burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Yulex® Impact Wetsuit Vest Reviews

Write Your Review

4.8/5

Runs Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 16 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Yulex® Impact Vest

4.8/5
Runs Large
November 7, 2022

Works perfectly. Gives me an

Works perfectly. Gives me an edge in otherwise sketchy situations.

October 9, 2022

It's OK, needs improvement for heavy surf

Suit needs some improvement for heavy surf imho. I'm an advanced, ex-competitive surfer, so this is not a noob review. I surf heavy waves in Hawaii and I figured I'd try a vest on smaller 8-12ft days (16-25ft faces) just for a little extra float and warmth. My very first wipe out with the vest recently on a 20ft face wave ripped the draws... Read Moretring area open and vest ended up with my head and arm out of the same arm hole. Vest could've drowned me actually because I got stuck without use of my right arm. Would be good if they reinforced the drawstring loop area or actually use a nylon webbing loop (like rash guard type but heavier duty) instead of just slits in neoprene. Even better would be if there was nylon webbing or wide strip of neoprene front to back with a buckle or velcro in rear that you could run it up between your legs so it'd be impossible to pull off on heavy wipeouts. Also would be good if there was a drawstring cord on bottom to keep water out and from Ballooning the vest on wipeouts (which is what happened to me). My vest is TIGHT and I need someone to help me take it off, so my experience is not a fitment issue. As it is now, I can see this vest being easily ripped right off on a heavier wave, but for small waves/beginner surfing, snorkeling, wakesurfing etc, this would be a great start.

September 27, 2022

BWRAG -personal protective equipment.

The Yulex impact vest is one of the most important piece of my personal protective gear. The flotation provided by this impact vest has performed extremely well in some of the largest surf I have encountered. Having taught ocean safety awareness around the world, I dare not enter the water without it. Mahalo Uncle Pat- BWRAG (Big Wave Risk Assesmen... Read Moret Group)

September 9, 2022

Great Impact Vest and Flotation Device

Bought this vest for E-Foiling. I'm 6'2" 178 lbs and a large fits perfect. It keeps me afloat, and provides lots of foam pads in all the right spots, though I wish they had one on the front bottom ribs. And its made of Yulex which is a must for anybody like me thats allergic to Neoprene. Can be tough to get off since its a pullover, ... Read Morebut getting better at it.

November 24, 2021

Awesome

Pattagonia never disappoints

June 12, 2021

Right Fit

Bought the XL was too loose, large is just perfect fit.

June 4, 2021

nice vest impact

i didn't try yet but its good quality and fit on my body i will try next september for surfing when i am back home in Bali. tack så mycket hej då

April 25, 2021

Impact Vest

I found this vest 10 years ago and have been using it regularly ever since. It's very comfortable and has saved my ribs on many occasions! Ordering a new one now!

February 5, 2021

True to size after a few uses..

This is a product I've been looking at for a while for surfing the heavier days and now foil surfing and wingfoiling. It's a great product, well built, light and perfect for the job. I bought a MEDIUM based on advice and other reviews, to go over my SMALL R5 wetsuit, which was initially a good call, but after a few uses its definitely &... Read More#x27;bedded in' and now runs big for me.. I'm assuming that the new versions are a little bigger than older models. Still.. does the job well and I'm very happy with the purchase. Recommended ..

January 8, 2020

Great item to have in your quiver.

I was a little hesitant at first, but after using it in solid 2x-3x overhead surf, it really makes a huge difference. A definite great item to have for big surf.

December 13, 2019

impact vest

He hasn't had a chance to use it yet but it fits well.

October 27, 2019

Great vest, pretty tight

I'm 6'6" and a little under 200 pounds - no one has ever called me stocky. I got an XL and this vest is really tight - I can barely get it off by myself. I totally see why this is a good thing when getting pummeled underwater, but I have no idea how some of my more muscular friends could use it. I'm in Hawaii, so don't have... Read More to worry about extra layer of wetsuit either. Overall, it is great - love the feel, the removable aspects - but if you are of a not-slim-body-type, I'd really recommend trying this on as early as possible.

September 27, 2019

Awesome Impact Vest for Surfing

My new vest fits just perfectly (I selected it based on the fitting chart), is super high-quality, and will undoubtedly last me for years to come.

May 21, 2019

Impact vest

I have been using this as a lower profile PFD option for river surfing. It fits me perfectly over my R2 yulex wetsuit. It provides some added flotation in the river and offers a layer of protection from the rocks. I am 6'2" and about 175 lbs. Size large is just right. I love it.

May 9, 2019

Surf impact vest

I have been using this for a lower profile pfd for river surfing and it is wonderful. It fits well and true to size. I wear a large/tall Patagonia wetsuit and the large vest fits perfectly over my wetsuit. This has freed me from wearing a bulky river pfd and gives me nice feel on my board. It won't provide as much flotation as a pfd designed f... Read Moreor rivers, but it gives me enough extra float, plus it provides a level of armor against rocks in the river. I highly recommend it.

August 3, 2018

Activewear floatation

I use my impact vest as an activewear PFD. Though not a Coast Guard approved PFD, it provides enough addition floatation to make the swim out the back of Bend, Oregon river wave easier. I also use the vest shooting photos from the water, paddling outrigger and surfski. A medium is skin tight over my 4/3 wetsuit and I am 5-7, 140#

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches