burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Boys Down Sweater

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 82 Reviews

Clear All

Boys Down Sweater

4.7/5
Kinda Large
September 6, 2022

We have used the same model of Patagonia down jackets since my son was 6 months old.

We love it! Its super warm and compact- much more than the nano fit. It runs large so it looks kind of ridiculous on it but means it might last another year. ..

September 6, 2022

Everyday warmth

My kid is tall and skinny so the fit is pretty wide but we love the down sweater for its windproof warmth and layering ability.

April 20, 2022

Great Jacket

My son uses this as his go to jacket when we climb out side during fall and spring and loves it. He wears it between burns at the crag to stay warm.

March 16, 2022

Indestructable Warmth

This is the 5th or 6th sweater jacket we have bought for our son. When he grows out of one we pass that one on to next owner and upsize. Jacket takes abuse playing football, lacrosse, snowballs, school bus duty, etc. Wash it and it's as good as new every time. Worth every penny

March 14, 2022

Very Warm

I bought this jacket for my 12 year old son. The jacket is very warm for the thickness of it. I would say it runs on the small side. He typically wears a youth medium and a YL if we want a little room. This large JUST fits him. I wish I would have purchased a XL. We needed the jacket for a trip and didn't have time to exchange. Overall, we lov... Read Moree the jacket and I purchased the same style for my husband.

January 4, 2022

Great jacket for everyday

Awesome jacket, so nice mine was stolen and my grandma replaced it, all 5 grandkids have one!

January 3, 2022

Patagonia Down Boys Jacket

Lovely jacket - warm and good fit

January 2, 2022

Excellent jacket for formal to casual wear

This jacket fits my 9 year old son great and looks great for casual or dress wear!! Going to order another for my 7 year old

December 31, 2021

So Versatile

This jacket has lasted the past two years for our little one. Living in SoCal its been great for cooler days to visiting the Pacific Northwest its been through fun-filled snowy dayswarm and works for many environments.

December 23, 2021

Excellent !!

I ordered this for my son, I did never received this product in this color, but they send me a replacement in another color and is amazing.

December 14, 2021

Lovely, but torn

This is a great jacket-- lightweight and warm. After only a few weeks of wear, it already has a tear though.

December 9, 2021

Puff

Fits my child perfectly. He loves it.

December 8, 2021

Childs Down Sweater Jacket

Enough warmth for fall and great quality

December 6, 2021

Smashing Disability

I bought this coat for my son, Nicholas. He loves to be outside especially on easy trails. Nicholas has significant disabilities and he needs assistance putting on and taking off his coat. I always want to feel assured that he is warm. You might be surprised to know that finding a coat that is both warm and easy to put on and takeoff can be super c... Read Morehallenging. The design of the coat facilitated an easy slide-into the sleeve, no matter what sweater he might be wearing. Of course, he wore his coat frequently; he also mouthed the top of the collar every time he wore it. (Just something he does; part of his odd beauty!) Consequently, the zipper finally broke. We learned about your credit program, so I took the coat to your store to buy another and hoped to get a little credit towards the purchase. The employee who helped me immediately said that Patagonia would simply replace the coat. I was completely shocked at the idea and this level of service. The coat was not defective, the damage was caused by my son. To be honest, I just about broke down in tears. You see, my son is 35 years old and hes very small (we bought a boys size), he is not able to use words, but he laughs and smiles a lot! We used his disability resource dollars to purchase the coat originally, but we would not be allowed to make a second coat purchase with those funds. I was planning to pay for the coat myself. Because of your generous policy I did not have to; thats a big deal for me and my retirement income! The other cool thing was that I found a thin wool beanie that Nicholas can wear and it fits underneath his helmet. This is important, Nicholas wears a helmet daily because he has seizures and sometimes falls; the beanie is warm but helmets are not! So, the bottom line is, I want to say thank you, thank you, thank you! I realize this is a long message but I wanted you to understand what a beautiful impact your mission has; even if only on one individual. Teri, Nicks Mom (I wanted to paste a pic for you, but was unable. Also, kudos to the store in Boulder, CO)

November 24, 2021

Great of Kids

This a great coat for a kid. Lightweight, warm and fits great.

November 14, 2021

Awesome value, great product.

Very, very satisfied with this item. Have purchased at least ten for our kids/grandkids.

November 9, 2021

Very warm

This is actually a Christmas gift for my grandson. Over the years I have purchased many of these for myself and for gifts. Great jacket!

November 4, 2021

Practical Fall jacket

We wanted a jacket for our son for in between his rain jacket and winter coat when Fall weather gets colder. This jacket was perfect!!

May 24, 2021

The best jacket

This is the 5th Down Sweater jacket I have bought for my three kids, toddler size to M. Still after being used a lot by all three, zippers and fabric is still working properly. Perfect warmth for spring, chilly summer days and autumn in Norway.

April 29, 2021

Great

Light weight but warm boys jacket

March 12, 2021

Flimsy jacket

Ripped at the elbow within months of first wearing! Not at all durable

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2021

We're sorry to hear about this disappointment, Joanna! Please reach out to us for [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to repair or return the jacket to our main facility in Nevada. If you prefer, our Patagonia-owned retail stores can also be of service.

March 2, 2021

feathers come out

I love this coat so much I got the same one, but only a little while later the feathers started coming out :( Very disappointed

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2021

We're very sorry to hear about the feathers, Julie! Please reach out to our Customer Service team to discuss the product care and returning or exchanging. The Patagonia-owned retail store locations are also able to evaluate the jacket. You'll want to make an appointment or phone them in advance. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

February 13, 2021

Great product

Really warm

February 9, 2021

Awesome jacket

My son loves this coat. Its thin, comfortable, and warm. He wears it for daily wear and snow play.

January 29, 2021

Great Jacket

Bought this jacket for my daughter to wear to school and play outside in, in snow and at recess. She wanted something slimmer than her big puffy winter coat. This jacket is perfect. We live in the northeast and shes worn it to play outside in 30 degree weather and has stayed super toasty. Its very compfy, light weight and warm. Made very well, whic... Read Moreh is great as I plan to pass it down to her siblings. We got the hot ember color and its beautiful. I would say it runs slightly large but not large enough to change your sizing.

January 23, 2021

Very disappointed

Firstly, I would like to point out that I rarely ever write bad reviews, however I am so disappointed in the quality of this coat I felt compelled to do so. I purchased this as a winter coat as our weather is mild in NS. I bought it in November and now only 2 months later, I have 3 tears that I cannot repair by sowing due to the material. I spent t... Read Morehe extra money on this coat because the company boasts quality and longevity however evidently it is not a durable coat. The rips were sustained during light use, I.e walking in the woods. This being a boys coat I would have expected more durability given the activities they would likely do while wearing this garment. I have purchased the gear repair patches, but now it will look totally unkempt and sloppy. I plan on taking advantage of their iron clad guarantee however I will now be without a winter coat for up to 12 weeks. I am deeply disappointed, and would not recommend this coat or any garment made of this material.

Response from Patagonia
February 26, 2021

Hi Lisa, thanks for taking the time to write this review! We're sorry you aren't satisfied with the Down Sweater Jacket. Due to the nature of this fabric, it is not exempt from ripping when playing outdoors or in the woods. With that said, we have reached out to you privately to determine how we can further assist you.

January 22, 2021

Quality declined

I have purchased these down sweaters for my grandsons for 4-5 years now. The quality has declined in several ways... feathers protruding, tiny holes appear by seams etc. For the cost they should at least be able to get 2 years wear and have them still look good. The fit, warmth and comfort are great .... too bad.

Response from Patagonia
February 26, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us! We're sorry to hear that you feel like the quality has declined with our Boys' Down Sweater Jacket. Feathers protruding are a standard thing that happens with any down gear, and it's typically pretty easy to fix. You'll want to pull the feather back in from behind where it's sticking out and rub the material to close the hole back up. We have a [handy guide](https://www.ifixit.com/Device/Patagonia_Down_Jacket) on our website that shares all kinds of ways to do at-home repairs on down jackets. If you give this a go and find that you still aren't satisfied, please note that all products are backed by our Ironclad Guarantee.

January 15, 2021

Great jacket

I loved my jacket, all my family wear Patagonia ️

January 2, 2021

Great fit!

Such a unique color and a great fit.

December 31, 2020

Light and warm

Excellent jacket

December 27, 2020

Perfect for an active child.

This is the second down sweater jacket I have purchased for my grandson. He enjoyed the first one so much that I purchased it in a larger size.

December 16, 2020

Go-To Jacket for 10yo New Englander

One of our down sweater jackets made it through FOUR kids wearing it non-stop until it finally started to whisper "Uncle!" It is possible we've lost two of these jackets (or they've "wandered away" because other folks think they are amazing, too.) My son is an active guy and he adores these jackets. They are quite warm... Read More, but perfectly comfortable. They are thick enough to feel luxe and cozy, but not so bulky they are annoying. He even wears it as his main skiing jacket when the temps aren't below 20. It washes beautifully. And I appreciate the recycled down, and all good things you get when you purchase Patagonia. This one is a winner... buy it in a neutral color and hand it down, hand it down, hand it down...

December 10, 2020

My son loves this coat

This coat is super for layering and keeps my 11 year old son warm on his way to school or when hes running around. We bought the navy blue with contrasting red zipper (super cute!). For his 9 year old brother we bought the lighter blue. He loves the jacket too!!!

November 23, 2020

Not what I expected from Patagonia

Our family purchased two of these Down Sweaters. One shedded feathers on first weeks of wear. The others ones pocket seams opened after few weeks of wear. Now my daughter has pockets with holes in them. We invested in Patagonia items hoping for quality.

Response from Patagonia
December 22, 2020

Hello Laura, we're truly sorry that both Down Sweaters are not holding up. We'd recommend pulling the feathers back in from the opposite side of the fabric and then massage the fibers back together, essentially sealing the hole back up. If this isn't working, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty along with the other jacket.

November 17, 2020

Great and durable kids coat

Fits great for my 5 year old, keeps him super warm, looks sharp and is super durable.

November 9, 2020

Alaska weather

My 13 yr old son got an XL it fits great and keeps him warm for playing pond hockey with his friends!

November 7, 2020

Boys down weather sweater

This jacket is for our 12 year old grandson. He loves it and finds it plenty warm.

October 29, 2020

Annual go-to winter jacket

We've been buying this style jacket every year since my son was 1 years old. He is now 5. Perfect for the NYC winter.

September 2, 2020

Warm enough for our NY winters, but casual for everyday wear.

Love these as an everyday winter coat!

June 27, 2020

Love the color and feels great!

Purchased this jacket for my almost 11 year old son. I purchased a size 12 and it was a little bigger than I like, but hopefully with a sweater it should be fine. He has time to grow into it. I also wanted a jacket that he can pack in his backpack in case he isn't able to use a locker due to Covid-19. The down sweater jacket can easily squeeze... Read More into a backpack.

June 17, 2020

Nice spring and fall coat

My daughter likes to wear this coat in the fall and spring. Its not heavy but it keeps her warm.

February 29, 2020

Woman bought Boys Size

I am 52, 112 lbs, 44 years old. The XS in Womens fit a little snug around my tummy. The Boys XL was perfect as it was forgiving there.

February 21, 2020

Zipper broke and tiny holes

I ordered this coat for my 12 year old son he has had the coat for about 4 months and loves it. However the zipper broke last week and I noticed a bunch of tiny holes down the seems of both arms with feathers popping out. I fixed the zipper the best I could but its still not the same, it gets stuck and Im afraid it is going to rip. Plus its just a ... Read Moretiny string hes using as the zipper. As for the tiny holes thats disappointing because hes only had the coat for 4 months and i dont believe this shouldve happened. Im just all around upset with the outcome of this order and I love your brand and wear your coats and gear so its really heartbreaking for this to happen!

Response from Patagonia
March 27, 2020

Hi Kathleen, we're so sorry to hear that this has happened to your son's Down Sweater Jacket. We'd be more than happy to return or exchange the jacket under our Ironclad Guarantee. You can begin your warranty return here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

January 28, 2020

Great jacket

Really nice and cosy jacket. Perfect for an active jacket

January 11, 2020

Great jacket, as expected from Patagonia

This little jacket is warm, lightweight and comfortable. It feels good quality, the zip is good and I would warmly recommend it. My son is average for his six years and wears an XS.

January 3, 2020

Lightweight yet warm, easily packable

Lightweight yet warm, easily packable into a backpack.

December 31, 2019

Another Great One

This is our family’s 4th one. I highly recommend this piece.

December 30, 2019

Amazing! and love that yellow color

The jacket fits my 12 year old perfectly and has a little room for growing. The color is beautiful and just the perfect jacket for running around and going outside to play.

December 28, 2019

Great Jacket

Great jacket for wearing no matter the event. My little guy has had one for two years and whether we’re going fishing or out for dinner it does the job. It takes a kid’s beating and cleans up well.

December 27, 2019

Perfect jacket for my almost

Perfect jacket for my almost 9 year old grandson. He lives in Southern California so this weight is perfect.

December 11, 2019

Great

My grandsons, ages 6 and 7 look great in their black Patagonia jackets.

December 10, 2019

Boys down jacket

Great jacket and love Patagonia products. My son is age 12 and 5ft 2. The jacket fits his height and shoulders well, but it is a bit too roomy around the waist. I feel like it was designed for the chunkier kids. Also, ideally the arms would be a little longer.

December 10, 2019

good jacket and cost less.

I am 5’11” 215 LBS with 35” waist. All my jacket is in Large. I wear it with tee shirt. This jacket is tiny bite larger than regular large, meaning there is room for shirt and sweater.No big deal it fits good. Only complain I have is that I wish there are two buttons on the sleeve. 700 down fills are no joke. I feel very comfortable at low 40 wit... Read Moreh wind. If you compare price of this jacket with regular 700 down fills jacket. This one is cheaper. Other than that, I think this is very good-looking jacket. I will purchase one more with different color.

December 8, 2019

Nice lightweight jacket

Size Chart is WAY OFF Ran much larger than the chart indicated Seems like a very nice light-weight jacket

December 8, 2019

Great fit! My son loves

Great fit! My son loves it.

November 25, 2019

Excellent product

Excellent product

November 22, 2019

2nd time buy

This is the second Boys Down Sweater for my 5 year old (he. Out few his previous one). I love how light and compact it is but also warm- he wears this as his winter jacket for the whole season in the northeast. His previous jacket had a few feathers that have come out, but has held up pretty well for the past 2 years and is in good shape for his yo... Read Moreunger brother to wear this year. I originally bought the Boys XS, but ended up exchanging for the 5T because it was too long. The 5T (his normal size) still has some room to wear a sweatshirt or fleece underneath if needed. This will be a repeat buy for the next size up when needed!

November 22, 2019

My boy loves this jacket!

My 11 year old is very particular about his clothes and would prefer a sweatshirt over a jacket most days. Here in CO that doesn't necessarily work with the cold and snowy winters. We bought him this jacket and he has worn it every day since. It keeps him warm and is very comfortable.

November 18, 2019

Great jacket for a women size S

I wear women size XS but I bought this jacket in boys size XL to save some money. It fits great.

November 15, 2019

The best Jackets!!

I love Patagonia for myself and my kids. Great quality not super heavy but very warm. Only jackets I will buy. Well worth the money.

November 14, 2019

I love the color gold

I love the color gold of this jacket. My son has gotten so many compliments on it. It’s light weight and warm.

November 13, 2019

Liked

Liked it, it's our son's 5th one.

November 4, 2019

Fantastic!

Warm, great fit! My boys love them!

October 31, 2019

Perfect for an active boy

My son has been wearing Down Sweaters since he was 6 months old. They are warm and indestructible. He wears his for everything... skiing, biking, sledding, and all other outdoor activities. Best jacket ever!

October 29, 2019

AWESOME!

This is a great coat! Love the color as well! It is the perfect coat for a car seat also!

October 29, 2019

perfect light fall/winter coat

Ideal for an "in between" coat (i.e. no snow on the ground, but cold, wet, windy) which is most of the time from September-April here in Portland, OR. Super lightweight. We stuff it in a backpack often, just to have an extra layer on hand. Great easy layer! Just wish it had a hood.

October 19, 2019

Great coat!

Warm yet lightweight and non-restricting. This is our second coat for our now 5 year-old. He loves it and has full range of motion while wearing it, which keeps him from begging to take it off.

September 29, 2019

Fantastic

I never write a review. But this jacket is so fantastic I had to take the time and let others know. I will always buy this jacket as my son grows, True to size.

September 11, 2019

Great jacket

Love these jackets, they are light weight, soft, comfy yet still warm. The boys love them because they are not bulking, & heavy. Bought these for a youth hockey team

September 10, 2019

Nice design and warm

I bought this for my son. He likes the blue cover and the printed lining.

September 1, 2019

I went up a size

I went up a size on this jacket so my son could wear it for a while and it was a good fit. Great new color!

August 31, 2019

Favorite coat

Living in New York, this coat is my son’s favorite. We have had this coat in many sizes, passed down from older brother to younger brother. Both boys live in their down sweaters and wear them exclusively, up until bitter cold temps hit. Preferred over sweatshirts, they wear it all fall, through winter, and in early spring.

August 24, 2019

Excellent light go anywhere coat

This is the 5th one my boys own. Great for the fall and spring. If it gets too warm, they can stuff it in their backpack. Good for school, going to sports and out to dinner.

August 11, 2019

It worked!!!

Thumbs up to the my recent purchase of a boys jacket. It helped us survive some cold and windy days in Iceland !!!!

May 8, 2019

Love the Down Sweaters for All Ages

I personally live in my down sweater, for many months of every year. I'm pretty sure my co-workers think I wear the same clothes every day because I never take my jacket off. So when it comes to my kids, they also get to revel in the glorious warmth that are these jackets. My kids loves these jackets. My kids are hard on their clothes, but eve... Read Moren when they grow out of these jackets there is usually still some life left in them, and I love getting to pass them onto others.

May 8, 2019

Perfect spring/fall coats for active

Perfect spring/fall coats for active boys!

May 8, 2019

Always down with Patagonia Down

Our boys continue to work their ways into and pass down their down goods. Whether it a little down vest day, a cold down coat night...or a freezing hi-loft MN winter...we always reach for our Patagonia down. During this last sale, we did find ourselves shorted our latest sized down copper coat (bummer), but Patagonia did apologize and offered to ma... Read Moreke good with 25% off code for a replacement...which we unfortunately let expire. There will be more in our future!

April 2, 2019

Great coat

I'm happy with my coat. It's a great fit. Lots of compliments. Great service.

April 2, 2019

Boys fleece

Cozy, quality, and my son hasn’t taken it off since that day it arrived. Not bad for a kid who doesn’t like to wear a coat!

March 8, 2019

Boys down sweater

this is my second purchase of this coat. I love it and get a lot of compliments on it! The perfect coat.

February 14, 2019

a good puffy is a musty

Got to say that this item rocks. My 10 year old son has had his for two years now and strangely- (even though he's gotten taller and thicker) the puffy still seems to fit!....... all be it a little higher and tighter ;). But he's never complained about the fit OR being cold so I'm stoked. He got the camo color when that was available... Read More which was killer cause it hides lots of stained. Well, in a way its even MORE camouflaged now! haha You wont regret having one of these.

November 19, 2018

Wish it had a hood.

My boys and I love everything about this jacket except that it is lacking a hood. They are constantly losing their hats and it’d be nice to be able to throw on a hood when needed. I know there is a similar boys down jacket that’s reversible (AWESOME) and has a hood (MORE AWESOME) but the colors options arent my favorite. I’d love THIS jacket with t... Read Morehose added features, because the less accessories my boys have to keep up with, the better!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches