burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Ms Snow Guide Pants

Write Your Review

3.9/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 17 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Snow Guide Pants

3.9/5
True To Size
February 17, 2022

Great Touring Pants

After falling between a small and medium in other Patagonia snow/skiing pants, these fit perfectly. The beacon pocket and lashing point make it nice to get my beacon off of my chest area with other things like a phone stored there. The pant works really well for movement (skinning). The suspenders are nice too for keeping all one's layers from... Read More binding at the waist and over each other.

January 30, 2022

Tight

Really wanted these to work out, but the waist and rear are pretty snug. Next size up was huge on me. Across the board I seem to need a non-existent smaldium size in Patagonia gear the last few years. I returned these and ended up with the Stormstride pant which was a better fit for me.

January 21, 2022

Sizing way off.

I wear medium in every snow/ ski pant I have purchased from patagonia, however I couldn't even button these at the waist, they run SUPER small in the waist where as the length runs if anything a bit long. I wear a 33 waisted pant and these fit like 30 in a medium. A bit of consistency with sizing/ fit is needed!

Response from Patagonia
January 25, 2022

We're sorry to hear the sizing on these pants was so far off the mark. The design is a "slim" fit, while others have a "regular" fit. If you haven't returned them already, please reach out to our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

December 11, 2021

If you made these in a FREERIDE fit!!!

These would be AMAZING backcountry touring pants for SPLITBOARDERS... IF you made them in a FREERIDE fit. Just try getting these cuffs over snowboard boots. WHY are backcountry softshell pants ALL slim fit?!? Returned, unfortunately.

Response from Patagonia
December 14, 2021

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave this product review. We're sorry these Snow Guide Pants didn't work for your needs. In the future, we're always happy to provide garment measurements before you purchase; it could save you some headaches. In the meantime, we've shared this feedback with our Design Team, who are constantly working to improve our styles.

December 9, 2021

Comfortable. But tight waist.

The Guide pants are very comfortable. And fit fairly well. Im a 32-33 waist. The waist was very tight after putting under layers on. Length was fine. Great for backcountry skiing. Not recommended for cold eastern mountain alpine skiing. They are wind proof & water proof. Tested in Stowe,Vt. winter climate.

November 17, 2021

Can't wait to get in the backcountry and move with freedom

Needed a better pant for backcountry. Current pants are great for the resort, but the restriction in movement caused backcountry days to feel cumbersome and not enjoyable. With these current pants, I am very excited to get out there - they stretch and are very comfortable. I moved up to XL due to snowboarding boots, which I am glad I did. What ... Read Moreremains to be seen is how well they do against wet snow and general abrasion resistance. Backcountry days in Tahoe can be wet, so we'll see when we get out there.

October 30, 2021

Burly Softshell / Problematic Thigh Vents

Great pant overall. Nice thickness for winter. Perfect amount of stretch. Great slim fit. Only problem is that thigh vents are on back of the leg and the zipper closes downwards, so even a tiny glissade is guaranteed to open the thigh vent and leave your pants full of snow. Also wish the gaiters had a power strap pass through so you didn't h... Read Moreave to pull them up every time you transition.

March 23, 2021

Excellent overall, but I would

Excellent overall, but I would have liked the ability to close the ankle area up a bit more (bicycle clip style) to reduce the risk of catching crampons, otherwise a great pair of trousers

December 28, 2020

Seven reasons these are the best pants. Number 3 is unbelievable!

But truly, these trousers are great. I basically wear one backcountry outfit and these are my go-to pant. So far I have about 50 ski hours on them and these are my thoughts: - Burly fabric is a great balance of comfortable stretch and durability against pine, aspen, rock, and whippets. - Cut is slim but still accommodates my notoriously out-of-prop... Read Moreortion thighs and waist. - Makes your caboose look good. - I cut the straps from the bottom outside of the pant leg - seemingly for tightening over casual boots - as they got in the way and were useless. - Thigh pockets could hold/fit a transceiver better. - Rear vents work better than side vents (leaving open on hot descents results in *less* snow down your pant) though they catch more leg hair in this position than side zips. - Wife says I look good. I initially tried the Upstride pants but my shape and expectations are pretty abusive on my bottoms.

February 23, 2020

Decent.

Offer really good protection. I have worn them for a week in Scottish winter (so cold, wet and windy) and they have held up really well. They were also fine to wear underneath a hard shell when the weather got bad. Love the vents! Gaiters are very much designed for ski boots and as a result were too big to fit around mountaineering boots and missi... Read Moreng a hook for laces. But all in all. Decent.

February 20, 2020

Very good allround ski/board pants, needs bottom reinforcement

The pants are thinner than your average ski pants which is exactly what I wanted so I can combine them with a base layer (capilene thermal bottom usuallyon lower temps) The stretch fabric makes the pants very comfortable for active skiers. The numerous pockets make it practical to use the pants while having paper and phone within reach when needed... Read More. There's a weak point at the sleeve that hugs around your ski boots (not the internal sleeve, the external part) . The fabric there is too flimsy. It is reinforced but this needs quite a bit more to withstand rigorous use. It needs reinforcement so the inevitable tiny tears in that area do not appear in the first week.

February 10, 2020

Every thing you want them to be and more

These are epic, so comfy and perform really well in changeable conditions. Warm enough for general all MTN skiing in Cold temps [down to -10]. But light enough to use for touring/boot packing in early spring conditions. Basically these are awesome and extremely versatile. My only issue is I’m 30 inch waist and 192cm tall so they are a little on t... Read Morehe short side for me, but that’s on me not Patagonia.

December 28, 2019

Love them

Sweet pant Not as baggy as other pants

November 25, 2019

Really nice soft-shell pant

This is my second pair of soft-shell guide pant from Patagonia. I purchased the first pair problably 8 years ago. The new pair has the same slim fit as the original. For my build the fit is perfect though I can see how others would find them narrow. I really like a soft-shell pant for touring. They breathe well going up hill and block the wind on t... Read Morehe downhill. For resort skiing these pants would be cold riding a chairlift all day. The pants look well built. I'm just waiting on the snow to give them a try.

November 22, 2019

Awesome Ski Pants

Exactly what I was looking for: a pair of stretchy, durable, slimmer-cut ski pants. And a pretty great value at the price. FIT: After trying the L, I had to size-up to XL to get the fit I wanted. These pants are a "Slim" cut, so a larger size gave me the length I wanted in the pant (I'm 6'2") and it gave me the width I ne... Read Moreeded to fit nicely over my snowboard boots. The larger size fits me very similarly to the video version -- roomy enough without being baggy.   MATERIAL: It's a soft-shell pant, so it's got lots (and lots) of stretch and has more "weight" to the material than a traditional shell pant. I have no issues with bunching or bending. They feel really nice, basically.  FEATURES: There aren't a ton of extra features to these pants. No rear pockets. No adjustable waist band. No key loop in the pocket. But the pockets available are in good spots and roomy enough for what I need. 2 air vents on the back of the legs. The simple(r) design probably helps keep the price down a bit?  BONUS: I really like the adjustable pant cuffs. It's super helpful to cinch-up when I'm changing out of my boots into my shoes. Keeps the pants from dragging in the slushy parking lot snow.  DOWNSIDE: Mostly, I just wish these came in some more colors. The Navy is totally fine, if a little plain. But the electric green is a little too wild for me.

November 5, 2018

Not motion friendly

Great fabric and design intent, but poor fit: tight in the thighs relative to the waist, and patterned for standing still. I wear Levis 514 jeans, 34x34, and could not bend my legs to 90 degrees in these pants without a struggle. How about a slim waist and big quads— that's more in keeping with the "snow guide" build these pants allu... Read Morede to.

September 11, 2018

Ted Kerasote

The fabric has a wonderful hand and the cut is well-designed for alpine ski touring. The thigh cargo pockets are in the right location, and it's nice that there are two of them. Unfortunately, the cuff design hasn't been executed well. The inner elasticized cuff will barely fit over an alpine touring boot that is in touring mode. You have... Read More to use your bare hands to snug it over the buckles. I tried several times to use my Black Diamond Guide Gloves to snug the inner closure over the boot and take it off to go into downhill mode, and vice versa. It was impossible. Who wants to take off their gloves or mittens several times of day, when it could be twenty below zero, to get the closure on and off the boot? Likewise the metal buckle on the outer cuff. Yes, you can adjust it with gloves. But when it's covered with snow it isn't going to be easy. Why not a wider, single cuff with the same stout elastic that's being used on the inner cuff? That would work fine, and it was the design originally used on the Patagonia Guide Pants more than a decade ago. Here are some other thoughts: this fabric is quite breathable, so I don't think the ventilation zippers are necessary. They add weight and cost. It would be nice to have a zippered butt pocket for credit cards and small items that you're not going to access during your ski day, but which you want secure, yet accessible, when you're down in town and ready to buy a beer. The size small with a 30.5-inch waist is right if you've got a T-shirt on. But these are ski-touring pants. You may be wearing a couple of Capilene base layers, and then the pants are too tight. I'd make the waist bigger and keep the rest of the cut the same. A good start for a ski-touring pants, but it needs improvement.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches