burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's R2 TechFace Pants Reviews

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 33 Reviews

Clear All

Ws R2® TechFace Pants

4.5/5
Kinda Large
January 15, 2023

Good gear for cold weather

Perfect for winter hiking and general outdoor activity. Warm, with some wind and rain/snow resistance. They are bulky, so I wear them as an outer not a base layer. They are comfortable, and allow a good range of motion when hiking. But for me, the fit is big and poochy, so they ride low and bag at the crotch. Not quite presentable for work or in-to... Read Morewn. Mine had two zipper-pockets, which are so useful! Fit was TTS (I always take size S in Patagonia). Wish list: gusseted crotch, elastic waist (drawstring isn't good enough), black or darker grey color.

December 16, 2022

Great pants

I love these pants! They stop wind, shed water, and they are WARM! Im wearing them as winter hiking pants rather than as a base layer and loving them!

December 10, 2022

Not right for walking

It was not what I was looking for? This is too warm. The fit was a little different. I was trying to replace the perfect pair of walking pants that I already own and you no longer make. Also I need two pockets not just one. It is amazing how manufacturers just don't think about a person walking 1-2 hours. They need a phone for safety and they ... Read Moreneed their keys to into their home and they want one pocket for each. Good luck with that!!!

Response from Patagonia
December 14, 2022

Hi Marina! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit and the single pocket. We appreciate this feedback and we'll share it with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 8, 2022

I live south of Seattle.

I live south of Seattle. The pants are warm and comfortable. The waist is a little snug, but I am older and have shrunk. I don't like the tight ankles. I wish you made a version that was looser at the ankles, closer to a boot cut.

December 3, 2022

Great pant, poor color

These pants are a perfect base layer under ski pants, however, the color is a drab gray. I returned them because of the color, I wouldn't wear them alone. PLEASE make them in black!

Response from Patagonia
December 7, 2022

Hey Monique, thanks for the review. We're sorry to hear that you weren't a fan of the Forge Grey color. Our colorway names will usually hint on what to expect, but if you ever want additional details, feel free to reach out directly to [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/?_gl=1*1pqqyr7*_ga*MTE3MzgxOTU4OS4xNjQ3NTMxMTc0*_ga_1SYPSJZYJ5*MTY3MDQzNjIyMy4zMDcuMS4xNjcwNDM2NzgzLjAuMC4w) for clarification. We'll share your thoughts with our product team for further consideration.

November 28, 2022

warmth

ahh winter pants! I recently wore these on a hike. It rained non-stop. When I took them off my legs were warm and dry. They a quickly becoming my go to pants for hiking. My only concern is the overall fit. They are surprisingly big in the hip area and tight on the thighs. I originally orgered a large I was hoping for a snug fit. The photo looked li... Read Moreke the pants would be more like tights. I wanted to live in my Techface pants. However they are stiff and pant like and they were WAY too large. I returned with absolutely no problem and reordered a medium. It is a far better fit. However, they are not a liveable but wearable pair of pants. I must admit I wouldn't ware these pants out and about or running- but just for hiking during the colder months. They are not that flattering on. *Please make a fleece lined tights or leggings.

November 16, 2022

very warm

These pants are wonderfully warm and comfortable around the house and taking long walks. I wish they made them in something other than slim fit.

November 16, 2022

Truly water repellent and very warm!

Wore these while doing agility with our dogs. Day was pouring down rain and about 35 F so getting to and from the indoor competition arena was challenging without getting soaked. These pants outperformed my expectations and truly shed water very well, stayed dry, and were very warm. Only wish they were a little more like leggings in fit but they di... Read Mored the trick - not trying to win a beauty contest! Wear these for hiking trails as well. Highly recommend!

November 1, 2022

Warm but misses the comfort mark

I want to really love these pants, but I need to send them back. Yes, they are very warm, thats a major plus. I was looking for a warm fleece pant I can wear fly fishing, hiking and camping. These are warm. BUT, a major downside: they dont have a gusseted crotch. The fleece material and additional seat material plus the seams make the pants very ... Read Morebulky between your legs. The four way crotch seam plus the extra material is super uncomfortable and terrible for long spans of time in these pants. Sad I have to send these back.

Response from Patagonia
November 10, 2022

Hi Chris, we're bummed to hear that the R2® TechFace Pants weren't exactly what you were looking for. We do have a pair of pants with a gusseted crotch and insulation for warmth. Try checking out the [Women's Tough Puff Pants](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-tough-puff-pants-for-fly-fishing/82010.html?dwvar_82010_color=BLK), they might be just what you're looking for.

April 27, 2022

Excellent winter cycling pants

These make the best winter/cold damp weather cycling pants for those of us who prefer not to wear tights. They are very comfortable and breathable and work well in light drizzle. Too warm if the temps are over 50 degrees. My only complaint is that they pill terribly and look like awful after a few washes, I would have returned them if they werent a... Read Mores functional and useful as they are for cycling.

Response from Patagonia
April 28, 2022

Hi Susan! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really happy to hear that the pants having been serving you well for winter cycling. That said, we completely understand the disappointment with the pilling. To prevent pilling, we recommend washing that item either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get abraded. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again. If this doesn't seem to help, and you're unsatisfied with the pants you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 1, 2022

Perfect base-layer

Bought these for a ski trip and they were perfect for 20-30's skiing. Used them with a shell (non-insulated) ski pant. They breathe so well I never got sweaty, yet stayed warm on the lift.

March 27, 2022

Super warm

Super warm ,nice

March 21, 2022

New Favorite Winter Camping Pants!

I bought these for winter camping on overnight ski tours and I'm in love! Threw them on under my shell pants in the evening and was plenty warm in ~25 degree weather, even kneeling/sitting in the snow. Also so cozy in my sleeping bag, and I really appreciated the zip pocket to keep my phone from freezing and losing battery overnight. I was exp... Read Moreecting to need baselayer leggings under them and did not.

February 11, 2022

not for folks with hips

I'm 5'3' and 130 pounds, but I have hips. Getting the size Medium waistband over my hips was a struggle (though the band fit my waist), and the all-around fit in the hips was a bit too snug. At the same time, the medium was too baggy in the calf and too long; I'm sure a large would be worse. Just not cut for people with hips.

Response from Patagonia
February 14, 2022

Hello Lisa, Shoot. We are very sorry the fit did not work out on the W's R2 TechFace Pants. You are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them at your convenience. The W's Pack Out Tights with the spandex fabric content may offer more stretch in the hips.

January 7, 2022

AMAZING!!!!

These pants are my absolute favorite for wet, snowy winter weather. Super comfortable, durable and warm. I will be purchasing a second pair! I am so happy to see Patagonia designing for (and featuring) women that wear larger sizes. We work hard, play hard and have money to spend on quality outdoor clothes, thank you!

December 14, 2021

Perfect Pants for cold weather activities

I bought these for a vacation and find I can wear them for all sorts of outdoor activities. I love that i can use a base layer with them. Outstanding material and stretch.

December 7, 2021

Great Fit & Warm

These pants have a quilted inside face and they are very warm. Also very comfortable. The tapered bottom makes them perfect for boots of any king. My new favorite pants.

December 6, 2021

Very warm and comfortable

These pants are very warm. I have not worn them in freezing temps yet but they have been great so far. The inside fleece is soft against the skin. My only complaint is the same that I have for most Patagonia gear. Not made for people with hips/hourglass figure. I end up with pants that are so big they sag around my knees and are hard to cinch at th... Read Moree waist.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2021

We appreciate your thoughtful feedback, Tameka!

November 28, 2021

Warm but scrapes

They're solid pants, very warm, fit my curvy figure well but I think they would also fit someone more lean. Warm with substantial fleece. They would be 5 stars except that they scrape and pill very easily. I sat on a high stool and the unfinished wood on my legs made them look like mohair. I used a defuzzer which fixed it instantly but now I&#... Read Morex27;m worried there might be other problems like stretch which doesn't quite go back.

November 19, 2021

The *nearly* perfect winter pant

I really wanted to call these "the perfect winter pant" and really, they just about are. They are SO warm. The lining is soft, warm and comfortable on the skin. The outer is stretchy, durable and lightly water and wind resistant. I wear these mostly on chilly day dog walks. I do think they would be a bit too warm for more athletic activit... Read Moreies like running or skate skiing, but I plan to try them out on colder, single digit days. My only complaint about these pants is they should really have a gusseted crotch. Because the material is fairly the thick, the four-way crotch seam is a bit uncomfortable and I could see it becoming an issue for longer adventures. Otherwise, these pants are perfect. I'm 5'8" and an athletic 175# and found the mediums to fit perfect. I also tried them in size large, which would have worked if I wanted a baggier, loose fit, but I wanted more of a legging fit so opted for the mediums. These will be my go-to pant for our chilly Alaska winters.

November 17, 2021

Toasty Warm

I purchased these pants in size medium because there was not a small available, thinking I could return for a small if they came in. They fit about what I might expect a medium would, however for me this is fine. I grab these when it is rainy or cold outside and they fit the bill for both situations. I would buy another pair of these in small if th... Read Moreey were available.

November 8, 2021

Funky pant

I was hoping to use as under a ski layer but its not fitted enough. I can see it for use under a wader. It almost has the fit of a riding pant, poufy in the thighs and then starts to crop at the knees. I always wear a large Patagonia. It's a bit loose for me but the inner fleece liner and external waffle print just sold me. They are comfy. So ... Read Morethey are just a lounge or après pant for me. Aside that I wish the hips were not as ballooned, a subtle elastic on the waist band paired with the adjustable tie would of been perfect. when you synch up the waist you do feel the internal thin cord bind a bit on your stomach. I am doing anything major active in these so I'm fine with it. But a cool pant, so since I thought the price was fair, I'll keep them because they are very warm and soft, and not to mention cool looking.

November 8, 2021

Cozy and effective

Awesome warmth under a dry suit and around the camp kitchen. Sure they would be perfect under waders. Wish there was a version that could be used for skiing as I think the tight ankles wont work under ski boots. Love the pockets.

October 30, 2021

LOVE these new pants!

These fit so nicely and are soooo comfy. I have worn them doing work on a boat, helping wrangle cows on a ranch, in the garden and while dining outdoors in the cold. The techface is so durable, providing great wind resistance and protection from errant thorns and such. They breathe nicely so you don't overheat. AND people stop and ask where yo... Read Moreu got your cool pants because they are stylish too!

October 27, 2021

Surprise comfort and warmth

A really useful product. I was surprised at its utility for many activities: hiking, skiing, on the boat, and mornings at home. Length is good for my 5'8" height and medium build. The cuffs come right to the ankle and would make me give this five stars and the product a smidge better if the cuff material were stretchier for ease in gettin... Read Moreg socks on and off. Overall, worth the purchase.

October 25, 2021

Great for skiing & the river

Bought these to use under my dry suit for rafting. They will work great for that purpose. Not sure Ill use them on ski days, but could use them in a hut over night.

October 24, 2021

Perfect layer under the wader for fall/winter fishing

I am so happy that Patagonia is making under-the-wader pants for women. I got to try it on a rainy 30 degree condition recently and this pants made all the difference. It kept me toasty all day without the bulk. I don't think I could live without it from now on. Thank you!!!

October 24, 2021

Comfortable and warm pants!

Great under my waders or outerwear. Warm and provide ease of movement. Love them! Fit like a glove.

October 23, 2021

Seem really warm, but I havent used them yet!

I originally ordered a Small but it ran big so I returned them for an XSmall. The difference in sizing was huge. The XSmall barely fits me and I am 56 and 125 lbs.

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2021

Hi Wendy, thanks for taking the time to write a review on the R2 TechFace Pants. We're so sorry to hear that the sizing didn't work out for you on these. In the future, our Customer Service Team is always happy to offer garment measurements before you purchase to see if the fit is right for you. We've passed your feedback about sizing along to our Design Team. With that said, please let us know if you need any assistance with a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 15, 2021

Love this pant and its water proof

I was trying on this pant for the first time and my roommate accidentally ran into me spilling their large water bottle my shirt got drenched but my new pants shed the water staying dry and warm. A perfect testimonial for an all weather wear!!!!

October 13, 2021

house pants! also cold activities

I live in a drafty basement in Montana, and I put these on first thing when I get home in the cold months. They are very warm, and the outside material is moisture wicking... for when I go hike in the snow. On super frigid snow days, I think they will be good candidates for under my ski pants. The waist/ crotch area is a little big for me, and it b... Read Moreunches there. My body-type is pretty straight down, not curvy, so this is probably due to that. I ordered the XS to see how they fit, and while they fit better in the waist, the length was too short/tight in the legs. My sister has some too, and she loves them as well.. we get used to matching.

September 30, 2021

Very Versatile

These pants are an interesting micro waffle texture. They are light but warm - not hot even when active. I will wear these in the fall and winter mountain biking and under my wader in the spring, winter and fall. They skim the body - aren't real baggy but not super fitted like a legging either. Comfortable and look finished enough to be able t... Read Moreo wear to dinner or for a cocktail afterwards. I was surprised at how much I liked these pants and realized how much use I'd get out of them. Adjustable waists are always a good thing too. Well Done!

August 31, 2021

Exactly what I have wanted for years!

I am 52 125lbs and have a small. I scored these at a sample sale and could not be happier! The gray color is great- should not show too much dirt. Trim fit and stretchy. The entire inside is a grid of medium pile fleece. The outside is a mix of like a very light softshell and super stretchy nylon grid fabric. 2 zipper pockets on the legs are perfec... Read Moret for your small essentials and fits my phone. Inside tie drawstring at the waist is comfortable. I do not believe that the material will pill. These are not what you would call lightweight. I have used them for cooler morning paddles and around camp. I have slept in them and the side zipper was not uncomfortable. I would rate these as the absolute perfect all around cool weather pants. I can see me wearing them as a super heavy thermal layer on crazy cold ski days! I plan on using them for tons of adventures and even cool around the house mornings! You will be stoked with this garment for sure! Finally found what I have been looking for for years!

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2021

We're so glad to hear you're liking this new Fall 2021 style, Crystal! All of your details about sizing, fit, fabric, and function are much appreciated. Thanks for submitting a review!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches