them, but this just didn't hit the spot for me. Maybe I just got a defect jacket or something? haha, I don't know.

September 4, 2020

Not well made

Very disappointed. Within a few minutes of trying on the calcite jacket, the plastic grip on the hoodie drawstring fell off. What the heck? Premium price for a cheap jacket.

Response from Patagonia
November 10, 2020

Hello Andrew, we're sorry to hear that you experienced some troubles with the Men's Calcite Jacket. It sounds like you received defective product, and your jacket would definitely be covered under warranty. Please reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can help you out.

July 11, 2020

Love it

Awesome lightweight 3layer GT. Living in the Elk Mtn Range of Colorado, you need to be confident in your layers when the temp drops 25 degrees and the down pour turns to hail. Its also burly enough to handle the lighter winter days with proper under layering

June 21, 2020

Great jacket

At 510 190 Athletic build. The size large fits me pretty well. Its perfect to fit a Patagonia puffy sweater underneath with some room to spare . I wish the jacket had water proof pit zips and pockets zips. Also I wish it packed into itself to take up less room in my pack. As a hunting and fishing guide saving room in my pack is priceless and having... Read More a jacket that packs down helps. The jacket has held up good so far. Its kept my dry in some pretty heavy storms. I would recommend it.

June 17, 2020

Great jacket

At 510 190 Athletic build. The size large fits me pretty well. Its perfect to fit a Patagonia puffy sweater underneath with some room to spare . I wish the jacket had water proof pit zips and pockets zips. Also I wish it packed into itself to take up less room in my pack. As a hunting and fishing guide saving room in my pack is priceless and having... Read More a jacket that packs down helps. The jacket has held up good so far. Its kept my dry in some pretty heavy storms. I would recommend it.

June 17, 2020

Perfect all around jacket for rain and cool weather.

I was in need of a jacket that was packable and good for anything nature could throw at me. I found it in the Calcite Jacket. This thing breaths well and is absolutely perfect in wet conditions. Not like some jackets where the water starts to penetrate. This thing will bead water for days. Couldn't be happier with my Purchase.

June 17, 2020

Great Purchase!!

Searched for a raincoat that would stand up to the rain without making me sweat and this thing is perfect! Nice job Patagonia!!

June 17, 2020

Freedom in my rain gear

I took up hiking during the Covid 19 lockdown. Since getting outside for recreation was an acceptable activity, I wanted to take full advantage of each day. This coat let me go hiking in heavy rain (and snow). The fit is great and very adjustable. It has kept me warm and dry. It is now an indispensable part of my day pack.

June 17, 2020

Terrible Fit

Nice jacket, nice features, but poor attention to little detail and fits terrible. Jacket is way to big, arms ridiculously long, but oddly jacket almost is too short. Size chart is wrong for my jacket or maybe its just poor/zero quality control.

Response from Patagonia
June 25, 2020

We are very sorry to hear that this missed the mark for you. We appreciate the feedback on this and encourage you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us since it's not working out.

June 17, 2020

Calcite Jacket

This was a replacement for my other lite H2no jacket that was easily 6-7 years old . My other jacket served me well and well traveled but unfortunately needed to be replaced. I selected the Calcite - gortex and a little sturdier. So far, the jacket only been exposed to heavy fog (SF) but am certain it will provide the protection required when need... Read Moreed. Appreciate the deep hood w/adjustment to help keep face & glasses dry.

May 30, 2020

Holds Up in Severe Weather

This jacket is great. I work as a photojournalist where the risk of shooting video during inclement weather is just part of the job. I got burned by breaking news one day: my camera had rain gear but I didn't! Immediately after drying myself off, I looked online for some rain gear, found the Calcite Gore-tex jacket from Patagonia and the rest ... Read Moreis history. Fits well, but the zipper needs to be down to put the hoodie over your head. I've worn this all-day during humid days and during downpours and it has literally kept me dry through a 10 hour workday. Highly recommend.

May 18, 2020

Not waterproof

I liked what I heard about Patagonia's environmental policies, and the notion of buying a good product that lasts a while rather than buying cheaper stuff and throwing it away. I was also hoping to get a better quality product by spending a bit more. I bought my jacket last fall, and have only used it sporadically for outdoor activities, so it... Read More's in great shape. Yesterday, I went out for a hike, and got caught in a rain shower (decent rain, but hardly a cloudburst) for about 20 minutes. That was enough for water to start coming through the shoulders of this jacket. Seems kind of underwhelming.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2020

We are so sorry to hear that this happened and we greatly appreciate you bringing it to our attention. You're absolutely correct when you say that our business model is to build long lasting gear that will in turn, result in less consumption of goods. We hope that you can [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us so we can get you a replacement that will perform to our expectations.

April 24, 2020

Looks Great !!!

Ultralight, looks great for raining and windy days. customer service excellent

March 30, 2020

Great shell for any wet

Great shell for any wet or windy occasion

March 22, 2020

MS Calcite Jacket

Excellent in all respects. Worn every day for power walks. Keeps cool, pit-zips help a lot (but these zips are pretty stiff), and keeps the wind out totally. Hood seems a bit clumsy, and I would prefer a longer hanging strap. I usually fit medium. Glad I ordered large

February 24, 2020

Versatile gear

I bought the Calcite because it checked multiple boxes for me. It was my first attempt at buying a nicer shell-only jacket (and also my very first piece of gear from Patagonia!). I wanted something waterproof that I could use for a variety of outdoor adventures and it fit the bill - especially with the close out sale price in a great color. In deci... Read Moreding between a Medium and Large, I went with a Medium so I wouldn't have all the excess fabric when not layering underneath. Still, I was able to wear it over a lightly insulated jacket while skiing and it was very comfortable. I don't think a thicker down jacket would fit under a medium on me but the nano and even macro puff did. The shell was durable enough to hold up to a couple of ski falls but I do wonder if my log walks with skis on my shoulder had a negative effect on the DWR coating. In fact, while my at home spray test showed a few areas near seams wetting out, in the field I've stayed completely dry and windproof thus far (albeit in decent winter conditions). The pit zips were a welcome feature on a warm mountain day and I can't wait to have more reasons to pull this out and wear it.

February 20, 2020

The Perfect Shell

Never really had a decent raincoat, this is more or less exactly what I was looking for. Wind and rain proof which, when coupled with a few insulation layers, makes a huge difference. I am usually an M but bought an L mainly so I can layer up, works perfect. My only complaint is that the elastic in the neck/hood feels a little useless when it doesn... Read More't fasten.

February 14, 2020

Great breathable waterproof jacket

Great breathable waterproof jacket

January 13, 2020

Perfect Shell

I replaced a worn Torrentshell jacket with this. Works perfect, Lighter, dry, correct fit. Patagonia did a great job updated the Torrentshell with the Calcite jacket.

December 29, 2019

Rain?, what rain!!

Excellent lightweight waterproof layer. I’ve needed this essential outer skin for years, and finally got it. Perfect size, breathable Gore-Tex, nice adjustable hood, sweet waterproof zippers all around (even under the pits). Best jacket ever, feel asleep in it on Christmas.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches